Wednesday, November 19, 2008 9:19

Letter to TOC – An unhealthy speculative practice

In Guest Writers, Main Stories • 1,455 views • 30 Comments

The following is a letter to TOC from Mr Gilbert Goh.

I refer to the recent debacle regarding our town councils’ foray into risky investments.

The troubling news nevertheless throw up more queries that need some good answers:

Why allow town councils to invest in risky instruments up to the high limit of 35%? These funds are collected from the service and conservancy fees paid monthly by residents and should not be used for speculation. The total surplus collected seem adequate to last along time even if residents stop paying as the government will also pump in fresh funds into the coffers of town councils. Such funds should be kept solely in safe instruments such as government bonds and fixed deposits notwithstanding the fact that they do not give good returns.

Safety is the key here.

Why takes such high risk to grow a already solid surplus? The high limit of allowing 35% of such surplus fund to be invested in risky investment should also be removed totally. Moreover, town councils are not investment arm like the GIC or Temasek Holdings who specialise in helping us grow our surpluses.

Why this relentless pursuit to grow the funds? One gets this feeling that the town councils are worried that the funds may one day be wiped out by inflation or over use. However, the huge surplus of $2 billion testifies to the fact that the town councils have done a good job of protecting the funds. Even if the funds are kept in safer slow-growing instruments, surely the surplus itself is sufficient to last a long time even if the small return from safer instruments does not outbeat the high inflation during past years. The fund is also monthly top up by residents’ contribution ensuring that the fund is always on financial tip top condition.

Who will make up for the loss incurred by the town councils’ bad investment? It is common knowledge that the investors of the minibond series will not get back anything much in return. Though town councils have being making gains from such risky investments all these years, what will happen if one day they incur a net loss? Will the residents’ sinking fund then suffer a loss? All investments carry risk and there is no guarantee that gains are perpetual. There will be one day that we will make a net loss from such risky investment.

How can the surplus be better used? I think most Singaporeans are pleasantly shocked that we have keep away a solid $2 billion surplus funds at our town councils. It proves that they are able custodians of the country’s funds. Nertheless, I feel that there could be ways we can tap on this huge surplus to benefit our fellow Singaporeans in this tough time. For a start, families with laid off breadwinners can be identified and such surplus can be utilised to subsidise their service and conservancy fees for a few months. There is always this feeling that we have a rich government but it’s people is desperately poor.

What is the desired surplus amount required by town councils? I agreed that town councils should have the minimal sinking fund required to standby for any emergencies but what is the suitable amount? How much is enough? Two billion? Five billion? The way I see it now is that there is no ceiling to how much surplus funds town councils can accumulate in it’s coffers. There should be an optimal amount that town councils can collect and once that surplus is breached, the councils can think of ways to return them back to the residents or even reduce the amount of fees collected for a period of time. There is simply no point hoarding on to so much money without benefitting anyone in the end.

I hope that with this shocking revelation the government will look into revamping the investment strategy of our town councils. Such risky investment strategy to grow the public’s money also introduces to us an unhealthy speculative practice that should not be cordoned at all.

———-

1. Dr Teo Ho Pin’s second letter to Straits Times
  2. Revisit the policy & practice
  3. Foreign Talent policy: of principle and practice
  4. Letter to TOC (Dec 15)
  5. Letter to TOC (Dec 1)

30 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Too much
Nov 19, 2008 9:26

Are they gonna change and improve in this aspect?
If not, and and offical no, what does this mean?
if yes, and and official yes, what does this mean? any fault admitted? no ?

Its time.

hitachi08
Nov 19, 2008 9:44

WAKE UP lah … u ask gavern to look into Town Council pratice, is as good as asking gavern to look into a mirror …

for the past 5 years or so, there been more and more grudes and complaints from the ground regarding escalation cost of living … and mind u, most of the cost are driven up by our own gavern policy, giving them an upper hand to generate more and more profit at the cost of us – the normal people

if they want to change, they have already changed. if they dun want to change, u also LL every month pay more and mroe bills to satify their rentless pursuit for profit.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 19, 2008 9:52

This is the results when things are done backdoor without any transparency and accountability, who cares! its public monies anyway!

Dingfeng
Nov 19, 2008 9:56

The articles raises many questions that need good answers.

What do you mean by “high risk”? What does “high risk” mean to the town council? Is the town council’s current portfolio “high risk” by either definition?

If it is a high risk portfolio, were they misled into thinking that it’s low risk, or did they intentionally choose a high risk strategy?

What should the optimal ceiling be? What should the town councils do with the excess money if they are not allowed to keep it?

What are the limits to what a town council is allowed to spend on, and what should the limits be?

To be or not to be
Nov 19, 2008 10:07

Some fundamental questions:-

Why is there a need to have a surplus in the first place? Does this mean that we are all overpaying for our service and conservancy charges every month? Of every dollar we pay, how much is going into the reserve?

What are the TOC’s management measured on?

As long as people ACCEPT
Nov 19, 2008 10:18

As long as the People ACCEPTS what is happening, there is nothing to be done.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 19, 2008 10:39

5) To be or not to be on November 19th, 2008 10.07 am Some fundamental questions:-

Why is there a need to have a surplus in the first place? Does this mean that we are all overpaying for our service and conservancy charges every month? Of every dollar we pay, how much is going into the reserve?

What are the TOC’s management measured on?

They cannot and will not disclose how and where the funds are being used openly to the public as if they do, it can lead to nation unrest, not only that, the citizens will start digging and digging further, and there will be alot more of these shocking thingy would start surfacing in other areas too.

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Nov 19, 2008 10:45

This look like a big thing in Singapore but disappointingly the two opposition members are very quiet about it. Sad…

GoodSingaporean
Nov 19, 2008 11:08

Actually u cun said the opposition are vy quiet…cos the statetime and TV media will nv show anything abt them even they voice out……as wat i noe the paper and TV only show gd things abt PAP!!

Best Job in the world for any sector
Nov 19, 2008 13:10

The main concern I have is no matter how much people comment in TOC,
many who are less or uneducated like elderly people and many young who do not go online much may never hear what is being discussed on the net.

Their only source of info may be :
1. MSM TV
2. MSM newspapers
3. MSM radio

Thus, this is where the GAP is.

So, what can be done? What can we do?

TOC TV ? TOC Roadshow ? Recruit Social Activists for non-profit organization?
Tell people about TOC via petitions? Email blast TOC readers ? facebook type of Viral technology?

I think the above are all feasible suggestions.

We should all aim for the Best Job in the world that is across all sectors. Yes, there is such a job. accountable and responsible also. transparent and ethical and honorable and honest also.

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Nov 19, 2008 13:22

10) Best Job In The World

YA my concerns likewise for those who are illiterate and silent. They have no access to the net nor talk about politics to anyone. How to reach out to them?

These are also the die-hard PAP supporters who will only go for the lightning sign anytime as they are fearful of the unknown. They go for things that are familiar to them. They never change their housing their whole life and always stick to the same job even though it pays little.

We can start a newsletter that can be distributed free of charge once a month to educate the population.

We can also link up more with the opposition to allow them to use TOC as a platform to reach out to more people via the net.

It is also my hope that TOC is not just for anti-establishment feedback but also welcomes those who are pro PAP. We should incalculate a site that allows one to love his country so much that he wants to be in the know on how it is run and not just be politically apathetic.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 19, 2008 13:33

Yes, TOC should start a monthly newsletter and blasted out to all emails and also distributing to all estate and households letterbox.This is to keep the citizens well informed of all things good and bad happening in singapore. I agree and if finance is a problem, I believe each and every citizens would be more than glad to chip in our fair share in letting everyone to know the whole truth.

DC
Nov 19, 2008 14:30

I would donate to TOC to help such a venture, but is it ‘legal’?

gemami
Nov 19, 2008 15:09

Distrubtion of newspapers need licensing like any publication does. We should not do things that are against the law. I know we may be desperate for change and for it to come soon but we must keep focussed and know that patience is a virtue that never fails you.

TOC might want to apply for a license but then again it will become liable for the contents written therein. Best interest for all is TOC’s expansion online.

May I suggest a a Mandarin version of TOC to reach out to non-English audience. We can also roll out Malay or Tamil versions too. Point is, the scope of expansion is limitless. Let us focus on the online platform first and then sit back and exercise your patience while continue to contribute.

Remember we are setting the wheel in motion and we might not get to taste the fruits of our labour, but we can die knowing that Singapore will be a better and free country for our children and their children for generations to come.

Daniel Ling
Nov 19, 2008 21:13

Hmm I do not noe about the rest but Ever since i started my hobby, i’ve never passed up a chance to dive into Social Topics with my frenz, collegues, bosses, whoever whose willing to stop and listen.

And during then i’ll always bring up online references which although not licensed but is not just a Simple Rantings. Although future is unknown and maybe 1 day TOC can become official but as of now, before TOC is official, are we making full use of wat we ve to broadcast information to everyone?

Internet has no Limits. Help to Spread the Word.

The Only Limit is tat Big Bro is Watching. It’s obvious from the recent Article on the Non Bonded Education.

James
Nov 19, 2008 22:29

I wonder why their actions were not made known to the people. Are they even qualified to speculate? Why are they speculating with OUR money? Collected from higher conservancy charges? Collected from higher taxes?
Did we vote for this to happen?

James
Nov 19, 2008 22:31

@12
I believe there are various restrictions on print media. Until those are ironed out, the best practice would be to simply spread the word, or invite your offline neighbours over for tea.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 19, 2008 22:42

yes, we can also draw all attention towards TOC by spreading the website at youtube which I know alot of people in singapore are watching everyday, anyone knows how to do it?

DavidC
Nov 19, 2008 23:11

I know there are many who do not know of this site, and I think spreading the word around will create some awareness.

Monkeys See Monkeys Do
Nov 20, 2008 4:41

This whole issue brings the NKF issue back to life again. I am now beginning to see why Dr Chee Soon Chuan and the SDP was sued because of the NKF issue.

We donate, they put our money in surplus and then “invest” (or gamble) with our money instead of benefiting the needies immediately.

We contribute to conservancy charges, they put our money in surplus and then “invest” (or gamble) up to 35% of our money instead of benefiting the people immediately.

We contribute to our money in the CPF, they put our money in reserves and then “invest” (or gamble) with our money buying up losing foreign banks instead of returning our money back to us as early as possible.

See the same fund management (gambling) philosophy throughout the whole spectrum? No wonder, one casino is not enough! Turning into a nation of gamblers!

Monkeys see, monkeys do! What extraordinary talents are they supposed to be???

Totally fed up and sick in the stomach. Almost want to vomit.

Richard Tan
Nov 20, 2008 16:43

Why do we need TOC to taken care such a large sum of money as Sinking Fund?
I tot Sinking Fund are to use to repair or upgrade where we Singaporean live. But instead of using the Sinking Fund to do that, we still need to pay another sum of money to PAP to so call upgrade our living area.

Instead of using the Sinking Fund for us Singaporean and help those that need help at this period of time, where is the help? Losing S$8 million dollars which can help a lot of lower income Singaporean to get thru this crisis. Don’t tell us NOBODY AGAIN.

Better think twice on PM sugestion on ONE TEAM to run the country, now with two Party running the country, already can come out these kind of misuse of Singapore fund for Investment to get profit instead of help us SIngaporean to pull thru together with the Government.

What will come next? Why keep on asking us to tighten our belt and beware of loosing our job? And no actual action to help us?

Taiwan Government giving out Good & Service Voucher to lower income to ask them to spend instead of tigthen their belt.

Malaysia lower toll fee, fuel tax.

How about Singapore? Instead of lower down the fee, Transportation increase, Utilities cost increase, ERP increase nos of Gantries, and so on. The only thing that lower down is our salary. We Singaporean suffer ourselves, howcome Government Salary still so high and not reduce at the time?

Daniel Ling
Nov 20, 2008 19:34

Hi, For those who asked y or who allowed this to happen. Let’s just say tat We/Us who voted them in allowed it. (I voted against) As i believe this was put up in the Parliment for voting and it was passed. It’s not illegal for them to Invest up to 35%. =D

While writing this statement, a thought came to me, their concern tat led to investing was to fight against Inflatation. By investing 35% can make it meh? Unless is in High Return High Risk. Basically do or die investments.

Since 35% at 5% returns will protect the 35% from inflation, wat about the 65%?
Food for thought.

As for those who is interested to circulation information. Just often engage ur frenz, collegues and who ever is willing to listen about social issues. Surely the question of where u get such info will pop up. =D

smallvice585
Nov 20, 2008 19:39

Why do we need TOC to taken care such a large sum of money as Sinking Fund? I tot Sinking Fund are to use to repair or upgrade where we Singaporean live – Richard Tan

Are you referring to TOC or TC? My understanding is that TOC refers to The Online Citizen.

dodo
Nov 21, 2008 15:02

i sat in many management corporations before and i understood my role very well. we help to look after the management and maintenance of our properties/estates. no where did they say our role is in investment . so we always put our sinking funds into safest places – FD savings and government bonds. and every year, we have to report to all subsidiary proprietors at AGMs about our actions and be accountable. most importantly, when we make a mistake, we apologise.

Tew N S
Nov 21, 2008 17:10

next time the TC increase our S&C, we should protest and tell them off, because they anyhow invest our money, actually they have so much surplus, and yet they are greedy, typical of pap style, greediness will make a person fall. Just tell the MP off, if they want to increase our S&C, the best vote them out, change another team of MPs.

inconvenient truth
Nov 22, 2008 9:25

The real reason why TC’s were allowed to invest their surpluses is that this giant pool of funds is used as a “honeypot” to attract fund managers to setup shop in S’pore – part of the govt’s strategy to grow the lucrative financial industry, but the cost is borne by the public.
S’pore is a wet dream for most fund managers as it offers a financially nieve investor base who are happy to pay high upfront charges and annual management fees. Its easy money the FMs just for taking your money – no performance benchmarks to meet at all.
Such fees are either non-existent or miniscule in most developed markets.

The People's
Nov 22, 2008 9:50

I always thought that the payment I made to the town council is meant for running the estate. And as things inflate so does our payment. I never knew that my payment to town councils were also used as investment until this saga surfaced. Perhaps I have been less observant than usual. But if I have known, I will think that the investments are questionable. And most likely will never agree to it unless proven to be safe and lucrative. Since it is not, I will not approve to it.

But it appears that I have never agreed to use my money for such investments, does this constitute as breech of trust? I feel rather insulted that the Town councils will use the payment I made to somethings not ethical. I’m utterly disappointed that the town councils will do such things.

ACACIA
Nov 23, 2008 0:56

I am angry because every month I pay my fees for some form of services in my area and when I slip up they send me a letter to pay up and legal letter to claim.
I am angry because I will not get anything or one cent more if the investment showed positive returns. The rebates I receive are part of the government package to help us ease over. I will not be angry if I had put part of my money in the investments from the sinking fund and not get any returns knowing the risks.
I am angry because there was a breach of trust in the town councils because they used the money to invest without being transparent.
Excercise your vote, vote the PAP out at the next election!!

Tan Ching Cheong
Nov 23, 2008 10:20

There is REALLY nothing we can seriously do, in my humble opinion.
I asked around and asked around some more,
everyone gave me the boh-pian look like some kind of taboo if they were to speak about it.

Thus, is it that regardless of the Tak Boleh Tahan-ness, there is nothing we can do?

Gilbert Goh
Nov 23, 2008 11:16

Tan Chin Cheong:

We all have choices. It’s only whether we want to exercise it or not.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook