Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Sunday, November 9, 2008 21:54 - 93 Comments

Minority PM: Time for the leadership to take the lead

We apologise for the delay in publishing Mr PN Balji’s piece, as earlier indicated on TOC. It will be published at a later date. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Mohd Haireez / Guest Writer

In response to a question on whether Singapore is ready for a minority-race prime minister, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong suggested that while it is not impossible, it is unlikely to happen in the foreseeable future.

In support of his proposition, Mr Lee revealed at a dialogue session organized by MESRA, that it was dependent on how people voted and suggested that the race of the candidate is an unavoidable influence in the voting pattern.

With all due respect to Mr Lee, his response is at best, unsettling, particularly after decades of struggle to portray the government as a racially-unbiased institution.

Mr Lee pointed out that race is a factor in the appointment of a Prime Minister.

This is especially disturbing considering that the position of Prime Minister is not constitutionally dependent on the votes of the average citizen but is contingent upon the decision of the President who is supposed to select a Member of Parliament “who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the Members of Parliament..”, according to Article 25 of our Constitution.

In practice, while the People’s Action Party (PAP) continues to dominate Parliament, the person the party endorses as Prime Minister will be elevated to that position, and confirmed by the President. Hence, Mr Lee’s statement is especially important.

To suggest that race is an unavoidable issue in this appointment is to suggest that race is still a factor in deciding whether a candidate can command the confidence of our elected Parliamentarians. This leads to the inexcusable inference that our very own leaders are still somewhat racially-prejudiced.

I am not insinuating that our leaders should be free from the prejudices that plague the common man but as people whom the average person vests responsibility in, it is imperative that the government, at least the Prime Minister, should represent a figure who transcends racial lines.

I am also not suggesting that Singapore has reached a stage whereby citizens are Singaporeans first, before their own respective races, in all circumstances.

But if we accept that the way forward is embodied in our pledge “regardless of race, language or religion” as our Government has, then surely it has to start with our leaders.

In extension of his response, Mr Lee rationalised that the fact Senator John McCain garnered a majority of white votes in the recent US Presidential elections is a reflection of how race is still a factor in the minds of the American voters.

But this overlooks the fact that not a single Democrat has won a majority of the white vote since Lyndon Johnson in 1964 despite fielding white candidates as Presidential-hopefuls. In fact, Senator John Kerry, a white Democrat nominee, attracted less support from the white voters in 2004 than President-elect Obama did in the recent US Presidential election. Senator Kerry garnered just 43 percent of the white vote while still attracting the majority of the non-white voters despite being white himself.

These statistics make it at least clear that race, while etched in the minds of some, is only one of several concerns for the majority of the Americans.

The American people have shown that they are willing to start judging a candidate by his abilities, and not his race.

Similarly, a suitable Prime Minister must be assessed by his ability, regardless of his race.

Even if this remains an ideal, there is no reason why our leaders, especially Mr Lee, cannot endorse this ideal especially when it comes to selecting the Prime Minister of our multi-racial country.

———-

About the author:

Mohd Haireez is currently a year 3 undergraduate at the NUS Faculty of Law. He believes that community-involvement is the most effective means of familiarising oneself with grassroot issues. Besides being a regular at Downtown east and Arab Street, the former Vice-President of the NUS Malay Language Society is himself an avid volunteer. He is currently the Chairman of the Youth Committee in Al-Istighfar Mosque and is working with NGOs like YAMP on several projects.

———-

1. Minority PM – Yes, it’s possible
  2. Minority PM: Singapore boleh in 1955 but not in 2008
  3. By 2015, born and bred S’poreans may be the minority in S’pore
  4. PM Lee on minority-race PM and foreign workers and retrenchments
  5. Lee Kuan Yew’s legacy on leadership succession

93 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 9, 2008 22:07

” it is unlikely to happen in the foreseeable future.”

of course lah, his seat hasn’t been warm up yet since the day he is being placed there by our country lightning GOD, now you people want to change his color, you think lightning GOD will agree?

Winston
Nov 9, 2008 22:08

Well written brudder.

Let me put it to you this way. The moment the PAP concedes that race is no longer an issue in the minds of Singaporeans, the fundamental basis for the GRC system would be extinguished.

And that wouldn’t be in our best interests would it?

T
Nov 9, 2008 22:19

Sure, why not? If the minority candidate is the best available, then let him/her be the PM. However, bear in mind that it took the US more than 200 years to get here. So, it is still early days yet. Not in my life time.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 9, 2008 22:23

believe me bro, if lightning GOD allows this, mind you there are alot of very capable other colored candidates out there who are very much more capable and eligible than any of those in the present party, so tell me would this be a big threat to junior lightning god? of course lah which singaporean doesn’t know this?

agree
Nov 9, 2008 22:29

with comment #2

It is in the GRC system duh…..

But it is a good system. PAP will lose big and a minister will have to take a walk after the next GE :(

jerminho
Nov 9, 2008 22:33

Why is this surprising, Its already so hard to get a non-Lee prime minister…. much less a non-chinese one…

tiredsingaporean
Nov 9, 2008 22:38

its not a problem about color here, its about genes, DNA!

me
Nov 9, 2008 23:00

eugenics, my dear singaporeans. eugenics.

hopeless
Nov 9, 2008 23:01

As long as that fellow Singaporean is a competent and good man, I do not care whether his name is Arul, Ah Beng, Ahmad or Santa Maria….

Dr Syed Alwi
Nov 9, 2008 23:08

Dear Mohd Haireez,

Are you prepared to uphold the political interests of the Non-Muslim majority – even if it means that you may have to hurt Muslims elsewhere ?

Are you capable of standing up to Malaysia and Indonesia to uphold the interests of the Chinese majority – even when racial and religious entiments are being played out ?

I support PM Lee’s statement as being honest and pragmatic. Until such time when Singaporean Malays are closer and more connected with the Singaporean Chinese – as compared to Malaysian & Indonesian Malays – don’t ask for a Malay PM.

Comments edited by moderator.

tiredsingaporean

whatever color you all no chance one lah, everyone also know lui kong sure protect lui kong kia then later lui kong kia also use same formula protect lui kong soon, then later lui kong cheng soon, maybe another 100 years than maybe except other species one.

Greg

hey fellow singaporeans,

I also think the GRC system is good for us and race can never be a non-issue.

But a distinction should be made between choosing the members of parliament and choosing the prime minister. While the former is elected by the general electoral body, the latter is chosen by the President and our MPs. So shouldnt race be a non-issue at the highest level?

I think thats what the author is saying…

Dr Syed Alwi
Nov 9, 2008 23:13

Dear People,

I quote Mahathir in his Malay Dilemma – “Those who say forget race, are either naives or knaves”.

How you lead depends on your value system and cultural habits. Are you telling me that a Malay has the same value system as the Chinese ? Same aspiration ? Same cultural habits ?

And would a Malay PM enforce Islamisation under pressure from the Muslim world ?

I have no doubts about it – Singapore cannot and should not – have a Malay PM.

hopeless
Nov 9, 2008 23:25

Please la, Dr Syed… Perhaps u may subconciously have ties with the Malays in other countries. I have worked with all races in uniform organisations… and I have full confidence that we will all fight for our common objectives for our nation Singapore when time comes… There was never a moment I doubt the loyalty of my comrades..

Even people in the same race or same family will also have traitors. Stop playing racial card. Grow up Dr Syed…

Greg
Nov 9, 2008 23:32

Dr Syed,

You certainly missed the whole point of the article. Nowhere did it say that the author wants a Malay PM.

He is just saying that a PM “must be assessed by ability, regardless of his race.” it advocates an approach which transcends race.

And you would do well to do follow suit.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 9, 2008 23:32

what’s wrong to have a malay, indian or eurasian PM if he shown good leadership and have the heart and interest of the citizens, have we forgotten who was our first minister tunku abdul rahman when he was around for many years looking after the people of singapore, do we have any problem with him before?

GoodSingaporean
Nov 9, 2008 23:43

i agreed…as long as no LEEs…anythings also can!

Daniel
Nov 9, 2008 23:54

“but not this LEE boh ho one lah.”
Other Lee can be benevolent but this Uniquely Lee obviously is a LEEches that suck one’s blood and money dry. Real parasite that hang on and living on you. Anyway, people will still vote for LEEches in time to come. More LEEches’ year.

khairulanwar
Nov 10, 2008 0:00

this comes very ad nauseum to me: but stop blaming pm lee, or the leadership, for what he said. it reflects the sentiments of singaporeans – we are still strongly caught up with racial identities.

it stinks, but yes: it is the political reality, the on-the-ground sentiments. and while the prime minister is selected based on his ability to command a functioning majority of mps, we don’t go into elections to select mps to select the prime minister. the westminister model has the process structured as so, but we know that the sec-gen/leader of the party will the prime minister. hence, the citizenry has some influence, while not direct, on the selection of the prime minister. political parties are instituted to win elections – if they know that a minority candidate cannot be a tenable choice as prime minister for the voters, they will not place him there. again, its neither benevolent or daring, but its pragmatic and wise – and that’s how elections are won.

and quit asking the government to take the lead: what singapore needs is a less pervasive and diminished presence of the state – what you can do is to break barriers, to establish mutual trust among races. if citizens are still ingrained with the racial misconceptions, its not the government’s fault. if they are the reason why a minority pm is not possible, its not the government’s fault. they constitute the mainstream thinking, and the challenge is to break them down. expecting the pap to say: hey, we must be ready to accept a minority pm – is futile and really useless.

and obama’s victory does not herald a seismic shift in thinking, not across the world, not in singapore anyway. the ideal of meritocracy, to be judged on ability, is noble – but we are the ones who make meritocracy work. pm lee was just voicing a pragmatic stance in a sense that people are still deeply concerned about race rather than ability alone; and that is true. we don’t have to castigate him for that.

are our racial communities truly ready for a post-racial political environment? i doubt so. ask the malays whether they mind having article 152 abrogated and how they should not be take offence when masagos is only appointed parl sect instead of mos, or whether it would be alright to exclude a malay minister from the cabinet based on the pool of talent available. i doubt the community will be ready to make these concessions. as long as these deep-seated views exist, we are only confirming what lee hsien loong says.

and the way forward is not to have him endorse the ideal of meritocracy (ability over race) or suggest the possibility of having a minority pm real soon, but to establish closer rapport between communties and advance efforts to forge a national identity.

but this debate is a good start. and well, we can only look forward.

tiredsingaporean
Nov 10, 2008 0:01

alamak! now LEEcula oso appear liao! sad….sign…… singaporeans will soon be poor until shrimp no blood liao!
anyway jokes aside, singaporeans are going to face harder time soon with the present policies cos the system will not shows mercy to the people of singapore since it is all about money to the garment.

1eyejack
Nov 10, 2008 0:02

I would have voted for the late J.B Jeyaratnam…and I am chinese.
It’s not the race nor the colour of the skin…it’s what the person stands for.

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 0:17

“this comes very ad nauseum to me: but stop blaming pm lee, or the leadership, for what he said. it reflects the sentiments of singaporeans – we are still strongly caught up with racial identities.”
Who cares what he says if he couldn’t garner any respect from the citizen. This is what he get when a incompetent leader could only resort to high-truth, disappearance, deceit, living in ivory tower, bo-chap, utter word-of-wisdom to distract issue and to regain respect. No one cares about this clown until his action match his word.
You want people to respect the leader, let the leader walk the talk, not just talk the talk.

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 0:26

The gov can deceive a fool once, twice, or thrice but not forever. What discussion is this about when you have the Lee’s speaking on his own on behalf of people ? Clowns that are so disconnected can even represented the people on the ground ? What the heck ? Is PM so ignorant or just act ignorant ? Most of the time, these clowns knows the right thing to do but can’t just affort to do it, am I right ? They know what’s going on but just pretend not to see it.
“I know what’s evil but then I hear no evil, see no evil, and smell no evil”

We even have Nathan as president, why can’t we have another race for PM, not unless you telling me that president can be useless but not PM. Such question will already tell something is wrong about the clown’s argument. Please someone stop telling me that our system is such that PM has power but president no power, what nonsense is that ? Isn’t the president suppose to have the power to perform the check and balance ? Without power ,check what ? Check backside ? Whose backside ?

Lifeobzervr
Nov 10, 2008 0:32

In every other instance this government committed to self praise in claiming pains pushing for the most unpopular decision because it is the best available option and the right thing to do. However, when the most capable candidate for PM is a non Chinese, this government take the perceived ‘popular’ way out, take the second or third in line as long as the NRIC flashes Chinese in the race column. How contradictory…! If this government is consistent in saying that the best option, no matter how difficult it is to convince the people, have to be taken… S Dhanabalan would have been the PM before GCT. In my personal opinion, the best candidate for PM in the present cabinet today in Minister Tharman.

As education minister, he did what other education ministers failed to do before him; Reform the Primary four streaming system. As the Second Minister for Finance, he approved the untihinkable… he culled from the budget a payout scheme for low wage workers, The Workfare. if there is any hope for reform within the present government (the other way of course is to reform by changing the government), I would vote for Mr Tharman for PM.

p.s. I’m not Indian.

khairulanwar
Nov 10, 2008 0:48

“Who cares what he says if he couldn’t garner any respect from the citizen. This is what he get when a incompetent leader could only resort to high-truth, disappearance, deceit, living in ivory tower, bo-chap, utter word-of-wisdom to distract issue and to regain respect. No one cares about this clown until his action match his word.
You want people to respect the leader, let the leader walk the talk, not just talk the talk.”

you’re missing my point. i did not say respect him, i say there is no point in castigating him for saying what is in fact a truism.

and lest we all forget, the pap still won by a 66.6% margin among the votes that can be casted. yes, its not a full popular mandate that enfranchises the people of those poor walkover wards, but heck, of those who can vote, at least 6 in 10 threw their lot with the pap.

we are all pandering to the converted here. and castigating lee hsien loong further will not change anything. saying he has a moral obligation to further the minority cause will not change anything either.

the only thing that will change is if a signifact portion of the electorate make it known that they are unhappy with the current regime, and they are amenable with a minority pm. that so far has not happened, and if it does, pap would be turfed out of office. but really, beyond this superficial whining, most singaporeans (not all of you who read theonlinecitizen, but those whose daily staple is limited to the straits times) will begrudgingly vote for the pap still. and nothing will change. same soft authoritarianism, same detachment, and same possible-but-not-for-the-forseeable-future-minority-pm.

alphaville

This article short change history, the first chief minister David Marshall is a Jew, the first opposition to break PAP strangle hold of parliament is an Indian, Joshua Benjamin Jayaratnam.

Lest not also forget we are talking about the scion of a leader who continue to espouse the benefit of eugenics.

Tew N S

He will reserve the PM post for his son, we the people have no problem whether Indian or Malay be the PM. Only Pap got problem.

Donaldson Tan
Nov 10, 2008 0:56

This article short change history, the first chief minister David Marshall is a Jew, the first opposition to break PAP strangle hold of parliament is an Indian, Joshua Benjamin Jayaratnam. – alphaville (#26)

But David Marshall and JBJ are non-PAP politicians. The important question here is whether there exist prejudice within the PAP that prevents competent individuals from minority-races to take up the most important leadership role in PAP.

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 1:05

“and lest we all forget, the pap still won by a 66.6% margin among the votes that can be casted. yes, its not a full popular mandate that enfranchises the people of those poor walkover wards, but heck, of those who can vote, at least 6 in 10 threw their lot with the pap.”

That doesn’t tell us anything. You know what. Those clowns promise upgrading of lift, I ask my friend why he vote for PAP. My friend say something so real, he say he could not afford to have his eighty years old mother climbing stair, in case she fall down and end up paying for expensive medical bills. Another friend quotes that his flag and toilet has crack and need upgrading, couldn’t afford to upgrade as his paltry salary is just enough to survive together with his aging mother and father, voting for PAP at least upgrade for free.
I’m sure there is a lot more mundane reasons other than such noble reason like the PAP will lead us towards the future.

So how many of these people are in these situations ?
If people vote because of CARROTS AND UPGRADING then those votes will not matter if the race of PM will not matter. The most important is whether the PM will do the right thing and be fair and upgrade those flags belonging to opp party after all everybody pays tax and males serve NS.

What is the point of having another race as PM if he is subservient and loyal to the PAP’s ideology and pragmatism ? Just ask Nathan.

Of course, this is not relevant to this current topic.

Anonymous
Nov 10, 2008 1:12

I agree with Mohd Haireez.

A malay PM would bring a different perspective – maybe a more relak approach to nation building. that’s what Singapore is lacking. everything also so serious -demand high efficiency, high productivity, and always be no.1. why not look at our brudders overseas in malaysia and indonesia, all so relak and enjoy good life! take things easy lah, easy come, easy go!

Triple Threat
Nov 10, 2008 1:39

Because they are relak, that’s why until today, they are still as tak boleh as ever. Lol.

Donaldson Tan
Nov 10, 2008 1:47

and quit asking the government to take the lead: what singapore needs is a less pervasive and diminished presence of the state – what you can do is to break barriers, to establish mutual trust among races. – khairulanwar (#19)

Well said. What we Singaporeans need is to overcome our clutch mentality by embracing community empowerment. We do not have to ask government for hand-out or help every time we get into trouble. We may be weak individually, but if we all all come together as one collective body, we have the power to pressure for change or make changes ourselves.

Ho Cheow Seng
Nov 10, 2008 5:17

Mohd Haireez / Guest Writer

Hi My Fellow Countryman,

You either missed the point P.M. Lee was trying to make or you were arguing for the sake of so doing.

Now let me be very forthright here. In your opinion, what are the chances of a non-Bumiputera [and so also a non-Muslim] becoming the P.M.of Malaysia? Do you think such a Malaysian has a good chance of becoming the P.M. of Malaysia? If your answer is in the affirmative I would be excited to hear what you have to say. If your answer is otherwise, I would aso be keen to know. And I’d like to stress here that Singapore and Malaysia, by virtue of their being both multi-racial societies, do have much in common in the arena of Politics.

[deleted by moderator] I’m indeed disappointed that you are unable to appreciate that the P.M. was being frank, honest and realistic in his answer on the possibility of a Citizen from a minority ethnic group being popularly elected as the P.M. of Singapore.

Or perhaps your comment on the P.M.’s answer to the said question stems not from your inability to grasp the realities of politics in the Singapore context but from a desire to distort what the P.M. obviously intended to mean, as well as to provoke members of the minority ethnic group(s) into believing that they were victims of deliberate discrimination by the Ruling Party. To substantiate what I have said I would like to quote what you have said in your write-up:

“With all due respect to Mr Lee, his response is at best, unsettling, particularly after decades of struggle to portray the government as a racially-unbiased institution.”

and you went on to say:

Mr Lee pointed out that race is a factor in the appointment of a Prime Minister.

“This is especially disturbing considering that the position of Prime Minister is not constitutionally dependent on the votes of the average citizen but is contingent upon the decision of the President who is supposed to select a Member of Parliament “who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the Members of Parliament..”, according to Article 25 of our Constitution.”

[deleted by moderator] in Singapore, it has always been the party that command the majority of the votes cast by our citizens that forms the Government. And it is the members of the Ruling Party who decide who will be the P.M. and who will then inform or advise the President accordingly. And the President, even if he is an ‘Elected President’, will not normally contravene the decision of a political party popularly elected by the People to form the Government.

As regards what you have to say about “the government being (as) a racially-unbiased institution”, you do know that this has always been the case. May I also stress here that only the Malays in Singapore enjoy privileges that all the other ethnic groups do not enjoy. Malay children enjoy free education up to the tertiary level regardless of their families’s financial standing. Children from the other ethnic groups have all to pay school fees up to the tertiary level includingthose who happen to come from financially disadvantaged homes. Then again, the Govenment of the day comprises MP’s and Ministers and other lower ranking political office-holders from both the minority and the majority ethnic groups.

Finally, may I suggest that unless one is honest and courageous enough to face up to the truth of one’s situation, one will continue to remain status quo. YES, the truth is always painful. But as an enlightened individual, I’d rather accept the pain than choose that the truth be concealed. This is the only way to go for one to achieve true progress. Special privileges are at best crutches that serve in the long run only to demean one’s self-worth.

Ho Cheow Seng

Comments edited by moderator.

:

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Nov 10, 2008 5:30

I think that PM Lee’s words have some truth in it.

We are still very racially minded in the way we eat, talk, work and definitely vote. That is not to say that the non-Chinese are not as capable as the Chinese majority population. As we are surrounded by Muslim dominated countries, I think it is right to say that the majoirty Chinese will not be comfortable with a non-Chinese/Muslim PM as yet.

Nevertheless, ministers like Tharma is very impressive and articulate and definitely one of the top three ministers in the govt now together with Khaw and George. If he is make PM, I will support him in vote and spirit. He shows a good grasp of what he knows and speaks articulately and seems connected to the ground. I agreed that Dhanabalan should be the PM instead of SM Goh but at last, he is non-Chinese. However, SM Goh has managed to bring his human side to the people and did a relatively good job at the helm as PM.

All this goes to show that we are still not a very inclusive society in terms of race and religion. We still need housing racial ration to ensure that one race does not congregate in one HDB estate. When we vote, if the candidate is a choice of Chinese against Malay candidates, I am pretty sure that similar race voters will vote for their own kind all things being equal.

The GRC has tried in it’s stupendous way to ensure that voters vote along non-racial lines but the govt has used it to their political advantage of course. However, I can see the logic of the GRC implementation. It tries to introduce a multi-national team in the constituency ensuring that the voters have their own kind to look into their needs. Nevertheless, the GRC system has blatantly announced to the country that we are still voting in a racially-bias pattern which does not help us to be racially-blind.

Tampines and Eunos are very Muslim-dominated estate and it is a concern as it shows that we are still very racially minded in where we live and school.

When I go out with my Muslim friends to watch EPL soccer at my coffee shop downstairs, for reasons unknown to me, I am not invited to drink together with them sitting at the same table. They would order three glasses for themselves to drink and I am left to order my own kopi. I felt excluded and sometimes annoyed by this simple gesture of ignorance though we are good pals.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not angry at them just puzzled. One of my best friend is a Muslim who is also my ex-colleague. We ate lunches and drank tea together sharing many aspirations of helping the poor and underpriviledged together.

However, PM Lee’s statement though truthful will surely anger the non-Chinese population and naturally so. He spoke his mind and I don’t think there is any malice in it. Maybe young writers like Mr Haireez is more ready to vote along non-racial line but not the post-65 voters and that includes all voters whether they belong to the Chinese, Malays or Indians. We still have a long way to go.

A Tan
Nov 10, 2008 5:59

If the 70 odd per cent Chinese population do not want a non Chinese to be PM, the PM will be Chinese.

That is all PM is saying. Nothing more, nothing less.

Ever heard of the will (or tyranny) of the majority,Mohd Haireez?

And the leaders in Indonesia and M’sia sure don’t inspire confidence that a non Chinese will do better.

joe
Nov 10, 2008 6:17

Waste of time even discussing this issue.

Not until OLD MAN dies, at least.

Now he decides who can be PM. Even if the majority of Chinese thinks we can accept Tharman as PM, he can wait long long because his genes lack LEEs.

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 6:29

“You must be naive, or being deliberately mischievous to pretend, not to know that in Singapore, it has always been the party that command the majority of the votes cast by our citizens that forms the Government. And it is the members of the Ruling Party who decide who will be the P.M. and who will then inform or advise the President accordingly. And the President, even if he is an ‘Elected President’, will not normally contravene the decision of a political party popularly elected by the People to form the Government.”

Yes, you have hit the note well. You acknowledge it and it is time for a change. Blunders have been made and cover-ups are harder to do nowsaday. Absolute power corrupts and we have tasted their “failure” bitterly through PayAndPay scheme. Singapore is run under a monarch dynasty with emperor passing his throne to his incompetent son with many subjects at his side. The emperor pretend to pass his throne and using his son as a puppet and manipulating his son and court at every move. Subjects so afraid to speak up for fear of “execution” and “demotion to common man”. A arrogant government that rely on fear and tax to rule the country, diminishing the power of citizen and exploiting the citizen to no end. The emperor speak rhetoric only to give reasons for more taxes to be collected and expound suffering onto the citizen to show that emperor still has its place and relevancy. An emperor that really wear no clothes and no shame, implanting wrong value to his successors, be it his subjects or his son. Such dynasty must come to past for good and for worse.

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 6:33

“I think that PM Lee’s words have some truth in it.”
40++ years of nation-building in multi-racial society and we still not ready ? Something must be wrong. Never try never know. Are we the one who fear the change or the government ? Maybe both.

clamorofbeing
Nov 10, 2008 7:07

Most of the articles I’ve read report that John McCain got most of the “white evangelical vote”, not most of the “white vote”. Also, African-Americans as a whole tend to vote Democratic, regardless of the race of the candidate. So you are quite right to call out the PM’s questionable use of statistics.

He should have, in addition to everything else he said, come out strongly in favour of the rights of minorities to be assessed objectively. It is only befitting that a leader of a state should embody the ideals of the state, which in this case, include meritocracy. Compare his answer to Colin Powell’s response to allegations that Obama is a Muslim: “What if he is? Is there something wrong with being a Muslim in this country? The answer’s no, that’s not America.”

I think the PM did a great disservice to minorities in Singapore by adopting an indulgent and concessionary tone towards what is in fact racism. The government advises the Singaporean people to do a lot of things, so it completely escapes me as to why he didn’t at least include the exhortation that “Singaporeans should judge on the basis of ability rather than race” in addition to all his other comments. It was the least he could do to demonstrate his commitment to the rights of all citizens.

Dr Syed Alwi
Nov 10, 2008 7:35

Dear People,

How will a Malay PM react to racial and religious sentiments played out by Malaysia and Indonesia ?

Will a Malay PM uphold the political interests of the Chinese Non-Muslim majority – even if it means hurting Malay-Muslims elsewhere ?

Will a Malay PM be pressured into Islamising Singapore ?

Joker
Nov 10, 2008 7:47

Dear Cheow Seng,

Singapore has not adopted Malaysia’s pro-bumi policy, which is why we separated in the first place. The point is that the PM, and the PAP, have made much of the idea that meritocracy is the creed of Singapore, in that you can rise to the top, regardless of your background and ethnicity, as long as you have the ability.

In this context, it is instructive to note that the PM did not say – “Sure, a minority candidate can become PM, but it’s just that I haven’t spotted someone who has the ability yet.”

Rather he said something like “No, a minority candidate cannot become PM yet, because the majority won’t vote for him due to their racial bias.”

Not only does that contravene the PAP’s much professed creed of meritocracy, it also leads many netizens to suspect that it is actually the PM and the conservative PAP leadership themselves that will not accept a minority PM, rather than the majority of Singaporeans which the PM has pointed the finger at. That’s why you get the reaction that you have here.

hopeless
Nov 10, 2008 8:31

Dr Syed,

Hey, your days are over. When I look at the PM, its either a good PM or a bad PM.

U said, “How will a Malay PM react to racial and religious sentiments played out by Malaysia and Indonesia ?”

U are speaking like an illiterate person in the 50’s. Remember those days, even Hokkien people must married Hokkien, Hailam (now called Hainan) married Hailam. Using your kind of distorted logic, how would a Hokkien PM deals with Hokkien, how would a Hokkien Commissioner of Police deals with Hokkien secret society members….

Wake up, do not make my toe laugh…. Just one last for you, when people asked me about Singapore first President, to me is always Yusof bin Ishak… whether he is an Indian or Chinese did not come to my mind…

One more last one, I think you may be the type who would give up your seat in a MRT train to people of your race….

But do not worry, you are my fellow Singaporean… when the time come for me to defend you, I will defend you…

Your fellow Anak Singapura…

clamorofbeing
Nov 10, 2008 8:51

A person who is incapable of:

- responding objectively to “racial and religious sentiments” played out elsewhere
- upholding the rights of all citizens
- being committed to secularism in government, rather than religious ideology

would not be considered a fit candidate for PM, regardless of what his ethnicity happens to be.

These are descriptors of types of people, not of entire ethnic or religious groups.

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 8:51

Ho Cheow Seng:
Or perhaps your comment on the P.M.’s answer to the said question stems not from your inability to grasp the realities of politics in the Singapore context but from a desire to distort what the P.M. obviously intended to mean, as well as to provoke members of the minority ethnic group(s) into believing that they were victims of deliberate discrimination by the Ruling Party.

To say that PM has an obvious point to make in such a statement is something that I do not subscribe to. There has to be an underlying reason. To me, the reason is plain and simple; PAP is note ready to give the PMship to a minority candidate. And because it is not ready to do this, it makes the suggestion, via the top man in the land, that the population is not ready to accept a minority PM.

Why do I come to such a conclusion? Look at the ‘consequential’ appointments in the PAP govt and you’ll be able to see clearly what I mean.

Minister for Defence – has there been a non-Chinese minister?
Chief Justice – has there been a non-Chinese Chief Justice?

Even the Finance ministry which only as recent as 2007 that we saw a non-Chinese heading the ministry, Tharman.

This begs the question: Is it Singaporeans or is it the PAP govt that harbours the fear of appointing a non-Chinese to these positions? It’s the same with the PMship isn’t it?

So tell, what is the reality you talk about? If this is not real enough than I do not know what is. You also claim that commenters in this forum ‘distort what the PM obviously intended to mean’. Tell me, can you blame us for such distortions, even if they exist at all in the first place?

This is one PM that has shown to have a habit of saying half-truths or truths with underlying motives. This is one PM who does not flinch or bat an eyelid when accusing the people when things do not go as planned – according to the PAP standard.

Coming back to the topic, I feel, this PM knows that his cabinet is not ready to appoint a non-Chinese PM. He knows he cannot force their hands. Next best thing to protect himself from blame is to blame the population, as always. The people are not ready for a minority PM.

Finally, one cannot hope to avoid the debate becoming one that borders along racial lines in such a discussion. The PM cannot be so naive not to expect this. So, if this evolves into a debate that has racial connotations, then the people cannot be blamed for it. The PM started it.

The equation is very simple and there is no need to blame the earth and the heavens.

T
Nov 10, 2008 8:53

/// 10) Dr Syed Alwi on November 9th, 2008 11.08 pm
Dear Mohd Haireez,
Are you prepared to uphold the political interests of the Non-Muslim majority – even if it means that you may have to hurt Muslims elsewhere ? ///

Hi Dr Syed Alwi,

I think neither PM Lee nor Mohd Haireez talked about Malay PM per se, but minority PM. I see you have deliberately narrowed it down to Malay/Muslim PM. If you think in terms of all minority races, then the chances are higher.

We already have minority Deputy PM and SM – Jayakumar and late Rajaratnam. We had minority Presidents in Yusof Ishak, Devan Nair, Benjamin Sheares and S R Nathan.

Wouldn’t someone with Tharman be good enough to be PM? No problem with upholding the political interests of the non-Muslim majority at all.

bersamasama
Nov 10, 2008 8:54

Dear Mohamed, U rebutted:

“”In extension of his response, Mr Lee rationalised that the fact Senator John McCain garnered a majority of white votes in the recent US Presidential elections is a reflection of how race is still a factor in the minds of the American voters.”"

“”But this overlooks the fact that not a single Democrat has won a majority of the white vote since Lyndon Johnson in 1964 despite fielding white candidates as Presidential-hopefuls. In fact, Senator John Kerry, a white Democrat nominee, attracted less support from the white voters in 2004 than President-elect Obama did in the recent US Presidential election. Senator Kerry garnered just 43 percent of the white vote while still attracting the majority of the non-white voters despite being white himself. “”

You have done your research well. Keep it up. The PM should respond.

This is why we need to have freedom of speech, we need to debate… the truth will come out. But, do not underestimate the like of Dr Syed… There are enough of this type of people to stop our progress…. They always see the world with their tinted eyes …..

Majulah Singapura… Qian Jin Ba, Xinjiapo

hopeless
Nov 10, 2008 9:10

Mr T, u said “Tharman be good enough to be PM? ”

You must have very short memory. Just less than a month ago, it came out in the Newspaper HEADLINE that he said, WE DID NOT NEED GOVT GUARANTEE ON DEPOSIT IN BANKS.

Then what happened? The next day, MAS announced that SINGAPORE GOVT WILL GURANTEE ALL DEPOSIT IN SINGAPORE BANKS.

You want him to be PM? U must be JOKING.

Please go and check the papers before you respond.

Ark
Nov 10, 2008 9:26

Jeyakumar: Can I *ever* become the PM?
LHL: Over my dead body, literally

lim
Nov 10, 2008 9:39

The electorate voted for JBJ, an indian, as the first opposition MP and leader. I doubt if the electorate is really racially prejudiced although there are people that individually still are.

Whilst individual parties decide who they want as their leader, ultimately, its still the electorate who decides on the candidate. If the electorate thinks a minority candidate is worth voting for, they’d vote for that person.

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 9:39

I think Dr Alwi brought up three very intertesting questions.

It does not matter if you think the PM had not deliberately mentioned a Malay PM but in all truthfulness, I believe this is what he had intended to convey. Of course saying it out loud would rouse unpleasant sentiments and effect a different discussion altogether .

Fact of the matter is, the questions posed by Dr Alwi is real and the possibility of having a Malay PM is enough for us to discuss such a possiblity?

I did a simple survey last week with my colleagues at work – and mind you – I have 25% in the department who are Malays (11 out of 40) working alongside me.

In the open, most have answered that they would not mind a minority PM. However, when I asked them again in private, their sentiments changed completely. Most said they won’t mind a minority PM – if the PM is not a Malay.

They brought up the same fears and questions posed by Dr Alwi. And guess what? All the Malays in my department had the same fear. They were the ones who felt that Singapore is not ready for a Malay PM.

This tells the story that the PM is facing. His govt does not have the guts to tell him the truth (or maybe they are really blind or deaf). He does not have the b**ls to discuss openly with them. So, he blames the people to stir discussions. The people will do the job for him and he can insulate himself from all blame.

Lifeobzervr
Nov 10, 2008 10:21

#47 Hopeless

Dear Hopeless,

The way i read it is: Tharman’s first statement is the official statement of the Government’s status quo. behind the scene, Tharman has been pushing for the approval of an insurance for back deposits.

Please follow this 2nd reading ot the Deposit Insurance Bill 2005. Tharman pushed for this bill at the time when he was only the Minister of Education. His position as Deputy Chairman of MAS would not count in a parliamentary debate. He has served as a Director in MAS since early 90s. http://www.mas.gov.sg/news_room/statements/2005/Second_Reading_by_Mr_Tharman_for_DI_Bill_2005.html This reading was in April 2007, way ahead of the DBS Saga.

His seemingly abrupt about turn only serves as an indication that he is continuously committed to ensure that Bank Deposits are protected.

A Tan
Nov 10, 2008 10:38

“approval of an insurance for back deposits” — up to S$20,000 only lol.

My dog’s trust account has more than that.

Anyway me and my dog not complaining now.

Honk for the Hongkies — S’pore followed HK’s blanket guarantee.

Just like if HK Parly decides to investigate banks for misselling and misrep toxic products, S’pore will follow.

Hongkies lead the way.

No need govt of talents — juz follow Hongkies.

lim
Nov 10, 2008 10:57

Lemming mentality or monkey see, monkey do?

jy
Nov 10, 2008 11:07

Mr Lifeobzervr,

Really very very cheeeem. As complicated as mini-bond thing. Difficult to understand. I am not sure if a PhD guy would understand.

Lifeobzervr
Nov 10, 2008 11:15

for post #51, My point is this: for someone in cabinet who is not even the Minister of Finance at that time (apr 2007), poking his nose and pushing for changes to the longstanding hands off policy of the govt with regards to the bank deposit (althought only a token of $20000) is in itself a moral courage which is symbolic. This is something that should be the concern of the Finance Minister then…

Dear lim
Nov 10, 2008 11:24

“Lemming mentality or monkey see, monkey do?”

Like it or not. It works. Why else do we need marketing and spinning. If you know what I mean. The reason for you to be around also. Right ?

JBA
Nov 10, 2008 11:31

Hmm, A better PM would have been JBJ no doubt bout that, cause he doesnt fear the God-King. If the pm says as such, it is the responsibility and the maturity of the majority of the singaporeans to make the vote. This is because the minorities will not affect the voting as much. As stated before, the minorities bear only 30% of the country. If all should vote for the minority candidate, he will still not have a chance in winning. This is the moment at which the majority will be tested whether they are actually judging people by merit or they are still stereotypical or perhaps hypocritical.

A Tan
Nov 10, 2008 11:37

But according to Cabinet website, he was Second Minister for Finance from Dec 2006. So in April 2007 he was Second Minister for Finance.

So what “moral courage” you talking abt? His duty (if MoF is busy etc) to push for bill.

Or is Cabinet website wrong?

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 11:43

I think we need to do an in-depth analysis on the subject of fear.

Why do people feay LKY?
Why do people fear PAP?
Why do peple fear ISA?
Why do people fear the Judiciary?
Why do people fear the Police?
Why do people fear to vote for the opposition?

Now our PM is insinuating if we ought to fear a minority PM.

See the pattern? How did we come to possess so much fear?

Fear has been introduced to us from time to time and we have been brainwashed to accept these fears and to associate them with being Singaporean.

Get the picture? The people mentioned above should be the ones fearing the people. How come nobody fears the people?

Something is wrong, very wrong.

Singlish
Nov 10, 2008 11:54

Well under the Singapore Constitution, the Prime Minister is appointed by the President. Therefore whether we have a minority race Prime Minister totally depends on the President. This is not a decision by general public.

So no point argue about this when we have not the slightest influence.

I guess we can talk about the appointment of President as we have revised the constitution in 1991 to become a people elected President instead of Parliament elected President.

Greenhorn
Nov 10, 2008 12:14

Don’t understand why people kept saying PAP won 66.6% of votes. I thought only about 55% of the constituents got to vote, so 66.6% out of 55% is approximately equivalent to 36.6%. On what basis is the majority of the remaining 45% of votes from constituents who did not get to vote counted as voting for PAP?

To germami
Nov 10, 2008 12:21

60) gemami on November 10th, 2008 11.43 am

Do not need in-depth analysis lah.

When the surrounding messages (thanks to the hard work of the MSM) and reward-and-compensation system for agreeing and disagreeing are perpetuated to stress this fear factor, a lot of people will naturally learn by examples. It is even worst if the the process begins when you are very young.

Once it is sufficiently built into your own psyche over a period of time, your biology will naturally take over. It will take a very determined person to undo this conditioning because you are actually fighting with yourself (your own hard-wired learned experience) and with external factors still perpetuating / reinforcing that it is “wrong” for you to fight back.

The wonder of the internet if that you can learn all of this at your own pace without people saying that you are spewing nonsence. That is why it is more and more difficult for them to stress about their own talent and intelligence anymore because it is becoming more and more like a piece of commodity.

They themselves have practised it also like ‘importing’ talent but they have somehow ‘forgotten’ about their own positions.

ancient ruler
Nov 10, 2008 12:24

police + judiciary + PAP mps fear the emperor.
opp politicians fear the emperor.
Lee Jr and Goh fear the emperor.
ISD serve as eyes and ears to the emperor.
gurkhas serve as imperial guards to the emperor.

the emperor is human like us and he has much fear.
has anyone seen him in public without his guards ?

the best person to be PM cannot be serving the emperor and his system.

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 12:25

Appointment of Prime Minister and Ministers 25. —(1)
The President shall appoint as Prime Minister a Member of Parliament who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the Members of Parliament, and shall, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, appoint other Ministers from among the Members of Parliament

So, who is not ready for a minority PM? Who is the current PM addressing his ‘advice’ to? The people or the President who appointed him?

Lifeobzervr
Nov 10, 2008 12:30

#59 A Tan,

Thanks for pointing out on the date. Correction on the date: the Second reading was made on 15 August 2005. (the website shows updated in apr 2007, which I suppose the date the page went online).

In Aug 2005, Mr Tharman hasn’t been handed the MoF portfolio. My other comments as is.

Mimi Ju
Nov 10, 2008 12:35

Good time to start expanding and looking beyond old boys’ network and blood relations. Meritocracy should transcend the racial factor.

Vivian Balakrishnan’s mixed ancestry is like of like an Obama’s story. But he made a few insensitive remarks by toeing the government’s line. Cost him fair amount of popular support.

true personality
Nov 10, 2008 13:39

Mr Lifeobzervr,

So, u made a slip lah. U tried to say that Tharman was a good man before he weas MoF. …

Most would be a good men before he assumes the position of power. Now, have you seen the true colour…..

U still think he qualified?

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 13:51

Tharman as PM? Did you guys know he was convicted under the Official Secrets Act?

While serving as economics director in Monetary Authority of Singapore in 1994, Tharman was charged under the Official Secrets Act for inadvertently releasing Singapore’s 1992 second-quarter flash projections to a research director Mr Raymond Foo, and economist Manu Bhaskaran, of Crosby Securities and journalists, Kenneth James and Patrick Daniel from the Business Times.

Tharmam was convicted by Senior District Judge Richard Magnus and fined SGD$1,500

what to do? mee siam ho chia
Nov 10, 2008 16:39

u mean its ok to hire a man found guilty of offence to work in such a position?
oh, ok, thanks for the info.

we in safe hands no wolly.

Older generation
Nov 10, 2008 17:39

I don’t think the minority has the chance to become PM for the next 50 years if the current garhem still in power. I bet the lee dynasty will continue with that position for the next 1 or 2 generations if PAP still in power. The old-fart already said that minority has to wait long, long before it happen.

Darren
Nov 10, 2008 17:39

Our racial riots happened in 1964. We had not 1 but 2 racial riots. I was too young then but I will safely say, so are most of the readers and contributors to TOC.

But imagine you are the exiting PM, would you think it is wise to have a non-chinese PM in the cabinet, assuming he is capable as well? As the PM you should be thinking of party interests as well as the people. Are Singaporeans ready, given the knowledge and data that only 44 years ago, there were such riots?

I have my answer. I wonder what is yours?

min
Nov 10, 2008 17:49

I am shocked by PM Lee’s comments. Imagine Bush says, it is possible to have a black president, but America is not ready for it. He would have to apologize and retract his statement! But in Singapore, our leaders are allowed these comments because they are Team “A”.

If we keep talking about Chinese, Malays, Indians and Others, we will remain Chinese, Malays, Indians and Others and never be able to see beyond that. What happened to meritocracy? PAP has been preaching it for years! And this article rightly points out: the PM is not directly elected. So the rest of Singapore may not be ready to have a minority PM, what about members of the ruling party who are supposedly made up of Team “A”? Would they allow a B grade leader, even if he or she is Chinese?

So much for telling us what we think! PM cannot tell us what he thinks. He cannot assume we are not ready, unless we are allow to voice our opinion!

It is time Singaporeans stop allowing our leaders to tell us what we think!

aniza
Nov 10, 2008 18:52

To be frank, I support PM LEE point of view. S’pore cannot be compare to America..nor any other countries in the world.

America had a history of over 200 years.A history where Black are taken as slaves and Whites are of the supreme race..their cause is made similar as the ‘HEBREWS’ during pharoah dynasty bank in the ancient egyptian dynasty..

It’s possible actually, but it will take maybe some time few generations down the road to have a minority PM in s’pore. Singaporeans either from the minority or the majority are not comfotable ‘enough’ with the idea…

Daniel
Nov 10, 2008 18:53

“To be frank, I support PM LEE point of view. S’pore cannot be compare to America..nor any other countries in the world.”

So why are people comfortable with Nathan as president then ?

gemami
Nov 10, 2008 19:05

The problem is not with Singaporeans. The problem is PAP and PAP alone.
We must not allow the PM to push the blame to us.

If Singaporeans can accept the transfer of power from father to son, what difference would it make if we have a minority race PM? We have already faced the worst, what can be worse than nepotism?

Donaldson Tan
Nov 10, 2008 19:15

So why are people comfortable with Nathan as president then? – Daniel (#74)

Do you think Singaporeans are comfortable or resigned to the fact that SR Nathan is President. For goodness sake, he wasn’t elected by the people. There was no election. He was effectively appointed by the Public Service Commission (PSC) because he was the only qualified candidate in the eyes of the PSC.

min
Nov 10, 2008 20:52

“America had a history of over 200 years.A history where Black are taken as slaves and Whites are of the supreme race”

Although that is true, let us not forget that the minority races here were never treated the way the Blacks in Americas was. Furthermore, until large numbers of Chinese immigrants came, Malays were the majority.

“If Singaporeans can accept the transfer of power from father to son, what difference would it make if we have a minority race PM? We have already faced the worst, what can be worse than nepotism?”

Absolutely! I think we need to also reflect on what we have “accepted”. PAP shoves all these things in our face and yes, some of us complain, but at the end, our lives still go on.

“Singaporeans either from the minority or the majority are not comfotable ‘enough’ with the idea…”

if somebody keeps telling you that you won’t be comfortable, you may end up fulfilling that prophecy. We need to be less affected by these statements and judge for ourselves. We have been told too many times what we supposedly feel. We are not ready for gays, not ready for minority race leader BUT when did we say we were ready for, say, a casino? We were told to accept some of these ideas even when many voices objected. We are told that because some religious groups oppose gays, so the society is not ready. But when the issue of casino was rejected by religious groups, the government forced it on to us! At the end of the day, they justify things whichever way they want.

*I am ethnic Chinese and not religious*

Paul Ananth
Nov 10, 2008 21:05

Gemami and others are quite right.

The PAP might not be ready for a non-Chinese leader but not Singaporeans.

Singaporeans will vote for the most passionate and the most qualified

The Chinese majority citizens of Anson voted for JBJ TWICE over Chinese Singaporean candidates!!

CelluloidReality
Nov 10, 2008 21:18

Well, the way I see it, I see it as the uncertainty of a party rather than of the State.

Lifeobzervr
Nov 10, 2008 23:44

#67 True Personality

I don’t really see that Tharman has changed his position. The usual thing about policies, it stays on the shelf until it is challenged. My take is that the first statement was just a reading of the existing policy at that time while the second one was a reading of a revised policy.

Somehow, i guess, with Australia and Hong Kong providing that kind of guarantee, it is very easy for the bank customers with very deep pockets to withdraw every cent and transfer the funds to offshore banks that provides blanket guarantee. So, MAS about turn was more likely to be in response to that rather than small depositors.

I personally am not in favour for a blanket guarantee without a cap as it is as good as guaranteeing a bail out before it is even needed.

#68 gemami,
I’d like to forgive an honest mistake but will want to challenge outright abuse of power, both physically or symbolicly. Tharman has been charged for the offence and paid the fine and has his record up for everyone to see. He wasn’t in politics then.

Well, maybe I’m wrong. Tharman may not be the best person in the present cabinet to take over the PM portfolio. However, looking at the present lot of parliamentarians, I don’t see anyone better qualified. As I indicated, I’m not discounting the other option where the whole government is replaced thus a new ruling party and new PM. However, I don’t see any of the present alternative parties having that sensitivity and acumen to form a govenment. My foremost hope is for the alternative parties to gain enough footing to form a shadow government. At least even outside the parliament. Nothing is stopping the major alternative parties here to meet in partnership regularly and debate policy positions rationally.

I have my share of dissapointment of racial insensitivity by one of the major alternative parties in the last election. I’ve given them my feedback and I accept that it was an oversight on their part. No offense taken. My point is that, we need to keep ourselves constantly reminded that it is very easy to fall back to cultural norms of many such that we pay little attention to the discomforts shown by the marginal few. However, if the symbolic discrimination persists despite reminders, then it has moved from habits to arrogance. That, must be challenged outright.

Why PM says that there will not be a minority PM soon? « everyday’s life in a snapshot
Nov 11, 2008 0:14

[...] me, there are several issues here that can be raised. A few articles(click here and here)have already talked about the issues about meritocracy and how PM’s speech seems to [...]

patriot
Nov 11, 2008 1:27

From what I read here, Singaporeans of all Races are ready for a minority race PM who has the capability. BUT NONE WILL ACCEPT ANYONE THAT IS A RELIGIOUS ZEALOT NOR MATTER HIS FAITH.

And it is precisely because of these religious zealots that Singapore is not ready for a minority race PM.

patriot

gemami
Nov 11, 2008 8:09

80) Lifeobzervr
I’d like to forgive an honest mistake

By nature, most of us would also like to forgive someone who has made a mistake. But tell me what constitutes an honest mistake as opposed to a dishonest mistake?

A mistake is a mistake and when the court of law has deemed it a criminal act, it can no longer be deemed an honest mistake. Why go to the court then if the people can judge it to be an honest mistake?

Now, we are talking about occupying the highest office in the land. We are talking about a position that directly impacts the lives and livelihoods of every Singaporean. Can we allow one who has been convicted, whether the crime for the conviction is honest or otherwise, to hold this position?

Another point, so many of our politicians in the opposition camp have been brought to their knees because of honest mistakes which were punished more than the court of law did.

Remember James Gomez? Remember Francis Seow? All very petty and honest mistakes than were punished with the destruction of their lives.

Patriot:
it is precisely because of these religious zealots that Singapore is not ready for a minority race…

You’ve brought up the core area of the problem which many do not even visit. It tells the bare truth doesn’t it?. Under normal circumstances, a minority PM is acceptable to most Singaporeans but there will always be this fear of the PMship going to a minority who may be a religious zealot.

However, we do need to bear in mind too that with a Chines PM, it can also happen, but less likely so, because of our demographic and geographic position.

Oscar Choy
Nov 12, 2008 5:46

gemami on November 10th, 2008 7.05 pm The problem is not with Singaporeans. The problem is PAP and PAP alone.
We must not allow the PM to push the blame to us.

If Singaporeans can accept the transfer of power from father to son, what difference would it make if we have a minority race PM? We have already faced the worst, what can be worse than nepotism?

#gemami – this is debaseful. Your memory is short changed. Power is not transfer from father to son. There is GCT as a PM for 13 years. He is no seat warmer. Get your perspectives and history of your country right. To be PM in Singapore, a command and respect of the majority in the ruling pary members is required. I do not know whether this ruling is applied to other political parties in Singapore Or they never have this ruling at all. You mentioned nepotism. Can you defend this statement if you are call or summon to Court to explain?

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Nov 12, 2008 7:44

I was shocked that there is a talk of early election from today’s ST.

Maybe the opportunities will be there sooner than we expect!

gemami
Nov 12, 2008 7:51

Gosh! you’re forcing me to say the things I do not want to say.

Urgh! ….. but here goes….I don’t know about the ‘command of respect’ part. Honestly, it is debatable that Lee Hsien Loong would have commanded the respect of the ruling members if his name was say, TAN Hsien Loong. Would you know?

As for GCT commanding respect? — (scratching my head and rolling my eyes)

GOH Chok Tong being PM for 13 years, have you not seen how he was being bailed out every now and then by MM, MSM and Members in whites? He wanted an ‘open cunsultative’ kind of governance but in truth, how often has he openly consulted with the people as compared to his ‘open’ consultation with those in whites? Did you think he had a free hand to govern the people the way he had wanted to?

So you see, GCT as PM has always been known to Singaporeans as a seat-warming transit phase that paves the way for the Prince of the Kingdom of Singapore to take over control of the Kingdom.

Two reasons why this phase is absolutely necessary.
1. The Emperor cannot be seen to be clinging on to power even as he aged.
2. The Prince has to be given time to learn how to rule the Kingdom.

So, in come, Woody Wood Chok Tong, not too smart, obedient enough to follow the commands of the Emperor, and take the rap for the Prince as he tried his hand at governing from behind the scene, in other word, a puppet made-to-measure.

Tell me I’m being funny. This is not my sentiments and mine only. Unless you’ve just returned from Timbuktu, these are sentiments expressed kingdomwide.

Finally, about proving the case of nepotism in court, hah!, you’re not kidding right? What do you think I expect the judgement to be from a Kangaroo Court?

Daniel
Nov 12, 2008 8:54

“So why are people comfortable with Nathan as president then? – Daniel (#74)

Do you think Singaporeans are comfortable or resigned to the fact that SR Nathan is President. For goodness sake, he wasn’t elected by the people. There was no election. He was effectively appointed by the Public Service Commission (PSC) because he was the only qualified candidate in the eyes of the PSC.”

The point I trying to say that it doesn’t matter what race is it that even a president of state having power can have a different race, why shouldn’t PM be allowed different race ? People are okay with Nathan as president, be it fair or unfair, so why the same thing couldn’t apply to PM, so it is obvious that it is the people cannot be ready, it is the Lee can’t afford to lose power.

gemami
Nov 12, 2008 9:09

Absulutely right Daniel.

I have this to add.

Look at our National Day celebrations every year. See the crowd inside the National Stadium waving happily and most excitedly away when the President goes around in his automobil.

Does anyone think that this is staged, year after year?

Let’s not talk about President Nathan and think that Singaporeans started accepting non-Chinese in state positions only recently.

May I ask, who was our first president? What race was he?
Who was our second President? What race was he? Who was our third President? What race was he? Now we have President Nathan. We know he is Indian.

This tells us two things:
1. the people have been seeing beyond the colour of skin for as long as Singapore has been independent. There is no issue whether the people can accept a minority PM.

2. see the pattern in the presidential appointments?
a. Yusof Ishak – Malay
b. Benjamin Sheares – Eurasian
c. Wee Kim Wee – Chinese
d. Nathan – Indian

Now, can you guess who will make the next president? Which race will he come from? Who is playing racial politics?

Oscar Choy, court again ?
Nov 12, 2008 9:10

84) Oscar Choy on November 12th, 2008 5.46 am

“You mentioned nepotism. Can you defend this statement if you are call or summon to Court to explain?”

Court again ? Perception is reality my friend. And why such a perception, no prize for guessing right.

For most people, no one is really schooled in the art of perceiving, if you know what I mean. Ask youself the question before you start to throw people with your “court thingy”.

I hope opinions / perception / views should never have a day to be judged in court, unless it is CRIMINAL IN NATURE.

Daniel
Nov 12, 2008 9:20

2. see the pattern in the presidential appointments?
a. Yusof Ishak – Malay
b. Benjamin Sheares – Eurasian
c. Wee Kim Wee – Chinese
d. Nathan – Indian”

It doesn’t take more than 1 nanosecond to find out which is the most useless of all.

gemami,
now I know where the words “cockle nathan” come from. I don’t actually know the original spelling but now I do because it doesn’t matter anymore about the spelling as long as it sounds right ! Now I know why is it so popular used in Army.

What a “cockle nathan” of us to serve NS when we lose job to Foreign Worker.

BAM
Nov 14, 2008 16:40

This comment is specifically directed to Mr Ho Cheow Seng(#33 above)

With all due respect it is Mr Ho who has completely missed, even misinterpreted, the writer Mohd Haireez’s article.

There is no basis for comparison between the political systems of Malaysia and Singapore, despite the fact that both countries are multiracial. The special rights of the bumiputeras (whether justified or not, that is beside the point) are enshrined in the Malaysian Constitution, drawn at the time of independence from the British. One can accuse the Malaysian politicians of a lot of things, but accusing them of not practising what they preach, at least in this aspect, is not one of them.

Singapore on the other hand, is founded on the premise that all citizens should be treated equally “regardless of race, language or religion’; its leaders have time and again prided themselves of this fact and extolled on the virtues of meritocracy. Whatever the sentiment on the ground may be, if there should come a day when the most capable person for the highest office in the land is from a minority race, the political elite must hold on to the meritocratic ideals of the country and set the tone for the rest of the country to emulate.

I also note some resentment in Mr Ho’s reply, as if the point of Mohd Haireez’s article is to ask for more concessions for the Malays. The special priviledge of Malays in terms of a blanket free education have long been abolished. I am not privy to the reasons why it was introduced in the first place. Many Malays still have their fees paid by way of Mendaki (from govt funds of course) if they are of a certain economic band. But CDAC, SINDA and the Eurasians have similar schemes. In any case, the monetary amounts involved pales in comparison to the extra funding that SAP schools receive, and the overwhelming number of government scholarships that go towards Chinese students, academically deserving though these may be.

In the last paragraph of his reply, what exactly are the “truths” that Mr Ho is alluding to? Singaporean Malays are not equal to Malaysian Malays, just as I am sure Mr Ho would agree that Singaporean Chinese are not equal to the mainland Chinese. Every year at National Day rallies no less, the Malays have a very public airing of problems that beset the community, though small successes are also peppered in now and then. Other communities are also over-represented in certain areas, such as gambling, drinking and poor social support and suicides. But I don’t recall these being labeled as distinctly “Chinese” or “Indian”.

I hope Mr Ho would overcome his stereotyping and take the time to read through Mohd Haireez’s article. It is a balanced piece by someone raised on meritocratic ideals who just happen to be Malay. It is not the rant of a disgruntled minority asking for more concessions.

A non-chinese Prime Minister in Singapore? Let’s look at the cold hard facts. « Readings From A Political Duo-ble
Nov 15, 2008 11:38

[...] Mohd Haireez chastised the current Prime Minister for not being idealistic and supportive enough in publicly endorsing a future non-Chinese future political leader. [...]

K...
Nov 27, 2009 19:43

It is wise to have a capable ‘ minority race PM’ to run the country than to have a incompetent ‘majority race PM’ who destroy the the country.
WE THE CITIZENS OF SINGAPORE STAND AS ONE UNITED PEOPLE !

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized