Wednesday, November 12, 2008 10:06

TOC Report: Singaporean, 57, employed, married but cannot buy HDB flat

In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 3,646 views • 51 Comments

Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor

Mr Sinnathamby Silvalinkam, 57, is a very disheartened and desperate man.

Five months of correspondences with the Housing and Development Board (HDB) have failed to help him get what he desperately needs – a roof over his head for himself and his 41-year old wife, Emma Joy.

Despite being employed and married, the HDB and the CPF Board have rejected his application to release his CPF in order for him to purchase a 3-room HDB flat. This has led to Mr Silvalinkam and his wife having to put up at his sister’s one-room rental flat. He sleeps in Bishan Park on weekends.

Mr Silvalinkam’s friend contacted The Online Citizen (TOC) as a last resort in the hope that the HDB will be compassionate about his friend’s circumstances.

Mr Silvalinkam’s current predicament started in 2006 when he sold his 3-room flat in Ang Mo Kio to settle some debts he had incurred. He had borrowed some money from a friend to help with his family expenses. Mr Silvalinkam has three younger sisters and two younger brothers, all of whom got married before him. “It was a negative sale,” he told TOC, referring to the sale of the flat which he had bought in 1999 in the open market.

After the flat was sold, he rented a room in the same flat from the new owner for $800 a month and lived there until July this year. The landlord informed him in April that he was raising the rental to $1,200. “How can I continue to rent from him? My salary is only $1,500,” said an exasperated Mr Silvalinkam, who has been working as an operations assistant since 1996. “After I pay rental, transport and food, I have nothing left,” he said. “It’s like living from hand to mouth.”

Caught in a corner

It was then that the couple, who have been married for 14 years, applied to the HDB for a rental flat. Unfortunately, the HDB told them that they were ineligible because one, applicants must not have sold an HDB flat within 30 months from the date of application; two, the applicant must be a Singapore citizen and “have a proper family nucleus comprising at least one other Singapore citizen or permanent resident”; and three, the household income must not exceed $1,500 per month.

“But all our applications for my wife to obtain PR status have been rejected by the ICA,” explained Mr Silvalinkam. ICA is the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority in charge of approving such applications. According to Mr Silvalinkam, the ICA rejected their repeated application “because of my finances”. With his wife not being able to get PR status, his hope of purchasing a flat from the HDB was dashed.

The HDB suggested to him that he could, however, purchase a resale flat in the open market under the Non-Citizen Spouse Scheme (NCSS).

No to HDB flat, yes to resale flat

The couple decided to do that. Mr Silvalinkam had $13,000 in his ordinary account and he had sold his Ang Mo Kio flat for $140,000 in 2006. Since he was also 55 years old then, half of his proceeds went into his Retirement Account while the rest, in cash, was used to pay rental and settle his debts.

But they ran into problems with the HDB again. He was told that the money in his CPF Retirement Account could not all be used to purchase a flat.

The HDB, however, told him that it could give him a loan of $57,000 to purchase a flat under the NCSS and that he could use a part ($28,000) of his CPF Retirement Account as well. However, the total amount of $85,000 would still not be enough to get the couple a flat in the open market. He requested that the CPF Board released the rest of his funds in his Retirement Account.

His request was denied.

Singaporeans above 55 are required to retain a minimum sum of $94,600 in their Retirement Account – half of which must be in cash and the other half in the form of property pledge.

Mr Silvalinkam was informed by the CPF Board that he would be able to draw on his Retirement Account for his living expenses when he has reached 64 – seven years from now.

The HDB explained to him that he needed to retain $47,300 as his part of the minimum sum of $94,600. “It is important that the Retirement Account savings is preserved as it may be the only source of income which members can turn to for financing living expenses when they reach their draw-down age,” the CPF Board explained in a letter to him.

But this left Mr Silvalinkam bewildered. “Why can’t they release my CPF money so I can have a roof over my head?” he asked. He feels that he is being caught in a no-way-out situation.

Thus began a 5-month long attempt to get the HDB to reverse its decision. Mr Silvalinkam turned to his friend, Mr Viswa (not his real name), for help in writing to his Members of Parliament and with the various government departments. So far, he has approached almost all the MPs in his constituency – Mr Lee Hsien Loong, Mr Wee Siew Kim, Mr Inderjit Singh, Mr Ho Peng Kee and had approached the secretary of the Minister of State for National Development, Mrs Grace Fu, as well. All to no avail.

He suffered a heart attack in 2005 and sees a doctor every month. “It costs at least $150 each time,” he says. He visits a cardiologist every four months for his condition.

He sleeps at Bishan Park on weekends and on some week days so that he can save money when he goes to work. He works in Ang Mo Kio and he stays on some days with his sister and her three teenage children in her one-room rental flat in Boon Lay. “It’s expensive to travel from Ang Mo Kio to Boon Lay,” he explained. “On weekends, I sleep at Bishan Park to save money.” Mr Silvalinkam told TOC. He would wash up at coffeeshops in the mornings before going to work.

Mr Silvalinkam told TOC that his wife had tried applying for a job several times but has been unsuccessful. She is in Singapore on a Long-term Social Visit Pass, thanks to PM Lee who had helped her obtain it. She too is presently living with Mr Silvalinkam’s sister. “She sleeps in the balcony,” Mr Silvalinkam told TOC. When he is at the place, he too sleeps in the balcony with his wife.

In his last few correspondences with the HDB in October, the HDB continues to deny him his request. His friend, Mr Viswa, has referred him to the Ang Mo Kio Family Service Centre for help.

The HDB, when told about this, replied that it is waiting for the centre’s report.

“My age is catching up with me now,” Mr Silvalinkam said wistfully. “I am already 57.”

——–

Read also: The right to love, marry and procreate? By Leong Sze Hian.

——–

1. HDB replies: Waiting time for rental flat is now reduced
  2. 4-room flat sold for record $653,000
  3. Is the HDB profiteering from flat owners’ woes?
  4. Disillusioned with trying to purchase a HDB flat
  5. Undergraduates help married couples bond

51 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

one day
Nov 12, 2008 0:14

wah singapore also have so many red tape.

all our money has been wasted on high salary minster.

Lee Chee Wai
Nov 12, 2008 5:00

The CPF savings are technically supposed to help people tide through the remaining years after retirement.

In this case, it seemed more as if the CPF rules are tormenting the poor man just before retirement. We should try to find out just how many such cases exist where the rules defeat the intended purpose of the scheme. I think our leaders have to realize they cannot really have a one-size-fits-all policy. Too often they adopt such a stance and expects people to fit the policy rather than trying to adapt to exceptional conditions.

C J
Nov 12, 2008 6:34

It is known, & widely expereinced, that the government’s policies concerning use of CPF is INFLEXIBLE, SELF-SERVING, and FAILING in all of its intended purpose/s.

Donaldson Tan
Nov 12, 2008 6:39

While Ministers over 55 receive both pension (from their CPF) and their million-dollar salaries, the ordinary man cannot withdraw money to even buy a home for his family. If we don’t have control over our own savings, can CPF be really said to be our savings?

Komenos
Nov 12, 2008 7:19

Typical uniquely Singapore bullcrap characterize by inflexibility, aloofness and lack of compassion

Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Nov 12, 2008 7:37

Once again there are too many rules and conditions attached to the housing issue which is a thorny subject for many.

I have seen many couples after divorced began to rent rooms to stay in as they have to split their assets. Many children were moving around alot disrupting their study pattern and mood.

Once I visited the Changi Airport on an unearthly hour and was shocked to see quite a few homeless sleeping at the Terminal 2 viewing gallery. Most of the corners were taken up and my heart sunk. I hope that they are not long term settlers there. Is this Singapore?

HDB housing is for the lower to middle income earners. If you earn below $1500 a month it is difficult to envisage one having a decent HDB 3-room roof over one’s head as the mortgage repayment for re-sale flat can be overbearing. A $100,000 bank loan means one has to pay close to $500 a month for repayment. As one’s CPF decreases over time due to age, it is possible that one will have problem repaying the loan.

Rental in the open market is out for some as the HDB flat rental costs has skyrocketted no thanks to the influx of PRs and work permit holders.

Renting a cheap rental flat from HDB is also tough as the pre-conditions are very stringent as such flats are meant to be for the very poor and out.

I have problem also relating to the high cost of HDB housing even for brand new flats. The Pinnacle at Tg Pagar costs close to $400,000 for a 4-room flat and is beyond most who earn not more than $3,000 a month.

One should consider staying abroad if there are opportunities. Countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam or China remain viable options for retirement.

Singapore’s cost of living has gone way past some of our population’s afforadbility curve.

Plumber
Nov 12, 2008 7:50

ya, tough if u are poor in singapore. but if u have money, this is a nice place.

alky
Nov 12, 2008 8:05

To the elites he is an economic liability of little value to them. They would rather use their flats to house exploitable foreign workers.

ayamb
Nov 12, 2008 8:59

Be prepared to be fine if you sleep in Bishan Park

pigscanfly
Nov 12, 2008 9:27

sad. the objective of hdb appears to be providing “affordable” housing for lower and middle income families. the LOWEST, however, need not apply.

and of course, not granting a PR status to the wife is a brilliant stroke! love is technically possible, only with money. money is the common measure of everything here – talent, success, happiness, growth, (self-)importance etc

tiredsingaporean
Nov 12, 2008 9:37

4) Donaldson Tan on November 12th, 2008 6.39 am While Ministers over 55 receive both pension (from their CPF) and their million-dollar salaries, the ordinary man cannot withdraw money to even buy a home for his family. If we don’t have control over our own savings, can CPF be really said to be our savings?

While the $$$million ministers salaries are going to increase again soon, the citizens cannot even use their own cpf monies to buy a flat, what rubbish crab is this supposed to be? I don’t see any good reason why singaporeans should continue to vote this present ruling party, out of fear? is it? then you people are still living in the dark. Come and read more here at TOC and you will understand why you need not have to live in fear no more and start speaking out now.

FruityMint
Nov 12, 2008 9:51

A side effect of government’s home ownership policy is that everyone wants to own a house regardless of their financial circumstances. In Mr Silvalinkam’s case, he clearly does not have the financial means to own a flat.

In his case, the best solution is to rent a room for say $500 so that he and his wife can live together. After the 30 months restriction has lapsed, apply for a one-room rental from HDB.

Dr Albert Winsemius
Nov 12, 2008 10:26

Gone was the day of having people like LIM KIM SAN the HDB pioneer that built the fundation of what Singapore is today.

In the past, HDB objective is to clearing up the squatters and slums of the 1960s and resettling residents into low-cost government-built housing. Now it is a money generating machine of the Government. Who effectively rise the cost by controlling the damand.

Dr Albert Winsemius
Nov 12, 2008 10:40

PAP current “ELITES’ SOLUTION” to the country problems had slowly becoming liability to it’s country and to the people.

Several questions we might want to ask:

1. Why a sucess story such as HDB that was initially set out to help the country to reduce homeless had make people today actually becoming poorer after buying one and worst still can’t even affort one.

2. Why implement ERP when there is already COE? and best still, you would in the end on daily basis caught in a traffic conjestion every morning and evening, leaving and going home.

clarkkent
Nov 12, 2008 10:43

there you go. world class system built by world class leaders.

lim
Nov 12, 2008 10:48

Its easier to get HDB to provide cheap rental flat rather than going to CPF to ask for release of money.

It would be prudent for the Government to extend the cheap rental flat scheme to more people esp for the elderly. It would be strange for someone of Mr Silvalinkam’s age to want to get into another loan spiral. Rental makes sense but cheap rentals are increasingly hard to get.

The govt can also consider rental subsidies in the next budget.

For Mr Silvalinkam, the other govt agency he can approach for assistance is MCYS.

Older generation
Nov 12, 2008 10:49

Hv we not forgotten the the text book fiasco about homeless people sleeping in the underground station in Korea. What about S’pore, are we going to see more S’porean sleeping in the five-foot way. We are not allowed to make use of our own money (cpf) to purchase flat and yet they allow our cpf to be used by the gov link co to invest in the ABC (A$600 million) which going bankrupt. I really don’t understand what this garhem doing.

Donaldson Tan
Nov 12, 2008 10:50

PAP and/or the government should not monopolise all channels of welfare

lim
Nov 12, 2008 11:01

Religious organisations and other charitable organisations get tons of money in donations, contributions every year.

What do they do with their money?

Singlish
Nov 12, 2008 11:17

I guess Mr Silvalinkam have to find another job that pays him just below $1500 or get his employer to pay him less than $1500 so that he can qualify to rent a flat from the HDB.

I am surprised that he cannot get any help from any of the ministers that he has approached. I find this quite impossible. There must be somebody who can give assistance in some way though not 100%. May be Mr Silvalinkam has not given us both sides of the story.

Of course I do agree that the CPF policy is not in the interest of the retiree. The minimum sum to be left in the CPF has been rising year after year. Hence there is literally nothing that one can take out from the CPF when he retires as most of the money would have gone into buying a house, or investment or insurance etc..Furthermore our government would want every Singaporean to be capable of looking after himself after retirement. (should be financially capable). So the CPF is important. Otherwise this can become a burden to the country.

Looking back, there pops a question – Isn’t it the duty of the country to look after its citizens when they are old as they have contributed to the building of this nation when they were young?

intent
Nov 12, 2008 11:48

actually the government might be happy to see people retire in neighbouring countries. They can wash their hands off. There are just no options for people to turn to. Its sad cos these people contributed to the economy and help build up singapore.

Observer (SG-HK)
Nov 12, 2008 11:55

It is just so heartening to read. I understand there are rules and regulations to prevent abuse but sometimes, I think the related authorities should look at each case and be less dogmatic and show more of their humane side. This just further epitomizes my thoughts on the mindsets of civil servant subordinates at large who are tasked to handle these cases are just either brain dead, robotic like and yes people. Very obedient to hard and fast rules indeed but I think a little humane element and flexibility is needed at times to let us know you are made of blood and soul. How about some compassion my fellow citizens. you can do it if you really try to see things in a different perspective.

alky
Nov 12, 2008 12:45

Civil servants are always afraid of rocking the boat, especially if their pensions are at stake. To them the risk is just not worth the potential losses.

They would rather continue their brain dead, robotic method of going by the book than risk setting a precedent that may affect their iron rice bowl careers.

youknowwhattheysay
Nov 12, 2008 13:50

You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

“They” called it peanuts not me!

lim
Nov 12, 2008 14:23

Well, technically, one would need to become a citizen of another country (other than MY) for 5 years before requesting for CPF funds transfer. Doesn’t mean govt will release funds though…

Ironic to see in the other thread that foreign spouses of local citizens want to stay in SG. Tot it would be the other way round. That’s the schism of ordinary Singaporeans. Want to leave but want to stay.

Let’s be frank, money is only your money if its in your pocket. When its with a third party, whatever is said is irrelevant.

Laniaz
Nov 12, 2008 15:22

So we have policies with no compassion.

A caring society for only rich people.

If anybody who helps this man going to get jailed for corruption.

Or is it just that we have elected ourrselves money minded set of scholars

Life in Singapore is getting worse by the day.

Sometimes it make me wonder

Whose idea was it to remove housing subsidies for Singaporeans ?

gtiong
Nov 12, 2008 16:29

“He sleeps at Bishan Park on weekends and on some week days so that he can save money when he goes to work.”

Better advise Mr Silvalinkam not to sleep in the park. Will kena fine $200!! Enough for one round of $150 medical treatment. Somemore got $50 left for transportation and food.

Tan
Nov 12, 2008 17:01

I never believed in the CPF anyway. For me, it doesn’t exists. The CPF is a myth, an urban legend, there is no scientific proof of it yet. Go out on the streets and try to spot one.

mike
Nov 12, 2008 20:50

only one question for mr S: who did he vote for in the last election?

change, we can!

feedmetothefish
Nov 12, 2008 20:53

CPF is actually a mirage!

When Mr Silvalinkam started work as a young man, they told him that he could withdraw all his CPF savings at age 55.

CPF shifted the goalposts.

They then forced him to put some in Medisave.

CPF shifted the goalposts.

They the forced him to put some in Medifund.

CPF shifted the goalposts again.

Then they told him he could not get it all out at 55.

The forced him put some in Minimum Sum that can be taken out at age 62.

Cannot take out lump sum at 62. Can only get it back in monthly instalment.

If he were younger, they’d force him to leave it till 67

Again, CPF shifted the goalposts.

Now poor blokes under 50 must continue to put some until 85 or death, which ever come first.

Should you die before 85, you’d lose . . . you get zilch. . unless you paid them more earlier.

Should you survive after 85, you’ll get a fraction (in monthly instalment) of what you’re forced to put it earlier.

Oh, the shifting goalposts hasn’t stop yet.

Being as old as Mr Silvalinkam, I’ve been there and done that, screwed!

Thank God, I’m too old to be sucker-punched by Longevity Noodle Annuity forced by CPF.

HDB & CPF have lost the reason of being.

HDB is no longer building affordable houses for Singaporeans. CPF is no longer meant as savings or retirement fund for Singaporeans.

HDB and CPF with their “honourable” facade are instruments used to serve the greed, power and the addictive needs of a chosen few.

In putting an altruistic front of doing good for the nation, they, like gamblers and addicts, have thrown our good hard earned money through their gambling of Suzhou, ShinCorp, Merrill Lynch, UBS and of course, ABC Learning and very soon, LVS gambling dens at Marina.

They play with your money.
They play you.

They claim they are taking good care of you?

If they really take care, Mr Silvalinkam should not be sleeping in Bishan Park and risks being fined $200 by NParks.

I still cannot get over the deafening silence of those (paid millions to take care of Singaporeans) on 22% increase of electricity tariffs. Is such profiteering justified?

Thanks for letting this fogey let it off his chest.

feedmetothefish.

loop
Nov 13, 2008 9:45

Since his wife is not a Singaporean, maybe he should follow her back to whatever country she came from. Probably he would be able to get housing over there.

patriot
Nov 13, 2008 11:19

“He sleeps at Bishan Park”, unquote.

There are kind reminders not to sleep at parks and if I am not mistaken all public places, otherwise, the Laws will come down hard on the sleeper. Frankly, I did not know such Laws were passed and exist, I am sure lots of Singaporeans are unaware of it.

I have not come across any signboard and warning at any public place including void decks, that state ‘no sleeping, no napping or lying, no love-making’ etc. Large signboards of ‘no trespassing, private property, protected place, state land, no swimming, no fishing’ are common.

The gentleman who was fined SIN$200 maybe too poor and or too scared to get a lawyer or simply wanted to save himself the hassle of fighting the charge. I have not been to Bishan Park, but I guess there were no warning signboard for ‘No Sleeping’ there.

I do not know if there is a second country in the World that turn all unoccupied/unused land to state property and ban entry into them, violation of the ban results in trespassing and subject to punishment. The coastline(seashore) of Singapore are also not free for its’ citizens to camp except at designated locations and permits are required. Every inch of the land and sea, it seems, belong to the Government. The State as a whole is liked one big army camp with restrictions of all kinds all over it, and yet it is called a democratic society. I cannot believe the democracy, as citizens, movements are badly curtailed for no good and justifiable reasons.

Silvalinkam should consider loops’ suggestion to move his family to his wife’s hometown.

patriot

AnnA
Nov 13, 2008 11:25

It is time for change and CHANGE is a must!

I would rather have a brand new 600cc car than a 3000cc faulty engine car!!

So please vote for a new government :(

Isn’t it time to let go?

The People's
Nov 13, 2008 11:46

The poor will become poorer and the rich richer. A dreaded trend that will sink in. If we are to maintain the excellent living quality the 1st generation pioneers have fought for, we need to vote in some opposition and ensure that power does not consolidate in one party. So no one is allowed to do anything he wish.

The problem is…how many will remember to do that?

Alan Wong
Nov 13, 2008 12:43

The latest joke going round about our funds is that there is this shrewd Mentor cum lawyer together with his crafty ministers wanted to create this big reservoir of sovereign funds which could be used to their greatest advantage to create profits so that they can continue to pay themselves millions of dollars in salaries for years to come.

I was just thinking, is this not unlike Taiwan’s ex-president cum lawyer creating this large reservoior of oversea funds so that he and his family can continue to draw from for years to come. Afterall there is also the role of the son and daughter in-law and not forgetting that there is an ever compliant judiciary.

Just wondering where does the similiarities end.

Donaldson Tan
Nov 13, 2008 13:15

2. Why implement ERP when there is already COE? and best still, you would in the end on daily basis caught in a traffic conjestion every morning and evening, leaving and going home – Dr Albert (#14)

The COE policy was a failure. COE actually uses a dutch auction, which means if there are 1000 COEs available and there are 1500 bids, the price of the 1000th highest bid determines the transaction price for the entire bid.

A dutch auction is convenient when it is important to auction goods quickly,. Clearly, the ease of selling COEs takes over the priority of regulating the supply of cars. This is expected from PAP government’s pro-business standard as the burden of holding the car is shifted from from the car seller to the consumer through cheap COE and unnecessary ERP charges.

saga
Nov 13, 2008 14:18

HDB rules is like a tangled web. so many rules and regulations and a lot of it contradict each other. Same goes for CPF.

these rules and regulations are mostly conjured up by a lot of high paid scholars who always try to seize the chance to impress but ignore the hardship and the issues that the people faced.

sometimes, i wonder should we kill off the current scholars batch and make them toil and sweat to understand the people.. haiz…

N.Veerasamy
Nov 13, 2008 14:22

HDB is absurd when it comes to housing issues. If Mr.Silvalimkam was advise that he had to wait for 30 mths, to secure a rental flat does that means he will be given a first priority immediate when attaining his qualified date a rental home ? For sure he’s not going to get it. Next, he needs two Singaporean I/C’s to qualify for a rental and that again re-confirm his ineligibility. You have caused him to deplete his life time savings in a rental that is so expensive out there. His excuse was debts for selling his existing flat, why enter into debt could be his wife not have the P.R. status and not able to seek employment. In his case any man would have made the same decision to sell that entering into bankruptcy.

Next, for C.P.F board their bahaviour is not acceptable as they claimed to look after his retirement fund just like any banks when you keep for safe keeping and earn interest over it. But C.P.F takes ownership and refused to released the fund is totally unacceptable for such case as Mr. Siva request is to purchase a flat and not to spend in casino. Be fair or the trust people has on C.P.F board is going to loose its grip. And in any simple man’s mind it looks like some have been rob with his little life time savings to earn profit in it and will only release at their own time and contract. People respect your care and concern shown but hey here is a case that needs help and if both of you HDB and C.P.F board is closing their doors what can he do.

People have not agreed with such negotiation but welcome the government move to assist in old age, however here is a case needs help, HDB need to assist him with housing grant, if this is the first time, loan, and also C.P.F to act more passionately to release his retirement fund to support his eligibility for a rental flat and lastly. Remember all these grant were not available before and many have not even enjoy such benefits. What good used would it be if the retirement funds does not have a corresponding address and no wonder many fail to claim their C.P.F with one of the probable reason here.

Lastly, ICA needs to take into consideration in his marriage, and the years of patriotism shown by the wife accepting Singapore as her homeland. If they would have approved the P.R status she would have earn some C.P.F savings to help her husband today’s issue. If the door were close everywhere than why should we call ourselves as Singaporean with such difficult rules, system or policy made by man.

I remember what my parents told me before that our government is making sure that everyone gets a roof over their head but it looks like that statement could not be true in this example.

HDB, ICA or C.P.F board you ought to put the picture in a brighter light and please flip back at all the schemes, and helping assistance you have in your plan to help these couples. You have frightened the younger couples into making decision into marriage with your present system. Gone were the days our leaders cared for the people and now it’s different. Look forward to your favourable reply.

Thanks to the editors for raising this issue for our readers attention.

W/regs,

N Veerasamy

Anonymous
Nov 13, 2008 15:03

Why not look for Mr. Tan Kian Lian for help? He is popular, he is willing to help people he doesn’t know, he has time, he has money and he got connections.

Mr. Silvalinkam earns an income of $1,500/mth or $18,000. If he stop work at 62, his total potential earned income is only $90,000. If he adds the $13,000 in his CPF, the total amount cannot even pay for the full cost of a new 3 room HDB. So of course, he cannot get a HDB flat. There is no such thing as free housing.

Since there are he and his wife, why not look around for flats with rental around $400/mth per room, I am sure there are people willing to rent a room out for this amount.

Owning a property is a risk and is illiquid. Better to rent than to own real estate.

I would say: buy term, invest the rest. Rent the flat, and use the rest of the money to invest. Do not fall into the trap of owning a property. Buying a property is always a losing venture.

Tan kuku
Nov 13, 2008 15:49

If Mr Silvalinkam can buy a 3room flat, he can rent out the extra room and earn about $500 per month rather than paying $400 per month to rent from others.

It is the time for our CPF or HDB to go back to do the RIGHT THING they are supposed to do. Now they keep changing their rules to benefit themselves, not benefiting the people.

#39, what make you think Mr Silvalinkam can stop working at 62, we are told to keep working until our health does not permit. Let say he has another 20 years to work, at least he has a proper roof over his head. I remember our PM once said, no Singaporean will need to sleep on the road due to financial difficulties but look at this case, I beg to accept what he said.

N Veerasamy
Nov 26, 2008 18:47

I am a friend of Mr. Silvalimkam, and was totally involved since his initial problem. After much attempt sending letters and meeting personally with several officials the door were all shut in my friends case. I am not surprised with their behaviour as childless couple will not be given any atttention as they do not have children to served national service and therefore regarded as useless. However, the last attempt was making another email to the Ministry of Community Youth and services and was heard but was re-directed to Ang Mo Kio Family Service Centre Blk 230 # 01-1264, but what was not appropriate in the centre is that they do not take records or make copies to important documents for future reference. What also looks stupid is that not file open for my friend case and a lousy human rapport. The socialism is very poor and not helpful at all.

I think the MCYS should step to investigate why the lack shordy in work done and no interest shown in my friends case. The shocking news is that the social officer claimed she will immediately in late evening at 1930hrs will contact the HDB officer, which we have to believe. Since when did official response to call in HDB after 17.30hrs.

I think the centre is useless and probably not caring enough to call themselves a family service centre. Please comment.

N Veerasamy
Dec 12, 2008 8:03

I was trying to help this man but regret HDB deadline was not met due to Blk 230, Ang Mo Kio Family Service centre poor response. he started packing his belongings and decided to leave Singapore for good after 14 good years and tears. The last laugh this man have is that what stupid system the C.P.F board may talk about retirement fund and now after thinking of giving up his citizenship the fund is given to him at last. A hugh price to pay to recover his retirement fund.

Sometimes I don’t blame the government but officials like FSC and HDB are the one creating all the problem in his case. Here is a man who have to leave Singapore just because he does not find a home even being a Singapore citizen. With Indians being the least population among the four races the percentage of this race will continue to be lost. One day the Singaporean who help to build Singapore is unwanted by the government. To be honest the original Singaporean are staying indoor and probably will leave Singapore soon.

I just think Singapore is not our homeland and this is not where we belong.

RED-man
Dec 12, 2008 13:51

Good afternoon Veerasamy

I am afraid your friend make a right decision moving out of Singapore and seriously I urge all Singaporean having difficulty to get the hell out of here before the rest of the 66% Singaporean woke up to find that are supereme leaders already packed their bags and get out of this country with all that disgusting money from the country when Singapore sank!

It is not the opposition that will sink this country, sad to say it is that bunch of so-called elites!

gemami
Dec 12, 2008 14:08

Dear Veerasamy,

A friend indeed you are.

This is becoming a regular cycle in Singapore. The people who need help have to come knocking on doors to seek the help they need. Institutions that claim to provide help do not render the help they proclaim to offer.

Red-tapes and protocols are the order of the day not so much to protect the institution but more to make the process complicated so that people would give up and not be a bother to anyone any longer.

No one wants to look at the problem head on. Every one has their eyes averted so that they would not feel guilty when they sleep at night. Worse of all, after all the hassles and if you are still around to bug them, these same people do not hesitate one bit thereafter to give you what you want if you promised to stay away from them for the rest of their lives.

Do they even stop to wonder if this poor fellow has to give up his citizenship just so that he could help himself? Singapore is turning out to be a cold grey place, slowly but surely.

RED-man
Dec 12, 2008 15:09

#44 gemani

Right on the spot! And fully agreeable. These sons of bit@h should go to hell when they six feet under.

objective
Feb 8, 2010 12:10

I agree with CPF’s decision. THey should not release else it defeats the purpose of the CPF altogether. CPF retirement account is strictly for retirement only. He also bought TWICE from the govt means that they had bought once another time before.

This person has obviously made a bad decision selling his flat, if he is having a negative sale, why did he do that? Although I think they can buy a 2 room flat at Jurong. They can find others having a negative sale too.

I think all of us should look at the bigger picture, what if all of us just sell our flats as a poor financial decisions, then buy another flat using our retirement account, then have nothing to retire on? We should not encourage such behaviour!

Sad
Feb 8, 2010 13:04

Another leaving…every year, thousands of sg ppl left…i lost so many buddies already…no1 wants to stay…only the fools stay becos they trusted everything the gov said…

N Veerasamy
Feb 9, 2010 21:28

Thou, the objective commentor express his view that CPF is strictly for retireman and defeats its purpose is agreed. However, the agent have mislead him by taking advantage of his debts and advise him he can find a rental flat to solve his problem. His debts were accrued over for being the sole-bread winner and servicing a home is not cheap. He is also a patient with a heart problem and costs is also high for medicals. If only then the Immigration depts, were thoughtful than by granting the wife a P.R status she would have help her husband by working and no debts would have enter in his life. However, HDB rules spelt clearly that if his wife is not a P.R. holder he will not be eligible to rent a flat. The question is where does a citizen stands here 1: he is not allow a loan from the bank 2: he is not allow to rent a flat form HDB 3: Open market rental is too expensive:  4: CPF savings is lock preventing him from buying even a 1-room 1 hall flat from the open market. HDB fails to see his predicament and should have refer his case at least for some social service report before neglecting the case. Rules of  HDB is set so that people do not take advantage of its system but cases like this is not identified for a solution and rediculously they advised him to rent a flat from the open market. His current situation is after going through all the stress with our government system and what resulted is facing a 80% blockage and loosing his job. If only HDB have a heart they will think and care but here they are not even considering the sincerity the wife had shown to be a loyal and faithful wife for almost 15 years and yet to received her P.R status. Tell me how many people who are expatraite that have shown such patients living in Singapore? Is this the way we treat people in Singapore? The meaning of CPF retirement  savings must have its purpose and should allow people to used when in such circumstances. If he does not have an address how can he be contacted? I know this man personally and he does lives within his means, however some times illiterate people have to face consequences like these due to the lack of understanding in financial planning for the future. Given the benefit of doubt I strongly believe HDB should help in his case due to his negative sales. If it is common for owners who sells their property to HDB and able to rent or purchase a smaller flat direct than I do not see why HDB knowing his sales was a negative one and picture him in the same category. It is wise for HDB to say people who make profit should used their sales proceed to purchase one in the open market but not when it is negative sales. Please put yourself in his shoes, when considering the debts accrued reason, for medical costs, force to make his wife to return Phillipines due to social visits pass and maintain his flat. He would not have ended this problem if his wife was able to work. He is currently jobless and when something goes wrong what will happen to his wife? Is Singapore going to throw her out mercilessly. If we call ourselves a caring soceity and does lots of charity work than I do not see why they should be neglected.

prettyplace
Feb 9, 2010 22:44

Agreed gemami…

What good is retirement, when u don’t have a roof.

Now, what I ask of ICA is that, why allow so… so many foriegners when you cannot even provide PR to a person who is married to a Singaporean. It is the same, creating babies. Or unless LKY’s son only cherish foriegners kids. They are married for 14 years, what the hell.

It is time to put these guys out of business. For your info people,I heard, JBJ used to write to all the govt institutions in his time, about such matters and complain, that  most directors of govt agencies were so pissed that they complained to LKY to get rid of him. lol

No we have the internet. The beauty of time and technology.

HDB is a govt agency, they should provide for Singaporean. They can keep such people on a leash, and assist them in making proper decisions especially pertaing to their homes.
 Anyway,what great money have Singaporeans made from selling HDB flats, not really much. So why the fuss.

Singaporeans did not make a fuss when SLA came around to acquire their land. If they had, LKY would not be where he is today. So give it back.

tiredsingaporean
Feb 9, 2010 23:17

RED-man – leaders already packed their bags and get out of this country with all that disgusting money from the country when Singapore sank!

The scariest part of it is should those MIW losses its ability to hold power anymore, they might just empty the entire reserve and leave the mess for the new leaders to clean up, hopefully the true blue singaporeans behind should be strong enough to pull through this history. Its just simple logic when someone after so many years did enjoy all the billions he wants and get them without much effort suddenly losses it, what will happen in his last straw of capability? guess?

N Veerasamy
Feb 10, 2010 20:19

Latest news! this man is now hospitalise for his by-pass operation after a severe heart failure and undergoing an operation is ticking the clock and what next? God’s know best. He is jobless and with no home his situation should not happen to any Singaporean in the near future. If our government has promised all citizen will have a roof above their head since the launch of HDB and isn’t this promised broken. I have respect for HDB rules but not their decision in this man’s case. They have lack lustre in pace looking after the citizens need as a proof speaks louder here. Sometimes it’s the decision that is made by officials in the HDB that lead a stigma on the government. I think it’s important that the government should look into his case and bring the officer for a board of inquiry, which needs attention immediately.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook