Tuesday, November 18, 2008 8:48

The tissue issue

In Guest Writers, Youth Focus • 1,549 views • 34 Comments

Clarence Chua

Cultivating social graces at the lunch table must start from the base, not by covering up the cracks.

Measuring just four-by-two inches, the rather flat tissue packet rises larger than life. Loved by some who use it to claim tables at packed food centres, it is reviled by others who brand it symptomatic of Singaporeans’ anti-social nature.

In the cacophonic relentlessness of the Central Business District (CBD), the informal ‘chope’ system symbolises efficiency over social congeniality. It is borne of necessity. But a Singapore Management University (SMU) undergraduate group is discouraging it for more “gracious” behaviour – by beseeching patrons to personally reject hopeful bidders of the empty seats. Verdict: rather flat.

The Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM), in endorsing the Tissue Parody, forms a true two-ply mockery of addressing the long-time problem of lunch-time social ungraciousness. Couple 10,000 tissue packets exhorting “This seat is not taken, it’s yours!” with Singa the Courtesy Lion prancing to the tune, and the parody is complete.

Removing the ‘chope’ system adds a host of new problems that will overwhelm the perceived benefits of their version of social graciousness. Instead, systemically addressing the problem of crowded food centres deserves more attention.

No tissue packet chope: Just wiping the surface

The biggest loophole undermining the ‘people for packets’ policy is simply, a crunching lack of time. Lunch hour in the CBD is exactly that: 60 minutes; less, given walking times to and from the kopitiam. If Tissue Parody had its way, the combined man-minutes wasted by table-waiting workers would run into the hundreds-of-thousands. In a country predicated on economic efficiency, time is money – the dollar losses would be huge.

Even by ignoring its commercial non-viability and giving human contact precedence instead, the no-tissue movement will fall short of achieving its end. The SMU students fail to consider the irritation generated by having to verbally reject others asking, “Excuse me, can I sit here?” ten times over. And the inevitable reply, “Sorry, seat taken!” or a curt, “No” is hardly kindly either.

And that is assuming everybody lunches in groups. Solo-diners will struggle to secure a seat sans a reservation system. Nimble-brained as CBD workers may be, maze-like food courts threaten utter mess. Laksa-stained shirt anyone?

Necessity is the mother of invention. In the remarkably-dense CBD, the tissue-packet-chope system boasts utter efficiency: one packet in the centre of the table signifies that every seat is taken; if not, one packet per reserved seat. It exacts a clear solution to a peculiar environment. It has, and will, continue to work – eradicating the tissue issue will be quixotic and certainly chaotic.

Addressing it systemically

Instead of advocating dress changes, the SMU students and SKM should tackle the spectre of over-filled food centres. This would in turn help address the graciousness problem. Witness the groups chatting at the table long after gratifying their stomachs, or the hawks who stare down diners only halfway through their meals.

To purge this evident ugliness, streamlining the smooth flow of the hungry crowd, rather than discouraging an informal system of reserving tables, is key.

A ‘number vacant’ system, akin to what we see at carpark entrances, will nip the problem of roving crowds in the bud. Comfortably-populated food courts would counterpoint hassled office spaces. Paired with ceiling-mounted green/red indicators indicating the presence of free tables, people can make a safe beeline for them, even with tray in hand. This automation allows a more relaxed lunch environment, and can build a base from which better social graces can spring.

A simpler, cheaper idea is a manual reservation system, where diners can indicate ‘Occupied/Not Occupied’ on an in-built slider or flipper device. If the tissue system is frowned upon for its cursory nature, this formal arrangement adds a degree of accepted permanence.

The peak hour table overstayers, to me, impede graciousness the most. Restaurants offer longer post-meal chill out time, but it should not happen at packed hawker centres. A small roving team, assigned to discreetly request them to make space for new diners, would help. A campaign targeting this group would be truly effective, enhancing both social awareness and human traffic flow.

Even in the soaring glass and concrete hardware of our city centre, space abounds for heartware. But it will require our famed brand of rigorous research and practical solutions, not three-by-two inch campaigns, to create lunch environments that can foster both laughter and graciousness.

———-

1. The Gay Issue – YoungPAP vs Bloggers
  2. Malaysia’s regime crisis, race politics and the kalimah Allah issue
  3. A personal reflection on the gay issue
  4. “We will agree to disagree,” says MND on lift upgrading issue
  5. Singapore miscalculates balance of power over Burma issue

34 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

KK
Nov 18, 2008 11:35

SMU students are generally full of ideas and none of practicality. Being a SMU graduate, I have witnessed my school mates come up with the most impractical ideas in attempt to differentiate themselves. As I have graduated from SMU, I am not sure about the motivation behind Tissue Parody. But I do suspect its a project from the course “Leadership and Team Building” in which students are expected to plan an execute a Community Service Project to help out those in need. Having said that, yes I am one of those who did dumb things to try and score an A.

However, very often, your grade is dependent on the level of media coverage of your project. In the case of Tissue Parody, I would guess most of them have scored an A.

What I have said above is merely my speculation and I will welcome anyone to correct my views. I do feel that there is a problem with SMU’s curriculum; it encourage students to lead with vision without practicality and consequences. Be Different. (sort of like GRC: invest your residents’ money in risky investments)

DC
Nov 18, 2008 11:53

KK, as a current SMU student, I totally agree.

There’s something wrong with the curriculum. The university seems to be having a identity crisis now. Previously, when it first started out, the emphasize is on vibrancy of student activities and not on examinations. Now, the emphasize has gone to the other spectrum.

Everything else doesn’t matter, just ace your exams and you’ll do well. I begin to wonder if SMU will still keep employers attracted to our students, if they are heading the way of academic excellence over everything else.

KK
Nov 18, 2008 11:57

Hi DC.

Nice to hear from you. Good luck in your exams.

Cheers.

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 13:22

Just wondering, takeout is a good option for a busy lunch period too. Grab some food, drinks, and have a good meal at the office with friends/colleagues.

Place more benches around the CBD, green spaces et al. That way, the lunch crowd can be distributed more evenly too.

unconventionallyurs
Nov 18, 2008 13:48

I did not about such a phenomenon in Singapore until 2 months ago when I was in Novena Square’s food court. My 2 friends went off to get their food and I found a tissue packet on the table. I thought it was left behind by the previous patron and just took the seat. There came a fuming lady insisting that the tissue was there to “chope” and when I gave her a bewildered look, and asked her how was I supposed to know, she said that it was a common practice. Only in Singapore does this happen. And become an acceptable practice even. Singapore is not the only country with a lunch time crowd but the citizens of other countries do not face this sort of lowly behaviour. If I see a table with a tissue paper, I will certainly ignore it.

The usual, more civilised way of doing it is definitely getting a friend to be seated while others are buying food, if you don’t want to wait, then pack your food. Making excuses for this sort of behaviour only propagates more of such behaviour. Everything becomes acceptable if one is to justify actions, why even the pushing and the shoving at the entrance of mrt lines is justifiable, price hikes are justifable, etc etc. Rude boorish Singaporean style has to be banished. Maybe that is why Singaporeans need so many campaigns, because left to their own devices, they would just run amok.

I applaud the students for voicing our their distaste, project or no project.

jun
Nov 18, 2008 14:11

clarence, well said! :)

to the smu students who posted, is the situation that ‘bad’? so all those jumping and somersaulting ads just a facade?

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 14:12

Unconventionallyurs,

You’re right. I wonder why so many Singaporeans are unable to get used to the concept of takeout.

jun
Nov 18, 2008 14:12

CelluloidReality, takeout would be convenient but there would be some environmental impact (plastic containers, etc).

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 14:23

Jun,

Well, that’s why we have recycling programs. It’s all about education. If you have a soup dish, use your own reusable containers. Everything else can be stored in biodegradable paper boxes/brown.

I believe to solve this issue, it will take a whole across-the-board solution that tries to evolve our lunch culture in the CBD. Or unless people start to put one member of their lunch kakis at the table and buy food for him/her.

It’s not that hard, it’s whether most people can be arsed to be aware of what they are doing. We’ve got a long way to go..

gemami
Nov 18, 2008 14:24

lah, and meh are so often derided as Singlish words that need to be banned from the face of the earth.

Today, <i.meh, has been included in the English Dictionary because one American Cartoon show used the word, and presto! it became accepted English.

Singaporeans must learn to recognise typical Singaporean traits and not to brand them social misfits because they do not see others doing the same.

We are Uniguely Singaporeans, remember?

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 14:39

Gemami,

Every society has traits that are either seen as positive or negative. The tissue-choping system is not a positive one, nor does it contribute much to our own street culture other than making other fellow diners irritated.

jun
Nov 18, 2008 14:40

i did think of that, so before encouraging takeaways, need to increase awareness of environmentally friendly packaging or bring your own box first… but seriously, if the shenton way crowd is that busy, how many will bother?

jun
Nov 18, 2008 14:43

gemami,

linguistics student here. i believe the meh in the dictionary/used in american cartoons is not the same meh as the singlish one. the mehs have different pragmatic uses. one main difference: the american meh can be used alone. the singlish one must be tagged to the end of the clause.

however, the lah is the oxford english dictionary is the singlish lah (as opposed to the manglish lah, lol).

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 14:48

Jun,

Takes time.. I guess. But from my circle, a lot of us are more keen on takeouts than having to hunt for a place or sit in a crowded food court.

KK
Nov 18, 2008 15:03

unconventionallyurs, I certainly understand your bewilderment when you are berated by the fuming lady. But I can understand that fuming lady’s bewilderment when you sat at her seat that is chopped.

I do not think any of you were at fault for the incident. Having said that, I will still disagree with Tissue Parody’s approach and understanding of the issue.

However, I will give the team an A for attracting so much attention to their project and the school. That is the whole idea of LTB!

gemami
Nov 18, 2008 15:03

jun,

Yup, you’re right. thanks.

Kelvin
Nov 18, 2008 16:40

Indeed, I do find the “choping” of seats by using tissue paper was borne out of necessity of efficiency.

The biggest problem is this:

Even if we were to assume that everyone lunches in groups and the person being left behind doesn’t mind being asked umpteenth time whether the seat is taken, can you imagine the time wasted by the person who was left behind?

And exacerbate matters, if we wanted to insist on being socially gracious, it would be somewhat obligatory for the rest who had already gotten their food, to wait for the person who was left behind to purchase his/her meal, so that everyone would be able to partake their individual meals at the same time.

Socially gracious? Yes.
An utter waste of time?
Personally, that’s a resounding yes as well.

KK
Nov 18, 2008 17:05

agree with kelvin.

CelluloidReality
Nov 18, 2008 17:13

Kelvin,

Pardon me, but I find it amusing that telling people that a table is occupied is such a mentally draining activity.

As for time wasting, is it so hard to help the gracious table-warmer buy his/her food?

Kumar
Nov 18, 2008 17:21

Well, im one of the members of Tissue Parody and believe it or not, we’re not doing this for the grades.

True, it started out as an attempt to differentiate ourselves from everyone else but in the course of actually garnering support for our projects implementation, we realised that its more than just academia.

The hawker association over at Chinatown Complex was extremely supportive of our campaign, and their gripe was that their own customers had conflicts over something as mundane, trivial and absurd as a packet of tissue paper.

Sure, we can be Uniquely Singaporean. Lets justify our actions with efficiency! People who used to spit in the streets a century ago probably patted themselves on the back and lauded their highly efficient way of getting rid of phlegm. (different context, but the point is there) Tissue Paper to reserve seats today, and pockets of air to reserve seats tomorrow.

AND YET we can continue to complain and gripe about everything else (not moving into the back of the bus etc) without realising that its all linked. Its all about us not bothering to be polite and justifying everything with efficiency. This tissue paper nonsense is the manifestation of how shallow our social interactions already are, and how bad its going to get.

Are Singaporeans saying that leaving someone behind to reserve seats is impolite? Cos if thats the case then we really are Uniquely Singaporean, though thats not the unique we want to see.

I’ve worked at, and had lunch in the CBD area for almost a year (post NS), and i’ve seen people leave someone behind and offer their own tables to strangers if they need it.

Ok, sorry I’m beginning to ramble though, ive got a term paper to submit tomorrow :) I’m sure KK & DC know that i cant afford to sleep tonight.. haha

Thanks for all your views, really appreciate it, we’ll continue our ‘campaign’ in december. Probably reserve seats using christmas trees or something.

Kumar
Nov 18, 2008 17:25

Oh, and the need to repitively tell people that the seat is taken? Maybe we can just smile, and shake our heads to indicate whether or not the seat’s taken. A bit idealistic i know, but i hope to remain idealistic till i’m an old man haha

Anyway, a smile really is contagious haha

Kumar
Nov 18, 2008 17:27

Repetitively* typo there

James
Nov 18, 2008 19:33

Don’t think we should generalize smu students here, but anyone is prone to giving impractical ideas. Prominent figures giving impractical ideas just make it more obvious than normal.
I think a sign which reminds people to vacate seats would help, similar to signs at university canteens reminding people to clear their tables.

armor
Nov 18, 2008 22:53

i am never a chopper; maybe bcoz i never bring tissues with me.

but what is wrong to be a chopper?

You creative SMU students may come out with a much better alternative to design a big big queue number machine at the entrance of each hawker center, to dispatch ppl a queue number for tables when they pass the door. Creative, right? Also faire enough, right? So what is the difference between the chope machanism and this queue machine way?

Jamie
Nov 18, 2008 23:11

I do not see what is wrong with reserving seats with tissue paper; indeed it is a practical and efficient way to allocate seats at peak hours. The problems with the alternative method have already been pointed out – leaving someone behind only wastes time and worsens the problem of lack of seats, and not everyone dines in groups.

Kumar, your analysis is extremely shallow. The examples you’ve raised like spitting in public and not moving into the back of buses are clearly not the same as reserving seats with packs of tissue. In the former, it is an issue of hygiene. In the latter, efficiency considerations equally arise – if people do not move into the back, then buses will not be carrying at their maximum capacity and our transportation system will not be as efficient as it can be.

Furthermore, the premise of the campaign – that reserving seats with tissue packs is ungracious – is dubious to begin with. I for one fail to see any ungraciousness in it. Clearly your beef is not with reserving seats per se – you encourage groups of diners to leave someone behind to reserve the table. Therefore the alleged ungraciousness apparently stems from the fact that an object is used to reserve the seat instead of a person.

But what exactly is wrong with this? We use inanimate tools to accomplish our objectives all the time. We communicate with even our close friends through telephones and online messaging programmes. So what is wrong with using a tissue packet to communicate to strangers that the seat is taken?

But a more fundamental question is this: What exactly is “graciousness”, and why is it valued? If you thought a bit about it, you’d realise that graciousness really means consideration for other people in society. It means acting in a way that takes into account other people’s interests. Viewed in this context, using a person to reserve the table instead of a tissue pack adds nothing to the content of graciousness: (1) others are still barred from sitting there, (2) the guy who has to reserve the table is forced to wait
AND (3) the group takes longer to vacate the table as they have to wait for the guy who got his meal later. Therefore, it is arguable that using tissue packs to reserve seats is far more considerate and gracious to all the parties involved than leaving someone behind.

In conclusion, your group’s initiative is admirable, but it’s underlying premise is suspect and poorly thought through. Instead of rhetoric like repeated sarcastic invocations of the “Uniquely Singapore” slogan, please offer actual logic to support your group’s stand. Otherwise your campaign is all style but no substance.

Zheng Xi
Nov 18, 2008 23:59

Jamie,

Thank you for your extremely thoughtful and spot-on comment. I think it is one of the best I’ve read. Would you consider writing for TOC? Please do drop us an email at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com.

Zheng Xi

Kye
Nov 19, 2008 0:02

SMU student are blah blah, NUS blah, NTU blah… being all stereotypical really prove you analyze well =)

There are obviously negative issue created from using tissue paper to chop seats, hence why the campaign was started anyway. And if you start a online poll, you will probably get a portion of people agreeing and disagreeing with the argument.

The idea may be feasible or not feasible but at least someone bothered to start addressing the issue. Ever seen fights and quarrels over who has priority over the seats? If everyone in ‘CBD’ believes chopping seats with a tissue paper is a ‘gracious’ thing to do, then they wont be offended or bothered with the campaign in the first place.

Clarence
Nov 19, 2008 0:09

Jamie: I think you’ve outdone my piece with your reply. : )

Kye and Kumar: Goodness, have you both even read my original article?

Zheng Xi
Nov 19, 2008 0:31

Hi Kye,

Campaigns cost money and public attention. Which is why identifying the wrong root of the problem and then starting a public campaign to misguidedly “solve” it goes only to perpetuate it.

Don Quixote tilting at windmills himself is harmless, but to harness the time and energies of a movement that can really be better spent identifying deeper issues (as Jamie has done) and proposing real solutions (as Clarence has done) is really quite a waste.

Also, to say a problem exists because someone is trying to solve it is circular reasoning which still doesn’t answer the question: have the best solutions been identified?

Zheng Xi

Amused
Nov 19, 2008 10:43

I’d like to add on: “Why not go for take-out meals?”

Other than the obvious environmental impact of take-out containers, sometimes people just want to, you know, leave the office environment for a while? And I believe quite a few would like to have lunch with friends who work in other offices in the vicinity.

I usually eat alone. Usually it is kind of hard to be a single eater in the concrete jungle. Despite that, I never “reserve” any seat using tissue paper or any other objects. However, I also have no problem with people who do so.

One solution I can propose is to add “counter style” seats. They take up less space, and are single-eater friendly.

jun
Nov 19, 2008 13:20

jamie, well written! i agree that they need to convince us why using tissue to chope seats is ungracious first.

>We use inanimate tools to accomplish our objectives all the time. We communicate with even our close friends through telephones and online messaging programmes.

however, i don’t consider MSN or SMS to be as inanimate as a packet of tissue paper. i think perhaps a more accurate analogy would be people using various items to chope places in polyclinic queues or even carpark lots outside landed homes, perhaps?

TTan
Nov 19, 2008 15:55

I think this “chope” mentality is part of the Singapore kiasuism. While it may seem to be true to be efficient for the people who chope, consider the time of many other people. I think it is waste of time and scarce resources. Just this afternoon, I was at a food court and I saw many choped empty tables but I had some dificulty in finding a place to sit. When I finished my food I noticed that the people who choped the tables are still not back yet. So much for efficiency indeed.

saga
Nov 19, 2008 17:23

Quoted : 5) unconventionallyurs on November 18th, 2008 1.48 pm

This is more of a local culture. why we dun do takeways? we do? but do we have enough places to sit and eat? some offices dun really allow food in it as the smell will be quite bad that affects other.

i would say, before saying so much, maybe you would like to try to understand more about the local culture.

for the SMU students, if the project is to get media coverage, you have done great and such get “A”.

If you are sincere in eradicating this issue or tissue, you need to look again at your actions. have you done enough research and surveys with the working class and why we resort to this action? this act is derive after ways of testing and general acceptance. you should see how people put umbrellas or other things and finally arrive that the tissue is the best and convenient way to reserve seats.

However, maybe you should look at why people hog seats after meals. if this is solved, the flow of seats for people will be faster. less tissue papers flying around

Tew N S
Nov 19, 2008 18:32

is it wrong to ignore the tissue or just chuck a side, it belongs to nobody unless u can prove the tissue belongs to u

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook