Andrew Loh / Deputy Editor
So, the talk is that there might be an early General Elections (GE) in Singapore. The bets are being placed and the speculations have begun.
While the rumour mills churn, I would like to urge Singaporeans to ponder on one thing which is just as important as those who will be standing as candidates.
What will we, as Singaporeans, do when the elections are eventually called?
More often than not, we would be sitting on the fence – watching the elections as if it were the biggest show in town. It is, of course. But perhaps this time round, we will hopefully be more involved than in the past, if we were not.
When the Malaysian elections tsunami swept across the peninsular, many of us here in Singapore were awed by the power of the tidal wave. We never thought it was possible.
When Barack Obama won the American presidential elections, we too were awed – by the historical victory which brought the first African-American into the White House. We never thought it was possible.
Will Singapore see similar waves sweeping across our tiny island come the next GE? Some have said it is not possible while others yearn for similar tremors to hit our shores.
But to just hope and dream will not make it happen. The one reason why Malaysia and Obama happened was because of ordinary folks who got out to vote, or got involved. Obama, for example, mobilized an army of ground troops made up of ordinary – young and old – Americans who volunteered their time and money and helped out in the campaign. Even on the Internet.
So, the question for us here in Singapore is this: Will we do the same?
My hope is that when the elections are called, ordinary folks like you and me will take an active part in it. There are many ways to help out and get involved. You could join one of the political parties as a volunteer, and help them in distributing leaflets, putting up banners and flags; or help their candidates in research, writing speeches. You could be their election agents, polling agents, counting agents (the opposition parties especially need these).
You could blog about it, become a citizen journalist and report on what you see and hear in your constituency. You could question your potential MPs about certain issues you care about. You could persuade those who are apathetic to pay attention to the issues which will affect them. Or talk to your friends, relatives and colleagues about what concerns our nation. Write to the press about your views, write to TOC! The best thing to do to inspire others is to get involved yourself! There are a million things you could do during an election, even if you were not a candidate or a party member.
There are things you can do as ordinary Singaporeans to effect the change you want to see – just as the Malaysians did. Just as the Americans did.
So, to me, the biggest question about the next elections is not when it will be called, or who to vote for, or who will win and by what margins.
The biggest question is: Will Singaporeans take an active role in the elections?
The parties and the candidates are just one part of the equation. The second – and in my opinion, the more important – is the people.
Whether Singaporeans care enough to be involved will determine whether what we thought impossible is made possible.
So, while the wheels continue to spin on the rumour mills, lets ask ourselves if we would summon enough courage and give of our time to make the next elections truly a People’s Elections.
Impossible is nothing – if we want to see change we can believe in.
And please believe that you and me – ordinary, HDB-dwelling folks and everyone else – can make a difference.
For me, I already know what I will be doing when the polls are called.
And it is something which is not impossible.
So, do give a little thought to what you could do for Singapore when the hustings begin.
———
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

and don’t forget the new generation lions here in singapore are the highly brainic ones who goes by the book unlike the thais duh!
Hi,
Change? Change for the sake of change? Let stop for a while and consider a few brass tacks here. For instance, what really accounts for the impulse for change? Have you all considered?
Permit me to share with you all what I think.
It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out what’s happening here in blogosphere and why many of us even harbor a deep spirit need to effect “change” or feel the pull to be part of it; it’s really very simple and follow me please; this becomes all too clear, when we begin to tack the growth and behavior of the new expressive strain of characters which makes up the new Singaporean internet identity.
What do we see?
For one we remain very much avid consumers of lifestyles and thoughtware. The ONLY problem is the vast majority of us (netizens), don’t want anything to do with the idea of placing themselves in the narrow strata of mainstream Singaporean society – that’s to say most of us feel the need to differentiate ourselves from the mainstream – you could even say, this urge is primordial, it operates at a subsconcious level and like fingernails growing, it hardly riles us sense and sensibilities, till it begins to gnaw at us very suddenly – you could even say, it’s part and parcel of the human condition – as such what we really desire is not only products that can reflect our individuality, but if possible, we even aspire towards mindsets which are markedly different from the conformist world.
But there is a problem here…yes there is.
You see there is only one problem with this insatiable craving; only the marketing manifesto can satiate it; not government. You could even say my friends, government was never designed to that fulfill that sort of deep seated craving.
The problem sharpens, when we buy into the notion government can and will be able to fulfill that innate need to supply change very much in the way an ice cream parlor offers us limitless variety and choice.
If that occurs, then it’s even arguable, it relegates the very idea of government into something akin to predicating the relationship between state and citizenry to something that very closely resembles the elusive smile of a Cheshire cat; its big on the wow factor but pastry light on the substance. And if that’s the case then we would all have to seriously consider whether it would not be better if we simply outsourced the whole idea of government to Coca-Cola or Victoria Secret’s underwear division.
Because ONLY firms who subscribe to the marketing manifesto can fulfill that sort of highbrow demand.
You see my friends, the role of government has to be serious if it is to remain effective and useful; it cannot be based on the short term need for change for the sake of change; neither should it even try to ape the form without the content by buying into the cool factor by break dancing or rapping; it must be firmly predicated on the long term and the very serious where instead of sound bites, there must be an active dialogue between citizenry and state.
Any other way is no good; it simply just doesn’t come around. You decide.
SD (Internet Liaison Officer of the Brotherhood)
“For one we remain very much avid consumers of lifestyles and thoughtware. The ONLY problem is the vast majority of us (netizens), don’t want anything to do with the idea of placing themselves in the narrow strata of mainstream Singaporean society – that’s to say most of us feel the need to differentiate ourselves from the mainstream – you could even say, this urge is primordial, it operates at a subsconcious level and like fingernails growing, it hardly riles us sense and sensibilities, till it begins to gnaw at us very suddenly – you could even say, it’s part and parcel of the human condition – as such what we really desire is not only products that can reflect our individuality, but if possible, we even aspire towards mindsets which are markedly different from the conformist world. ”
Well put!!! I’ve tried to express what you’ve written before but I could never find a succinct and accurate enough way to do so. Obama-mania in Singapore is good evidence of this.
In differenciating ourselves from the MSM/mainstream viewpoints, there is no doubt we feel ‘more in the know’, creating a ‘separate universe’ for ourselves where only we exist and we feel like we’re out of ‘the matrix’ while everyone else is still plugged in. I feel it sometimes myself, and it does feel good. In responding to every article with an ‘alternative viewpoint’, we make outselves feel (Dare I say it) superior.
Not possible.
After Serangoon Gardens Saga, I ahd changed my mind and my order of preference is:
1st Choice – Any PAP candidate
2nd Choice – Ah Meng
3rd Choice – What choice do I have?
GE2006 started brightly as I see Goh Meng Seng and Chia Ti Lik and Yuaw Shi Leong and Young WP as sincere politicians trying to make a difference.
I was glad that at AMK GRC they had such a fine showing getting more than the naitonal average against PM Lee and the Forgettables.
And within touching distance of Aljunied GRC, WP natural hunting ground as it abuts Hougang.
And I believe in WP to grow from GE2006 and slowly tok the first step to evolve from oppostion party into Alternative Party.
What happen?
They fragmented, snatching defeat from Jaws of Victory; like SDP after winning 3 seats.
And where a truly oposition party will not have no fear to make hay over unpopular government decision like locating a worker dormitory at Serangoon Gardens of Aljunied GRC, there is certainly not a peek out of WP, in support of those 30+ % that voted for them in GE2006.
And there is that I crossed the Rubicon and decided that Opposition in SIngapore is as useful as a udder on a bull.
I felt completely betrayed by WP in not making a public stand, even at Hong Lim Park, on Serangoon Gardens Worker Dormitory.
My only hope is Internal Insurgency within PAP; that those Millenials will start to evolve PAP in readiness for a post-Lee Kuan Yew Era. Certanly Lee Kuan Yew wi not live forever, but the main isue within PAP is now how to prepare for a psot-Lee Kuan Yew Era.
My wish now is for Lee Kuan Yew to live as a minimum to 2015, when the present Gloabl recession will hopefully be over and Global Economy starts to recover.
The demise of Lee Kuan Yew before GE2011 will certainly have an immense effect on our Eocnomy, our flaling SGX and falling investors’ confidence as during this troubling time, Le Kuan Yew is Singapore, and Singapore is Lee Kuan Yew.
Forget about GE2011, it is most likely 84-0 as the FEAR FACTOR in whatever form iswell and truly set in teh psyche of SIngaporeans, with the recent slew of litigaiton suits not helping timorous SIngaporeans, after 3 generations of “perfect” apolitical breeding, is in no betetr posiiton to vote for Opposition.
Work towards GE2016 as a more viable target to field credible opposition candidates whoa r more in-tune with aspirations of working-class Singpaoreans or that 90% HDB dwellers…the mainstay of PAP political power in tandem with NTUC which means labour unions solidly behind PAP.
Give me an opposition andidate whoa re in-tuen with SIngpaoreans’ aspiraitons, local issues and not some high faluting high ideals like HUMAN RIGHTS and DEMOCRACY where average SIngpaoreans are passionate over narrow local issues liek worker dormitory at Serangoon Gardens, Lee Bee Wah gaffe in Beijing, ERP, CPF Life, etc.
You talk of DEMOCRACY? Freedom fo political expression?
Tell me, how many HDB dwellers recognise DEMOCRACY even if it jumps up and bite ‘em on the nose?
Concentrate on uneasy employment, high cost of livings, flat salaries for decades, increase competition for jobs from foreigners, high transport and utilities bil, “mean testing, CPF Life, etc…adn you are talking the language of 90% of SIngapore voters.
Of what use is political opposition when they are invisible when Sngpaoreans need them the msot to make a stand in this climate of uncertain employment, and how to feed their families with the eprceived unfairness of PAP Govenrment Policies of “ZERO SUBSIDIES TO RPEVENT CRUTCH MENTALITY”?
Where they can afford to spend US$1-billion and more on shining new toys called F-15 so that we can all “aahed” and “oohed” at every NAtioanl Day Parade flypast ; where they can’t afford to coug out S$220-million per annum to give the 26,000 and 30,000 85-year old Singaporeans a social welfare cheque of S$600 pm?
And yet their life-long savings, called CPF Fund, are consificated to the tune of 25% as “financial punitive punishment called CPF Life” for daring to live beyond their national average life-span of 78 to 81 year old?
And as it is a fait accompli and a sheer waste of time fo Oposition to pursue this amtter, so I see opposiiton as a sheer waste of tiem and space in Parliament.
I am sure I’ll be doing something when the time comes but for now, I am dreaming that Chiam See Tong will offer his ward to Sylvia Lim and lead a contest in a GRC with some younger powerhouses from amongst the alternative parties.
Maybe my idea of a GRC contest is wrong. Could someone help me out here?
Must a GRC be contested by a Party? Can Individuals from different parties come together to contest?
Dear Shaun (on November 13th, 2008 2.38 am )
You should know by now that the PAP intimidates, sue, jail and bankrupt the able opposition members who are vocal. They leave the stupid ones make a fool of themselves.
I thought you should be smart enough to notice this obvious dirty tactic.
To lai CF/Sugardaddy
I see your point as I am also concerned that our opposition parties are not up to the mark. I feared that as with many other political parties worldwide, there are serious infighting within each party. Remember Chiam the founder of SDP was kicked out of his own party by maverick CSJ and you will sense the bloodletting going on internally. Politics are dirty even in those opposition wards.
But what are we voting for? More opposition parties’ candidates into the Parliament to act as a check on the govt or sending a strong signal that the ground is pissed off so please wake up?
Do we really want a change in the governance here? I don’t think anyone here wants that to happen as yet. Seriously, the ruling party is not doing too badly if you measure them against governments surrounding us. We have food on the table, flexible transportation, peace, stabilty, jobs (scant now) and harmony. This cannot be said of many other countries. That is probably why the Chinese from China, Indians and many others congregate on our small shore for work and maybe long term stay.
I have worked in China before and many people I know wanted to move overseas especially to our country. They smell the opportunity here and would even pay thousands of dollars (often borrowed) to move abroad. They felt stifled and trapped in their own land and secretly I also told myself behind their back that I felt the same way when I am in Singapore. I felt more care free in China and the country to me presented alot of opportunities for trade and business. The average Chinese there do not see this in their own country! They saw a govt that is intimidating (communist) and not caring enough for the people. Sounds familiar? What a shocking paradox!
I guess we have to ask ourselves as Sugardaddy so aptly put across – what kind of change do we want? Are we all the anti-estbalishment kind who will not be easily satisfied in any country we are in the world? In any country, there will be this 10-15% group who will always clamour for change even if there is this so called “perfect” govt in place. They always wanted more and nothing will appease them. Even if in the next GE, we manage to get a team of GRC opposition candidates into Parliament, there will still be issues as we are not easily satisfied. There will be other issues to argue about.
I think this article should be re-phrase;
“What CAN You Do, when the Election Comes?”
Now, now, my dear lai CF, it’s good that you’ve been following the WP since the last GE, or so it seems that’s what you are trying to tell us.
The report card you’ve given to the WP is also seemingly, and in short, ‘FAIL!’. And the reason you failed the WP was because:
And where a truly oposition party will not have no fear to make hay over unpopular government decision like locating a worker dormitory at Serangoon Gardens of Aljunied GRC, there is certainly not a peek out of WP, in support of those 30+ % that voted for them in GE2006..
Fine with me if that’s the way you look at it to come to your decision where you will make PAP (any candidate) your first choice come election time.
My question to you is:
“do you think you’ve been fair to yourself if not for the choice you’ve decided on?”.
You did mention LHL and the Forgettables.
Why have you not judged this group you have termed ‘Forgetables’?. Are they so forgettable that you’ve decided to vote for them because they are forgetably hidden behind the coat tails of LHL?
Why not take you assessment deeper and more wide-ranging than the limit you’ve set for yourself on the WP members only?
Why do you feel completely betrayed when you see the WP being so silent on the Serangoon Dorm issue and you don’t feel betrayed by a group of ‘fogettables’ you’ve voted into parliament who did nothing of the same?
A sane and balanced mind will tell you to exercise the same rule of measure for both, won’t it? If you feel betrayed by one, you ought to feel betrayed by the other.
Now again, because of this, it became useless for me to read you other portion of your post, for you see, this is the type of post that tries to play on the opposition’s side but in fact are those that serve the PAP’s cause instead.
In case, you’re getting lost, I shall use a very simple phrase where I am sure you will understand what I am saying in all clarity:
” You have been identified as a wolf in sheep’s clothing”.
Hoping for LKY to live till 2015, my, my.
I sure hope your wish come true and tonight at 2015hrs we can received the happy news that LKY has left us for good.
You also said: My only hope is Internal Insurgency within PAP;
My little toe at the left side of my right foot is laughing non-stop when I read this. Insurgency indeed. More like the collapse of the MIW.
Now you are telling us that your only hope is in the B team. You see why my little friend is laughing? Do you know what you have just implied? That the A team is not doing it’s job! Don’t you feel betrayed at all?
Now that I have identified you for who you are, I shall show proof:
Lee Kuan Yew is Singapore, and Singapore is Lee Kuan Yew.
Can we now have everyone stand up please. Let’s sing the National anthem together:
“Mari kita rakyat Lee Kuan Yew sama sama menunju…. bahagia…”
and now for the pledge ……
“We the citizens of Lee Kuan Yew…..”
See how my toes are now beginning to laugh in unison?
The rest is not even worth mentioning.
This is the best PAP can offer . . .dah!
wa gem ! I like your style man . . . . want to start a new party or not, maybe can join you lah.
Well, the tell tale signs are there . . .MSM big guns will be coming out one by one . . . did you see Ramesh recently? . . . fully coloured page… time to sharpen their knives man, if you ask me.
Aiyah! tiredsingaporean, you flatter me too much. Poeple like me are better behind the scene. Limelight too bright lah. The future, perhaps.
nah lah! you are good gem, I didn’t flatter you seriously, you’ve just FLATTENED that guy outright! haha
113) tiredsingaporean
actually i got tired midway writing that post.
I still haven’t touch on why he keeps harping on LKY instead of LHL, the currrent PM. He implied a lot of things didn’t he? LKY is in control, not LHL. What does that make of LHL? A puppet on LKY’s string?
Then we can also put one and one together. Remember assortative mating? So that the smart ones can become puppt masters and their offsprings their puppets. See, so many things we can associate with that post alone.
I’m beginning to become another very tired Singaporean.
precisely even the way this guy every sentence he wrote earlier like macham ‘hail to LKY, hail to LKY, you are my god, you are my saviour . . .bla bla and I was wondering who is this person coming from . . . you know what I mean, even if I want to praise my own dad I won’t do that to this extreme lo. . .
so never mind since now you are tired, then I can start my TSP huh, tired singaporean party . . . haha
Gemami/Tiredsingapore
There is every reason to believe that the next GE could be mid next year or even earlier given the current crisis we are in.
For those who wanted a change, this is the time to plan through what you want to do when the GE is call. We won’t have much time to plan ahead when the govt announces as it will probably be a snap one – that is 1-2 weeks of public rallying before the polls come. The govt will want to seek another fresh 5-year mandate to see that it will stay in power till at least 2015.
Stockholm Syndrome galore…
117) Amused
Stockholm Syndrome galore… and the blame goes to ………..?…………..
………… the usual suspect ………. does it not?
116) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah on November 14th, 2008 10.53 am
ya, thanks gilbert for your concern and of course we or infact by now most of the people here in sg already knew what can happen or going to take place soon in the coming election, and believe me in the name of juctice in singapore, you know how dirty politic can be.
68) min : “And elite driven liberalization often starts off with some kind of disunity at the top.”
Find this in Wikipedia about PAP
The PAP has held an overwhelming majority of seats in the Parliament of Singapore since 1966, when the opposition Barisan Sosialis (Socialist Front), a left-wing group that split from PAP in 1961, resigned from Parliament after winning 13 seats following the 1963 state elections, which itself occurred months after a number of their leaders had been arrested in Operation Coldstore. The resignation left the PAP as the only major political party. In the general elections of 1968, 1972, 1976, and 1980, the PAP won all of the seats in an expanding parliament. Opposition parties have not held more than 4 parliamentary seats since 1984.
END-QUOTE
So there was split of elites in the early years of PAP.
PAP may have learnt the lesson so that nobody nowadays could split from it.
103) lai CF on November 14th, 2008 2.35 am
Better stick to your 1st choice lah because you do not have any choice lah.
Ha Ha,
After reading more than 120 comments, I have not seen one committed to something he/she will DO.
So its all TALK only.
Please don’t look at me, I quitted long ago to a far away land, but its still fun reading blogs like TOC. And if anyone really do ACT, you have my moral support from afar.
To hell with PAP!!!
122) Ah Siao
Aiyah! don’t say like that lah.
There are many many coded language here you know.
If not ah, let the cat out of the bag . . then how.
Cannot win, never mind. Kenna trash, after that where got morale?
Same, same, I say with you…
To hell with PAP!!!
After reading more than 120 comments, I have not seen one committed to something he/she will DO. – Ah Siao (#122)
I would love to run for GE but I don’t fulfil the residency requirement for GE candidate. GE candidates must have 10 year residency in Singapore prior to GE. I have spent a number of years abroad and the earliest GE I can run for in view of this requirement is 2021. Such is life, but I intend to help out as an election agent for the Opposition.
Hah, #124, thats a good start.
I do not know about those election law.
But how come, PAP candidates like Chan Soo Sen and David Lim, they can spent a few years in Suzhou, China and come back to Sin and be elected right away?
125) Ah Siao: “But how come, PAP candidates like Chan Soo Sen and David Lim, they can spent a few years in Suzhou, China and come back to Sin and be elected right away?”
All men are equal, but some men are more equal than others.
Germani,
REcession next 5 years like 1973s. lie 1980s, like 1997, like 2001 and now 2008/09.
You want to talk politics or you want to talk about feeding your family where it is now 100% of my attention.
“A wolf in sheep clothings”?
or
I practice devil advocacy but does worship the Devil.
Put it this way, Serangon gardens Saga….so the “Forgettables” betrayed the people,a dn wht is WP going to do about ti when they are so convincing that they will win Aljunied GRC in GE2006?
Why no follow up since GE2006 to strengthen the belief that they can win Aljunied GRC in GE2011?
How do you convince now, a dsigruntled PAP Supporter like me to vote for Opposition where really they are completely invisible when they needed to be high profiled.
SO, you claimed that Serangon Gardens residents in Aljunied GRC deserved what they cut for votign PAP?
COnversely, then PAP is correct sin’t it when Hougang residents and Potong Pasir residents deserved what they get for voting in the ‘Forgettables”?
Think of it that there was a buzz an such high hopes prior to GE206, that WP was going to make a different and will grow and perhaps evolves into Alternative Party, that was the future plan of WP, starting in 2005 at their Syed Alwi Road Hd-qtr.
And I ahd no qualm on supporting WP then..in 2005.
fast forward to 2008..
I am compeltely disenchanted by WP and the disunity shown by politicla opposition when really, only two politicla parites can survived i Singapore:
PAP vs “The rest”.
Inetrnal Isnurgency/
Knwo your hsitory.
For every Stalin, thee is always a Gorbachev.
For every Mao Tse Tung, there is always a Deng Xiao Ping.
Fore eveyr lee Kuan yew…there si always…….certainly not Chee Soon Juan, CHiam See Tong or Low Thia Khiang.
ANd come GE209 or GE2011,
You lots of anti-PAP here, what can you offer Singpaoreans struggling to fnd a job to feed their fmailies?
Just talk, talk, talk and oppose any pollicies sof PAP right?
I will rather vote for Ah meng that any clowns that today styeld themselves as “Oppostion”.
“Why no follow up since GE2006 to strengthen the belief that they can win Aljunied GRC in GE2011?”
Need police permission or not to do follow up it in Aljunied GRC ? Can somebody tell me.
“I will rather vote for Ah meng that any clowns that today styeld themselves as “Oppostion”.”
Ah meng or clown or a piece of salivating sponge or a piece of used tissue paper will do as long as it is there to as a moderating and balancing force.
No fish prawn also can. When you have enough prawns then you can start to be picky and selective about fish. Maybe you need to see prawn first before you can see the fish. This strategy is always being practised.
Unfortunately, I can’t even see a prawn nowaday.
i thought I saw an ikan bilis in 2005 at Syed Alwi Road.
Anyway, my perception si that is is wholly 99% anti-PAP, each and everyone of you patting your back on your anti-PAPism till your arms are wrenched out of their sockets.
Well, I decided to inject pro-PAPsuports over here and willingly to stand condnemned as a “PAP running dog” like you some forums.
better to make a stand, rather than sit on the fence. it will only hurts your buttends.
Good days to you all People, ahve a nice weekend.
it si realty nice to be given an opportunity ehre to banter with you all al through our views differed completely, although my points are amateurish as compared to you all “professional” politicians and learned political activists trying to build a better SIngapore.
Singapore for Singaporeans.
Hah, #124, thats a good start.
I do not know about those election law.
But how come, PAP candidates like Chan Soo Sen and David Lim, they can spent a few years in Suzhou, China and come back to Sin and be elected right away? – Ah Siao (#125)
Exception to the rule is that you spent the years abroad as a civil servant or a member of the armed force. The law is biased because the PAP is aware that many Singaporeans who had left Singapore are definitely in no agreement with PAP and its policies.
129) lai CF on November 14th, 2008 5.04 pm
“Unfortunately, I can’t even see a prawn nowaday. i thought I saw an ikan bilis in 2005 at Syed Alwi Road.”
Well, the problem lies with you my friend. Do you have a piece of tissue paper then ? Seek and you shall get. Orelse stick to your 1st choice.
“Well, I decided to inject pro-PAPsuports over here and willingly to stand condnemned as a “PAP running dog” like you some forums.”
A lot of us are already full of such injections since 1965 without even needing you to lift your finger . About the doggy part, you said it yourself and a lot of people will oblige.
“Singapore for Singaporeans.”
Yeah. Singapore for Singaporeans. Can you believe this ? Aiyoh. Find the prawns first, then come back again.
to Gilbert: what are the reasons to believe that the next election is so soon? personally, i think that the PAP would want to play safe and wait out the 5-year period:
1. inflationary pressures have been extraordinary the past two years, and they need time for these to ease.
2. the IR will be opened soon and they would like to claim “credit” for “building” our economy thus.
3. there has been too much talk about “change” in political scenes lately – Obama’s win and Malaysia’s opposition. better to let pple forget over time.
Thanks for your answer #130. So #126 Anon was actually right, some are more equal than others?
Good luck to all you guys in SIN!
To hell with PAP!!! HaHa
13/11/08
Hi Hey ikan bills man (131)-You are right in posting this “Singapore for Singaporeans’, let me add this “Singapore is our only home for all Singaporeans and tell me how many Singaporeans can MIGRATE or CHOU LOH to a third country less than 10% and the rest of the 90% must continue to stay behind and let us exercise our vote via t he Ballot Box in the coming General Election and vote for credible and world class Opposition Party such as the Worker’s Party, their leaders and candidates. I have seen this party a truly revamped party who can further add value to what Singapore is today since her independence. under Ms Sylvia Lim.As Singaporean, we must be very focus and objective and not mislead by QUARTER BAKED Opposition parties and their leaders who are Running Dogs for those foreign NGOs and one particular Opposition Party recently calling for Civil Disobedeince in Singapore which failed.Majority of the foreign NGOs don’t want to see Singapore always doing well and they want to control a piece of Singapore which is very wrong.Singapore is an indepdence and sovereign nation and we must be proud of our achievement and what our forefathers have built Singapore what it is today and further add value and continue making progress for Singapore and all Singaporeans.
I am just an Ordinary Singaporean who owns a HDB 5room apt with my wife and I am also a just a simple man. Let us put Singapore and her national interests above all things as Singapore is our only home-where can we run.I am all for a constructive, credible and world class Opposition in Parliament and let us pray that we have our own Singapore Anwar Ibrahim who is for all Singaporeans regardless of race, and able to provide value added in our Singaore Parliament and help fine tune current policies flaws.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
Why bother to think of alternatives why you have the best that is available?
There are many smart people out there but how many willing to sacrifice their time and career for Singapore – only PAP. There are just no capable people in other political parties, other than from PAP. PAP has all the succession and leadership planning done, what have the other parties done? Nothing but in-fighting and leaving to join or form another party. Many people oppose just for the sake of opposing.
Look, Mr. Chiam probably won’t run for the next election – there is nobody to succeed him that can do a better job than the PAP imcubent. Nobody will vote for Chee and for Mr. Low – well it may be a far fetch notion, but I think 2011, PAP will sweep all seats.
For those who has differing views from PAP – like Mr Leong and Mr Tan, why not join the PAP and work from within from a position of strength? Who knows, you guys might be the next PM or Finance Minister. Don’t bother to be independents or join sinking ships – these are lost causes.
Why bother to think of alternatives why you have the best that is available? – PAP Anonymous
If PAP remove the chief whip and allow the fundamental unit of the parliament to be the MP and not the party, perhaps there is some ground to talk about. The Chief Whip System monopolises opinion even among PAP members and encourage a yes-man system.
Does PAP have a vision for Singapore? Is there an emerging strongman within PAP ranks to take over LKY? The answer is obviously NO, so Singaporeans are no better under the PAP or the current league of Loyal Opposition.
Look, Mr. Chiam probably won’t run for the next election – there is nobody to succeed him that can do a better job than the PAP imcubent. Nobody will vote for Chee and for Mr. Low – well it may be a far fetch notion, but I think 2011, PAP will sweep all seats. – PAP Anonymous
Actually Sylvia Lim from WP is a capable replacement for Chiam, and she may finally get more voting and procedural rights in parliament. A NMP or NCMP has far less voting and procedural rights than a MP. Mr Low TK will stay as the Hougang MP.
What PAP has demonstrated is that despite claiming they are pro-Singapore, they still discriminate Singaporeans living in Opposition Ward via the HDB Upgrading Program. I don’t see any PAP MPs coming forward to explain why this is right thing to do.
Don’t bother to be independents or join sinking ships – these are lost causes. – PAP Anonymous
PAP is a lost cause too. PAP is no longer sympathetic to Singaporeans.
All you PAP supporters still don’t get it.
The day LKY dies, the factions within the Whites will start to surface and show themselves. LKY is the PAP’s only glue the keeps the members glued together all this time.
Remember, just not too long ago, there were news that there were ywo major camps within PAP. GCT’s and LHL’s camps. They were able to co-exist becasue of you know who.
The day will come, and it will be very soon, when these factions will figh each other for power to rule, just like in the old days when Barisan Socialis sprouted from within the party.
When that day comes, can you, all the PAP supporters, face us, look into our eyes and tell us that you have been doing us the favour of keeping to a one-party system of governance?
I would appreciate that you do not pass immediate judgement on what I have just written, but go take some time and seriously think about it.
I prophecy that this will happen in the very near future, within 10 years or less, following the demise of LKY.
135) PAP Anonymous on November 14th, 2008 6.05 pm
“Why bother to think of alternatives why you have the best that is available?”
You have to ask yourself, why do we need foreign talents. If this can apply to low-level, mid-level even high-level workers. Why can’t it be applied to your so-called best. What can’t the concept of alternatives be also applied to them.
“There are many smart people out there but how many willing to sacrifice their time and career for Singapore – only PAP.”
Sure or not ? You ought to have your brain examined. For that kind of benefits / compensation, a lot of talented people will rush to get into office in the style of robinson sales. If this is open to foreign talents, I guess you will be flooded with tonnes of resume from a lot of ex-govt talents from all over the world. What sacrifice are you talking about.
Like what a lot of bosses will always say, if you do not want to do it, others will.
“For those who has differing views from PAP – like Mr Leong and Mr Tan, why not join the PAP and work from within from a position of strength?”
Well, you are saying it yourself. This shows there are indeed talents like Mr. Leong and Mr. Tan outside the umbrella of your beloved choice.
127) lai CF
My dear lai CF,
I shall give you the benefit of a doubt that you are playing the devil’s advocate, so,
Let’s talk then,
Serangoon saga: How did you ever come to blame the WP is beyond my comprehension. I thought LBW said that the police officer was at fault for leaking the news to the residents.
Now, is it reasonable to blame the party who kept queit, or the party that went ahead to decide to build the dorm without consulting with the residents.
Tell me, are you honestly being reasonable or is it because you already have an agenda with the WP? Which iswhich?
You said:
How do you convince now, a dsigruntled PAP Supporter like me to vote for Opposition where really they are completely invisible when they needed to be high profiled.
Now, if you really know the politics of the WP, as you claimed to have been following them since the last GE, you would have realised that the WP’s style of politics does not include shouting from the mountain top. So, being high profile is your expectation, which is not in line withthe way the WP goes about its business.
You said:
SO, you claimed that Serangon Gardens residents in Aljunied GRC deserved
what they cut for votign PAP?
Kindly show me where did I make this claim? If there is any claim that I should make, it would be this. That the people who did not vote for the PAP got what they do not deserved to get, rubbish.
You said:
COnversely, then PAP is correct sin’t it when Hougang residents and Potong Pasir residents deserved what they get for voting in the ‘Forgettables”?
Are you tripping yourself here? I thought you said the Forgettables were the ones who hid behind LHL’s backside? How come suddenly it is not Hougang and Potong Pasir?
Take a deep breath and relax. You might think better. May I continue now?
You said:
I am compeltely disenchanted by WP and the disunity shown by politicla opposition when really, only two politicla parites can survived i Singapore:
Now, now, too much PAP propaganda can mix you up really good. Since when do the Alternative parties have a duty to be united? They each have their own philosophy for the kind of politics they embrace. WP for the workers, SDP for democracy etc etc.
You said:
For every Stalin, thee is always a Gorbachev.
For every Mao Tse Tung, there is always a Deng Xiao Ping.
Fore eveyr lee Kuan yew…there si always…
Patience, my friend, patience. History will reveal him in good time.
You said:
You lots of anti-PAP here, what can you offer Singpaoreans struggling to fnd a job to feed their fmailies?
You see, how come it is our job to find jobs for our fellow Singaporeans? Why are you asking us instead of the PAP govt? You see how irrational one can become when one drinks too much of the magic potion prepared by the Whities?
Careful you don’t get too drunk in it. Not so good for your health.
You said:
I will rather vote for Ah meng that any clowns that today styeld themselves as “Oppostion”.
I think what you meant is that you will spoil you vote since Ah Meng is already dead and you cannot vote for him.
Have a good sleep and a very good night.
Cheers ;)
I think its safe to have say 1 GRC under another party. But then that is just me.
Why i say this? ‘cos the country cannot collapse in such short time of 1 term which is 4 or 5 years. some more, its only 1 GRC. Of course, this will only happen if the people desires.
The people can also desire no change for another decade or 2.
I feel that whatever the party, the main thing is that they must serve us, the people.
I hope to see more independents run for Presidency. The people must elect their leaders. The people must have choices. The president should not have any party affilliations, ideally, in my personal opinion becase of his role in check and balance.
just my 1 cent.
I am looking forward to the day when all singaporeans can really stand up and happily shouting out to the world, YES, THIS IS INDEED OUR REAL TRUE PRESIDENT OF SINGAPORE!
My wish is that at least 20% of the ministers in Parliament are from the opposition party. Than we can really see how the PAP works.
“to Gilbert: what are the reasons to believe that the next election is so soon? personally, i think that the PAP would want to play safe and wait out the 5-year period:”
Many thought about many rational reasons to delay election till 2011 but none of them really emphasize whether LKY can tahan to live to see the next election. Do not discount LKY as the main reason for snap election. As all we all know, LKY is still the pillar of PAP for all elections. The PAP election cannot do without him. No one knows what happens to IR, Recession and all this stuff in 2011, but the gov does know the health and status of the grand daddy. Age is definitely catching up with LKY. I believe that LKY may be the reason behind early election. Other unpopular reaons to withhold a snap election are secondary. Question is whether PAP will disintegrate when LKY no longer around which affect one’s confidence on the ruling party.
Hi Daniel
I doubt LKY still wages that much power nowadays as rumoured. There are competent people like Khaw, Tharma, Vivian, George and Ng Eng Hen. The rest I think can be ignored. LSH has started strongly as PM but has since faded away recently and I dont know why. Let’s hope that it is not the cancer sickness that he had before. That can only be bad for Singapore.
I realy doubt LKY is Singaporea and Singapore is LKY. There is life after him. He has given up the throne for well over 10 years now though he jabbered about here and there these days. How much power he waged behind closed door is anyone’s guess. I heard of this Team A and B thing right after the IR debate but I guess the saga has since quietened down. Many I know preferred Tony Tan to be PM then but GCT came into the picture. He didn’t did that bad a job that woody Goh.
Who do you think can take over if something happens to him now? Surely not Deputy PM Wong Kan Seng? There could even be an internal revolution going on if something to that effect happen. God knows what will happen to SIngapore if PM Lee has to step down prematuredly.
Of course when LKY is gone, there may be a slight tremer but life goes on. I remembered how many felt nervous when Suharto was gone, Indonesia will go too – many said. However, Indonesia survived that crisis and moved on to be much more vibrant and independent.
When Deng Siao Peng was gone, people predicted a mass revolt but there wasn’t one and China became a better nation after him.
So let us not be too fearful when LKY is gone, it may even be for the better though I am not cursing him to his grave. The shadow of LKY may have in fact hinder LSL to do a better job for Singapore. I have always say LSL’s biggest barrier is not dissidents per se but himself as he is LKY’s son. I foresee that he will come out of his shadown if LKY is gone and maybe outshine his dad in running the nation.
Hi Daniel & Gilbert,
Daniel’s question on LKY goes beyond whether it is a valid question or not. There is a foregone conclusion that LKY’s death will surely have an impact on the PAP.
According to Gilbert, the beilef is that there are enough strong acndidates in the PAP to balance this out but I would choose to disagree to a certain extent.
PAP has worked all along because of one very fundamental component in LKY. He is the bolt that holds the party together. The fact that he is still in the cabinet when one should have retired gracefully tells beyond any word can tell that his influence is so very much needed.
How often have we seen the govt of GCT & LHL trying hard to ocnvice the populace on serious an important issues but fail to do so convincingly? How often have we seen LKY come out to do just that on their behalf? He is still needed by the PAP givt to put the gloss over hard to accept type of decisions and policies.
Who can do this job when he is gone? No one.
This is the PAP’s fault for making him so indespensible to the party, and it is this failure to look the problem directly in the eye that will be the cause of heartaches to come.
Now, this is no laughing matter and I am not trying to put the PAP down. Far from it. This has to do with us, our families, friends and children. Because when trouble begins to show from within the PAP, it will translate to trouble in the streets where you and I will be very close to. Too close for comfort, in fact.
Singaporeans need to seriously think about this than to assume that PAP/LKY will always be there for you. LKY is but only a mortal soul and Singapore will outlive the PAP.
Ten reasons why I bet Election will be very soon:
1. The financial crisis will be prolonged and ugly. Some predicted that it may even go beyond 2010 – that is one year before the present govt needs to call for an election. Imagine calling for an election in 2011/2012 when things are still high and dry? Best to do it now when things are still manageable.
2. PM has already identified his team of MPs to take over the dead wood. Everyone can see that the old guard is tired and lost their edge. PM wants to rejuvenate his team as he knows things are not going well lately. DPM Wong may have to go for early retirement together with Mah Bow Tan. It is clear that the team needs a younger crop to tackle today’s issues. The old guard needs to go for the country and party’s sake.
3. Disunity of Opposition party is well known by now. CST and LKT though veterans have hardly inspire as opposition figures especially during this crisis. What better time to slay them before they could gather a potent force to be reckoned with?
4. LKY is also getting older – he may not even live to the next election though I am not cursing him to the grave. WHy not use his prestige and reputation to bring in another PAP victory?
5. One could see that civil discontentment is rising by the day. Minibond investors and Poly students have all rise up in unity to protest against institutional fault and inaction by the authorities. PM will not want to risk having more civil protests in future to swing the votes. WHy not call a snap election and gain another 5-year term?
6. Overseas voters have receive notice of voting – since a month ago I have received notice from the govt stating that I am eligible for voting while living abroad. Is this not a clear cut sign?
7. Seeking a new mandate – PM will use the budget in Feb 09 to seek for a fresh mandate from the voters to cayy out his proposals. He wouldn’t want to risk till 2011/2012 when things may get too ugly by then. The risk of doing it later is just too much to bear.
8. Why the need to train people now for an election when election is at least three years away. PM is not known to do things without a reason. There is no smoke without fire.
9. Preparation for incoming of next PM – LSL has all along spoken on the difficulty of getting new talent for the next PM. It could be 7-10 years’ time. PM is already in his mid to late 50s and he may relinguish his position to the new PM in year 2017 – i.e 8 years’ time. The new DPM may even be announced during this 2009 GE if it is called. People like Thamar, Teo and Khaw stand a good to be DPM.
10. His health factor – his health still remains strong for the time being but you never know. He may be trying to prepare for the eventuality that it may turn bad. It is also good timing to prepare a new team to tackle this financial crisis with a new stock of capable people. The old guard does seem to have some problem here.
Hope this help. Anyone want to lay a bet with me? A beer maybe?
give 10 reasons and bet only for 1 beer? so cheapo one! I give you 1 carton and you write me a bible ok?
Tiredsingaporean:
Haha sure bet one carton then but the Bible is already written liao…
146) Gilbert Goh Keow Wah
Whether it’s one can of beer or one carton, you did not say how soon is soon.
Any predictions first?
Gemami:
My gut feeling it will be as soon as January or February 09 right before the expansionary budget of juicy goodies to trick the population again.
He may really use the goodies to entice us yet again.