Wednesday, December 17, 2008 10:39

179 foreign workers abandoned by employer

In Main Stories, Top Story • 3,262 views • 97 Comments

Boris Chan

Some 179 foreign workers from Bangladesh fear they may not have a place to sleep or food to eat in the coming days. Their employer has basically abandoned them and they are being evicted from their dormitory in two days.

The Online Citizen (TOC) was alerted to their plight and visited them yesterday at Tagore Lane.

The workers had each paid agents some S$8,500 for a 2-year contract to work in Singapore shipyards. The agents said they could earn up to S$18 per day and more if they worked on Sundays. In two years, they could earn some S$15,000, enough to cover the money they paid to the agents and bring home a small sum.

However, they are not employees of the shipyards. The sub-contractor employed them and sent them to the shipyards to work as welders and electricians. Their starting pay was S$16 per day but were paid only if they had job assignments. After being here for more than a year, they had their pay increased by one dollar to $17 per day. For a good period of time, it was not an issue. But in the past two and a half months, many of them did not get any work assignments – some for as long as four months – and thus no pay as well.

Now they are worried and desperate about what will happen next. Their employer has denied responsibility for them and has vacated the office from the factory. The drivers who drove them to work have also vacated the dorm. They have no money and no food and were told that the landlord is going to evict them as the rental period for the dormitory is expiring soon. They have called the police and approached the Ministry of Manpower yesterday for assistance but to no avail. Their next course of action is to seek help from their embassy here.

TOC will update readers on the situation in future reports.

Headline picture by Stephii Chok.

Here is a video interview with the workers.

Pictures by Boris Chan:

——

*** See related posts

1. MOM to meet with employer of stranded foreign workers
  2. Legal recourse for foreign workers
  3. Journalist assaulted for work on foreign workers
  4. Foreign workers bring local agency to court
  5. Not all foreign workers are counted?

97 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Roderic Sng Y C
Dec 17, 2008 10:44

In future, I shall call TOC 1st to report instead of MSM or upload to stom!p!
due to preference.

I prefer TOC’s alternative ways of coverage which is very insightful, interesting and honest.

Do keep up your excellent efforts and initiative.

regards
Rod

Pui.....
Dec 17, 2008 10:56

I really pity them. Came all the way from their country, hoping to provide a better lives for their family & now this…

Hopefully they can find a solution..

gemami
Dec 17, 2008 11:07

Lest the govt bashing begin, let me be the first to say that this is not the work of our govt but the works of some unscrupulous private business and individuals who have chosen to leave these poor forreign workers in the lurch.

What is of concern to me, without being discrimitory, is what this desperate group of foreigners could have done or succumbed to in order to survive their ordeal. I cannot even bring myself to imagine the neighbourhood shop being robbed, innocent aunties being pick-pocketed and all sorts of other petty crimes. What have we invited into our shores?

I may be hypothetical here, but who can assure me that it will not happen? How many more groups of FWs are left out there like these 179 forsaken Bangladashies?

Andrew Loh
Dec 17, 2008 11:19

What really makes me sick is that they’re paid a miserly $16 per day. My goodness, is this even humane?

sgcitizen
Dec 17, 2008 11:20

ermm.. whatever the case the govt can’t escape from being linked…
it’s true that unscrupulous biz brought these workers here… but it’s govt’s policy of getting cheap foreign labour that enables these biz to run…
do u know how easy it is to bring a foreign worker/talent to get into singapore?

smallvice585

Wah.. this is horrible.. This is modern slavery exasperated by corporate irresponsibility. If employers are sufficiently morally bankrupt to treat foreign workers like that, would the same employers treat Singaporean workers with any better attitude in the first place?

redbean

the first to be retrenched?

Daniel Hor
Dec 17, 2008 11:28

Maybe we’ll see NTUC’s Lim Swee Say come out and say: “HOW COME EMPLOYER NEVER CONSULT NTUC FIRST?”

A sad case of pure greed together with pure exploitation. Our “gracious society” doesn’t apply to these cheap foreign manpower.

The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 17 Dec 2008
Dec 17, 2008 11:35

[...] Strangers in a Strange Land – TOC: 179 foreign workers abandoned by employer [...]

evo09
Dec 17, 2008 11:55

The employer has the responsibility to take care of these foreign worker. They cannot just abandoned them in this manner. If the employer does not want to take up this responsibility, our government should step in to interfere and help these poor souls. Afterall is not that our government who approved the permit to bring in these foreign worker?

laj
Dec 17, 2008 12:00

$16 a day is really pure slavery in the self-claimed first world singapore. Somemore the foreign workers have to pay the greedy agents who over-charged them $8,500.

If the employer can slaved these foreign worker, no surprise they can slaved us singaporean worker in same manner.

Truly unique singapore

alky
Dec 17, 2008 12:03

#8) Daniel Hor on December 17th, 2008 11.28 am

These workers are not even entitled to form unions in the first place. So how will their problems even come to the attention of our dear elite union MPs?

jack
Dec 17, 2008 12:11

MOM and police should have to step in. They cannot just make the money by taken a big slice of these poor souls’ wages when times were good and dump
them on the streets now when times are bad, like irresponsible pet owners.
The authorities should not say this is private matter and if possible bring the
book on the employers.

Richard Tan
Dec 17, 2008 12:21

I think this is not the first case that the employer abandon the foreign workers. Yes this is not Government problems, but Government have to take action on the employer, but to what we understand from the pass cases. Everything cool down without any action taken. Not only these group of foreign workers pay are low, some construction workers pay are even lower like $13 per day.

dino
Dec 17, 2008 12:22

I hope whoever read this article,be it FT/FW or singaporean,realise what kind of ‘1st’ world country or Inc singapore is…

AhKao
Dec 17, 2008 12:24

Not that it is any consolation to these workers, but looks like Mainland Chinese workers are ALSO getting the shaft!

http://www.yawningbread.org/arch_2008/yax-962.htm

http://www.yawningbread.org/arch_2008/yax-965.htm

If anything, it’s scarier if what Yawning Bread has reported is true: ie that MOM officials are conspiring with the employers to get these workers who complain arrested and deported!

smallvice585
Dec 17, 2008 12:25

The employers should be arrested, charged in court and ordered to pay for the abandoned workers’ passage home. The abandoned workers’ agency fee should be partially reimbursed too because the workers didn’t complete the entire 2 year period as stipulated in their employment contract.

Observer (SG-HK)
Dec 17, 2008 12:37

This is appauling. It is not just a sign of disrespect to humane living and human exploitation, it is out right ‘fly by night” and irresponsible business conduct whichever the agent(s) is(are).

I think the relevant authority should step in and regulate these “so call placement agents”. They should not be letting them off the hook easily. The findings should be made public and barr them from further business operation. It is exactly this kind of business conduct that has paratly caused the native fellow mates to be out-competed for jobs that otherwise would have our very own locals being employed. In a long run, if the authority allow these practices to go scot free, this will do more harm to the Singapore economy than help.

What is going to happen to this group of poor souls? I hope they are compensated and given a fair treatment. Bless them.

gemami
Dec 17, 2008 12:39

Come to think of it, this is a new ‘retrenchmentment’ twist altogether.

We have heard and seen employers retrenching workers but this is the first case of its kind in Singapore where the employer retrench itself from the workers.

lips
Dec 17, 2008 12:46

gemami, your comments are bigoted and unnecessary. Yes people in desperate situations can do desperate things. But instead of being reactionary and thinking at the tail-end of the situation, why not take the preventive or proactive approach?

Unscrupulous businesses indeed, but it is the job of the government to regulate and enforce certain standards. So the MOM, who issues work permits and other official documents for foreigners to work in our shores, needs to step up in this case and investigate what’s going on.

Further, it has a duty to provide for these people until they are able to sort their situation out.

The government always harps on how foreign workers benefits us in this country. They cannot be abandoned in a foreign country without help when they’ve been cheated like this.

And yes, $16 a day is disgusting. Were meals and board provided for? Or did they have to pay for that themselves?

And then our government minister can ask “how many meals at the hawker centre do we want a day”

Let’s think about this situation: These people paid $8500 just to come here for the PRIVILEGE to work for $18 a day at best?

Something is very wrong here.

have2change
Dec 17, 2008 13:03

Bad Karma watch out 4 those who do bad.

SevenEleven
Dec 17, 2008 13:06

#4, Andrew,the salary is a mutal agreement although I may them $18 or $19 per day for new workers with 2 hours OT everyday and 2x during Sunday and Public Holiday. Bear in mind that it exclude a $2.50 per day food allowance if OT is done. On top of that, their accomodation of $150/m and $10 utilities fee for cooking is not included.

There are other cost like transportation, medicsl fees, insurance etc to be added. It may be cheaper compared to local workers but the problem is sometime the difficulties in getting locals to do such jobs

I make no apologies in paying such salaries as this is a market norm. It is my responsibilities to ensure they are paid and taken care off to my best.

Andy Lau
Dec 17, 2008 13:08

This video makes me sick, and I shall say this is not the only one. We have seen tuition centre or private schools closed down leaving foreign students out side the door, tour agency close down leaving clients with fake air tickets, home owner close the door after collected rentals from students and many more…
What is happening in our country? How come the authority just pretends that there is nothing happen and not reacting to it?
These will definitely spoil our image as a developed country. So sad…
I think we should prosecute these sub and main cons, these are the blood suckers.

gemami
Dec 17, 2008 13:13

Hi lips,

I agree that I may have overstated my point and stepped over the line but I think it is necessary to bring it across. Also, I did make myself clear that it is a hypothetical thought and with no discrimitory intention.

I apologise unreservedly for any offence caused to anyone.

I also agree, after reading the yawningbread link provided by AhKao, that MOM and some of our other ministries need to review their treatment of these foreign workers especially when mediating discourses between worker and employer.

I Can Honestly Say . . .
Dec 17, 2008 13:16

Minimum Wage = If I could pay you less, I would.

Maximum Wage = If I could pay myself more, I would.

Life is never fair, just make sure that it is fair in your favor.

This whole episodes just shows that humans are exploitative in nature. Nothing can change that.

smallvice585
Dec 17, 2008 13:16

the salary is a mutal agreement although I may them $18 or $19 per day for new workers with 2 hours OT everyday and 2x during Sunday and Public Holiday.seveneleven (#22)

Mutual agreement would make it acceptable if the foreign workers have any bargaining position prior to signing the contract. They have no bargaining position to begin with, no amount of mutual agreement or contracts will make it right.

alky
Dec 17, 2008 13:19

These foreign workers are just the tip of the iceberg. Many foreign maids also end up with unscrupulous employers who try to send them back without paying their wages. Some unlucky ones even end up getting abused too.

Maybe TOC shoud go to the Indonesian or Filipino Embassy and get interviews from these people too. Basically all these shows that the moral values of our country has gone to the dogs.

It’s really a dog eat dog world now here in Singapore. And please don’t even count on our dear elites to intervene since they are the ones who have made our society end up like what it is today in the first place.

Tan
Dec 17, 2008 13:21

S’poreans can now have their jobs back.

Gilbert Goh
Dec 17, 2008 13:30

I think this is a sad and regrettable incident that is widespread as the recessions reigns it’s ugly head.

I have heard of employers and agents splitting the huge cost paid by each labourer (not FT) when they cut the deal. Sometimes, each deal can bring hundred of thousands of dollars to each partner.

Imagine each worker pays $8,500 to come. If you bring in 100 X $8,500, the figure becomes mind boggling. This even after minusing off airfare, work permit fee and other logistical charges.

It is big money for all who wants to get involved. Even the govt is seen to be closing an eye to such bogus labour deals.

If the worker wants to come by paying such a high fee who is to stop them if all papers are in order? All partners invovled make their bucks. The worker make also though his pay is pittance as he will bring home the few thousands balance back home. The money is enough to build a house and even start a small business.

The govt make by having the work permit fees to be paid monthly by employers. Of course, the biggest winners are the employers and the agents. Each deal cut will fatten their bank account by hundred of thousands dollars.

I am not saying that I approve of such “slavery” labour contract especially if they are thrown away like a piece of furniture when there is no work for them.

Unless the govt put a stop to such low end labour FTs, we will continue to see foreigners being exploited by scheming employers/agents.

It is against the human rights law.

Good work by TOC though in exposing such scandal.

moshedyan
Dec 17, 2008 13:55

on behalf of the human rights
worldwide inc
let me rephrase this one very very carefully
only in unique singapore
have we got such ugly malpractise
in europe
whoever bring in foreign workers
must ensured that they are reparatrate
in the event of a collapsed
if the said company cannot afford
to do so
(they will be blacklisted)
the country concerned
(meaning banagla embassy)
will be next on the list to reparatrate
their citizens home
afterall they did come here to make money
and remit the earnings back to bangadenshi
helping their country economy
if onced again
the country refused to do so
the european government will reparatrate
the foreign workers home
using
YOURs/mine money
but the country concerned
will too be blacklisted
for future foreign workers import
meaning your country workers will no longer be able to work in the blaclisted
european countries
(9 european countries hor)
in singapore?
we have the ministry of manpower foreign levies everymonth
masuk inside
problemo arised?
act blurred/blind/deaf and dumb as well
only in
UNIQUE singapore
do we have such a
^CARING^ pap government
and here we are
with the mental1 blowing his horn
how great the foreign workers are
with his son our prime ministers
ECHOED
yeah hor
bring in MORE foreign workers
kaninia…………………………..

Andrew Loh
Dec 17, 2008 14:02

Seven eleven (#22),

Yes, it is the “market norm”.

I wish there were more employers who had a heart and a conscience and be brave enough to step out of the “market norm”. This may be wishful thinking but to me, I think if oneself would not work for $16 a day, then one shouldn’t expect others to do the same – wherever they may come from.

At the end of the day, employers survive on what these employees do (the job of building). Employees live on what the employers pay them.

It is when the one with the power starts to exploit the other, that we see such situations as the one above.

And certainly, the govt should step in, should it not? Or should we leave the helpless to those who exploit them?

JohnnyKid
Dec 17, 2008 14:24

Government not at fault?????

Did they check whether the employer of these workers have that much work to do before issuing the work permits?

Did they check whether the employer has prepared suitable places for these workers to live?

Basically what we have here is a SCAM JOB. I could register a company, pretend I need a lot of workers, apply for work permits, accept the agent fees from the workers then once I have cheated enough money from 200 workers, close down my company leaving them stranded in Singapore. And guess, what MOM will help me cancel their work permits and the police will help me deport them back to their countries!!

The beauty of this is that this has been ongoing for more than 10 years and the government don’t care. So the money is there on the table, whether you dare to take it or not depends on your conscience!

Tew NS
Dec 17, 2008 14:49

Many agents eat people, including, insurance agt, investment agt, bank, maid agt

mohoon
Dec 17, 2008 15:01

Civil servants (MOM staff) are just like you and me. With today rising cost of living and the work stress and all that, civil servants just want to complete their job and go home. They are not interested in anything else. They heck care about what foregin worker or maid, it is not their family issue anyway. There is no incentives for them to help or service these foreign worker better. As long as they complete their duty or KPI, they’ll be entitled to their pay and bonus. If I were work as MOM staff, I’ll also just follow rules and don’t care about anything else. Why go fight with employer who abadon these worker? Let them abadon lor. Complete work and go home earlier better.

puppy
Dec 17, 2008 15:08

Please do not take all these sinful acts likely.

The day may come when Singaporeans get paybacks(retributions) in foreign lands and even in our own home(country). Think of foreigners getting hostile towards Singaporeans when they get to know where you are from(SIN).

puppy.

Gilbert Goh
Dec 17, 2008 15:18

I wonder if Singapore can slowly ease off our dependence on foreign workers.

Here in Australia, there is NO cheap foreign workers that are employed to do manual or construction work.

They hire back their own workers and from what I see they are doing a good job. Each construction worker is paid at least $3K or more BECAUSE it is tough work and they have no choice but to increase pay for such work. They can’t employ unskilled labourers in the construction site. I see Aussies all sweat under the sun heavily involved in the construction industry. I wonder why the same scheme cant work in Singapore? Why always suck up to the employers so that they can make fat profits at the expense of all?

The key I guess is paying consturction workers well enough. If construction work pays decently e.g. 2K up, you think local Singaporeans won’t go and mix cement and carry steel bars? The unemployment rate will drop instantly!

It is because they are so lowly paid that Singaporeans avoided such work. That is why sub contractors have to employ foreigners as they can only pay $18 a day for such manual work. Then they bite back and say Singaporeans are choosy and can’t take hard work!

I think the govt has to step in at least to tighten up such lax labour contracts to employ unskilled foreign workers.

The labour laws all along have favour employers and this got to stop.

We are already having quite a bad image abroad with such adverse news.

gemami
Dec 17, 2008 15:49

Hi #34) mohoon,

Kindly speak for yourself without roping all of us in. There are some of us still interested in what we are doing with or without the added stress.

Hi Gilbert,
I wonder if Singapore can slowly ease off our dependence on foreign workers.

Unfortunately, the call is not fully ours to make. Businesses are squeezed to death and one of the easiest way to cut cost is cheaper alternatives, one of which is cheap labour. The need for businesses to stay trim and fit has caused this brutally thuggish and ruthless behaviour downstream, and at every level.

The key is not only a higher wage for some of the lower end jobs but also to make these jobs family friendly. Local workers need to have time for their families, to look after school-going children and sick parents etc. The fw do not have these competitive concerns as ours.

The fw’s sole purpose in coming here is to earn a tidy some for the few years of work they put in. It becomes attractive for employers to seek them out because they do not need to worry about these fw having the need to take family-care leave or maternity leave or even sick leave esp when the policy is no work, no pay.

Take the example of our bus drivers. There are so many Malaysian and Chinese nationals driving our buses these days. The pay is not too bad at around $2k. Why then do SIngaporeans shy away from such a job? Yes, the long and irregular hours that leaves one without any hope of enjoying family time with the family.

So, instead of the govt saying Singaporeans are shunning these jobs, why not make it more conducive for them to be employed? Instead of paying one a $2k to work irregular shifts, why not pay 2 persons at $1k each to drive half the hours? Give them the option to choose either options.

Point is, there are ways to work around most situations instead of just saying Singaporeans are not taking up these jobs because of blah, blah, blah reasons.
Go to the root cause and see if these can be better managed for the people to accept them. You will see that money is not always the consideration whether one takes up a job offer or not.

Tan Kuku
Dec 17, 2008 16:34

Our gahmen started all this FW problems but do not want to get to the root of the problems. MOM is making huge $ to bring FW so why break their own rice bowls.

tiredman
Dec 17, 2008 16:37

No wonder no Singaporean wants to take up these jobs. How a person in Singapore can feed his family (living in SG) with a pay of $18/hr a day. Our gahman always tells us that Singaporeans are just too choosy. Ohh I see; in fact it is the salary.
Perhaps, the gahman wants the poor Singapoeans to accept this kind of salary. If you want it take it. If you don’t want it leave it. You know, I can bring in FTs to take up the jobs.
Life sucks.

alky
Dec 17, 2008 16:38

When a worker abscond from employer, MOM confiscate the employer’s work permit bond for the worker. ($5000 if i’m not wrong) Now when it is the other way round and the employer absconds, does MOM give the worker this $5000? Obviously not.

So what is the purpose of employers paying the bond to MOM for? For them to invest in minibonds also?

teo soh lung
Dec 17, 2008 17:10

It is definitely the responsibility of our government to seriously investigate the plight of all these abandoned foreign workers. They have a duty because they grant the work permits and collect levies. They have the authority to stop repatriation of these workers pending completion of investigations and ensure that they are justly compensated. Surely as a first world country, our government cannot turn a blind eye to such problems. It is sad that despite the work of so many ngos today, foreign workers are still treated so badly.

ZL
Dec 17, 2008 17:14

Hi Boris & TOC,

Keep it up!
You too, MOM

Overclock Singapore
Dec 17, 2008 17:44

Uniquely Singapore – World Class country in Asia, spend millions to promote this A+ lioncity in media over the world but got such a class F in labour practice. I hope reuters will report this news on their website to tell the world about Singapore shameful best employment practice.

JohnnyKid
Dec 17, 2008 18:59

We give free scholarships to people from India, Bangladesh, China partly as goodwill gestures, to improve our relations with these countries.

On the other hand, we allow abuses of foreign workers to go unchecked. The goodwill earned is undone instantly.

Our money down the drain and Singaporeans are made to pay for their mistakes as usual.

AiSiBehSi
Dec 17, 2008 19:29

Beh Tahan, how can such things happen in a World Class state. Poor 3rd World workers left stranded here?

Cancer
Dec 17, 2008 20:07

LTA should also review on the transportation of the foreign workers. It gives me the impression that LTA does not value the life of such workers. Can you imagine allowing 10 or more workers to be seated at the back of a lorry without due regard to their safety? Our government should also review the minimum wage payable to them…. I really feel for them.

SZ
Dec 17, 2008 20:11

Biting the hands that feeds them…thats what those people are good at…both the employers in this case and the you-know-which-party

tiredsingaporeans
Dec 17, 2008 20:27

46) Cancer on December 17th, 2008 8.07 pm
LTA should also review on the transportation of the foreign workers. It gives me the impression that LTA does not value the life of such workers. Can you imagine allowing 10 or more workers to be seated at the back of a lorry without due regard to their safety? Our government should also review the minimum wage payable to them…. I really feel for them.

yeah right! last time when we drive a pick up and seated with a couple of passengers behind, they booked us with summons cos its very dangerous. Now leh? oh no problems, these banglas are just cheap labours and they comes in big trucks after trucks, anything happen? oh…no problem, its not only cheap labours but also cheap lives, issit?

moshedyan
Dec 17, 2008 20:59

now how many of you peeps know about china foreign talents
working here?
do you know that they must pay the chinese agent a minumum sum of
50,000 renminpi (S$10,000)
to be settle within 12 months
upon their arrivals
failured to do so
will result in their home/land in china to be auctioned off
or whoever guranteed/sponsered them in the first place….
now you know
why geylarg is full of chinagirls who are plying the streets
as though they wanted to
in the
FIRST place
ole YES
the ministry of manpower knows
SUCH practice
even the manufacturing HRO also knows
but what to do
as some of you here already said
the singaporeans agents/momworkers are only looking afteir OWNED ricebowls
the chinese foreign workers are just merly exploited slave labours
now you know
why the mental1 is blowing his trumpet
simply because he got all this foreign talents by their
BALLS or naynay
whichever CUM first
sooner or later
the streets of singapore
will be turned into a ghetto
where foreign workers
would be looting/burnings our properties
afterall
they themselves
have really nothing to lose
if cornered
and
this incidents
did happenned
WORLDWIDE
from America thru Europe

N Veerasamy
Dec 17, 2008 21:09

Where is the law and order here for such friends who trusted Singapore. Is the M.O.M going to take some action? I doubt!!!!!!

BeWary
Dec 17, 2008 21:13

guess whose making all the $$$$
they contractors have to make or break when they bid for hdb projects at cut throat prices
then they hire the workers at cut throat prices with measerly pay
they hdb sells them to u guys are variable pricing meaning whatever prices
they dictate
guess who ends up the sukers

tiredsingaporeans
Dec 17, 2008 21:34

When they did something good to the country in the past, we pay and pay cos its called nation building, fine with us singaporeans!. When they did something bad or mistakes and push the blame on a 3rd party, we still have to pay and pay for their mistakes. When we discovered that they (PAP TCs) illegally gambled off our monies, they says that we should thank them and ultimately who is going to be the sucker? we again. When we discovered about their profiteering (HDB), they say its fair to pay the market price and on the other hand, they keep saying that they subsidizing alot for us, my poot! what more? the list goes on and on . . . . . would like to ask, ARE WE SINGAPOREANS BORN TO BE SUCKERS?

smallvice585
Dec 17, 2008 21:37

BeWary (#51),

You rather pay for expensive price due to HDB profiteering or more humane treatment for construction workers. Please consider the positive spill-over effects of humane treatment and salaries for construction workers to Singaporean workers’ salaries too.

tiredsingaporeans
Dec 17, 2008 21:48

The workers had each paid agents some S$8,500 for a 2-year contract to work in Singapore shipyards. The agents said they could earn up to S$18 per day and more if they worked on Sundays. In two years, they could earn some S$15,000, enough to cover the money they paid to the agents and bring home a small sum.

This is just human trafficking by all those bloody cruel people out there.

pugdragon
Dec 17, 2008 23:04

#34 mohoon, the gov has been manipulating Singaporeans’ mentalities & personalities to only care about ourselves & not others. It brainwashes Singaporeans to think they have to be competitive & get higher salaries than their peers. & make Singaporeans think that what they have currently is not enough, & that they should always strive harder to earn more. It suppressed wages so Singaporeans can never be comfortable enough to think about anything else apart from earning more $.

Singapore will only get worse if everyone continues to have the old-school mainstream “care-only-about-ourselves-&-not-others” mentality. Equal human rights can never see the light in Singapore if this bad mentality continues to run rampant in the society.

Screw that mentality. It’s the dawn of a new age. Thanks to the internet, many Singaporeans like you & me are finally realizing what we’ve been missing out on in terms of human rights all these years. For years, gov has blinded Singaporeans from the presence of human rights in 1st world humane countries with a veil of illusion. While proclaiming that Singapore’s standard of living is among the top countries in the world. Among the top of the world? Cost of living is, standard of living is not.

It’s disgusting that gov is doing nothing to prevent foreign workers from getting ripped off. Pay $8.5k to work? I need around 600 Australian dollars for an Australian work visa, & I find that expensive enough already. It seems that gov & agencies not only do not care about foreign workers, they do not care about citizens residing in Singapore as well.

The high number of foreign workers does constitute to discomfort in terms of crowdedness in the country. This caused a lack of personal, living & breathing space for residents in Singapore.

Now, you can see rising numbers of abandoned foreign workers. That possibly shows that not so many workers are required in Singapore in the 1st place. Even if so many of them were required in the 1st place, gov should foresee the possibility of a down-plunge of economy & halt of building projects, & limit the number of imported foreign workers. This way, there would be less crowding in Singapore, & the lower number of foreign workers would probably be better taken care of.

But no! For the gov & agencies don’t seem to care about our nor foreigners’ comfort & welfare. They can rip foreign workers off & chuck ‘em aside as long as they get their $8.5k per head. What if foreign workers do not have work to do to justify the $8.5k they each paid? Well, this problem does not affect their own pockets, so, why bother?

C’mon, Singapore is a 1st world country. Everyone has rights to voice his feelings & opinions. A more humane leadership & society! More focus on people’s comfort & welfare & not own pocket!

andrew
Dec 17, 2008 23:35

I would suggest that TOC starts a fund raising campaign to provide lodging and food for these unfortunate men from abroad. They deserve our sympathy and let see how Mr Mah would response to this issue. This is the time to show to the government that the peope tat action speaks louder than words..

Blind Man
Dec 17, 2008 23:43

My hats off to TOC, you have once again gone beyond the call of duty.

I would like to contribute a suggestion, maybe the we should start some kinda of charity. We get the NMP’s and MP’s etc to do some kinda of Hip Hop and lip sync to raise funds for this cause.

And we can get a minister to present the cheque for the total funds collected to this people who are in this plight.

mars
Dec 17, 2008 23:47

MOM collects foreign workers levy. Now they wash their hands. Where is the moral responsibility to fellow human beings.

feedmetothefish
Dec 17, 2008 23:54

Another awakening.

But do they care?

Exploitation has been the name of the game. Money at any cost and $ingapore leaders are more concerned about their own pockets and well being than foreign workers. If they cannot even care about the welfare of poor Singaporeans, I doubt the give a fcuk to the foreign labourers!

The whores and pimps as shown in Al Jazeera
is another unique 1st world $ingapore that $ingapore leaders should be proud of when talking big about how other countries are learning from $ingapore!

http://feedmetothefish.blogspot.com/2008/12/singaporeans-arent-we-proud-of-being.html

If they are willing to kill innocents by selling cluster bombs and other firepower to make a buck, letting the foreign labourers to suffer and die is no big deal.

Likewise, who can we blame if forsaken foreign labourers start to steal, rob or kill just to feed themselves and survive? No wonder they are so keen in repatriating them. Lesser of 2 evils?

1st world $ingapore leaders must know we reap what we sow.

To everything, there’s a season under heaven.

The season to payback is nigh.

feedmetothefish

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Dec 18, 2008 1:32

ok guys… let’s all forward this article and link to the MOM. Let’s try help the workers as much as we can. C’mon, let’s be good hosts. Show them not all singaporeans so heartless

Dec 18, 2008 1:53

I just spoke to someone who used to work in MOM. She said usually in this case MOM will look into it. May either deport them, or find them new employment. But the first thing they do is to find places to house them, so dun worry they won’t be homeless. But just to be on the safe side, let’s be good citizens and call and notify. Unless of TOC has done that, and will update us.

Overclock Singapore
Dec 18, 2008 3:21

Conclusion is MOM have to answer + take responsible for this current reported excessive 179 or worst 17900 manpower problem. It was their decision to allow company to hire oversea employees with no fix ratio against numbers of singaporeans to save business cost.

Good luck Mr manpower million dollars minister on Budget 2009 in answering question on cheap workers policy taking over singaporeans rice bowls, but blew it up with so many unemployed cheap investment giving 1st class citizen a shameful employment practice to the world in 2008 golden age period.

anon
Dec 18, 2008 7:22

Our foreign worker policy needs to be reviewed. Current rules allow pure exploitation of these workers from less developed countries.

The government has not moved the country from a third world to first world environment as it still rely on cheap foreign labour to solve our cost structure problems.

Instead of buying useless loss-making american banks, it should spend those money on upgrading our low value-add industries through mechanisation and automation.

Make menial tasks less difficult to perform. Make changes to the work hours. Genuinely increase the productivity of each worker, whether local or foreign.

I have lived in Australia for a while and saw the many little improvements one can do to make a menial task easy to do even for a senior. The companies and the country need to invest in the infrastructure, that’s all.

And pay every worker the same rate for the same job, damn it.

gemami
Dec 18, 2008 7:35

Hi 55) pugdragon, very well presented, thanks.

I join my voice to #56) Andrew and #57) Blind Man, that TOC might want to consider putting together a fund raising campaign to help people who find themselves in all sorts of marginalized predicaments. It would be good to set up a TOC subsidiary and register it as a charitable organisation for its outreach to the poor and marginalized program. Yah, need a program, complete with vision and mission statements.

Joshua #61). Great job seeking clarification from MOM. Is that why there is a report of this case in this morning’s TODAY papers? One other thing, the fw interviewed in the report said he had not eaten for a day. Would MOM be seeing to it that they are fed while an amicable solution is sought out? Whatever it is, TOC has done a great job for being first to the news. Really put the MSM to shame.

I read with interest also, the comment from TODAY’s report that there has been an oversupply of foreign workers to safeguard the expectations of the employers, that is, should they demand for more workers, the numbers are readily available. Who controls and approve the number of foreign workers brought in by these unscrupulous agents? Either the ministry who approve these applications are not doing their job or basically have been turning a blind eye to this unscrupulous practice. Someone must answer for it.

Dec 18, 2008 8:30

TOC may I know what’s the address of the location?

Doodoo
Dec 18, 2008 9:12

Govt please send this people back to their countries if there is no other solutions. If the unscrupulous employer has flouted the laws, punish him severely as an example. If your guidelines are not comprehensive enough for such a situation, improve the guidelines. At least do something before more FW becomes jobless and we have a huge social problem.

sarek_home
Dec 18, 2008 9:18

Glad that MON and the employer are now exposed to the public spotlight.

TOC alone will not be able to help these foreign workers. But if the TOC report help in any way to bring the matter to the MSM attention and lead to the publishing of the TODAY report, then TOC has done a good service to the foreign workers.

At least for now, MOM and the employer have to do something to take care of them and settle the issue.

I feel bali rich
Dec 18, 2008 10:08

Kudos to the member of the Public for giving TOC the tip off such that we the rest of the members of the public can have this golden chance to SEE and HEAR and READ and Understand with our own senses the REALITY , PLIGHT and PREDICAMENT of our foreign low wage workers.

Without a splinter of a doubt, this shows that possibly many more like them have been exploited by employers.

without a splinter of a doubt, this Confirmed for us the need for Minimum wage and a real need to provide minimum living condition for workers.

From a humanitarian perspective, this kind of living condition has debased humanity.

I urge those that need to be urged to understand this problem is real and intolerable for a 1st world standard.

If there is no minimum wage , who can assure that lowest wage earners will not be exploited and exploited further especially in a time when all employers are sinking and trying to protect their own wealth and secure their fat bonus.

I urge for the setting up of low wage union to fight for the lowest ranked workers.
But I worry. I worry employers will say, if you implement minimum wage system, they not happy want to migrate.

And this is the way in the digital age.

yours bluntly
Malimah Lim Teo Swee

Gilbert Goh
Dec 18, 2008 12:02

I think the root problem is that we have a flourishing economy with no local workers willing to participate in the work of these companies.

So they approach MOM and being pro-business, they allow S-passes to be issued to unskilled foreign workers. Of course, the govt reaps montly fees off these workers paid for by the employers.

Nevertheless, as the workers pay enormous fees ranging from $8,000 to $15,000 to come here and work for a two-year minimal contract, they also pay a huge cost and want to benefit at the end of the contract. Agents from the host country and us enjoy huge fees when they successfully bring in groups of such labourers.

Frankly, all parties to this “slave” trade works well untill the economy turns nasty this year. Companies make losses and have to close down. Workers get no work and sometimes no salaries. MOM steps in only when alerted by VWOs or the papers. They lose when workers go back in terms of monthly work permit fees. Workers lose more as they may have to go back prematurely locked in deficit as they have to pay back loans made out when they come here in the first place.

The retail sector also booms as such workers need to go out and buy stuff. The whole multiplier chain works here though not as much as anticipated due to their low purchasing power. Due to their remitttance, we may also lose abit here as they may send back at least 3/4 of their salaries to their loved ones back home.

The only way to stop this slave trade is to look at ways to tighten up the lax labour laws in bringing in unskilled foreign workers. In pursuing after businesses, we may have give in to inhumane labour laws exposing ourselves to unethical practices.

Can some of the jobs performed by foreigners be carried out by locals here? Can the terms be improved so that such work is deemed attractive enough for locals?

hmmmm
Dec 18, 2008 12:06

just an update from newspaper reports.

- TWC2 providing meals and shelter. (this happened early on, though maybe not in time for TOC report)

- MOM said they are investigating and have not technically “washed their hands ” off it. They have suspended the company’s ability to hire foreign workers.

- this is not the employer’s (Tipper Corp) first problem with foreign workers.

- this is not entirely a function of the economic crisis. The subcontractors ditched these workers because of a legal battle between them and Tipper.

gemami
Dec 18, 2008 12:20

Hi Gilbert,

Good assessment but I think you missed one very important point. No doubt that the marriage of arrangement worked well when times were good and the bad sides only begin to surface once the good times turned bad.

This is why it is important to look at how this arrangement is not given in to abuse when bad times come, which is what is happening now. It is imperatively important that the govt sends out a loud and clear signal to would-be employers waiting by the wings who are about to do the same thing.

Sad
Dec 18, 2008 12:25

We are seeing the first world elite division one team in action. Foriegn workers are getting cheated by agents, foriegn students are getting cheated by their agents and Singapore is fast earning a notorious reputation. Well done to our super elite million dollar Ministers. Its a wonder how some employers can get permits for this workers so easily while some have to beg to get a single worker and how private schools can get student pass for these students so easily. Well I guess there is more to it than meets the eye.

moshedyan
Dec 18, 2008 12:55

have anybody ever counted
how much just
1 foreign talent come into our shore?
let me give you a rundown
shall we?
the ^slave^ worker fork out an average $10,000 s dollars
before he even earned his 1st month wages
this also include domestic maids
yes it does
no domestic maids come in for FREE
avergae
they owed the recruiting agent 8 (EIGHT) months of their salary
for permits/air tickets
the employer in singapore who paid an agency fee is NOT subsidising the maid
@ ALL…don’t be conned by the local agency
i know because i used to be a carrier for all this agencies
so this add up
to 1 year/2 year of their lives working for nothing
which is why some of this maids is tempted to stealing/moonshinning parttimes
ministry of manpower is ripping the levies 100% profit ranging from $300++ onwards/foreign worker with a ZERO factor cost output
as stated each worker will have to spent an average of a minimum $100/200 or whatever in terms of expenses
and after 6 months or so
most of them would be using handfones
where telco will be reaping another extra source of income
now you know why the 3 telecos are LEE familLEE inc controlled…
ever $ spent
every $ earned by LEE inc
better than suhartos’ corruptions right?
or marcos loots….
somemore legalised liscend as well
so now you multiply by the numbers of foreign workers in singapore
how much monthLEE profits the LEE inc received legalLEE?

alky
Dec 18, 2008 13:17

I’ve checked the ILO website and guess what? Singapore actually supports the used of forced labour after denouncing C105 Abolition of Forced Labour Convention, 1957 in Apr 1979. This was despite ratifying it earlier in 1965. Maybe this is how our elites can get away with all this modern day slavery.

http://www.ilo.org/ilolex/cgi-lex/convde.pl?C105

C105 Abolition of Forced Labour Convention, 1957
Ratified by Singapore on 25:10:1965 Convention denounced on 19:04:1979

Description (Ratification)
Convention:C105
Subject classification: Forced Labour
Date of coming into force:17:01:1959
Subject: Forced Labour
Display the document in: French Spanish
Document No. (ilolex): 191965SGP105

Ratification date:25:10:1965

Has denounced this Convention.

pugdragon
Dec 18, 2008 13:22

#64 gemami, I refer to your quote, “there has been an oversupply of foreign workers to safeguard the expectations of the employers, that is, should they demand for more workers, the numbers are readily available.”

That is the epitome of “kiasu-ness” & “kiasee-ness” that’s so uniquely old-school Singapore. For companies’ own convenience should demand for workers rise, more workers are stationed here so they can be readily available. When the demand for workers drops, agencies & gov don’t care as long as they get their moolah per head. They don’t care what happens to these workers.

Screw the old school Singaporean mentality of “kiasu-ness” & “kiasee-ness”. That’s disgusting. However, people are free to have those mentalities if they choose to ‘cos this is a free world. & I am free to find those mentalities repulsive.

Observer (SG-HK)
Dec 18, 2008 13:41

“So they approach MOM and being pro-business, they allow S-passes to be issued to unskilled foreign workers. Of course, the govt reaps montly fees off these workers paid for by the employers.”

I think there is a misconception that the levies were paid for by the employers. In this case in point, it is clear that the employee actually paid the levy (correct me if I am wrong).

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/work_pass/work_permit/application/requirements/foreign_worker_levy.html

I suspected that the S$8,000~S$10,000 (as indicated in Today’s publication) the FW paid for an approximate two years contract without guaranteed of work speaks for itself. The agent work as a go between to collect levy on behalf of the government. The difference of the two is that the agency or agencies collect in advance from these FW seeking work. Whether at the end of the day, monthly levy are paid to the government largely dependent on whether there is work assigned to these FWs. I am not too sure of the workings in terms of how levies are charge, whether it is fixed monthly or can be pro-rated. The fine print specified in the ratio of local versus FW. 1 “fulltime” local to 7 foreign workers (note: there is no indication that it must be full-time FWs, the levies still applied). Someone with legal expertise care to shed lights?

I am not too sure of Singaporean not wanting this kind of jobs (during good times). I believe it is more to do with the wages accorded and the unreasonable working hours required (we are speaking in the terms of first world nation). Whether it is Manufacturing, Construction or Professional services… etc, if you run a business (most of them are with little conscience but with loads of revenue margin driven thoughts), if you can employ someone with 30% or more less pay to do the same kind of job (and may be with better experiences), it is not hard to see the influx of such people given the lax migrant worker rules Singapore has decided to adopt. Ya, a nice way of denouncing the advocacy of cheap labor by imposing a levy collection rule. Do we all believe it? Underneath it, more FW means more monthly levies to collect to justify their stands on promoting lower operational cost for businesses to operate in Singapore and of course to justify their enormous pay packages. The more you analyze these matters the writings are on the wall for all to see. If this migrant worker rules do not change or be refined to protect the interest of native Singaporeans, we will see more natives out of jobs when the recession is in full swing (next year and a half). Nothing will stop non-conscience, high profit driven businesses or employers to look for cheaper cost to operate wherever possible.

Gilbert Goh
Dec 18, 2008 14:49

Observer,

I doubt that foreign workers pay the work permit fees themselves. I t should be borned by the agent or employer. Of course, i may be wrong here. In the business world like ours, i guess we are all unscrupulous and could resort to cheating at the expense of the workers.

In my course of work, I have being cheated a few times by employers. Some delayed payment whereas others don’t follow the contract carefully. The contract if examined properly also favours the employer more than the employee. Many also cheated on medical benefits or giving no benefits at all.

The problem here is that our labour laws are very lax and pro-business. Many will give in if the amount is not huge for what good will it do to go to MOM if it is just a few hundred dollars?

Moving ahead, for foreign workers, it will be good for all that we curtail this influx of workers. They not only depress wages but also subject themselves to unscrupulous agents and employers. This is like the umpteenth case that I have heard this year about foreign workers being fleeced.

I know that employers need foreigners to finish up the work as locals avoided such manual jobs that pay poorly. Such work should be enhanced together with some WDA programme to make it attractive to SIngaporeans. It is ironical that there are 45,000 jobs available now and we still have 30,000 unemployed on record. Something is not very right here.

gemami
Dec 18, 2008 14:59

I believe the fees are ‘extracted’ from the workers, making it part of the job-seeking fee paid by the fw before he leaves his country. Very much the same way pimps get their girls to pay upfront cash to be brought over for prostitution and then living off their earnings.

Observer (SG-HK)
Dec 18, 2008 16:03

Dear Gilbert,

I think this debate of FW or FT has been played out for many times and I do not see an end to this in the near future. In fact, we should not let it rest until our fellow citizens are well taken care of. No one deny the fact that Singapore needed to be competitive that I am sure about (I can even hear the bells ringing in my dream).

Supposed if the government can categorically refine the ratio of employment (for the sake of protecting the interest of its people ~ this should not be construed as advocating protectionism), instead of 1 local to 7 FWs, why not the other way round 3 Locals 1 FW, with reasonable wages (peg to the economy ~ as the high paying government love to associate their worth with), I think the employment scene in Singapore looks much better.

Whatever Singapore is facing today are all man-made. Yes to some degree, I believe there are certain external elements that we cannot control like anything to do with cost of natural resources, but I think the Singapore government is smart enough to define legislation to minimize the impact and at the same time have our very own people interest at heart taken care of. We came a long way and if only these current bunch of dimbulbs wake up from their complacencies and get down to work then perhaps we will have many teething issues resolved.

As for the continual influx of FW, it largely depending on the immigration rule or migrant working rule. You can’t stop these people for searching a greener pastures (compared to where they came from). Unscrupulous businesses and employers are everywhere (not just in Singapore), but I think Singapore can do better to curb such practices with our fine rules.

Call me evil, but sometime I just wish natural disaster strike us hard and that we have to all start from ground zero again. Lake Tomba in Indonesia is indeed very close proximity to Singapore. If only history repeat itself, whatever happened 75,000 years ago … (You can honestly tell that I am out of my mind today). May be that is not such a bad thing to happen given what we are experiencing and heard the past decade.

gemami
Dec 18, 2008 16:21

Dear Observer and Gilbert,

I fully agree with Observer that we musn’t let this die, just as with the minibond saga and the TC’s non-disclosure which it is now beginning to show signs of heading in the right direction and concrete plans are now sort of being drawn up.

I am trying to locate a ST forum letter written by Lee Wei Ling a couple of weeks ago who spoke up against the abuse of foreign domestic maids. She mentioned something along the line that we seriously need to look at protecting these migrant workers and to see to it that their basic rights are protected; and; that this is no way for a civilised society to treat another human being.

This would be a good article to pursue further the rights of these poor migrants. It cannot be better than words spoken by LKY’s daughter.

See if you guys can locate the letter.

Blind Man
Dec 18, 2008 16:47

If only we had the following, I know many people will say its easy to comment after the event. but now its not to late to implement

1)MINIMUM WAGE with people friendly policy.

Will minimum wage, I do not think we will have problems like this to being with.

Sad
Dec 18, 2008 20:04

The minimum wage thing is like flogging a dead horse. When the labour chiefs who are suppose to protect the interest of the workers are dead against such a legislature, it shows that the unions are but a mouthpiece for the government.

patriot
Dec 18, 2008 21:00

Dear Observer(SG-HK);

may I say that I too have wished that a natural calamity befalls on us.

But it was not because I see Singaporeans suffering badly in survivals, we do see that there are so much cars and the roads are congested, carparks are hard to find. Shopping complexes are everywhere and plenty of useable items are thrown away comes every Chinese New Year and Hari Raya. Singaporeans are too wasteful and living spiritual-less(humanities/emotions/non religious) material live. Upmanship, showmanship, boastfulness and material pursuits seem the only purpose of being.

There are much relationship breakdowns in marriages, families(between parents/child, siblings), neighbours, employers/employees, superiors/ subordinates and citizens/leaders. It just reflects a sick society.

The policies and directions that our leaders have set contribute much to the situation I described above. And the worst, in my view, is the Leadership developing this tiny dot in a one direction expressway to a materialistic rotten culture that will soon take away the human-ness(feeling of benevolence) of the people. In this case of the abandoned workers, which is not the first case of abuses nor will it be the last, we witness first hand, how some of us including our leaders are callous and unfeeling in treating fellow beings.

It is not hard to see and understand how bad we have progressed over the last two, three decades. If a person has little or no feelings of love and sympathy for his/her kins, kiths, neighbours, friends and fellow beings but attach him/herself to material wellbeings, the society is heading for doom.

And my thinking is that a fast doom is preferable to a slow excruciating one and of course the end will results in a new beginning which hopefully will redeem the conscience of man. Lost and found always brings joy.

patriot

Observer(SG-HK)
Dec 18, 2008 21:58

Dear Patriot,

It is so sad isn’t it? To see all these unveil before us day in and day out (never mind where you are). This is really a very twisted world now. The fact that WE the HUMAN kind, the one with all that thinking power…..(sigh)..just so very sad. For all my fantasy, how I wish I have a magic wand on hand that can change the world at will.

I really hope the world leaders will wake up and come to their senses and have the drive to same our one and only home EARTH. If this home of ours is destroy in the name of progress, the trade off is really a heavy price to pay. But then again, natural disaster cycle is every 75 million years according to experts analysis. No one can tell whether this cycle is nearing. If you watch NGC regularly, you will know what I mean. It is no joy to witness natural disaster happening before our eyes albeit everyone of us will someday pass on. We should all pass on peacefully. Very negative view isn’t this? But that is part and parcel of the reality.

Coming back to the current real world. On a serious note, I really hope our fellow citizens (whether they are FWs or not), we and no one should not suffer under the name of progress. Man made problems can be resolved. It is with the will and determination in us to all bind our hands together to find a solution to it.

For the 179 FWs affected, I really hope they are given a fair treatment. They are afterall our fellow earth brothers and sisters. Some of us may not like FWs or FTs and blame them for the sufferings of our very own fellow Singaporeans, they (this group) and others yet to surface are having a hard time surviving as well. They too have their families back home to support as well. I only hope the relevant authority will step in proactively and do something good. While you are at it, do also think of your fellow suffering Singaporeans. All they are asking for is a peaceful decent living, a roof over their head and have some quality time to spend with their families. If our older generations can go through the transformation 40 some years ago, I am sure we can do it again if you do it with conscience and with the citizens at heart. Search within you, there is still some good inside you dying to be set free. Bless you all and may we end 2008 with a good note. 2009 is not rosy but we all can weather it togethre gracefully if you leaders set a good example. Quality and happy living is not all about wealth.

Observer(SG-HK)
Dec 18, 2008 22:11

mistakes! mistakes! when you get emotional typing along.

the following should read “…world leaders will wake up and come to their senses and have the drive to save our one and only home EARTH.” instead of …”same…”. and “…we and no one should suffer under the name of progress.” instead of “…we and no one should not suffer under the name of progress.”

My sincere apology.

moshedyan
Dec 19, 2008 0:36

for this ^poor^ workers
the ministry of manpower
have the ability to solve the issues
is whether
they (MOM really wants to or not)
hawkers centres are in dire straits of table cleaners
i am sured every hawkers centre can take a couple of this ^lads^
for a decent meals in return and a basic lowest wages as makeup pay
you tell me
which hawkers would not provide a plate of leftover dish for this lads?
even if 1 hawker donate $1 single dollars each
in 1 day how much money they have earned?
so what is so difficult?
if the ministry of manpower lacked the foresight/ability to implement such an idea
lets YOURs truly do it
for a FEE
for nothing is FREE

gemami
Dec 19, 2008 8:10

Hi Patriot and Observer,

I believe this has everything to do with the world economies going global. The global economy concept, although a good initiative, especially for resource scarce Singapore which happened to be tiny as well, and for which it puts us on a level playing field to compete with bigger economies, has blinded us into a one-track approach to survival.

It has become the sole purpose for this govt to find it wise to place all our eggs into this global economy concept and basket. The difference here is that, should this concept fail, as it is being seen and felt worldwide now, we have nothing to fall back on unlike the bigger, land rich and natural resource rich countries who can fall back on these productions to see them through.

Singapore is as doomed the moment the global concept fails. It is very irresponsible of this government to do what they are doing and continuing to pursue this end without any regard for the only resource we have – us – the people.

Patriot & Observer, I understand exactly how you guys feel when you suggested the extreme hope of misfortune or calamity befalling us. As patriots and lover of the land we call home, and no matter how disillusioned we have become, it is best not to express such thoughts in public spaces. These thoughts are best kept within the walls of private discussions. I have the highest regards for both of you and it is quite sad to hear these words coming from both of you. I feel I need to express myself here, hope you understand.

IMHO, I feel we do not need to look at extremes and hope for an overnight change. This is unreal and wishful thinking.

We can however, work towards gradual change. We can, in our own personal way, commit ourselves to spreading the lies of this government and making the people around us see these lies and how we have been cheated from God knows when.

When all of us start doing this and make the extra effort to proselytize and convert people’s belief, in time we should be able to effect some changes in bringing in more alternative voices into parliament. Remember how we were treated better after we voted in 4 opposition MPs? This ought to be our aim for the short term. We cannot even think long term for now.

Gilbert Goh
Dec 19, 2008 8:28

Hi All My friends,

Things may not look so bad afterall.

I am sure the labour law may improve hopefully with the current crisis looming over us. For a start, FWs will decrease due to the deepening crisis.

For minimum wage implementation, this won’t happen at least not under the current regime – sad to say. For reasons best known to them, they choose not to do so as employers may fled (remember the story?). Our locals will continue to be screwed here and I foresee more young people fleeing the country to stay elsewhere in future.

We may see a very bad year come 2009. Many workers, both white and blue collared, will be jobless. As mentioned before, retraining can only benefit the blue collared workers more. The professional jobless will feel very left out and demoralised. I am sure there will be some vote swing going on here.

I last remembered I had a change in my mind about which party I want to serve when I was jobless and feeling helpless, more so when the state has nothing much going for me then. When I went down to the CDC, they refered me a part time cleaner job that pays $300 a month! I have to drop by for an interview also to qualify for the job.

As the economy worsens, there will be more people getting demoralised and disheartened. Hopefully, this will bring about change at the polls and affects politics at he the high places. There is no other way for change I am afriad.

Observer (SG-HK)
Dec 19, 2008 9:45

Dear gemami,

Thank you for the kind reminder and thank you for holding highest regards for both of us. Appreciate it. My sincere apology to readers here for those negative views. Please disregard it. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Observer (SG-HK)

gemami
Dec 19, 2008 10:19

Dear Observer (SK-HK),

Very kind of you for understanding.

I am one who is always on the lookout for your posts especially, as they never fail to teach me a thing or two (I have said this before). I know also that sometimes emotions can get the better of us (see post #85), but we must at all times fight back the urged to wish evil (I am guilty too sometimes), even on enemies, let alone families and friends.

Thank you for apologizing. You have shown you are wise, once again.

Malaysia has given up on Bangladeshis sometime back.
Dec 19, 2008 23:07

Rather pitiful, but send them home as soon as possible.

Once I had a Bangladeshi cleaning my office. He was a strong looking chap. But turned out to be slow and lazy. After two other Bangladeshis the contractor gave up hiring Bangladeshis. He hired a small-looking lady who got the job done much faster and without fuss.

This is the experience of Malaysia. Malaysia has since banned Bangladeshi workers sometime back. We welcome foreign workers who can contribute but judging by the Malaysian experience we should be very careful and not be taken in.

http://www.monstersandcritics.com/news/southasia/news/article_1362274.php/Malaysia_re-imposes_ban_on_hiring_of_Bangladesh_nationals

patriot
Dec 20, 2008 1:17

Dear gemami Post#87;

I will have to say that I feel better after having said that damning statement, at least it allows me to relief myself of a mad feeling. Maybe I just feel that the Ten Commandments, the Great Flood(Noah’s Ark) and the Recent Sichuan(China) Earthquake were events that resulted in awakening and rekindling mankinds’ conscience. I cannot help believing it to be so.

When the majority is powerless against a powerful few and tried very hard to plead with the Latter to no avail, Nature has to give a helping hand. I know some of us have been doing our utmost, we reason, we plead and even begged for understandings from our leaders, some even suffered gravely been made bankrupt and character assasinated. But, we see that not only our wishes and hopes fell on deaf ears, livings and survivals are made more challenging as time progresses. The worst and most shameless deeds of our leaders were the ways they self awarded their World Record remunerations in contrast to the stagnant and falling incomes of their subjects on top of constant raising of the costs of livings. Structural unemployment has plagued us for over a decade since the 1997 Asian Financial Meltdown, one man was credited to have brought us out of that doldrum, did he? Just the opposite is what I see, don’t You?

Without the Internet, I would have ceased participating in any discourse for I would have thrown in my towel and raised up both my arms. However Blogs like TOC and people like You and others here re-ignited my hope. HOWEVER, I SEE NO CHANGE IN OUR LEADERS’ IDEOLOGY AND IT APPEARS THAT THEY WANT ABSOLUTE CONTROL OVER THE PEOPLE NOW.

My sincere apology to all for this personal rant.

Yourstruly: patriot

pain no gain
Dec 20, 2008 3:38

i foresee a riot or protest on the streets by these FT in the near future…when push come to shove…

Where $$$ is concerned and when people start to get desperate…anything is possible.

Andrew Chuah
Dec 20, 2008 17:47

20/12/08

Dear Gilbert
Yes, I piety them and it is time for our Singapore government to get tough and bring their employer to court so that in future this will not happen again.

Regards
Andrew Chuah

gemami
Dec 22, 2008 14:05

Dear Patriot #92),

You’re absolutely correct that these people who call themselves leaders cannot contiunue to have the best of both worlds. When things go well, the take credit and reward themselves. When things go wrong, the citizens get the blame and they ask for rewards to see us through, even before they lift their first finger to show us they can do the job. Either way, their pockets are fattened.

What has our country, our beloved homeland become?
What I cannot understand is why do we continue to live helplessly when we know we have the power to bring about change?
Why have we become the cowards that we are, and are now so famous for, not only here in our backyards but all over the world?
When will we realise that we are the laughing stock of the world?
When do we want to decide that we have to get out of our bondage?
Why are we so happy to continue to embrace our captivity, our slavery?

I am honoured, very honoured that my contributions have given you the stength to strive on. For a while back then, I thought you had lost your drive to fight. I am glad that your spirit has been rekindled and I hope to learn much from you.

Yours truly indeed,
Gemami

patriot
Dec 22, 2008 19:38

Dear gemami;

thank You much for the encouragement.

TOC and all the people here and many at other sites have given me much opportunity to learn, to interact and draw some consolations.

Thank You all !!!

PG
Dec 17, 2009 12:51

Well what do you want , when I hear one of your ministers say he does not care about being re-elected ( what a laugh , no opposition allowed) only about GDP . This shows he is like the rest of the corrupt and incompetent world financial/industrial system members , and this will onl;y change and improve when the current leaders are replaced or climate change destroys large portions of the planet .
The government in Singapore want cheap labour and low salaries to stay competetive , maybe the west should look at Singapore and apply import taxes on it for unfair competition .

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook