To be fair, Singapores system works, the people are happy and the Merlion spits its water every day since then, what do you want more?
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Hey, it’s all true. *chuckles*
Hi Smoking Angmo,
Do you not see the problem? We do not want any more than that which you have mentioned. It is this stupid govt that wants much more than these and because of their greed, we are being made to be as greedy as them just to survive.
How not to get angry and demand a stop to all these when you know that one day this same Merlion is going to spit salivas that come from China, India and from any of those forsaken places that these FW hail from?
Where did this quote come from and who are the people is he referring to?
His own kind? Who is he to speak on everyone’s behalf???
It would be better if we could know where the source of such quotes are from.
where else? your common sense will tell you where this person (might not neccessarily be a real angmo) is coming from, right? just another one of those who is being planted everywhere in our country by who we all know what!
guess what, im a real ang mo :) And the Quote above, is unfortunately a bit out of context, ripped from the whole post…it starts with “be carefull, sarcasm”… read it here and then think about your comment again:
http://www.angryangmo.com/2008/12/15/what-you-definately-should-not-bring-to-singapore/
To be fair, Singapores system works, the people are happy and the Merlion spits its water every day since then, what do you want more?
the Merlion is going to vomit blood soon from the way our economy is being managed, everything is going hay wire and the only thing our $million elites do is blame it on the world crisis, its not our fault. . . see how simple it is to push away their responsiblities and best of all, their $millions keep flowing non-stop!
oops! sorry this is real one leh! but, don’t really understand much here but what is he doing here? promoting tourism for singapore?
Angry Angmo writes:
Singapores (one) party system, namely the PAP, is the ruling body of the island since its first elections under the “self-government” in 1959. Dont expect criticism in the daily media, dont expect loud complaints in Singapores Speakers Corner, dont expect demonstrations of any kind or anything that might lead the publics attention towards that nasty thing called “opposition”.
Your article was written as an advisory to the world traveller to Singapore. This is even more offensive than I had first imagined. The underlying tone of sarcasism adds to the fact that your intention was to deride the people of Singapore for being timid and obedient to the point of not being able to decide what is best (according to your notion) for ourselves. There is nothing light-hearted about what you have written, if that is what you had intended to present. What do you hope your audience, the traveller, would gain from your writing?
Your concluding attempt to paint the people of Singapore as a happy lot based on what you have described is the final nail you drove into the coffin. Can you qualify yourself to speak for us based on this simplistic notion in your head? I suggest you stick around here in TOC to get the education I feel you need before you attempt any sort of writing on this topic ever again.
No one dare to organise mass protests in the streets, few dare to become opposition party members, so every thing looks peaceful and prosperous lah and PAP will still be in power and with it million $ pay.
What to do, it has happened, unless we make it don’t happen. Can we, as timid folks who can only whine on the net??
Keep on scolding, complaining and whining lah, makes no difference to the PAP at all but more suffering for you folks.
Actually as a Singaporean, I get disheartened that there are so many disgruntled fellow Singaporeans. Fact is, I may never understand their position where the discontentment or dissatisfaction arose.
I was lamenting to a friend about how some of us can complain about the littlest inconvenience or sweat the smallest stuff, and then, blame it on the government as though it is the source of all evils. Then a friend commented that, looking on the bright side, it’s better that the people are making petty complaints, rather than major complaints like civil wars, high crime rates, famine or natural disasters etc…
All is well. I can live with the little glitches and petty complaints too.
AngryAngmo,
answer this :
1.how much is the total loss?
2.how much are invested in toxic products?
3. why cannot disclose?
i think like this is more than u can handle liao.
there are many types of angry angmo , which type is yours? German? Swiss? French? Irish? Americano? Latino?
gemami,
AngryAngmo’s work is only a satire to Singapore’s political situation. It should not be taken seriously. It is actually quite funny reading the entire article. LOL.
Then a friend commented that, looking on the bright side, it’s better that the people are making petty complaints, rather than major complaints like civil wars, high crime rates, famine or natural disasters etc… – spfl (#10)
You are funny. Do you know Singapore has a far higher crime rate than Malaysia (according to statistics published by the UN Office on Crime an Drug? In 1997, Singapore’s crime rate was 1833 per 100,000 population compared to 694 per 100,000 population in Malaysia. I am not sure where Singaporeans derive their sense of security, perhaps mainstream media bah, not common sense.
Hi smallvice, maybe we don’t need to compare to other countries la. Common sense-wise… I think we generally feel safe on our streets? No offense, but to use a 1997 figure to illustrate the point…? hmmm…
Of cuz, low crime doesn’t mean no crime, but that’s not what we’re saying here yah.
Someday the merlion will spit out the blood which the bloody suckers sucked.
Everything in SG is a facade.
What the media/gov paint to us is exactly the opposite.
Some can read beyond the lines, others don’t.
People may choose to dismiss facts as complains, it’s up to them to accept.
Don’t regret when you found out the true colours of your men-in-white later,
till then it will be too late to cry.
It’s true that sometimes our glitteriness hides a lot of things, even from our own people.
I’ve had a well-travelled friend who comments that compared to the least developed countries, we are way better. I guess he meant that like in Bangkok, you can find a beggar at just about every overhead bridge.
He also pointed out that if we are really doing that badly, then how come people can change cars every other year? Why are there new cars on the roads all the time?
(of course, since he spends more time overseas, so perhaps he hasn’t seen singapore too much these years other than commuting from home to work)
I asked him to take a walk down arab street. Recently i went zam zam for dinner, and it was the first time i have seen people begging along the street.
I asked him if he knew that 500,000 people in Singapore are earning 1.2k or less.
I think it’s time we stop dismissing ourselves as a nation of complainers (even though yeah, we do complain a lot) and see that there are some issues of genuine concerns that need to be addressed.
To people like Spfl, I have this to say-
I am generally glad that I could still afford many of the things here despite the rising cost. I’m not complaining for things to be easier for me (and I’m sure a lot of us here share this view). But if you are able to look beyond your own comfort zone, you can see that while some of us suffer less, or even benefited from the system, there are many who didn’t.
It is about making life fairer for everybody else.
I think we generally feel safe on our streets? No offense, but to use a 1997 figure to illustrate the point…? hmmm… – spfl (#14)
To show that many Singaporeans have been dumb and oblivion to common sense for at least 10 years.
I agree with u zefly. I guess we tend to generalize and pass judgement on the other party based on our very short 300 words comments. I do not live in a glass mansion and I am very much in the social service sector & keenly aware of its challenges, issues and shortcomings.
I think we’re on the same page and it’s more important to put action to our words.
The ability to understand satire and sarcasm seems lost.
Oh well.
Spfl,
Yeah, know what you mean. Some of us see the glass half full. Others see it half empty. But most important is, we all want the glass to be as full as it can be.
Putting action into words.. hmmm… sometimes i wonder, what’s the point of writing so many comments. What’s the point of rebuking people who make condescending remarks or who are obviously discriminatory?
then gradually as I begin to write more and more, I find that my own ability to think critically, to look at both sides of the story, to work my brains that much harder to debate on logic rather than name-calling, to also empathize which where the disagree-ing party is coming from… i find that by participating in this kind of democracy, limited as it is now, we are actually contributing to something.
They say we can’t have real democracy because society will descend into arnachy, because people will always react emotionally rather than using their brains. We at TOC are demonstrating that it is possible.
So keep writing. I can’t promise you that if your views differ you won’t be mocked, but be assured that there are many others who will respect you and debate in a civilized manner, if of course, you extend the same respect.
No action is too little. Even putting them into words is a contribution. A thought unspoken is the real waste.
/// 16) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on December 15th, 2008 5.51 pm
It’s true that sometimes our glitteriness hides a lot of things, even from our own people. ///
What is glitteriness?
Like litteriness?
No action is too little. Even putting them into words is a contribution. A thought unspoken is the real waste.
This is one good thing I discovered since coming online to chit-chat. By opening up our thoughts and exposing our inner beings to the online community, we are essentially inviting one of/or two things, love and/or hatred. The ability to accept this and the various comments, whether in support or in opposition to our thoughts, is the most beautiful thing I have discovered about myself.
It makes one wiser (I hope) as can be seen in Joshua’s comment above that emanates nothing but wisdom. Talk is cheap, some who prefers action would say, but keeping silent is worse that being cheap.
Thanks also to smallvice585 for the advice. I’ll try to re-read the article again and keep a smile on my face while doing so. :)
I always wonder why foreigners find SIngapore so appealing.
Some of my foreigner friends say that SIngapore is like a paradise where there is almost first world service from both govt and people.
In fact, many tens of thousands of foreigners want to come to Singapore for our first class economy and superb infrastructure. Our safety factor is also one of the other main factor.
But, why are Singaporeans not thinking on the same wave length as our foreigners here? Are they seeing the same place as we do? Do they have another part of eyes?
In fact, every years, a few thousand Singaporeans left the country either for work or study. Many refuse to return to their own home land whereas other foreigners keep wanting to hang in our country as they begin to get PR and citizenship.
As we know, a large proportion of our PRs/permit workers are from India, China and other Asian countries. We should know by now that compared to their own countries, Singapore seems like a paradise. We have a good stable govt, sound economy and friendly people. That could not be the same for theirs’. So it is pretty clear that Singapore is like a magnet for people of these third world countries.
However, for those locals who are breed and live in Singapore, it is pretty obvious too that we are all suffering. We have a poor human rights record, not much freedom of speech and a tough govt that seems to dominate all matters regarding governance. It may work for our forefathers who only care for three meals and the table and a roof over their head.
The post 65ers probably wanted more than economics and stability. We wanted participation and respect from people in governance.
To be fair to this angry angmoh, I don’t think he was writing some kinda socio-political commentary, I am sure whatever he wrote was purely anecdotal based on his superficial angmoh experience of a foreign country. And I don’t t hink he was expecting to have his blog post singled out and posted on this site and elicit our response.
Expats will always be foreigners, they have the luxury of enjoying a country’s benefits while keeping a distance from the actual going-ons, because their expat stint is not unlike an extended work-holiday.
Just as Singaporean expats in foreign countries are similar.