Sunday, December 21, 2008 22:28

In between the silence

In Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story • 2,229 views • 31 Comments

KJ

Can there be real transparency and accountability in an authoritarian one-party state?

In popular banter, in coffeeshops, during taxi-rides, Singapore is often likened to a dynasty, a fiefdom, a monarchy. The benevolent emperor is aging, and the crown prince has ascended the throne. The new king of Singapore Inc., the sovereign and his wealth funds, the powerful little kingdom, its imperium across the continents. These are compelling images, revealing the people’s underlying pride and patriotism. They also reflect conventional sentiments of high office in absolute power. While people may partake in these jokes, their laughter nevertheless stem from a niggling discomfort, that this might indeed be a reality for them. The unease of the powerless. When the laughter dies down, there is always a furtive silence.

When the town councils’ investment losses came to light, there was a preceding silence, only broken three weeks later in parliament, broken by a question. Then the widespread unhappiness, and the queries raged. The fires fought by the foot soldiers – tarrying back and forth to douse and shield – only served to further spread the flames. The leaders stepped aback. They referred the residents to the town councils, the town councils deferred to the government, in between, the silence, and the people were left wondering where the leadership was.. It was a surreal time to be in Singapore, this hollowed, depoliticised bureaucracy, cruising on autopilot, gliding on invisible leadership.

Grace Fu was right. Our responses were knee-jerk reactions. The town councils are at no risk of going bust, and really, residents have not lost much money. The investment lessons to be learnt in this episode are not just one for the town councils, but for the financial world at large. Singapore, its institutions, and its people have merely, like the rest of the world, been sucked into this frenzied paradigm of greed. And in the coming time, the town councils will be more transparent, their charges delayed or not increased, more frequent maintenance and upgrading works, and it all will pass.

What will not pass, however, is the root of these anger that will find places to flourish no matter what. It is not about the town councils. It is about that goliath of an arrogance that the government has come to exemplify. Hence, each mis-step, mistake, or gaffe from them will invariably proliferate into a garden of dissatisfaction.

It is that classic affective divide again, recurring, widening, ever dividing. Except that since Catherine Lim’s public affair with the State, there have been fourteen more years of increasing contempt, conceit, and swagger of the leaders and their millionaire mandarins. Proceeding in tandem was a different world, a world that had been slowly transforming the Singaporean consciousness. The state propaganda machinery was continually unmasked and under siege. That great affective divide had ruptured into a colossal chasm: the Wee Shu Min affair with another Singaporean serf, the NKF and its peanuts, Yawning Bread and that photograph, the fixing of the opposition, Mr Brown’s rendezvous with Ms Bhavani, bak chor mee and PM Lee’s mee siam, Mas Selamat and our complacency, the rising costs of rising costs, the huge government salaries and their huge investment losses, all sprung from the fount of burgeoning hubris, further germinated by the Internet’s wind, hyperlinks, and solidarity.

Little Davids were incessantly whipped, stripped and paraded around in the public square, and the growing Sunday crowd was beginning to tire and feel uneasy. They wondered who would be called up next.

But this hubris is merely taking Singapore’s system of government to its logical conclusion. Total power is arrogant; it is corruptible, and it is begrudged too. The knee-jerk resentments are but symptoms of desperation: life savings, lives, and futures are at stake, in the hands of a government that is appearing not to be as sterling as they say. Or have we only now begun to see?

Hence the desperate calls for transparency, we do not want to be kept in the dark. But it will not come by itself. Hence the empty calls for a stronger opposition. But it will not allow one. Hence the feeble yells to liberalise. Give and take, a little tango, and it is still back to No, No, and No.

When the individuals lost their life-savings, there were desperate calls for help. It was a cudgel that the leaders should have taken up. Instead, they were chastised by Lee Kuan Yew that they had invested with their open eyes, so they had only themselves to blame. When the town council’s losses were exposed, presumably the bright ones had also invested with their bright eyes. But those were public coffers, and so the public roared.

Hence this wringing anger. The government cannot be, and the present system cannot hold. Life savings, lives, and futures are at stake. The people are losing sight of their savings, the government its duty; it is losing their money, and the people are on the losing side, corralled on an island, and nowhere to go.

It was predictable that Khaw Boon Wan stepped in. He is an earnest man, his devotion to his religion appeals to the public, and he speaks with empathy. People’s anger are soothed somewhat. He can say that the town councils have absolute transparency, that there are no secrets, and still be credulous.

But complete openness, transparency, and accountability in the present Singapore are a contradiction, an impossibility and a false hope. These are hallmarks of a functioning democracy. They seldom accompany a king, God’s regent upon earth, governing by divine right. If change can only come from the ruling party, and that any countervailing opposition would be crushed, as PM Lee had intimated, illuminating his totalitarian impulses, how can those qualities prevail, how can this kingdom hold?

In Singapore, when they tell you there are no secrets, it might just be true. Secrets are contained in whispers, they thrive on rumours. But in Singapore, there is only silence, self-silence, enforced silence, the silenced all, killers of secrets. As long as you do not say a word or question too hard. . . Occasionally, there would be the averted eyes, hidden thoughts, and the willed amnesia. There would be the always present fear. But there are no secrets. The secret police take care of that. So the emperor’s new clothes can be admired in all its nakedness. They are transparent enough, they cannot be anymore transparent. Anymore, and the emperor would be no more.

The people’s question is hanging still. It is an old question, a perennial, a Roman one: In Absolute Singapore, who can guard the king and guardians? The emperor? How can this kingdom hold? Expectedly, the silence is cutting out in the deafening air, this furtive silence, the silenced, and all the silenced disquiet, silent testaments to that always present fear, raising this curious transparent glass of silence, waiting, yet to be broken by their king.

———

Headline picture from Straits Times’ report.

——–

*** See related posts

1. That baffling reply – and the opposition’s silence
  2. When silence is not golden
  3. Zen and the art of maintaining silence
  4. TOC Editorial: Media’s silence on Yong Vui Kong a national shame
  5. End efforts to silence opposition – HRW

31 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

eiro
Dec 21, 2008 23:14

“power itself is servile when it depends upon public opinions; for you are dependent on the prejudices of others when you rule them by means of those prejudices. to lead them as you will, you must lead as they will,” so said jean jacques rousseau; “they only have to change their way of thinking and you are forced to change your course of action.” our government’s show of knee-jerk reactions.

singaporedaddy
Dec 21, 2008 23:38

“Can there be real transparency and accountability in an authoritarian one-party state?”

Errr, isn’t that a bit like saying, if you appoint Count Dracula as the CEO of the National blood bank, then everything will just come out smelling like roses?

Very insightful write up.

SD

moshedyan
Dec 21, 2008 23:40

the tzar were onced powerful emperor of russia
he think he too is invincible untouchable
he bullied his peasants
(which is why i often terms us poor singaporeans as 1 as well)
if i were in that tzar era
i would had a great holiday in gulag siberia
become a great woodlogger cum carpenter
the day will come
when its crumble
even marcos didn’t expect that too
he believed he
owned the miltary
the police
and his owned provincial supporters
the last person who played him out
is none other than his owned cousin
a kinsman
a general
who changed sides
finally
for the people
by the people
suharto too as well
not forgetting
polpot
until the 66% reliased there is no gold by the end of the rainbow
but we are the gold fillers
the day will come

Zeitgeist
Dec 21, 2008 23:55

The question or worry now is no longer about who is running the shop but how much is left in the kitty?

Tan Tian Hock
Dec 22, 2008 0:06

Kudos to KJ!
Bravo!
What a beautifully written article.
I am not worthy :)

The People need talents like you to help us voice up.

If you step forward, I am your supporter. Rain or shine.

Zeitgeist
Dec 22, 2008 0:13

[Quote] It was predictable that Khaw Boon Wan stepped in. He is an earnest man, his devotion to his religion appeals to the public, and he speaks with empathy. People’s anger are soothed somewhat. He can say that the town councils have absolute transparency, that there are no secrets, and still be credulous. [Quote]

People believe the words of a man whose name rhymes with Khaw Png Wgah?

Lee Bee Si
Dec 22, 2008 0:14

I expected khaw to appear on the news to ’speak’ to the people about TC investment.
But he has a commonality.
And that is all that matters to me.
My concerns still stand.

patriot
Dec 22, 2008 0:18

Pack mentality is similar to group think.

patriot

SZ
Dec 22, 2008 0:20

the power is given by the people, and sometimes it is their right to execute it?

YODI
Dec 22, 2008 2:11

The world knows that singapore is run by the father the son and the holy goh and not forgetting the sons wife. in time to come will we see the sons son and the continunity of the Lee dynasty. Time will tell whether the country can only be run by someone whose name has to start with the name Lee??

The sheer arrogance of the PAP is always revealed. Their ministers seem to use threats to stem the public from the reality of the truth. But in the end hopefully singaporeans will not wait long till we realise that singapore is run by the rich just like america has finally realised hopefully not too late.

Let us all look forward to a new singapore in the not too distant future and the leader with a name other than LEE!

Cavalierio
Dec 22, 2008 4:23

# 5 – thanks Tian Hock, no one’s unworthy, and shldn’t be made so.

There’re various ways to step forward, from holding the pen to wielding the sword. There’re many brave ones who’ve gone before and are still. Follow them too.

# 4 – Zeitgeist: I think your two questions are intertwined and should remain together. More powderful :)

aiyoyo
Dec 22, 2008 7:13

aiyoyo

today CNA news say 2009 ‘very dark’, how?

is ELITEs come up with solutions to economy tsunami?

commoners how to tide over upcoming dark years huh?

ELITEs sinking funds investment (make loss, reply many ‘reasons’ etc.)
hear ppl say got some more investments also (not sure got make $ or not leh?)
got make $, got share share with commoners huh?
seems prices still sky high in this country leh.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_world_business/view/397819/1/.html

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific_business/view/397826/1/.html

aiyoyo

aiyoyo
Dec 22, 2008 7:25

aiyoyo

dark years ahead how huh?

ELITEs got good solutions for commoners huh?
how huh if become reality (dark year)?

CNA today says
[International finance leaders see "very dark" year ahead]
[World faces "total" financial meltdown, says Bank of Spain chief]

aiyoyo

Zeitgeist
Dec 22, 2008 9:27

More citizens should drop in on this website. Young or old. The only forum where
one will find intelligent posts 90% of the time!

I have a suggestion for TOC. Print and sell T-shirts to fund the maintenance of the site with TOC emblazoned front and back as well as it’s URL.

The only problem I can foresee will be payment and delivery issues!

Payment issues most likely with wu lioa cheapskates!

Delivery issues will be with kiah see and leh chay Singanoballeons!

But I’m sure TOC will work around it!

Tell me when and where. I’m ordering two!

tiredsingaporean
Dec 22, 2008 9:31

10) YODI on December 22nd, 2008 2.11 am The world knows that singapore is run by the father the son and the holy goh and not forgetting the sons wife. in time to come will we see the sons son and the continunity of the Lee dynasty. Time will tell whether the country can only be run by someone whose name has to start with the name Lee??

Their times are up soon, so long as the master is gone, the problem will erupt from within the party and that will be down the history of singapore. The different here is whether one wish to have a good name or a bad name down history when one is gone, what is money, what is power? absolutely nothing when one is gone . . . .

Ex-Secret
Dec 22, 2008 9:43

Since KBW uses the secret society as analogy and comparison, let’s follow this line of thoughts.
From the great K-gang, to the gangster depicted in various Hollywood, HK and local movies: Even in secret society, there is transparency among its top leaders. They know where, who, how and when to rob, kill or create havoc. So there is total transparency. But with its runners and public? total secrecy.

Who grow in wealth and who suffer?

U have the answers.

Sunshine
Dec 22, 2008 9:43

a beautifully written piece. it is an age old challenge about the quest for power and riches, the rulers and the ruled.

Zeitgeist
Dec 22, 2008 9:53

The Secret Society analogy is apt! How does a gangster chief ensure his retention of legitimacy and hegemony? By keeping his lieutenants well fed and happy, that’s how! All these well documented by law enforcement entities all over the world. Look around you!

gemami
Dec 22, 2008 10:19

today CNA news say 2009 ‘very dark’, how?
is ELITEs come up with solutions to economy tsunami?

You’re right. We’ve been hearing what the immediate, not too immediate and future holds but has anyone heard what are the proposed solutions to tackle these situations especially the long term ones?

Does it mean that getting more people to enlist with the various armed forces would solve the problem? Is this what they mean by job-creation? More like giving the people no choice, and taking advantage of the situation to increase the manpower of the SAF, an institution that most would avoid under normal circumctances.

Everywhere you turn, you can see the SAF, Police, Navy and Air Force booths tempting you to sign up with them because they provide a stable carreer path very much immuned to the economical climate, whether locally or internationally.

Where is the transparency to lay down the action plans to help our economy recover? Transparent enough only for the eyes of million dollar public servants?

I think TOC readers have contributed and made much more proposals than those we have heard thus far from the govt. We have been more than transparent in playing our roles as active citizens helping the govt to find solutions. Why can’t our transparency meet their transparency?

Is it because we are looking at two different types of tranparency? Transparencies must be placed onto the overhead-projector for all to see the written words, if not, it is as good as just a useless piece of plastic.

Dan
Dec 22, 2008 10:26

The psuedo politicians who were parachuted into politics have a lot to learn. Even the very odd old guard who used to pander to the broadly uneducated citizens after independence have forgotten the simple formula that voters are their main customers. When the peasants can even sense the widening gulf between ruling party n voters, then those with “helicopter vision ” will eventually crash very badly if they keep looking up.

tiredsingaporean
Dec 22, 2008 10:32

They are already in their crashing stage and will do whatever things to salvage their standing. But too bad, the more they try to play hide n seek with the singaporeans, the faster they will crash down. Reason is simple, how many of these elites are qualified people other than those self-claimed elites who are being paid to do the master’s plan.

Curious
Dec 22, 2008 13:31

tiredsingaporean -”They are already in their crashing stage and will do whatever things to salvage their standing.”

The prediction for 2009 is even worst. In the USA there are six scenarios that could tip the economy into in a deep recession or an economic depression :

1 The coming larger Alt-A mortgage crash as the rates are reset in 2009
2 The coming auto loan failure
3 The coming credit card default (US$40 billion)
4 The coming commercial mortgages crash.
5 The coming US$55 trillion credit default swaps (CDS) meltdown
6 The coming unraveling of the global US$500 TRILLION derivatives.

All the above above will send shock waves around the world like a Tsunami and remember before a Tsunami hits, the water will recedes and then rebounds.

There is an old saying that when the tide is low it will expose all the naked bodies. So there will be no place to hide when the sh*t hits the fan in 2009.

gemami
Dec 22, 2008 13:40

WOW!!! Curious,

Thanks for the six scenarios. I knew it was bad but you have helped make me see the extend of it in its proper perspective. We ought to be shivering man!

So what now? Any good advice to go along with it? Anyone?

Curious
Dec 22, 2008 14:42

gemami -”So what now? Any good advice to go along with it?”

I am not expert nor an investment adviser. Common sense dictates that those with jobs work harder to stay put, if not have an exit strategy and find another now.

In the 1930s Great Depression about 25% of the workers in America lost their jobs. About 9000 banks went bust. In a deflation cash is king ! In a hyper-inflation gold is king !

The other thing I would do is to live within my means. Lower or get rid of my debts now because when deflation hits, my debts will still be there and magnified but the assets that I hold and lean against those debt will face a meltdown in price.

If more US dollars are printed it will lose its value greatly and this will affect all currencies around the world. To protect their wealth investors are buying gold and gold coins are now hard to find. Be careful of dead cat bounce in the stock market as it does not necessarily signal a recovery next year. About US$30 Trillions have evaporated in the current meltdown around the world. This is deflationary but when they start printing desperately more dollars in the USA it will be inflationary !

Then most important of all pray hard it will not be another Great Depression !!!

gemami
Dec 22, 2008 15:15

Hi Curious,

Thanks for tips.

Job wise, I think I am in a rather good position to keep my job because I think healthcare is one of the stronger industry amid the gloom. I hope I guess correct though.

I have heard also that the common advise is ‘ca$h is king’ and indeed we have to be more prudent with our spendings and to do so under an absolutely necessary condition.

Debt wise, the only debt is my HDB mortgage loan which is taken care of by my CPF and full payment is almost complete. So no issue here. Lucky me, I have no other debt issues.

Now, let’s say the unthinkable happens and I am out of my job, how long am I looking at before the recovery is good enough for market forces to pick up? The govt have not said it loud enough how long this recovery will take.They have only been touching on the impact of the downturn in short measures and not looking any futher that 2009.

Are we been misled into being too hopeful, even when they caution that this downturn is bad? They way I look at it, I don’t think it will recover anytime within the next 3 years? And I am only looking at part recovery because it is also a known fact that full recovery is wishful thinking at best.

Why aren’t they telling the truth the way you have told it? This will better prepare us to face the eventualities when they come.

Curious
Dec 22, 2008 19:20

gemami -”I have heard also that the common advise is ‘ca$h is king’..”

Cash is king only if there is deflation. In hyper-inflation gold is king as cash may become less desired. It may not happen in Singapore but it did in Zimbabwe,
where the hyper-inflation has destroyed their currency.

If one bought gold in Zimbabwe and hid them from the govt then one is safe. If one has a billion of old Zim dollar in cash today one may only have enough cash to buy a small pack of cigarettes !!

Zimbabwe has just printed its 100 Billion dollar note this week.

“Now, let’s say the unthinkable happens and I am out of my job, how long am I looking at before the recovery is good enough for market forces to pick up?”

No one knows. The 1930 Great Depression lasted 10 years till the out-break of ww2. In the 1990 stock meltdown in Japan, there was a rolling recession for close to 14 years. Some analysts opined that the current meltdown could last till 2104 or 2105. But don’t take this as gospel, as no one can see the future.

“Why aren’t they telling the truth the way you have told it?”

Most, if not all govts, like all of us, do not know what will be the exact scenario.
And no govt on earth can prevent a meltdown from taking place as 30 trillions have evaporated. No one knows when the next shoe will drop. We can make guesses only and take personal actions to protect ourselves and our families in the event the current crash turns into the Great Depression II. Hope not !

YODI
Dec 22, 2008 22:04

Day in day out we keep hearing that times are going to get worse and everyone has to be prepared for the worst.

I wonder then how come our leaders are still payed the big bucks!! Not to long ago the papers reported that our President is payed something like $ 3 million and so is some of our PM and others ministers. So at times like this should they still be payed the same amount??

You can bet your last dollar that when times improve thier pay will surely be increased further!! So please tell me the logic behing this rationale about the ministers pay? What justifies that our President be payed so much and so goes for all the other mnisters . The people have to tighten thier belts so that they can keep thier pays and be payed even more later? Someting is wrong somewhere with this system in singapore. PLEASE ENLIGHTEN ME , PLEASE!

The president of America and other countries dont even get half of what our so called ministers get. So if that is the case our ministers should be employed by all these other countries to help them get out of this financial situation. We should be sending our ministers to all these countries who need help cos we are supposed to have the best!

YODI
Dec 22, 2008 22:15

It ’s about time that we start out sourceing ministers. It will be definitely much cheaper. Who knows we could probably get 5 highly better men for the price we pay for one minister!

We out source for people in other fields , perhaps its time to outsource for our government as well. Its an idea that we should seriously think about. Think about how much money we could save from our government and tax payers wage bill??

So the time has come for us to start outsourcing for our government personnel. Definitley they will be much cheaper and I think better qualified when compared to the present crop of ministers who don’t walk the talk but just plain talk and talk utter rubbish!

mars
Dec 22, 2008 23:39

Quote “It was predictable that Khaw Boon Wan stepped in. He is an earnest man, his devotion to his religion appeals to the public, and he speaks with empathy. People’s anger are soothed somewhat. He can say that the town councils have absolute transparency, that there are no secrets, and still be credulous.”

Remember Bernard Mardoff? Trust him blindly because of his reputation?

gemami
Dec 23, 2008 10:27

#26) Curious,

More like I am the curious one. Thanks indeed for the sharing. It really is an eye-opener for me and I think more Singaporeans ought to know the extent of the impact we are going to face for goodness how long.

I have just written this word and placed it in front of my desk: “Prudence!”. This will be my motto from now on.

Thanks.

Curious
Dec 23, 2008 10:50

gemami -”I have just written this word and placed it in front of my desk: “Prudence!”

That is a good motto to have. For those who wish to follow the financial saga as it unfolds may wish to go to these websites and read the interesting articles:

http://www.gold-eagle.com
http://www.kitco.com
http://www.professorfekete.com/ (do read his popular economics)
http://www.webofdebt.com/
http://www.trendsresearch.com/forecast.html

Oops I made a typo error by saying that “Some analysts opined that the current meltdown could last till 2104 or 2105. ” It should read 2014 to 2015.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook