Hi everyone,

Are you tired of our Members of Parliament screwing up or being too secretive? Do you find them not being transparent or accountable in their dealings? Or maybe you feel your MP is not doing enough in your constituency?

Now, you can play an active – and effective – part to hold our MPs to a higher standard.

In Singapore, our MPs are the best-paid part-timers. Even though they are elected to represent the people, and are paid a handsome $14,000 a month, they only spend part of their time carrying out their duties as MPs. The work of running the town is given over to hired-hands, the professional town managers.

The thing is, if our MPs are paid such good remuneration (and for PAP MPs, are guaranteed a win in elections), they should be providing service of the highest quality, standards and expectations. No longer should we be satisfied with non-transparency, non-accountability and coy and meaningless answers from our MPs about issues, as has happened on many occasions this year.

And so, TOC would like to invite all of you to join our new initiative – the Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS). We will have our own MPs on the ground. The intention is a simple one:

Singaporeans who live in the same area will form groups who will keep watch on the issues, events and happenings in their respective constituencies. These will then be relayed back to TOC and TOC will highlight these issues here on this blog.

In effect, it will be ordinary Singaporeans keeping their Members of Parliament on their toes.

The Members on Patrol keeping the Members of Parliament in check.

For example, the recent town council investment saga highlighted the possibility and effectiveness of Singaporeans questioning their MPs directly. In the same way, we can also highlight other issues, even municipal ones.

To join the TOC MPS, simply drop us an email at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com with your name, contact (either handphone or email address) and the constituency in which you are living (please state only the GRC or the SMC).

We will group you together with others in your area and ideas, suggestions and discussions can take place. You can also rope in your friends, families, colleagues to join this scheme.

At the moment, the MPS is made up of TOC members – some 60 or so of them. Help us grow this into a more significant – and more effective – number.

Your contribution and participation may be small but be assured that it is significant. More importantly, you will be part of a larger group of Singaporeans who want to see our MPs doing better and holding them to higher standards of service, accountability and transparency – be they PAP MPs or opposition MPs.

The bottomline is this: If our MPs want to be part-time MPs and be rewarded with such high salaries, then they’d better be doing an exceptional job.

Join us in making this so in 2009 and beyond. Be an MP yourself! Anyone who is a Singaporean is welcome!

Lets not just gripe and feel helpless. We can do something about improving Singapore. Change is what we need and this MPS is but just one small thing we can do in this direction.

Drop us an email and work together with other Singaporeans in your area on this initiative!

Thanks, everyone.

Regards,

Andrew Loh

Managing Editor

———

See related posts

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

64 Responses to “Join TOC and be an MP!”

1. Kang Kang 12 December 2008

1 word : Overhaul.

2. An excellent intiative by TOC. Great Job guys!

3. Kang Kang 12 December 2008

Our future has gotten more and more uncertain.
    Since 97 , 2001 crisis and current one,

In this crisis, gawd knows how long it will last, I hope all who have degrees or diplomas give it a shot. such income is good and stable. But must continously exercise because sitting in the long sessions can make your back ache and you need the strength to fight the zee-monsters. Exercise is not just for these purpose, it also makes your brain think better.

I last checked, some of the existing MP qualifications. I think academic-wise and that alone, a basic degree is more than sufficient. Some also have non-degrees.
    Of course, existing ones may have more qualifications that these and impressive on the resume.

I urge all who qualify and like to work as MP to step forward and give it a shot.

Even when our Alt reps could not perform to many’s expectation, like raising the needful questions of many, they still got 33%. To be fair, there was only 1 credible alternative party. To be fair, there was no other choice for these alternative minded folks.

Personally, I believe there are more than 1000 who qualify.

If 10% of this group make it, that is 100 new candidates. Current parl only has 80+ .

But I worry the press may not have time to find out info about these 1000 and report on them. ;) last minute catch off-guard. spring a SURPRISE? my goodness…. i ‘worry’ leh.

4. Hi Kang Kang,

I don’t think anyone needs a degree or diploma to answer TOC’s call for Members on Patrol. Some of TOC’s regular posters are people with vast knowledge of life’s experiences to share and it is these experiences that will bring us back to our humanity.

Humanity cannot be measured by the pieces of papers issued upon your ability to memorise what you have learnt in a classroom. Humanity can only be gained by experiencing life as life ought to be experienced.

This is where the PAP govt has diviated from. It believes that with acquired academic knowledge, all else is nothing but study materials. You study hard enough, you will be able to feel the ground. This gives us a glimmer of how the PAP machinery works and how it has lost the human touch.

5. Belinda Kah Lai 12 December 2008

There are so many MPs now !!!! PEOPLEs’ REPRESENTATIVEs.

LOOK AT THE WAYS THEY HELP US VOICE UP OUR CONCERNS AS CITIZENS.

LOOK AT THEIR PERFORMANCE.

LOOK AT HOW THEY, the partimer MPs HANDLE ISSUES LIKE :

TC, MINI BONDS,
    TRANSPORT HIKES
    ELECTRICITY HIKE
    DENGUE
    ETC ETC ETC

Look at how transparent the system is.
    Look at how information is provided.

Do we still have any doubt IF CHANGE is NEEDED?

ITs TIME.

6. hi andrew,

this is a great initiative. toc will become a bigger organisation than any of the existing opposition parties in times to come. and more effective.

the best part is that you can harvest the talents available and forming a few grc teams for the next GE will not be a problem anymore.

that’s the way to go.

7. I personally think, there are many other issues besides MP’s which deserve equal attention and watch dogging. One of them that is close to my heart is the welfare of children and the right not to be abused.

I came across this just to prove my point, there are many things to be highlighted and to be brought to public attention

http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2008/11/07/the-day-parents-say-no-to-child-abuse/

I also know that one good way to serve is to keep your eyes and ears open all the time, and remember to use your brain.

8. have2change 12 December 2008

Thanks andrew, thanks for initiating! give the people more choices more chances more justice.

9. ErniesUrn (Ernest) 12 December 2008

Nice. It’s about time I made friends with my MPs and the people at my town council. And do some independent citizen reporting. :)

10. Gilbert Goh 12 December 2008

Andrew

Initiative again and keep those brave things coming! Singapore owes you one!

I will register myself to be the MPS here.

You are right to say that our constant bomardment of the town councils’s investment via email template, MSM letters, online petition have worked as today ST reported that two TCs have came forward to report in more detail on their investment.

I must sya that so far TOC has being brave and sincere. That is the way to go and we will support whatever initiatives suggested.

It will be fruitless if with so many wonderful suggestions, we all just back away and don’t show our support.

11. Belinda Kah Lai 12 December 2008

Now , TOC has 60 volunteers.
    Imagine what capabilities it can have when its number of volunteers grow to 600 ?

HP moto.

12. Hi Andrew,
    I think you need to have a careful process for the selection of this group. If you let one or two lackies of the PAP infiltrate into the group, you will have a lot of problem getting things moved.

13. Belinda Kah Lai 12 December 2008

Actually, I like many, are not asking for the moon.

We comment here because of 1 basic reason:

1. we want clarity of where monies gone.
    2. we want information.
    3. we want PEOPLE’s voice be heard in parlimon.

many like me are non-partisan. afterall, we are singaporeans and uniquely so.

many confuse us as people who dissent.
    many confuse us as anti-estab.
    many confuse us as whiners.

we are just people who believe in discussing matters that affect us.
    we are just having more commonsense than the rest.
    we are less boh chap than the rest.
    we are less apathetic than the rest.
    we are more confident than the rest in our logic and rationale.

Even when 10 000. 00 had their hardearned savings blown away ,
    only 1k will step forward and make their voice heard by way of petition.

this is solid evidence that there is APATHY and it is a deep seated extremely hard core problem that will not go away in the lifetimes of any of us living now.
    Only their offsprings stand a chance to be get a mindset overhaul.

what i can expect is just 1 thing : the cessation of the palpit. nothing can be as guaranteed as this. it would happen. and I shall coin this event as the Big Bang version 2.0

14. Belinda Kah Lai 12 December 2008

12) Ah Siao on December 12th, 2008 5.31 pm

Hi Andrew,
    I think you need to have a careful process for the selection of this group. If you let one or two lackies of the PAP infiltrate into the group, you will have a lot of problem getting things moved.

—————————-

what is true is basically anyone can signup with TOC.

what i see is that TOC is getting to know who likes to do things the ‘ALTERNATIVE’ way.

they say change from within.

15. Logicalman 12 December 2008

When I saw the title, I almost jumped. I thought TOC is setting up a political party, and I would have gladly joined. Anyway, this is still a good initiative to carry out. Count me in (yes, I will sign up officially)

16. theonlinecitizen 12 December 2008

Ah Siao,

I think that is one thing which S’poreans have – a self-inflicted fear which is being passed down from one generation to another. It becomes a self-perpetuating thing.

And I find it extremely sad that we keep talking about this fear.

I’d rather spend my time thinking and doing what is possible, what we can, rather than keep living in fear.

Thus, I welcome even PAP members to join the groups, if they so wish. TOC welcomes Singaporeans, and not just those who dislike the PAP, or even the opposition for that matter.

My hope is that we do what is possible.

And leave the fear behind.

After 43 years and if we keep on repeating this fear, then we have no one to blame but ourselves if things do not change.

For we are the one who is propagating the fear.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

17. theonlinecitizen 12 December 2008

By the way, everyone, so far today (Friday) 5 people have responded to this call and want to join this initiative after reading the above article.

I’d like to thank the 5 persons. I will reply to your emails soon. (Am down with bad flu and need to get some serious rest.)

I’d also like to urge more of you to join the groups. We need eyes and ears on the ground. And also, this is a pioneering initiative which, if we succeed, will change significantly the engagement between the people and their political representatives.

So, lets do this! Yes, we can!

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

18. Logicalman 12 December 2008

Hey Andrew, take care & have a good rest. I was on leave to care for my daughters who were down with flu as well.

This initiative will take off with time. Even if it’s just a handful of us, we can start with that first. I am sure more will join along the way.

19. theonlinecitizen 12 December 2008

LOgicalman,

Yes, we have to be patient with any new initiatives. The important thing is to do this intelligently and effectively – without getting personal. We’ll focus on the issues. Over time, as people see that we’re doing this intelligently and in a mature and reasonable fashion, more will join in.

Personally, I am quite excited with this initiative.

Thanks so much for your support… I’ll make another announcement about the progress in a few days.

Regards,
    ANdrew

20. Min Xuan 12 December 2008

Congratulations Andrew!
    I notice you are now the Managing Editor.
    Keep up the good work that is definitely appreciate by many
    whom you may not have met.
    We are here and observing and reading TOC articles daily!

Tear down the walls ! the walls of APATHY, Ignorance and Bo Chap attitude that sabo the rest of humanity.

21. This is a great idea. Just the kind of initiative to promote active citizenry. A very good first step is to start with one’s GRC/SMC.

I agree with Andrew that anyone with interest should be invited, whether pro-PAP, anti-PAP, opposition, or non-partisan. And it should not be restricted to PAP controlled GRC/SMCs. Hougang and Potong Pasir should be included if there are any interested residents from these two wards.

At the end of the day, the purpose of such initiative is to ensure the respective MPs carry out their duties diligently, transparently, impartially and with full accountability of the funds collected from residents.

If this initiative is successful, it will benefit all residents, and even the MPs if they respond to all feedback positively.

22. Min Xuan 12 December 2008

I propose we start looking at the big sum of money in TC sinking funds and discuss if they are already optimally utilised to improve living conditions of hdb dwellers who lease from HDB.

i feel that there are many things can be improved.
    1. Dengue threat
    2. High rise littering
    3. Lift upgrading and the price dwellers have to pay for it.
    4. etc – i donche wanna list everything i have in mind for now.

23. Pretentious 13 December 2008

I’m actually quite a regular reader of TOC, but I think this is overstretching a bit…it looks slightly…pretentious. Try not to get ahead of yourselves guys.

24. smallvoice585 13 December 2008

$14,000 salary and part-time work notwithstanding, I think an MP’s work is already hard enough without groups surreptitiously finding fault and publicizing their short-comings on the net.

I believe your Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS) does not contribute to better politics in Singapore. Instead of trying to victimize our MPs, we should try to assist them in their work.

We should accord our constitutionally-elected leaders due respect. If we disagree with their politics, the honourable way is to vote them out at the next GE. In any case, the perceived bad policies are not their personal handiwork but that of their party leaders.

25. Min Xuan 13 December 2008

24) smallvoice585 on December 13th, 2008 3.30 am

But you should respect public opinion and freedom to opinionate and individuality and freedom to agree to disagree. everyone has the right to improve the system.

we need not all have to think like you, with due respect sir.

you said :
    “Instead of trying to victimize our MPs, we should try to assist them in their work. ”

If I become mp, you come and assist me lah. just kidding.

the fact is , many have exhausted their patience.
    the fact is, many would like to improve the system.
    the fact is, many would have seen how well the mp’s perform. if u know what i mean.

the fact is the fact.

26. Hi smallvice585,

I beg to differ when you say the MPs work is already hard enough for us to find fault with them. It depends on what you mean when you say ‘find fault’.

For me, the MP’s work is not hard enough if the people have to try so hard to fit in to the scheme of things perpetuated by them, whether by the party they belong to, or, by their own self-inflicted contributions.

Going to the GE is a different thing altogether. Letting ourselves be heard during GE time, by voting against non-perferming MPs, is in itself, not a good thing to do. We, the citizens, should be able to work alongside our MPs after each election so that things are within workable and acceptable limits.

I believe the sceptics over here are mainly those who still feel that TOC is an opposition platform, very much anti-PAP. To me, it is not, even though the numerous post might lean toward this end. There are level-headed contributions that contribute neutrally and are very much pro-Singapore in their contents.

TOC must be seen working toward this end and we are here to support this endeavour. This scheme introduced by TOC is a step toward achieving this goal.

27. 14K? 14K?!
    thats an obscene amount for a part time job.
    anyway,does any of the current MPs,PAP or otherwise,living in HDB flats?

28. Gilbert Goh 13 December 2008

FYI, MPs not only have a high allowance of $14K plus another salary if they are office bearers e.g. Parliamentary Secretary, Minister of State, etc. That will really add up to an obscent amount.

29. To add to Post 28 by Gilbert, many MPs are also sitting as Board Members of businesses.

puppy.

30. Logicalman 13 December 2008

I won’t say we are trying to get ahead of ourselves. At least, we are doing the decent thing by identifying relevant issues and bringing them to the table for discussion and resolution. This may not be the perfect way to do it, but I am sure TOC and the participants will finetune along the way through further feedback and critique.

And may I point out that we are doing this without any expectation of compensation or incentives, and no sinking fund monies are being used.

Seriously, as a volunteer with a VWO, I understand what it is like to do things part-time. We can only do that much, with a full-time job, a family to manage, kids to raise and other commitments for some of us. In fact, I often feel inadequate as a volunteer, because I wish I could do more. Most of my fellow volunteers will never think of being compensated for our efforts, other than the occasional packet drinks and fast food packs we get on volunteer duty.

I am not suggesting that MPs are volunteers but I am drawing a parallel on the part-time nature & constraints of the work that we do with a full-time occupation. I would suggest that for maximum efficacy, MPs take on their responsibilities full-time.

31. I suggest TOC uses the acronym MOPS instead of MPS, to mop after the MPs, so to speak.

32. theonlinecitizen 13 December 2008

HI guys,

Thanks for the feedback.

More people have joined this endeavour.. Thanks to all… the door is still open to anyone and everyone.. :)

Smallvice585, perhaps there is a misconception about this initiative. It is not meant to ‘make our MPs’ work harder’. It is to make Singaporeans’ lives better. And issues brought up do not necessarily have to be negative ones vis a vis the MPs. They could be praises for what MPs are doing.

I would love to have reports and articles of the good work which MPs are doing – and indeed, they are doing some good work on the ground.

So, I’d like to clarify this.

This is also why TOC welcomes everyone, whether you like to dislike the MPs or the parties they belong to.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

33. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 13 December 2008

I wish I could see more of my MP… oh wait. I did. Everywhere I turn I see his face beaming at me from huge banners…

34. good one, Zefly….ha!…ha!…ha!….

35. Hi people 13 December 2008

Can I ask a question? How many of you have talked to an MP before on serious issues that affect you? How much do you understand?

An MP does not work alone. He has his team of grassroot leaders and community vounteers. There are many problems to be solved and many of these people are WORKING THROUGH THE NIGHTS listening to the residents’ grievances even though most of them have to wake up early the next morning for work like you and I. These volunteers have family commitment and work stress yet they devoted their time to try their best to help residents.

The MPs have their own jobs, be it in the Ministries or other professions. They have to plan for and attend parliament sessions. On weekends, they have to conduct block visits, grassroots events and on weekday nights they have to meet the people. They have to face people all the time and to solve so many problems surfaced to them. Most of the MPs have promising careers and $14,000 does not add significant income to them. So why are they still working so hard?

So for those people joining this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)”, have you ever done anything for your fellow residents? Do you know how difficult it is trying to give people as much welfare in the midst of resource constraint and policy concerns?

So what is this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” all about? Nitpickings? Creating trouble for the elected government? Making things difficult for grassroots volunteers who are sacrificing their time to help?

This “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” is not helping. It is just a scheme by people who are bored of living comfortably and trying to create problems. Who are you punishing by joining this Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)”? The PAP? The grassroots? Let me tell you straight. YOU ARE PUNISHING SINGAPOREANS by disturbing people who are truly on the ground helping people.

If you truly have an issue with the ways things work in Singapore? Why don’t you go straight to the MPs and ask them? Let them explain to you what are the underlying constraints. Why are they not doing things the way you think it best? We have to be OBJECTIVE and NOT PREJUDICE.

On the other hand, this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” may actually get people who joined better understand the situation around and have a change of mind when they eventually talk to the MPs. By the way, you could always go straight to your MPs to address any concern individually or in groups. This makes the so called “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” rather redundant.

36. Andrew,
    For once, I have to say you have an excellent idea there!
    This is what I was referring to previously.
    Ideas or suggestion to improve the system, not criticize the system.

Kudos to you!

You should try sending this to Straits Times forum , however faint hope that it will be published by them.

37. Andrew Loh 13 December 2008

Dear Hi People (#35),

Give the scheme a chance.

You do not know what the groups will be doing. They could highlight the good things that MPs are doing too. Wouldn’t it help our MPs then?

There are many feedback channels, besides the Meet The People sessions you mentioned. Should Singaporeans use these and not be pro-active then? Our govt has been urging Singaporeans to be involved, to be part of an ‘active citizenry’.

Thus, I do not understand, really, your beating down this MPS scheme.

As I said, give it a chance.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

38. Andrew Loh 13 December 2008

Thanks isa. I think we’ll see how it goes first. If it goes well, perhaps the media will pick it up on its own.

I’d just like to clarify one thing about the MPS:

It’s not about nitpicking. It’s not about finding fault.

What it is, is about highlighting what MPs do or not do. These could be good, or bad things. More importantly, this could provide our MPs with spontaneous feedback, besides all the other channels they have.

What I see the MPS doing is more interaction between the MPs and ordinary Singaporeans. Right now, I see us being over here and them being over there – and we’re both trying to get each others’ attention.

So, what better way than to bridge the divide, so to speak, and speak directly to each other? I foresee the groups writing or meeting the MPs directly on issues of concern.

The most important thing here is this: That more information be generated through such interaction, which, hopefully, leads to better understanding between ordinary Singaporeans and their community leaders (which include opposition MPs, by the way.)

So, the negative insinuations by “Hi People” in comment #35 do not take this into account.

Regards,
    Andrew Loh

39. isa, you are back again. 13 December 2008

“Ideas or suggestion to improve the system, not criticize the system.

Kudos to you!

You should try sending this to Straits Times forum , however faint hope that it will be published by them.”

Why faint hope then and that it is unlikely to be published if it is so kudos to you for suggestion instead of criticism to be made. The criticism occurred in the first place because of their high-handed, arrogant approache.

40. EXPERIMENT! - think out of the box 13 December 2008

I can fully understand people’s concerns and criticisms about the MPS proposed by TOC.

That is because I am a singaporean and many are like the nay sayers . Without EXPERIENCING something, they somehow Blindly Believe that it is not good.

We are now 1st world and 3rd world mentality must die. But as can be seen, bad habits die hard.

Let the MPS be tried and then come back here to criticise. Then only can your criticisms have any weight.

So many MPs. Even more grassroot leaders. And yet, there is a growing demand for more PEOPLE REPRESENTATION, based on comments received in ALL and EVERY articles read here.

The FACTS speak for themselves.

nay sayers, hold your horses. Give this baby a chance to be born before you destroy it based on blind criticisms.

41. An MP does not work alone. He has his team of grassroot leaders and community vounteers.

Do these volunteers get a share of the $14,000? I now get the real picture how easy the life of an MP is with some many volunteer helpers around him.

Jokes aside, from the words of the PAP’s young MPs, they have discovered that these people who works around them do not give the real picture of what is really happening on the ground. Most of the issues and problems are screened before being presented to the MPs. Are these volunteers doing justice to the people who come to them for help and assistance?

MPS hopes to change this and help these MPs in ways these volunteers have failed to do. So what if these volunteers have sleepless nights? Their concern should be the people having sleepless nights because of their inaptitude.

There are many problems to be solved and many of these people are WORKING THROUGH THE NIGHTS listening to the residents’ grievances

We now know there are loads of grievances that keep these people awake through the night. So why does this govt keep saying all is nice and rosy?

The MPs have their own jobs, be it in the Ministries or other professions.

Well, these same MPs have claimed that their jobs are manageable. Remember what the MPs said when Ong Chit Chung died? That they can cover his work without having to hold a by-election. So why are you complaining for them? If they are really that busy, then Singaporean ought to call for full-time MPs because it seems that our welfare has been compromised because of their busy schedule with self-interest positions.

So for those people joining this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)”, have you ever done anything for your fellow residents? Do you know how difficult it is trying to give people as much welfare in the midst of resource constraint and policy concerns?

MPS will solve part of your problem. There is first and foremost, no policy constraints. Talking to the MPs and giving feedbacks does not entail more than a pair of listening ear, an understanding heart and a mouth to present their cases to the MPs. It becomes hard because of the numerous rules and regulations put in place by the PAP MPs on its PAP volunteers. TOC’s MPs will help to reduce this burden.

So what is this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” all about? Nitpickings? Creating trouble for the elected government? Making things difficult for grassroots volunteers who are sacrificing their time to help?

My, my. How suddenly we now hear grassroots volunteers equating themselves with our elected MPs.

No, it is not nickpicking. It is helping the MPs get the right picture of the ground where its PAP volunteers have failed to present correctly. I also understand TOC’s MPS will work closely with the MPs to bring harmonious resolution to acrimonious issues.

Why does the PAP volunteers feel threatened? Let’s work together. The service provided by TOC’s MPS is free and they will be lending you a hand, for goodness sake.

This “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” is not helping. It is just a scheme by people who are bored of living comfortably and trying to create problems. Who are you punishing by joining this Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)”? The PAP? The grassroots? Let me tell you straight. YOU ARE PUNISHING SINGAPOREANS by disturbing people who are truly on the ground helping people.

The MPS evolved because of the vast number of voices we are hearing everyday from people who felt they have been left out in the govt’s pursuit of wealth for the country. If these same people have received help along the way, these cries would not have been there and this initiative would not have surfaced.

go straight to the MPs and ask them? Let them explain to you what are the underlying constraints. Why are they not doing things the way you think it best? We have to be OBJECTIVE and NOT PREJUDICE.

How many of us have gone straight to our MPs to find answers to our problem but instead were made to bang our heads against the walls.

Did you not say they are too busy? This is an objective move as far as most of us here are concern, or, have you got the wrong notion of what is objective and what is prejudice? Are you not prejudice in your opinion of such an intiative by TOC to help our fellow Singaporeans?

On the other hand, this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” may actually get people who joined better understand the situation around and have a change of mind when they eventually talk to the MPs.

See? So who is prejudiced? It might work out well for the MPs and the govt as a whole, as you have rightfully concluded.

42. Hi, Hi people 13 December 2008

“Most of the MPs have promising careers and $14,000 does not add significant income to them. So why are they still working so hard?”

If they cannot handle the heat and all the intended stress, kindly make space for others who are most willing to take over. Adding significant income again ???

“Creating trouble for the elected government? Making things difficult for grassroots volunteers who are sacrificing their time to help?”

grassroots volunteers ? Those organising saturday & sunday activities to market their own visibility with banners here and there by distributing goodies bags ? Certain big big banners with pictures of big and small shots are still hanging around the island.

Please ask the elected government & grassroots volunteers to quickly solve the enonomic problem. Good times, they claimed credit for economic growth. So bad time, must be due to them also ???

“This “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” is not helping. It is just a scheme by people who are bored of living comfortably and trying to create problems.”

Please ask your patrol police who is not bored of living comfortably or trying to create problems to arrest them and send them to the box.

43. Hi, Hi people, do your job ok. 13 December 2008

“Why don’t you go straight to the MPs and ask them?”

You said it yourselves, MPs do not work alone and they have tonnes of hardworking grassroot leaders & volunteers working with them.

So many hardworking people, surely they have the minimal competence to scout through either at grassroot level or the internet domain the so many suggestions that are already being thrown around. No suggestions ? Only complaints ? Even at grassroot level ?

Hey why are you and friends here. Just to learn criticisms only or what ? Do your job ok.

44. Hi People 13 December 2008

Dear Andrew Loh,

What is this goodie good response? :

Andrew Loh on December 13th, 2008 11.35 am: Give the scheme a chance. They could highlight the good things that MPs are doing too. Wouldn’t it help our MPs then?

REMEMBER WHAT YOU WROTE?:

Are you tired of our Members of Parliament screwing up or being too secretive? Do you find them not being transparent or accountable in their dealings? Or maybe you feel your MP is not doing enough in your constituency?

Even though they are elected to represent the people, and are paid a handsome $14,000 a month, they only spend part of their time carrying out their duties as MPs. The work of running the town is given over to hired-hands, the professional town managers.

SO NOW tell me is this how you are “highlighting the good things”?

Pretence and more pretence. That is what this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” is all about. IT IS POLITICAL. Remember to register it as a political organisation.

Dear Gemami, you seem on the verge to immigrate.

45. Hi People 13 December 2008

Dear Andrew Loh,

What is this goodie good response? :

Andrew Loh on December 13th, 2008 11.35 am: Give the scheme a chance. They could highlight the good things that MPs are doing too. Wouldn’t it help our MPs then?

REMEMBER WHAT YOU WROTE?:

Are you tired of our Members of Parliament screwing up or being too secretive? Do you find them not being transparent or accountable in their dealings?

Or maybe you feel your MP is not doing enough in your constituency?

Even though they are elected to represent the people, and are paid a handsome $14,000 a month, they only spend part of their time carrying out their duties as MPs. The work of running the town is given over to hired-hands, the professional town managers.

SO NOW tell me is this how you are “highlighting the good things”?

Pretence and more pretence. That is what this “Members on Patrol Scheme (MPS)” is all about. IT IS POLITICAL. Remember to register it as a political organisation.

Dear Gemami, you seem on the verge to immigrate.

46. Logicalman 13 December 2008

Dear all, let me relate a story since meeting the MP was mentioned.

I was invited one evening by a volunteer to attend a session the following evening where my MP would be addressing certain concerns regarding molestation. The volunteer was sincere & I was very impressed by his enthusiasm, since I am also a volunteer myself, albeit with a VWO.

As I already have prior commitments to fetch my kids to and from their evening class, I told him it would not make sense for me this time round as it would end by the time I am back. I then invited him to keep me informed in advance of future sessions and gave him my email. He promised to send me an email to keep things going. That was months ago. Till now, I have not received any email from that volunteer, nor am I any wiser regarding what similar sessions may be held in the near future.

I’m not saying that the volunteer is not doing a good job; he’s a volunteer after all and I am sure he’s busy as has been described in prior posts. However, as a team, the grassroots & team PAP have missed a wonderful opportunity to engage me, and various others, I believe.

Yet, one unfortunate example is not good enough to say all execution is flawed. I will keep my eyes peeled for future sessions and make time for it. Likewise, I would like to believe that MPS scheme and participants will work together to ensure its success, without necessarily making life difficult for MPs who share the same goal and vision of helping the people they represent.

I further believe most of us are mature adults holding down decent jobs and with family responsibilities. The last thing we have time for is mischief.

47. Andrew Loh 13 December 2008

Dear Hi People (#45),

Yes, I said all that. I do not find that it precludes saying good things about the MPs. And I have also clarified this point. (twice).

But even if the focus turns out to be highlighting the shortcomings of the MPs, I do not find it a bad thing, either.

You seem rather averse to criticisms of the MPs.

Strange – as this happens all the time all over the world to all sorts of representatives.

If it were up to me, I’d let the MPs themselves defend themselves. For all we know, they would welcome such MPS’s – your views notwithstanding. I think our MPs are more than capable to take a little criticism.

They’d be really sad if they were not.

Regards,
    Andrew

48. Gilbert Goh 13 December 2008

Hi guys,

I would say give the scheme a try and we review after every 3 months for it’s effectiveness and response. If it is not achieving it’s target, scrap it then.

The aims have to be very precise and detailed so that we won’t waste our time and even our MPs’ as they truly are very busy people. Frankly, I doubt that they will even entertain us in the first place.

It is good to engage citizens who are willing to be involved as currently most Singaporeans are really detached from the current political issues.

Meet The People sessions (MPS) are mostly for RCs or CCCs members who are “volunteered” to be involved. While working In CDCs, I saw my colleagues reluctantly dragged their feet to MPS as we all are rostered regularly. I managed to escape some rounds due to other work matters.

MPS mostly involved financial and jobless issues raised by residents. How effective it is I am unsure as most MPs will refer the issues to CDCs. The usual checking process will take place though such cases will be given higher priority.

I see TOC initiative a positive one as firstly it involves the residents and secondly it allows them to touch base with TCs/CCCs/MPs which operate very much on their own currently. We should go in more like a volunteer than poking our noses around and scouting for faults and weaknesses. That will make TCs/MPs very defensive and they may not even want to deal with us anymore if that’s the case.

We all know that RCs are politically motivated though it tries to advocate for a bipartisan stance. That is probably why RCs are poorly supported by the residents. People want RCs to be truly serving the people out of a community spirit than anything else.

I joined an RC for a year and gave up as I could not stand the strong political slant there. MPs will come in to address us but they kept saying that RCs are all politically neutral! Some committee members even went in to serve so that they could get priority in housing allocation!

My take is to give MPS a try and we review the scheme after every 3 months to gauge it’s effectiveness.

Thanks all.

49. Lee Ann Lee 13 December 2008

The only way is to try it and see how it goes.

50. tiredsingaporean 13 December 2008

48) Gilbert Goh on December 13th, 2008 3.31 pm
    Some committee members even went in to serve so that they could get priority in housing allocation!

Gilbert! Not some, infact alot of them went in for a purpose, mainly for pull string into get priority in applying for HDB flats. I was there and my brother once went in too, just to get the feel of whats all these PAP meet-the-people sessions, and realised alot of them tries to ankat the MP, then ask for favor in getting any garments thingies, whatever I think only a handful of those who really wants to assist are around to help those in needs, the rest . . . ????