From the Straits Times:
SINGAPORE does not know if fugitive terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari, the country’s most wanted man, is still in the country more than nine months after he escaped from detention, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Friday.
The leader of the Singapore Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) militant group escaped on Feb 27 from a maximum-security detention centre. The incident badly dented Singapore‘s reputation for tight security.
‘We don’t know. He could be here, he could be overseas,’ Mr Lee told a lunch gathering of the Foreign Correspondents Association.
He said Singapore tried its best ‘to make sure he doesn’t go anywhere’ but added: ‘Short though our borders may be, they are difficult to watch all the time.’
Full report in the Straits Times.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

[i]So I think the question of whether it is worthwhile to fire the ministers lies in whether we can find a replacement for them, and I suspect is it not easily. A large of their jobs involve working knowledge of the civil administration system. There are not many, (probably not at all), candidates we can find. (Just think about how difficult is it to find an immediate replacement for a colleague who has just left.)[/i]
yeap wongcan’tsing is simply irreplaceable
without him
nobody can sing in the pap karaoke contest…
we make 1 silly little mistakes by going into the buslane
we got a summon of $130 nia…
i also tell lta
just 5 seconds inside can die mey?
somemore behind no sbs bus @ all
nobody is indispensable
not even
adolf hitler himself
“Sorry, I don’t wish to reveal, and I don’t think it matters. My opinions should be judged as they are, and not influence by my occupation.”
You have already given us the hint….. It does matter. You may not want to admit it only. Do you really think you are so independent of your past experience, immediate close enviroment and relationship, either working or family.
“What I have been trying to say is firing people works in some cases and don’t in other. In some cases, when some people f*ks up, emotions aside, it can be difficult to know if it is better fire them or not. We probably can even see this at our own work places.”
You are right. That is why a good system should be in place to minimise the emotion issue. If you have the same group of like-minded people together, the system coming out will be likely to homogeneous enough to keep themselves in the market, as far as the market can still bear it.
You have already given us the hint….. It does matter. You may not want to admit it only.
You are extrapolating over you possibly can. But I’m not going to change your judgement because it’s too sunken.
Do you really think you are so independent of your past experience, immediate close enviroment and relationship, either working or family.
I really don’t understand. Why can my opinions be judged by virtue of themselves? Why do you have to drag down by my work, or even my race, religion, and family?
If you have the same group of like-minded people together, the system coming out will be likely to homogeneous enough to keep themselves in the market, as far as the market can still bear it.
I totally agree that this is a genuine concern. And I even agree that apart from the issue of talent succession, this is one of the biggest issue for them to tackle. If the market cannot bear them, what makes it so convincing that the market can bear a multi-party system. You can’t always tackle tough issues away in a company by simply firing people away. In most cases, you can get ride of underperformers, but it doesn’t give a net improvement in overall productivity.
Diversity in Singapore isn’t enough to supply talent. We are not at the scale which the US political system draw and breed talents in opposition to make diversity work. We are simply not there.
I am not advocating a one-party system for ideological reasons. I’m simply saying that we need to think a lot more harder to find solutions to its limitations.
Let’s not even talk about political system. How many prominent Singapore-founded, Singaporeans-run commerical companies are there compared to rest of the world, or even the regional countries.
To add on: it is important to allow allow diversified viewpoints. But I seriously do not think that the vengeful type of political system will bring net benefit since we do not have the scale at which some large countries have. We have to think harder….
[i]And I even agree that apart from the issue of talent succession, this is one of the biggest issue for them to tackle. If the market cannot bear them, what makes it so convincing that the market can bear a multi-party system[/i]
which is why
only singapore is unique
we have a president who earned over $200,000/month
we have a mental minister
who also earned a little less
working on a 1 day week
and a senile minister
who knows his charkwayteow dishes very very well
worst of all
we have a prime minister
who eat charkwayteow
but didn’t know
that seahums is not include in meesiam
how much is the monthLEE salaries
for this 4 mostkeytoes?
now wanna to discuss about a multiears governmentships as well?
oh singapore do not have many INDEPENDANT commercial corporations
temasek inc ensured that
guranteed temasek inc
the onLEE corporation ever needed
manufacturing from jumbuan toilet rolls to prison breads
“You are extrapolating over you possibly can. But I’m not going to change your judgement because it’s too sunken.”
“I really don’t understand. Why can my opinions be judged by virtue of themselves? Why do you have to drag down by my work, or even my race, religion, and family?”
You have made your point and I shall leave it as it is. I agree to disagree.
“what makes it so convincing that the market can bear a multi-party system. You can’t always tackle tough issues away in a company by simply firing people away. In most cases, you can get ride of underperformers, but it doesn’t give a net improvement in overall productivity.”
What then makes you think that the market cannot bear a multi-party system. But that is beside the point. I believe in a good system and I believe that Singapore has reached the necessary critical level of having enough people with the right political & knowledge maturity for multi-party system to exist even once in awhile certain fear factor is being thrown around.
You are right on “the firing of underperformers, but it doesn’t give a net improvement in overall productivity.” I do know this fact from my own work experience.
But we do know the neccessity to nurture potentials as replacement. And why did we not have such potential replacement in our existing national system. Could the current system be perpetuating this very handicap – believing only on a few to the exclusion of those possible potentials even among themselves. You have to ask yourself.
“Diversity in Singapore isn’t enough to supply talent. We are not at the scale which the US political system draw and breed talents in opposition to make diversity work. We are simply not there.”
Singapore is small and we can never run away from this physical fact. The calibre of a person is in their head, personal characterics and attributes. I hope that you will be not constrained by this self-limiting and self-reinforcing belief.
And we must not have this kind of self-limiting system to perpertuate this unhealthy belief. We need to change our own belief system and culture that will elevate those potentials who are willing to work hard and be called to tackle whatever national challenges that are ahead.
“But I seriously do not think that the vengeful type of political system will bring net benefit since we do not have the scale at which some large countries have.”
And what makes you think that the current system is operating at the most desired optimum level just because you see calm on the surface. What baseline are we talking about.
wow!
incredible pap supporter
right up to a 101%
maybe it the end of the year
this supporter must have @ least 6 months in performing bonuses
wow barked liked an obedient dog
wagged its tail every time a pap waltz in….
now lets all wake up
shall we?
there is presentlEE
in asia
another head of states is is also surname LEE
the president of south korea
he was a farmers’ boy
worked with his hands
today
do you see samsung or lg factories being shutdown?
can you count how many erp poles
or their retirement savings being postponed
again and again?
do you see
a south korean mental or senile minister beside the president himself?
south korea must be smaller than singapore
with their bigger brother
the north koreans @ an orange level status…..
this new president
the first thinggie he do
he tells all his ministers
bucked up
or shipped out
this korea president sometimes worked a 7 day week
with a minimum of 12 hours/day
he tell his ministers
you either worked along me
or go retired
in the olden days
the king would had chopped off the limbs for ministers who failed in their duties
and please don’t forget
the koreans were colonised by the japanese until the end of 2nd world war
in which they split onced again in the 50s because of different idead
1 wants to go communist
the other wants to be mordenised
guess now
which korea is booming
and which korea is starvings?
now you want to compare a singaporewan lives with the koreans?
~zhee~
the pap government must be damned please
for making modern singapore into a park estate
instead of samsung inc…………..
yeah yeah
the koreans
never even have a leekuanyew premeirships experiences their whole lives
yet today
who is richer?
want to compare GDP as well?
Aiyah, Mas selamat has went for his selamat / holiday in afghanistan liao lah. Won’t be back so soon lah.
Who knows?
Maybe the secret police of PAP has sent him safely back to Indonesia, and then created this wonderful story to fool the whole world.
Or maybe, PM Lee might say the aliens have planned the escape!
One day, Singaporeans will all live on the moon and feed on lies and deception.
One day, we will all forget Mas Selamat and the Gahmen will just keep quiet about it.
Lol..
JTYS
Mas Selamat did not escape. He simply disappear.The only one who can explain is the one who has custody of him.So far , we have been persistently been misinformed.Maybe, Mas Selamat has too much “information” which make someone really has to get rid of him by all means, even with a stupid escape plan…….poor thing, it works for some people.
“Mas Selamat did not escape. He simply disappear.”
I definitely believe. OUr gahmen can even make our TC money and investment money disappear without a trace, what else cannot disappear ?
“Mas Selamat – We’ll get him one day, says PM Lee”
Yeah.. yeah… but
“PM Lee – We get you today, says the Citizen !”
Who is the larger cause for terror ? The ones who “accidentally and incredibly” released Mas Selamat without headchop, and keep screwing the citizen or the one who we don’t even know if he is indeed a terrorist.
Maybe, PM or MM got a call threat from the chief terrorist to release Mas Selamat or they will blow up Singapore, then kuai kuai they made up his escape for him.
Gopalan Nair said he is not a threat! We should celebrate Mas escape as the symbol of freedom from the ISA!
Hi Claire and Leanne,
Care to set a date for this momentous commemoration?