Saturday, December 20, 2008 9:40
MOM to meet with employer of stranded foreign workers
In Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story • 1,374 views • 29 Comments
The following is the latest update by the good-hearted Singaporean (GHS) who’s been helping out and keeping tab on the situation with the 179 stranded Bangladeshi workers. Read his earlier update here. TOC thanks GHS for providing us with the updates.
I went down yesterday with more donations, and took one of them shopping for the necessities they need. Apparently, someone also came down yesterday and passed everyone $100 each. But I told them in lieu of the uncertainties not to spend them too soon. There were also two people who had minor accidents over the past few months and who didn’t know they could most likely claim medical insurance or something like that either from their bosses or MOM.
The good news is Hand to Hand, a Muslim organisation with vast experience in helping foreign workers is now involved. The founder, an old feisty lady in a wheelchair came down personally and spoke to them, and inspired them not to give up hope. (She was in hospital past two days, and came down the moment she was discharged) We all can learn from her.
What we know is that as of today (saturday), MOM will have a meeting with the subcontractor and the boss of Tipper. The workers had expressed their refusal to move unless they were paid the salary owned to them for the past two months. I believe that they will be paid eventually, now that MOM and Hand to Hand is involved. You just don’t mess with feisty old women. lol.
The bad news is, even after the pay issue is settled, they may not have work to do, and I guess some, if not most of them will have to be asked to leave once their work permit expires. I know of other heresays regarding this, but until it is verified and set in stone, no point speculating.
At this moment, I feel that we should be cautious with the donations. No point donating too many things if the workers may not stay here for long. We need to monitor the situation further. There is a chance that the workers will get work early next year, maybe March, and if they start running out of basic necessities, it is not too late by then to chip in. But for those who intend to donate nonetheless, or have donated, don’t worry. If you give to TWC2 it is for a very good cause. You may not be helping these dudes, but other workers will benefit. As we know TWC2 is a non-profit organisation and need all the funds they can muster.
To clear up some of misconceptions, I find at the comments section (in the earlier reports here and here):
I asked them why they still came in spite of all the unfair treatment. They had to borrow money from the Dakar bank to pay for the agents’ fee. Ultimately, what they make here in a day is still more than what they make back in Bangladesh in two weeks. When you look at it from that angle, won’t you also prefer to work overseas, despite the unfavorable conditions? Of course, what I find difficult to bear is that the sub con probably took a huge cut from each of the workers, though they didn’t know much… this is sheer profiteering, and irresponsibility when things turn sour. (eg – not taking responsibility for medical claims) But this is just pure speculation.
The workers also feel that the Singpore Labor Law is quite skewed in favor of the employers. I didn’t say much regarding this as I know very little. What needs to be done is really relook at the labor laws and see how workers can be further protected from such cases.
Lastly, I thank all the people who had expressed concern at the situation of the workers. As for those who do nothing but spew words of anger and unsympathy because they had it worse before, I’d like to thank you too (you know who you are). You made everyone realize why inhumane acts like this can still occur on a regular basis.
——-
29 Comments
Gilbert Goh
I pity these workers coming all the way to Singapore to land in such a plight.
Imagine if we were them!
blackfeline
No need to imagine…we are almost same boat as them…
sarek_home
Here is some numbers for everyone to think about:
Based on the promise of earning $18 per day:
It takes the earning of 472 days to pay off the $8,500 agent fee.
It takes the earning of 160 days to pay off the meal charge of $120 per month for the two years.
In total, they need to work 632 days just to pay off the total charge of agent fee and food.
Working 5 days a week for two years total to 520 days and it will not cover the charge of agent fee and food.
The only way for them to bring home a small sum of money is working in weekends and overtime.
I think the readers can draw the conclusion from these numbers.
moshedyan
don’t thanked me @ all PLEASE
hate me if you all want to
for i know
what would i faced
when/if i go oversea to seek my fortune
many china people in china also want the same path
they too were LURED
with a falsh promises
and i have already WARNED them in advance
especialLEE the young beautiful lasses
if i want to be cruel and inhumane
i too would have become an agent in china
with a small capitals setup
with lots of goodies in it
for ME
if i have NO concious/ETHICAL in my remaining life
remembered it
remembered always
GREED will get you nowhere
sooner or later
you must return
either your lifetime
or your next generations
that is all
moshedyan
ops to the organiser of this campaign
kudos to you hardworking kindhearted 33% singaporeans
i bowed to you all
so touchingly touched
hi,
some singaporeans are futuristic.
1. even when the Poorest lowest waged labor Citizen’s jobs are not helped , they are helping the foreign workers. so touched!
2. even when Minimum Wage does not exist and not championed for, they are helping the foreign workers. so touched ! x 2
3. even when locals uncles and aunties workers for coffee shops are not helped, foreign workers are helped. so touched! x 3
4. even when citizen grandmothers and grandfathers collectors of cardboards and aluminium cans from rubbish bins are not helped, foreign workes are help. so touched! x 4
5. even when ‘No One Owes You a Living’ is what the citizens know about, the foreigner workers are helped. so touched! x 5
should citizens offer jobs to all these foreign workers so that they can have a happy ending and get a ricebowl and live happily ever after?
while its the season of giving,
lets not forget overly emotional and keep things in perspective
and remember to do things 1 step at a time, sometimes in tandem like
helping the foreigner workers and citizens together.
1. Freedom of speech can be further liberalised.
2. Freedom to question and get answers as long as issues are of public interest.
3. jobs & min wage for citizens
4. jobs & min wage for pr
5. jobs & min wage for foreign workers
6. and then we can have ‘WORLD PEACE’ and ‘END HUNGER’ and ‘NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND’.
while its touching and applaudable that some singaporeans are helping foreign workers, i feel that we should not get to futuristic and be ahead of ourselves when needful things are not yet done to help citizens.
nevertheless, its comforting to know that the sufferring are being helped.
Selamat,
Abang
Observer(SG-HK)
The world will be a much better place for all to live with such kind hearted deeds. Kudos to TOC, TWC2 and all kind hearted fellow citizenry for giving a helping hand to these stranded souls. I hope some good come out of MOM effort as well (they are at least doing something now). I also hope that the agent should be held accountable and should not go scot free.
Regardless of country of origin, ethnicity & background of the people helped, I think it is always nice to be able to lend our hands and offer our kindness whenever possible to our fellow human kind. That warmth is what keep the hopes and dreams of many struggling souls alive.
sarek_home
7) so touchingly touched on December 20th, 2008 11.55 am
Your view is understandable.
You may recall that many good hearted Singaporeans extended helping hands when they read reports of Singaporeans desperately needed help. We are seeing the same good hearted Singaporeans extending the same help to these foreign workers. As some has put it, human rights is for all people, local and foreigners included. These foreign workers are more desperate as they are stranded with no documents and no money, no food at all. These are immediate and urgent matters that need actions now.
You raised many good issues regarding our low income workers and many other long term issues. People who want to see changes and see these issues addressed need to act and press on these issues. You can see that TOC is one of such group pressing these matters. However, more people from the general public need to step forward to press these issues.
More people need to step forward.
JohnnyKid
7) so touchingly touched
Your views are misguided. In helping these foreign workers, we are sending a message to MOM and employers that Singaporeans will not turn a blind eye to abuses of workers, INCLUDING Singaporean ones.
As a result of this episode, MOM should tighten their work permit issuance to prevent repeats. This translates to less foreign worker imports.
Employers will also hesitate to employ foreign workers now that they know they cannot easily treat foreign workers as slaves without getting into trouble. Being able to abuse foreign workers is one of the reasons they prefer foreign workers over Singaporean ones.
The Prince.
I quite glad the FW got some attention at the helpdesk. I also happy that everyone got the chance to figure out what this episode means to everyone including the godless, the cynic, the futuristica etc, even the pitifully ‘Singapre Short Stories’ #2 – ‘imagine if we were them’ (save pity for yourself hor).
but i dun quite agree with the TOC writer on why ‘inhuman acts’ can occur on a regular basis? my wuliao point is not becos pples are inhuman, but becos of the kind of society we live-in, and the situations we need to respond to – brings out the animals in us. like the writer himself also suggesting that maybe its the Labor Law got fundamental problems like protecting capital more than the labor lor.
Like my favorite singapore idol PCK say ‘dun pray pray’, & like so-touchy-touch also say we need to address the longer term structural issues like the foundation, pillars & walls of the house call singapore.
smallvice585
while its touching and applaudable that some singaporeans are helping foreign workers, i feel that we should not get to futuristic and be ahead of ourselves when needful things are not yet done to help citizens. – So Touchingly Touched (#7)
Somehow you failed to realise that by helping to improve work conditions for foreign labourers, we are indirectly helping ourselves too.
Derrick
Can anyone assist to explain to me how the employer or main contractor is able to get the workers work permit approve for 2 years contract but with current downturn, the workers lost their job & being unemployed, the employer need not refund them their monies ,can abandon them for an indefinite period & it seems employer is acting within the law else why MOM or the police won’t step in? If this is a domestic maid issue & employer doesn’t want the maid, either the maid needs to seek alternative new employer & get transfer or maid will hv to send back to country. But in this case, the workers are left stranded & no one seems to care for them.
sarek_home
13) Derrick on December 20th, 2008 8.04 pm
From MOM points of view, they think they have everything under control. However, experience from VWO like TWC2 is quite different:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVSM6fHHk-E&feature=channel_page
Parliament Q&A that address the question Derrick asked:
http://siewkumhong.blogspot.com/2008/11/opq-21-october-2008-employment-of.html
MOM has put in place measures in the work pass approval process to minimise the possibility of workers being brought in without jobs. For example, construction and marine companies need to show documentary proof that they have on-going projects before work permits are issued to them. For subcontractors, an endorsement of work is also required from their principal contractor. We will take action against errant employers but we should be mindful that we are dealing with a minority of errant employers.
smallvice585
The practise of keeping foreign workers’ passport should be outlawed.
smallvice585
The good news is Hand to Hand, a Muslim organisation with vast experience in helping foreign workers is now involved. The founder, an old feisty lady in a wheelchair came down personally and spoke to them, and inspired them not to give up hope. (She was in hospital past two days, and came down the moment she was discharged) We all can learn from her. – GHS (Author)
I hope PAP, Tipper and Tipper’s Sub-Contractor will not call in thugs to hassle Hand to Hand and other kind-hearted Singaporeans who want to alleviate the situation for the abandoned foreign workers. One can never be too sure whether PAP, Tipper and its associates will engage in such dishonourable practise to save their own boats from rocking. My personal experience with PAP tells me there can be no good coming from people who are motivated by money.
Bonnie
Are there thugs and will they behave like thugs. I bet there are because of my personal experience when I was working as an officer and later as an agent of MSD or Military Security Department.
To cut a long story short they carried out covert family violence against my family. Disgrace to Singapore because these are officers and NCOs of SAF.
They also carried out covert violence against me. I had to see a psychiatrist at Institute of Mental Health and the good doctor told me to forget about it by living in a foreign country. I am now in Indochina and I am gradually getting cured.
The MSD used to used for all kinds of functions and they work for quite a few ministries.
Because the whole thing is secret and so you cannot haul them to court.
I am not surprised if they will be used in this case of the stranded foreign workers and so start to harass the Muslim NGO.
But, fear not. Hit back and hit back hard at the cowardly thug cum harassers.
In the first place they are cowards for if they are brave they would be in combat and would be fearless and prepared to fight to death.
Bonnie
ole
government dirty trick department
do exist
it your friendly
RC thugs
some of them are just painter/contractor and taxi drivers
they alway tried on thw eaker beings
but never on me
simply because
you wanna danced?
i would says
lets danced
on a plank
where i can passed
Derrick
After reading comments from sarek_home, smallvice 585 & bonnie it’s just unbelievable that such lawless activities are happening on our home soil.
someone is definitely benefiting at the expense of these workers & very handsomely i must add based on a quick calculation. it wld be interesting
to see how Hand to Hand deal with this case & i do hope that TOC will fllwup
closely on this news & provide an update for our community.
gemami
Fantastic job TOC. You have touched the hearts of all warm-blooded creatures.
I agree with some of the comments calling on MOM to step in and see if a better structured plan can be put in place to look after the welfare of foreign workers especially when they can be so easily subjected to employer abuse.
It was necessary for the public to act and help these poor folks when news first broke out about their plight, but we must now step back and let the authorities do their job of looking after them, whether by compelling the employers and it’s agents to do so until an amicable solution is found for them or to get involved directly in ways they see fit.
We, the citizens cannot be the ones to look after them on a prolonged basis.
As long as they have a roof over their head and they are not deprived of basic needs like food and water, we ought to step back now while continue to write and ask for the resolution of their problem.
agongkia
Charity begins at home.
There are many local poor people around who are much worst off and if those who can help I will recommend to you if you really dun know they exist.I am more concern about homeless Singaporean .Help those homeless locals sleeping under the bridges and beaches first.
I know that It will be like throwing a stone on a beehive if I comment here,but dear Singaporean,sometimes we need to look at the bigger picture ,from a different angle.,and not to be too carried away.I am not cold blooded ,only maybe a little bit Gong.
These FW will definitely knows how to go to MOM and the employer will be call up to solve this issue.MOM will know what to do n the employer will be punish if there are any breaches. Personally I disagree with the FWs and those who frequently says MOM is on the employer side.
Whenever these FWs come here,they know that they are taking a risk,a gamble.
The same thing,when some of us here go to other country to work as a dish washer etc,No one can guarantee you will come back loaded..
Lets hear what the employer says before we jump the gun to say they are irresponsible.Now we are just listening to one side of the story.
Let the Authority do the job or if not you will be sending the wrong signal to the FWs.We should spend more time thinking how we can make here a more ideal place to live.
No point on one hand we blame FWs taking away job that local shunned and on the other hand we worry that they may not have their contract renewed.
patriot
Agongkia;
Well said !
Indeed, those who make babies have to be responsible to carry the babies and bring them to terms.
Realistically speaking, Singaporeans are living in a make believed World, the last few decades of economic developments have depleted much of the space(land, natural resources, Human Rights), what are left can hardly provide and prepare us from here.
It has been constantly asked why citizens of a first world country do not feel happy and that many of our fellow citizens are struggling. I am baffled myself. We have a Political Party that has been incharge for over four decades, the leaders should and must have a superb understandings of the ground, but it does not seem to be the case. Where is their(leaders) feels for the citizens? Why are we having many state lands that are left unutilized? Does the Leaders know that thousands , if not tens of thousands of Singaporeans that were resettled to HDB livings, were formerly farmers who made uses of these empty lands to do husbandry and other domestic industries? They provided fresh vegetables, fruits, poultries, pigs, cattle, goats, eggs, and fishes and most importantly they are productive and occupied?
Come on, there is absolutely no justification in wasting all these empty plot of lands to breed mosquitoes and foreigners to play hide and seek with our law enforcers.
And come on PARLIAMENTARIANS, please do not stay in your airconed ivory towers wearing suits and ties hearing and seeing nothing outside your rooms and please do not just think of money, there is more to living.
patriot
agongkia
22)Patriot
Thanks for reading.I understand your feeling on vacant land,I am more sad then you but Bopian like many others i have to resettle too.Perhap you do not know that I am the last second person to leave my Somapah Road house as I do not want the Ang Chia to carry me away.
They actually make it into a business park with a small pond and a carpark.Fair ,at least others can go there for relaxation.Initially I thought I can enjoy that quiet environment and I drive back there frequently ,park at the carpark where my previous house was located to jog ,enjoy and recall back my childhood days especially in the night where the moon is always the same.
One day they block the carpark and I can no longer enjoy the park anymore.No one can be there as there is no parking space.24 years already and today I still cried whenever I pass there.
I wonder why this place is not being considered at least to be turn into a Foreign workers dormitory .,24 years already….I gave way to the mosquitoes instead
patriot
Dear agongkia;
I understand, many resettled(to HDB Living) older citizens are weeping, they lost their means of incomes, job are hard to come by and most are lowly or uneducated. Age is a great disadvantage not only in their job prospects, it is also a big handicap to their daily routines, mobility(eye sight, limbs, health) leisures and highrise living are all impediments to their quality of living. They DO NOT visit neighbours liked they did in the villages, their fellow villagers are scattered and most have let the younger generation to head the new homes. And as we all know quite well, most resettled families face domestic problems due to generational differences. Unlike in the villages, the younger generations are seldom pleased with the lifestyles of the older folks. Very sad but true.
Resttlements as we can see from the many vacant and unused state lands could mean more than just the losses of occupations. Resettlements resulted in housing problems, as HDB flats are about the only property most resettled people can afford, a ’shortage’ of public housing is created and because of those ‘forced’ demands, queues became longer which created an impression that public housing is in great demand. This created impression is false.
Anyway, the villager were treated liked country bumpkins with bird brains by our leaders. All resigned to their fates as dictated by the Authority, I must say there is absolutely nothing we can do. I can only say that I see the Leadership comprised of talents with fish brains will now have to face the bird brains for the birds are going to swop down like sea eagles and seagulls from now on. Hunger will drive the birds mad, we can hear the agonies and cries.
BUT,
We are not birds or fishes, we are humans, there is NO NEED to prey on one another. We can bring back the old kampong(village) charms and spirits, let us keep peace and be one even as we know the road ahead is full of challenges.
I believe the ball is now in the Leaders’ side, whether they want to play among themselves or with the citizens, they(leaders) have to decide.
patriot
patriot
Oh, I forgot about the barricaded carpark that You(agongkia) wrote about.
Here again, we get to witness waste and instance of unjustified resettlement. The Park at Changi South was beautifully built and though few knew its existence, there were and are some former residents(villagers) that went and go back to refresh their sentiments of their former homes. I cycled(bicycle) to that park frequently myself, but seldom do now because the park looks deserted and poorly maintained. The carpark next to it is cordoned with no obvious reason, depriving visitors of legal parkings.
I do not kow what to make out of the situation but, one impression I have is, the original settlers there should have been allowed to stay.
I have digressed from the Topic but, I wish TOC will allow me the two post to stay.
Yours truly: patriot
Chua mui mui of the hong
If cpf is temporarily stopped, I believe will save many jobs.
Also, instead of cutting pay or bonus,
just cut the cpf contribution, for now.
alas , there is no petition or facebook petition for this.
sharks. could have saved many jobs.
agongkia
25)Patriot
“The original settlers there should have been allowed to stay.”
I say Thank you .I will plant one Ang Mo Tan tree and name after you If they return me back one tenth of the carpark but Wait long long ah….Anyway if it is put into good use,I will be more happier.JTC i joking only hah.
26)Chua mui mui of the hong
Name sounds familiar to me
Good proposal but not all will understand the situation as there are always more workers than towkay….
That is why some use to claim that MOM ,CPF etc are pro employers.Most are not in the towkay’s shoe and never know how their towkay are being treated by the Authority ,how the towkay uses credit card to get advance loan middle of the night to make sure that the employee and the cpf are paid in time.
If you are speaking as an employee,I will say that you are definitely a good and understandable one.
If you are the towkay,then(except me) most will think you sure make money one and that your proposal is just to make more money.
Some times back I had said in one topic here that we should look into employer’s problem first.When the company survived,there is no need for employer to decide whether it is the FW or Singaporean workers to go first during this crises.
On reason I cited is the unnecessary regulation that may result in employer preferring getting FWs than locals.
There are many but if you talk about CPF then I will feel that the processing fees is among one of them .Company are encouraged to pay CPF by the E submission or they will have to pay a S$7.00 per employee if they choose to do it manually.For those small SME or towkay it is your duty to learn how to use computer and do it electronically and not by cheque or you just got to pay the so call processing fees..Towkay want to use cheque to pay and they say can ,only if you pay $7per head.Why need processing fees?Why can’t it be waived and company can just close down because of that if they are in arrears in this.How many companies cannot pay CPF in times as the Client dun pay them in times?
Gamen guarantee 23 billion?Which bank call up employer nowadays to see whether they need help?
Ay ..Ay..Ay..I am talking too much.Sorry
Bonnie
Based on my experience as a worker the MOM and CPF are on the side of the employers.
However, if any employer breach any law or rule and that you as a worker is smart enough you can press the officers of these places to act in accordance to the law. They will as they are dead scared to lose their iron rice bowl jobs.
As for me and based on my past actions I went to my MP and his short letters put fear into the garmen officers.
I once took SICC and it is the Island club to court as it cheated me and I won my case in the Labour Court and this landmark case was published as a news item in the Sunday Times. SICC felt very malu or boo bin.
But, few workers are smart and as sharp as the employers. After all, they have lawyers and HR people.
Even when you sit in the MOM office with the Labour Officer as the moderator and the employer and by now ex- opposite you the garmen fellow will tend to be on the side with the joker with money i.e. the employers. This is the time when you can turn on your engine and raise merry hell – Want to settle or not or go to Labour Court and I will call the press to cover the court case. The employer will be dead scared of the journalists and their newspapers. Settle. Pay up. You know how much to pay up. Then bang the table. Look fierce. It will work like magic. It has done for me. I am talking from my past experiences. If the employer wants to go to court, then better still because that joker is going to get adverse publicity.
Bonnie
Based on my experience as a worker the MOM and CPF are on the side of the employers.
However, if any employer breach any law or rule and that you as a worker is smart enough you can press the officers of these places to act in accordance to the law. They will as they are dead scared to lose their iron rice bowl jobs.
As for me and based on my past actions I went to my MP and his short letters put fear into the garmen officers.
I once took SICC and it is the Island club to court as it cheated me and I won my case in the Labour Court and this landmark case was published as a news item in the Sunday Times. SICC felt very malu or boo bin.
But, few workers are smart and as sharp as the employers. After all, they have lawyers and HR people.
Even when you sit in the MOM office with the Labour Officer as the moderator and the employer and by now ex- opposite you the garmen fellow will tend to be on the side with the joker with money i.e. the employers. This is the time when you can turn on your engine and raise merry hell – Want to settle or not or go to Labour Court and I will call the press to cover the court case. The employer will be dead scared of the journalists and their newspapers. Settle. Pay up. You know how much to pay up. Then bang the table. Look fierce. It will work like magic. It has done for me. I am talking from my past experiences. If the employer wants to go to court, then better still because that joker is going to get adverse publicity.
Bonnie

Hi good job TOC and TWC2 for highlighting the social grouses here.
I am sure the FWs are all very thankful that someone has spoken up on their behalf.
Take care.