Tuesday, December 23, 2008 11:07
Woman protests against DBS at Raffles Place
In Main Stories, Top Story • 4,501 views • 91 Comments
54-year-old cancer sufferer Lin Jin Jiao yesterday strapped a cardboard sign on herself and staged a protest against DBS Bank at Raffles Place during lunch hour. Lin had invested, and lost her retirement funds in the now-worthless DBS High Notes 5 (HN5) investment product. In her protest yesterday, she alleged that DBS Bank was guilty of mis-selling for investing her money in a high-risk venture (read the report here, read English report here.).
Click on picture to enlarge:
91 Comments
blackfeline
gemami
And we thought the old were the fearful ones. Desperation can show up one’s courage and true character. Very sad indeed. Right here in paradiso Singapore.
Overclock Singapore
Singapore big ambition to be biggest financial hub of the east got ito such a mess with consumer investment. Reuters, FT, CNN, please feature this 54 year woman plight with bank of singapore on your asian headlines.. :) uniquely singapore!!!
Too bad she’s a lone protestor.
I just came back from a trip from Mainland China, HK and Macau.
On my second full day in HK, I woke up the morning to South China Morning Post reporting about a group of elderly citizens, protesting the proposed hike in elderly transportation concessionary fares.
A full page report with photographs of elderly men and women carrying placards, sitting down (probably to broke a road or something) and using chopsticks and ricebowls to make noise.
Its an amazing sight. The streets of Mongkok are also rowdy with peaceful protests and performances by the Falun Gong.
I wonder if we ever see active citizenry here in Singapore in our time.
pigscanfly
i say this woman got more “balls” than a lot of us out there!….
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
investment really can make commoners poorer…
ELITEs do sinking funds investment also, correct?
do ELITEs get better returns on the investment latelt?
aiyoyo
ZL
This elderly got attention from dbs becos she protests at raffles place where there are many ang mohs around. She won’t get a cent back if she protested at a downtown’s dbs branch. That’s why i say this woman is smart, very very smart.
sad sia
sad lor … it makes us think deeper what has our life become in this nation.
Cancer
This is a solo effort by someone who is desperate and cheated of her hard-earned monies. It also demonstrate the pain & sorrow of the thousands of affected investors (especially the retirees). If the government & DBS are still not moved by their distress call for help & plight, I including all Singaporeans will never forget this episode….
Zeitgeist
Walter Woon! I dare you to try to charge her in court!
Last night at 10 pm, I took two pictures of a Chinese woman with an eight year old girl standing outside the Tampinese MRT station with tears in her eyes selling (begging?)tissue papers. A man passed by, then returned and gave her a $2 note.
I can’t be positive about the woman, but the eight year girl I guarantee you is 100% pure blooded Singaporeon! My heart cried……..What in the world is happening that she must be involved in this situation. She is supposed to be a valuable future resource of our first world country status! How will it affect her psychology in the future?
Is this our Golden Period? If TOC desires I can email the photos.
theonlinecitizen
Zeitgeist,
Yes, please do email the pictures to us, if you don’t mind.. theonlinecitizen@gmail.com
Thanks.
Andrew
moshedyan
now you all know
why
every morning
i hear sadness crying
on the same void deck in my castle
this are the neighbours i knew
from day 1
they all beleived in leekuanyew the day leekuanyew cried merdeka
till today
yet being broke
they still vote for leekuanyew
mocking @ the oppositions for being stupid
and if i am not cold enough
what is?
gemami
I including all Singaporeans will never forget this episode…. #9) Cancer,
Neither should we ever forgive them.
“DBS spokeswoman Karen Ngui said that it was never the intention of the bank to alienate any particular group. ‘DBS supports children and learning in Asia . . . it’s the cause that we are supporting and not FOTF, and or what it stands for,’ she said.”
http://www.asiaone.com/News/The%2BBusiness%2BTimes/Story/A1Story20081205-105856.html
Tew NS
more should come out and protest, see whether the police dare to catch them ?
Protest is illegal if more then 4 persons gather
Overclock Singapore
DBS CEO Richard Stanley also serves as a Director and Vice Chairman of The Islamic Bank of Asia Limited. Since he believe in islamic banking, certain investment products are banned from this kind of banking practice, such as this poor woman investment which wipe out all her $$ in a few months time. Can you please explain islamic banking over this bankrupt investment to all people who invested in this uniquely singapore bank?
JohnnyKid
Protests are often the LAST resort that a citizen can use to get his government to listen to his pleas.
The PAP bans protests SIMPLY because it makes their job easy. Not all that bull about scaring away investors, racial riots, dangerous, etc.
If you write letters to the press, see MP, etc, they can safely choose to ignore you. However if you protest on the streets, the government is forced to help you or use the police on you (gives poor public image).
isa
This shows that $$$ rules all.
People can stand up to fight for $$$. But ask them to fight for freedom of speech or right to democracy.. You can forget it.
Sign of the times
This is just the beginning. Usher in the new year with a long sigh, a big fall, and lots of lies from the PAP.
smallvice585
The people in the background look very indifferent.
don
It’s really sad.
No smug elites / minister / MPs offer to help.
DBS – Don’t Believe Smugs
Did this old lady “run”into a DBS bank with a bag of money after researching, reading the prospectus, understanding CDOs and CDSs, risk and return, and clamoured to invest in the High Notes? And the RM said to the lady, “It is caveat emptor, hor, auntie” . “Please sign here and tick ‘no advice option’
SZ
13) gemami
yesh, we shouldn’t forget and forgive them…and seeing this poor women really saddens me.
but what make her purchase this in the first place? i don’t think she was aware of the danger of this investment?
Dear OverclockSingaporean,
I am not a master in Islamic banking but from what I understand of it, generally Islamic banking prohibits” riba” or usury which is the lending or practice of lending money at an exorbitant interest. esp. in excess of the legal rate.
You can find a more comprehensive explanation of why such “mini bonds” are not allowed by Islamic Banking at the following link.
http://www.islamic-banking.com/ibanking/whatib.php
I hope you find this helpful.
sarek_home
I guess everyone should just follow her example.
DBS brings shame to itself and Singapore.
Overclock Singapore
* 24) st Lady on December 23rd, 2008 5.21 pm
Thanks st Lady,
Managed to find information on http://www.islamicbankasia.com.
Surprised, it belongs to DBS with so many familar directors :
His Excellency Abdulla Hasan Saif – Chairman
Mr. Richard D. Stanley – Vice Chairman
Mr. Khalid Abdulla Al-Bassam
Mr. Khalid Abdullah Al-Zamil
Mr. Andrew Buxton
Mr. Lee Hsien Yang
Mr. Abdullah Tarmugi
Ms. Jeanette Wong
Mr. Eric Ang
Now, I know difference between ethical and unethical banking practice.
Lee Kam L
with the support of the people putting in their life savings,
DBS prospered.
I hope DBS help her.
She has more guts than the rest of us.
Out of 10 000 investors who lost their life long savings,
only 10% signed a petition.
She definitely knows about fighting for herself.
She definitely knows that if she does not speak up for herself,
she might have to wait long long for someone to help her.
I pray that she does not get charged for speaking up for her hardearned money.
She is suffering more than most of us already.
Alas, life is all about black and white.
If someone falls sick and don’t have enough money for medical service,
he is less fortunate than a dog with an owner who can pay and pay for her medicals, food and lodging.
Buy car insurance, don’t use the insurance coverage if you do not want to lose your bonus and increase in your premium to pay the next year. If you switch insurance company after that, you may have to pay more premium also or worse, no one will cover you.
My message is Life is tough. no one owes us a living and thus we must learn to speak up for ourselves or when bad things happen to us, we may be left to fight darkness by ourselves as no one got time or is free to help you.
but if you rich, people all over wants to be your friend.
” Riba” is haram but interest is an economic tool just like a swiss knife. it can be used for good and bad. Usury is bad just like AH Long san is bad. It is a measure of economic rent , a yardstick like rate of return.
Is it because it can be put to bad use therefore it is evil? Then , there are many thing s we have to ban.,. A very prominent scholar once said ‘interest’ will continue to be used as a economic tool for progress. Progress cannot progress without the use of interest rate.. Bond measure is in interest or coupon and it is determined by demand and supply and therefore there is risk sharing or bearing. A rose by another name is still a rose.
Car Owner
Hope that the woman and more like her will keep on protesting there everyday. Just too much
jefj0901
This is so sad. I hope DBS can really open their eyes and help not only her but those with savings gone because of their mis-selling.
Like some of you said, she got “balls” doing this. Maybe it’s because all her retirement funds are gone and living in Singapore without savings for old age is just suicide. If it were to happen to me, I probably will do the same thing..
why
Even I showed that It would take > 15 years for me to earn back the money, I still rejected.
It is very clear that I wld not buy such product if I know of he risk. How can risk > 15 years of my earnings for 5% yearly return?
So it is not surprise so many people are being rejected.
KISS
I hope she gets her “compensation” through her antics.
This public display is direct and straight -forward, draws sympathy, attracts attention and effective. Reminds me of the acronym, KISS: Keep it simple, stupid.
She is a fine example of a true blue Singaporean, fighting for their rights, despite her illness.
If it works, it beats wayanging around around a grass-mound for weeks and no concrete resolution.
not a fan of mee siam
3) Overclock Singapore on December 23rd, 2008 11.48 am
Singapore big ambition to be biggest financial hub of the east …..
————————–
sorny hor, i think singapore may become the banking hub of the world
if millionaires and billionaires start to transfer money from Swiss banks, under pressure by USA, to here.
then again hor, secrecy rule means what huh? so secret for what?
what is there to secret?
oh, no let people know your money how much saved in bank here is it?
but why would people secret secret about their money in bank?
what sort of business they doing?
this TOC recommended link is interesting:
http://www.busrep.co.za/index.php?fSectionId=565&fArticleId=4770927
but if one fine day USA comes knocking on singapore banks ……
8-p
not a fan of mee siam
30) jefj0901 on December 23rd, 2008 8.40 pm
This is so sad. I hope DBS can really open their eyes and help not only her but those with savings gone because of their mis-selling.
——————-
90% of the investors-victims did not sign the petition. Does this mean just need to help the 10%? I think DBS should just help the 10% first, if at all. The rest does not seem to be bothered to sign a petition. maybe got some unpetitioned reason leh?
Lee K K
She limped and limped under the merciless sun
along raffles place
full of people
and people just watched
and nothing they can do
to help
someone suffering
and
its the season of giving…..
And all we can do (as always)
is watch this woman suffer in broad daylight.
trust me, no one would dare go near her.
’tis the season to be jolly…..
merry x’mas one and all , Singaporeans unique type.
Sign of the times
Recession? What recession?
No, no, that’s just an old lady whose lost her mind, right? People who protest like Dr Chee are psychopaths, right?
Right ST? Right PAP? Right LKY?
pain no gain
If she get compensated,you can be sureto see more people with placard in raffles place during lunchtime.
Here goes the Singapore brand…
Work so hard for so many years, but to see savings and Singapore washed down the drain…
What to do?
Protest for what? Those banks will probably just laugh at Singaporeans: Singaporeans so stupid, my problem?
You think a signboard will change anything…? Poor old woman.
Ap Peh
Don’t think u will not get affected.
Don’t feel happy / lucky when u are not affected this time round.
If such products are allowed to be sold here.
If such tactics are allowed here.
Sooner or later, u or yr friends / relatives may be the next victims.
anonymous
This poor woman definitely qualifies as a “vulnerable” investor for whom (according to ST report) DBS has already paid back the toxic investment. So, apparently even she has still not be repaid. It shows that you can’t trust our 154th newspaper. Don’t you believe the report that all vulerable investors have already been paid.
gemami
but what make her purchase this in the first place? SZ
Thanks for sharing the same sentiment, SZ.
As for what made her purchase the bombs, we should not even be asking the question in the first place. The rightful thing for the govt to do is to investigate if there is mis-selling. This alone will make all other questions invalid.
Is there mis-selling involved?
1. Yes; make the institutions foot the bill, account for and repay every cent owed.
2. No; Say it loud enough for all to hear. Wishy, washy statements that do not give a definite answer are not acceptable.
So you see, the answer has to be given, either in black or in white, not half black, half white.
I pray that she does not get charged for speaking up: Lee Kam L
I fear the authorities (Water Wound) might use her as a guinea pig to bring across the point they made that all are treated equally in the eyes of our kangaroo court; and; since they found it necessary to prosecute and charge the three kangaroo t-shirt guys, I fear they will also do the same to her. If not, how to disprove the glaring sentiments that our court is a kangaroo one?
Thanks 1st lady for the link on Islamic Bank and thanks too to Overcock Singapore for picking out the list of board members. It does tell a big story doesn’t it. Very much along the same line as Nepotism.
Here goes the Singapore brand indeed, Elfred.
Gilbert Goh
YA very sad when I saw this article but also admired her desperate plead for justice and intervention by the relevenat authorities.
She is unlike many of the minibond investors in that she dare to take up the issue by stating her rights clearly.
Maybe she needs the money to take care of her health.
Singapore remains the only country in the world affected by the minibond investment not to have take up the issue sternly with the authorities. This not only reveals a very cowardly society that could not take a stand for their own rights but also show that we are too individualistic for our own good.
Unity is strength in any collective show of force. When we stand together in numbers people take notice but when we stand alone we are already defeated.
Singapore will not progress with the way we take up the issue with the minibond investment. We already lost the civil consumer right to a fair trial when we could not even raise issue with clear wrongful mis selling.
SIngapore has all to lose and nothing to gain with such lousy consumer right and the way we move, we are not going to change much.
someday
heroine.
pay her back her money.
just ask the each minster to donate a tiny peanut each will be enough to save many more ppl like her.
Cm Liew
Holly shit..!
anonymous
This poor woman’s case would mark an important test whether DBS has got a heart to pay her for all the mis-selling and ill advice given to her.
She should be one of those vulnerable investors that DBS claimed to have already refunded their investments.
Let us see what is DBS’s response to know whether DBS still has a heart and a soul.
isa
No problem.. press report today..
tomorrow everyone forgets about the woman and dbs.
Life goes on as usual..
This is Singapore
any hints of double standards here by our police?
Isn’t it illegal to hold any form of protests?
why no arrests, or are they afraid of the backlash?
this old lady no threat to their “national security”?
come on, police, we need some answers. why the double standards?
disclaimer: i am not advocating any arrests and i do think if there is mis-selling, compensation needs to be made. at the very least, DBS should look into helping her find assistance with the relevant authorities or even out of their own pockets. look into giving her temporary loans or anything. what i am questioning here is: why the double standards?
sarek_home
47) me on December 25th, 2008 5.09 pm
any hints of double standards here by our police?
How about that Seelan Palay’s 5-day fast in front of the Malaysian High Commission and Dr Chee’s one-man protest outside the Istana? Can compare these two cases with the old lady’s action?
BeWary
Just Like what the name respresents
DBS
Don’t Bank on us for Safety – They lost the safe boxes in Dao Heng Bank
and peoples savings
Don’t Bank on us for Sound of Mind
Don’t Bank on us for Sense
pumpkin
DBS has received her complaint of mis_selling of the investment product and dismissed her complaint. She then took to the street to share her plight with the public.DBS has now promised to review her case. I wonder whether her appeal would be successful? Every one will be watching out for this case for the outcome.
ST
Where got justice if her case is not reviewed
Tan
I thought we in the golden period?
”
52) Tan on December 26th, 2008 12.07 am
I thought we in the golden period?
”
well, we are. who said we are not?
Enough of Griping
Yes very sad. But just because of her circumstances we should not be distracted and by misled by compassion instead of the validity of the claim – i.e. request for compensation.
Imagine all the equities players begging their exchanges to compensate them just because they have lost money in stocks in the global recession. Wise up.
redbean
i think she will stand a better chance of being compensated if she talks to the bank nicely. this kind of antics will not be tolerated. and if she dares sue then she might have to face the best legal minds money can buy.
my suggestion is for her to go to the bank and ask for help.
double whammy
if a person has no money or not enough money
and kenna injustice happen to him/her
no money to hire top lawyer against a tycoon who can easily do so,
HOW?
is this the kind of society to have?
have money have good lawyer?
no money leh ?
#54 Enough of Griping, you wrote:
Imagine all the equities players begging their exchanges to compensate them just because they have lost money in stocks in the global recession. Wise up.
Equities players like myself know the risks involved, so they are unlikely to beg for compensation if they have lost money in stocks. But these mini bonds and high notes are of a different category. During the past few years as the saving interests rates kept dropping, financial institutions were encouraging their clients to put their money into investments with better returns. I was approached many times. Fortunately, I did not put my money into these investments with my eyes wide open.
#55) redbean, you wrote:
I think she will stand a better chance of being compensated if she talks to the bank nicely. this kind of antics will not be tolerated. and if she dares sue then she might have to face the best legal minds money can buy.
She had already talked to the bank. Whether this kind of antics will or will not be tolerated will be decided by the authorities. To her, she believes this is her freedom of expression and she has nothing to lose. Should justice be decided by money. I am very sad for the kind of society we are becoming.
info
hi sarek_home @ post #48,
Seelan Palay went through a police investigation and interview after the protest and can be charged at any time.
As for CSJ, he usually goes through police interviews too. Not sure about his Istana protest but they’d gladly charge him I think.
So since there was no police arrest made, the question should be refined to, “Were her particulars taken down and will she be called in for a police interview?”
JUSTINVIN
The moral of this story is – if you leave your money with anyone be it a bank -instituion , friend or relative for safe-keeping or investment return – there is no gurantee of your monies return .
Anyone who gives gurantees or assurances on your deposits –
Don’t ever Beleive them !!!
ALWAYS REMEMBER YOU ARE YOUR BEST “SAFE” !!
moshedyan
[i]To her, she believes this is her freedom of expression and she has nothing to lose. Should justice be decided by money. I am very sad for the kind of society we are becoming.[/i]
don’t be suayed by certain talkco ck writers here
they also think
they can persuade the pap government to do their biddin
especially if the interest is connected to temasek inc…..
when i challenged the ntuc taxi matters over an erand cabby cab bully
it was published in the CHINESE newspaper with a bigger column than the honkie actress writeup but was never published in our 154th media..
i went to traffic police for a report
no actions was taken against the cabby nor ntuc inc
i even went to ntuc defence lawyer in cecil street
their lawyer
give me 1 piece of advise
try suing us/ntuc if you think that you are unfairly treated
can you afford the legal fees to start with?
so what is there to discuss/neogotiate with dbs bank?
who owned dbs bank?
Enough of Griping
Such antics should not be tolerated. Imagine if the entire Singapore population decides to emulate her. Law and order must be preserved.
JUSTINVIN
Enough of gripping “be superfluous don’t exaggerate”
She did not break the law or order – she is on cruthches !!
I comprehend her actions as a dire warning to all ” never part with your money when you are allured by bankers ar anyone else – they are there to deceive you
no one and nothing can protect any of your investments !!!
Truth of the matter – she was deceived and making it known publicly as an individually is a Great Deed “Indeed ” !!!
Sign of the times
Hey “Enough of Griping”, she never did this with an ideology or think of herself as a protester. She’s a desperate woman expressing her feelings, her sufferings. Who will go to help her? You? Maybe if you can settle her monetary needs for survival and cancer treatment then maybe you can advise her on what to do and what not to do.
In the times to come when the PAP does not help the people, and if the entire Singapore population decides to emulate her then that is only natural. We are human beings and we have feelings you know? We’re not robots to listen to laws that are in place to keep a certain all-white wearing party in power.
Let me quote something from Confucius, “The only ones who do not change are sages and idiots. – Confucius, c.400 BC.”
Enough of Griping
Ok, I am sorry for the transient lapse. Let me rephrase.
Such antics, especially for those on crutches, should not be tolerated. Imagine if the entire Singapore population decides to emulate her. Law and order must be preserved.
tiredsingaporeans
65) Enough of Griping on December 27th, 2008 11.13 pm
Try to imagine if this lady is you! what say you huh?
Enough of Griping
Don’t be so mean to me. I already apologised in 65) :(
tiredsingaporeans
I don’t meant to be mean but just trying to let you have a feel of whats its like if you are really in that same position of this lady, I mean we all after all human beings, right? no offense here.
DL
She’s brave but that properly is the only to get some justise. I wouldn’t mind to do likewise if necessary.
DL
Actually that should be just fine if you look at to how MAS has responded since the crisis begun, they simply shy away from their responsibility.
anonymous
No DL, don’t do as the poor woman did, because unlike her you are still young and healthy and they will put you in jail.
We need more people like you to stay out of jail to fight against social injustice.
JUSTINVIN
anonymous it is unanimous
This poor woman became poor because the banking cheats ripped her off !!
ANOTHER act of atrocity by the banks to fatten their pockets at the expense of this lady -made her to act to Question the integrity of our banks. Her act is the cheapest avenue to exhibit her agony and
should never be construed as a protest to spur public disorder !!
Why not arrest the bankers who provoked – engineered – collaborated
and coordinated the investment strategy so people part with the money -without any risk to the banks – only absolute profits for the Bankers at the expense of their clients – “Isn’t this a case of cheating ” ???????
” where is the duty of care to your clients “!!!!!
” Are banks Licensed to be Rip offs ” !!!!!!
Roderic Sng
When others kenna misfortune,
the onlookers criticise easily saying oh she deserve it, signed the contract.
have they looked at possible mis-selling?
when people themselves kenna, then they know.
no one would dare to go near her to help her.
people just watched the show.
this is our society?
JUSTINVIN
A deceptive contract is not a binding contract –
This is CLEARLY a case of allurement to cheat to profit .
@Redbean: Try base your contract on an offence and see how. Hahahahahaha…
Kanga neos
74) JUSTINVIN on December 28th, 2008 4.17 pm
there was this guy calling himself the ‘banker’ who got the wrong understanding
that signing a legal contract means can get away with mis-selling, assuming there is indeed found to have mis-selling.
i pitty him but realise
that many who are not able to analyse well fall into this trap.
they are easily prey to MLM and pyramid products and pressure selling etc, unfortunately.
Trust has to be earned. Don’t trust anyone blindly.
JUSTINVIN
Draw up a contract to deceive than MISrepresent to mis-sell – so you can cheat to profit.- just ensure
with the best counsel of lawyers -enforce it as a binding contract .
@ Redbean isn;t this an offence and a crime – Surely the integrity of government – Courts and Banks are at stake – “Deter or Encourage” This is no laughing matter !!.
Kanga never trust BankerS they are there to ” RUT AND RUIN YOU” !!!!!
29/12/08
Dear Gilbert Goh & Gemani
Very sad indeed and this old lady has to bear the full blame as GREED got into her (I had my fair share and lost more than S$30Million plus during the 1997 Asian Financial Crisis).
Where is Bondholder Hero Tan Kin Lian now (he has been very silent for sometime) and his promise to help these 10,000 bondholders
Regards
Andrew Chuah
ML
I saw this lady, next to DBS branch near Golden Shoe. V pitiful…
The State probably has not taken custody of her because she might need to incur expensive medical treatment… then govt pay. not gd for govt coffers.
30/12/08
Hi ML *79-Good suggestion. The Ministry of Health should thoroughly investigate her case and if this is true, MOH must bear all the treatment for her (just a very minute drop of our GDP and as I have written, those Singaporeans who genuinely deserve help and all the help must be provided by our Government, perhaps our Bond Hero Tan Kin Lian can help by offering to pay for her cancer treatment initially and hence we Singaporeans can really see that he is all out to help these 10,000 bondholders whom majorities are Uncles and Aunities including this lady stricken with cancer.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
Andrew chuah
Stop bragging about your $30 mil loss. Please donate $200K to this lady or shut up.
It sounds like broken long playing record back in the sixties. Stale already, lah..$30 mill was peanuts or green nuts or japanese notes
minibombed
#81 goingnuts reading his brags
Andrew Chuah’s callous remarks on Mdm Lin & calling her to take the full blame is not surprising.
He had already repeated his brags many times.
For the benefits of those who missed them, this is a summarised version.
He claimed to lose >$30 million in a fraudulent investment scheme. Lost related case in a FOREIGN court because the judges were corrupted & his own lawyers took bribes.
Really Sneaky. If he had bragged that the court case was in S’pore, he can be hauled up by the S’pore police.
Yesterday I lost 50 million at the majong table but it was nothing, only 50 mil. Can make it back in the next game. On second thought i better give some to charity and count it lost again.
JUSTINVIN
83) !!!!!!!!!!!
No mention of $$$ he must have pissed 50 mil on the table !!!
You Stink !!! Don’t forget to wash your rear End .. Drew & Spear
hohapata tariana hoi hoi
This plucky lady’s protest means that the fight must go on and on and forever and ever and ever.
This is the war cry of the Maoris at Orakau Pa in NZ in 1864 as they ran to the bush to avoid being annihilated by the canons of the British troops.
They are still protesting.
In the 1950s a whole group of Maoris in their traditional flax skirts or piu piu turned their backs, stoop down and bared their bottoms at the train that was ferrying the Queen of England., who was on a grand tour of NZ. This is the greatest Maori insult. Nothing happened to the protesters. Take action against them! The land belong to the Maoris.
Then it happened again and that was a few years ago. The white NZ government again did nothing. Why?
What will the PAP do to this woman? I bet it will do nothing because it is dead scared of stirring up a hornets nest. The whole Singapore public will be against the EElite and the Mandarins on their white horses.
The fight must go on and on and on and let us be inspired by our fellow human beings, the Maoris. ake ake ake ake
hohapata tariana hoi hoi
85) hohapata tariana hoi hoi , you wrote:
‘What will the PAP do to this woman? I bet it will do nothing because it is dead scared of stirring up a hornets nest. The whole Singapore public will be against the EElite and the Mandarins on their white horses. ‘
A well-written comment. I hope we don’t have to wait another 50 years to realise that her brave act was the beginning of the end to the ban on public demonstrations.
78) Andrew Chuah &
83) End Drew & Spear
Please don’t use this blog space for your exaggerated comments. My apologies if your claims are true.
MOM sit in
intesrting how 200 China workers can sit in at MOM and get their rights reinstated, but 1000 Singaporeans cannot pay a visit to DBS…. These Singaporeans have no rights??
Andrew Chuah,
you a were very greedy, unsavvy and vulnerable and that is why you lost $30 millions, You entered with your eyes closed shut.
on second thought , dunno real or not that you lost so much.Got so much why greedy for more?
MAS screwed up. Looking fro a scapegoat.
Secret
Just cannot believed it! Trusted source told me that DBS is paying some of their staffs 9 months of bonus for 2008 secretly! What a shame!
JUSTINVIN
Secret on February 13th, 2009 1.16 pm Just cannot believed it! paying some of their staffs 9 months of bonus for 2008 secretly!
THEY ARE THERE – TO CONVINCE – CON – RUIN AND BANKRUPT YOU !!
THIS IS KNOWN AS FINANCIAL ENGINEREEING !!
- COLLOBRATED – DESIGNED -CO-ORDINATED TO RIP YOU OFF AND THEN HELP THEMSELVES TO FAT PAY PACKETS AND BONUSES .
IS THERE A DISTINCTION BETWEEN – CHEATS – THIEVES AND BANKERS ??
I WISH I COULD STUFF $ 100 BILLS UP THEIR REAR END AND DOWN THEIR THROATS SIMULTANEOUSLY !!!!!

very sad…..sigh