Tuesday, January 13, 2009 13:11
“I hope Singapore government punish them”
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 4,187 views • 77 Comments

Story by Andrew Loh / Pictures by Damien Chng
“My wife crying, my mother crying, my father crying,” Delowar said to me when I asked him if he had told his family that he was returning to Bangladesh. “Everything I lost,” he added. “I lost my father’s land.” For the second time since I have met him, his eyes turned red as tears threatened to fall. He had sold his father’s land and borrowed from the bank to raise S$9,000 to come to work in Singapore.
In the end, he is paid a measly S$600 to bring home with him.
We were seated in the foodcourt at Changi Airport where 24 Bangladeshi workers were awaiting their flight home. Seven more will go home on Tuesday (13 Jan). Earlier in the morning, the 24 men were ferried to the airport in two lorries, they told me. “No bus? No coaches?” I asked. “No coach, no bus,” Delowar replied.
And apparently also no lunch was catered for them either. In fact, their “boss” had told them the night before that there were to be no meals for them today, the men said. It was 11.30am and the men had been at the airport for an hour – without knowing which flight they were to be on, or the time of their departure. It seemed that they were dumped at the airport without any information or instructions at all.
There was also no sign of their employer, or anyone from the company. “No one,” Delowar told me when I asked about this. “No boss. Only lorry driver. Two lorry, two driver,” he said.
Surely they were given breakfast, I thought. “No breakfast,” came his reply. Their passports were also still being held by their employer.
It was only at about 1.30pm that a certain “Michael Choo” appeared. He had on a polo t-shirt which bore the name “Halcyon Offshore”. He was speaking with the workers when Delowar, Ramananda and I walked up to him, with 20 packets of rice for the workers. Mr Choo asked me who I was, I being only one of two Chinese among the group, the other being my TOC colleague and photographer, Damien Chng. “I am from The Online Citizen,” I answered. He looked bewildered for a moment. Then he asked me again. “I am a Singaporean helping them,” I offered. He didn’t look very happy.
A little later, he said he was not going to speak to me and asked if I could leave him alone to speak with the men. I asked, “Why so secretive?” His answer, “If you’re talking to your wife, would you want others to listen in?” I thought that was the strangest thing to say. I replied, “But they [the workers] are not your wife.” He looked away. He said something and asked if I understood. I said no, I did not understand. He then turned to the workers and asked them to have their lunch first – a lunch which he did not buy them – and that he would speak with them later.
After lunch, which the men ate at the waiting area of the airport, Mr Choo started handing out the rest of the money to them. (They had been paid part of what was owed them a few days earlier.) It was then that I could see the disappointment in the workers as they received the few hundred dollars from Mr Choo. Some told me that they had borrowed thousands but now have only a few hundred dollars.
Soon, the men had to check in their luggage. As I spoke further with them, one of them told me, “Singapore government must make sure company have work then let people come.” He couldn’t understand why the government here would allow recruitment agencies to bring in so many workers and leave them in dormitories for months without so much as a day’s work. The only consolation I could offer them was to tell them that the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) is going to charge some employers, according to reports from news media yesterday. When they heard this, they just shook their heads and smiled. “Too late [for me],” one of them said.
Abdul Wahab, who had arrived in Singapore on the same day as Delowar, some four months ago, was deeply disappointed. “I sell land, sell family gold, come Singapore,” he said. “Now, nothing. Pay $8,000 come. Now $300 go back,” he said as he showed me the three $100 notes in his hand. Ramananda, too, was given three $100 notes as the final payment for the months spent here in Singapore, clearly disgusted with his employer. (Picture left).
In the foodcourt, during lunch, Delowar told me that his dream was to build a primary school in Bangladesh, in his district of Tangail. I asked how many students the school would have. “400 to 500,” he replied. “That’s a lot of students,” I said. He smiled. Then he hung his head. “I come Singapore, make money, go home build school,” his trembling voice evident. He had been a teacher before he arrived here. “Now, I cannot.”
I told him not to give up and promised that I would visit him in Bangladesh a few months from now. That lit up his face – and that of Ramananda, who was seated with us. “You come, I go airport meet you,” Ramananda said. “You stay my house,” he urged. “His house in jungle!” said Delowar. We laughed. I said I did not mind the jungle. Ramananda explained that his home was in a tea plantation. “Tea everywhere!” he said. “My family, my father, my mother, will happy you come.” It was decided that I would visit Delowar first as his home was nearer the capital, Dhaka, and then visit Ramananda, who lived 5 hours away in the district of Moulovibazar.
When the men had finished checking in, it was time for them to enter the departure gates. Ramananda said to me in his halting English, “I English no good. Cannot say [what I feel]. You understand can [already].” I told him I understood what he is feeling and asked him to continue his automobile work which he was doing before he came to Singapore. He promised that he would.
It is the end of their collective journey here in Singapore – but a new set of problems is facing them when they land in Bangladesh airport a few hours later.
As I bade them goodbye, I realized that it must have been a torture or at least a very difficult decision for them to make to sell their land which, in some cases, had been in their families for generations – in order to pursue a better life for themselves and their loved ones. Land, in a country such as Bangladesh, undoubtedly holds much more meaning than perhaps it does for us here in Singapore.
Two days before, I met Delowar over dinner. I said to him then, “Do not hate my country. There are good people,” I said, “and there are bad people.” He smiled and told me that he did not hate Singapore.
He just hated how he and his friends were treated.
“Thank you,” Delowar (picture right) said to me at the departure gates of Changi Airport. “I didn’t do anything much,” I replied. He smiled and shook my hand and gave me a hug. Then he said, “Employer clever.” I did not understand at first but then I realized he was referring to how he felt his employer had cheated them. I told him to not think of this sad episode and to work hard and fulfill his dream of building a school for his town. But the sadness in his eyes told me that he was resigned but upset with his employer as he heaved a sigh and turned to enter the gates of the departure hall. He looked to me one last time and said:
“I hope Singapore government punish them.”
——-
Note: The 24 who went home are part of an original 36 who had made complaints to MOM about their employer. 5 went home last month, and the remaining 7 are to go back to Bangladesh on Tuesday, Jan 13. All 36 who complained are now back in Bangladesh.
——–
Read also:
The story of Delowar by Deborah Choo.
Mega development projects and labout supply chains – whose responsibility is it? by Stephanie Chok.
Sent home with $600 by Deborah Choo.
——-
77 Comments
gemami
babu
Hi,
After reading this excellent article, my eyes swelled with tears.
I urge Employers who have been enjoying the very pro business policies here
to have a heart for these workers.
employers, you have been enjoying the policies, now please pay and pay our migrant workers.
else, I not happy with you.
need2change
I agree with u gemami, the primary source of the problem lies with the sg gov and if they somehow implement stringent rules on the selection and not let anyone come in as and when they want, all for the sake of earning more labour tax for their never ending spending spree.
the rest of the sg generation will not be made to pay the sins, this is something many of us have never participated in. some of these people will probably go back home with so much hatred for this country and her people this will be xtremely detrimental to singaporeans who are pretty much innocent of these crimes.
berndy
These bosses are worse than beast. Even to their last day, they can’t even give them a proper meal and brief them properly? It is sad that this article didnt get to the mainstream news (whose attention seems to be on certain elites only)
Boo… So ashamed to be a Singaporean
SZ
I hope these people will go back to their country and spread the message of the plight that they have to endure in Singapore, so that others won’t follow their mistakes.
Alex
Thanks Andrew & Damien for putting up this story & letting us know how much these workers have suffered since landing on our shores. I really hate it when we boast how well we do in Maths & Science & how many scholars top the list in various Universities around the world & yet we do all sorts of nasty things to our fellow human beings. Sigh……not just to these bunch of workers but to the maids too.
The richer we got, the poorer our souls have become!
gemami
#3) need2change,
I’d like to relate a story told to me recently.
This friend of mine took part in some social work in the Philippines, which was a tie up with some of the welfare organisations there; and part of the activity required them to walk through the slump dwelling place of the locals there.
While passing a small makeshift food stall, one Filipino stood up, noticing the Singapore flag being carried by this group of social volunteers, and enquired if they were from Singapore.
When they replied that they were indeed from Singapore, what happened next came as a shock to them. The man who made the enquiry, turned on them and spat at their faces, while cursing them and our government over something which was not coherent to the group.
This is one reason why I asked the question above; who will pay for the sins of this govt?
X
This is a very saddening plight. Their predicament can only be understood by none but themselves. If only more Singaporeans would come to know of this tragic chapter happening right in the middle of their country.
It is stories like these that we must see in our daily read. It is the lives of these people that unions must care for.
I feel disgusted that something like this could be hidden away in our States Times.
I feel nothing but pity for our government. For in their life they’ve known nothing but greed. When they lie old, frail and weak, they’ll know that all the money in the world wouldn’t save them.
anonymous
“He couldn’t understand why the government here would allow recruitment agencies to bring in so many workers and leave them in dormitories for months without so much as a day’s work.”
Yes! why indeed MOM? Have you lost control over the wild influx of anybody into Spore?
Andrew Loh
I am concerned about the consequences of sending those who complained back to their home country. One of the consequences is that this instils fear in the rest of the workers. They would not complain for fear of being sent home.
Also, some Chinese workers here are made to sign contracts which say that if they complained, they would have to pay money to the company. One contract even said that the worker has to pay the company S$100 if he complained and the company had to spend time in “meetings” to resolve the complaint.
In the end, the workers don’t complain or voice out their ill-treatment.
Some workers also told me that their employers would beat them if they complained. Of course the employers don’t do this themselves. They hire thugs to beat up the workers.
So, for MOM to see this as just plainly a “salary dispute” issue is missing the woods for the trees.
There are many many instances of abuse, of coercion, of unfair contracts, etc which MOM needs to look into. For the range of issues itself, MOM should be setting up a dedicated team to look into this.
Muhamad Nur
This incident is the very reason why minimum wage should be implemented in Singapore. Everyone who works here should have a reasonable wage not only to be sent home to their country but also to enjoy an acceptable standard of living while working here. I am truly disgusted by MOM for being so heartless in matters related the the poor working class. Singaporeans, please wake up. You have got to change this “system” which is destroying our very soul of being human.
Daniel
How much levy does this worker pay to the government through the employer ?
Another case of freaking CAVEAT EMPTOR of the gov’s mindset ? Foreign Workers Beware ?
This is a much more meaningful article than has been the case for a long time. While S’pore could be more stringent in allowing in foreign workers n in licensing recruiters, how could we educate the foreign workers in their home countries, if they are naive, gullible and desperate? Remember the childhood fairy story of Dick Whittington who thought the streets of London were paved with gold?? Some of the people coming here must believe the same of S’pore too. One point you may usefully pursue is to see if any of the foreigners employed here under EP are not qualified to be EP holders? Why don’t u push for more stringent criteria in addition to the amount of salary paid?
kevin
I will NOT visit the IR, if i can help it. I feel sorry for these ppl. Apparently, i feel that many Sporeans dun really feel for these ppl.
They are being cheated, just to build grand infrastructures for us. They are being abused, and its very difficult for us to feel how they feel. Cos most of us will never really understand how it feels.
We are so ignorant of what’s going around us. I told a few friends abt all these happenings, and they looked at me bewildered.
I say Sporeans, wake up. Remember and respect these ppl who have sacrificed a lot and got nothing but shattered dreams.
I will try and boycott whatever it is that are made here that was made out of abusing ppl.
Kevin
This is a very good story. Well done. Hope that more would read it.
sarek_home
9) anonymous on January 13th, 2009 3.48 pm
“He couldn’t understand why the government here would allow recruitment agencies to bring in so many workers and leave them in dormitories for months without so much as a day’s work.”
The answer on the book is that MOM requires employers to show there is jobs for the foreign workers before approving the applications. The case here clearly shows that the checking failed. Read the following:
http://siewkumhong.blogspot.com/2008/11/opq-21-october-2008-employment-of.html
But the only one to be blamed will be the employer. Will MOM admit failing in checking against the submitted information? We all know the answer, right?
Goondo
Unfortunately, the news did not get into the mainstream. There are still many people out there who is not aware of the sufferings these foreign workers are being put through.
This is a problem with selective reporting, I hope there should be other ways and means to pass the information.
kopitiam
There goes our foreign talents.
anonymous
MOM Gan -”The number of foreign workers that came to MOM each year to seek assistance for salary arrears has remained low at less than 0.2% of foreign workers on average”.
Really? If all of them were to gather in front of MOM and pour out their grievances would it still be 0.2% and will they all be arrested for criminal trespass like those two?
Only the tip of the ice-berg is seen. For a highly-paid civil servant to give this sort of naive answer is pathetic.
John Richards
Yes, a convenient end to the whole shameful episode. Our government is only too eager to be rid of the problem. The employer should be made to pay the workers for everyday they spent in his employ – whether or not there was work. I am certain someone is running a racket and employers must be a part of it. It is a logical to think so. Why else would an employer bring in foreign workers when he has no work for them? Does anyone have an answer?
Zeitgeist
This kind of deplorable treatment happened to them because they came from a country called Bangladesh and not CHINA!!!!!!!
Now they will understand about bullying tactics by something that is presumably admired by the rest of the world!!!!!!!
babu
15) Parka on January 13th, 2009 5.40 pm
This is a very good story. Well done. Hope that more would read it.
—====—
unfortunately, only non-apathetic people (just a few thousand out of 4.5 mil) read such things.
the apathetics read msm.
so, unless such news is published in msm.
i donche know since i rarely pay n pay for news.
to save money to pay n pay
the rising costs.
babu
to clarify, non-apathetics also read msm news.
just my 2 cents.
skin graf
in pro-biz country,
its very easy to employ foreign workers.
the problem is when there is no job for them after
they sold their land to come here.
china people also have similar stories.
what will happen to the employers causing the grieve?
i not sure. i ask myself, can they just cite due to change of business decision?
but i am sure if a person inherits wealth , he no need slog like this.
meaning, when born, just by being born, already inherit an ELITE lifestyle.
skin graf
oh yeah, can cite Global Economic Financial Tsunami as reason ?
and then move on ?
isa
Wow , Andrew!
You have wrote a very touching narrative story. I think this writing style suits you more than trying to write an opinionated article.
Keep it up!
m
Great article Andrew~ A very in depth, concise, meaningful, relevant and emotional article. Its articles like this that make me feel disgusted when the mainstream media choose not to focus on meaningful issues and report instead on things in the past like PM Lee’s second son commissioning from OCS or rescued Dugongs celebrate 12th birthday. Such news is frowned upon when there is nothing else to report and when there is actually something else to report is it just plain wrong.
The mainstream never probes into anything of concern to the country, be it Mas Selamat, ministerial pay hikes, the poor etc.
Stringent foreign worker recruitment criteria is good for the locals as well as the foreigners.
tiredsingaporean
20) John Richards on January 13th, 2009 6.13 pm
Yes, a convenient end to the whole shameful episode. Our government is only too eager to be rid of the problem. The employer should be made to pay the workers for everyday they spent in his employ – whether or not there was work. I am certain someone is running a racket and employers must be a part of it. It is a logical to think so. Why else would an employer bring in foreign workers when he has no work for them? Does anyone have an answer?
Once the people at the top is only interested in making $$$, the chain will just follows, everyone starts making their own easy $$$ through their so called connection from one to the other within the system. So when things go wrong, these people just cover up their own ass, simple as that. This is Singapore today! You want to change the system then start changing the people up there.
magus
I’m bewildered and flabbergasted how this can happen in a supposedly First World country. Can companies actually hire foreign workers and not have a ready job for them when they are here? Timing issues aside, I thought manpower planning is a critical aspect of the construction industry which relies heavily on manpower?
I hazard a guess that somewhere somehow, someone’s fat oily wallet is at stake. Hence it is better to fulfill the side of the bargain to bring the foreign workers here, promising jobs then to renege on the contract because $$ had changed hands.
Afterall, such there are no legislation in place to deter such practices, it means such a practice can be condoned and is within the ‘grey limits’ of the law. I’m just wondering how can the government miss such a thing?
If the companies responsible and the relevant authorities are not feeling ashamed, I am.
Hi Andrew,
Thanks for being a true human being.
Treating migrant workers and domestic workers as less than humans has not place in any country – esply one that aspires to be a first world country!
Keep up the good work!
Loyola
Someone along the way forgot that bad impressions given to ordinary citizens of other nations, may have a long-lasting, substantial effect on how we are perceived.
Perception is a potent tool.
JohnnyKid
Why are my posts placed under moderation?
tiredman
Come on this is Singapore. Foreigners took the risk to come here and work. This is their choice. I am too struggling for survival. So do my fellow Singaporeans. I don’t think I really have the time to think about foreigners. It is not that I am selfish. It is the environment that makes me believes that most people in Singapore will show no mercy unless the “victims” belong to the super unfortunate (i.e. local that are poor, ill and disabled) group. Singapore is a place where the fittest will survive. Do you remember, welfare is a dirty word?
Let’s turn the table around; will they help us when we go hungry? Would the foreigners just leave if Singapore were to collapse over the night?
How about this issue: Elderly is now being encouraged to work while can. Will I expect another stunning policy from the govt? I don’t know. It is good to plan out a contingency plan before it is too late. There are just too many uncertainties. If I do not plan for my retirement, 35 years down the road, I may be seen as a burden to the country. This signal being sent to me is rather clear.
What probably the most concern issues are the one that will affect Singaporeans. Especially the younger/older generation of Singaporeans in the future.
Back to the point, I still believe that foreigners that come to Singapore to work are mostly due to greed and should leave it to the govt to solve this problem the govt created.
To be able to help others, we must be able to help ourselves first. This is just my opinion.
I will continue to support TOC to post news that is/ won’t be reported in the local newspaper.
JohnnyKid
Pecking Order of People in Singapore:
1. Elites in government (e.g. Ministers) and business (e.g. C.K. Tangs boss)
2. Associates of Elites (scholars, upper class)
3. White people from 1st world countries
4. Elites from influential developing countries (e.g. China, India)
5. Rich people or professionals without connections (e.g. rich bosses, doctor)
6. Foreign average joes from influential developing countries (e.g. students, professionals from China, India)
7. Foreign average joe citizens from non-influential countries (e.g. Malaysia, South Africa, Brazil, etc)
8. Foreign labourers from China and India
9. Singapore average joe citizens
10. Foreign labourers from non-influential countries
Anonymous
“All 36 who complained are now back in Bangladesh.”
Does anyone else feel the PAP elitism in that statement?
theonlinecitizen
Johnnykid,
Please post the comment only once and not repeat them in other articles as well. Thanks.
ashamed
This whole episode, and many others that are still unfolding are something that we as Singaporeans should be ashamed of. The workers are hit by all sides, the lax regulations, the pro-business attitude of the Singapore government, the lack of social care for foreign workers and the exploitative nature of some ugly employers.
I assume these workers are here with valid work permits. How can one obtain a valide work permit without demonstrating with reasonable assurance that these workers are here becuase there is a vancy for each worker. It is a common practice for many countries to ask for this proof as a minimum requirment. Also, some of the TOC reports suggest that work permits are obtained by employment agencies rather than employers, if this is the case, then it surely must be put right as job agencies by their nature would tend to go for more work permits to maximise their financial incentives.
The government lax attitude in issueing workpermits makes one wonder about the motivation behind it. Is it the incentives to collect levy from the employers? Is it to lower the business cost (without realising the associated high social cost which the government is not willing to acknowledge nor tackle)?
We do not factor in social responsibility of having such a large number of foreign workers in our midst. Therefore they are not supported, and are vulnerable.
Finally, the employers and/or job agencies are free to hire and fire, even involving the police to arrest these workers. Shame on us!
I spy with my little eyes
Very sad…….
A modern day Slave trade? A teochew saying “bully no legs craps”.
Really really very sad…… why have we gotten into such a ruthless society?…
JohnnyKid
33) tiredman
Your desire to take care of yourself first is understandable. However, do you realise that by turning a blind eye to abuses of foreign workers, you are in fact hurting your own interests?
1. Since Singaporeans like you don’t mind these foreigners being abused, employers will continue hiring more foreigners who take low pay, work long hours, don’t complain, and can be abused emotionally and physically. AKA modern slaves. Singaporeans will be passed over for jobs in favour of these modern foreign slaves.
2. Since Singaporeans think it is alright to be abused, so more OT, less pay for you! Be prepared to work longer hours for less money. Not happy? I sack you and hire a foreigner to do your job. MOM won’t be able to help you, and you shouldn’t expect them to as you have similarly turned a blind eye to others.
3. Mass import of unqualified cheap desperate foreign workers since they are so cheap to hire and fire! Overpopulation problems, social problems and crime.
JohnnyKid
I did not want to post anything twice.
I first posted it at http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/01/2-arrested-for-protest/
My post came out, but after that you put it under moderation (which is as good as deleting it) and I had to repost it here.
I am not here
Excellent writing by Andrew.
Cheers!
tiredman
From my previous post:
“To be able to help others, we must be able to help ourselves first. This is just my opinion.”
To clarify: “Others” refers to foreigners and “ourselves” refers to Singaporeans.
tianhua
It is indeed sad for the foreign workers to sell off so much of their properties and go home of a fraction of it. This seemed to be a common problem here in Singapore, some companies advertising jobs, but the workers ended up with nothing. This should really be something that the Singapore Government must look into urgently, or else it will affect Singapore’s economy, and not forgetting to mention the pain the workers had when they had to sell off so much, but came back with bare minimum, or even close to nothing.
Andrew Loh
Zeitgeist,
It happens to the Chinese workers as well. TOC will feature the Chinese workers and their situation in the next few days.
Andrew
Daniel
“I’m bewildered and flabbergasted how this can happen in a supposedly First World country. Can companies actually hire foreign workers and not have a ready job for them when they are here? ”
Why not as long as the heartless employer and the government get to earn monies from the foreigner ? Don’t you now know our gov very well now ? As long as there is money to be made by the gov and their pro-business policy, it is CAVEAT EMPTOR to the victim, and you die your business.
Komnenos
Having a pro-business government to back them up, I’m sure the businesses here will just keep on repeating this over and over again. There are no genuine trade union here in Singapore that will help the workers (NTUC Is not counted. They’re more like a front for the government)
gemami
#20) John Richards
The employer should be made to pay the workers for everyday they spent in his employ – whether or not there was work. I am certain someone is running a racket and employers must be a part of it. It is a logical to think so.
I agree, and on top of this, there are a few other things this govt can do, even though these workers have already returned home.
The first and foremost is to bring criminal charges against those who brought them here with promises of employment when there was clearly none.
Next is to return all monies collected by these agents or businesses to the workers, not one cent less, but with accrued interests for the months these monies were were handed over to the agents.
Third, for these businesses to pay the workers their salaries for every month they had lived in Singapore, whether with or without work.
Fourth, an additional amount to be decided by the courts, to be paid to each of these workers, for the trauma and abuse they had undergone and suffered.
These punishments will go a long way to protecting the image and reputation of Singapore as a developed 1st world country. It will also serve as a real deterent against future abuse by companies and agents that hire foreign workers.
What the govt is doing now is just for show. This is a government that whores itself out to businesses to increase share price for Singapore Inc.
Before long, you will see that things are back to ‘normal’ again.
Shirley Cheok
Thanks Andrew, it’s a very well-written and heartrending piece. Thanks to TOC for providing the platform. I find this a much more stimulating read than our daily State Times. As much as they hope our govt will punish those wicked employers, I too hope that our people will WAKE UP to the incompetence of our govt.
thong of the thong
I am glad our leaders are helping the jobless.
there is this WCA thingie which stands for Work Care Agent.
they put many notice on HDB notice boards of aljunied grc .
they kindly displayed the message “Need a job? Let us help you!”
just a pitty, I emailed them the mail got error.
apparently the email address given is wrong.
I went to http://www.aljuniedgrc.sg/Care.php and found the email is also stated the same. but the email address seems wrong given this gmail error message:
the Mail Delivery subsystem error message is :
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:
wca.aljuniedhougang@gmail.com
the following url shows the email address in the website:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/34347053@N03/3196151186/
I hope they rectify this. many jobless may need the help.
1. why use gmail and not official email wca@xxxxxx.sg?
2. why the email could not get through and still so long already, the many hdb notice boards still showing the same error email?
i no no leh. i really really the no no leh.
Quitter from Singapore
The problems are:
1. You do not have a government and political system that is accountable to the people.
2. You do not have journalists. Full stop. You DO not have a media. You only have people who write and publish some words on paper.
3. You now no longer have choices and options in choosing another political system. All opposition has been destroyed, snuffed out and JB died recently too. And hence it may be too late.
tiredman
39) JohnnyKid
Assuming the govt is pro-company. A higher wage of the foreigners will translate to a higher construction cost. Given that all companies are all profit maximiser, which will translate to a higher cost of living. In the end, all the costs will be shouldered by all Singaporeans which include the poor. Means solving a problem and creating another problem.
If the system doesn’t change, we will never see the balancing effect (company v.s. govt v.s.workers) . The status of companies and govt will remain fixed. The losing party will sure be either the locals or the foreigners (workers). Would this result to a crazy wage cycle that might be created between locals and foreigners?
Amused
Eh, with the employers paying “practically nothing” for their labourers, what “high costs” are we talking about here? The cost of padding up their own wallets?
TOC Expose: Repatriation companies : The Online Citizen - a community of singaporeans
[...] “I hope Singapore government punish them” by Andrew Loh. [...]
ashzley
A travesty! We need to enact more employee protection laws. All this companies have no regard for humanity. I can’t believe MOM didn’t do much. These greedy employers and agents only care about money.
JohnnyKid
52) tiredman
I wasn’t asking government to implement a minimum wage for foreign workers. Do reread my post.
What you are saying is worrying – that it is alright to have foreign workers treated like slaves as long as our costing of living is kept low.
Its really a loophole in the Spore govt, esp MOM, when it comes to employing foreign white-collar workers. They may not be as fortunate as fellow Sporeans, but they do have dignity and a family to raise back in their hometown.
donate
Hi Andrew,
If you are really going to visit them, perhaps we can collect some money for them to help them get back on their feet again.
This is the least that we can do, I think.
theonlinecitizen
donate,
Tentatively, it will either be in April or June this year. I would be more than happy to help distribute any donations to them. :)
I just heard that Delowar is having a very tough time at home. Sigh… I can only imagine what he is going through. I will be calling him soon to find out what’s going on..
Andrew
Boobytrap
The plight of the foreign workers is not new. This has been happening since the day the Singapore government imposed the levy system.
Many are gone unpublished.
MOM has put up posters in areas where foreign workers mingle and tell them to report if they are not paid. Many of them do but the end result is still the same. No one take a concerted effort to understand these workers problems, including MOM. These cheated workers return home with a heavy heart and face insurmountable burdens. Some even committ suicide, whilst their ex-bosses here still drive around in Mercedes Benz. The only solution is to abolish the levy system, which I think the local government wiil not do because the income through that is substantial. So until then more foreign workers will suffer. Never ending story.
high five
Wow, TOC, trying to use a touching story to stir up anti-gahmen feelings hah?
black kettle
Wow, TOC, nice try at using a touching story to exploit people’s emotion to stir anti-PAP feelings.family too?
Nice try for deleting my comments for the 3rd time!
Boobytrap
This article has nothing to do with inciting hatred towards the Government or PAP, as claimed by high five and black kettle. Why bring politics into everything. It just shows the immaturity in them.
TOC is only highlighting the problems foreign workers face and it is only the tip of the iceberg. Everyone agreed that foreign workers in a way contribute to the economy of Singapore and as such it is only fair we treat them fairly. They are here because our dollar is strong. Can one imagine if someday our dollar loses strength and we are forced to seek employment in another country where you are treated the same way as we are treating our foreign workers now. This day is’nt too far away.
gemami
For those of you new to TOC, the story of Delowar, originated from the TOC article titled; 179 foreign workers abandoned by employer.
The article in this tread is not just a story to stir up sentiments but is one followed up closely by TOC’s reporting crew since mid-December. There are no anti-whatever sentiments to stir up except to ask questions of the authorities that be, on why such situations are allowed to happen in frist world Singapore; and what course of action these authorities will take to ensure that no future abuses will happen.
We have seen vigilante postings, attempting to stir up anti-TOC and anti-Opposition sentiments, and very much so since this afternoon.
TOCers, I trust, are more discerning than those who blindly and religiously follow the MSM and PAP propaganda.
I have nothing but kudos for this article; this is investigative journalism at its best. Thanks TOC for bringing up this matter which would otherwise may not be reported by our mainstream media.
I followed up on a link to Mr Siew Kum Hong’s blog about the speeches in Parliament about the issue – despite the claims of only 0.05% affected, the views of this disaffected minority must be heard, loudly even.
It’s a sad day to be Singaporean – to have people being treated this way on our shores is simply unjust and unfair and must be condemned. If our fellow Singaporeans can stand by and dismiss this as unimportant then half of our battle (for the various freedoms) is lost.
squidsquid
if there is nothing wrong done, why scared others stir whatever emotion and why mainstream media not covering such reports……真金不怕火炼……
SS
The MOM allows them to come in because they have no clue what is going on. Headline numbers look good so it must mean that the underlying situation is also rosy. Taking in workers to collect levies? Is the MOM given a performance target as well ? are they being assessed on a $$ yardstick??? All sorts of problems created. No housing? Stick the workers in residential areas!
They just take orders from their Minister to let in these foreign talent. Its not just the low salaried jobs that we are going overboard. Its the high salaried jobs as well.
Whats the result ? Singaporeans are sandwiched between the top end and the bottom end of the economic spectrum.
Sickens me, what the Govt is doing
SS
It just shows Singapore is NOT First World.
Certainly not in the way it treats its workers, both local and foreign.
I cannot believe this happened. It really makes me a little ashamed to be Singaporean. I hope the government can do something about it, if we allow this to go through, then won’t be spread and expand to something larger in the future?
I wonder why main stream media is not covering this too,
George
Sadly I no longer identify myself as SinKaporean any more. Although I was born and bred in SinKapore but I spent many years in JB as my mother’s family came from there.I identify myself as from Malaysia.SinKapore now had a culture of getting rich quick and by any means. It is a matter of time before it is internationally known as a crook and cheating nation not to be trusted. If gahment could help themselves to whatever money they want why not SinKaporean as well. It is the first step to 3rd World status. We have not seen anything yet. More will come to the surface as time goes on. So far one scam was discovered, more are waiting to be found. Just wait and see.
Koh Beng Seng
The MSM only carry good news, positive news, such as booming housing market, to reflect the efficient govt.
It sweep underneath the carpet all bad news, hence, we oftenly see bad times or issue arrive suddenly.
这是 报喜不报忧
Passerby
It happens everywhere not just Singapore. But the only different is in Singapore it has been legitimized by the gahmen slowly but surely over a long period of time. The general public has been blinded by the success storiesall these years and so much so nobody saw the hidden agenda, not until the syatem start to crack or fail. But then it was too late.
In other countries the general public call it “IT IS WHAT IT IS” i.e. corruption, thus due to this Singapore has always been viewed as the least corrupt country compares to the neighbouring countries. And why not? Since the gahmen says so.
Take a look at these examples:
In other countries, appointing family members in cabinet as well as GLC is considered nepotism. But in Singapore it is meritocracy.
In other countries, losing public funds will be accounted as mismanagment corruption and negligence, But in Singapore, it is a business decision (Yah! A bad one that is)
In other countries, favouring one race over another is considered discrimination and favouritisim. But in Singapore, it is Meritocracy.
The list goes on and on..
Passerby
Koh Beng Seng on September 9th, 2009 11.43 pm
A “speculative orgy” (to borrow term from the Great Crah 1929) in property market when the economic fundamntals is heading south, is sign of sucides, It has always been and higly likely will remain the same. Some group is gong for a kill anytime now.
pickitup
@high five, @black kettle.
fact: the foreign workers were mistreated. right or not?
at least TOC don’t sweep the bad things under the carpet.
julia
TOC, pls keep up the excellent work ! Kudos to you guys !
Time to vote out these miw pigs. Think they care about how these migrant workers are treated ? ! Think they care about the existence of recruitment companies who mercilessly abuse these workers ? No, in fact, they are advocating an increase in the levy. All they want is to fatten their own coffers to cover the massive loss by their incompetent TH & GIC.
firenz
I read most of the comments and have this to say. If we were to just focus on a few social issues and get mad, it is quite myopic. We should look at the bigger picture of the country and count our blessings that we have a growing economy, good schools and infrastructure and a safe place to live. Most of our people live in HBD flats which are very big and well located. All we need to step outside our country to notice the poverty and political turmoils. As an individual ourself, we can also never find everyone to be happy with us. For a leader to run a country, he has to consider many things, and implement what is required, no matter how unpleasant.
For these foreign workers, there is no hope in their countries and they take a huge risk, borrowing money to come here to work. For some of these workers, they have been cheated and I agree that justice must be sought. But a majority of them are doing well, living in dormitory and earning a sum which was agreed. There are also many of them in the service sector and trying hard to upgrade their services. In any trade, there are always unscrupulous people on both sides, employers and employees and it is certainly up to the individual to judge for themselves if they want to be a part of it.

I just wonder who will pay for the sins of this govt? They have not only failed in their duty towards its own people but have now put a stain on its dealings with our foreign brethrens.
These people came with dreams but these dreams died at our hands and in our shores. I dread to think that our children will be made to pay for the sins of this generation.