Monday, January 26, 2009 1:29
Blog Feature: My dear Government, why do you treat me so?
In Main Stories • 2,212 views • 15 Comments
In TOC’s “Blog Feature”, we highlight blog posts which we feel deserve special mention. If you would like to recommend any blog post for special mention on TOC, please email us at: theonlinecitizen@gmail.com .
Gangasudhan’s blog post, “My Dear Government, Why Do You Treat Me So?”, which is about the proposed changes to the Films Act, is our feature today. Here are excerpts from it.
Visit Gangasudhan’s blog for the full article.
I am deeply saddened that in the proposed Bill, where explanations and justifications were provided for all the changes, this critical change was explained away as the expansion of the original list without referring to the change in terminology – ayone can report on current affairs but only a select few may be part of ‘a broadcasting service licenced by any law’.
It seems as though this telling change is being sneaked in without any forthright explanation. Honestly, I cannot accept the change or the manner in which it has been included. As far as I am concerned, it is truly a sad day for Singapore as a modern city when (and not if) this section comes into play.
*Special thanks to Seelan Palay for today’s recommendations.
Read also: Filming an illegal event is… illegal?
15 Comments
mon
Bang Moon Moon
You mean you suspect the big E to be in next 3 months or so?
Luckily, the budget got money to help companies tahan for a few months at a time so that while more are worrying they will get sacked after CNY, less may actually be retrenched, not to say no one will be retrenched post CNY.
Does the budget address scenarios of economy going worse than now or after next 3 months? anyone know or not?
tiredsingaporean
1) mon on January 26th, 2009 8.35 am
They have to do this to pre-empt possible mocking from bloggers during election which is coming very soon.
Believe me, there will be alot of very dirty things that will take place this coming GE as they know that they are losing popularity from the people and this round they will not be the same as previous, its going to be by forced, like it or not, you choose me. Singapore politics, who doesn’t know, its all about money making to the party and nothing else, the rest are bullshits.
mon
I think there is hope because they looked really frightened this time.
HOpe is all we have got, tiredsingaporean.
smallvice585
PAP would do anything to stay in power…
Gonglio
Maybe our Opposition members in parl can help to challenge this proposed bill (not sure proposed by who?) ?
Oh, I forgot, they have a small voice.
Thanks. One and all.
chaofan
The Opposition we have is like the appendix.
Tan Kong Li
Our Opposition is Only as Good as the Talent singapore has to offer
who is Also willing to walk the path Least travelled.
Thanks for featuring this blog entry TOC. The most important information in the original entry that I would like to highlight is the following:
“The most critical change of all is Section 2-3(a) which changes from
‘reporting of current events’
to
‘…reporting of news by a broadcasting service licenced under any written law’.
This in itself places anyone filming an ‘illegal event’ who does not have a press pass in the cross hairs of the authorities (which include the Police) who, under Section 34 of this act, can search and seize any film and equipment used.”
I have used information from the Singapore Statutes and a copy of the Proposed Amendment Bill (from the Singapore Parliament website) for the analysis. For those who wish to udnerstand the full context of the changes, please read the blog entry in its entirety, thanks.
Once again, it is an honour to be featured, thank you.
Aki
Like I said before, the PAP knows that Singaporeans have no balls to challenge them on the bill and took this opportunity to apply the sledge hammer on the beleaguered opposition and ordinary peasants.
Either we rise up and voice out against the erosion of freedom or continue to remain silent as usual and keep complaining in private which has no damned effect at all!
Sigh……………….so glad I live in a country where human rights rules exist.
I was HANDCUFFED for no crime committed!
Hong Mui Hoong
10) Aki on January 28th, 2009 7.36 am
singaporeans no balls?
Is it? erm, I see many wear like ah beng ah beng wan leh.
got tatoo some more wor!
some muscular muscular in gyms looking mean wor.
Some road rage scold scold people midder finger wor.
lots of balls ?
maybe pian lang wan.
President, Association of 1st World Bloggers.
An excellent article, diligently and painstakingly written!
Thanks to Ganga for your efforts in writing it and thanks to TOC for giving it our attention.
Having 82 seats (actually 81 now, after one died prematurely and no by-election was held to replace him) out of 84 seats in parliament, and having the Whip to ensure all naysayers accede to the “Yes” or “I Concur” Only Option and nothing else, every legislation that has been proposed had been passed with speed and without any qualms nor rigorous and detailed debate, scrutiny and, most important of all, a feeling for the common folks in the street of the impact and consequences that these common folks would have to face or their liberty snatched away from them in broad daylight, to achieve the aim and purpose (hidden or otherwise) of those in power to cement, concertize and prolong their power and power base.
Since the departure of the Old Guards (retired, purged, replaced or dead), there are no New Guards to guard against abuse and misuse of power in the Dictatorship of the Proletariat, a descendant of Communist ideology of the early days of struggle for independence.
Singapore seriously and urgently needs more and more talented independent people to be able to pin-point the real issues (especially those hidden under deceptive propaganda veils or the crafty process of expediency) that affect the ordinary citizens without fear, favour or ill-will.
Such timely drawing of attention is necessary and a must for a developing country to mature. Yes, Singapore is still a developing country in terms such as civic, political and social developments. Only the economic progress and political leadership’s status, salaries, bonuses, perks and preferential treatments are 1st World and “Out of this World” respectively.
Overall, almost all other aspects of the Singapore society are still fairly backward and therefore seriously and urgently require very strong, concerted and relentless efforts on the part of all the ordinary citizens to collectively and independently lay the ground works and spur them on to the next level of progress worthy of them calling themselves a true First World Nation.
Singaporeans are only bluffing themselves by calling their country a First World Nation using only the economic yardstick of measure, the progress and benefits of which do not permeate evenly and equally to benefit the majority of the citizens in terms of income distribution, social status and individual freedom.
Even infrastructure-wise, Singaporeans cannot shamelessly say that they are a First World Nation for the mere indisputable fact that 90 percent of the people live in govt-owned flats and only about 10% or less are staying in truly self-owned private homes. It is only when the majority of the people are living in private homes, like the real First World Nations, that Singaporeans can call themselves a First World Nation.
Moreover, it is also when the software and heart-wear are fully developed that Singaporeans can truly call themselves a First World Nation.
And that includes the exclusion of laws, rules and regulations that violate, question or put into any doubt whatsoever the fundamental and sacrosanct Singapore Constitution that is presently being trampled upon at will, whims, ease and fancies. Nothing more, nothing less!
On behalf of the A1WB, I sincerely hope and wish that one day Singapore will be able to reach that stage. But in order to do so, the ordinary citizens, especially the online citizens or netizens have to take the lead to set that stage right and right now. No incumbent powers, hungry for power and greedy for selfish gains, will sincerely and wholeheartedly do that for all of you.
Press on or dream on …..
Once again thanks to Ganga and TOC. Keep up the good works. Well done!
President,
Association of The First World Bloggers (A1WB).
31 January, 2009.
Thank you for the kind comments President of A1WB. It was indeed a pleasure and an honour making this (small) contribution to the community…
mon
With regard to dipping into the reserves, there are just 2 comments I have:
1. do you receive a lot from the fact that the reserves are dipped to help you out from this recession? If not, why are you happy with the fact that reserves are drawn? You shouldn’t be.
2. isn’t it coincidental that the reserves are drawn when there were huge losses from bank investments overseas when during previous 2 recessions we didn’t even touch the reserves? This is especially true when PM actually remarked that bitter medicine is good and we should take it early (about 2 months back?).
Suspicious…

They have to do this to pre-empt possible mocking from bloggers during election which is coming very soon.