Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Monday, January 5, 2009 14:43 - 201 Comments
Disgrace – The life and times of Chua Lee Hoong*
KJ
To pose Chua Lee Hoong’s question back to herself: The problem with the Straits Times is reliability: To what extent can you trust what you read in print?

One of the characteristics of the esteemed novelist J.M. Coetzee’s prose style is his use of the rhetorical question. Rather, questions – in the plural – posed where he wishes to provoke thought, to cast doubt, to suspend his reader’s initial prejudice, and to hint, only just, at what his own predilections might be. Questions leading questions, leading the reader, and no answer in sight, until the reader realises that an answer is neither the point nor destination – the question is.
Questions, when posed skillfully, artfully, are like a chessmaster’s move of pieces across the checkered maze, each move a question, each question an answer, though the question is the answer. And before your eyes, Coetzee’s last question in his novel would have manoeuvred you into his delicate checkmate, leading you no other way but to his final sentence – an exquisite master’s piece – a laurel written just for you.
While Chua Lee Hoong of the Straits Times is nowhere near being a prose stylist, nor is she a seasoned chess player, she does harbour pretensions to be court advisor to the ruling regime. But subtlety is not her forte; subterfuge is. Thus when she pours scorn on the Internet only yet again, it reminds one that journalism is merely a gambit for her more duplicitous ambitions. Chua Lee Hoong is not a journalist; certainly not of a class of the more respectable newspapers, but rather like a pawn columnist of a party newsletter. Pity her subordinates.
But when Chua Lee Hoong releases a frenetic spray of questions about the Internet – and nine at one go, no least, it looks as if she is sweeping her hand across the chess board and sending those pieces – Kings, Queens, Bishops and Knights – scattering onto the ground before her opponent can move into awaiting victory. It is as if a caught and cornered spy had desperately held onto her pistol for that one last rackling into the indifferent sky, before being engulfed by the advancing night. And you begin to suspect that she is more worried about what is left of her ignominious career as the Straits Times’ doyenne of propaganda and regime apologia than the yearly maturity and vindication of the Singaporean blogosphere:
What proportion of Singaporeans turn to it for news and views? How much of an influence does the Internet have on their lives? How much does it affect their thinking? How is the local blogosphere evolving? What impact does it have on national discourse? Five to 10 years from now, what will it be like? Will the Internet’s reach attain some kind of equilibrium and stabilise? Under what circumstances or in what kind of societies will the Internet be at its most influential, and what least?
There are no answers to all of Chua Lee Hoong’s questions above. The answers will only bear out on hindsight with the passing of time, chance, and technology, and with empirical research. But they do appear to portend the imminent demise, if not an attenuated influence, of the printed newspaper. So, more importantly, there are no answers to her questions because hers are not questions. They are flares of SOS to her masters, and entreaties for the containment of online socio-political commentary.
Subtlety is not her forte; subterfuge is. Especially when night is settling in fast.
Chua Lee Hoong had one more question, however. It was actually her first:
The problem with the Internet is reliability: To what extent can you trust what you read online? Whether due to ignorance, mischief or sheer absence of quality control, much of what is written online has to be taken with a pinch of salt.
This is a genuine question, and well worth thinking about. And the answers are multiple. The Internet is reliable, and it is not. It can be reliable, and it can not. Rather, its reliability is not that important. Writings on the Internet require the discerning eye as much as the Straits Times needs similar scrutiny – the latter all the more so. Discerning eyes are just what this country needs. What are indispensable are the Internet and the Singaporean bloggers’ ability to break the monopoly of information control, debate-framing, and the manufacturing of consent, and to expose the spin, hype, and chicanery of venal scribes and fawners from the mainstream media.
The Internet is not the perfect mass medium, and it need not be. Being an excellent one is enough for its purpose. Its inconsistency, unpredictability, and dilettantism are precisely its strengths. Its excellence and political potency cease only when individuals no longer blog, participate in forum discussions, forward that incriminating email, access a plethora of info-news websites – professional and amateur, local and foreign – and continually comment, debate, and quarrel, post pictures and put up videos and form communities. Its potential for political change is anywhere and everywhere.
But political activism is neutered at its heart when individuals forget that change comes not just from the arena of parliament and street protests, but also from the sitting and thinking individual. The personal is the political, and the political is in the quotidian and in the everyday. Action originates from one’s thought, conscience, and consciousness. An impassioned thought is in itself activism.
Taken together, they constitute the truer citizen, one that perpetually questions received wisdom, rips up underlying assumptions, and resists and unmasks the artifice, injustice, and sophistry emanating from those enthroned in the white chambers of power.
Taken together, you rebuff the vacuous regurgitation of propaganda by those indoctrinated ones, and you expose their shallow, hollow, and spurious patriotism.
But politics, conscience, and activism are numbed when one receives news and information solely from the mainstream media. The Ugly Singaporean has come to be one of the enduring appellations of the country’s citizenry, and one suspects that the numerous unbecoming, even mortifying traits, of the average Singaporean are precisely cultivated by a daily imbibing of those craven, mediocre, and less than hounourable newspapers. It breeds an infantile Singaporean society that constantly needs a PAP government to, in Chua Lee Hoong’s ominously revealing words, educate a new generation of Singaporeans on what governing Singapore entails. Do we need any more propaganda? And from which other national paper can one find a journalist of Chua Lee Hoong’s ilk that holds such a condescending view of her compatriots?
While the Straits Times need not strive to be the perfect national daily, a stratospheric aspiration, given its current pedestrian standards and dictated modus operandi, it need not be pathetic either. At least it should not be a national disgrace.
Since the Straits Times has abdicated its role as the paramount purveyor and conduit of critical, independent thought, then the Internet should attempt that role. As long as you have something original to say, the keyboard is yours.
The alternative is the perpetuation of the illusion that the Straits Times is the model example of an objective newspaper and the epitome of truthful reporting. Illusion, because these are non-existent standards that Singaporeans have been duped into believing.
There is no such thing as an objective viewpoint, a balanced opinion, or a non-partisan position, just as there exists no fiery ice, or for that matter, icy fire. There is only a voice that is yours and yours only – better still an enlightened one – and whether or not it will be quashed.
You, the subject; You, the subjective. And You should never be subjected.
There is no letting of facts to speak for themselves. Facts do not speak for themselves – you do. And truth is what you make of it. This is why there must be a proliferation of objectives, viewpoints, and objecting viewpoints, unbalanced opinions and partisan positions, to demolish the innumerable half-truths in here, and to debate the many-multiple truths out there. This is why freedom of speech is a fundamental birthright and not a conferred reward. And this is how Singaporeans can then begin to grow a mind of their own, abandon their puerile diapers, and finally grow up. This is why the Newspaper and Printing Presses Act has first to go.. This is why our nation-building media has failed.
The alternative is the one-dimensional drivel that you get from the Straits Times every morning.
The alternative is the dumbed-down Singaporean citizen that receives its daily insult without even realising it.
The alternative is the Internet. But you have to make it so, because You are in the Net. This space is yours – from cyberspace, to actual space.
So to pose Chua Lee Hoong’s question back to herself: The problem with the Straits Times is reliability: To what extent can you trust what you read in print?
I believe Reporters sans Frontieres has a few answers dating from 2003, each year a damning echo to the Straits Times, each ranking – take your pick, 144th? 147th? 140th? 146th? 141st? or the latest 154th? – a plangent riposte to Chua Lee Hoong. They make a mockery of every word that she types.
The problem with the Straits Times is precisely one of reliability, in addition to its sub-par journalism, in prose, style, and substance. Prose style is what separates a merely excellent argument from an absolutely brilliant one. Writing is always a tribute to poetry, and an argument for the splendour of literature – but when it comes to the Straits Times, what style, what substance, and what argument? Beyond its incessant self-glorification and vanity revamps of adding more vibrant colours and tweaking trivial typefaces, what quality sentence and thought can be found flowing from the Straits Times? Its newsroom is bereft of courage, critical minds, and an affinity with the English language – a microcosm of the embarrassing Singaporean society that it has been complicit in moulding. A press that is cloying and not free is an unreliable press, a shackled Chua Lee Hoong is an unreliable witness, and dignity slips from the totem poles of both.
To what extent can you trust what the Straits Times prints?
I may be no Coetzee, and this may be no rhetorical question. Following the RSF’s rankings, I’ll hazard an easy answer: To the extent that you trust what Sudan, Afghanistan, Iraq, and China print.
Or if I may take the liberty for a more graceful conclusion: To the extent that Chua Lee Hoong and fellow sycophants at the Straits Times will continue to move their substandard, groveling, and gutless pieces of ‘journalism’ through the square tiles of international opinion and press rankings, blocked by the stubborn Kings on their right, and mocked by the Net Rookies on their left, until they have nowhere and no way but to fall into their deserved, divined, and rightful tomb, that is their laurelled checkmate at the end.
___
Read also: Demonising the Internet – and bloggers and Big Brother in cyberspace – anonymously.
*The title is inspired by the two Booker Prize-winning novels of Nobel Laureate J.M. Coetzee: Disgrace, and The Life & Times of Michael K. The characters in the novels bear no resemblance to Ms Chua Lee Hoong.
———-
201 Comments
ST is not exactly the fount of reliability when it comes to local news (remember the photo on crowd at a political rally). So bit rich of her to criticise the reliability of the net.
it depends how much you can trust
if you dunno wan to trust ST, then you cannot trust anything oso
it depends how safe you wan
~~~~~ stay safe
tip #1: use fake email address
tip #2: use anonymous web servers or proxies (google for list)
just wonder..she has any friends? any conscience? any shame?
Sometimes, ppl write to forum page but ST refuse to publish so no choice rely on internet lor! Anything wrong? Mediacorp & ST cannot be fully trusted also what!! BTW, I don’t see TODAY newspaper distributing in Orchard Rd on Saturdays for the past few weeks. Had they stop publishing the weekend paper??
Strangely enough, even as this writer seeks to bash Chua Lee Hoong, he doesn’t identify himself which serves only to raise more questions about his own agenda.
at least we, sorry, I, know Chua Lee Hoong was from the ISD and is the political editor of the straits times with an affinity for the ruling party. But JK? Hmmmmm
I hope KJ can write more articles for the community.
Very enjoyable read.
Thanks!!!
Reliability ? Same goes for everything.
“The problem with the Internet is reliability: To what extent can you trust what you read online? Whether due to ignorance, mischief or sheer absence of quality control, much of what is written online has to be taken with a pinch of salt.”
Very well said, the same goes with any sourse of information (or disinformation), including MSM.
The funny thing is that the wider variety (good and bad) you have, the more you will be able to detect what is good and what is bad.
How did she get to be political editor of the main newspaper is beyond me.
Its just make us question the integrity and quality of the ST. If fact, Chua is
not not the only one at SPH, there is a whole posse of them if you could read
through their sublimal messages ( Paul Jacob, Andy Ho etc).
In this age when one can get all the news on the net, why do we still pay good
money for trash?
She’s probably applying the “Do not bite the hand that feeds you” lest you get smacked upside down.
Yet there is no reason to be a lap dog. There is always two sides of a coin. The incumbent party will use the media to publish for their own glorification. Yet we should have another opinion to reveal side-effects of a policy, ie means testing, CPF-life, etc.
For society to progress, both sides have to be taken into account and let the people decide which way is better. But alas, there is only one MSM. So the people will have to source elsewhere to an alternative opinion.
Can anyone understand how Wiki works? How many people actually put misinfo within for such acts are frowned upon? The net has its readers to govern itself. But who governs the MSM in Singapore? That is the question I wish Miss Chua can answer.
Regards,
Kaffein
Well, we all know that the straits times are controlled by the government and if that being the case surely all the journalists are too. So cut the crap. We are not dumb or naive.
So maybe she hoping to be in the pap government one day for all the good she has done for the government.
Is there really freedom of speech and writing in singapore? Write something and be prepared for a lawsuit.
I prefer to read the internet and know at least there is some element of truth and freedom of speech and thought. I am considering stop buying the straits times when i can get the Today free!
Dear KJ,
It is such a breath of fresh air to read this on a Monday morning.
“As long as you have something original to say, the keyboard is yours.”
“You, the subject; You, the subjective. And You should never be subjected.”
“There is no letting of facts to speak for themselves. Facts do not speak for themselves – you do. And truth is what you make of it.”
Good of you to remind us to live up to our national pledge of creating a “democratic society based on justice and equality” with the keyboard. . . with guts, hearts and refusal to be dumbed down!
Thank you.
feedmetothefish
You don’t have to sell your soul to the devil just to keep your job, have conscience and a true heart to face the truth.
then nobody would be working in the ST except the digital life people and the LIFE people.
The fact of the matter is, for the discerning individual, the internet offers a platform in which one can discover the truth for himself and form his own opinions. Yes, there are half-truths and whole lies, but also enough independent sources of information such that one will be able to arrive at a solid conclusion (for any issue that has enough sources). For other issues that do not have enough internet resources, they (at worst) simply remain unresolved.
For these reasons alone, the press (be it any news broadcasting service) can never be as powerful as the internet (IMHO). So I feel that there is no necessity or point in debating/discussing/dismissing the internet as a source of information.
In any case, I’d rather read a news source from the internet that might or might not be true (there’s at least a chance) rather than read the ST which I know is going to be partial…
I think she needs a hug. Let’s all give her a hug.
The infamous Chua sisters are the MIW’s Rodeo Clowns.
Whenever there is a policy gaffe or an elite of the inner circle miraculously puts a foot into his mouth, the Chua sisters are released into the ring to divert the charge of the raging bull.
Eventually, the bull gets smart, refuses to be distracted and gets his target.
the chua sisters are still dreaming in the equivalents of their ivory tower, that’s obvious.
looking at my teenage siblings, i can honestly say they spend more time surfing the net than reading printed materials. what do you think is the prognosis of our venerable straits times???
Lee on ‘How did she get to be political editor of the main newspaper is beyond me.Its just make us question the integrity and quality of the ST.’
Perhaps SPH do not recruit based on your journalistic integrity or independent thoughts but on how heavy a ball you can carry . I didn’t get read read her articles as like you said I am done with trash from the ST for good.
Please KJ, it is a nice piece you have written, but isn’t it an insult to Coetzee?
Think about it. Who is CLH outside of Singapore let alone locally? Oh, pardon me. I have ceased reading ST decades ago.
get the hug from her masters.
biab @ #6: Not all who are anonymous have a hidden agenda; and not all who identify themselves, do not have a hidden agenda.
this ms chua is indeed from the
internal sercuity of singapore
she is what you called
in the russian ole day
a
KGB director
in sph
she is the eyes/ears of leekuanyew
You don’t identify yourself and then proceed to go on a long rant against the MSM, really without too much attempt to rebut anything said in the ST column.
It’s like you had some kind of bone to pick and were waiting for any opportunity, not necessarily the right one. Also, all arguments made have already been argued.
But that’s also the beauty of the Internet.
Even if you have nothing original to say, the keyboard is still yours.
and if anybody think i am just soothsayin…
onced a while our mental1 would popped over to sph to his PRIVATE office
simply because sph is technically owned by temasek inc hor…
any seasoned journalists who worked in there
would trembled whenever news spread he is arrivin
machiam machiam
the FURHER has come
~ZEIL HAIL~
A well written article I have never seen an article so strong to bombard CLH into pieces. I hope it can be circulated around and not gone into archiive. Well done KJ!!!
To sum it all, Chua Lee Hoong and the sycophants literally nailed themselves to the coffin while trying to build one for others.
This is very entertaining, finally a large sole flung at the reknowned chua. Maybe someone should have a consolidation of all of her entertaining articles for inspirational purposes.
KJ, this is one fine piece! Coetzee would have been proud ;) Presents some sorely needed perspective to state of affairs in our so-called main stream media. Reading your piece has made this particular Monday one of the best Mondays I have had in a long long time! Thanks!
For whatever its worth, the background that shaped the Newspapers and Printing Presses Act continues to be relevant, even if the act has been abused by our resident powerbrokers to disenfranchise alternative viewpoints.
You call for the Act to go – and I empathise totally with your reasons for this stated position. However my friend, I fear the consequences will cut both ways.
Can you imagine the prospect of ten or even twenty different renditions of the Straits Times, or lagi best, ten or twenty different versions of Chua Lee Hoong! It will be the death of all intellectualism, forward-thinking and genuinely pro-Singapore views.
Under the guise of freedom of speech and expression, we’ll have one paper that carries the views of religious nutcases, another for the “pro-business” community that will whisper sweet nothings about how important foreigners are to the economy while remaining conspicuously silent on the Singaporeans who see their real wages stagnate as a result, another for military fanatics (the Call of Duty 4 crew, as I call them) who think military solutions and shooting people up are the best ways to achieve lasting peace in the real world, another to host the sardonic views of our fledging think-tanks, and another for the Madoff-types who host atas charity balls in their designer wear for the “underprivileged”, etc. etc.
Running a newspaper costs alot of money. The sort of views you and I want to read, see and debate do not necessarily follow the current of money. Ours is an intangible goal of a better society, better than the one bestowed upon us, given that the circumtances have become more trying as well.
Its one of those damned if you do, damned if you dont pieces of legislation. I cant look the government in the eye and tell them to repeal this Act. But I certainly can look them in the eye and suggest that ST and Chua Lee Hoong are close to losing the plot, and as a result, if they are keen to think hard about it, their so-called “mandate from heaven” doesnt look particularly inspiring either.
“6) biab on January 5th, 2009 10.56 am Strangely enough, even as this writer seeks to bash Chua Lee Hoong, he doesn’t identify himself which serves only to raise more questions about his own agenda.
at least we, sorry, I, know Chua Lee Hoong was from the ISD and is the political editor of the straits times with an affinity for the ruling party. But JK? Hmmmmm”
So what does that mean. Ask yourself a very important question. Who has better access to a very important tool (the MSM) enabling them to mould the pysche of the nation on any particular persuasion they feel / think suitable for a long long time to come.
Which person are you most afraid. A fearless person who do not mind to clobber your with a big stick if you disagree. Or a fearful person who will only make his views known behind the cover of anonymity.
Yippee! What a calling a spade a spade!
Would KJ be Kenneth J?
We want some more!
An excellent piece by KJ. Quite superb actually. Your appropriate usage of words in the construction of your sentences to bring across your points is the most enjoying feature of the article. It is most unfortunate that the MSM had missed out one who writes like you. It is our good fortune that you are not on the side of the MSM, but here in TOC.
I would just like to add a point or two in my observation of how these people, who are fed by the PAP govt, would go out of their way to do the things that would ensure the continued survival of the PAP regime.
We have heard and seen how these civil and public servants would happily ’skip-to-the-loo’ with the PAP govt. From the lowest level of the civil service to the highest levels of our parliamentary representatives, they are no different from one another in the regard that they would do all within their power to ensure the PAP remains their boss.
It is the same with the media, who never waver away from the mainstream of PAP propaganda. From the daily coverage of news that supports every drive that the PAP govt pursues to the one-sided biased dismantling of the opposition during election time, these people have existed for only one purpose – to ensure the PAP remains their boss.
Dare I say our court of law behaves in the same manner without having the need to elaborate any further than to ask that you keep the image of a kangaroo in your head?
The list goes on with our armed forces, our statutory boards and even govt-linked companies.
This begs the question: Why they so like that?
There is only one answer. The answer is one that reflects the selfish nature of human beings. Selfish to the extend that nothing else around them matters more than their own interests. As long as the PAP govt continues to look after them by rewarding them handsomely for sticking their heads in their boss’s a***h**e, these people will go all out to ensure that they continue to be rewarded in such manner. After all, what is so difficult to say and do the things that the PAP govt likes to hear and see?
Turn the picture around and ask what will happen should they go against their boss and bite the hand that feeds them? What good will it do for them to speak up for you and me? They would lose everything they have grown so accustomed to enjoying.
So you see, their own survival is tied to the survival of the PAP, and the PAP’s continued governance. In the case of the Chua sisters, their losses is immeasurable and even unthinkable, for it will be the family name that goes hand in hand into the loo, with the PAP, should the PAP fall.
Another observation is the what I would call the ‘pyramid’ structure of the PAP govt. Right at the top are the million-dollar ministers and the cabinet, lower down the next level are the MPs, and further down are the Courts, the Media, Armed Forces, Stat Boards etc. These are all parts of the PAP, or rather, the PAP has made them a larger part of it.
We tend to think of the PAP as a political group structured around the PAP politicians but we fail to realize that the PAP has gone beyond just being a political party. It is a dynasty, a business and the prefect of our lives, all put together. We have been held captive without knowing it.
Take for example the numerous times the PAP has jumped to the MSM’s defence when the MSM’s credibility was being questioned. Why is there a need to do this? How often has the PAP jumped in, to defend our judiciary and court of law? Does our court of law need to be defended by the PAP? Do you not think it can defend itself and its actions?
It is remarkable that our opposition could still garner above 33% of popular votes in contested wards during general elections. This, without the fire-power that I have mentioned above, and more.
Now, put the two picture side by side and you will see that there are vested interests for both sides to work hand in hand and, as aptly described by #1) me, they need to continue to prostitute themselves with each other to ensure their continued survival. It cannot be otherwise, for should they fall, all the bedroom secrets will be thrown out into the open for all to hear and scrutinize. Who is to know that Ho Ching might have a bigger shoe collection than Imelda?
The Chua sisters have much to hide, and therefore, have no choice but to continue to prostitute their wares, which is mainly, writing sweet words, that are music to the PAP’s ears. It is us, that need to take their writings with a pinch of salt.
KJ, well written !!!
Like many of you who left comments, I have also ceased reading the ST for more than a decade now. I always like to hear the two sides of the story (news/issue/argument) … but i only get one side of most issues from the MSM in Singapore … not only ST.
I now prefer to get news for the internet. It may not be reliable (100%) …. but with virtually unlimited sources of information (from both sides, pros and cons) you will be able to discern the truth or at least conclude what is more believable….
With the information in the net, you would be able to formulate which side to take when a choice is required to be made more inteligently.
in the same manner, surfing the net for news, and reading the ST, i have made the conclusion that ST is partial (most of the time) and if I needed to surf the net for the one side of an issue, why should I bother to read the other side from the ST …. I have enough bias information in the net for me to weigh both sides.
That is the beauty of the internet which ST cannot match.
She should look at herself and all her colleague in ST should look at themselves first before they question the reliability of the internet writers. At least , the internet writer speaks their minds whether its true or mischievous. The internet writers’ thoughts are not imprisoned by anybody other then themselves. In fact its a good therapy for our mental well-being to write freely. I believe most writers in ST suffer from mental constipation whenever they start writing.
Excellent piece KJ. So good that there is nothing more to add!
# 6 & 24 – Chua Lee Hoong can be annonymous and my criticisms of her writings would still stand, and the same principle applies to me. Fortunately, TOC is not the ST.
#20 – Like Michael K., I have to take some liberties sometimes. I’ll remind Coetzee about the ones he took from Kafka. :)
The way KJ writes and the articles on his blog are eerily reminiscent of Xenoboy’s (www.xenoboy.blogspot.com) style. Could KJ be Xenoboy in another guise? :)
Nevertheless, brilliantly written article using the chess metaphor.
Should the PAP be overthrown one day, maybe we can lynch the two Chua sisters. Haha.
“The problem with the Internet is reliability: To what extent can you trust what you read online? Whether due to ignorance, mischief or sheer absence of quality control, much of what is written online has to be taken with a pinch of salt.”
Chua shoot herself in the foot.
Chua,
Whether internet itself is reliable or not depend on CAVEAT EMPTOR again. Surfer Beware ! Enter with your eyes wide open. Didn’t your master teach you anything CAVEAT EMPTOR when he so happily says it during the MiniBomb saga ? How dare you disobedient your teaching of your master ?
I agree with you on internet been less reliable. Why ? Because you have Shitty culprit sites such as Strait Times ONline, PAP site online, P65 blog online , and that create shot of rhetoric and progapanda that make the Internet less reliable and which damage the reputation of the internet. So you are very right, and you should have warned us to stop surfing those heinous sites of your master instead of whinning and complaining.
KJ,
I wonder why your post did not make reference to Strait Times been online, and many more government sites been online, and that the gov are now openly using internet media to engage the citizen. It might save you a lot of time on explaining why the internet is becoming even more unreliable because of all these gov’s mouthpiece sites.
So if Chua should have asked these questions to her master instead. Question is does having pro-PAP online sites makes the internet anymore reliable ? Ironically, instead of saying certain sites are misleading, she says the whole internet is unreliable, which comprises sites from her paid master’s sites ! How dare she says bad thing about her masters !
It would seem like a classic one horse race? It would also seem one only sees one side of the story. Why cant the ST print something fair for a change? Like this? Someone sent me this.
http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2008/12/31/my-reflections-on-the-first-decade-of-blogging
This man seems to write against the internet as well, but only he seems to do it from an insider whatever that means.
Question is why does miss chua get the heat while he escapes completely, answer of course is you pick on only those who cannot bite back.
It best to not to drink and type. The bottle always gives one courage.
“Strangely enough, even as this writer seeks to bash Chua Lee Hoong, he doesn’t identify himself which serves only to raise more questions about his own agenda.”
Oh yeah, and then what stopping you from using your real identify as well ? Care to share anything about the boogeyman that has instill fear in the heart of citizen ?
The good thing about internet is collective intelligence, and you don’t have to see their face or know them as long as the post make sense and reflect sentiment.
But some, you see them been paid to write nonsense on MSM which are funded by you and taxmoney, and you feel like whacking them when you see their face.
Face it. You all just a bunch of anon cowards. The question still stands why is it one man can call Mr Brown someone who promotes “the levelling of the field of possibilities.” Why is it even he can even call Derek Wee a whinner. And it goes on and on. And no one brings him down despite his tremendous reach.
And how come when all Miss Chua wrote was to question the very premise of blogosphere and how it may relate to the context of our society. She is ceremoniously tarred and feathered. I read through what she wrote, no where did she heave criticism or even insinuate anything negative, except perhaps voicing out her concerns.
You all pick on easy targets. You darent pick on the hard ones cos u all know he will come down and straighten you out. Thats what it is at the end, a kangaroo court and you speak about the power of democracy.
how do you like my democratic feel of my foot now?
I once worked in a small bookshop. Everyday at lunch time, foreigners working nearby would drop in to buy newspapers like the IHT or USA Today.
One day, one of them came late and the papers were sold out. He looked so disappointed. So I suggested our ST. I thought I was doing him a favour as the foreign newspapers cost $3-$5 each and the ST only 50 cents then.
He gave a dismissive “Nah” and walked out.
Being young, I had always wondered why these foreigners would be willing to pay that kind of money every day for such a thin piece of newspapers, when the ST is so thick and cheap and value-for-money.
I think I know now…
Ranting is no good, rebut is good.
“24) DS on January 5th, 2009 12.35 pm You don’t identify yourself and then proceed to go on a long rant against the MSM, really without too much attempt to rebut anything said in the ST column.”
The rebut is whether any rebut will be printed in the MSM.
Surely, MSM by now knows that there is such an article by KJ in TOC. Now let us see whether it will get printed in MSM.
Sphgal. I dont believe KJ was nitpicking on Chua Lee Hong per se. I myself did not see anything personal in what he wrote concerning her opinion piece. Only I feel very strongly (and I hope my post will not disappear like your last one that I read with a mix of disbelief and rancour) your comparison between Lee Hong and that fallen scholar who wrote that piece which you so kindly linked. May not do justice to the discussion.
Need I say, both CLH and her sidekick has in the past shown nothing but bile and contempt for everything to do with the internet. You can even say her numerous expletives and prejogatives that she frequently levels ontu the net is something that even deserves serious medical attention. The scholar whoever comes across as someone who simply yearns to understand the internet further. That comes across very strongly not only in this piece which you have linked but in past articles published there, in the IS and elsewhere as well. They seem to move around for some strange reason.
I do admit it was a critique as you alluded SPHgirl, but it was also a foreboding praise. Please read it carefully. Except for one part that seemed very dark where he seem almost sorrowful and withdrawn when he mentioned, he didnt know how easily the internet could be weaponized…or something to that effect. What interest me is what did he actually see that make him withdraw from the precipice. What was it that so enthralled and frightened him at the same time.
That I am sure even you would have to admit the likes of Chua Lee Hing can never be able to answer those deeper questions or even feel the need to be provoked by them. As I said, she is simply a person filled with incomprehensible hatred and need I say a hidden agenda. So its best to just disregard her, very much in the way, no one really bothers about what an Ah Lian has to say about fiscal monetary policy.
The same however cannot be said of the scholar who once fell from grace to darknes
I am sorry, but I really dont even see a basis for a comparing the two.
Dear sphgal, your nickname itself provokes a response, but I won’t go into that.
Why does Chua Lee Hoong get the heat while the blogger you’re pointing to escapes completely?
Hmm, let me see, is it because the readership of her articles on the Straits Times probably get more than 100x readership than the blogger you mention? Since she is a much more a “public figure”, she deserves all the more scrutiny because she has a bigger audience that may or may not be misled by what she writes.
Example: MM Lee Kuan Yew called Dr Chee Soon Juan a “near psychopath”. PAP-controlled newsprint Straits Times editor Chua Lee Hoong jumped onto the Chee-bashing bandwagon and wrote in her column that Dr Chee is suffering from “antisocial personality disorder”.
And you think Chua Lee Hoong, an ex-ISD agent cannot bite back using the state machinery if she wanted to? Where have you been living?
“It best to not to drink and type. The bottle always gives one courage.”
Are you directing that comment at the author of this article or the blogger you mentioned? I think the author of this article has written in a clear and concise manner, even at times impressing me with his word-play.
Edit to the last line of my previous post: “even at times impressing me with his OR HER word-play.”
”
42) Ranting is no good, rebut is good. on January 5th, 2009 2.43 pm
“24) DS on January 5th, 2009 12.35 pm You don’t identify yourself and then proceed to go on a long rant against the MSM, really without too much attempt to rebut anything said in the ST column.”
The rebut is whether any rebut will be printed in the MSM.
Surely, MSM by now knows that there is such an article by KJ in TOC. Now let us see whether it will get printed in MSM.
”
i hope the MSM prints every single comment here too. go on. dedicate one entire page to protect your own journalists. call in the artillery to justify/protect your Chua’s sisters. nevertheless, i hope the Chua sisters read all these comments and feel ashamed of their existence, which i doubt so anyway given their cheek to write such biased and propagandist articles in the MSM.
I think we should hug her to rid her of her hatred. She must’ve suffered some loss to be what she is today, so rather that spew venom at her which would only make her a more hateful person, we should show a fellow human our love and compassion. You can always email her at her sph address with a hug. I heard there are 15000 hits on TOC daily. Imagine what power 15000 hugs can do in turning someone filled with hate into one filled with love.
luckily , with TOC, the world can see some of the unpublished msm forum letters.
this is one way where the internet is borderless.
thank goodness someone invented the internet.
why i find it is useful to read unpublished / rejected forum letters :
1. we can read what is never printed in MSM newspapers.
2. we can see what alternative views exist out there.
3. we try to figure out why some letters never get published.
4. we can better appreciate the hard work by the MSM editors and what they are about. i mean their calibre. so solid bombastic.
Well, one of the father of internet is Vinton Cerf…so we need to thank him.
Internet has really changed our lives and open up our eyes, and it provides a mean for us to voice out
OMG! Sphgal, I happen to know the family of this girl who you linked the page in No.39. I am shocked . Miss prim and proper. Well educated. Polite. A kindred spirit. How did she even get mixed up with those space boys? Whatever was she thinking when she opened her door to them? Does she even know what she has got herself involved in?
She should consider writing for TOC instead that would be much better. As it is, she could very well end up in darkness without a torchlight.
As for this piece what can I say? Its another case another day in the office. Not all of us have the luxury of keeping a conscience – it must be very high maintenance for her
how can??
how can say her like that ?
I am sure she knows how much of a public service she is providing to the people with all the years of her writings. so selfless wor. she work to serve the reader community wor. that is public service right?
there must be many more like her. u get what the … i mean right? ;)
u believe me right?
I am a ‘fan’ of CLH.
I pay and pay for the news every day just to read her writings.
I wonder if she is single?
I oso singer leh.
wow, her writings….so unbiased wor.
this is the kind of people when a nation in crisis, they can be trusted, will not betray the people, as proven by her unbiased writings that served the public interest.
;) bling ;) bling ;) bling (i signal you all)
The Internet is raw and authentic, just like every comment on this page, each offering a point of view. Each challenging people think differently.
If the lack of reliability comes from people who comment without thinking, that’s real, just like in the real world too. Even more real because these people won’t even dare to speak up in the first place.
To Chua Lee Hoong, it’s is not what you don’t know what will hurt you, it’s what you know for sure that ain’t so.
Biab wrote: `Strangely enough, even as this writer seeks to bash Chua Lee Hoong, he doesn’t identify himself which serves only to raise more questions about his own agenda.’
Does the identity of the writer matter? When you see a piece of fine art, do you need to know the identity of the artist to decide if it is good?
Does a wise saying from an anonymous writer necessarily has a hidden agenda?
Without the internet, we would not have……
known how ST was placed in the RSF’s rankings
read how much sacrifice JBJ made following his passion
brought the remorseless Regan Lee to justice (or was he?)
seen the true picture of the WP rally
None has condemned Chua Lee Hoong in such a flowing, beautiful and splendid manner. Thanks, KJ.
The very fact that Chua LH, an ex-ISD officer, is picked and helicoptered into being a journalist and now political editor of the main broadsheet is no coincidence. This is especially so when you consider how paranoid the govt is about the media – and its control.
Political editor, in this case, is for moulding public opinion.
Hi everyone,
You might like to also read the following two articles which were published earlier on TOC:
Demonising the Internet – and bloggers.
Big Brother in cyberspace – anonymously.
Baey Yam Keng:
“The identity is not important. It is the message that is important.”
excellent article KJ. I salute you!
“I think we should hug her to rid her of her hatred. She must’ve suffered some loss to be what she is today, so rather that spew venom at her which would only make her a more hateful person, we should show a fellow human our love and compassion. You can always email her at her sph address with a hug.”
I thought her godfather, MM, PM, SM, and ministars already hug her and handsomely reward her for her undivided loyalty and contribution to Lee regime ? That is the power of hug…
KJ is a taxi driver just like me….
KJ is also my relief driver…
To Zelfy, I think 15000 hugs might actually suffocate and kill her.
KJ, if you’re going to cite Coetzee, you should be thinking about ‘Waiting for the Barbarians’; you’ll find more appropriate analogies there.
Incidentally, since you’ve read Coetzee, it’s a tad irresponsible, don’t you think, to just play fast and loose with borrowed titles and to attempt at a terse distillation of his work? It sounds like (heaven forbid) Cliffnotes or The New Paper…… the horror!
To Zelfy, I think 15000 hugs might actually suffocate and kill her.”
Oh. Erm… i guess it’s still better to die young knowing you are loved by so many then old and lonely huh… :P
39) sphgal
Jessie Teh 43) summed it right up very nicely. IMHO. I’ve read the linked article and it seems to be more of a personal introspective piece by darkness & co. Nonetheless, it does illustrates succintly and economically a general lack on the part of CLH to grasp the wider aspects of what the internet can offer. :)
Why can ST write like him for once? Why dont you ask her that sphgal? And please do let us know what she said. OK, ;)
tata
so..in the sense of … Holly shit !
I asked my friend in SPH if he would hug her. He threw up.
we have tai sai siong in the past. now, we get trash like the chua lee hoong.
btw toc, can you make her face smaller? must digest my food lah.
“btw toc, can you make her face smaller? must digest my food lah.”
who ask you to eat while looking at her?
i sincerely hope and definitely think that someone in SPH has read all these, and probably told her. i hope she realises now just exactly how hated she is. and that many people think that she has zero conscience.
lee hoong is one pretty specimen or should I say pretty sow, the head of a sow.
Man.. I hate it when someone reduces me to just throwing mindless insults… I need to go ommmm for a while. Brb
sometimes need to let fly a while, and when the occasion calls for it.
i wonder if she will take up a defamation suit against KJ. can she? any lawyers around here? can calling someone a disgrace in public lead to a defamation case?
KJ should do something about Chua Mui Hoong too. I think the sister is worse.
CLH:”Mirror mirror on the wall, whose the fairest of them all, ha ha, it’s me lah CLH the fairest in SPH, Singapore and some say Batam and JB!”
CLH:”not that I have zero conscience, i practically have none to begin with. hee hee, peasants suffering, ha ha ha, I have already forgotten I used to be one!”
> can calling someone a disgrace in public lead to a defamation case? <
Wow…that lawsuit must surely help her newspaper’s sales, wont it?
In fact, such a lawsuit might just plunge the papers rankings deep into the chasms beyond 154th.
Hurray.
If there are lawyers around here. Hey, dont you think The Online Citizen has alienated all of them by regularly censoring their spokes person? I am just being very honest and frank here, but lets see what happens with my comment.
Who reads ST? I don’t even read Newpaper. I Don’t even want to purchase any publications from SPH. I’m not giving one cent to them. Boycott.
Lol! For once everyone in TOC are united and in agreement. I can’t believe it takes CLH to do that.
I don’t really bother to read them these days but still keeping some on hand in case my toilet roll runs out. No choice, toilet rolls in NTUC quite expensive now so when pang sai also must do it economically.
‘I believe Reporters sans Frontieres has a few answers dating from 2003, each year a damning echo to the Straits Times, each ranking – take your pick, 144th? 147th? 140th? 146th? 141st? or the latest 154th? – a plangent riposte to Chua Lee Hoong. They make a mockery of every word that she types.’
I would like to add a little info about elections in all the countries of the world printed in the November issue of the National Geographic but I am very sure this news will not be published in the S T.
In this issue Singapore is included in the category of countries having COMPROMISED ELECTIONS together with 38 countries such as Iraq, Uganda, Yemen, Iran, Zimbabwe and Congo. Small countries such as New Zealand, Malta, Denmark, East Timor, Ireland and Israel have FREE ELECTIONS.
i actually had a good laugh reading this commentary and the comments…it seems that the typical non-thinking dumbed-down citizens of singapore are subjects in a matrix controlled by a dynasty of well-oiled puppet players.. ha ha ha…my goodness…ST, Today in singapore. how about AWSJ, the Herald, NYT, LAT…aren’t they also part of a bigger matrix????
KJ and Andrew,
juz like to let you know,
if TOC needs donation,
I will donate $20 at least
even though am jobless for long time liao.
all these comments but
tomolo still will pay and pay for papers.
i avoid paying and paying nowsadays and rely more on internet free news sites like TOC.
why i not buying? no money. can or not?
I am impressed with this article. It’s very well written. Keep it up.
Should not Straits Time be given free?
When I read the articles of the journalists (from Straits Times) some time back, Wan something, Chua Lee Hoong and Irene Ng (the current MP, think she used to write for the Straits Times), I gave up reading the Straits Times except the Saturday issue.
The Straits Time should be given free-fo-charge, even then, some of us might not even bother to read it. I have now saved about $1,500 for these past 5 years and , have recently convinced 2 other retirees on how to save money by not buying the Straits Times. It’s just like giving up on smoking. Keep your mind free from pollution.
On the positive side, the ShittyTimes make a perfect toilet paper for the dogs. Oh… I don’t buy it, I can get it everywhere now as no one like to keep “shit” thing anyway.
just so u all know i cancelled my ST subscription a couple of months ago lah. only keep the zaobao cos my family too poor and cannot afford st anymore. :(
thank god we have free TODAy delivered right to our door step. i cant help but notice the paper texture of zaobao is not very good when it comes to absorbing my dog’s urine and it tends to smell a bit after the urine dries. today’s paper texture is better, highly absorbable and i always tell my mom to lay more today on my chihuahua’s make shift toilet, would highly recommend people who have today to try it today.
no kidding, and i hope the people will deliver more today in future cos sometimes zaobao is too thin enough and i have to spend money on sat just to get toilet papers for doggie. :(
hey i am a poor guy ok!
no lah daniel, if u compare the paper quality, u will know today’s one is thicker, ST is very thin not easy to absorb urine and definitely too ex for me who has only part time job. not like those highly educated reporters who have conscience in them lah, ai yoh.
[i]doc on January 5th, 2009 11.19 pm If there are lawyers around here. Hey, dont you think The Online Citizen has alienated all of them by regularly censoring their spokes person? I am just being very honest and frank here, but lets see what happens with my comment.
[/i]
lawyers?
for what?
when this socalled lawyers supposed to challenged dbs/lehman bro inc when so many billion$ is @ stakes
why ms chua has not been PAID enough?
“no lah daniel, if u compare the paper quality, u will know today’s one is thicker, ST is very thin not easy to absorb urine and definitely too ex for me who has only part time job.”
Don’t worry. The paper quantity of ShittyTimes will make up for its lack of quality. ShittyTimes come in abundant everywhere just as useless things are, so no fretting about its quantity. At last, ShittyTimes finally found its usefulness and new business opportunity. I never thought that our taxmoney actually use to fund toilet paper indirectly.
Now, who will dare say that there is no direct link between ShittyTimes and Toilet paper ? Raymond Lim ?
seriously
jokes aside
i only bought the straite times ONCED
in 2007
when i went to changi south hospital for my 9am appointment
you know after having paid $70 for consultations
i still must wait for my doctor even though i already make an appointment
if i don’t buy a newspaper
how to pass my time waitn?
i tried to read it for FREE
over some1 else shoulders
that woman reader was thinkin
i am tryin to peek her naynays…
still have the receipt
hopin for a ira81 entertainment tax deductions…
Yo! Don’t be surprised that PAP will frustrate all you TOCitizens by standing her with big guns in a GRC in the next election!! So she can’t lose her seat but sails in and sits in Parliament to carry her bosses’ balls better, and collect good $$$ too!
lol.
wow! in merely less than 2 days,
so many comments for this article alone!
this tells me:
1. ah Chua is so ‘famous’ among the non-apathetic, aka TOC readers.
2. many many people pay and pay each day for MSM newspaper
but how about the Apathetics?
are they aware of this lovely lady chua LH and CMH and the whole group of solid bombastic writers that write what you read each day , day in day out, 365 a year, years in a row as long as you pay and pay for the news?
can TOC interview these people and let the non-apathetic get the chance to hear them answer some of our ‘fans’ ’s questions about them?
CLH’s face is as beautiful as her heart lah. It’s such a blessing to singaporeans that she cares so much for our nation building and writes such insightful letters. I heard from my chihuahua that the kinder a person gets, the face becomes rather pleasant looking and he says Miss chua is one such example.
Hmmm…..nice Confucius thought from my dog, I need to learn more from dogs in future.
Ain’t that Irene somebody who’s an MP of some cockamania place a former Straits Times journo too? Aw shucks folks, can’t you see what’s going on?
Who is this Chua Lee Hoong, I never read Shite times, so I don’t know who is she. However from the abv comments I guess she must be one of the PAP’s doggies.
ok last comment here, dont know why everything i click on this link the face always appear right in front of me and i cant help commenting on how beautiful it is.
sorry about the ramblings, need to stop singing praises of my OU3 XIANG1 liao.
Hey folks, one last comment before I start my work. One look at the Board of SPH and you’ll know why it’s written that way.
Actually, one look at the boards of the major companies in Singapore will give you an idea who actually runs this here place.
you means most citizens (& PR) employed by GLC related companies either DIRECTLY or INDIRECTLY? (hee hee sounds like the oil price thingy)
like this any Effect if at all or not on the ‘results’?
i no no wor. i innocent wan leh .
KJ,
One of the best articles I have read. Certainly deserves commendation. So kudos to you. And pl continue with the momentum.
CLH deserves all the brickbats. Her style of writing brings to mind what David Marshall once said of ST reporters – the running dogs of the PAP.
I have stopped reading CLH’s articles a long time ago. Her pro-PAP stance has become her reporting trade-mark.
A masterpiece!
Frame it in gold and give it to every Singaporean.
so is anyone posting a rebuttal in ST forum?
Ya good well thought out artilce. Good job KJ!
For too long, SIngaporeans can only read one national paper and it is truly being used as a propaganda machine.
I remmeber Hitler way back in the 1930s using the papers and his oratorical skills to hoodwink a nation that is distressed by unemployment and other problems.
He could even wage a war on the Jews and blacks subjecting them to very inhumane methods and the German people were all nodding their heads in agreement.
I read The Australian and Sydney Herald in Sydney and was very amused at the subjective reporting by the various reporters. One can get various views on a single issue and you have to think through them before concluding on yr own personal view.
Here, we are all being given only one view and simply brainwashed totally by that. You have no alternative views and hardly need to think through the different views before taking on one that is your own. Maybe that is why SIngaporeans hardly think through alot of issues affecting us as we are simply given not much alternatives.
Hopefully TOC can provide that alternative platform for many people to sort through their own thoughts.
Having live abroad for a while I am surprised that all along i have being brainwashed and this only came about when I found out other newspapers were always providing various views on a single issue.
Down with the ST!
open mind by analyzing all her articles
I have been keeping an open mind over the last , prolly a decade, on their news like those from CMH CLH and Hernandes etc.
I derived a firm unmovable conclusion.
u can too! just analyze the writings. and use your blain to figure out.
I especially love her article on moving on in the MSK fiasco.
any intellectual still unable to derive a conclusion, can email me and I will explain to you until you understand at chua_sk@sar.k.in.com.orlando
Perhaps all the young ST journalists should resign in protest! (That is, IF, they are actually bothered by all this lah)
is there anyone organizing a cny visit to these great writer’s homes? can then hear from the horse’s mouth , so-2-speak, their views. why they are aber to write so well. hee hee….
i mean, their writing is like 1 way to readers. only those approved letters get to be published, some in response to their articles. but like this not shiok enough.
we should have these writers debate in a ‘live’ environment. writing articles may spend too much time. not spontaneuos reply enough.
Years ago when I was much younger,
The textbooks and newspaper taught me this.
There is subjectivity and objectivity . They say the papers were objective.
Years later today,
The internet has taught me this.
There is subjective objectivism.
and there is also objective subjectivism.
The internet has given me an asset newspaper can never give,
that is a discerning eye.
i have to add that many schools make reading ST a compulsory thing. when i was still in school, i had half an hour every morning to read the ST. it doesn’t take Einstein to figure out such a move.
so its not only the majority of the working Singaporeans that are influenced day in- day out. Its the young generation that has been brought up on PAP hogwash masquerading as the absolute truth. that should be the saddest of all.
Collective intelligence (or non-intelligence)
“107) Luna on January 6th, 2009 11.52 am
The internet has given me an asset newspaper can never give, that is a discerning eye.”
Yes, you are right.
I wonder why certain people still bother to expend (and waste) precious resources not actually belonging to them to go against the collective intelligence (the good sites of course) afforded by this powerful internet force.
Hey I just ran out toilet paper.. so..
If a person is the Editor, does it mean what he or she writes is approved by …..
#64 – Guilty as charged. Though I’d think it more cavalier than irresponsible. Perhaps I didn’t do too well.
Chua Lee Hoong’s politics/writings are vile but to call her barbaric would be wrong.
#68 – To address that would be to fall into her circular trap and be led nowhere.
Hi everyone, can please we abstain from criticising Chua’s appearance.
all i remember is the point she talked about in one of her articles that MSK is no threat to security, and telling singaporeans to let’s move on.
Friends, #112, Cavallerio’s comment advising us to desist from criticising Chua’s appearance is extremely important. Criticising the quality of her journalism is well within the ambit of fair comment. However, getting personal reveals our own insecurities and lack of decorum. We owe it to ourselves to keep things civil. Its makes our case stronger, not weaker.
Thanks Cavallerio. A timely reminder.
108) me on January 6th, 2009 12.09 pm i have to add that many schools make reading ST a compulsory thing. when i was still in school, i had half an hour every morning to read the ST. it doesn’t take Einstein to figure out such a move.
so its not only the majority of the working Singaporeans that are influenced day in- day out. Its the young generation that has been brought up on PAP hogwash masquerading as the absolute truth. that should be the saddest of all.
Soon, every schools will have it compulsary to read out loud the memoire of that senile one before singing the national anthem and all school bags must also include his foto on it. You think its a joke? it may come through duh!
Its been a while and we have all seen the internet evolve into the a weapon of mass information, it has grown to a prefered mode of information and communication and the MSM seems to be losing steam with its reporting of crucial and vital information.
I am sure the MSM reporters and MMP’s are reading all the comments and have no choice but to accept the rainbow of views that the internet has to offer.
Change is the only constant, in the past it was a one way street with the MSM. Well these days you have feedback for every report and this feedback seems to echo and multiply within the internet forums to educate the masses.
The internet is indeed a growing threat as it enables its viewers with information, that enables the average Singaporean to exercise his or her vote with a difference.
To the author of this article, you have hit the nail spot on !
Agreed let’s not comment on her physical appearance.
But since Chua wrote in her column that Dr Chee is suffering from “antisocial personality disorder” without providing any substantial evidence to back her claim, does that mean we can comment on her state of mental health?
Or maybe we shouldn’t stoop down to that level, ya?
I won’t comment on her looks. But hug her? PPhhuuuuiiiii !!!
well, she stoop that low to offer her non-medical opinion on something obviously only doctors and psychiatrists can answer, thereby taking a shot in public at someone who is powerless to answer.
is that considered as fair comment too? can dr chee sue her for defamation?
but you are right. just because she does it doesn’t mean we have to do it. that’s because she isn’t worth going that low for.
anyway, memoirs of lee kuan yew is also a compulsory book in some schools. at least in mine. my teacher forced us to read it and do a review on his experiences and highlight learning points. no bad comments allowed. how’s that?
“I am sure the MSM reporters and MMP’s are reading all the comments and have no choice but to accept the rainbow of views that the internet has to offer.”
i am now challenging MSM reporters to report on such comments and this well-written article. do they dare to rebut their own colleague in the national newspaper, and save themselves from the abyss of ignominy ?
oh and once again, if CLH is reading this, shame on you for writing such junk.
KJ, whoever u r (not a question, but a statement!),: let me pose u some questions. Y r u so down on Chua Lee Hoong? Y r u so down on the ST, which has its faults I agree, but nothing to the degree u n yr ilk make it out to b? Y r such brainy (really?) people like u spending so much of yr valuable (really??) time on attacking Chua Lee Hoong? Y not turn yr wonderfully posed questions on people who can really whack u to Mars?
auntielucia, are you related to Lee Hoong? Why are you so defensive of an ex-ISD agent magically turned poltical editor who takes a shot at the mental health someone who is powerless to answer? In the national press somemore which so many people read.
“Y r u so down on the ST, which has its faults I agree, but nothing to the degree u n yr ilk make it out to b?”
Sorry, but I disagree with you and agree with the author of this article.
119) me on January 6th, 2009 11.00 pm
anyway, memoirs of lee kuan yew is also a compulsory book in some schools. at least in mine. my teacher forced us to read it and do a review on his experiences and highlight learning points. no bad comments allowed. how’s that?
Oh poor thing you! hope you don’t get brain damage after reading the book.
auntielucia, why don’t you do that yourself?
Dear auntielucia,
If KJ were to denigrate the likes of Lee Kuan Yew, Lee Hsien Loong, Walter Woon, Belinda Ang etc, you would be here asking him to pick on smaller targets like Chua Lee Hoong.
Why don’t you just enjoy the brilliantly constructed prose and go to bed? You’ll still wake up to Lee Hoong at the top of ST’s political desk. Status quo will remain unchanged. That should be consolation to you.
@124) tiredsingaporean on January 6th, 2009 11.20 pm
i want to sell the book. you want to buy? =)
126) me on January 6th, 2009 11.32 pm @124) tiredsingaporean on January 6th, 2009 11.20 pm
i want to sell the book. you want to buy? =)
Buy this book? you think I have nothing to do ha! better read some lau foo tze, at least to keep me entertained.
Compliants and more compliants, that’s what S’poreans are good for.
If you don’t like the PAP government vote them out in the next election. Can’t stand Chua LH, don’t buy Straits Times.
Stop complaining and get on with living. Otherwise, PAP government will import foreigners to replace you, OK!
[i]Pathetic bunch of people on January 6th, 2009 11.43 pm Compliants and more compliants, that’s what S’poreans are good for. PAP government will import foreigners to replace you, OK![/i]
you included as well
you think foreign talents cannot licked balls as good as YOU?
If I am not wrong, this article is one of the most hot one in TOC Blog.
just 2 days and so many have read this article.
CLH seems to be so popular.
get what i mean?
coincidentally, i digress, i do not subscribe to papers.
i have to save for many price hikes. luckily the internet exist. i never miss any major news anyway, using the net and TV and radio.
1 dollar …. 1 dollar…. only 1 dollar…..!
1) KJ – Excellent article. Like many others who have commented, I truly hope the MSM feels insulted by your article and decides to take issue with you and thereby publishes it somehow, somewhere.
2) auntielucia – WHY don’t you learn to write in complete words and sentences? ST “is nothing like you make it out to be”? Are you serious? I have not purchased the PAP newsletter in more than 10 years. I borrow it sometimes when I see it lying around because IT IS what KJ “makes it out to be”.
It is hard for someone like CMH and the likes to accept the diversity of the internet because this is contrary to what this country promotes. One rule, one voice, one action. Our million dollar supposed scholars are the one rule, one voice… the citizens, the one action. When there are too many voices, there will be too many actions and that’s not what the old man prescribed. The internet is the breakdown of his dream. The internet will eventually be the downfall of the million dollar government… when people start to think for themselves. The current million dollar government is still relatively safe, but to ensure continuity, they have to send out the peons like CMH and rest of the MSM staff…
I have to admit,
KJ is one of my all time favorite writer.
I cannot help but be impressed by his communication skills.
Hey, the best thing is, I am able to read this in TOC without paying a cent.
I must thank KJ and TOC for their Generosity.
Internet shows that some things can be free and appreciated.
To: 6) biab on January 5th, 2009 10.56 am
Why does it matter who is JK? Does the fact that Ms Chua put her name to her writing make her more credible? Who cares who is the chef if the food tastes good and right? Are you also another apologist of Ms Chua’s ilk, who when faced with mounting criticism and unable to argue down detractors, sought to distract us from the substance of the debate by saying “If you want to talk politics, join a political party, otherwise shuddup!”?
KJ
The best way to handle people like her is to totally ignore her. Why waste an entire column on her? It’ll only flatter her ego. The true opposite of LOVE is not HATE, but INDIFFERENCE!
124) SZ : <i. auntielucia, why don’t you do that yourself?
She can’t! She has to make time for knitting and shopping at Paragon.
See here, post #107.
I am wondering,
is there blogs that report on same news in newspapers
in their own way such that no copyright issue and
say 5 unrelated different blogs each write different articles,
then, good or not ?
i wonder how , i wonder why ….
Chua Lee Hong is just like Judge Belinda Ang, who works for PAP and would do whatever PAP wants them to do. Chua, as politic editor, help PAP brainwash singaporean; Belinda Ang, as judge, help PAP to bash down their politic enemy.
Nothing wrong, all of them just normal people and need a secure job. They hav family to feed too.
This people actually think they are doing the PAP and the govt a favour by holding those round things between the pillars in their hands. On the contrary, the defective picture they paint in the hope of getting good grades for saying nice things, will only destroy the very same rice bowl they are trying to protect or gold-coat.
Just listen to this quote in case people like auntielucia refuses to believe that we are quite able to think a bit:
“ . . . my staff are encouraged to speak out when they disagree with me. This tends to be a rarity in several institutions in Singapore. The fear that one’s career path may be negatively affected is what prevents many people from speaking out.
This reflects poorly on leadership. In many organisations, superiors do not like to be contradicted by those who work under them. Intellectual arrogance is a deplorable attitude.
‘Listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story,’ the Desiderata tells us.
Oh, I almost forgot. The words in the quote are spoken by none other than the daughter of the great one himself and the brother of the one trying-to-be-a-great-one too. Her name is Lee Wei Ling.
#128 [Pathetic]
The proper spelling is “complaints”, not “compliants”.
If we are compliant we wouldn’t be here complaining.
And if we are complaining it’s because we have reasons for doing so. Savvy?
But can you see the reasons? Do you agree or disagee that The ST is pro-PAP and has been unabashed in exhibiting its biases in favor of the ruling party?
“If you don’t like the PAP government vote them out in the next election. Can’t stand Chua LH, don’t buy Straits Times.”
Yes, you can bet your ass that many of us here would vote against the PAP in the next election. And as you can see, or have you been like the ostrich with its head in the sand, some of us here have stopped buying The ST. Some have stopped reading articles written by certain reporters [CLH included].
“Stop complaining and get on with living. Otherwise, PAP government will import foreigners to replace you, OK!”
Nobody is stopping you if you yourself do not want to complain. So you think you are an exception? PAP will use foreigners to replace others but not you? What hubris! Do you know anything about rational discussions?
#121 [auntielucia]
“Y not turn yr wonderfully posed questions on people who can really whack u to Mars?”
And who are these people, btw? Can you name them? Please don’t keep us guessing. We can’t read your mind, you know.
To auntielucia, uncle Oscar Tan here.
121) auntielucia on January 6th, 2009 11.03 pm
Y r such brainy (really?) people like u spending so much of yr valuable (really??) time on attacking Chua Lee Hoong?
Because people like her and you deserve to be attacked (no ??). Constructive verbal attack lah, we do not use expletives like some pseudo cultured people here lah. Sometimes, valuable time has to be spent that so that truth is revealed.
Why are you aunti here and not in Paragon, I guess to spent your valuable time here to reveal your own truth. Right ? wrong ?
ok, ok . . . let me call on all to be gentle to auntielucia, again; if not she will return to speak to us in Italian; again.
Another round of arrivederci, auntielucia?
wave, wave . . . . .
Simply great article. For the writing, if not for the content.
#108 & 119 [me]
My apologies if I appear to be out of touch on this particular issue. Is it true that in some schools reading of The ST and/or memoirs of LKY was compulsory for students [or some students only?]; was this part of the curriculum of these schools? Is this still in practice today?
We all have to earn a living; ST journalists or otherwise you and I.as well, unless you have good inheritance.
Read CLH’s article again – say what you like, she makes many good points – it is also a turning – have you fried a pomfret before ? you need to turn it sooner or later; turning bones is not a nice cantonese saying , but it is a necessary evil if you want to walk the line and be accepted somewhat by all – not the teenage peer pressure but out of necessity to move up at this difficult economic time – move up or move out.
Give her a break guys.
145) Read Between Lines
It is their rights to criticize, so please don’t ask people to give others a break. it is up to them to decide whether the break should be given. just like we never ask you to stop posting your support, you shouldn’t ask others to stop posting theirs.
cappish?
I REPEAT: Why are you so defensive of an ex-ISD agent magically turned poltical editor who takes a shot at the mental health someone who is powerless to answer?
Would you tell people to “give her a break” if she called your friend mentally ill?
Chua Lee Hoong does not deserve a break because she never gives anyone who is not with the PAP a break.
There is a saying, “Give respect, take respect”.
ST journalists reading this, I understand that you enjoy journalism as a profession and do it for a living, but at some point, please reflect upon the value of journalistic integrity.
Most seconday four students in one of the good schools can write more sense than Chua LH.
One of the best way to show that Straits Times is not a worthy newspaper is to stop buying it and if you need Singapore news, get a free copy of TODAY.
News worthy e-papers are New York Times, Sydney Morning Herald, Times of London, Guardian Unlimited, CNN, Spiegel (English Edition), Yahoo News all these can be gotten free of charge, even TOC. I am sure there are lots more.
but also cannot say ST not worth as newspaper. It does covers comprehensive view of how bad our neighbour country has become and alwalys remains us singaporean how safe our nation is. must appreciate that u know.
41) sphgal on January 5th, 2009 2.34 pm
“Face it. You all just a bunch of anon cowards. The question still stands why is it one man can call Mr Brown someone who promotes “the levelling of the field of possibilities.” Why is it even he can even call Derek Wee a whinner. And it goes on and on. And no one brings him down despite his tremendous reach.”
Hold on a second!
Firstly, Chua used a public sounding board to spread hate and schism. She may even have exceeded her remit as a political editor. The one man who you mentioned however, spoke only to his coterie. In all fairness it cannot be more a few thousand at most. One is in a public while the other is the private domain.
Secondly, when he called Mr brown what he called him, as I recall, he gave a list of reasons for doing so. He even defended it in a thread. Its still there somewhere in the IS and the Singaporedaily. They may not have been the best reasons. I for one did not agree with his take, but at least, he took the trouble to explain why he believe it to be so and there was no malice. Chua on the otherhand doesnt even bother to go through the A, B,C, D etcetra. All she does is give you two alphabets. A and Z and the rest she just makes as she goes along. She is malicious and mischevious.
Thirdly, the so called one man you mentioned, never ever held himself as a professional. He has always insisted he is strictly an amatuer. Even turns down interviews. I dont know precisely what his vocation is, sounds to me like an engineer or someone who has to regularly deal with numbers and machines. But Chua and her colleagues often broadcast to the whole wide world without them all of us will be dying in a cesspit of ignorance. She believes, she and her kind are god’s gift to all readers. She is on a crusade to impose her reality on all of us.
Fourthly, she is rude, common and boring. The man in question however is a nice and interesting person who likes to tell stories. Someone who I may even consider having a spot of tea and crumpets with one day, if my mother and sister accompanies me. Although I am fascinated by his type. I dont fully trust him, if you know what I mean.
There the truth and nothing but the truth, now go and print it, if you dare.
Wow apple, SO WHAT if it “covers comprehensive view of how bad our neighbour country has become and alwalys remains us singaporean how safe our nation is.”?
It doesn’t make an ounce of difference if they can’t be truthful regarding the news about their own country!
“must appreciate that u know.”
Haha, why should I appreciate people highlighting the flaws of my neighbours? I love our neighbouring countries. They may not be as “prim and proper” (or cold and heartless) as Singapore, but they sure got a lot of warmth and love. Maybe you should start traveling a bit.
Please Ticker, Apple was merely being sarcastic.
Hi, I feel KJ’s article was well-written, maybe at the standard of “The Economist”. However, the argument will be stronger if more evidence is cited and explained.
Many of the commentators here agree TST is not fit for reading, especially Home news. I’m interested to know, what kind of Home news do we want TST to report, comment or write? I hardly read the Home news and read more on global affairs, lifestyle etc. I mean, we are more concerned about their reporting of Home news right?
I wonder S Ramesh many fans or not?
Sorry Apple, if you were just being sarcastic.
Singaporeans want to see is the following
1) Less slogans with realistic actions that are measured by milestones.
2) Fact for fact reporting, Singaporeans would like to know how OUR investments are doing , its kinda of depressing to read it from other news sites., its gives me the feeling we have something to hide.. move along theres nothing to see here
3) Elites who lose money or responsibility are to be removed – until we find one who can prove that he is worth the millions – if not get a FT, we can afford it.
4) NMPs that will not nod their heads in silence, but will suggest and explore options for improvement
5) NMP’s that know their neighbourhood inside out and have a list of people that need help … these days there is something called a “database”
6) FREE EDUCATION, FREE MEDICAL for a certain age group, MINIMUM WAGE
I don’t think the above is impossible to reach…….
If by TST you mean Straits Times, then it is just not worth reading at all. The only reason one would buy is the Saturday copy where there are lots of advertisements and jobs.
The Straits Times is a mouth piece of a government whose ministers, MPs are invreasingly losing moral authority to govern. The only thing that keeps them going is the big salary.
#153 – Hi Aloysius,
Sharp critique of my argument, or the lack of – but mine’s a deliberate tack.
You can engage with a factual point-to-point rebuttal, or you can work on assumptions and not be bogged down by minutiae. The armoury of argument are numerous and not mutually exclusive.
Falsification is a useful tool but not the only one. Opinions are not swans, one is social and subjective, the other biological. Popper had acknowledged this inadequacy himself. By extension, Kuhn’s notion of paradigm shift is more appropriate here, and you’d find that my assumptions of Chua Lee Hoong and the Straits Times remain unrefuted and thus my arguments implied and otherwise remain.
On the note of history: historians do not work on positivist ‘conclusive evidence’, but conclusive evidence as far as one can construct one’s case along the lines of plausibility. There is one history, there’re revisionist histories, alternative histories, and there’re alternatives to history.
History is only one of many available tools to excavate stories past and present. It’d be a mistake to take what a socially constructed phenomena to mean what it is not and cannot be, i.e. a ‘conclusive’, positivist, ‘evidence’.
On a final note, reliability and credibility are not dichotomous. Don’t fall into the trap of positivism. It is a useful guide but not the panacea to acquiring ‘knowledge’. Master your discipline and your craft, but never stop critiquing it !
Best ; )
Am I right to say Reporters should ask the questions that members of the public are interested in?
TW reporters go all the way to get answers. their news are so informative.
Heard they have several dedicated teams, monitoring what being said in here and other websites/blogs. Weekly updates are provided to the big bosses and the new legal eagle has been instructed to monitor closely and take action where possible. That’s because the old man has said publicly that he will take action (in our courts only) against anyone if their identity is known. So his word is the gospel truth which needs to be obeyed at all cost.
The recent contempt of court trials were the test cases with prominent target. Soon they will move to take action against blogers based here as it would be difficult to take action elsewhere in the world or in any other court which does have have inpeccable standing of our courts and judges. So beware..guys & gals
Well Snitch, all I can say is if they want to take more action against all their going to do is make even bigger laughing stocks out of themselves in the eyes of the world.
and all i can say is that i implore the general population to vote properly…
they are never afraid of being made laughing stocks actually, as long as money comes in. sadly, the west has also failed in this aspect, and continue to condone singapore’s actions given the concessions we have often given to them…
Wah lau!
This article has had 162 comments & 4,142 views!
Snitch, is what you say a presumption or is it meant to be a tip-off?
We are supposed to be heading into a hip and fun phase aren’t we? Better check with Vivian and LHL again. Are we not having fun here, boys & girls, uncle and unties? Unless we are looking at a different definition for the word ‘fun’.
Take it as presumptious tip off. We all know our cuckolded MSM and journalist would never ask question any action or decision made by the leaders or pose the question which the people want answered. People too generally feared posing these question to the leaders directly for fear of repraisal.
Now the internet is serving as the platform where people can question the ability of the leaders and the decision they make. Contrary to what the Chua lady says about the unreliability of web news, I believe they are more concerned about the internet exposing their shortcoming and debating their action with strong arguments supported by empirical rather than libel or slander. They are being exposed like never before and that is making them desperate to act
Chua Lee Hoong’s life , her career and her family , is closely linked to the fate of PAP, mark my words. i have been watching her and her writings for many years..not everyday is sunny day.. ” there is no 100days Flower”
they cannot be winning FOREVER
FEER did it again by their latest article. It is a excellent read. It shows why our gov-controlled media is inheritantly shitty, and we better off reading international media.
“http://www.feer.com/essays/2008/december/singapore-maneuvers-in-response-to-chee”
Extract:
“But while Mr. Chee may exert an influence over the PAP’s political agenda, there remain serious obstacles to broad domestic appeal. One is that middle-class professionals enjoying material and social status benefits under the PAP are uncomfortable with Mr. Chee’s modus operandi and unambiguous rejection of PAP values. Another is the effectiveness of the PAP’s character assassination of Mr. Chee through the government-controlled domestic media. This may explain why the international media’s sympathetic treatment especially irritates Singapore’s elite.”
I am a occasional reader and likes TOC but, i think not all singaporeans read TOC (due to unaware of its existence or apathy etc). I mean I fear that if CLH reads this, I wonder how she would feel. How would it affect her feelings?
so, maybe she is not reading this blog about her. pheeww! that is good for her. Else I fear her mood may be affected which may affect her writings.
if you ask around, i think most readers of TOC are the non-apathetic ones.
apathetic ones , as the name implies, would rarely if ever read TOC, in my 1.99 cents opinion.
If she stands straight and tall, does she need to worry about the comments here?
#167) Daniel on January 8th,
Extract:
“But while Mr. Chee …………….Another is the effectiveness of the PAP’s character assassination of Mr. Chee through the government-controlled domestic media.”
Dr Chee should have learnt from Low K T & Chiam S T how to get into parliament before showing his true colours. If DrChee had entered parliament it would be much harder for the PAP to fix him and get him out. PAP’s character assassination of Dr Chee was so effective that the then PM Goh was confident of winning that he specially carved out MacPherson constituency from Marine Parade GRC for Chee to fight one to one with PAP’s MY. Chee lost miserably.
And what exactly are Low and Chiam doing sitting there in parliament now?
personally, i don’t think chua has done anything so severe to warrant such a passionate argument against st and her. in fact, this article may even be construed as an opportunistic piece that grabs at any semblance of ‘weakness’ from the st to undermine its journalistic integrity.
while there are many points made that deserve attention and credit, the overall tenour of the article – with its dichotomous and skewed perspective of st writers (“Chua Lee Hoong and fellow sycophants … fall into their deserved, divined, and rightful tomb, that is their laurelled checkmate at the end.”) as well as biased and unilateral slant – only serves to cast the entire article as mere ranting or even worse.
after all, good writing doesn’t make a writer good.
#171) Haha on January 9th, 2009 12.42 am
And what exactly are Low and Chiam doing sitting there in parliament now?
At least they are in parliament as the opposition. In his earlier years in parliament CST was booed by the other MPs and was intimidated by the old man.
Imagine yourself alone facing 82 others waiting to pounce on you on your next move. And they laughing at you. We need more qualified opposition members in parliament not outside parliament.
172)
then at least try and demolish the writer and his article’s claims, arguments, assumptions about ST and its journos.
ur post is like saying an apple is red and not red at the same time.
prove it that the ST and its journos do not warrant such a diatribe.
im just saying that there are the good and there are the bad. simply applying a generalization across won’t grant the article any credit.
tell that to chua lee hoong!! lol
“Dr Chee should have learnt from Low K T & Chiam S T how to get into parliament before showing his true colours.”
I do not think so, I think Chee deserves praise for creating international awareness. Ironically, the international media is now highlighting the plight and loss of Singapore’s assets, and why did you not note that the international media don’t even to bother to interview other opp party ? Give a thought, there must be a reason, and you know it and I know it. If indeed playing to the kangaroo rules of PAP is the way then why is it that we see our society deteriorate under PAP ? Something must be wrong with those current opp parties that speak up for Singaporean but yet totally helpless against the tyranny and oppression of the kangaroo regime. If the opp parties cannot help, by all means seek international help and not sit down and get their fat paycheck.
First of all, KJ, throwing around your verbal chops is fun, but unnecessary.
Second, your reasoning is flawed. While you say at first that “given its current pedestrian standards and dictated modus operandi”, you eventually top your long-winded argument by pointing to the Reporters sans frontières press freedom ratings, an indicator which is forced by this “dictated modus operandi”. In your language, KJ, you are “demolishing a straw man”.
Third, the ST isn’t a badly written paper. There’s no such thing as a “quality sentence”, only good and bad writing. Unlike you, the ST has respect for the rules of writing simply and clearly. It is in fact a very well written paper for its demographics (very wide ranging) and its purpose (propaganda). Considering that the ST has to cater to a readership of about 1 million Singaporeans with varying levels of competency in English, it is unfair to expect the ST to be flexing its verbal chops like the Economist would.
Fourth, your presumptuous attitude is disgusting. Among other things, you accuse Singaporeans of being puerile, not being intellectually mature and, best of all, too stupid to read something more grown up than the ST. Bless you.
You hope to place yourself in a stark contrast with the ST (and your other target, “dumbed-down” Singaporeans) with your brilliant command of English and cram every last sentence full of inexplicably complicated words, each with more syllables than the last. The worst part is that you choose to invoke the name of JM Coetzee, which clearly does not fit your long-winded and muddled style. As anybody who has ever read one of his books knows, Mr Coetzee’s writing is fast-paced and precise.
For those of us who have followed the ST long enough, we can see clearly that this article has been long overdued. Bless all of you who thinks ST is the best source of news. Bless you indeed.
Well done and kudos to you KJ, for an excellent piece.
WOW i heard of apologists for PAP, but this is the first I saw a STRAITS TIMES APOLOGIST!!! our 154th supporter!!!
Since when using an author’s name means must write like him? If KJ does that you’d be calling him a copycat. Better still, write a proper article!
Why don’t you go reflect on your own arguments that are riddled with flaws and contradictions?
Can TOC reporters interview ST bombastics for their comments on their ranking?
also CNA. they 10th anniversary coming wor.
singaporeans read and read after they pay and pay for the news.
#178 [palisade]
“Third, the ST isn’t a badly written paper. There’s no such thing as a “quality sentence”, only good and bad writing. Unlike you, the ST has respect for the rules of writing simply and clearly. It is in fact a very well written paper for its demographics (very wide ranging) and its purpose (propaganda). ”
Some of us here, as you may have noticed, have stopped buying or reading The ST. And the reason for this is not about the competency in English of ST reporters but about The ST being a mouthpiece for the ruling party. Do you agree or disagree that The ST is a mouthpiece for the PAP?
If you have been a regular reader of The ST going back to the time when LKY was the Prime Minister, have you noticed that everything LKY uttered was given front-page treatment? I have no qualms that LKY was special, not only for being the PM but also for being highly eloquent, and therefore deserved front-page. But have you noticed that when Goh Chok Tong was the PM, rarely was he given front-page; most of GCT’s public statements went into prime page. Was this a result of bias of The ST? You don’t know or probably you have not noticed? Maybe you yourself are prejudiced – yes/no?
Now recall when LKY became SM and later MM, has The ST stopped giving him front-page? Compare GCT and LKY, in their capacity as SM – which one has been given front-page treatment most of the time? Why? Prejudice or what? Or you don’t know, or have not noticed?
Now to CLH – some of us here have come to the realization that she is one reporter who has written consistently with one purpose – in favor of the PAP. Do you agree or disagree?
Pl give us your answers, without any equivocation.
178) palisade on January 9th, 2009 8.27 am
“Considering that the ST has to cater to a readership of about 1 million Singaporeans with varying levels of competency in English, it is unfair to expect the ST to be flexing its verbal chops like the Economist would.”
If this is so, why not allow other potential start-ups to have their own print publications to cater to the other rest.
Varying levels of competency in English ? Allow other local print publications as mentioned above and all of this varying competency will be solved in no time. Out of a sudden, english may not be in vogue and you may begin to have more independent Mandarin, Malay, Tamil tabloids, etc to satisfy the varying langauge (not english competency only) taste of the many different people here..
It’s not true in all cases but I think it’s true in this case.
The 183 comments on this page, including mine are engaging in a pointless debate. Everybody coming to the party has arrived with a closed mind, and everybody leaves with one. No one who is a supporter of the government and/or CLH will all of sudden come a realisation by reading what’s here. Heck, no cynics are likely to have been made more cynical.
They just love reading things that mirror their own point of view.
This is mass masturbation.
Its fine to criticise what she wrote, but some comments here are just so personal that it reflects on the writers worse than what they may say abt her
184 ) so fatalistic.. if everyone thinks like you and diminish the prospects for change, then of coz nothing will will change.
No wonder Sg cannot change.
184) hmmmm on January 9th, 2009 3.59 pm
“They just love reading things that mirror their own point of view.
This is mass masturbation.”
You may think so but not others. I had the fortune (or misfortune) of living in a time where MSM had the huge advantage of moulding perception with so many years of head start when internet was non existent.
It is through reading other sources (not the mainstream type of course) that alerted / shocked me to a change of view on the way management of national perception has been done here.
“No one who is a supporter of the government and/or CLH will all of sudden come a realisation by reading what’s here. Heck, no cynics are likely to have been made more cynical.”
Your statement definitely holds true for those people that befit nicely the pre existing conditions necessary for them to behave as such. Some people do change their views as their conditions do change as they meet new life experiences and especially when they have been jolted out in a rather unusual way by shocking events because they believe too much of the followings : -
1) Faith that nothing is impossible.
2) Faith that well known institutions are to be trusted.
3) Faith that you will never loss a job.
4) Faith that all people wearing uniform of authority are always right.
5) etc, etc.
“185) fg on January 9th, 2009 4.02 pm Its fine to criticise what she wrote, but some comments here are just so personal that it reflects on the writers worse than what they may say abt her.”
At least, the comments you are referring to can only made known to those people who make an active effort to come into this site.
As for what she wrote, it is inserted into a national newspapers which has a much wider coverage.
You reap what you sow.
Story from inside the SST newsroom by an ex journ
[i]fg on January 9th, 2009 4.02 pm Its fine to criticise what she wrote, but some comments here are just so personal that it reflects on the writers worse than what they may say abt her
[/i]
if she write about dr chee labelling him a siowed larg…
we cannot returned her a favour?
why she labelled dr chee just to have a payrise perhaps?
and you must think
dr chee is not a human being @ all
are you 1?
if i am not being PERSONAL?
erm, i wonder why the title of article mention ‘life and times’.
machiam like she gonna retire liao?
of course, I believe she more than can retire liao.
I do not think this is pointless debate, what we are seeing is the transformation of views … and its better than not having any views at all and waiting for the “instruction manual of views” from our govt.
Articles like these are thought provoking and they bring about the awareness of many minds that have gone into the snooze mode.
There are 3 articles that have been of great interest to me and many Singaporeans.
1) its this article on Chua
2) Second is the article about town councils…. “show me the money”
3) MSK aka John Rambo, Singapore’s great escape
Once again, TOC and its contributors. Thank you!
ah 195, we both share the same thinking. new holiday called founder’s day?
There is no doubt that Straits Times uses its market monopoly to spread pro-PAP propaganda. Obviously not every article will contain propaganda but sometimes the general picture build up by the summation of articles on Straits Times does contribute to our mental image of Singapore. By manipulating variety of articles printed and regularly repeating pro-PAP messages, the Straits Times propagates pro-PAP propaganda that Singapore will collapse without PAP. Even lies can manifest as truth if they are repeated to an audience sufficiently and that’s how propaganda works.
A man who believes he is a bird will jump
If a person strongly believes in an unexplained,
that unexplained becomes explained and real to him.
the power of the mind.
if you believe strong enough, it becomes real in your mind.
this does not have to mean in reality.
#177) Daniel
‘If the opp parties cannot help, by all means seek international help and not sit down and get their fat paycheck.’
A few months ago, I wrote to the WP, SPP & SDP to encourage them to do exactly what you have suggested. There are many ways to fight against tryanny and oppression.
194) smallvice585
‘By manipulating variety of articles printed and regularly repeating pro-PAP messages, the Straits Times propagates pro-PAP propaganda that Singapore will collapse without PAP.’
When and if the PAP collapses Singapore will also collapse because there is no credible alternative party to take over. We must think of our future generations and the future of Singapore. It is imperative to educate our people to vote more opposition party members into parliament.
The decade before WW1 Argentina was one of the 10 richest countries of the world but by the end of that century it was almost bankrupt. Like Singapore, Argentina also had a dominant party – the Peronistas.
Singapore becomes bankrupt in the year 2049? Our golden years 1959 – 2009?
It is imperative to educate our people to vote more opposition party members into parliament.
We all know the problem: A political that has been in power for far too long.
We all know the solution: To build up a credible alternative party to govern.
Do we know the result?: Yes, we do. It is in your hand.
11 Jan 09 : MP Seng Han Thong got burnt by a resident of his constituency.
Response on the Net has not exactly been compassionate towards him.
Would our prolific Chua sisters care to comment about the Netizen’s response to this issue?
I’m sure their blood must be boiling and they must be full of vitriol now.
It would be nice to read their express their views now.
Further to post #182, I am glad to note the big headline in The Straits Times today [19 Jan] reading: Govt may dip into reserves, says SM.
Somebody got the hint, apparently. Time for SM to play catch-up to MM? Or was it coincidental?
as long as the mainstream media remains biased, the internet media is entitled to its own slant too … in order to BRING BALANCE TO THE FORCE
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

perfect. how about doing the life and times of the other chua?
they are a total disgrace to their profession. prostituting their services and ilk to serve their masters and pollute the majority of singaporeans that read the ST everyday.
i hope they are reading this.