How else do we describe a government [which] prohibits public speech and peaceful assembly, controls [the] media, detains citizens without trial and manipulates elections?
Chee Soon Juan, in message to President Obama
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

the media -yesterday Today and today’s ST – published all the supportive letters of a certain cooking issue. How balanced is this? if only they can be objective and allow both sides of the bread to be toasted, sigh….why?
the `lop-sided’ reporting on the income gap between the rich and poor and the `less-than-credible’ conclusions that the main stream media draw on this issue – again makes one think twice whether our main stream media are `shackled to perform national service’ only.
My answer to Chee’s question is: a very bad management style.
i call it a dictatorship.
Well done Dr Chee. A dictator is a dictator, no point covering up. The world don’t believe we are a democratic country. Mr Obama also don’t believe, I think the govt will have tough time countering US.
Obama laid down good principles for governance that his White House staff is expected to follow:
“Obama: ‘public service is a privilege’” from BBC
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7843594.stm
A “government [which] prohibits public speech and peaceful assembly, controls [the] media, detains citizens without trial and manipulates elections” is a government that is afraid and unsure of its own rectitude.
We need better leaders.
There is a fundamental flaw in our society that allows low calibre people to rise to high office. This is the result of a systemic failure in our education system which needs an urgent overhaul.
uur…on the contrary. it is HIGH calibre who rose to HIGH office. get HIGH too long hor, cold turkey follows lah.
Eh, TOC no interested in budget speech ar?
There will be a chitchat session on CNA with tharman on budget and there will be guests to join the discussion.
Even before this is broadcast, I already have a feeling what their views will be.
I think it will be all praises.
I like the budget what, can or not?
Why is there no article on the budget? This is such a hyped up issue on the press,yet TOC is not interested.
Dear cy,
Reports of the details of the budget can be found on Channel NewsAsia.
We have nothing to add to the reports themselves at the moment. But we will be providing commentaries and opinions of the budget in the coming days after analysing the Budget.
#7 Popeyewithspinach – That system is called Meritocracy as described by Michael Young’s book The Rise of Meritocracy
Agree with TOC, commentary should be studied carefully before comment.
This is a opportunity and Chee take it. Hard to find a US president that cares.
Hey #12 Dreamer,
I’m glad you have also read that book – The Rise of the Meritocracy by Michael Young. But that book is actually meant to be a satire and very much tongue-in-cheek. The main message in the book is actually the opposite – the author is skeptical about the value of meritocracy as popularly defined.
I’m in general agreement with Michael Young. I believe that the ‘meritocrats’ in Singapore are a bunch of fakes who need protection from dialectical challenges by resorting to evasion, suppression and other forms of dishonorable coercion.
This false elevation of the intellectually and morally mediocre to an authoritarian elite is the evidence that I’m presenting to indict our very poor education and social systems.
ha ha… Don Juan at work…