Wednesday, January 7, 2009 18:53
Empathy, where?
In Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story • 5,222 views • 133 Comments
Andrew Loh

Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Friday that the current downturn Singapore is facing is nothing quite like what the country has experienced before.
Speaking to the Singapore media at the end of his visit to Latin America, Mr Lee said that while there is still bitter medicine to be taken, the Singapore government has put a bit more sugar coating on the pill. (Channel NewsAsia).
The above report was on the 28 November 2008, less than two months ago. The Prime Minister was seeking to assuage Singaporeans’ concerns about the worsening economy and particularly about job losses. In the last few weeks, several companies have already started to lay off staff, including DBS and Panasonic.
The PM, as reported in CNA’s report above, even spoke about Singaporeans having to accept “ bitter medicine” in these bad times.
Thus, it was with much regret, to say the least, when two reports came out in the Straits Times on Tuesday. The first was about the former CEO of Seksun Corporation, Mr Felix Ong, who spent $50,000 of his own money in having calendars made for himself. The calendars had pictures of him assuming various personas. He had also employed models for the calendars. (See picture below).
The second article in the Straits Times, perhaps, is the more controversial one. It was a piece written by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Environment and Water Resources (MEWR), Mr Tan Yong Soon. In it, he described his attendance of a cooking class in Paris, at the renowned Le Cordon Bleu, as part of a 5-week holiday. The basic course, which he signed up for, costs 7,750 euros (S$15,500).
Perhaps a little too self-engrossed, he said:
Taking five weeks’ leave from work is not as difficult as one thinks. Most times, when you are at the top, you think you are indispensable. But if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible to go away for five weeks or even longer.
While not many Singaporeans can afford to take 5 weeks off work to go on a holiday, or afford the price tag for such a holiday (especially to a place such as Paris), one would not normally chide the rich for doing so either. After all, they do work hard for their success and rewards and are entitled to enjoy them. However, Mr Tan is no ordinary, rich Singaporean. He is a senior civil servant. And he is one of those who just had his pay cut in the recent announcement by the Public Service Division.
In short, he is seen as part of the governing elite – and one who would be able to empathise with ordinary Singaporeans who are going through tough times. Indeed, the PM is preparing Singaporeans for some belt-tightening and ‘bitter medicine’.
Mr Tan’s revelation, in a national newspaper, at a time of anxiety for most, is insensitive, to say the least.
And this coming on the back of the People’s Action Party town councils’ nonchalant attitude towards the loss of millions of dollars in investments in discredited financial products.

Perhaps it is true – in fact, I feel it is – that the rich in government has lost touch with Singaporeans and lost it totally. For anyone who has any sense of empathy for the average working person struggling to survive would not be splashing his story of luxurious holidays in full spread in a national newspaper. Least of all a senior civil servant.
While I applaud the government for the pay cut, I cannot but be entirely disappointed that, as Mr Tan has shown, it is only cosmetic.
How else can it be if one is willing to spend thousands on a cooking course on a 5-week holiday and then boast about it in a national newspaper?
Where is the empathy and sensitivity among our elite for the average Singaporean?
Finance Minister Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, when asked about whether civil servants would lead by example and take a pay cut, said, “We are not here to grandstand.” (Straits Times)
One can only hope that someone will tell Mr Tan that while it may be true that “if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible to go away for five weeks or even longer,” Mr Tan should realize that sometimes a little empathy and sensitivity goes a longer way.
Ditto Mr Ong.
———
Picture from Straits Times report.
——–
133 Comments
Can I have a sexy calendar next year, Mr Ong?
SZ
Woa….*speechless*
Hahaha
I don’t blame Mr Ong. He is from the private sector. He is not one of the blood-sucking elites of public money. His action of spending would boost the local economy.
I think the comments in response to Mr Tan’s quote says it all.
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/01/spending-thousands-for-a-cooking-course-on-holiday
Lee Kee Kam
Hi,
I wonder why the perm sec was interviewed or why there was a need to write about him. Juz curiosity only. I mean, news cannot be printed suka suka wan right? So, how did his news came about?
anyone can enlighten?
Gillian Tan
Wow, I really envy the very high salary scaled senior civil servant of singapura
for his Financial ability.
Why i say that is because such holidays are not for anyone:
1. cost of Air Tickets , eg. Business Class to Europe via SIA could cost as much as $5-8K per person? This is my estimation only based on last time I went europe.
2. cost of hotel : no idea. But if 5 star , per head may be too expensive for me to imagine. Europeans use either pounds, euros or francs, generally. how long they stayed there ? 5 weeks?
3. cost of enjoyment there for 5 pax.
you can see why i envy his financial ability.
I want my son to grow up and just aim for such positions.
his life would be great and I can then enjoy retirement and ask him to pay for my holiday trip to europe for 5 weeks.
i really salute this high networth value talent of singapore.
Civil service. good to work in there.
BL
I think the comments about the Perm Sec is a little unfair.
Unless you think he has not earned the right to spend some of his savings on pursuing his passion, or that of his family’s.
Unless you think he does not deserve to go on leave for 5 weeks at this time, or any other time.
Unless you think during such times, no civil servant should be spending money or taking leave.
Unless you think his point on delegating duties for 5 weeks is impracticable or irresponsible.
So what is your point? Empathy? Perception management? Or are you being over-critical?
I have read some of your other articles and they were quite good….but this one?
krubioloe
it was said something like
their salaries have to be that high
else some will not join.
now leh? some will leave is it?
i no no lah.
can ask ask or not?
ronin
Mr Tan has unwittingly given ordinary S’poreans a flavour of the lifestyle of the rich and powerful in S’pore (i.e. the ruling elite). I suspect his opulent lifestyle is only the tip of the iceberg.
Mr Tan boasted that he did the (expensive) cooking course to get “out of his comfort zone”. I doubt he is aware that ordinary S’poreans would be pushed to the bankruptcy and jobless zone had they followed his example!!
And by the way, senior civil servants did NOT voluntarily take a pay cut. Their pay is reduced simply because GDP growth is down!!
Anonymous
5) BL
The question is why he boasted about his vacation with such vivid details and photos, which rightfully is a private matter, and should be kept private instead of publishing it in the press.
No public story, no criticism. As simple as that.
Once the story is in the public domain, then it will be seen as an insensitive act on the part of the ruling elites during this time of public hardship.
What is this story different from the story of Marie Antoinette asking why peasants did eat cake when they had no bread in a famine. The elites simple have NO EMPATHY with the peasants
Anonymous
Sorry last sentence of (8) should read as
What is this story different from the story of Marie Antoinette asking why peasants did NOTeat cake when they had no bread in a famine. The elites simple have NO EMPATHY with the peasants
hohapata tariana hoi hoi
Still waiting for any of the eelite to take a one dollar a month salary.
PM and ministers are so rich already and this huge pay cut is sweet nothing.
Who is this USA CEO who took a one dollar pay per year because his huge company was running at a loss and I forgot his name. Can someone help me, please.
Which member of the eeelite is leading by example?
Which Singapore army officer is leading by example? You will see when the country has to go war to fight for its survival. The officers are scared to die or kia see. I was a civilian officer for 20 years in Mindef and in the units and I have seen the whole lot. Wait for monthly salary and retirement pension and pray there is no war. Want money but too scared to die and OK if all the Ah Bengs die. Them die but not me.
So, it is about time the whole lot of eelite turn over into new leaves and lead by example.
Hohapata Tariana Hoi Hoi
RED-man
BL
Very simple, try going to africa, setup a table full of good foods and eat in front of the africian who had been starving all their life.
RED-man
BL
Please don’t try to talk cock here.. Many Singaporean had been forced to take leaves this Chinese new year and worry about the coming few months if they can keep their job.
Piles of bills waiting to be paid especially our high utility bills etc. We are still being taxed to pay these high flyer elites to go for hoilday and cooking lesson that held a high price tags!
So BL, which part you don’t freaking understand?!
“Very simple, try going to africa, setup a table full of good foods and eat in front of the africian who had been starving all their life.”
and announce to the whole africa too? =)
i think the gist of the entire issue is not on the expenditure but the public show of it in the current times. let’s not get ourselves entangled with the two. i don’t think anyone is suggesting that he should have donated whatever he spent to charity right? but reviews on salaries need to be urgently done. by the way, he was once an SAF general, and also head of URA.
KNN
13) me on January 7th, 2009 10.55 pm
What this guy General only got paid about 12 to 15 K Only , head URA maybe 20K
now WAH LAU million dollar annual salary that is more than 5 times increase. KNN something is SO WRONG WITH THEIR SALARY!!!!!!!!
LIKE THAT I ALSO WANT MY KID TO BE IN THE A TEAM !!!! SET FOR LIFE
KNN
BL YOUR AN IDIOT. MIND TOO SIMPLE
rosetta
do you know that there a minimum special account in addition to the minimum sum? Then there are 2 limits for the medisave account? you need to get your Medisave above both the limits to get some money out.
Have anyone ask themselve if these scheme really help them or simply pay more interests into the account help them more?
Why the complexity?
How is one going to plan for his retirement under such volatile rules?
It will be funny if the board can give us an idea how much an average Singapore can get out the system after he retires. How much a worker (average) will get under the schemes?
Do we have to end up paying a lot of cash for our root top etc?
Why is the government hoarding all this money for?
Why are they going to use it for?
What are they going to do with the excess in return for?
In exchange for a lower of medisave / special account interest rate, the government actually increase the limit therefore increasing our ability to withdraw excess savings? is that normal?
If our government is that rich, why are they doing all that?
arielsharon
wah former SAF general know how to cook!..wartime he gonna cook for us then?
lips
What the bloody hell are you learning to cook for FIFTEEN THOUSAND DOLLARS? I think the dear perm sec may have been had
And yes, these kind of dumbass articles are well within my abysmally low expectations of the Straits Times. Shameful.
tiredsingaporean
Well, when one happened to be working under or in line with those MIW, they will become one of them showing their don’t bother, care less, get rich quick, loud and who give a shit about you attitute and worst arrogance nature. Don’t you people agree? “birds of feather flock together”
Singacourtesylion
wah lau eh, I hope people wont engage in politics of envy cos there will always be rich people like that Mr Ong fella, and that PS Mr Tan also quite loaded one and haolian. There has to be space for everybody including them lah, so ST cannot also only report the sibeh cham & jialat cases one lor. Cos if one day heng heng you – Andrew Loh also become loaded & powderful, can you not guarantee that you will not do the same (more or less) spectacular things like printing your own calendar and flying to far far away to learn how to fry eggs?
Empathy is not only for the poor & sibeh suay one lor, its for everyone – like courtesy is for you and me.
very angry
was he inspired by LKY’s lavish dinner shown on TV?
is he going to use his newly acquired skill to prepare a french dinner for Ho Chin?
tiredsingaporean
16) rosetta on January 7th, 2009 11.12 pm
do you know that there a minimum special account in addition to the minimum sum? Then there are 2 limits for the medisave account? you need to get your Medisave above both the limits to get some money out.
Have anyone ask themselve if these scheme really help them or simply pay more interests into the account help them more?
Why the complexity?
THIS IS DONE TO CONFUSE THE PEOPLE SO NO ONE WOULD BE ABLE TO ASK ANY QUESTION.
How is one going to plan for his retirement under such volatile rules?
WE CANNOT PLAN ANYTHING ANYMORE, JUST CONTINUE TO WORK AND WORK TILL WE GO TO OUR GRAVES, THATS WHAT ITS ALL ABOUT.
It will be funny if the board can give us an idea how much an average Singapore can get out the system after he retires. How much a worker (average) will get under the schemes?
THIS SYSTEM BENEFITS NO ONE EXCEPT THOSE WHO ARE FILTHY RICH. HOW MUCH? ZERO!
Do we have to end up paying a lot of cash for our root top etc?
THE PURPOSE OF THIS SYSTEM IS TO DRAW OUT MORE CASH FROM THE PEOPLE. OUR ENTIRE LIFE CPF SAVINGS ARE ALREADY TRAPPED IN THE SYSTEM, ITS JUST LIKE SIGNING THEM A BLANK CHEQUE FOR THEM TO USE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE, SO WHEN YOUR ACCOUNT DEPLETE, THEN THEY COME AFTER YOUR CASH.
Why is the government hoarding all this money for?
TWO POSSIBLE REASONS. 1. EITHER THEY HAVE LOST SO MUCH OF THE TAXPAYERS MONEY IN THEIR FORIEGN INVESTMENTS AND NOW THEY HAVE TO RECUPERATE THOSE LOSSES BACK AS SOON AS POSSIBLE FOR BOOK BALANCE REASON OR 2. SQUEEZE AS MUCH MONEY AS POSSIBLE FROM THE PEOPLE AND ACCUMULATING THEM FOR THEMSELVES TO STAY IN POWER, MONEY IS POWER TO THEM, THIS IS POLITICS.
Why are they going to use it for?
TO KEEP THEM IN POWER TILL ETERNITY AND REWARDING THEMSELVES AS MUCH AS THEY COULD.
What are they going to do with the excess in return for?
NOTHING IN RETURN AS THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS EXCESS IN THE DICTIONARY OF THESE BANDITS.
In exchange for a lower of medisave / special account interest rate, the government actually increase the limit therefore increasing our ability to withdraw excess savings? is that normal?
TO THEM ITS NORMAL.
If our government is that rich, why are they doing all that?
GREED!
Gilbert Goh
I remembered when I worked in CDC, the deputy GM would bring all his second half goods from his home and gave them away to his staff durng CNY. Some of the second hand goods include digital camera, portable dvd machines and vacuum cleaners! Though they are scond hand, they seem new and hardly worn out.
It will be in the form of a lucky draw and we all were very happy as since when yr boss will give away his staff, even if it is second half, to his staff?
Nevertheless, a growing anger emerged in me as we are all serving the poor and needy in CDc and the way he spent his salary did not really reflect the work that he is involved in. His over indulgence in buying stuff and later giving them away seems extravagant. What was he trying to prove?
As a deputy GM, I would presume that his salary is at least $7000-$8000 per mth as he is a very senior staff working for well over 20 yrs in the govt service.
I later spoke to him and asked if he would donate his second hand goods to the poor by selling them away to raise cash for donation.
He did not give me a firm answer but seemed proud that he could afford such goods in a casual attitude and even giving them away so that he is seemed as generous and caring to his staff.
Civil servants had it good all this while as the people suffered with the current recession. Many have jobs that seem to be recession proof and with a decent pay structure.
For the scholar GM with a superscale pay in CDC, he will earn at least $250,000 a year excluding perks and bonuses. He will have a team working for him and he just shoot arrows at his staff to work. They did nothing but simply go for meeting and carry out orders from the top (mayor). They are often in their late 20s or even mid 20s. Their entry point is their scholarly accreditation.
I hope that the govt will be sensitive to the situation now and people like the Perm Sec who went on a 5-week holiday needs to be shot and remanded by the PM. He not only showed off his wealth to the population but also did it in a very bad way. One only hopes that he is the isolated case or else Singapore is doomed with such public servant
joe
Mr Tan wrote a book titled “Living the Singapore dream” and it is foreworded by Mr Goh Chok Tong [IBSN 9789812481467].
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/pr01-10.html
BG(NS) Tan was the PPS to PM from 1 Mar 95 to 14 Apr 97 before he assumed the appointment of DS (Revenue) and subsequently, DS (Policy) in the Ministry of Finance (MOF). BG(NS) Tan has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Engineering Tripos from the University of Cambridge, UK, 1977. He also obtained a Master of Business Administration from NUS in 1987 and a Master of Public Administration from Harvard University, USA in 1988.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/scholarship/os_hall.asp
1974 SAF Overseas Scholar
WhatheF
Hahahaha!!!! a duplicate of the Animal Farm!!! If you know what i meant.
Brian
That is really astonishing. Compared even to US standard on http://www.salarylist.com
A Tan
There is a big difference between Mr Ong and the senior civil servant.
Mr Ong made his money as an entrepreneur. Lots of investors (self included) have benefited from his skills. Besides Andrew, I think he does this regularly even during SARs.
The other guy is a senior civil servant. Whatever happened to the notion that senior civil servants are discrete people, of gd judgement. Shld not flaunt wealth esp at a time like this?
I hope the Public Service Commission and the cabinet take note of his flaunting as an example of bad judgement.
Depose the PAP
Felix Ong earned his money and is entitled to do with it as he pleases though I must say, the old saying that money doesn’t buy class applies very much to him. I think his calendar idea is simply crass. I guess he must have very poor self esteem or something like that.
Mr Tan Yong Soon on the other hand is a product of the PAP’s elitist policy. He sounds very much like another Wee Shu Min or rather Wee Shu Min would probably grow up to be another Tan Yong Soon.
The PAP and it’s elites have simply lost touch with the real people.
Concerned Singaporean
Most of the TOC articles are thoughful. This one is NOT. It is over reacting and cast doubts on the writer’s real intentions.
It seemed to suggest that the writer is trying to work things up. tsk.tsk.
anyhow.. just my thoughts and people do goof up once a while (elite or non-elite)
looking forward to better writings in future
gemami
I have been rummaging through the blogs of some of the contributers here in TOC and I came across one whom I think might be a civil servant who quite possibly have been in the service for quite some time to enjoy some of the perks she wrote in her blog.
It gives us an idea of their lifestyle and whether these people can really make good representation for the less well-off and poor people like you and me.
I am only highlighting their dining habits.
This particular blogger felt wonderful when dining at Sheraton Tower’s well known Italian restaurant, DOMVS. You know why? Because sitting next to her were: “the sepia financial big wigs of yesteryear, such as Peter Seah, ex-OUB, and Ng Kee Cho, ex-DBS“.
Friday is the lunch group’s monthly get-together, and it was confessed that:
“ we’ve been meeting n eating like this since the 1970s (where) we used to go to a restaurant in King’s Hotel; then moved to various Teochew restaurants and finally settled at the American Club with occasional forays to Demsey Hill.“.
As for the price of a meal, this is the comment: ”
The America Club’s 3-course set lunch with coffee for around $25 per head is considered to be a steal.”
Even their own TC member found it abhorable seeing their own kind dining so late into the night to show off. At the Tanglin Club, the blogger encountered a TC member who remarked while passing her table; “ Eating salads at this time of the night“; implying that raw to semi raw food wasn’t good for health at 11pm
Next up was brunch at the Pyramid Club.
Following that was this, in her own words:
“The next eating event of note was another buffet — this time at the Singapore Conference Hall on Nov 21 when a well-known woman philanthropist commemorated the birth anninversary of a better known philanthropist. The annual event comprised a slew of high profile awards with a lot a razzmatazz, media coverage and the de rigeuer ministerial Cabinet in attendance.”
This next event she described as a budget experience at Oriole Crescent home.
“So, here we were tucking into a roast turkey, S’s liquor laden trifle cake, other goodies and a good slosh of great wine from BK“.
Nearing the end of the month, this is what she lamented:
“After having started the month with champagne brunch at the Equinox and then to come to this over-priced, low quality and poorly serviced meal was a complete let-down. Sure the Tanglin c-brunch is just $75 per head, compared to the $128+++ at Equinox.
But note that the Tanglin charges a hefty monthly membership sub while the Equinox brunch, after using the Feed at the Raffles discount card, costs around $75 per pax.
And while the price difference disappears, the value for money chasm between the two brunches remains so huge that as our current AG Walter Woon once said, u can drive an SMRT bus thru it.”.
So you tell me, do you think TYS thinks it is a big deal to brag about his cooking course? Even the kuching-kuraps are lapping up the good life by paying themselves with monies collected from us. What is $15,000 to him?
jack
concerned singaporeans @ 29
I don’t think the writer is over reacting.
I don’t begrudge Mr Tan’s trip in Paris. What I take i issue is his flaunting
it on the national media, at a time when many of his countrymen are
struggling to survive.
You don’t see Bill Gates or Sim Wong Woo doing it, much less a senior civil
servant generously paid by taxpayers.
Andrew Loh is just highlighting a sympton, we can take it whatever we like.
lefleche
Reminds me of the American series “lifestyle of the rich and famous’. seems we have our own Singapore version. we dont feature celebrities and movies stars but we feature rich civil servants and ministers.
panter
She’s just taking advantage of cheaper prices. I don’t see what’s the big deal here. Can you tell her how to spend her money?
Zzz..
Anonymous
Rich people enjoying the fruits of their hardwork is fine with me.
For this story, I have only two qualms:
(a) Why a iron rice bowl contains not rice but shark fin and abolone, day in and day out?
(b) Why this poor judgement to brag about it during such time of public hardship is not allowed to proceed without checks?
ronin
Reminds me of one of LKY’s birthday, where he effective had an entire Jap sushi bar (complete with conveyor belts) brought to his house!!
Old wise man
Hi guys, very soon u will see the shitty times publish and show ministers and high post civil servants eating in the food courts and hawker centres. This to show some ministers and high post civil servants do empathise with ordinary Singaporeans who are going through tough times. Anyway good luck to our ordinary countrymen and wishes everybody well and healthy this lunar new year.
gemami
She’s just taking advantage of cheaper prices. I don’t see what’s the big deal here. panther.
Good for you if you think those sort of prices are cheap but don’t brag it here amongst the poor and say it is no big deal.
I am sorry if you had missed my opening comment questioning whether these people can really make good representation for the less well-off and poor people like you and me.
With a lifestyle very much an imitation of the rich and famous, do you think civil servants like these will understand your problems enough to speak up for you and represent you? I think not. They are more likely to, because of their lifestyles and their need to rub shoulders with VVIPs, believe that Singapore is well and good because they are enjoying the fruits of their labour.
No one is denying that they can choose the lifestyles they want but by choosing such a lifestyle, are they able to see things eye-to-eye with us, the down trodden and heavily burdened lot? I believe not.
This is the other side of the problem with high renumerations. You earn more, you live the higher life. By living the higher life, are you in tune with the lower life? Do you want to be in tune with the lower life? I believe not.
Does it not then reflect the way this PAP govt is heading? It has lost all sense of truthfulness. They have become dishonest without realising they are being dishonest. This is harder to heal then one who has been purposely dishonest. At least he knows he is dishonest and can be cured. How do you correct one who does not even know he has committed a mistake?
to gemami
then LKY will retort: “are you saying that in order to represent the people, we must be poor?”
Old wise man
30) gemami on January 8th, 2009 9.15 am
Oh, now I know who is she, the auntie who spoke in defense of the other PAP doggie CLH.
yea 40) thats that one. i will take offense at you calling CLH a doggie. like i always believed, dogs are fantastic creatures. calling CLH a dog would be one praise/criticism too far.
yea, maybe SUNDAY edition we shall see how civil servants live it like the people, going hungry on breakfast, eating at cheap places etc.
honestly, our civil servants and ministers MUST attend PR courses. they totally lack effective PR skills.
BL
i am not the same BL you guys were disparaging a few comments ago. :)
I just feel that in such an economically-trying time for most people, the Tan Yong Soon article just accentuates the differences between the haves and the have-nots.
It doesn’t help he’s a civil servant and drawing a good salary. With anti-ruling party sentiment at an all-time high, the Life Editor who greenlighted the story must have an ironic sense of humour, or he’s a closet anti-estab supporter. :)
gemami
then LKY will retort: “are you saying that in order to represent the people, we must be poor?”
An excellent question.
No, Mr Lee, sir. One need not be poor to represent the people, but, is it not questionable, for one who is braggingly rich, to be a good representative of the people? Is it not a question mark over his flawed character?
Let the rich live the rich life but when they start bragging while serving the poor, then it becomes a question of integrity, compassion and sensitivity.
You have said so yourself, your party has no place for questionable people
This is good
ITHe Free Advertisement will encourage the top brains to join Singapore politics and Civil service, instead of brain drain to Morgan stanley, Citibank, Lehman Brothers etc etc.
Great work SPH and ST.
tiredsingaporean
38) gemami on January 8th, 2009 11.06 am
Does it not then reflect the way this PAP govt is heading? It has lost all sense of truthfulness. They have become dishonest without realising they are being dishonest. This is harder to heal then one who has been purposely dishonest. At least he knows he is dishonest and can be cured. How do you correct one who does not even know he has committed a mistake?
Yes Gem, what you said is very true indeed. It is very difficult to point out the mistake to a person when he/she doesn’t even know that its a mistake, worse still if he/she knows its a mistake but still wanting to continue with those mistakes because of money and power, then its game over for those people down below.
panter
gemami, I said somewhere in this site that this minister didn’t exactly know how to explain himself or give proper reasons. Since when have our ministers nowadays been able to reach down to the grassroots without help?
Haha~
gemami
Hi panther;
Are you kidding or what?
For someone who can talk himself at tea parties with the 3Ms, into landing himself the ministerial portfolio; you are telling us he “didn’t exactly know how to explain himself or give proper reasons“, is very hard to accept.
moshedyan
[i]It is very difficult to point out the mistake to a person when he/she doesn’t even know that its a mistake, worse still if he/she knows its a mistake but still wanting to continue with those mistakes because of money and power, then its game over for those people down below.[/i]
indeed
i have this protege
i trained
he was the 1
tellin everbody
knowin me is a blessin
without me aroun
is a curse
over the last 5 years
we sat side by side
not as a partner
but as a pair of kopi drinkin kakis
he became successful/lucky
striked the jackpot 4D
more than 3 times
big amount
$50ks/$100ks/blah blah blah…………….
i couldn’t cared LESS
neither do i LEECHED on him
he do his thinggie
i do mined
2 months ago
he become even more NARROWER
his circle of kakis gettin smaller and smaller
and mind you
all this kakis of his
is also MINE kakis
till today
all those kakis he discarded for
NO apparent reasons
nor politics/stabbin……………..
i did not want to POINT it out
with my 3rd eyes
as mentioned
2 months ago
he became siao ren
(small man)
start PICKIN on me
his closest allie
he didn’t gambled
he think
i would sticked to him
through thick N thin
based on HIS terms
as though he think
i needs his lucky fortunes @ all……………..
unfortunately
he miscalculate
for i closed deals
better than him
and make profits twiced than him
based on my abilities
with clients knowin
i charged the
HIGHEST………………
but my clients knows
i provide the best as well
so he started to grumbled/naggin
worst than my belated grandma
may she rest in peace
ahpoh i still missed your saltish cookin…………..
so he started causin me ^obstruction^
usin me as his ^punchin^ bag in verbal mode
i can stand
but he make 1 mistakes
he uttered 1 WRON sentenced
where
no apprentice would ever
uttered to a MASTER……………….
i go home
i take 4 days of absence
just to let him
cool off
including yours trulys
upon my returned
he make another small man mistakes
he placed my spare obselete hardware in his office front door
meanin?
if you don’t removed
we throw to the bangala……………
but he never knew
i have the 3rd eye vision
which i OFTEN remin him………..
the day he placed my obselete item
is also the day
i brin my civilian alibaba bag as well
to clear my belongins
obviously
he thought he WON
but in fact
it backFIRED
for i am already prepared/forcast
on the 2nd day followin
i challenged him
you invite me in with songs and dances
now as a man if you want me to fu>k off
just mentioned the word
he replied
that he didn’t want to kick me out
just cleared my obselete belongins
i says
right
with your long and sour face beside me
machiam machiam
a hamas and a jew sittin side by side?
i TOLD him STRAIGHT
i have no
POLITICAL issue with YOU
do you want me to clear MY DESK as well?
he replied 1 more time
he said he didn’t want to kick me out…
i say
make up YOUR bloomin MIND
as a MAN………..
within 1 minute
he said
OK
pack up
i replied
THANK YOU
after snippin off all my connections
he tried to ^reason^ with me
still denyin he want to throw me out
i TOLD him
wire cut
no more communication/reason
i packed
i leave
many of the other kakis who witness the situations
knows what was goin on
i shaked the hands of my other kakis
without utterin 1 words
news spread
i returned to my ole haunt
my the other proteges workplace
they welcome me with open arms as usual
some other kakis were surprised
i ^relocate^
for they too can never
BELEIVED
i have started curfews
with my BEST kaki/fellow clansman as well
until i explaint
whats really happenned
the audiences/jury
decided in MY favour………….
today?
his office is liked a ghost town…………
moshedyan
[i]panter on January 8th, 2009 12.06 pm gemami, I said somewhere in this site that this minister didn’t exactly know how to explain himself or give proper reasons. Since when have our ministers nowadays been able to reach down to the grassroots without help?
Haha~[/i]
1st we paid him over $100,000/month
now you tell me
he needs his grassroots to root for him as well
who is goin to feed all this dead roots?
my town council maintainance fees
onced more?
so panter92
do you want me to speak to you
in spainish as well?
¿Primero le pagamos el excedente $100,000/month ahora que usted me dice que él necesite sus pueblos arraigar para él también quién va a alimentar a todo este raíces muertas? ¿Mis honorarios una vez más panter92 del mantenimiento del consejo de la ciudad usted quisiera tan que le hablara? ¿En español también?
theonlinecitizen
moshedyan
Please don’t write in this manner if you are going to post long comments. It takes up unnecessary space.
Thanks.
moshedyan
[i]theonlinecitizen on January 8th, 2009 12.41 pm moshedyan
Please don’t write in this manner if you are going to post long comments. It takes up unnecessary space.
Thanks.
[/i]
ok
no more long stories to share..
on short cold 1s……..
Richard Tan
If Tan can take 5 week holidays and his office still can function regardless he there or not. That means what? Is it we no need to have Tan around and the office still can function as usual, why still have him in the post? I think his subordinate can take over his job and let him have more holidays forever, and we can save his salary to help the poor that will be more meanful then boosting his wealth as a senile civil servant.
comprain
Dear moshedyan,
I am beginning to feel very turned off reading TOC comments due to
strange posts by u-kno-who?
if not, let me know by email : teo_ho_hip@gmail.com . thanks.
I remember there was a forum which was quite popular last time.
then some forummers start to attack it by posting weird things that turn readers off. and then that forum literally got destroyed by these people.
angry_one
Everybody seems to have missed the point. This isn’t about the insensitivity of civil servants. Almost all civil servants here are self-absorbed and insensitive anyway. It’s the underlying belief that all this money he made was taxpayers’ money, and he DOES NOT deserve it. It almost like a leech boasting to its victim about how much blood it has sucked and how fat it’s grown.
radlife66
are we witnessing a global reality taking place in SG?
According to david ruthkopf, the world now is more or less run by the superclass. An elite of the elite of 6000 individuals among the 6 millions of us…
i’m just guessing our LKY is certainly in this group, maybe HC (becos of temasek holdings) but no more from SG. Yes, not even LHL… his S$3million/year salary actually is nothing compared to this superclass (if you want to talk about money), and his influence has not reach his dad’s level…yet.
The global superclass are dominated by the private sector individuals (notably USA), with the rest make up of very influential politicians (gov man), military man, academics, religious clergy, etc…
generally the above ppl are not as wealthy as the private sector individuals in the superclass (again if u wan to talk about money).
But SG is unique, our political elite also happen to be our wealthy elite. There is an overlap here. (btw, bill clinton US$100million wealth is nothing in this superclass). Of cos, our SG elite cannot be compared with this superclass in terms of wealth. Being a small country, we need a core group of elite (this is debatable if you want) to engage this “upside down world” of the global super elite.
in this world, ppl who tends to flaunt their wealth mostly are from the private sector, (the likes of richard branson) and generally we dun really care…again SG is unique, this time it happens to be an x general and a current civil servant. So that is the crux of the matter.
The current world system is really run by the super rich. Gov has lost its traditional power and authority. “Market economy” only serves the rich and gov is more or less powerless to help the people (workers)…
this little red dot is really quite irrelevant in this greater scheme of things.
My only hope is that our current political elite, and therefore by extension part of our wealthy elite really do care for the people. Becasue only they have the political power to do good for the rest of us (workers). We gave them the mandate, they gave themselves a raise, they go out there to engage these superclass, to make sense of where the world (and therefore money/wealth) is heading and hopefully bring some back to Singapore.
If i am wrong. SG will not go down (they can always replenish w/ chinese/indians, who are more than willing to slave for them), but we true-blue SIngaporeans are finish…
good day.
radlife66
Hi correction.
world population of 6 billion.
so many and yet so powerless…
253SA
Folks, he’s a civil servant, not some politician. He’s entitled to spend his money anyway he wants it.
BUT
The fact that he chose to spend his money, the taxpayers money, on some cotton pickin’ activity which has no obvious benefit to society but himself makes me wanna throttle him
AND
The fact that he chose to spend his frigging money, our money, the taxpayers money, at some faraway foreign country instead of doing it here makes me wanna kick his butt all the way to China.
Like I said, he ain’t no politician, and I don’t think he ever intends to be one.
253SA
Didn’t the PM said something about not adopting strategies to boost consumption because they money’s gonna flow out anyway? Well, he’s right! With pricks like this around, of course our money is leaving the country.
Least I know one thing, a first class scholar is a first class a-hole.
TskTskTsk
Sadly, the country can no longer take the financial burden of our over-paid civil service. Let’s see how long they can last after digging into 2007’s reserves for 2008’s deficit. With 2009 likely to be another deficit year, we dig deeper into our reserves or we trim costs? With the attempt by the government to create jobs by hiring teachers and more civil servants, looks like trimming costs is not their plan.
moshedyan
[i]comprain on January 8th, 2009 1.05 pm Dear moshedyan,
I am beginning to feel very turned off reading TOC comments due to
strange posts by u-kno-who?
if not, let me know by email : teo_ho_hip@gmail.com . thanks.[/i]
thank you
as i said before
if moderator
do not appreciate
the way i write
my styles
i contribute lesser loh….
i got nothin to lose @ all
appreciated and grateful
that some readers here
do enjoyed my wierd comments…………
panter
This site seems to have only anti-government or opposition supporters. There is absolutely no fairness here. Besides, all of you simply view everything from a single perspective.
If I were to govern or if anyone were to govern this bunch of people, we would have quit long ago and let the whole boat sink into the depths. Then perhaps these people who once called for the PAP to relinquish it’s position will make punitive attempts to recall the party which brought them splendor and prosperity.
All of you show nothing but blatant disrrespect and ungratefulness. You have been brain washed by everything you’ve read overseas and such. The internet has coated your eyes in such a way that you will never be able to see the actual world unless you really want to accept the truth. No wonder so many foreigners called Singaporeans complain kings. No wonder Li Ao caricatured Singaporeans Stupid.
You people do nothing but prove them right.
Just because of this small issue, you make a big fuss out of everything. Creating a moutain out of a molehill, that’s what they say and YOU do. Why can’t you people just reject what foreigners have been saying about this country outright? None of you are thinkers or producers, but just receivers and part of a herd mindless. Of course, a few of you do expect something constructive out of the government and actually throw up useful suggestions, but the majority are like..
You guys think it’s so easy to govern? So simple to correct? Do you people even realise that a foundation once destroyed will never be built upon again? From your comments above, it doesn’t really seem like.
Even that moshedyan or noelofarc or whoever he is outclasses most of you.
I am neither a PAP adherent nor an opposition supporter, but the remarks all of you make only serves to make me realise that all of you, like Chee SJ and others are fighting without a cause. Only a few opposition members ever realise what they want and outline their objectves clearly for the electorate to read.
So what if Tan takes a five week leave? Is there anything wrong with that? Do you people even know her in the first place? Or did you get all your information from here. Mr Tan isn’t a person who takes the spotlight often. A wrong remark or controversial statement isn’t something that is a big issue. It isn’t as though he made a racist remark, a discriminatory statement or what. And yet, this is the response. You guys pounce on everything possible and oppose for it’s sole purpose.
Singaporeans..
As for tea sessions and such, not every minister know how to express his sentiments in public. I am sure Mr Tan has his good intentions. Just because he went for intensive tea sessions, so what? There was this person once during the warring era. He didn’t know how to speak properly, but he writes extrememly well. It isn’t a matter of expression of anything.
From what Mr Tan writes, it’s possible he’s refering to people taking the managerial or directive roles. He just didn’t express it well to avoid any controversies. Besides, this fellow isn’t a spokesperson. Neither did he come from major ministries such as Trade and Industry or Finance. And he isn’t a cabinet minister by the way, which some of you seem to imply.
~sigh~
To panter
“You have been brain washed by everything you’ve read overseas and such.”
The reason why we still need foreign talent right. Same goes to the love that your masters have shown for overseas talents right.
To panter
“You people do nothing but prove them right.”
Sure, that is what we call self-fulfilling prophesy. Anway, have you done to arrest this trend.
kamplain queen
My personal opinion on the Perm Sec’s enjoyable holiday is
he deserves a long rest afterall he has sacrificed himself so much for the country and the people. that means you! yes you.
I not only think he deserved the expensive holiday, I hope he gets to enjoy a pension scheme as well.
regrads
pawnzee bong bong
To panter
“Even that moshedyan or noelofarc or whoever he is outclasses most of you.”
That is what I like about internet, you can sound so objective somtimes.
jaguar
60) panter on January 8th, 2009 3.31 pm
you have ignored #59.
TOC is very neutral. It allows both types of views.
and its FREE. What else is free in singapore? can you enlighting me? i mean maybe some other free things i no no.
jaguar
correcto: I meant #63 sounds good comment.
pinkie
maybe the article was to encourage people to spend and spend and pay and pay to help the ailing economy that is in Recession and in so bad shape?
but of he had spent all that money in singapore, would have been more benefitial to singapore ?
i wonder.
To panter
“So what if Tan takes a five week leave? Is there anything wrong with that? Do you people even know her in the first place?”
Nothing wrong. Just that there is a place and time for everything and I guess that you know the word “discretion”. As a high ranking officer of high intelligence, why couldn’t it be done quitely especially in this trying time where a lot of private sector jobs may be gone for a long long time.
Important things that we urge for openess and transparency, they are not so forthcoming. Personal things like annual leave which should be kept personal, they are so open transparent and open. Aiyoh, why ask for unnecessary trouble.
Do it with sensitivity and empathy, yes the correct word is empathy.
gemami
Hi panther #60),
You are trying to steal the limelight, aren’t you? You do know what is heading your way with such an outburst, don’t you?
OK, I shall spare you my immediate reaction, turn the other cheek, and try to see your outburst constructively. I shall dwell on your words tonight and see where they bring me tomorrow. Fair enough?
Empathy is there
if you are of good class, good breed, good education – join the PAP as ministers and you too can get 5 weeks leave and holidays of $45000!
Great advert.
radlife66
hi gemami, always appreciate your presence…
gemami
Hi radlife66,
thanks for the show of appreciation. I’m touched. Have to excuse me though, still pondering over the words of panter above.
cheers :)
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
ah panter! welcome back! I thought you wouldn’t come back to this site already after you commented on your blog the people on this website can’t think and suffer from a herd mentality. Oh well, I guess we can always change our minds. So don’t feel embarrassed or anything. We all get to learn a lot if we overcome our fear of appearing less than good. But to be honest, I’m just a bit saddened that you haven’t heeded the kind advice of patriot and co. to remain just a bit more humble. :(
You must always keep in mind. Intelligence is a gift that has to be used wisely. If you want to convince people to think like you, have to be more persuasive. Belittling them will never win them over, ok? You have a point, but they also have a point. If not next time you become boss or minister, then people dun agree with you, then you scold scold scold them for being stupid, how to lead like dat? Ok? God give you intelligence is to educate the lesser intelligent one. So must use the gift wisely
Ok? Can? Hugs. :)
@#75: Hey, that boy is already thinking of governing the world and you still add fuel to his irrationalism… Hahahahahahahahaha…
The boy is… not suitable for politics and governance lah~ Too stubborn and too ‘layman’. By the time he is 25+, this world is already in a pretty mess, and with his kinda calibre… he probably still dreams of a simple tea session and ‘helps’ the PM… unless the PM at that time wanna throw his regime into toilet bowl, how can?
To panter
“I am neither a PAP adherent nor an opposition supporter, but the remarks all of you make only serves to make me realise that all of you, like Chee SJ and others are fighting without a cause. Only a few opposition members ever realise what they want and outline their objectves clearly for the electorate to read.”
Could you name those few opposition members ever realise what they want and outline their objectves clearly for the electorate to read. Can or not ?? Why so difficult ?? Or just say say only ??
radlife66
#58 Hi 235SA,
again, this is the “unique” feature of SG polity. In a dominant one party system, the civil service is part of the ruling political party. Therefore by extension, they are also the ruling elite.
Not to mention the military, your career ascendency to the coveted administrative service depends not only on your capability but also your unquestioning allegiance to the ruling party and therefore by extension also part of the ruling elite.
Control of the media and information. Key appointment holders are planted former intel ppl. and therefore by extension are part of the ruling elite.
Religion. You want to tender for land to buid your church/temple/mosque (maybe they give more face to muslim due to our geopolity…i dun noe….on dangerous round here. period) Your leaders/congregation are compliant ppl? it would be easier if in your congregation got some establishment figures. so by extension they have control of religion and therefore these religious leaders become representatives and incorporated into the elite structure…
Judiciary…
Sociology 101 don’t cover all these hor…
My personal feeling is that the structure is wrong. At present (i pray and hope i am right), the ppl in positions are still not so bad, or else we are really finish…
i think these ppl do right 95% of the time, and that is quite good already…the rest of the 5%…they HAVE to listen to the dominant political party.
The believe is that in order for SG to survive… these extended elites must “hold the fort”…and do what it takes to protect the status quo…
sorry to have highjack your post about civil servant learning cooking in paris…
but you see, i think the point they are trying to project is that they are all one and the same… uniquely singapore.
My take is that PAP is only part of the problem, the way we are heading really is dictated by the global forces at play cos’ we are so plugged in.
6,000 telling 6,000,000,000 how to make a living. I think this stinks!!! but at present this is the reality (we are going back to the guilded age)… when push comes to shove, you sure hope your country/gov is part of the 6,000 and not part of the 6 billion and pray hard that they are not self serving ppl or else finish also… so you see…the present situation stinks!!!!!
SG cannot solve this problem, we can only follow…. i don’t like this as much as you do…
thanks online citizen for giving us this space to express our views.
To panter
“Do you people even know her in the first place?”
“As for tea sessions and such, not every minister know how to express his sentiments in public. I am sure Mr Tan has his good intentions. Just because he went for intensive tea sessions, so what?”
And how do you know. Do you even know her in the first place.
Hohapata Tariana Hoi Hoi
Moshedyab showed off his Spanish. Even the PS Gen cannot write in this language but most likely he knows his French and can parle vu shinwa.
Anyway I can write, speak and swear in Swedish.
Alla flickor i Swerige ar gratis and I say this to the Swedish man I see when he tries to find clients to go to his ecovillage retreat in Vientiane
Ask this PS Gen to cook his French dishes and bring it to the war front if Singapore has to fight for its survival one day. And to lead by example and to foster a spirit of comraderie he should share it it even with the humble riflemen and with the brass, the brigade staff. Lead from the front and even Alexander the Great did it all the time and it was not for show or morale. Not like General Patton or Blood and Guts, who would drive to the Front and showed off and then fly back by the Storch plane or a light plane. Not like General Macarthur of I shall return remark who got the journalists and cameramen to assemble and he would walk ashore to the captured beach.
This PS Gen should be like the Israeli officers, generals and platoon commanders and they have been leading from the front since the 1940s. And even today —now. We all know them but why is it our officers and including this PS chappie
are so distant from the humble nobody footsloggers in the army and I believe our officers are really rotten. An army is led and when the leaders are rotten and that is the end or the beginning od the end.
“This site seems to have only anti-government or opposition supporters. There is absolutely no fairness here. Besides, all of you simply view everything from a single perspective. ”
so what fairness are you shouting about? aren’t you using your own tinted glasses to judge these people here?
‘If I were to govern or if anyone were to govern this bunch of people, we would have quit long ago and let the whole boat sink into the depths. Then perhaps these people who once called for the PAP to relinquish it’s position will make punitive attempts to recall the party which brought them splendor and prosperity.”
you are extremely naive. please, read more than your SS textbooks. read more than your history textbooks. read more than your ST. and study more and learn more about Singapore before you even start commenting and implying that only PAP can do it and no one else can. and don’t even dream about governing.
“All of you show nothing but blatant disrespect and ungratefulness. You have been brain washed by everything you’ve read overseas and such. The internet has coated your eyes in such a way that you will never be able to see the actual world unless you really want to accept the truth. No wonder so many foreigners called Singaporeans complain kings. No wonder Li Ao caricatured Singaporeans Stupid.
You people do nothing but prove them right.”
you lack the subtlety to distinguish between outright complaints and opinions. people are saying here that he lacks empathy. its fair comment, its people’s judgement of other people’s character. the mainstream media has sugarcoated you in such a way that you close the entire world around yourself, view it through your own tinted glasses and think that everyone is out to get you. And I am sorry. I do not see the need to be grateful to Singapore, because I did not have a choice to choose where I was born. The government is doing what it is expected to do, and paid highly to do. Those ministers aren’t doing that out of their goodwill. Why be grateful?
“Just because of this small issue, you make a big fuss out of everything. Creating a moutain out of a molehill, that’s what they say and YOU do. Why can’t you people just reject what foreigners have been saying about this country outright? None of you are thinkers or producers, but just receivers and part of a herd mindless. Of course, a few of you do expect something constructive out of the government and actually throw up useful suggestions, but the majority are like..”
not everyone is as close minded as you to reject outright things that are critical of singapore because everyone else knows singapore isn’t as perfect as you think.
“You guys think it’s so easy to govern? So simple to correct? Do you people even realise that a foundation once destroyed will never be built upon again? From your comments above, it doesn’t really seem like.”
governing isn’t simple. however, i don’t see how those comments above are related to your comment about “destroying a foundation”.
“I am neither a PAP adherent nor an opposition supporter, but the remarks all of you make only serves to make me realise that all of you, like Chee SJ and others are fighting without a cause. Only a few opposition members ever realise what they want and outline their objectves clearly for the electorate to read.”
the typical PAP supporter that has to identify himself as NOT a die-hard PAP supporter or NOT a PAP supporter so as to “lend strength to his pro-government arguments”. nobody asked or cared about who you support. its already obvious. saying its not is just plain stupid. even attempting to deny it would only confirm the fact further.
“So what if Tan takes a five week leave? Is there anything wrong with that? Do you people even know her in the first place? Or did you get all your information from here. Mr Tan isn’t a person who takes the spotlight often. A wrong remark or controversial statement isn’t something that is a big issue. It isn’t as though he made a racist remark, a discriminatory statement or what. And yet, this is the response. You guys pounce on everything possible and oppose for it’s sole purpose.”
i think you do not catch the main bulk of the comments here. firstly, he is in the public sector. he is expected to behave with decorum and humility is a must. what he has done is to boast about it(clearly) which sparked off netizens’ anger given the bad economic climate. people are struggling to put food on the table, and retrenchments are coming thick and fast, yet the newspapers allowed such a top civil servant to write and publish such an article that lacks humility and class. do you get it? if he has kept his mouth shut, nobody would have known about his holiday and nobody would have CARED.
“Singaporeans..”
you are one yourself. close-minded, ignorant and think he knows it all.
“As for tea sessions and such, not every minister know how to express his sentiments in public. I am sure Mr Tan has his good intentions. Just because he went for intensive tea sessions, so what? There was this person once during the warring era. He didn’t know how to speak properly, but he writes extrememly well. It isn’t a matter of expression of anything.”
i think you didn’t even read the article before you started commenting. Mr Tan WROTE THAT DAMN ARTICLE HIMSELF.no mis-quotes here. so what are you saying now? writing is a form of expression isn’t it? the fact you are writing here means you are expressing your disgust at what you perceive as ungrateful and disrespectful netizens, no?
“From what Mr Tan writes, it’s possible he’s refering to people taking the managerial or directive roles. He just didn’t express it well to avoid any controversies. Besides, this fellow isn’t a spokesperson. Neither did he come from major ministries such as Trade and Industry or Finance. And he isn’t a cabinet minister by the way, which some of you seem to imply.”
please. our cabinet ministers make even worse gaffes. this guy is an ex-SAF general. he is the head of URA in the past too. and there is no doubt he is one helluva smart guy. however, his sheer arrogance over-ruled his intelligence here. that is one article uncalled for in such bad times.
good luck for your O levels. you will need them.
I’m uncomfortable with some commentators saying the abovementioned civil servant is ’spending taxpayers’ money’. Everyone works hard for their pay, including him.
I think this TOC article is blown out of proportion. The original PermSec article was published on Life, to give readers interesting stuff on what’s out there in Paris etc. Furthermore it’s only the work of one person and cannot fully represent the entire governing elite; it’s not a trend. I agree the ‘governing elite’ can and should show sensitivity and empathy for people who may lose their jobs by leading the way. But it seems the author is trying to sensationalise this piece of news, instead of reporting anything concrete.
willy
Singapore’s Future?
We are lucky for too many times, most crisis is over by 18 to 24 months.
As far as I known……….
1985, recession- cause by Government increase in salary -to move out the cheap manufacturing.- Freeze pay and cut CPF, at the peak it was 25% employee 25% employer
Cut to 20% and 10% empolyer
Economy recover after 1987, CPF take 5 years to restore to only 20% to 20%
Good times from 1990 to 1997- but the real money is buying property and trading HDB flats- COE reached 100K
1998- currency crisis—- property crash 40%, HDB follow through
2001-Nasdaq bubble burst and 9/11- early election and cut CPF
old method- and reduce the CPF from 6000 dollars to 4500 dollars
effective cutting pay again and also tax you more
2003 SARS- and 2004 finally recover.
CPF took 4 years to reach only 20% and 16.5%
Property bubble started with the private sectors shooting 100% in 3 years at 2007
HDB at prime location hit the peak.
2008- US financial crisis- government, this time the big different is that the whole world is involved and it will take longer than 2 years to solve it.
The population is getting old, CPF cut is no go anymore.
Early election is hard as Youth Olympic is in 2010.
So what they doing is just praying that the crisis will be over in 2010!
come Jan the Nation wage committee will recommend cut in salary using the Variable Wage component. Then by end o f 2009, no recover in sight, CPF will be used!
So you see, they have no ideals, cutting CPF is just cutting your pension system.
They have done it two times, that is why 50% of Singaporean can never hit the Minimum SUM in the SA.
The SAD thing is they are making the poor Singaporean Poorer and moving in Chinese and Indian to squeeze the lower end even harder to leave.
But the funny things is that the poor people don;t known how to vote!
Every election there is 35% to 40% of opposition vote, the bulk of it come from the
richer and educated lot! The policy is killing the poor and yet they vote for them.
When the world recover, they will say how well they have done! they will increase their salary and hit even higher, but our poor singaporean will still stuck with 1200 to 1500 pay again.
I am just very sad for the low wage worker. Saw a lot of Chinese worker in coffee shop, where are our Ah Soh and Uncle,…… Are these foreign talent!
They are stealing the job of our own people!, who allow them to come!
Things you will not hear coming out of their mouths.
“Come on, Singaporeans, we are in the same boat. You are rowing, we are using our brains to plan. It’s not an easy job to do.
And when bad times come, we can afford helicopters or even private jets to save us, you will just die in that sinking sampan.”
“Hey dear, now it’s the financial crisis, stop wearing your branded stuff out, people will start talking. We have to put on a show before the election.”
“It’s the survival of the fittest. Do you think it’s easy to be a minister? I’m willing to change place with you, Mr Bus-Driver.”
JTYS
SZ
Hi 83) me,
that’s a nice one. but nowadays, i wouldn’t bother retorting them, simply because they will create stories or their own ideal world and impose upon everyone else. so let’s maintain the peace. people who can see will know whether there is any depth to his comment or it is just plain old “you owe everything to pap” crap.
i owe my life to PAP. PAP made me who am I. PAP made my country. PAP founded Singapore. Hence for PAP, I will die for it.
BL
To Panter and eternalhap:
Its called cynicism. I feel many commentators cannot bring themselves to see the positive or even neutral perspective. To them, there is none but negative. I don’t blame them now, after having read the comments. It is called conditioning.
They need a paradigm shift, but they are stuck. They just can’t.
Like you said, Panter, they don’t even know him.
Like you said, eternalhap, they dont even understand the difference between spending taxpayers money and spending their savings. Just because they pay taxes does not give them the right to tell civil servants how they should spend their money.
They only see the high salary they think the PS is earning. Maybe they are jealous, maybe they feel its unjustified.
It is a FACT that PS’ Cordon Bleu is SEEN as insenstive. Can’t change this perception.
Maybe all civil servants esp the high ranking ones should just shun all publicity.
Maybe all high ranking ones might try doing the reverse, embark on a charity drive say, donating NEWLY bought digital cameras etc and sell them to raise funds for the needy. I bet my dollar – that too will also drive negative comments. Not insensitivity this time, but PR exercise, or some shade of arrogance.
Its called Cynicism.
BL
And no. I don’t know the man either. I was first just interested in the fact that he took a course with Cordon Bleu…
Let’s just say, if you knew the man, and he gives vigorously to the needy, and is a superb leader. And he hadn’t gone on holidays for 2 years. He brought forward his leave from last year. (Do you know 24 day a year leave exists?)
He just happens to be a civil servant, the ruling elite. Would you have negative comments? Would you still say he is insenstive?
But then again, you wouldn’t know, would you? I don’t either. So at best I remain neutral. That is called a paradigm shift.
I can accept that a newpaper article like this creates bad PR for him. But the extrapolation of logic in the comments was just preposterous.
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
only hope all commoners can tide over this financial tsunami safely,
still not sure what the ELITEs actions effective or not,
still life very pressure in this country leh…
blur liao
aiyoyo
gemami
Hi 62) panter ,
Good morning to you. I had had a good night’s sleep after pondering over your words and this is what I have come to.
panter: Besides, all of you simply view everything from a single perspective.
This sentence has so much truth in it, I agree. But then again, I asked myself, whose fault is it? And, you know what? I attribute the fault to our PAP govt and the state controlled media. They have, over the years, colluded to make Singaporeans think with a one-track mind. And, the comments expressed here are nothing but an extension of this mindset. The difference is, the one-track I am speaking of, is very much in the opposite direction from that of the MSM.
The conclusion here is this; if those of you who think there is nothing wrong with the manner by which our MSM has been ‘controlling’ our minds, then there ought to be nothing wrong with the manner by which comments are posted here in TOC expressing one’s view.
We must not be biased. If we think it is ok for our MSM to speak up for the PAP they way they do, then we must give the same consideration and allowance to others who may choose to speak up against it they way they do.
This imho, is being fair. Hope this answers the question on fairness.
panter: If I were to govern or if anyone were to govern this bunch of people, we would have quit long ago and let the whole boat sink into the depths.
Good that one so young is already harbouring thoughts of governing. You have my full support and encouragement.
My immediate thought was; “Maybe they did quit. Maybe they had already given up on us, that’s why we feel so left out”.
While reflecting further on this comment, I somehow turned my attention to those in the civil service, responsible for drawing up policies for the government to consider; and; those who provide feedback to the government on how these policies, whether they are working or not, and how they affect the general populace.
I too came to one conclusion, that, perhaps you are right, that the fault does not lie with the leaders but with these people, these civil servants responsible for providing accurate feedback. Perhaps, in their anxiety not to offend their bosses, they have resorted to distorting their reports to paint a falsified picture of swaying palm trees and gentle breezes amid the glorious sunshine.
By these distorted reports and feedback, our leaders, perhaps began to think they are doing a great job and that all Singaporeans in every segment of society are well and good and jollily happy? Perhaps, it is the same reason why our people-loving MM believes that there are no poor and destitute people in his beloved country.
panter:All of you show nothing but blatant disrespect and ungratefulness. You have been brain washed by everything you’ve read overseas and such. The internet has coated your eyes in such a way that you will never be able to see the actual world unless you really want to accept the truth..
Ah, ‘respect’; how shall I begin. Shall I say, it is the same with the level of respect accorded to us as citizens of the land?
Let me explain. Over the years, since my grandfather’s time, and possibly since your great grand parent’s time, we have accorded the PAP the respect they deserved and for generations, we have worked alongside them to build Singapore into what it is today. I am sure you won’t be arguing with me here when I say the success of Singapore is to be attributed to both leaders and the citizens – equally.
Now, when Singapore began to taste the fruit of success after all our hard work, we suddenly have the same group of leaders telling us that they have become super-intelligent, overnight, and needed to be paid according to their intelligence. Meanwhile, over at the other corner, the same people who have helped build the country, have suddenly grown old, stupid and useless and need lots of retraining, re-skilling and up-skilling.
Do you see, panter; who is not according who, the respect one deserves?
panter: Do you people even realise that a foundation once destroyed will never be built upon again?
We realise and we want to protect it. Better still, we want to help shape it.
With the above explanation, can you tell me now, who is it that is trying to destroy the foundation you are speaking of? The PAP govt is making a mockery of our contributions, they are lapping up the high life and boasting about it in public (include LSS), while the rest of us are losing our jobs, our meals and very soon our children’s education (mark my words).
As for your comment on the opposition and particularly CSJ, I suggest you go visit their websites; or; better still, if you are serious enough in wanting to know more about them; go talk to them to understand what they stand for. Don’t depend on what you read and hear from the MSM. Like you suggested yourself, don’t be guilty of having cloistered views. Take up your own challenge, my boy.
panter: As for tea sessions and such, not every minister know how to express his sentiments in public.
Oh come on. We all know about these tea sessions. We’ve heard the boast over and over again and the criteria by which the PAP sieve the weeds from the wheat. We’ve even heard, not too long ago, that tea sessions assessment includes the ability to speak well in public. You argument cuts no ice with me.
Now that I have taken the night to ponder your words, I do hope you take at least half the time to digest and reflect on mine.
I appreciate the discourse and hope you do too.
Gemami
“I too came to one conclusion, that, perhaps you are right, that the fault does not lie with the leaders but with these people, these civil servants responsible for providing accurate feedback. Perhaps, in their anxiety not to offend their bosses, they have resorted to distorting their reports to paint a falsified picture of swaying palm trees and gentle breezes amid the glorious sunshine.”
Your hypothesis is probably right. I had a good occasion to meet up with a minister once (it was a panel discussion), and i guess it was eye opening in the sense the minister was astonished at the ‘resentment’ felt towards some of the words spoken by prominent ministers. (eg, LHL’s condolences to JBJ’s passing on) And, I would have to admit too, when you are talking with someone in position, you tend to mince your words, and so did I. And I was considered among the more outspoken ones in the group already. The thing is, other that the truly aggrieved, we all exercise a certain level of reverence and sugar-coating of words when talking to influential people. I feel, for example, the recent speech made by Tharman and CJ is symbolic of a DESPOTIC rule, but would I dare say it out to their faces? Hmmm…
(But, digressing a bit, we sometimes also have to take a step back to see if people disatisfied with the PAP are the majority or minority. It might seem like the majority here because disatisfied people are mostly more vocal, and we keep hounding away, perhaps unintentionally, the ‘loyal’ pap supporters. We don’t exactly get a very good picture also.. if you consider there are 2671 views at this moment, and 90 comments (by perhaps only 20-30 people) that’s a lot of people whose views we don’t know. )
I have mentioned before about a friend telling us how LHL’s cycling trip in loyang was met with much ‘refurnishing’ of the planned route. If LKY were to visit, say, the lavender area, no doubt all he would see are clean estates and smiling people, cheering, waving flags. I remembered the 2006 post-elections, where grassroots people practiced for almost a hour just to wave flags and cheer as LKY’s entourage drove past. I often wonder why most ministers and decision-makers just can’t make impromptu visits to the ground; perhaps for security reasons? Perhaps they had been ‘discouraged’ by their subordinates? I dunno.
I often wonder too, that most of the ones in charge are good people when you start to know them personally. It often baffles me why when a bunch of good people come together, the net result isn’t always positive. I guess we can sometimes turn to smaller organisations, like the companies we worked for to see. Most employers would like to think they are fair and good. But no employer is above the ’sins’ of ego, pride and preferential treatment. Maybe that can explain why people below are frequently upset with people at the top.
Lastly, I appreciate you take the time to ponder panter’s words. It shows a huge level of respect that he has yet to accord to anyone here. I hope he can learn that you don’t have to insult the intelligence of those whom you disagree with. That when people whack him, they are mostly whacking the messenger and not the message.
pigscanfly
i can believe that “most of the ones in charge are good people when you start to know them personally”. but hey, their actions don’t seem to bring about a lot of good effects for the common people.
to rub salt further, these “good” people literally help themselves to a “good” chunk of $$$.
so how to reconcile? will it be “oh, it’s an honest mistake inherent in the system. We have the best brains and intentions for singaporeans, and you should be grateful that we are giving up the private sector blah blah blah”.
or should we simply ship out the non-performers, case closed.
gemami
Hi Joshua,
You are a very kind chap for sharing your encounter with the minister and for your words of appreciation – hugs to you?
I am always reminded of these words spoken by Lee Wei Ling, MM’s daughter, and director of the Neuroscience Institute, on the main obstacle in the reporting structure of an organisation. She called it ‘Intellectual Arrogance’.
She said: “ I am director because the organisation needs a reporting structure. But my staff are encouraged to speak out when they disagree with me. This tends to be a rarity in several institutions in Singapore. The fear that one’s career path may be negatively affected is what prevents many people from speaking out.
This reflects poorly on leadership. In many organisations, superiors do not like to be contradicted by those who work under them. Intellectual arrogance is a deplorable attitude. ”
I am sure most of those at the top do realise that ‘intellectual arrogance’ exists but the problem is, how many of them are willing to address the problem? Surely, MM must know about it. Surely his daughter would have shared her thoughts with him? Surely, he must have read the same words I picked out from her writings?
So you see, if, being the MM of the country, and you know that ‘intellectual arrogance’ is a reality and you do nothing about it and just go along happily believeing everyting that are painted out for you, then you are just as guilty of the crime.
So then, we now know the guilty ones who have turned Singaporean against its leaders. What do we do then?
Like those who have gone before us, who have the foresight to see before us, the same call we are making today; that is; to free the voice of the people. This is the only way to get to the truth. The true picture of Singapore and the social, economical and political thermometers of living in Singapore will be the true measure that help to formulate policies that are holistic; and serve the general and greater good of all.
and i want to add:. if they have given up on us, why are they still there collecting money when they have given up on us?isn’t that fraud? why can’t we give up on them?
tiredsingaporean
You can say the whole damn system is already a fraud if you want.
Oh, i forgot. Gemami, hugs back. :P
Pigscanfly
“i can believe that “most of the ones in charge are good people when you start to know them personally”. but hey, their actions don’t seem to bring about a lot of good effects for the common people.”
yeah, that’s why it’s so baffling. Like it or not, all of us, ‘elites’ included suffer from myopia. The difference is just the degree. Ok, for eg we all remember the whole NKF incident. My mother who is active in social work, knows Mrs Goh to be a nice charitable woman who often lends her presence to many charity events and no doubt also donates generously. But at the same time this is the same woman who spouted the ‘peanuts’ controversy. So, rather that simply blind greed, what i believe why our elites are the way they are is more of an inability to see beyond the whole ‘big picture’. Sometimes you need small pictures too.
Just to quote you an example, from TEAHOUSE, a book by Lao Tze set from the end of the Qing Dynasty to the Cultural Revolution. The protagonist (who is the innkeeper of the teahouse) was mocked at by this entrepreneur for giving money to a poor orphan girl. (The entrepreneur previously shooed the girl away) The Entrepreneur asks him how many people he can save like that. He must think big! That’s why the enterpreneur is building a factory, so he can provide jobs to lift everyone up. Skipping to the end of the novel, it is the end of WW2. The entrepreneur returns a broken man. His factory is destroyed. His dreams of helping people never materialized. The orphan girl, now an adult woman, came back also. She remembered the act of kindness of the innkeeper. And he was somewhat rewarded for it.
Moral of the story? Brains and heart need to go together. Problem with our system is that it favors the intellect at the expense of wisdom and compassion. You have a lot of the Young Pappies talking about stuff on a very macro scale that often I find very difficult to understand. They read alot about Descartes, and Ayn Rand and Nietzsche… but not many have the time to simply listen to the Ah Gao and Ahmad and Arasu.
And like Gemami said – Intellectual arrogance. Many people forget Intelligence is there to help you understand and procure knowledge. But you need wisdom to know how to apply all these knowledge the right way to benefit the most number of people. (But we, at the same time must be conscious of our own intellectual arrogance – the virtual ivory tower. Sometimes we are not very much different from the ones we criticize)
So, people can be good. Leaders can be decent people. But even good people have flaws. Sometimes all it takes is for everyone to say ‘this is not my problem to solve’ to have it manifested as bad for the electorate. That is why a civil service staffed by people who see it as a duty to serve rather than merely an iron rice bowl job is so important. But not many people like to rock the boat. That’s why you can have a system that is not so good, despite people being generally good.
sorry, Lao She, not Lao Tze. lol. One is a writer, the other is the founder of Taoism.
TskTskTsk
To Panter,
TskTskTsk…..If I am running this county, I would not let the boat sink….yet….I will take all it’s treasures (million dollar pay and 5 week leaves) before letting it sink…
TskTskTsk
Willy #89
Your comments are insightful. I do hope that the coming budget is going to be helpful and aggressive to save companies (SMEs) and not some half-hearted one hoping that the economy will recover soon.
That’s creative advertising for SEKSUN! But also mindless spending. A little bit like Bill Gates donating to pharmaceutical companies that create drugs that do not cure!
That money is better spent ELSEWHERE! How about giving the money to people who can give poor Cambodians or Vitenamese a good education? How about giving money to the poor students in your own country? How about helping the poor so THEY can also help their nations and other unfortunate in need?
Who’s that CEO (sorry – shitbrain here) who fires incompetent staff during recession but keep the good ones still?? THAT guy is much wiser than laying off staff or spending money mindlessly.
As for CNN Asia’s article – that’s a good one! Has our PM LSL thought of using solar-powered panels (to reduce electricity costs) for our country already?? They are made by a Singapore professor but the govt has yet to give him his business. The entrepreneur sells the solar-powered panels to Europe!!
One way to support the nation is to support Singaporean businesses who can help the country, even if it means lesser profit for entrepreneurs. That’s not rocket-science.
P.S. @Tsktsktsk #98 NOTABLE Sarcasm. I like it!
SZ
Hi gemami & joshua,
reading through what you have wrote really brings up to my mind what lincoln has said in the past.
firstly is “You may fool all the people some of the time, you can even fool some of the people all of the time, but you cannot fool all of the people all the time.” and that’s happening right now. there are more and more people that are realising the truth of what’s really going on, and before long, they won’t be able to prevent the inevitable avalanche.
regarding what gemami says “The true picture of Singapore and the social, economical and political thermometers of living in Singapore will be the true measure that help to formulate policies that are holistic; and serve the general and greater good of all.”
this reminds me of “Public sentiment is everything. With public sentiment nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed. He who molds public sentiment goes deeper than he who enacts statutes or decisions possible or impossible to execute.”
and that’s the exact case of what is happening in singapore. how often do they mold or follow public sentiments?
and finally, my favorite quote “We, the people, are the rightful masters of both congress and the courts – not to overthrow the constitution, but to overthrow men who pervert the constitution.”
And i believe this is what gemami and Zefly and many of us wants for Singapore. Now of course, i am not implying that they are perverting the constitution *cover my a..* but if we are unhappy with what they have done, then we the people must stand up and voice out. and those who can lead us, should do so. because everybody are the masters of this country.
gemami
Hi SZ,
Honestly, I wasn’t thinking along those lines you mentioned. I was just reflecting on why panter believed, in what he belives in, so strongly, strong enough to rebuked us the way he did.
But reading your comments makes me realise that, yes, what you say is actually true, and this is what we want for our beloved Singapore. There must be constancy and consistency in keeping faith with the people so that the people can in turn keep faith with the govt.
The bitter pills that are constantly being driven and forced down our throats have to stop. There must be other solutions besides bitter medicines. No matter how much sugar-coating they may come with, they are still bitter in the tummy.
“I was just reflecting on why panter believed, in what he belives in, so strongly, strong enough to rebuked us the way he did.”
He’s young, believes he is smarter than his cohorts because he reads more, and somehow believes that his knowledge entitles him to be better than most people. He forgets that most people read up helluvalot too but chose to keep it to themselves. (But it is not really how many books you read but how widely you read. Whether you also read stuff that contradicts your viewpoints.)
He’s also probably quite insecure, and I just see most of his posts not a reflection of his convictions, but more of just wanting attention and affirmation. And when he doesn’t get them he scoffs and pouts and throws tantrums disguised as intellectual rantings.
But we all were young once, so… we should just smile and give him a hug.
cut and paste and post again. sometimes it works. :)
SZ
Hi Gemami,
Actually what i post before is just a collective of my thoughts after reading your comments from the past. I have been reading Gilbert, Zefly and your comments most of the time.
Yes, the bitter medicines keeps coming and i am quite sick of it. and the way they have been doing things, is just like “he who enacts statutes or decisions possible or impossible to execute” and i feel that there should by other ways other then this. I feel that the quotes i have taken from Lincoln really fits our country’s situation.
Zefly, well, panter seems to have a lot of pride, but you know what they say about it. prides comes before a fall, so be careful panter. Well, i will follow Zefly, here you go panter, a hug for you!
gemami
I am going to take your advise Joshua. (shh.. I actually did the c&p thing but it also went into moderation); so here goes another c&p…..
….we should just smile and give him a hug..
Well, I have to be careful who I hug coz the last time I tried that, I got a real slap on the face.
I actually reflected quite a bit yesterday evening and I do not know about you guys but I got this impression (and for the record, I am not trying to be funny here) that panter could possibly be heavily influence by someone in his life, perhaps a mentor he looks up to; like his dad, perhaps? Many thoughts raced through my mind, for example, could his dad or mom be one of the senior civil servants we so like to bash?
Whatever or whoever it is, I believe the impression it is making on him is blinding him without his realising it.
As a friendly word of advise, I suggest, panter, you heed the advise of Joshua to put your knowledge to good use by using it with wisdom. And this wisdom can only be acquired if you can bring yourself to listen, sincerely, to voices that speak a different language to the one you are accustomed to hearing.
After that, you can make up your own opinions, and you can then call yourself wise. The trick is to do it with an honest and sincere heart, not for anyone’s sake but for your own. Be true to yourself. Good luck.
gemami
I am going to take your advise Joshua. (shh.. I actually did the c&p thing but it also went into moderation); so here goes another c&p…..
………. ha! ha! ha! …….. it went into moderation again ! ! ! ….. 3rd time already ! ! !
gemami
I am out of here.
panter,
Just something you may wanna try… I read that you are very keen on this social justice thing. It’s a good goal. Most other people want to be the next Bill Gates without trying. Ok. Someone very wise once said something the line of ‘if you want to lead, you must be the servant of all.” So, while it is very nice of you to go library and widen your mind, you may also want to try widening your eyes beyond the world of books and Three Kingdoms. Once a week spend some time doing some social work. No need to help old folks bath and change their diapers, no need so drastic. No need go Cambodia dig land mines also. Just do something simple, like help out distribute foodstuff to the needy, that sort of thing. Won’t take more than two hours of your weekend. Then your character can be moulded to be someone who not only leads with brains but with heart. Ok? Can? Hugs.
patriot
Dear Friends,
I like to thank panter and I say hereby Thank You Panter!
Panter has provoked many Commenters, especially gemami, Zefly, SZ and Others here to think hard and come up with wise, meaningful and persuasive arguments against his(Panter).
This Thread is so much more interesting and meaningful than the one about Palestinians and Israelis. It is so much more pertinent to our livings and worries.
How I wish that TOC was around two decades or even just ten years back, but
better late than never.
Thank You all, I enjoy reading all your posts here.
patriot
amidst the widespread goodwill, i will like to add in that thinking that you read more or you know more isn’t going to help your cause. what is going to help your cause is the ability to shape your arguments according to what you’ve read, and the ability to question what you have read. that means questioning the very books you read, including romance of the three kingdoms and your social studies textbooks.
and that really, if people wish to hit on the government, there’s nothing much you can do. and insulting them wouldn’t make any difference.
Mig29
Panter:
Li Ao was actually describing people like you: unthinking individuals who believe everything the government throws at you. I suggest that you actually read what he said in the full article before attempting to even post a comment. Essentially, what he said is true. People like you are sad, pathetic and ultimately the reason why the country is so messed up right now.
@Zefly #110 Very good suggestion for Panter! But only ppl who don’t need financial help themselves can help others. Been there done that.
I am not so active in community work anymore because I am needed by my family.
My heart is willing but the physical part of me is difficult!
dun worry kelly,
do your part for your family gao liao! :)
ching chong chang
p sec not politician right? as in no need stand for election ?
pJ
Felix Ong is a Hokkien-peng made good. From the old rusty dusty metalwork shops he rose and became Chairman & CEO of a respectable factory that made products for the world. Class or crass he’s now got the money to do what he likes and so he should be touted as an example of the Singapore Dream. Afterall, Hokkien-pengs have a tougher time making it here where the PAP Govt seem to want to be in every enterprise that makes money. He made his money the hard and smart way.
On the other hand, that Perm Sec Mr Tan Yong Soon is really a sore eye in the landscape. Spending that kind of money on cooking lessons in Europe, and boasting about it as well, man, that’s more crass than Felix Ong. He should’ve have had his story told in Tatler or Prestige magazines which circulate among just the few snooty people, not in the every-day mainstream media.
253SA
Folks, you just gotta read the piece by Seah Chang Nee which appeared in “The Star” newspaper, which incidentally, is from up north country. Ain’t gonna win him a Pulitzer but man, it drills deep, and I mean way deep, into the psyche of what we’ve been suppressing inside ourselves for the longest time!
Whenever I see Raffles and Anglo students, my first natural instinct is to wish a Freddy Kruger on them. Yeah, that’s how I feel about them friggin elite school SOBs.
Remebering these friggin pricks and their friggin bratholes who think they own this place because of their privileged status gained from, of all places, our hard earn money, the taxpayers money! is just that kind of bitter ironical medicine and reality check we need right now. Build up the resentment in you folks, let it grow and gnaw inside you from now till the day they call the polls. Because when that day comes, there gonna be a revolution!
Apparently panter got do some volunteer community work as I found out. So it was my mistake to assume he didn’t and adviced him to. So I will apologize for being too presumptious in this aspect. My bad. Keep it going, spread the love! :)
SZ
118) 253SA
We shouldn’t stereotype Raffles and Anglo students as not all are as bad. if we stereotype in this way, then we might not be as different as the bad one.
I have already seen ONE badly-behaved self-proclaimed Rafflesian in Youtube, calling everyone she hates or detest CCB. But it does not mean all Raffles graduates are like her. So yeah, please “NO STEREO-TYPING”.
Anonymous
I’m an ex-Rafflesian. Just want to point out that 20+ years ago, the Raffles brand was not elitist. Sure there were the district 10 folks, but majority were HDB heart-landers born to working class parents. We are at or near the dreaded “unemployable and need re-skilling” 40’s. In all honesty, a significant proportion of us (including some professionals, executives and managers) are also struggling with life in Singapore under the PAP policies.
Please do not slam all Rafflesians or whatever “elite” school-leavers. We are in the same boat.
253SA
Folks, if you have read Seah Chang Nee’s story, you would notice his reminder on an incident that happened in 2006, just after the GE when a member of a certain school (have to be careful now, them moderators are watching…sheesh!) said something about us ordinary folks being over-reliant on the government. For those with short memories, I got the link right here to refresh your memory :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wee_Shu_Min_elitism_scandal
Now, for those of you from that school, you are guilty by association because a member from your clan has chosen to denigrate. This is the albatross around your necks. I would expect someone from that school to show a piss of common sense. And to top it all off, I don’t remember anyone else from that school rising to condemn her. If thats not clannish, I don’t know what is.
And as for students of the other school, well, it ain’t no secret who their folks are, where they live, and who they move around with.
Anonymous at #122
I am Anonymous at #122.
To #123 253SA on January 11th, 2009 6.43 pm:
“Now, for those of you from that school, you are guilty by association because a member from your clan has chosen to denigrate”.
What sort of justice are you proposing? Are you proposing to retrograde to the old Chinese dynastic rule? If someone is a thief, are all his family members thieves? If someone is a traitor, are all his family members (including maids and servants in old Chinese dynastic rule) traitors?
“And to top it all off, I don’t remember anyone else from that school rising to condemn her. If thats not clannish, I don’t know what is”.
I have read online comments from WSK’s schoolmates who stated that WSM is notorious for her conceited and overbearing behaviour even in the school and they did not agree with her views. If you’ve missed the comments, here’s an online entry which consolidated the various commentaries.
http://weikiatblog.blogspot.com/2006/10/looking-back-home.html
I have personally posted various anonymous comments online to condemn WSM’s actions too. The difference is, I make my comments as a fellow human being, thus there was no need to identify myself as an ex-Rafflesian.
There are reasons why ex-students from the so-called-elite schools do not divulge their school background online. Just take a look at your comment of “guilty by association”. What you have written is typical of the reverse prejudice that we face when our school background is inadvertently revealed. In life, I have learnt it is wiser to let my words/deeds speak for themselves rather than my school background. FYI, I am a HDB 3-room heartlander born to working class parents who are also HDB heartlanders. Please do not taint all black with the same stroke of the brush.
Lastly, I find the Singapore societal obsession with one’s primary or secondary school background silly. What does it matter 20 or 30 years down the road, where one studied when he/she was 10 or 15 years old? Is this societal obsession a reflection of the public sector’s recruitment policy? From my experience in the private sector, no one gives 2 hoots where your papers come from, the ultimate question is “can you deliver?”.
SZ
253SA
By stereotyping them this way, I hate to say it, then you are of no difference compared to them.
Those people who stereotype ordinary folk as stupid, leeches, coward etc are just a minority. and now you are just like them, stereotyping Rafflesian and ACS without sparing a thought for those who are different/innocent. must you stoop to such a low level like those minority? I for one will not. If they treat me like this, i will return the evil with kindness to prove them wrong.
And without gathering proper evidence, you just proclaim that all her schoolmates condone her act, and that’s certainly unfair. It is just like her, without trying to know more about the ordinary people, straight away pass judgment on us.
In short, My advice will be if you don’t want to be stereotype, don’t do it to others. If not, you will be just like them.
I mean no offense 253SA, so here’s an examply of Zefly Hug Campaign. A hug from me. And one thing, I am not from raffles or ACS, but was from a neighbourhood school and i study in poly. however, i will not criticize those unless they really deserve it
astrogal
to anonymous #122, I completely agree with your stance. I am an ex-rafflesian and the Wee Shu Min scandal broke out before I joined the Rafflesian family. I am proud to have been from RJC but comments such as the 253SA’s are very undeserved.
Just because I got the grades good enough to make it into one of “elite” schools, I am guilty by association of elitism?
well, i am sorry for achieving one of my dreams.
Most of my schoolmates from RJC are rather grounded and in fact my classmates seemed disgusted by the Wee Shu Min scandal scandal when the topic was discussed in GP.
and oh yea.. I am from a middle-class family, not that it should matter just like the fact that I used to be from “that school” matter either.
253SA
SZ
I am not an unreasonable person and in the spirit of the board here’s a *fist bump* from me to you
(as you can see, I’m not much of a new age touchy-feely person)
I can’t talk much now because I’m off to watch United-Chelsea, but I’ll be back after the game.
SZ
Hi 253SA,
I believe you when you say that . And i will apologize as I compare you against the like of Wee Shu Min, which is a terrible insult to anyone, so I am sorry.
Maybe i should have put it as we should give the rest a chance.
Gilbert Goh
Gemami/Joshua/Pather
I once worked in a govt organisation (CDC) and was chatised by writing to the press regularly despite warnings. I also spoke up in meetings openly voicing my opinion and was often knocked down by the manager. All of us ultimately kept quiet during meeting and she passed over the meeting smoothly much to her relief. For speaking out, i was labelled by my colleague as a trouble maker and up to much mischief! Those who often get promoted spoke very less during meeting, follow the rules oand does what the boss requires in work and does little to improve what the organsiation has to offer.
I proposed three proposals to the organisation three months after I joined and two were implemented by the boss. She got promoted after one year helming the organisation and I was later warned by the top brass in the company that my performance was below par and given three months to buck up! I was speechless and shocked.
I later resigned in disgust.
Nevertheless, my heart ached at the progress of the govt organisation as if it is presided and ruled by one woman. How can it improved over time i wondered? Is it not the same as how our govt governs here?
Let’s learn to speak up more even if we are being penalised by a autocratic boss or organisation. We can only improve if we learn to articulate what is on our heart and mind.
Though I resigned from the govt organisation, I knew full well that my short contribution there has left an indelible mark by the programmes that I have proposed and successfully implemented. The programmes also helped many who are unemployed and depressed.
If i have followed the rest and kept quiet, I would have left in disgrace and shame.
gemami
Hi Gilbert,
Thanks for sharing.
We all know about the NTUC guy who stood for election under the opposition banner and who was subsequently sacked by NTUC for being anti-PAP. It’s quite similar to your CDC account, isn’t it?
I, too, have a similar story to tell. The reason why I have so much time to ‘hog’ TOC, is because I am now taking a laid-back attitude toward my job. In a way, I think (in all humbleness) that I am quite like you.
I do contribute immensely to my work, and the contributions I am making to the department can never be measured in monetary terms. I shall spare you the details but just to say that it is by no means an easy task, to balance one’s own perspective against what is required of you by the bosses.
It is unfortunate that panter has decided to go missing once again, after sending his scud missile to ‘enemy’ teritory. It would be good for him to share with us his views, after reading the postings here. This will enable us to understand the minds of those who still believe in the PAP brand, and what it is that makes them cling to it, when it is clear that the boat is sinking by the minute.
aygee
Just to bring some folks back to the original intention of the post, about civil servants and whether they’re in touch with the common folks….
I still think the man can spend his salary however he wants to – he deserves the right, but his tone was a little bit gloating when he said he can take 5 week break.
BUT…most of all, i’m smelling a conspiracy. Now, there is a belief that ST is an instrument of the govt, that articles are all vetted and cleared before they go to print.
Now – this article would CLEARLY peeved off the common folk- from its content, down to the style in which it was written. The timing couldnt be any worse.
An astute editor would immediately know it and probably either touched up the article or not print it at all. They would know whether a piece is appropriate, timely, or needs to be re-written.
Some theories come to mind:
1. Life! pages really had no other story to run, so they ran this story.
2. Part of an civil servant executive profiling to show their cosmopolitanism, to show their worldly sophistication. Was there a series of previous articles all based on govt officials and senior civil servants?
3. Specifically done to promote his publicity- i.e. to promote his sophistication. They have some plans for him – so they want to put him out there.
4. Intention was to get a huge reaction from the public on his lack of sensitivity – thus using the reaction to “control” this civil servant, or even to remove him.
5. ST and Life! editors themselves are SO out of touch with their readers and the internet, and didnt expect this tide of disapproval from the public.
I have a feeling its either #4 or #5… because a good editor would know that this article would be insensitive.
Aygee (at #131) your observation is accurate! No editor is insensitive to gloating or arrogance! I think they did it for a reason. To promote him or to allow people to throw a tirade of negative comments at SEKSUN’s ceo?
anonymous
No the PS does not deserve to be paid so much. Can all civil servants take 5 weeks off too? or only if they are as good a leader as him so that others can do the job without him around?
what is his wife doing? what university is his son going to? Do we need to know?
I like the anecdote about a leeches getting fat by one of the posters.
it is the pinnacle of insensitivity when daily predictions of doom and job losses are being printed day after day in our main stream media. the end is nigh after the chinese new year holidays. then all hell breaks loose and many will be out of jobs. no iron ricebowl eh?

I hope that rich fellas like Felix Ong would spend even more on luxuries or non-essentials like calendars.
The rich have earned the money so they should spend it any way they like.
Spending their money locally would have a cascade effect and the recirculation of that money will create jobs for other Singaporeans.
The more the rich spend locally, the healthier it is for our economy.
After all, we cant expect the poor or the squeezed middle class to spend more to inject money to prop up our economy, can we?
I think the problem lies with the ST’s editors need to exercise more empathy and sensitivity with the issues or articles that they carry.
If there is a need for to try to get the rich to spend more by publicising such acts, perhaps the ST should redirect such initiatives to more upmarket and niche magazines like The Tattler instead.
By doing so, the message to the rich to spend more locally would not draw the ire of those who are suffering or feeling the effects of recession.