Barack Obama will be sworn in as the United States’ 44th President tonight (Singapore time, 11pm). Watch the event “live” here on TOC. The “live” feed is provided by the Associated Press.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

lee kuan yew and lee sl hope you are watching and can learn from obama
America is great for the following reasons:
1. They elect a Black President
2. Large numbers of white Americans stepped forward to campaign for Obama
3. Many white Americans voted for Obama
4. Obama recruited his top competitors (Biden and Hillary Clinton) into his team. He realised that the best people are those who are willing to come forward to compete against him.
I hope that Singapore can learn from the many lessons of this historical event. It does not help our limited talent pool that those willing to step forward to serve the country are defeated (by fair or unfair means) and disposed off.
LKY watch this? I still remember he dusted off Obama in the past, saying that he was all show and flash and will never get nominated, much less elected.
well done LKY. I hope he visits Obama, and Obama reminds him about it before locking him up and suing him in USA. and there’s nothing Singapore can do. =)
but its just a dream. I have a dream……
This is what can happen when one talked too much and think one is higher than God himself. Now one just have to eat his own words when the truth is out there for all to witness.
Obama is renowned for his Oratory skills.
It is now time for the 44th President to deliver the promise.
No matter what Obama is the right choice for CHANGE.
People need to believe in the possibilities of Change.
If everyone do not believe in Change and thus do not give Change a Chance,
it will be a Self Fulfilling prophecy and change will never come.
Obama is the right choice whether he fixes USA problems or not.
“well done LKY. I hope he visits Obama, and Obama reminds him about it before locking him up and suing him in USA. and there’s nothing Singapore can do. =)”
No, no. Nothing will happen. LKY can just use his usual trick of saying it is a honest mistake and it’s time to move on and Let’s close rank. If Obama is not pleased, the oldman can just says that “there is a conspiracy to do us in” and quoted CAVEAT EMPTOR (Obama beware !) with eyes wide open. The oldman will do anything to prevent Obama from intervening his oppressive regime.
Not forgetting to inject further billions into USA as carrot to please Obama and silence him. Usual trick from the old fox. Not that we are not aware.
2) Tan Kin Lian on January 20th, 2009 11.32 pm
Agree with Mr Tan especially the last statement.
I wonder how many singaporeans understood this already?
President Obama,
once you take office,
kindly help LIBERATE the rest of the world.
Thankyou you many many.
Tear Down the Walls!
I agree with Mr Lian too.
and to add on:
“No government can be long secure without formidable opposition.”
and i believe that applies for singapore too
“kindly help LIBERATE the rest of the world.”
Oh, yes… Please make Singapore the first target of human rights liberation because our clownful government has been going around the world preaching how good and efficient is their system of oppressive regime while hiding the truth behind draconian oppressive law and policies. This parasite must be stopped because there is a price to pay for using such system, which result in system of soulless, morally-corrupted, principleless and legally-corrupted society, one that look free but is not free.
Now this is what we called the people’s president, well respected because he shows respect to his own people regardless of their race and colors.
Sorry, I’m sick of Obama…everywhere is about him. Let’s wait and see if he can really performs. Able to talk and charm people is one thing, able to deliver the ‘CHANGE’ is another.
Don’t forget, he can do nothing if his policies aren’t passed by Congress so this guy can talk and Talk and TALK all he can but if the Congress said “NO” to his policies, all becomes CHEAP TALK.
Call me a skeptic, but you know who I love. (See my nick) !
“Those who cling onto power through corruption and suppression of dissent… ” I bet The Father cringed at that remark.
At least Obama can talk and US citizen willing to listen. It’s much better than those who who can’t even talk properly.
At least Obama can talk and US citizen willing to listen. It’s much better than those who can’t even talk properly.
iloveharrylee #11 – I suggest you pay closer attention to the complex details of government in the US: what powers the President possesses, the interplay between the different branches of government and the work involved (that Barack has promised) to convince people of various political inclinations to work together.
You paint such an overly simplified picture that Congress (which consists of both the Senate as well as the House of Representatives) seems to be perceived to be a single entity that is capable of saying (will simply say) “NO” to everything the President requests. There are far-right as well as far-left elements from both major parties. All sorts of people need to be consulted and sufficient people convinced in order to pass legislation and enact policies that best reflect things most Americans will agree with. I’m sorry, but I think you have been too used to seeing 82 politicians of the same color, thinking the same things (???), voting the same way in a single house …
Meanwhile, you can see Barack’s plans and approach in great detail on http://www.barackobama.com/index.php, his transition team’s website http://www.change.gov and his administration’s portal to the citizenry http://www.whitehouse.gov/. He has been aware through his campaign of the work that needs to be done to make the changes he wishes to make. It will involve a mix of talk, compromise, arm-twisting and pure executive veto.
I was sceptic too about Obama being able to be elected.
Once again, the Americans proved me wrong.
They have much more guts than us, lesser mortals of Singapore.
Who fears change and cling on to the present even if it’s a pile of shit.
As I watched his inauguration, I felt sad being Singaporean.
Lee Chee Wai. Don’t talk so much like Obama. Let’s see how he do things first lah ! He can promise hell of things but let’s see what he can achieve. Don’t be naive and keeps comparing with ours. There’s no comparison at all lah.
I remember he even suggested he will sit down on the same table (without any conditions) to talk to “Axis of Evil” countries (like Iran and North Korea) to make peace during his campaign trail. I’d like to see that happening and if it succeed.
IMHO, he becomes the president because of Bush’s incapability + he’s able to promise and charm people with his talk. The websites you posted are all the propaganda and offical websites about his campaign and promises, just like the PAP website about our gahmen. Are they ultimately the true picture ? We shall wait and see ok ?
He’s going to be one of the greatest president.. Like FDR, Lincoln, LBJ Kennedy.
YES WE CAN!
black pride worries me.
Obama’s just another puppet that will perform whatever his Big Business and Zionist neocon puppet-masters want him to, even to the extent of calling Israel a Jewish state (not all Israelis are Jewish) whose capital is Jerusalem. BTW, he has a white mother so he isn’t black.
To #19 Enough and #16 I love harry,
I think you guys have missed the point of the one of the great moment of history. Its not about Obama himself, its not about whether in the end he can achieve what he stated in his manifestos etc etc,
The greatness is about
1) The american ppl’s courage and sense of justice and optimism in electing a hope inspiring president who is of a minority race, to be willing to believe in hope and change for the better, justice and equality…… these willingness to work for a better greater future is what makes them great. In comparison, singapore government likes to preach about pragmatism which doesnt lift its people to greatness, (philosophies like we have to be practical :- its not possible for minority race to be accepted in singapore, its not possible for ppl who marry lowly educated wifes and still have intelligent babies, its a fact that the intelligent and talented ppl will get richer and richer and should be paid more, while you lesser mortals of low intellect should face the fact that you cant earn a decent wages and still have to accept high cost of living)
2) Obama’s philosophy of changing for the better, not giving in to adversities, and silly rhetorics of pragmatism. His great determination to want to help all people have better lives. That determination alone have made him a winner, whatever results he is going to show.
I think Singaporeans are too kiasee to vote for change. Always want to see good results (like more $$ or goodies) first before making decision. Cannot see the intangible stuff like morals, values and effort.
That is why I feel sad for Singapore.
We may never see our own Obama rise up because of our kiasee mentality. We have been ingrained by our elites to think that life is all about the pursuit of money and fancy cooking trips to Paris.
If Obama live in Singapore, he will not be President, Prime Minister or whatsoever due to our Narrow Minded Scholaristic System that had being
abolished by Imperial China.
Where is the Singapore Dreams? Do we have the right values like the Americans?
10) tiredsingaporean on January 21st, 2009 12.23 am
Now this is what we called the people’s president, well respected because he shows respect to his own people regardless of their race and colors.
//////
To add , he is Respectable also because, he is an ELECTED President. This , to the uninitiated, means, the electorate is FREE to choose their leader. Their leader was not given that position by any means other than by the FREE WILL of the PEOPLE. He is great. He is the Chosen one by Democratic Citizens in a vast land of 303 million humans. His win is by landslide magnitude. This is his CREDIBILITY. He wins by his own effort. He is the People’s President. He is my leader too. Altho I am not usa citizen. I respect such leader and he is my idol.
This is why he is my leader.
He is a REAL ELECTED President. Not all can claim to be so. For example, I am not elected president. So, I cannot claim to be so.
Tear it all down. As in, help Liberate the world. The world is waiting.
#16 (I assume it’s iloveharrylee) – I was an early supporter of Barack Obama when he first started his campaign as the underdog. I have followed his campaign all the way from virtually the start to his inauguration. What has struck me about him is that he tends to be very consistent. He also tends to be very nuanced in his stands. He is also willing to change and admit to mistakes. Unlike #20 nottrivial’s opinion, I think he’s also very pragmatic, and I’ll grudgingly attribute that as a positive aspect of his character, for he is willing to consider compromise to help make things work rather than let ideology drown others out (he’s considered *extremely* liberal by a good number of Americans). In him, I saw a doer as wel as a dreamer. He’s very 3-dimensional.
It is tough for you to see the discussion threads on his campaign website now but it was very similar in nature to TOC’s. Supporters and detractors (and he had both democrat, republican and independent detractors) went to his website to comment on the campaign’s various posts and you get to see the myriad of views even on simple issues. It was an eye-opener and helped exposed valid concerns from various different angles on issues. These were sieved through by volunteers and sometimes they responded and all views were given due consideration. When I offered my views, I always identified myself as a foreigner and my words were still given the same respect as anyone else’s. While some aspects of the site were overly positive (I did not like that – like you said, it felt like propaganda), they hosted public discussions and videos that were no propaganda site would dare put up).
The campaign documented all his campaign speeches and events. One such video even included a protest against his perceived pro-abortion stance right in the middle of his rally. His response was graceful … he gently stopped his supporters (most were) from shouting down the small group of protesters, told them that they had valid points as well, but that he was in the middle of a rally and was more than willing to speak with them afterward if they so desired.
In any case, we’ll see (like you said). I may not have interacted with the man directly, so it’s second-hand “interaction” through his volunteers (who have). I hate to say it, but what little you know of him is likely to be third-hand at the best. I have very good reason to believe my faith in him is not misplaced. He will have his challenges but the most important thing is that, having followed his actions and statements over the last 2 years and having researched his voting record in the Illinois and US senates (thanks to Hillary’s challenge on his record), I have the confidence he understands those challenges reasonably well.
Peace.
23) Its Time ! on January 21st, 2009 2.14 pm
He is a REAL ELECTED President. Not all can claim to be so. For example, I am not elected president. So, I cannot claim to be so.
But here we have self elected ones elected by party members of the same party, so can we also say that it is the same as elected one? or through GRCs system also means that the MPs are also elected by the people? Funny right?
Hey guys, you are all supporters of Obama and talk talk talk talk like him and whine about why SG cannot be like U.S. ?
Let me put this straight ! Just compare the major parties in U.S. and us…Democrats have been a worthy opponent of the Republicans so people can make the choice easily because they knew Democrats can be another safe bet.
Now let’s look at our Opposition parties here….one opposition guy asked if MSK is dead in Parliment and offered no evidence to support that claim, the other shouted at public places like a mad dog and keep pushing you their party newletters, one guy even took naked photos of his maid. So tell me if our opposition are in the likes of the similiar Democrats who took control of the Senate and the White House.
I’m not always in favour of the ruling party (if you think I’m defending them) but I cannot see why I should vote for these opposition members since I can be more rational than them. If the Opposition can organise themselve and make them credible like the Democrats, they definately able give the ruling party a ‘hard time’ in the next election. Do you see any “Obama’ in our Opposition parties ? Just name him out if you can.
I heard from CNA live coverage of the inaug last night from an ang more
that USA have a website system called OutReach or ReachOut for citizens to post questions or feedback. Kind of like REACH? not sure leh. Which came 1st?
I have the answer but dare not say it . u guess.
separately , I would like to comment that
without a strong Opposition in USA, there could never have an Obama.
Opposition is not a dirty word.
It is an integral and crucial part of a healthy system.
28) iloveharrylee on January 21st, 2009 7.02 pm
I think there ARE , not is, Obamas in sg.
Your question should be,
Are these Obamas willing to step forward and not so much
if they exist.
To illustrate, a top party member holding important post now
can switch to join another party. Presto! Obama for you in opposition.
Technically, its easy to have an Obama. There are already a few existing.
The real problem is whether they would step forward.
So, technically, your fear is unfounded. But you are right in that the Opposition have been very silent based on news reported by MSM about them. This is also because very few want to take the road less travelled, opting for the more rosey path.
just my take on the situation.
Yes, We Can! if they step forward. Else, no we surely no can for eternity.
We should look at our own report card as to how US openly looked at their own report card.
28) iloveharrylee on January 21st, 2009 7.02 pm
Do you see any “Obama’ in our Opposition parties ? Just name him out if you can.
30) Chua Lee Lee of the Lui on January 21st, 2009 7.37 pm
I think there ARE , not is, Obamas in sg.
Too simple, no need to argue here, just stop the papees from using their own court to penalise all alternate party members with immediate effect. I bet you not only do we have an obama emerging immediately, you will be so shocked that they can even form a party much bigger than the present ruling one anytime.
Shu Min, you’re right. I agree Opposition is not a dirty word. We need to have a strong Opposition here in SG so the ruling party will not take anything (or people) for granted. Because life has been too easy for them and that’s why things have gone into elitism and brings about all the ‘lesser mortals’ comments.
Chua Lee Lee, yes, there’s always a Obama in every country, and as you have pointed you if these Obamas would like to step up and offer the people a choice to vote for him. Of course, the path is definately going to be less travelled. I don’t think President Obama has an easy start when he become a black senator and ultimately becomes the first black president. Who would imagine he will reach his current status ? Do you know what are his sacrifices ? Surely they are.
So I really urge the Obamas amongst us to step up and serve the people.
tiredsingaporean….don’t blame the pappies if we cannot get an Obama amongst us. That’s really a lame excuse. If Steve Chia can be an MP one day that even the Pappies thought he should be an member of them, why not another Steve Chia (but no naked photos of maid please) ! For a start, we shouldn’t blame the ruling party. Just look at ourselves and see if anyone amongst us can offer a better solution and step up to serve the people.
It is like if you lost a job and you kept blaming your employer and gahmen for landing you in such situation; are you going to do nothing at all except to whine the whole day and blame everyone for your retrenchment ? Are things really beyong your control ? Are you sure you cannot do anything about it ?
Surely you can, right ? If everyone sounded like that, I can only say it is logical that we have a weak opposition which cannot stand up to the ruling party because we have resigned our fate as such. Likewise, if Obama have thought he could never be a President because of his skin colour, then he wouldn’t be living in the White House today.
34) iloveharrylee on January 21st, 2009 11.30 pm
Did I mentioned anything about blaming the ruling party? you still don’t get my point, don’t you?
“just stop the papees from using their own court to penalise all alternate party members with immediate effect.”
Its just like when you hit me without letting me knowing your reason of hitting me and then you make a police report that you did it out of self defence and sending the police going after me instead. Now do you get my point?
Nope, tiredsingaporean…I don’t get your point. First of all, you must be clean to join the gahmen. Second, you must be more flawless than Pappies so that they have no way to hit you. Third, you must be well-versed with Singapore law so that you know what can be done and what cannot be done. In that way, no one, (even the Chief Justice) can find any fault with you.
Politics is never easy. But it doesn’t mean it is not possible. We have Opposition MPs in parliment for some terms and I didn’t see them getting into trouble with the law or being prosecuted for making any comments. In fact, when they made any stupid comments, everyone just laughed over it and that’s all.
It is only the people who doesn’t know the rules of the game (for exmaple Chee) keep pushing him way thru and doesn’t regard anything / anyone else except his own agenda. I don’t think he’s the ‘Obama” we should be voting for, right ?
Well, if this is going to be your answers which is to me is still not a relevant one to my question, I would certainly not going to argue further as your nick clearly explains everything else here. No heart feeling, just wanting to contribute and speak up my mind of what I feel.
triedsingaporean, thanks for your views. I guess I’ve already answered your question but you choose not to see it my perspective. But that’s ok. This is the diversity of exchanges we need in Singapore. One side communication reallys sucks.
BTW, my nick is inspired by someone who wrote this on the stone wall of the Parliment house. I do share the same sentiments with that guy so it’s for you to find out if I’m pro-Pappy. =)
At least, Barack Obama is An Elected President & his salary is peanut compare to S’pore President, MM Lee & PM Lee.
Who is S’pore President? He is just a mere puppet. Who elected him??…..No one.
No statement from him when Mas Selamat escaped……no statement from him when the country is facing financial crisis….But earning Big Fat Monthly $alary!!!
Will only appear when taking photos: Istana open house, Chingay parade, soccer matches, etc. What a joke.
No Obama-like person would step forward in our small nation. He’d only be ridiculed and have his life history scrutinized, and then be bankrupted or forced to flee. Here, Obama-like persons are just apathetic dreamers. Some will leave when the closet dreaming becomes frustrating. We are not educated to be the likes of American politicians. The USA is not called the Land of Opportunities for no reason, and Barack Obama is testimony to that. So are the millions of migrants who have traveled there and who continue to change the face of America. They identify with Obama. It may take SG another 200 years to get there. Maybe with the internet and the access to information, knowledge and reflection, we will be fortunate and get there in a hundred. We have come so far from feudalism, what’s a few more years? Be patient you all. Will Barack be good for the US? Only time will tell. And if he does not do enough, he may be out in FOUR years. Remember that US presidents can only SERVE two terms at most, so if he were good, he’d be there only eight years. Afterall, it’s not a monarchy … or dictatorship …
Hi Me Post#3
Obama will welcome Lee Kuan Yew with open arms and embrace the Latter warmly.
He is definitely not that ‘xiao qi’(petty/vindictive).
In any case, Singapore Leader(s) should not have interfered with politics of other sovereign nations, especially long established big countries. It is just not right for a manager of a tiny shop to advice a multi-national company how to select its’ CEO.
Imagine that Mr Barack Obama telling Singaporeans who to elected as Prime Minister of Singapore!
patriot
Just to add that Barack Obama may not have much influence in our domestic politics.
Though Obama might have carried himself very well through out the Presidential Election, he cannot be assumed to have solutions to all the problems the US and its’ citizens are facing. He is after all handed all the shits by his predecessor Bush Junior and he(Obama) is as human as anyone else. Hopefully he can deliver his promises, however, the challenges he faces are definitely very overwhelming and he may not achieve all his own wishes and that of his people.
If Obama improve the wellbeings of his citizens and contribute to World Peace, he would be considered as having perform positively. But, to expect him to be a miracle solving much of the woes plagueing the World will be too farfetch.
Nonetheless, he is surely a good example of a thoughtful and sincere leader up to this point in time.
patriot
Is SG President similiar to the Thai PM ? It is not Elected; but APPOINTED ?
Anyway, I can see why America has come to this point in history and we have not. Our society is not matured enough so to speak. We always want to earn more and more money; not caring much for the nation or even try to join the opposition and truly believe we can offer a better solution to the nation’s problem.
If everyone who joins the opposition just because they wanted to get back at the Pappies, then SG has no hope for the people. Ultimately, it will be the parties fighting between themselves, not fighting for the goodness of the Singaporeans. Just look at Malaysia and you’ll know. Did any leaders up there are fighting for the normal citizens on the streets or they are fighting between themselves for power; even within the same party.
I’m not here to lecture anyone of you; but it is really something we should be thinking hard ourselves. Opposition doesn’t always have to be anti-Pappies, just like Democrats doesn’t have to oppose everything Republicans say. Sometimes, they do agree on common policies because they truly believe that’s best for the country and the people. We should be mature like them so that there’s hope for SG to reach America’s current political system.
Singaporeans worship the American system too much. It must be remembered that it was because of those American ideals in the first place, that has caused the world to be in a mess today.
The billions spent and wasted on the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq could have been used to help America’s economy.
iloveharrylee,
why are you only capable of using negative aspect of the other countries to demonstrate your point just like the real LKY ? And why are your mind so narrow to think that the whole world only consists of countries around Singapore, eg Malaysia, Taiwan, Thailand. I guess you use it to backup your point. So are you any different from the PAP’s mouthpiece ?
“Anyway, I can see why America has come to this point in history and we have not. Our society is not matured enough so to speak. ”
Not mature to speak ? You mean someone pay those top intelligent elite like Michael of Law society and JBJ’s son and few of top lawyers in Singapore and they are not even mature to speak ? How is it that when it comes to protect the regime, these elites among them become ‘matured’ to defend the case against coffers. So how come your argument has no head and no tail ?
“If everyone who joins the opposition just because they wanted to get back at the Pappies, then SG has no hope for the people.”
Another fallacy from again ? Does your ‘IF’ even reflect reality rather than your own imaginary fear of the regime downfall ? You can’t even use the word ‘IF’ properly because your ‘IF’ is so impossible. How many percent of jobs are related to government and do you think they will vote against the PAP ? So does your ‘IF” still stand ? Even now, under PAP, does Singapore has anymore hope ? If you can’t judge the hopelessness of dire situation in Singapore under PAP regime, then why even use the word ‘IF” ?
So what are you going to do when the gov feed you lies and then you yourself move on after knowing that it is lie. Why are deceiving yourself ? Case in point, some oldman tell us that having protest will result in riot like Thailand, now is there any riot in Hong Lim Park when there is protest ? So why not even mention this as a example, or are you hootwink the commenter here again ?
Oh yeah … Don’t look at Malaysia, Thailand, USA, Burma, Indonesia. Just take a look at Singapore. Don’t comfort yourself in Singapore with th estate of other countries’s belitted situation to make yourself feel good.
“I’m not here to lecture anyone of you; but it is really something we should be thinking hard ourselves.”
Are you thinking so hard that you can’t even see your own follies too ?
“Opposition doesn’t always have to be anti-Pappies, just like Democrats doesn’t have to oppose everything Republicans say. Sometimes,”
Please tell me, do opp party here oppose just to be anti-pappies ? Unless you telling me that the concern of opp party here are not for the citizen. So what kind of thinking you have all along ?
“Singaporeans worship the American system too much. It must be remembered that it was because of those American ideals in the first place, that has caused the world to be in a mess today.”
True, but does it has to be this way ? Who is the cause of it to chase and promote greed and pragmaticism in Singapore. Who is the ulitimate culprit ? I don’t think it is USA can be fully be blamed because government in the world can make their own choice ? CAVEAT EMPTOR, government beware. It is the gov that suppress voice that raise concern that result in current state of Singapore.
Daniel, don’t talk so much…what have you done so far ? Tell me if you have joined any political party so to speak ? If not, on what position are you to criticise me and my speech ?
Do you choose to stay safe on the sidelines and shout out your feelings here ?
If that’s going to make you feel better, so be it.
If you think by shouting here will change the political situation here, then you can forget about it.
If you like to act like the shouting Chee, I can only laugh about it.
=D
“Daniel, don’t talk so much…what have you done so far ? Tell me if you have joined any political party so to speak ? If not, on what position are you to criticise me and my speech ?”
Haha, how about you lecturing everyone here and you who doesn’t even do anything in your life for the people e but only talkcock and dressing everybody down jhere ust because they detest the policy of gov ? So what position are you again to lecture the people here and sing song ?
“Do you choose to stay safe on the sidelines and shout out your feelings here ?
If that’s going to make you feel better, so be it.”
Haha, didn’t you doing the same thing ? Why be a clown then coming here and complain about others when you yourself doing the same thing. Do yourself a flavour. Please complain and lecture in the PAP forum and website. You will find your supporters there.
I shouting ?
Another clownful remark from you. Stop being a clown. You doesn’t even know my tone and you know I shouting. Well, you are gifted just like the oldman who can predict great thing, aren’t you ?
What do you expect Obama to do? impose sacntions Do you know how miuch of our basic goods are from overseas?
Bring the case of Singapore to the Un? Haha. Ever since SG joined the UN, the UN has NEVER condemned SG at all. Do you die hard democrats expect that to happen
Military blockadeinvasion? Obama is not bush. Secondly, Singapore in fact hosts the US Navy and Air Force through the lease of land and facilities. Do you expect the US to lose its strategic position in SEA?
Precisely. Obama cannot do much. Even he has the power, he will save American people from losing jobs and overcome this economic crisis. Also, the U.S. needs SG as an ally in Asia. That’s the price a superpower has to take…they need allies otherwise they wouldn’t be one.
I guess he has more important and bigger countries to deal with; MIddle East conflict, N. Korea’s and Iran’s nuclear ambitions, and the Chinese rising power. They are more serious and putting thousands and millions of people lives at stake. Tell me if compared to SG, would anyone die in the first place ?