Friday, January 2, 2009 14:45

Pay per view – Nee Soon South new year countdown

In Main Stories • 2,500 views • 58 Comments

Rafiz Hapipi

On 15th Dec, Nee Soon South CCC announced a star studded line-up for a heartland New Year Countdown that was to be held at the open field across Khatib MRT Station. The event to be held on 31st Dec into 1st January 2009 was to be graced by PM Lee Hsien Loong.

According to the offical blog site for Nee Soon South Countdown 2009.

“NSS Countdown09 is a large scale, one-night only concert held at the open field opposite Khatib MRT station on New Years’ Eve. With today’s economical outlook, NSS Countdown09 is an affordable entertainment for Singaporeans to build emotional resilience as they build bonds during the celebrations. The concert is also held in conjunction with the division’s 20th Anniversary celebration, an excellent testament of successful government-grassroots collaboration for the division over the past 20 years.”   

However, it has to be noted that participation is by paid entry of $2 for NSS residents and $5 for the general public. As this note is being written, final preparations of security measures are being deployed. It is fully understandable that security is of utmost concern especially when super VIPs, Star Studded line-up and an expected house turn-up of 8000 Singaporeans are involved.

However, when having coffee at the coffeeshop adjacent to the celebration ground, it dawned on me that the 2.5 meters high all round canvass barricade was as not so much to ensure security threats are deterred than to ensure that non-paying residents and the general public hoping to catch sight of the performance at a distance will not get ‘a free meal’ for the soul.

Despite having the countdown celebrations at the heartlands, the event is to be exclusive. If you’re willing to pay the ticket price, you’ll be part of an exclusive party and accorded the bragging rights for having ushered in the new year in a countdown with the Prime Minister of Singapore. However, if you’re amongst those that are restricted by shallow pockets, you may come nearby to enjoy the heart thumping music but will have to be contented with a visual imagination of the artistes and performances. Effective engineering has allowed for canvass barriers to prevent even the tallest person from stealing a peek.

It seems, even community bonding activities has turned into an enterprise for money making and a tool to recreate exclusivity. Although I can afford to pay, I cannot imagine standing in a crowded floor for hours with my kids. On top of that, my dad and sister who are staying a few streets away will have to pay public price as their home is outside the boundary of Nee Soon South. In fact, the field is at the corner of the NSS neighbourhood. Anyone from across the street will have to pay public price although staying within visual distance from the field.

I wonder why weren’t the common waist high metal barricades used? It would have served the necessary security needs to ensure anyone who wish to enter the grounds would have to go through the main entrance where the metal detectors and security bag checks would be. These participants would qualify for the goodie bags for the hassle that they have to go through and would get to enjoy the performances front stage.

It may be argued that the waist high barrier would allow someone with ill intent to breach the barrier. However, I do not see how a canvass barricade could not be breached as easily. Perhaps, the main reason is that waist-level barricades is effective only to block out physical entry into the grounds but insufficient to prevent non-paying residents from catching sight of the stage from outside the grounds. From the way I read it, the Canvass barricade serves to do send out the message, “Pay Per View or Keep Off!”

So much for community bonding.

Note: One wonders why residents are made to pay for the tickets when the NSS website says that the event is “supported by corporate sponsors Tiger Beer, Sheng Siong Supermarket, Breadtalk, PH Sales and Marketing, and Nestle Milo.”

———–

1. Join the SDP in New Year countdown at Hong Lim Park
  2. High property prices cloud the view of a generation
  3. $2.8bil surplus a year, and can’t afford $300 a month for some destitute 85 year olds?
  4. City Harvest Church acquires land for S$310m in central-south Singapore
  5. Awarding scholarships – a reader’s view

58 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

GoodSingaporean
Jan 2, 2009 14:55

Everythings need to pay in Singapore!!!! U pay OUR million $$ PM enjoy!!

alky
Jan 2, 2009 16:06

No big deal la…better to cover than to spoil the New Year celebrations for the residents there. Watching 7th month getai much more worth it than listening to more crap from the elites.

And so much for “staying together and moving ahead” . Guess our dear elites will only stay together with those who can afford to pay them to do so.

sarek_home
Jan 2, 2009 16:43

Our petty and calculating PAP.

me
Jan 2, 2009 16:56

please people, be more understanding. the town councils recently lost so much money, you expect this to be free??????? be more grateful and understanding that its only 2 dollars or 5 dollars!

leslie
Jan 2, 2009 17:05

to be fair, the website does state that “Proceeds from the tickets will be used to support grassroots activities for the residents of Nee Soon South.”

Whether the proceeds from the concert do indeed go to benefitting residents through meaningful projects like bursaries, subsidies and grants, or to silly initiatives like festive banners plastered with MPs’ faces on them is another matter.

regardless, the intention is there. the execution may be another matter altogether.

might be good for NSS residents to write in to enquire.,

David
Jan 2, 2009 17:10

This could be another method of recouping investment loss made by LHL town? I am puzzled why new year celebration has to be paid unless we are using the ticket money for charity to help the poor. During this tough time of the year, every cent counts and every dollar saved can buy a good meal for family who may not be working. Frankly, I see nothing great about the khatib NYE celebration and residents are paid to hear PAP self glorifications. Community services have deteriorated to such an extend is shameful to those who organised it..

staying together, moving ahead, wait, 2 dollars first. « Everyday’s Life in a Snapshot
Jan 2, 2009 17:10

[...] Comment! Nothing is free in this world, even for end-of-year countdown celebrations graced by the Prime Minister. [...]

singaporean
Jan 2, 2009 17:19

Please be THANKFUL that the price for this public celebration is $5 and not $50 like in other private parties.

What do you want? This “market subsidy” is not good enough for you?

isa
Jan 2, 2009 17:46

The sad state of affairs ..
For why everything is done the way it is done today.
We have to only look at a criteria in their performance bonus – EVA.

EVA – Economic Value Add.

Teoh N.S
Jan 2, 2009 18:11

This is called Pap & Pay

Yamasam
Jan 2, 2009 18:58

Ahh . . . you folks forgotten the money lost by the TCs in their investments.

Must find ways to recover those losses. Instead of raising S&C charges (which will generate loads of ho-ha), simply charge residents for all other things (which was usually free previously).

Seah Chong Lai
Jan 2, 2009 21:31

Thanks to Rafiz,
of all NSS residents, only you voiced up your concern .

Otherwise, many would not know about it since many either did not go for countdown or went elsewhere for countdown. but maybe many singaporeans are so rich, they donche mind pay and pay for things. what to do , no one owes nobody nothing ? or so they say.

btw, Taiwan Ferris wheel countdown show was spectacular !

singapore, please learn from TW – their motor never got problem during countdown.

hip hop hurray!

Jackson
Jan 2, 2009 21:56

It’s nothing personal, it’s just business. :)

LemonTree
Jan 2, 2009 21:57

Chingay must pay….
Watch firework must pay….

Er…the high barrier….looks like the sheets used by FT in the jungle plying their secret trade

Cook book
Jan 2, 2009 21:58

Not sure if relevant to this article
but I went to Downtown East and it charged PER ENTRY at more than $6.xx.

i wonder why so expensive.

Thanks Rafiz for sharing your findings.

sgcynic
Jan 2, 2009 22:07

This is Lee Hsien Loong’s vision of an inclusive society. One that pays to be included.

me
Jan 2, 2009 23:00

This is Lee Hsien Loong’s vision of an inclusive society. One that pays to be included.

like the opt-in insurance by SAF thing? LOL

someday
Jan 2, 2009 23:44

does the tickets include gst as well?

hope it do not include gst.

HaiGong
Jan 2, 2009 23:46

What do you expect from pap?

moshedyan
Jan 2, 2009 23:50

alot of singaporeans has been payin for blackmarket NDP for so many donkey years
EXCEPT
the foreign talents
who somehow rather got the exclusive NDP tixs so easily
so in our pap government minds
heck if you peeps can afford to pay
including the overprize F1
what is this SAF/NSS thinggie?
in any other country
it will be a laughin STOCK
for their citizens to pay to particiapate
1 for ALL
ALL for 1
imagined this scenerio
the 4 muskeetears from fountainblue
must pay COEs to used their swords
against the evil church guards
and paid for ridng their horses with ERP cards through
the gates of bastill….
in singapore
we do DO THAT….

Thian Long San
Jan 3, 2009 0:20

but what can WE do ?

tiredsingaporean
Jan 3, 2009 1:32

Hey singaporeans, they will make you pay and pay till you people goes to your graves.

lee
Jan 3, 2009 9:24

This is becoming the symptom of what this govt has become.
Every one of the their policies, be onit health, transport, education etc
is all centred on $. Even an event like this that is supposed to
foster community bonding is not spared.
makes you wonder where this nation is heading.
Surely if the TCs can afford to pay for the giant self-glorifying spotlight-
enhanced billboards and posters of the MIWs on ND or festive holidays,
they can pay for the constituents for this once-a-year event

Ganga
Jan 3, 2009 9:28

Usually, community events such as these are funded by various elements – sponsors, funds and grants, and the ticketing process serves as an accounting mechanism to show attendance numbers. Usually, it would be a token sum and the reatail value of the goodie bag items would offset the amount .

This event was poorly planned with the wrong motivations. It should have been $2 (or $3) for all and the ‘exclusiveness’ was certainly in bad taste. As it was touted as a party/event for SINGAPOREANS, there should be no reason to exclude anyone in any way.

From my experience in organising grassroots events, the only reason that I can think of for this distasteful arrangement, is that the organising committee only wanted to ensure that all the tickets would be sold – hence indicating a ’successful’ event. Since it was a high profile event, the organising committee had been over-zealous in being successful and forgot that this was a community (and not a commercial) event.

Contrary to the popular opinion of ‘the PAP up to their tricks’, in this case, it was a bunch of monkeys eager to please their master(s) that led to this sorry excuse for a community event…

Guchi Beloni
Jan 3, 2009 10:50

but really, WHAT can we do ?

crapper
Jan 3, 2009 11:58

My aunt lives there and was forced to go to the event, just to give face to the other old folks.

Dixon Lim
Jan 3, 2009 12:00

So how many of the jokers turn up on that day paying the $2/ $5 ticket?

talksomuch
Jan 3, 2009 13:01

Well, somebody has to pay right? If the people who attend don’t pay, do you want to pay higher GST and income tax?

You ask for it what, you vote for Pay And Pay and now all you people just complain.

Spirit-centred
Jan 3, 2009 13:21

This event has limited seats so have to practice meritocracy here. Those willing to pay can get in, those not willing get out of sight.

dan
Jan 3, 2009 14:56

For a website that’s increasingly styling itself after the Huffington Post (noted the red quote brackets), surely the editors could find something of more importance to report about. While you could make a case for almost every event in Singapore to be symptomatic of the government’s failings, it seems petty and self-indulgent to use such a trivial incident to preach to the converted of TOC’s readers.

me
Jan 3, 2009 15:36

i don’t think this is trivial. if PAP can pick on even the most trivial things to bring to court and publish in our major newspapers, such as the kangaroos, i would safely say that this article pales in comparison.

given the jokes made by our ministers, i think this is of greater substance to show everyone just exactly how pathetic our government is in collecting every single damn cent from every single singaporean. pay to countdown with the PM. WOW.

need2change
Jan 3, 2009 16:04

Hey even if it’s free, I wouldnt even want to watch a couple of loony tunes in the act. oh pls……

need2change
Jan 3, 2009 16:17

come to think of it, its oready quite cheap liao, heavily subsidised by our beloved gov, or else it might be 50 bucks for ordinary people not just 5 dollars, ok!

but still ex for poor people like me lah, even though they are severely subsidized. wasted or else can see my beloved PM, too bad i am too poor. any1 care to give me 5 bucks so that i can see him next year, kind sirs/mdms?

Rafiz Hapipi
Jan 3, 2009 17:25

HI Guys,

Just for discussion’s sake, do consider these factors..

1) Yishun Stadium, an already fenced up area is one walking distance bus stop away from the celebration ground. It is at the heart of NSS area. If the intention of the celebration is not for the general residents, wouldn’t the stadium make a better venue.

2) $2 per ticket may be relatively low for an individual. For a family of 5, that makes $10. $5 may still be relatively low for an individual. For a family of 5, that makes $25. This is purely ticket prices. Due to security restrictions, you can’t bring in your own food and drinks into the ground. After a few hours, surely thirst sets in, what is the option… get the whole chain gang out of the grounds and buy some.

The issue that I tried to highlight is not about the tickets alone. Perhaps, there are people who are more than willing to pay for the tickets considering the value of goodies usually given at the door and the opportunity to go up close and personal with the political and media celebrities. However, why deprive the rest of the public the chance to catch sight from a distance. There may be those who are passing by after work or groceries shopping, there are those who are with little children who may be too young to appreciate the celebrities. There are the elderly who are too weak to stand for hours or uncomfortable with the loud music blasted from the front of house.

The point is that this is a festivity that cuts across all cultures, social class and even nationalities. The event was marketed as a community bonding event. The event was graced by at the top most echelon of the nation’s leadership. This was not a private function organised by an entertainment consortium such as at escape theme park. This was not an event that by personalised invitation such as dinner functions at the Istana. This was an event at the heartlands. But Alas, the event was designed to be just as exclusive. It has excluded residents of NSS, non NSS residents and general public such as the foreign high expat community, foreign labourers and foreign domestic workers that have learnt to makee Khatib Central neighbourhood centre a large part of their lives but not prepared for a variety of reasons to pay the entrance fees and be confined to the entertainment grounds.

What is the message intended as well as unintended here? Heartland or Heartless?

Rafiz

market2garden
Jan 3, 2009 20:04

After reading the article and 34 comments, I have the impression that those posted or commented didn’t pay to attend the concert. Everyone has his own preference or sense of value.

The only surprise is nobody attend the concert so far comment on the issue. The web site has to attract those who are neutral to comment.

BTW, grassroot capability (in general) so far has deteriorated tremendously after taken over by new blood compulsory two to three years ago. And the ticket sale not through electronic means. So why bother? The concert is only to show the limitations of grassroot capability.

Is Yio Chu Kang excluded because it was no longer part of AMK GRC?

I call upon those who paid and attened to comment.

In the past, CCs (in general) was criticised by public to use public funds for organising free events (e.g Walk-A-Jog) to serve particular political purpose.

So where to draw the lines?

Tan
Jan 4, 2009 0:38

5 dollars may seem like a small sum to some and a plate of chicken rice and a drink to others. I wouldn’t care less about this event, the only way to protest against its entrance fee policy is to boycott it. Simple, just don’t attend it.

someday
Jan 4, 2009 1:48

i never have the chance to vote.

how can there be walk over? how can there be grcs.

i will not vote for a bad party no matter who the party is.

i will vote only for the good party no matter it is pap wp or tan kin lian party.

the civil service is surely link to the government which is formed by the ruling party.

i do not work in the civil service so i surely will dare to vote for the opposition party if they are better. if they are not good i will vote for the ruling party like now it is pap. but the ruling party must still let me vote and not walk over even if i support them.

but for people who work as civil servants are they pressure to vote for the ruling party either pap wp or tan kin lian party, even if the ruling party is not good?

i think if i am a civil servant i will vote for the current ruling party, no matter it is pap wp or tan kin lian party, as well. i do not dare to vote for the opposition even if they are better.

do not know what can be done to change this mind set?

Lee Ai See
Jan 4, 2009 4:26

go buy $2-$5 of hell bank notes & burn to them better….

sobri
Jan 4, 2009 9:29

OK…………..so now we must start preparing early for the National Day celebrations!

Maybe we should hold an auction for NDP tickets! They are in great demand!
So why not?

I suggest 20% of the fund be given to charity.
20% to assist people during the recession
20% to offset the cost of the celebrations
40% to return to the general public , in the form of something like the GST offset.

Thus, even those who do not receive a ticket, or have never got tickets for the past NDP will enjoy something.

Cm Liew
Jan 4, 2009 10:59

Holly shit !

A true story.
Jan 4, 2009 11:10

Further to Rafiz Hapipi comments,sad to say, many Singaporeans do not appreciate anything if it is free.

I was told this story by a friend who is helping Tan Kin Lian to help the minibonders.

One volunteer has been told by a minibonder: “I don’t know what is your agenda since you are not an investor”.

Another volunteer has had misrepresentations made abt him. This person making the representations has also made wild accusations abt Mr Tan.

One other person, treated Mr Tan as though Mr Tan was his servant, making insinuations about him. “Nonetheless, the proof of his sincerity lies in his actions. Would he be willing to disclose all the lawyers that he spoke to, and let the investors make a choice?”.

This after Mr Tan had explained to this person that he (Mr Tan) was not making any recommendation.

While Mr Tan and the two guys have received private emails of support, no minbonder wants to publicly support them, or rebuke the accusers.

jefj0901
Jan 4, 2009 12:08

I thought all this community concerts are usually free. If they charge then don’t go. Anyway, how exciting can it be with all the “star-studded” line up??

moshedyan
Jan 4, 2009 12:28

[i]1) A true story. on January 4th, 2009 11.10 am Further to Rafiz Hapipi comments,sad to say, many Singaporeans do not appreciate anything if it is free.

I was told this story by a friend who is helping Tan Kin Lian to help the minibonders.

One volunteer has been told by a minibonder: “I don’t know what is your agenda since you are not an investor”.[/i]

as mentioned before
i am a cold heartless person
in terms of charity
luycky for me
none of my upstairs aunties was burnt in this minibonds fiasco..
i tried to assist whatever way i can
but liked i said before
when elections times
come
they still cried for leekuanyew mederka party…
so
the 33% of us
will alway be
LANLANED………….

Parka
Jan 4, 2009 17:36

Actually, I think the price for the entry is not to earn profits but to keep the crowd to a manageable size.

In other words, the price is to keep people away.

Blindman
Jan 4, 2009 20:44

Hi all

I think the main logic behind the 2 dollars was to help the poor, This is to discourage the poor from spending 2 dollars , just like the GST was created to help the poor.

It has nothing to do with making a profit…….. or leaving the poor behind.

Staying Together and Moving Ahead…. no one is left behind……….

Gilbert Goh
Jan 4, 2009 21:04

I realised that our country is a money making machine. From the moment we step out of our patrents’ apron strings, we are being subjected to monetary pressures. We need to pay for higher HDB houses, ERP charges if we drive, higher fares for MRT and buses, costly taxi meter charges and even tiolet usage that could costs us $0.20 per visit. Kopi kept rising and now I paid $1.00 for one cuppa in my favourite coffee shop.

There is nothing free here except for the air that we breathe and with that we are all being subjected to the 7% GST charges that cut across all people within the country. No one is spared from the poorest to the richest.

One wonders why this obsession to collect so much money for the govt coffers?Are we in desperate shortage of money? The last I heard is that we are almost 300 billion in the black in our reserves. How much did we really lost in our investment pursuit during these past few years? One also wonders why we collect close to $2 billion of sinking funds for the town councils. IS the money used wisely for the good of the people? Are we so kuaisu that we need to over collect to prepare for wild storms ahead?

There is nothing that is free here anymore.

The constant strive to top up the govt coffers is so relentlessly done that one wonders why is this so? The govt also provides so little to the people in terms of welfare incentives. With means testing in effect now, the cut back on healthcare subsidy will certainly be obvious.

PA (public assistance) recipients now collect only a paltry $330 a month. With no unemployment benefit, no pension welfare and certainly no cheap healthcare now, one wonders why the govt collects so much and gives so little away?

Though we are a First world country in status, our people sadly all live in third world condition. The shell looks nice and solid but the core is almost bare and suffering. It is like a durian that looks good on the outside but once you peel off the thorns ,the flesh is rotten and not tasty at all.

We have good HDB houses but were made to break a limb to repay mortgage loans for thirty years. We save up in our CPF but our retirement is always being delayed and the minimum sum keeps rising until we cant really enjoy the fruits of our labour anymore. We have jobs but the wages are so depressed becuase of the foreign talents that we cant really survive well nowadays.

Many people have never step into the Esplanade for a event nor visit any night spot due to the high cost involved. Some even don’t eat in a restaurant for fear of over spending. Many also window shop and don’t buy anything espeically in this current financial crisis.

Many foreigner friends who visited Singapore often ask me why SIngaporeans seldom smile when they are out in the streets. I told them that we are too engrossed on trying to find money to pay up our bills that we cant really smile alot these days.

pigscanfly
Jan 4, 2009 21:13

to parka, i like your wording: “to keep people away” even though it says it’s for “community bonding”.

if the aim is to manage the crowd, won’t it be better to ask pple to go collect free tickets like what they are STILL doing for ndp???

it’s very obvious, the tc did intend to make some $$$.

Parka
Jan 4, 2009 21:32

pigscanfly – That’s a very good point. I didn’t think of it myself.

xiaoming
Jan 4, 2009 22:10

event is sponsor and still need squeeze money from people, when is the next schedule for our elite to up their pay check again?

me
Jan 4, 2009 23:29

up their pay cheque? the moment the economy has any hints of recovering, their pay cheques will up IMMEDIATELY.

tiredsingaporean
Jan 4, 2009 23:40

Thats the sure thing will happen to these elites when there is some slight improvement in the economy, worst they may even start paying themselves from those backdated cut or unpaid salaries during the bad times.

stay safe
Jan 5, 2009 10:41

it depends how much you pay
pay nothing get nothing
pay peanuts get peanuts
pay mountain get mountain
end of the day depends how much you wan to pay

~~~~~ stay safe at TOC
tip #1: use fake email address abc@xyz.com
tip #2: use anonymous web servers or proxies (google for list) to counter tracking

loop
Jan 5, 2009 10:44

Its the same with the countdown party at Marina Bay. U are suppose to pay. There were news that the Marina Bay countdown party tickets were not selling well??

I also wonder
Jan 5, 2009 13:01

Yes Loop,
They cancelled because the ticket sales was bad so money was reimbursed to those that had purchased the tix earlier. But I think its the one on the floating platform not the Marina one.
I also wonder if people at the nearby high level flats manage to peek into the exclusive party? If they can next year might change to underground shelter so no one can hear, see anything from the exclusive celebrations.

mm
Jan 8, 2009 11:10

i thought they need to pay the residents instead since it’s invading residential space and creating noise to those who want a peaceful time?

Jack
Jan 12, 2009 1:21

2 dollars or 5 dollars also wanna comprain. typical singaporeans

Daniel
Jan 12, 2009 1:26

“2 dollars or 5 dollars also wanna comprain. typical singaporeans”
Who complain in the first place ? It is the government who complain to themselves and behind the scene about giving it free to lose money as it is now behaving as a commercial entity, and then simply pass the cost to the public, typical government’s mentality.

zen
Dec 31, 2009 11:09

Sigh, it’s supposed to be an enjoyable celebration, just get on with life!
Din’t know have to pay until i saw this page i’m not from nee-soon, $2 or $5, chin chai lah! Better than going Marina Bay. The only thing i hate about them is ERP, paying so much yet traffic still jam like donkeys

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook