Thursday, January 1, 2009 9:14
PM’s New Year Message
In Uncategorized • 2,451 views • 85 Comments

GLOBAL ECONOMIC CRISIS
2008 has been an eventful and challenging year. The world is entering the most serious economic crisis in sixty years. The global financial system has seized up, companies are finding it harder to obtain credit, and economies everywhere are slowing down. Europe and Japan have joined the US in a simultaneous recession. Asia too is seeing a sharp slowdown.
As a small, open economy, Singapore cannot avoid being hit. We earn our living by trading with and servicing the world. So the fall in worldwide demand has hit our exports, our tourism sector, and our broader economy. We have gone into a recession, though growth for the year as a whole is still positive at 1.5%.
The outlook is highly uncertain. At each stage of this crisis, events have turned out worse than the experts predicted. Governments everywhere have been implementing monetary and fiscal measures, rescuing troubled financial institutions and key corporations and pumping money into the economy. But no one is sure how the financial systems and economies will respond, or which policies will work. There is a loss of business and consumer confidence and, hence, one thing is certain: things cannot turn around overnight. Quite likely the global recession will be followed not by a quick rebound, but by several more years of slow growth.
We must therefore prepare for a difficult year ahead, and especially the first half of 2009. Our economy will probably contract further. More companies will be forced to downsize. So far we have not seen many job losses, but I expect more retrenchments in the next few months. We must be psychologically prepared.
GOVERNMENT RESPONSE TO SAVE JOBS
The Government has responded promptly to this economic storm. Our key focus is jobs – keeping people in jobs, helping workers who lose jobs find new ones, and retraining them with new skills. To do this, we have to help businesses ride over this rough period. So long as people have work, they can take care of themselves and their families.
We have already implemented two significant initiatives. The first initiative is the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (SPUR), which was jointly launched by the tripartite partners on 1 December. SPUR helps businesses pay for their staff training. The tripartite partners have reported good response. Already, more than 120 companies have come on board, which together will train more than 4,200 workers.
The second initiative is enhancing government financing programmes for companies. This is to ensure that basically sound firms, especially the smaller ones, can still obtain financing despite the tight credit climate, and so keep their operations going. We have also recently reduced interest rates and increased insurance premium subsidies under the schemes. These measures will benefit some 13,500 existing loans worth $550 million and an estimated $3 billion in new loans.
Apart from these two measures, we also lowered corporate taxes in 2008. New enterprises and smaller companies enjoy further tax exemptions, which mean that many pay little or no taxes. For households, the 2008 Budget package included Growth Dividends, U-SAVE, S&CC and Rental Rebates, and top-ups to Post-Secondary Education Accounts. These schemes are helping Singaporeans, particularly lower income families, to tide over the difficult period.
Our next major move will be the 2009 Budget, which we have brought forward to January. The emphasis is still to protect jobs. We will do more to help viable companies to stay afloat and continue to employ their workers. We will introduce measures to help them with their business costs, including rental and wage bills. We are also studying further financing support for companies.
Compared to the 1997 Asian Financial Crisis, this crisis is more difficult for us to overcome because it is global. Still, it will not last forever. After a few years, conditions will go back to normal, though we cannot expect a quick return to the boom years before the crisis. Meanwhile, a world in recession is not a world without opportunities. In the midst of the storm, we must keep pursuing new growth chances, and look beyond the immediate problems to ensure that Singapore emerges stronger after the downturn. Hence, the Budget will also contain measures to develop our competitiveness and build up new and long term capabilities. Some businesses may not recover from the slump in global demand, but most should survive. We will help them to build up their operations, and also encourage new businesses to grow, so that there will always be good jobs for Singaporeans.
The Budget package will not restore our economy to high growth overnight. But our measures will moderate the impact on Singaporeans, and on our economy. We will continue to monitor closely how events unfold. If more measures become necessary, we have the resources, and the will, to do more to see Singapore through this recession.
MEETING THE CRISIS AS ONE NATION
However, Government help alone will not solve the problem. Every one of us has a part to play. Companies should work with the unions to find ways to cut costs, and consider downsizing only as a last resort. During a downturn, businesses should try hard to keep their core team together, to hold on to their critical knowledge and skills. They should also take advantage of this slack period and the available schemes to build new and better capabilities. Such a far-sighted approach will pay off when the upturn comes.
On their part, workers should go for upgrading and pick up new skills. There are still many good jobs even now. Singapore has attracted exceptionally high investment commitments in the last two years. For 2009, EDB forecasts that investment commitments will be lower, but could still exceed $10 billion. When these projects are completed they will create many new jobs.
In addition, sectors like construction and marine which have not been popular with Singaporeans still offer many jobs. There are also vacancies in the service industry, such as in healthcare and education, the IRs and retail trade, and in the Home Team and security. There are jobs not only for the rank and file, but also supervisory and technical positions for professionals, managers and executives. If you are job hunting, I hope you will venture beyond your comfort zone to take up these available jobs, even if they are not your first choice.
In this difficult period, families must bind together, as Asian societies have always done in times of trouble. We must all fulfill our duties to our parents, our spouses and our children. In particular, we must safeguard our children’s future. Parents must ensure that children continue to attend kindergarten or childcare centre, and keep up their school attendance and school work.
Singaporeans must also take care of one another beyond our immediate families. Community and welfare organisations, as well as grassroots organisations all over the island, have expanded their schemes to help needy citizens – food hampers, Fairprice vouchers, bursaries, and pocket money for needy students. The Government will also continue to play its part, by helping the poor through ComCare. These efforts must be supported by all Singaporeans. If you are able to contribute, do volunteer your help.
TACKLING SECURITY CHALLENGES
Besides the economic downturn, 2008 has also brought political instability and security threats to some countries in our region, making it harder for these countries to focus on their economic problems.
Extremist terrorism is a continuing threat. The recent terrible attacks in Mumbai were a vivid reminder of this. Singapore was not the target, but tragically a Singaporean, Ms Lo Hwei Yen, became a victim. We all mourn her loss. We must also understand what this incident means for our security, and how we can protect ourselves better from the threat of terrorism.
We are doing our utmost to prevent something like this from happening here. Our security and intelligence agencies monitor potential threats closely, and cooperate quietly with their counterparts in neighbouring countries. We are tightening up border security, and taking physical precautions at major events. Ordinary citizens can help in this too, by being on the alert and reporting anything suspicious.
But there is no 100% guarantee that we will never be hit. Therefore, we must strengthen our psychological resilience and our social cohesion, so that should an attack ever occur despite all our efforts, we can absorb the shock, pull together and recover from the blow.
Most importantly, extremist terrorism must not be allowed to undermine our racial and religious harmony. Singaporeans understand that terrorism is a threat to all of us. All religious groups have unequivocally condemned the Mumbai attacks. We need to work continuously to further strengthen this unity, trust and resilience. This is the purpose of the Community Engagement Programme (CEP) – to prepare ourselves to respond to any crisis not as individuals or different communities, but as one nation.
CONCLUSION
Despite the storm clouds, we have good reasons to be quietly confident. Around the world, people recognise that Singapore started with precious little but built a prosperous and cohesive multi-racial nation through our ingenuity and effort. On my recent journeys abroad, I found everywhere a high regard for Singapore. Whether in Latin America, China or the Middle East, people admired what we have achieved, and were eager to learn from our experiences. I was asked many questions about how we tackle our problems, and in particular how we are responding to the crisis. They were confident that we would pull through and wanted to pick up ideas from us. Perhaps that is why the World Bank is setting up a World Bank-Singapore Urban Hub in Singapore, to share some of our experience and expertise with other developing countries.
Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term, social cohesion and talented and hardworking people. These strengths have brought us peace, prosperity and progress for decades, and they will see us through these difficult times. When the environment was favourable, we upgraded and grew our economy, lived within our means and patiently built up sizeable reserves. So when this sudden, severe storm struck, we were ready.
Together, we will overcome this downturn, as we have overcome many previous ones, and emerge stronger from the experience. Together, we can meet the future with confidence.
I wish all Singaporeans a Happy New Year.
—–
- US Fed chief says US recession will likely end this year, recovery next year
- Lee Kuan Yew the “forecaster” – but doesn’t even know what happened last year. Property prices went down last year??
- The Prime Minister’s National Day Message
- PAP ND Message – Words are hollow without moral leadership
- $2.8bil surplus a year, and can’t afford $300 a month for some destitute 85 year olds?
85 Comments
what?
moshedyan
[i][In this difficult period, families must bind together, as Asian societies have always done in times of trouble. We must all fulfill our duties to our parents, our spouses and our children. In particular, we must safeguard our children’s future. Parents must ensure that children continue to attend kindergarten or childcare centre, and keep up their school attendance and school work. [/i]
eer mr prime minister
we all know its a difficult period
who make it difficult for ALL the families in singapore
lunchtime………
you want sea hum or chillie?
please make up your mind
don’t come tellin me i made another honest mistakes…
your parents are good to you
your brother
your sister
and YOUR cousins
all of them are gainfulLEE employed
earning 6 digits monthly salaries
no wondered
your new year speeches is about
FAMILLEE
you want us parents to looked after our children
with so much responsibilties as well?
than you do what?
your ministers do what?
and your mps do what?
childcare?
woah!
$97/per month nia
for an infant that beareLEE kar kar goo goo?
liked i said before
writin a speech is as eazy as abc
(bet with you
you didnt even wrote that new year speech YOURSELF)
i can write even better
rhymed with hans anderson song thrown in…
want to poll the audiences?
your royal highness………………………
Tan
Well, it’s a new year and the same crap all around.
Tan
When the next progress package? I no money leh.
asshole loonged
Leadership? Where?
Just see how they went ahead to implement Means Testing for healthcare costs on 1/1/09.
Ask ourselves these questions:
1. Is the gahmen running so low on funds that they have to cut down on healthcare spending?
Remember the $6 billion dollar budget SURPLUS last year? As far as I can remember, Sg has been running a budget surplus every year. So why the urgency?
2. Why implement it now when we are just entering a full blown recession where the people are having a hard time making ends meet?
Instead of helping the citizens through a tough period, they seem to take sadistic pleasure in creating more hardship for those who have voted them in.
Well, such leaders will reap what they sow.
will there be new holiday in 2009 ?
that my question and concern for the new year.
tick tock ….tick tock….
Borlic Sojic
The year 2008 had been Suay all the way :
1. Flyer trapped 170+ visitors for 7 hours. I was totally ashamed. my sg pride suffered tremendously. Taipeh flyer no such problem, coincidentally, and it celebrated the new year countdown successfully. who is responsible for the smooth operation ? who is accountable for the smooth operation? who is accountable for avoiding such technically-preventable problem? who should have implemented redundancy to the motors? why took so long 7 hours? how should passengers be compensated? is it time to move on?
2. MSK, reportedly a singaporean terrorist, whereabouts still unknown, not a trace.
3. TC toxic products incurred millions of hdb leaseholders’ monies. how much had ever been invested in toxic products in the history of sinking funds? if not for the financial meltdown news coverage, will we ever know? what does this imply ? i wonder what intellectuals have to say? what kind of transparency can be expected that address the questions of intellectuals completely?
4. STI PLUNGED by 49%
5. 10,000 investors’ life time savings gone to dust in a suspected mis-selling fiasco. comparison of HK DBS and SG DBS scenarios.
6. Honesty, Integrity, Accountability, Responsibility Index
7. Kangs and the Tangs
8. ex-NKF chairman wife sentenced in HK.
9. Fare hikes and transparency
A. how much is the real construction cost of a HDB flat?
B. why life upgrading need to pay and pay so much when there is reservoir ? when is reservoir ever used?
i sent cv to a org that says they help you find a job. sent for 2 weeks no reply.
but true enough they helping find job. whether i get a job, only time will tell.
regards
Borlic Soljic
you all have to read the senior political writer chua on ST’s Main Section Page 2.
Its a classic. CLASSIC. total and massive fawning of the Singapore government.
PATHETIC *****.
Comments edited for swear words.
Daniel
“Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term, social cohesion and talented and hardworking people. These strengths have brought us peace, prosperity and progress for decades, and they will see us through these difficult times. When the environment was favourable, we upgraded and grew our economy, lived within our means and patiently built up sizeable reserves. So when this sudden, severe storm struck, we were ready. ”
And it make me thought that the author who script this for JOker Lee is LuckyTan.
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
economy so gloomy but still need to pass-by
hope that commoners can tide over smoothly…
not sure the ELITEs plan/actions effective or not, we shall wait and see lor.
wish TOC merry 2009 & onwards.
aiyoyo
tiredsingaporean
my dear leader, all these things happened we already know. Just tell us those that we want to know or those that we still yet to know. Don’t keep us all waiting till some dead serious thing to happen, then it will be too late. The many people down below are hungry, and when they are left too hungry, they will become angry, then they become crazy, and thats not funny!
what?
‘In this difficult period, families must bind together, as Asian societies have always done in times of trouble’
Ok, I have to admit that GCT’s CNY speeches always bugged me as I am from the so called degenerated West and he would without fail tell us how much better Asian values are. What is it with this racist stuff? You want to tell me I do not care about my family since I am from the West? At least in the country I come from, I don’t see old people forced to dig the dirt and work in food courts. We treat our old people with more grace than that.
singaporean
I am awaiting the “report card” due in 2011.
David
PAP self glorification speeches are always targeted at Singaporean. That is where the votes came from. Time for educated Singaporean to differentiate FACT from FICTION, or has our education systems gone all haywire to believe in every word pap said with some honey added by National Media?
My resolution for the year ahead include having National Media “EXPUNGE” and made way for New Media such as Internet forums and blogs and encourage pap’s cronies or lackeys to spar with Singaporean on equal footing.
joe
Why the son and the father keep using these “honest, capable, clean, incorrupt” words to describe their government?
Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term, social cohesion and talented and hardworking people.
It is as if they do not believe it themselves that it is true.
Blind Man
Theres a saying self praise is International Disgrace.
In short, ask your self this question, have the lives of the people of Singaporeans gotten better ?
If you still choose to delude yourself, then why is the following true
1) Low birth rate
2) Wider income gap
3) More people are moving away from Singapore
4) People are unhappy
5) There is a need to build smaller houses?
I might have missed out the rest… the list is non exhaustive :)
SZ
Self glorification is for them to justify their own pay, and their future pay increment…gos, after the past few incidents, he still have the audacity to say “our honest and capable leadership”…and since when was the esteemed transport minister like what he have said…well,maybe capable in helping them earn more $$$
dino
Wake up U 66.6%!!!!
wake the heck up,PLEASE!!!!!….
blackfeline
Pui! what a stupid new year’s message!
sicko
‘Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term, social cohesion and talented and hardworking people’
They never fail to blow their own trumpets on any occasion, but fail to see
it’s their policies (GLCs must make profits no matter what) that aggravate the peoples’ sufferings.
‘On my recent journeys abroad, I found everywhere a high regard for Singapore. Whether in Latin America, China or the Middle East, people admired what we have achieved, and were eager to learn from our experiences. I was asked many questions about how we tackle our problems, and in particular how we are responding to the crisis’
Is this from his speech writer and are the people being polite to him?
Funny, on my recent journeys abroad, people seem to have no or adverse opinions of our little red dot.
SZ
well…that is another sign of our esteemed leaders ego…and you know what they say will happen after pride…it is the fall
best part
the best part in the straits times fromnt page – who did it most poignantly – PM Lee photo with this speech about a bad 2009, and in the left corner, that starting 2009, we will have means testing.
Leadership gone bad – I mean, they could not delay this for a few more years? Left hand don’t know what right hand is doing, or part of the bitter medicine for all citizens??
Grand_plan
They need our votes.
Since they cant make you like them.
they’d better make you poorer so that you NEED them.
Reliance on USA
Given the reliance on USA,
should ‘it’ be pegged to USA scale?
get what the …. i mean?
Sincerity and honesty is the best policy.
You can bluff all the people some of the time
You can bluff some of the people all the time
You cannot bluff all the people all the time!
Be sincere!
Increasing the cost of living (GST, food prices, utility charges, transport fares, ERP etc) makes people miserable. Don’t wish people happy new year when you’ve caused them unhappiness and pain.
Meanwhile, please get those wasteful Happy New Year Banners of MP’s faeces, out of my uncaring sight!. Who pay for those silly kiasu “afraid to be forgotten faces” banners at road junctions anyway?
New Year Day Speech? The disgusting, hubristic and ad nauseam of self-glorification “our honest and capable leadership, sound policies ” does only one thing. Makes you puke with embarrassment!
We get: Same shit, different time!
We get it all the time!
feedmetothefish
HopefuLEE 09 will be better..
‘On my recent journeys abroad, I found everywhere a high regard for Singapore. Whether in Latin America, China or the Middle East, people admired what we have achieved, and were eager to learn from our experiences. I was asked many questions about how we tackle our problems, and in particular how we are responding to the crisis’
Can’t distinguish from sarcasm or insults in multi-languages?
hmmm aren’t we proud we made haste in moving into a recession?
i suppose other countries would stand to learn alot.. bravo!
BeWary
U read the figures
More Singaporean Jobless – Why because of FT -
More Able Singaporeans Migrating Why
because it the same old crap being regurgitate out every year
SAME OLD SHIT FROM THE SAME OLD BUNCH
SPARE US
He said,
‘Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term, social cohesion and talented and hardworking people’
Perhaps i think he meant our key strengths are:
1. in our honest mistakes and self-proclaimed Div 1, A-team leadership
2. listening to ‘every month I see my CPF statement, I feel very happy’ sound policies
3. social cohesion and “changes only” within party
4. a talented elite force, and hardworking peasants
You mean you guys didn’t catch the drift?
Kaffein
Ah … finally, a properly written speech. Didn’t find a single instance of Mee Siam in the contents :P
In all seriousness, it is a decent speech intended to reassure people. Now it remains to be seen if he can get the intended policies ready on time and with the necessary detail so we can make sense of it (saying “we’re gonna help you” does not tell us how it’s gonna happen).
I am not too comfortable with the part that says “companies will pay little to no taxes” as an incentive to keep companies afloat. Almost seems like Singapore is now so desperately dependent on companies for the employment of Singaporeans that we cannot afford to let the usual market forces (some will go under, others will rise up) happen.
Kaffein #28 -
Hehe, that part also bugged me but I have come to expect some hubris and trumpet blowing on the part of the PAP.
I think they “got it” but are too proud to admit it. The fact that this is a professionally written speech is a clear sign they are not gonna let LHL (or any other minister) put a foot in his mouth with his impromptu nonsense for now.
Spirit-centred
The PAPGARMEN contradict themselves!! One hand they say will help us to tide over the recession, on the hand, knows that we will be in recession, started to increase transport fare, ERP price , electricity tariff etc two to three months ago. I myself also shock when my daughter has to pay a second pair of ankle foot orthosis for S$640 before subsidy at Tan Tock Seng Othopaedic Centre in December 08 . The last pair she paid in April 08 cost her S$380 before subsidy. There is a 70% jump in price just within 8 months. The reason given as shown on a notice sign at the payment counter is ” We have not increase price for two to three years, so we have made a small increase in price this time round” 70% increase is a small increase, I wonder what the figure will be like when there is a big increase. For this price , I can buy 4 to 5 pairs on NIKE shoes. As for other medicine , they have all increase by 15% to 50%. If for a disabled person they charged so high fee, do you think the government is sincere in helping the needy from all their compassionate talks.
Spirit-centred
For four decades , Singapore has been groomed up to be parasite on world economy only such as USA, Japan, China etc. We have not build a well-grounded domestic economy first before venturing out. Example for Japan, Sony first in Japan then sell Sony to the world market. Our economy does not start like this. We only depend on the success of other countries’ brand. That why when they fall we fall completely.
So I don’t think the PAPGarmen is capable of helping us back to high growth, if all other countries that we rely on do not recover.
This time may be a long wait.
tiredsingaporean
Stop dreaming all you singaporeans and wake up to reality now. If its not for this world financial crises to happen, you all will still be sleeping and not knowing that all these years there are so many things that are schemingly hidden from your eyes. Now that we can all see the reality of what has really happened infront of us and still the garment is not or still unwilling to do anything about it instead having the cheek to give lame excuses, always blaming others and not themselves, what do you think these blood sucking elites will possibly do to you this time round when the economy picks up again? JUST USE YOUR BRAIN & THINK!
Tan
If PAP carries on, we’ll have a holocaust.
CJ
I have this to say:
“Shut up, lah…just shut the hell up! Let people suffer in peace!”
Mr Objective
Tan, don’t use big words that you don’t understand. What has ‘holocaust’ have to do with Singapore?
”
Tan, don’t use big words that you don’t understand. What has ‘holocaust’ have to do with Singapore?
”
its closer than you think actually. given the old guy’s penchant for eugenics, the holocaust will never be too far off from his mind.
Expectation
I don’t know about the others but from from my perspective, I do expect the government to deliver good economic growth regardless of the external economic conditions.
The ministers are paid millions a year. They themselves kept on saying how good they are and the need to pay top dollars to get top talents. Well, if they are that good, shouldn’t they be able to deliver regardless of external factors? If they are not able to do so, it raised the question of whether they are overpaid?
The Joker
2008…A year to remember…
There were a lot of unfortunate events in 2008…Events that has tested the current gahment again and again…and we get to see for ourselves the hole they keep on digging deeper and deeper for themselves.
As a singapore son…I would want nothing less for this little island of ours we called home…we are beginning to see cracks in this “perfect” place that has been called disneyland with a death sentence…what the rulers failed to see beyond flyers ,F1 racing and nice buildings with reflective ponds are the people that has made this place what it is today.
2009…it is time for the people to wake up…
hohapata tariana hoi hoi
Big boss wallah wallah did not say anything about the retrenched workers and how are they coping.
Some are really suffering – rice and soya bean sauce for lunch and dinner everyday.
You cannot get to the land as in the country I am living in Indochina. I have sugar cane and fish.and young fruit trees.
I bet some of the retrenched workers will die slowly and painfully from lack of food. How about their offsprings in schools? They will be undernourished and stunted.
No one is looking at this group of new poor and I mean the retrenched workers.
What has happened to the champion of the poor-that don from NUS and who is an MP. Oh! He has gone rich and he has to shut up. He gets his MP’s pay and his pay as an assoc. prof from that ivory tower. Around 25 k per month. Compare that to the retrenched worker-zero dollar.
They do not care. They are allowing them to die in peace.
SCHOLARS’ GOVT.
Hohapata Tariana Hoi Hoi
motor_malfunction_sia-suay
For this year 2009, i hope we can know clearly
how many citizens lost their jobs or unemployed.
what is reported in news maybe only about large companies.
How about SME and small companies?
I believe their figures all add up.
There is a difference between retrenchment figures and Unemployment figure.
Intellectuals, wanna guess what is the difference?
okie lah, i tell you lah.
to me, retrenchment is when you are retrenched and gets compensation normally.
but i heard rumor that some companies may somehow make employees resign on their own using ‘push’ techniques so that they no need pay compensation for retrenchments.
note that there is a difference between getting sacked and retrenched.
in some countries, if you get retrenched, you can use this reason to get some benefits. If you get sacked or resign on your own, you may not get benefits.
some companies are rumored to make you choose between resigning or getting sacked with bad record in HR. many choose resign.
moshedyan
today
went adhoc job
another towgay thrown in the towel
he packin/movin
from his oneman apartment office
to a secret
hdb location
feel to shy to tell
he said
his indonesian liason/agency just tutop
habest lioa..
poor bloke
2 wives
2 overgrown NUS daughters to feed
talksomuch
All these craps words that means nothing.
One get the feeling that the government is only interested in saving one job: its own job!
pumpkin
There have been frequent revisions to Govt economic growth forecasts of late- always downward!This gave the impression that our economy is even worse shape than it really is and that govt is caught offguard by the severity of the recession we are in.
In such situation, Govt should have deferred any measure that would cause hardship to the people.
It is very MEAN of the govt to proceed with means testing for health care costs now.
Me think the govt attitude is this “Your pain is my gain”
xtrocious
To comment 29
Companies pay little to no taxes is because most of them will not be making a lot of money – in fact, many of the SMEs may not even survive…
Simple equation lah – no income = no need to pay taxes
Sounds like he’s just twisting the facts around to suit his story…
Partisan
I think LHL made a great speech!
We should be thankful to the our government for our country’s achievement today. In a very small country like singapore, we cannot have too many divided segments. That’s why one good and capable party enough. We are in much better shape compared to other countries and will probably be the first to recover.
Look at how far and successful that we can come under PAP’s leadership. Singapore is the top 3 largest sovereign wealth funds (standing at $500 Billion) in the world and we are not even oil producing country. All these because we have very good people in the government. Even other countries are now learning from Singapore’s policy making.
Why are the commentors (usually the same group) so negative to the government and their pay? Is it a kind of “sour grapes” feeling from all you armchair critics? Lest you forget, you are here enjoying the lifestyle we have now because of PAP’s leadership and we, as a united people, should stand together in tough times and give PAP our full mandate. How many of you are willing to sacrifice your time and career like the PAP leaders for the people? Without PAP, there will be no modern Singapore – we will probably be some fishing village back in the 70s.
And if you are born in another country, I doubt you would even have the time to complain here and there because there are so much corruption and organised crimes. Look at Singapore, so safe and secure, with everything so orderly and easily available. Be thankful for our government.
In the new year, I hope TheOnlineCitizen will also highlight the positive side of PAP’s brilliant leadership and foresight, so that readers can get a balanced view. I
Leanne
Do you guys think Chee can do better?
moshedyan
[i]Partisan on January 3rd, 2009 6.26 pm I think LHL made a great speech!
And if you are born in another country, I doubt you would even have the time to complain here and there because there are so much corruption and organised crimes[/i]
yeap indeed
new zealands must be full of robbers and rapists
switzerland must be full of muggers as well
which is why
in those countries i mentioned
where have time to complain
for they are so busy tryin to earn an honest living
here
we are so busy in toppin up our erp cards…
next ballcarrier PLEASE…
ole yes
Leanne on January 3rd, 2009 6.34 pm Do you guys think Chee can do better?
the next poster was askin
can chee do better?
how would you know he CANNOT?
who told you that he cannot?
when tengkue abdul rahman kicked singapore out
by not passin water to leekuanyew
he also said
singapore will die of thirst
did you begged the tengkue not to kick us out?
moshedyan
and for those ballcarriers
who are IDIOTs!!!
when poland breakaway from the ironfist rulins…
the 1st independant prime minister
was just a blue collar shipyard foreman
Lech Walesa
who happenned to be a Nobel Prize winner as well
did any of our prime ministers ever been norminate 1?
ACACIA
The last time the ecomony went tail spin, there was this call to “leave no stones
unturned” guess what I will take my hats off to them when they start reducing rentals, utilities, transport charges, guess what it won’t happen.
As for Partisan, we all know how much the PAP have done for Singapore, but open your eyes, maybe you’re too young to experience the 60s, 70s, 80s, , those were growing years for us but we see the difference now. Back then we were able to make money and keep it, but try doing it now. Guess you’re not in the business world, perhaps a civil servant, you won’t have a clue what we are talking about, we now in direct competition with the government companies and up against a system what works against most of us, guess you won’t know what I’m talking about.
Taxes
46) Partisan
Woa…Partisan!WHAT A GREAT INSIGHT! so it is becaushe of PAP, tts why we are having such a “good”life now? please…wake up….all your fawning of the gahmen praising them etc makes me sick….
Dude, it takes 2 hands to clap…you think we get our result purely because of the gahmen and their “Brilliant” ideas and capabitilies? hell no, it is because of the hard work put in by the people and that has been largely forgotten…a country is not built by its leader alone….it is build by the people….so stop helping them claim more credits then they deserve.
“Without PAP, there will be no modern Singapore – we will probably be some fishing village back in the 70s.”
Please….given PAP, but without the hardworking citizen…do you think we will succeed…i know it may be hard for you…but please, just try to use a little of your brain power if you can to think about this before writing it.
“And if you are born in another country, I doubt you would even have the time to complain here and there because there are so much corruption and organised crimes.”
Great… Partisan…within one of your comment, you have just managed to insult all the other countries in the world since you say there are so much corruption and organised crimes over there…well for your info, last i heard, Singapore isn’t the least corrupted country…NZ, Denmark and Finland holds the record…
Partisan, Singapore is what it is today not only because of the Gahmen…it is because of the people. Have you ever heard of any civilization that boom because of their gahmen alone? So please wake up
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
“Without PAP, there will be no modern Singapore – we will probably be some fishing village back in the 70s.”
Lest anyone forgets, by the turn of the 20th century, Singapore was already a bustling port-of-call for many traders, and many people became successful merchants and philantrophists. The British, for all the evils of the Empire, did a brilliant job transforming this backwater fishing village, constructed many public works, and left behind an effective adminstrative system… since 1816. WW2 may have destroyed many infrastructure, but there was already an established system of trade and commerce, and British-style adminstration, which we should also own our success to.
Of course even we if have inherited all these, we could still end up like Myammar if the government had been nothing but a corrupted regime (Burma, before the junta took over was supposedly the crown jewel of SEA). But to make simplistic sweeping statements like we would only be a fishing village and nothing more without PAP shows a lack of critical thinking and intellectual curiosity to find out more about our history… as well as an insult to the countless self-made and selfless men like Tan Tock Seng, Whampoa Hoo Ah Kay, Munshi Abdullah, Naraina Pillai, as well as effective governors like Farquhar and John Crawford.
“47) Leanne on January 3rd, 2009 6.34 pm
Do you guys think Chee can do better?”
Please refrain from strawman argument like this. Your argument is based around the logic (or illogic) of – So you think Option A is bad. Then think about Option B. Wow. Option B sucks. Therefore Option A is good. Therefore shut up and accept uncondtionally Option A.
You set up your own premise. You make sure than you win your own argument by eliminating all other options. You use only possibly the worse other option, Option B, to make your claim that we should accept Option A. You deliberately leave out other options because you know that to take them into consideration, you won’t have a case. That is intellectual dishonesty.
You didn’t want people to consider that even if Option B is bad, it doesn’t mean therefore that we should quietly accept Option A. It doesn’t mean therefore that we can’t chip in and improve Option A.
Ok? Can? I hope this had been enlightening. Hugs.
Partisan
51) Taxes
How apt to use a nick like “Taxes”. Although corruption wise, the countries you mentioned are similarly ranked as Singapore but in these countries you pay very higher taxes and high cost of living and, for some of them, they are financially not as strong as Singapore (Finland needed to be bailed out).
Hardworking people we have but without the leadership of PAP, we are like a rudderless boat going nowhere. For e.g., Thailand – I am sure they are hardworking people but look at the mess it is in now – all because of one important factor lacking – strong leadership. Without PAP, no matter how hardworking Singaporeans are, we will still be going about in circles and not achieve the progress that we have now.
Singapore is one of the very, very few countries that placed strong emphasis on re-skilling her workforce to tackle the downtown and this is actively supported by the Government – this effort is admirable. Very few countries are doing this right now.
While PAP is not perfect (and there is no perfect system), they get the job done. I supported LHL’s New Year call for the people of Singapore to stand together to tackle and ride out the crisis instead of criticizing PAP policies or Ministers.
WKS, KBW, MBT, VB, TCH are good leaders and we should be thankful they are willing to sacrifice their own personal careers and serve the nation. They could have stayed in their private career paths and earning more than a Minister.
So for the critics, just keep quiet go back to work. There is too much negativity and it is not good. In about two years time, you should be able to see the fruits of PAP’s policies. You can then vote with confidence for them to rule another 5 years.
jefj0901
Err…Maybe Leanne is really asking a genuine question without any insinuations. If you think he can, then state your reasons. If not then just say no. She doesn’t attach any comments to suggest she is pro-PAP.
To me the speech, should be kept short and simple and provide more encouragement and hope for people, instead of trumpeting praises for his govt and past glories. 2008 is a crappy year full of financial turmoil, terrorist incidents, recession, lets hope for the best in the new year..
Happy New year, to all…
moshedyan
[i][quote="HAPPY"]
At the Teck Ghee Citizens’ Consultative Committee (CCC) awards, PM Lee said the financial crisis should not distract students from their books.
‘It’s not yet your responsibility to provide for the family, but it is your responsibility during times like these, to continue…doing well in school.’
[/quote]
right smart prime minister
this speech he must have written it HIMSELF
imagined
tryin to tell a primary kid
financial crisis
lehman brother bonds
merry lynch banks…….
when the same primary 1 kid
would have asked
his papa to sign a new ifone singtel line……
WOAH!
p.s.
PLEASE read the last sentenced LOUDLY………….
even a primary 1 kid is being remind to start diggin his pocket….
moshedyan
[i]WKS, KBW, MBT, VB, TCH are good leaders and we should be thankful they are willing to sacrifice their own personal careers and serve the nation. They could have stayed in their private career paths and earning more than a Minister.[/i]
good leaders indeed
mas sala is also a good well behaved toilettrained most dangerous public enemy number 1
he is so well trained to the extend of using toilet paper for a MUSLIM?
davidlim was also a good former welleducated minister
who worked for neptune upon his ^departure^
today is he earning more than $100,000?
so a s shole
want to check with IRA81a for confirmation?
than again
thailand must be dyin of hungers and stravations
right?
if that is so
how come you and your relatives continued to visit bangko ck year after years?
pugdragon
I sure hope Partisan is being majorly sacarstic. This country’s growing bloody rich at the expense of low-middle income folks. The rich & elite gets the sweet fruits. The rest gets nuts. So what if Singapore’s gettin’ richer & Singapore’s reserve funds is one of the highest in the world? Do I, as a peasant, stand to gain anything great from it?
Partisan, you sound as if the country’s gettin’ richer & every citizen is well-rewarded with fair remuneration for their efforts.
Oh, I guess you are probably enjoying the fruits of the labor & are enjoying good remuneration for your work. Good for you, then. Not everyone gets such luxury & fairness in Singapore.
tiredsingaporean
“WKS, KBW, MBT, VB, TCH are good leaders and we should be thankful they are willing to sacrifice their own personal careers and serve the nation. They could have stayed in their private career paths and earning more than a Minister.”
Huh ??????????? how come a normal person can just come out with such a statement after what these bunch of shits has been helping their master in adding up those sufferings and injustice to the citizens of singapore? makes me wonder????????
NORTHGATE2007
Poor Partisan , must have alot of Stamps Stuck around the eyes,,,
blackfeline
no…that pathetic Partisan has sai (shit) stuck in his eyes!
tiredsingaporean
Or is he in some way related to these mentioned elites or just trying his luck in bootlicking?
Taxes
Hi Partisan
“Although corruption wise, the countries you mentioned are similarly ranked as Singapore but in these countries you pay very higher taxes and high cost of living”
Well, aren’t you bringing down their standard? In the ranking, they are one-notch above Singapore, and I will say that isn’t similarly ranked. You never win the silver, you lost the gold. and those countries shared the no.1 rank while Singapore is next one down.
Higher taxes and higher cost of living? well, i won’t mind since in some case, it results in old-age pensions and long-term nursing care.
they are financially not as strong as Singapore, yes, that may be true….but wait, you are mentioning about other countries been corrupted and lawless, and when we find fault with it, now you are saying that yes, there countries that are not corrupted but are financially weaker…gosh, can you please make up your mind before writing this?
So are you saying that they are the only strong leadership? and without them, there aren’t any other strong leaders out there? gosh, please…try to wake up… it isn’t like they are the only one out there…oh, yah, so without them we won’t be making progress? try having them but without the hardworking citizen, and what will the result be? so since you say without PAP, there will not be a current SG, i will say that without the people, there will be no SG even if there is the gahmen.
“I supported LHL’s New Year call for the people of Singapore to stand together to tackle and ride out the crisis instead of criticizing PAP policies or Ministers.”
Criticism is for their own good, it can be consider as a form of feedback. without criticism, nobody will know what’s went wrong and they may just dig a deeper hole for themselves. So if they make mistake, we are suppose to keep our mouth shut and let them continue with their mistake? real smart!partisan, real smart! how about this? this country belongs to the people as well, so they have the right to criticize.
“They could have stayed in their private career paths and earning more than a Minister.” well, ohh…i know, our ministers are earning peanuts right? no wonder you will say this…million dollar peanuts?
“So for the critics, just keep quiet go back to work. There is too much negativity and it is not good. In about two years time, you should be able to see the fruits of PAP’s policies.”
ohh…so now you are asking the people to just keep quiet, not to voice out their ideas? everybody has the right to their own idea…since i never ask you to keep quiet and just go back to work, you shouldn’t do that to others? We never ask pro-gahmen to do that and you are asking critics to do so?
oh yah, so are you a soothsayer? how do you know the result can be seen in 2 years? ahh….it is must be because all results are pre-programmed to bear fruits during GE? since you have the ability of foresight? can you give me the next winning number for lottery? just for once, i will go and buy it to see whether your foresight works. but don’t worry, even if it doesn’t work, you can work for them during the next GE to boost their popularity. what you have written here will really make them look good before next GE.
Lastly, although Partisan sickens me to the very core, i will follow Zefly example. here’s a hug for you Partisan, no bad feelings k? may the hug wake you up, and unplug you from the system.
Hi Partisan,
First I’d like to apologize if you were upset by some of the remarks directed at your comments. I believe you must have been rather stunned by the strong reactions when you were simply stating things you honestly believed in. It also must’ve reinforced your impression that many people here are rabid PAP-haters or something. I shall not go into any explanations why except that perhaps this isn’t the first time that someone came along and wrote comments similar to yours. So I guess it’s kinda like a programmed reaction.
We all form opinions and paradigms based only within our limited experiences. Someone who has benefited enormously from the system would more likely support it than someone who didn’t. And then there are others who may have benefited from the system but saw others falling through the cracks. I believe you agree with me too when you said the system isn’t perfect. There are people falling through the cracks. The difference therefore between everyone here is really the degree of it, and whether you are keeping your eyes on the cracks, or on the ceiling.
I would probably agree with you too that many of our ministers believed they had the peoples’ interests at heart. However, we must also be aware that just because they are sincere doesn’t necessarily mean they are getting the best feedback from the ground. LKY sincerely believed there are no beggars and homeless in SIngapore… but if I were a grassroot leader, and I knew that LKY is coming to my constiuency, I would make sure every flat is repainted, and every single thing that displeases him removed, like beggars for eg. There are many stories abound (some which I have been privy to) where the people who made the decisions were fed a very rosy picture to convince them of the success of their policies, by the very people who are supposed to be the gobetween for the public. Why is there a difference between what we are told of a ‘golden period’ and high employment etc… and the increasing sight of old people hawking their wares, selling tissue paper, collecting refuse etc? Are these stories simply of failed individuals, or do they point towards failed policies? I’m not selling you my opinion. I’m simply asking you to think about them.
Or maybe better still, start asking around. Start with the poorer estates. Speak to the old people. Speak to the people who queue up to get free food from the temples and mosques. In other words, get out of your comfort zone (which you also insinuate about some of the people here). You may of course, after all these exercises, still conclude that your initial belief was correct. But you see, now you have the benefit of credibility on your side.
I mean, at the end of the day, you going “why you all so sour grapes, PAP is good good good” and then another dude goes “you myopic brainless idiot, no! PAP is bad bad bad” isn’t gonna change anything except raising both parties’ blood pressure. You are right to say that we should all unite together and ride out the crisis. Let’s start with yourselves and ourselves first. The first step is always, to be more informed. Then, whatever your feelings about the gahmen, you can give honest feedback which they so need. Our country needs thinking, honest, informed people. You can be sincere in your support of the PAP, but if you don’t keep yourself informed, you will just be another pom-pom waver in the crowd, throwing the occasional middle finger at those who see things differently.
Ok? Can? Hugs.
Leanne
I want to know what Chee’s foreign, economic, health and labour policies are. It’s no use wanting change when there is no real change like Obama who brought in all the Clintonites.
Leanne
Besides, if you guys love Chee why aren’t you demonstrating to gain his support?
Commoners
The PAP garment is no more what it used to be in the 1960s and 1970s, where the heart was for the people.
Over the last two decades or more, IT has become the exploiter of the people, making use of the people to hold on to and prolong IT’s power, only paying lip-service and dishing out cursory peanuts and sweeteners to pretend to show IT still has a heart for the people. From the meaningless and misleading words of the present bunch of incompetent and self-over-rated world’s highest paid millionaire-aspirant ministars, we can easily sense their insincerity and hypocrisy.
It is very obvious that we are all now left by ourselves to fend for ourselves. The superficial measures that they are taking are merely cursory short-term fire-fighting actions to blur our eyes in order to tie them over once again. Their only long-term measure is to prolong and maintain their power of self-serving and self-enriching. They do not really have any long-term measures to ensure our quality of life for the common good in the long run.
Therefore, in the next GE, we should all register a loud and clear response to these self-serving and self-enriching lot of elitists and hypocrites. May the force be with all of us, the common people, in the next GE.
moshedyan
[i]Leanne on January 5th, 2009 12.33 am Besides, if you guys love Chee why aren’t you demonstrating to gain his support?
[/i]
how to lend dr chee a support?
would you cared to demostrate how you support your PAP party?
you meant we go to istana waved a flagcard
donned a kangoroo t-shirt
and get to go to jail
just for you to laugh?
FART U!
moshedyan
[i]Leanne on January 5th, 2009 12.33 am I want to know what Chee’s foreign, economic, health and labour policies are. It’s no use wanting change when there is no real change like Obama who brought in all the Clintonites.
[/i]
since you asked a stupid but funny idiotic question
as though dr chee can talk to clinton/obama…..
[i]“Our economy will probably contract further. More companies will be forced to downsize. So far we have not seen many job losses, but I expect more retrenchments in the next few months. We must be psychologically prepared,” the prime minister said.[/i]
so would you cared
ONCED again
to show us how to psychologically prepared?
or you are goin
to challenge
ME again
to seek dr chee assistance on this 1 as well?
what would you
do if you are given the golden retrenchment handshake?
come on
be a sport
please teach me
how you are goin to overcome this kachang puteh problemo
right?
Leanne
Look at the facts you nut heads. Obama brought in practically the same economic advisors from the Clinton Administration and is leaving the state department to H Clinton who is also bringing in Clinton colleagues? You cna specify change anywhere but it usally is a big lie! Same with the Eastern Europe states, they are free from communism but theri leaders are just as corrupt as the previous ones!
Leanne,
what’s your point? We’re starting to lose you. As for Chee, I didn’t see anyone here saying they support him and/or see him as a viable alternative. Why don’t you read post 53 first. Then next, you can go buy Chee’s a Nation Cheated from Kinokuya to find out about his vision for SIngapore. It’s a decent read, you can finish in a day. Than you come back and we can have a healthy constructive discussion on policies and their alternatives, instead of despairing there won’t be any change. Like I put to Partisan, if you want change, you have to first change yourself and how you see the world. You can’t change anything if you don’t even believe in change. That’s why you’re sitting there asking about Chee. The right question to ask is, not what Chee can do, but what you can do.
hugs
bismarker
okay zefly,
that’s just one of the best post in quite a while. =)
and leanne,
don’t fall to the trap that discontentment with PAP means automatic support for chee. What most people want is the best for Singapore, and many here are unwilling to compromise on anything less.
loop
Have to wait for the budget speech on 22 Jan 09? Anyway, how to save jobs; cut pay, take up contract & temp jobs? Not many people like this kind of options.
moshedyan
[i]Leanne on January 5th, 2009 3.36 am Look at the facts you nut heads. Obama brought in practically the same economic advisors from the Clinton Administration and is leaving the state department to H Clinton who is also bringing in Clinton colleagues?[/i]
[---deleted by moderator---}
1st of all
even if dr chee have outside funds to help him to start his political opposition party
onece more
you think the pap goin to LET him
participate
the gentleman way?
how many courts judgement is against him
and how many of this kangoroo judgments in the eye of leekuanyew
deem dr chee a ^qualifed^ candidate?
anywhere in the world
when someone enter politics
its based on their lips
what they can sell
obama for 1…
arnold swazernagger for 2
somemore he ain’t even born in america
heck
if the former hollywood star ronald regan can turned president of the united states and fall asleep while talkin to GOD thru the pope and brin america to progress
what what can dr chee could not do?
dr chee can also says
I WILL BE BACK………..
moshedyan, please do not resort to name-calling of fellow commenters. Tks.
Partisan
I thank you for most of your comments.
I know it is easy to criticise PAP because they have done so much good work nfor the people that left people wanting more and more goodies. Just last week, MOE announces 7000+ employment opportunities – now isn’t that wonderful news to all to start the year?
I believe a strong leadership, such as that from PAP, is absolutely necessary to bring Singapore to another height of achievement. Hardworking people are everywhere, just waiting for strong leaders to lead the way. And the answer is PAP. I cannot find a country without hardworking people – Taxes – can you? All I am saying is that other countries have so much corruption and organised crimes – that’s doesn’t mean Singapore don’t have – when I used the phrase “so much” it is used in comparative sense.
Sure there are pockets of discontentment here and there and you cannot please everyone, but the majority of the Singaporeans will be better of under PAP’s governance. That’s why democracy works – because you follow the will of the majority.
Because of prudent and sound financial management, the Government is able to once again help Singapore by continuing to create jobs, giving financial help to the need, and preparing the nation for the upturn with all the skills retraining. Yes, these are not popular policies and requires people to get out of the comfort zone, but it will keep food on the table and families together. I suggest to you all to let these policies bear fruit first. Negativity will not lead us anywhere. If you really have constructive criticisms or really care about nation building – join the YPAP.
No need to give hugs or what – it is just sharing of views in this forum. I may not say the things you want to hear, but that’s ok for me because those are my views – just like those are your views.
Hi Partisan,
I have to give you credit for expressing what would be considered an unpopular view here. Though I do not agree with you on most counts, neither do I see the need to blast you or try to convert you from your thinking. I don’t like people telling me how or what to think, and I certain believe neither do you.
I also believe that you believe that you are doing your part for the nation in your own ways, by either being a member of the YPAP or the grassroots, and trying to mobilize all the ‘negative’ people here to support the PAP. That is an admirable effort. It’s always better than doing nothing at all.
Here’s an invitation for you. Why don’t you get in touch with Andrew from TOC (just write to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com) They do regular coverage of many of the stories you see here. Maybe you can take time off your busy schedule will like to join them on one of their stories, you know, see for yourself things you don’t see everyday. And also share your views with them. I always believe that we should be open enough to listen to even views we don’t like to hear.
What do you think? Is that a yes? :)
Partisan
Hi Zefly
Good suggestion. I will consider it. :)
Cheers!
tiredsingaporean
You have eyes but cannot see, you have ears but cannot hear, you also have mouth but cannot talk. I suggest all you singaporeans to open your eyes, your ears to see and hear what is actually happening to those people down there and open your mouth to start talking about reality and not whats been reported on those local MSM anymore.
moshedyan
[i]If you really have constructive criticisms or really care about nation building – join the YPAP.[/i]
i have
been banned a few times as well
have you ever tried
searchin the nick
moi?
try registerin it onced more…
as though i didn’t cared
with grassroots aroun
you lot sured entertained me
without you lot……..
i am bored to death……………….
so how is bigcannonking?
your chief cartoon ypap/rc supporter?
without him
i wouldn’t had known dr lilyneo breast size and her favourite REd color….
Leanne
You really can’t counter argue. Obama has brought back most of the the Clintonites. That’s a fact. No change in America. Change in Singapore? Chee calls for change but it could be the same “change” Obama brings.
I luv Leanne
Yah lor….why you people dun understand Leanne hah?
To her, the ONLY person who can bring change to Sg MUST be Chee.
No one ELSE can do so. (I wonder why?)
Sympathise with her lah.
CT
Hello Guys,
No points to speak from here. If you guys think is ready so bad. Please stand up and challenge them. I’m seeing you guys are wasting of time just to speak from here. At least the PAP, they stand up and they speak up.
We as a Singaporean, we open talk and share our right view to them. Not just write here. This will bring us not far.
Be A MAN.
I will be right back!!!
moshedyan
[i]At least the PAP, they stand up and they speak up.
Be A MAN.
I will be right back!!![/i]
indeed men of the village people
where they gathered in group
holdin hands as part of the grc tag team
no wonder they passed parliaments for invitin gays to be MPs…
eer
how you propose
we talk to our Mps?
must pay $5 or not?
is the $5 include gst and a cup of tea or not?
rai ley
rai ley
share ley………
moshedyan
[i]Leanne on January 5th, 2009 10.54 pm You really can’t counter argue. Obama has brought back most of the the Clintonites. That’s a fact. No change in America. Change in Singapore? Chee calls for change but it could be the same “change” Obama brings.
[/i]
and bush could have sued obama for million$ in insults whatever charges that is handy
right?
dr chee did indeed asked for changes
when he took a taxi
unfortunately
that taximan somehow changed his mind
and redirect to nus dean for clarifcation
and endup in some kangoroo court for petty theft…
is this the CHANGES
you expect?
when our court can never CHANGED @ all?
All Quiet On The Singapore Front
It is a good PM new year speech from a good man in the present circumstances – what more can one expect ?
Just that the man does not have enough of good people like Ng Eng Hen who has a real heart for the people (or trust fully ? Khaw Boon Wan who with his humble charima, sincerity & ability can easily overshadow anyone.. ) . MPs in the likes of LBW are a dim a dozen , are somewhat naive, light ears ?, and easily manupilated by others even for cheap thrills in STTA politics; Or even some others – are there to try to sell and high light themselves for their own future. How can they ever rise up to support PM in his time of need- they all can only drag him down. SM and the NKF peanut shit cannot be erased from people’s memories .
The Civil Service is really the trusted vanguard ( thank you Teo Chee Hian) – the Civil Service tries and it gets better every year – its PSs are the best ever seen and they are the real thing and why the world is still looking up to Singapore not its MPs or dilapidated baggages.
The Chee era closed with Vasoo long ago – petty theft cannot be tolerated for aspiring leaders even though many practised it anyway. Look forward to new people (TOC people are fresh and good candidates) and not the present bunch of opposition please.
Some government punitive measures are likened to swapping a mosquito with a sledgehammer – you can only hurt yourself with the self inflicted pain and long bad memories – remember the character assassination of the last potential elected presidential candidate . The end justify the means mentality may in the long term proves be more costly.
PM is the best you can have now in his circumstances, (SWFs’ entanglement with the West are not really his doings), world global recession , and the restive regional neighbourhood – count your blessings to have PM still healty, passionate and on the ball.
Say what you like -MM was the best that had happened to Singapore – carry your passport around the world and you know what you mean to others being a Singaporean, never mind the present tough times and perhaps occasional empty pockets.
Guys – say what you like online – but be fair and try to be as accurate and true to yourself, and learn to be appreciative of the good things in 2009. Thank you.
Happy New Year.

‘Singapore’s key strengths are our honest and capable leadership, sound policies which look beyond the short term’
that sort of self glorification is just beyond belief…he has a crappy team and still dares to make those statements…