The Straits Times understands that someone threw the liquid at Mr Seng, 58, while he was at grassroots event at Yio Chu Kang commmunity club.

Mr Seng was burnt on his face, neck and back.

Another man, said to be the chairman of a temple, was also hurt and has been brought to SGH.

The suspect, believed to be a man, has been arrested.

See reports from ST and CNA.

—–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

179 Responses to “Seng Han Thong, MP for Yio Chu Kang, burnt”

1. maybe the elderly man is hungry and many days dont eat, so he thought Mr seng is a roast Pig , and try to cook him …. :)

2. Dweller 12 January 2009

Joke aside. He is in ICU for burns. Even convicts shouldn’t be burnt.

Something must be wrong to be hit twice??

Unlucky??

Set a poll….how many ppl think he was doing a gd job??? ONLY residents knows.

We just don’t need PR cleaner to do spring cleaning like giving out angbow. “MONEY” which is not even his to give in the first place.

Another few months we will see more ppl kena retrench. Will their be more incident like this???

3. john tay 12 January 2009

Although this is a tragic incident, notice the number negative comments
    about the MP and his circles, the PAP should be able to judge the ground
    sentiments.
    Despite having tough laws against such incidents where punishments were
    recently enhance just to protect these MPs, some people are deparate
    enough to resort to such measures.
    I think all MPs should not have walkovers in elections so that they can be
    more intune to the ground and undertand the sufferings and unhappiness
    the people.

4. teo kan song 12 January 2009

I feel sad that the less fortunate or the poor in society are beginning to tak boleh tahan the stress and cost of living in spore.

human tragedy.

i hope han will still be recognizable by his constituents.

they would need to identify him in future still.
    i mean, to chit chat with him about life in the neighborhood.

i wish everybody a very lunar chinese new year. in advancement.

thankyou you many many.

5. i hope for peace and prosperity,
    not forgeting more good years
    and
    golden period.

not any kind of period but the golden period.

hope less shower
    and more good good.

hope the elite children, where applicable, be taught to be more caring to the less fortunate, poor and disadvantaged cum disenfranchise aka the tak boleh tahan people
    who pay and pay everyday
    and save and save less and less due to hike and hike and less jobs pay cuts and retrenchments cum sacking.

regrads
    talk to my uncuring face.

6. sorly, had meant uncaring face instead of uncuring face. hee hee.

7. brinjor of the kio 12 January 2009

you are right, poor people or children from poor family are not
    stupid and lazy people.
    they are juz less fortunate and not blessed with a headstart by way of inheritance
    where rich kids at time of birth auto inherited Elitism life style.
    that is not impressive.
    impressive is when born to poor family,
    rise to be the dragon.

yours sincerity
    the kenna looooongi’d.

8. Dweller 12 January 2009

Now more protection staff must be employ to protect PR manager.

Create more new jobs.

Ppl are unhappy abt the sutuations unfolding everyday. Price of food up…price increases for daily needs. Public transport up etc………by reducing GST we have to pay more for transport etc.

What logic is there??? Whats public transport??? With public transport listed in SG…what is the amt of profit to be earn for shareholders??

Opps..whos is the shareholders then?

With less pay & some losing their jobs…wat will happen in due time??? Its going to be bad…..Will we be writting here IFhe burnt person was not a MP???

I wonder…..????

9. Singapore is a safe place to live in, law and order is abided – this incident should not change that perception.

Nevertheless, we should not sweep this attack under the carpet. Is there any reason or concern not addressed such that this guy has resorted to violence? Saying he has not received his hongbao or mentally unsound doesn’t get to the root of the problem.

10. senile writer 12 January 2009

agree.

the MSK incident is still case open given that there is no evidence where he is,
    is he dead? is he alive? thus, to me, he is still at large and pose a national security risk.

i urge the security leaders responsible to act more until the issues are resolved.

life in the city has become so much more stressful thanks to the numerous hikes, some of which hike so frequently so fast.

in a pro biz environment, i not sure how the less fortunate gonna survive from now on. personally, if i am a boss, i cannot find any business reason to hire a local. this is just me.

11. Disgruntled 12 January 2009

It IS sad that someone got hurt badly here. But unfortunately, i am not able to give my sympathies to Mr Seng Han Thong. Given his “infamous” reputation of bootlicking, and the way he speaks during public sessions (aka Mr Arrogant), it is a surprise that the 2nd incident took such a long time to materialise.

I do wish Mr Seng Han Thong a speedy recovery, but i also pray that he takes this time to recap what he has done so far and whether he is fit to carry on his role as an MP.

It is true that what the old guy did was wrong, and i sincerely believe that he should get a heavy sentence for this crime. But meanwhile, the government should also investigate into how this MP conducts himself and whether the paychecks for our MPs is justified.

Just my 2 cents.

Cheers.

12. This is only the beginning of the recession.

More of this nature of violence could come…copy cats.,,especially from old men bec. you cannot cane anyone above 50.

If they have lost their home then then might as well live in prison…free food, social club with other prisoners who would not bully old men and if fact they respect these type of old men for thier guts.

Another type of cause of violence could be if a father loses his only son due to accident in the N.S. army training. WOW. The future is gone and some dads can be driven insane and take revenge on whoever they think is responsible…MPs, Minister of Defence, army officers. So the govt must prepare for this. Perhpas set up a committee to address this problem before someone gets hurt again…PAP like to set up committees to solve problems after all.

It is becoming very interesting to watch. Can you imagine this level of violence can occur to one of the PAP MPs even with LKY around…just imagine when he is dead….al hell will break lose.

13. Dweller 12 January 2009

Will the monkeys run abt when the tree collapse??

We have to see…….in due time.

The spring cleaning must be done in their own house.

14. Remember the condolence letter that PM Lee wrote to JBJ’s son? Just let this one slide guys.” tsk 92
    Tsk, I suggest you go reread the so called condolence letter again a
    see the drift of the letter.
    LHL was sending condolence to JBJ’s sons on one hand while attacking
    JBJ on the other.

15. Singaporean 12 January 2009

In today’s Straits Times there is this story about a labourer father suing the Mindef for compensation for the death of his son in 2005. It seems that Mindef stopped paying the medical bills and the son is still in a comatose state and running up huge medical bills, over 100K, which to some is just an overseas trip for their family to learn French cooking but means alot of hardship for the peasants who earn pittance and worse, lose the son who is supposed to contribute to the family when the parents are old, like now. Instead, have to spend their last cents suing Mindef. Can you blame them when they go mad?

16. Singaporean 12 January 2009

Sorry, the son is still alive but require long term medical care. My apologies.

17. Another bit of irony:

We have been cultured by the system to be docile, unassuming, unconfrontational, introverted etc (for better control of the masses?) by years and decades of propaganda.

We as a people largely do not protest, voice our greivances or take any radical action. Hence, when we see a suspicious character, a possible instigator of sorts, or a trouble-maker, we consequently tend to take a ‘see first’ or ‘let others take the initiative’ attitude.

This is probably the sole reason why no one in the crowd/group/posse following the MP around did anything to stop the delusional old man or even detain him immediately after the act. (Note: The old man was mentally disturbed so it is unlikely that he would have attacked covertly and reports state that he was caught a short while later.)

If this had happened elswhere, where the community had a say in matters and had unbridled freedom, I dare say that someone would have reacted either preemptively or immediately pounced on the old man to stop him (eg. the shoe throwing incident at Bush).

I would therefore say that the system’s force-feeding of a certain set of values came back to bite (or should I say literally burn) a cog of that very system…

18. Couldn’t help thinking this:

In true Singaporean reactive fashion, will we be having an immediate decree to have all grassroots members (RCs and CCs etc.) undergo a ‘How To Protect Your MP In Public’ course as a core requirement?

19. dh13660 12 January 2009

The number of so many negative comments itself shows a growing divide between the ruling party and its people. How to be a caring, gracious society when one cannot resist when they are repeatedly slapped left, right, centre?

20. JohnnyKid 12 January 2009

119) Mohamad Hamim

Apa ini?

21. Muhammad 12 January 2009

Singaporean said “In today’s Straits Times there is this story about a labourer father suing the Mindef for compensation for the death of his son in 2005.”

hmmm… shouldn’t Mindef takes care of his medical needs at the very least? he got injured doing National Duty… even if he just had a fall rather than getting a bullet for the country… still injuries in the name of serving the country right?

22. Such ugly incidents boils down to frustrations that will be eventually be exposed!
    Need a safety helmet to meet the people session?…..surely not!

23. Some say the 70 yr. old must be a loney or mad but we do not know the whole story until proven,,,,,,,,,,,,,surely the GODS must be crazy to carry such acts that is un justified and must always be restrainted or refrain from any acts of violence in this so called “Caring Society”

24. Apologies for any rage caused by my gung-ho comment at #104. It’s meant to be sacarstic, a very dark shade of black humor.

25. MP can be classified as Missing Person
    How many times in the duration of their elected term have yr MP call on yr house
    My answer is during the 20 years i have yet to see him or her
    Obviously they all have their busy profession and business and am reliant
    on the grassroots to help them in their duties which in a way its call an
    absentee MP
    They are there at their ward (not necessarily that they stay at the same electoral
    ward) so they do not know much other than being reliant on the grassroot for feedback for the most 3 or 4 times of the week to meet and hear the people grievances and problems
    This nails the nail on the coffin when you have people in difficulty being left out or being given the run around
    Being punch on the face once was a warning sign
    Being douse with petrol and set aflame must be a final sign
    What next
    It did not happen in the opposition ward

26. Hohapata Tariana Hoi Hoi 12 January 2009

It took so long to happen.

Some MPs are so arrogant and you just have yo go to the meet the people sessions to see it for yourself. The old man eeLITE should know and why is he doing nothing.

There are so many of their brainless musclemen and musclemen women around and the MP will tell you a bag of lies and he uses a repertoire that he had finely crafted and perfected.

So, it is a time bomb and one day the patience of the people will snap.

I predict that there will be more of such attacks even with increased protection. Anyway, I have seen my MP moving with his sidekicks outflanking on both side.That’s not much protection as a fire bomber could come from the front or back. As we head into the recession there will be more desperate people and a few of them have scores to settle with their MPs.

Why? The MPs should know. They told too many lies to the poor people just to get rid of them. They are so cocksure the pap brand is the number one protector and that people are just dead scared of hurting the pap people.
    Everyone knows so much about suicide bombers and the desperate here think that if I die, so what. Die with a smile on my face. The pap arrest and torture me – so what. Suffer and die. If he is an oldie – die in the torture chamber of pap. Become a sung hero. The alternative press will sing songs of praise for me.

There are karmic people and they are not afraid to die. Die die time to die. I will be reincarnated. I will go to Valhalla. They might do it. Throw another fire bomb.

Time for the pap to brainstorm on this or are they already brainstorming. High time.

Burn, baby burn From Watts. Its painful. Desperate people feel the pain when MPs tell them lies. It cuts both ways. The most unkindest cut of them all is when many MPs tell lies during meet the people sessions. Now they need guards and cisco and policemen and all that to protect the arrogant MPs during the meet the people sessions. People will laugh at them Why? I poor, no need protection. Who wants to hurt me. I die die die.

27. patriot 12 January 2009

As have been said numerous times in this thread, the ‘hongboa’ money were not from the respective leaders themselves or their ‘own’ charity organizations or foundations.

It is hard to comprehend why the non-politician people(citizens) and organizations are so fond of getting political leaders to ‘grace’ their charity activities. What’s the purpose(s) and motives of having political leaders to distribute goodies? Did those political leaders contribute their own(personal) and or help to organize donations themselves?

The Assailant had done great harms to an MP and to himself, he will be severely punish, that’s for sure. Many here had expressed sympathies and understandings why the incident happened and even foresee and expect more unfortunate events to come unless situations improved.

The Rule by Law System as it is, is very unkind to the commoners at large, it requires and enforces compliant and conformity without citizens having so much as a say in the way this country is managed. We have to continuously face rising costs in almost everything from food, utilities to the roof over our heads. It is understandable that many are forced to insanity.

From News Reports, I kept hearing newscasters repeatedly saying that canning is part of the punishments for the burning offence and many here have posted that due to the Assailants’ age, he will not be cane, I certainly wish that he will be spared.
    It was also reported that he is without a lawyer(up to now), wonder if there will be good samaritan lawyers to volunteer services to him.

Hope MP Seng will recover soon and the Assailants’ Records in IMH will be considered favourably in his conviction.

Will this incident results in a better leaders and people relationships?

I HOPE AND WISH IT WILL.

patriot

28. Tai Hong Eng 12 January 2009

Hi,

the accused is mentally handicapped.
    the one kenna is a MP.

should the system punish a mentally insane ? should he suffer further? would punishing him severely help the situation? would he become a better man after severe punishment or worse? would an insane man be cured after being severely punished or should he be helped 1st by giving him treatment and pay more attention to him?

would punishing an insane man help undo the kenna?

i think both the insane man and the one that kenna should be HELPed.

its not a perfect world and this is a SAD incident.

We should MOVE ON as soon as humanly possible.

What to do? its a sad thing anyway you look at it.

Tai Hong End

29. koh jia wee 12 January 2009

I also like to mention that
    I personally feel that
    there are many issues we should be concerned about also.
    Like the national security issue of Mas Selamat Kastari.
    I personally believe that is a more pressing issue.
    We should move on as soon as possible indeed and focus back on
    MSK given that security of a nation is very important.

30. What is the victim was LTK or CST?

31. Anonymous 12 January 2009

Godspeed, my 70-year-old friend!

Too bad the newspapers seem to be biased, emphasising more on the MP’s condition rather than why it actually occured. But that’s expected from the usual propaganda the media churns out anyway.

32. That MP probably got attitude problem. Lack PR skills or something.
    How else can you explain that suay kuan?

Further, no avenue to protest in Singapore…no room to release the pressure! All feelings bottled up…sure to explode somehow.

33. Souls-to-be-searched. 13 January 2009

This incident is symbolic. It is high time that the people in power do some soul-searching very seriously. We must not just concentrate on the incident itself and quickly go for the shortest way out by asking for a deterent sentence to punish the old man. We must not brush aside that this is an isolated incident and therefore not an attack on the PAP leaders or gahmen. Some unfortunate incidents have happened in 2008, and just in the beginning of 2009, this seriously unfortunate incident happened. So, what do all these tell us, and most importantly, why? We must endeavour to find out the “whys” – i.e. the causes – instead of just focusing on the “what has happened” and the “how it happened”. If we can establish the reason for occurence, then we will be in the position to solve or at least contain and prevent future occurences. Is it because of too much hardship or too little compassion? Is it because while the top is enjoying life and the bottom is seriously neglected? Is it because of too much unfairness and inequality or to much of “taking things for granted”? There may be more questions we have to ask ourselves but those are some which quickly came to mind within these few minutes of typing this comment.

I do sincerely wish MP Seng Han Tong and his assistant recover speedily and be able to go back to perform their duties and responsibilities in quick time.

Non-the-less, I also hope that the authorities and judiciary would not go too hard on the old man who seems to have a mental problem (as stated in the newspapers).

May all be well and happy.

34. Copycat from scences of “Little Nyonya”????
    Ther were a number of such scences in the show.

35. wait and see 13 January 2009

132) dd: “no room to release the pressure! All feelings bottled up…sure to explode somehow.”

But does it justify violence? Do you like the samething to happen to you by anyone who has “all feelings bottled up” against you?

36. agongkia 13 January 2009

On the MP, I am sad to hear that and I wish him a speedy recovery.

On the subject ,I dun think he should be punish.Nothing is an offence which is done by a person who is of unsound mind.A person who uses ten over locks to secure his HDB metal grille ,we should understand why is he so.
    He should be instead admitted to IMH and given proper treatment because he too,may be a victim himself.Of course I am not encouraging violence.

I will not touch on whether our specially selected personnels from the special force are there to protect the MP when they are on ground visit.

But I feel that Organising Committee of the temple should bear part of the blame .
    We should not depend too much on Garmen.
    So why the need trouble MP or disturb our Ministers to give out the Ang Pows on behalf of the temple?

Firstly,unless MP says there is no necessity ,have the committee ever tried getting private ‘sookoority’ guard to be around,if they invite VIPs?

Secondly did the Committee Chairman actually “PUA PUAY” to seek the temple deities’ permission for someone to give out the Ang Pows on the temple’s behalf,before inviting him?
    Dun say I am superstitious hor,the older generation believes that not anyone are “Heavy” enough to represent the temple to give out Ang Pows or for some events .Did the Chairman PUA PUAY before the invitation?
    I propose those future Temple Committee help by PUA PUAY before you invite someone to represent the temple.,do your invited guest a favour.
    And try not to disturb our Minister or MP unnecessary especially by inviting them for dinner.They have difficulty to say NO and have more important things to do like meet the people on the ground and need to spend some time with their family.
    Spare them and inviting them will only increase their risk and those diners will be inconvenience too .

37. #126) Hohapata Tariana Hoi Hoi
    There are karmic people and they are not afraid to die. Die die time to die. I will be reincarnated. I will go to Valhalla. They might do it. Throw another fire bomb.

This post may look like a fun read but I think there is a lot of truth in it. People, especially the older folks (read also: DBS woman in Raffles Place), are taking the lead in telling this PAP govt, no less, by their actions, that they are desperate and in need of help. If help is not forthcoming, they are prepared to send their message across to the govt, at the expense of their own lives. They have reached a point where death is seen as a release from hell, more than anything.

#127) patriot
    What’s the purpose(s) and motives of having political leaders to distribute goodies?

Agree with you. I can understand if the invite comes from those govt-link institutions, where every bit of good publicity goes a long way to promoting the good and caring nature of the PAP rep, and the PAP brand name as a whole.

What I cannot grasp is, the need for religious bodies to do the same. I do hope also, that someone steps forward to help the old man as much as the sympathies shown to SHT by the masses.

#128) Tai Hong Eng
    should the system punish a mentally insane?….. would punishing an insane man help undo the kenna?…. would an insane man be cured after being severely punished or should he be helped 1st by giving him treatment and pay more attention to him?

Absolutely agree that the old man should be spared if claims by the ST that he is insane is true, and proper treatment be sought for his full recovery.

# 133) Souls-to-be-searched.
    This incident is symbolic. It is high time that the people in power do some soul-searching very seriously.

This is becoming the common refrain and this PAP govt must not choose to ignore such sentiments and such a call to search itself, seriously. It can always look to TOC to get an accurate reading because, even by searching itself, without knowing what it is searching for, it does no good to such soul-searching.

For as long as it thinks it has done no wrong to provoke such an attack, it will continue to fail the people, and it will be seen as an invitation for such incidences to be carried out, again.

These are not justification for the violence committed. They are calls for the govt to look at itself internally, its heartware, and see the defects that are being glossed over by its grassroots helpers. It is time for those in power to at least scrap or scratch the surface of the heart and come to a realisation that many of their policies have not gone down well with the people; definitely not the rosy picture painted by the MSM and their grassroots representatives.

Our leaders might even have to come down to the ground in-cognito, to see and understand the real problem first hand.

38. Bao Gee actor snake 13 January 2009

The poor, the unprivileged, the disabled, the insane, the retarded, the old and weak, the naive, the forgetful and ever-convicteds all are stuck in singapore.

They could not survive overseas, even if they try. At least that is quite unlikely, by their own effort. maybe 1% of them possible only.

What i am alluding is
    more and more Criminals are stuck in singapore until they die. Even when they die, they still inside singapore. if more and more are becoming insane , their numbers will add up. Insane means insane. Illogical thinking. Mental patients’ condition can be improved if not controlled with proper help. Punishing a mentally insane will not, in my opinion, improve the person, if indeed punishment is to teach and improve a person who done wrong not to do wrong in future. If this insane condition gets worse or treatment not given to him and he is punished or locked up , I wonder when he is released, would he be a better man ? would he be a bigger threat to society? even if people do not like an insane person, can you make him disappear ?

In the first place , after the initial act on the MP, he should be helped and ensure his condition is improved.

39. Hi #138) Bao Gee actor snake,

We all know what the outcome will be? The poor old chap will have his mental illness looked after in prison, for sure. It is WIN-WIN for the authorities.

SHT gets to save face; so does PAP; and the public gets a good reason for the imprisonment of the poor old chap; he gets treated in safe surroundings, behind bars; no more threat to any other MPs.

Wanna bet?

40. I wish the MP a speedy recovery.

Just one wish – if the MP can be magnanimous and forgive the man. Don’t press charges. Better still, find out why he is so desperate and help him financially and emotionally. This would really show Singaporeans that this MP cares for his constituents, instead of getting his pound of flesh and putting a 70-year old man in prison. In any case, that old man is probably better off in prison where food and lodging is taken care of. But it will be a great gesture if the MP can help this poor man driven to desperation, instead of punishing him.

41. dweller 13 January 2009

Betting is ILLEGAL..unless the singapore pool create a betting slip for this case for ppl to BUY.

Any idea wat time the incident or the old man house??

I want to buy 4 D…maybe get lucky on wed.

42. citizen 13 January 2009

This might be the start of a copycat event when MP did not help a citizen
    who is in desperate need.
    It is just like a desperate citizen commiting suicide on MRT track in a
    copycat event to seek public redress.

We need to understand from the old man what drove him to desperation.
    Hope that the public media does not censor his version of the story.

43. Based on past event when Mr Seng was punched by taxi driver who did
    not get any help from Mr Seng, it is likely that the old man was in the same delimma as the past taxi driver.
    In current worsening recession, there might a third or fourth attempt on
    Mr Seng if he does not help the desperate citizen especially the elderly who
    feel that he has nothing left to hope except waiting for death.

44. I read in Zaobao that SHT actually asked ppl to help the other guy also on fire when SHT is already on fire. This is too good to be true,unless he is so altruistic, i think this is another media propaganda to polish SHT image.

45. #144) cy,

Why don’t try this, it sounds better;
    SHT ran to the stage because he did not want the flames on him to spread to others around him. Sounds better doesn’t it?

Also; from the stage, he has vantage point to see the damage?

46. student 13 January 2009

I am sure this event will happen again if another elderly citizen does not receive help from Mr Seng
    This is just the start of a trend in our widening income gap between the rich
    and poor.

47. is it that for no good reason at all,
    that man targeted seng?

of all the 4.5mil people in singapore?

mental still can drive taxi?

what is going on?

will this act of the man lead to body guards for mp?

48. Spirit-centred 13 January 2009

He and some of his buddies have made a very serious spiritual mistake by lifting the severe head of the God of Fortune one day before this incident, a total disrespect for the God of Fortune. The insane attack is the manisfestation of spirit disturbance. Hope he realises this and get well soon.

49. I’m living in the yio chu kang area, and there are actually quite a few old people who are not mentally stable. I see them quite frequently around, walking around, talking to themselves and acting weird. I raised this issue to my MP, Lee Bee Wah, during her MP house visit.
    Nothing was done, obviously….
    Could this have been avoided? Of course! But only if MPs wake up and solve the real problems communities face.

50. JohnnyKid 13 January 2009

Just a thought…the 70-year old locked his flat with 10 locks because he is paranoid about HDB taking away his flat? Unless IMH can present his past medical records, I will refrain from saying he is crazy. Probably paranoid of being made homeless.