From Melvin Tan’s blog:
A newly formed local bloggers’ organisation is now in place.
Named the Association of Bloggers (Singapore), it officially received the stamp of approval from the Registrar of Societies on 16 January 2009 and was featured in TODAY three days later.
Ever since the publicity, nearly all was quiet within the blogsphere outside the blogs of its founder members promoting the birth of this new entity and where the quarters stirred, the news did not appear to be well-received.
Although too early to conclude, the flak it has drawn this far does not mark a positive start for the fledging group, just when they appear to look forward to harnessing more support from the very fragmented and individualistic blogsphere.
Read the full article on Melvin’s blog here.
Other blog entries on the issue:
Nowhere: Current Affairs: Association of Bloggers Singapore
JiaLat: Sorry, Association of what?
Holly Jean: The Association of Bloggers. What’s in it for ME?
Anonymous X: 5 top reasons for not joining Association of Bloggers (Singapore)
———
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

The self-appointed and govt-approved “Association” says:
“You need an invite and be approved by the Council.”
And when queried about their selection criteria, they (she) said “We have a list :)”
This sort of elitist, “I have a list” of who you are just don’t wash. And “approved by the Council”???? WHY DO I NEED YOUR APPROVAL? WHO ARE YOU? This “Association sounds so much like a govt thing.
They stupid ‘association’ is registered. If an equally stupid blogger joins the group, it inadvertently becomes part of that ‘registration’ and therefore comes under the rules and regulations of the group, and the govt’s ‘guidelines’ (whatever this is). What kind of a blog will it become? A controlled blog!
Who are these clowns anyway? Professional bloggers? Show us your credentials!
Pui to it! Another NTUC in blogosphere. Don’t need it.
Don’t get yourself shackle if u want to be a free blogger (expression)
can i be ceo
cum
+
administrator?
hee hee
what is THE point of havin
INDENPENDENT blogs
if 1 have to moderate?
Talk about irony…
The association that supposedly wanted to unite the ‘Singapore Blogosphere’ has more or less managed to get a large proportion of that entity united AGAINST it, hahaha.
sorry. the chabos want control i think( a feminine itch). they want you to talk in a certain way lah.
Goes to show Singaporeans die die want to be controlled by rules and regulations.
What about Sim Mong Hoo’s article about ‘no U-turns’?
Like that ah …. how to be world class.
I find it oddly strange that a bunch of bloggers whose blogs I hardly visited for the last few years I have been surfing, are claiming leadership.
This really reminds me of my walkover MPs.
They are like wanting to be the PAP of blogsphere… it is just weird. btw I think some of us even blog even earlier than they do… I started blogging since late 1990s… this is just a laughing stock of the whole community. you got to pay fee somemore….
I visited some of the blogs belonging to the Association’s members, and the language is kinda appalling.
And one of their avowed objectives for setting the Association is to teach bloggers how to write?
Other than it is a nice excuse to meet pretty female bloggers, I can’t really see any more point to having a blogger association. I note a particularly pretty girl in the protem committee. Haha…
If its made in Singapore ……
At first, I was happy that at last the bloggers got an association to speak of.
However, on closer scrituny, it doesnt seem right. How can the association gets the license under ROS so fast and the blogger is also abit unknown.
By being featured on Today so prominently, one gets the suspicion that the association may be controlled and even want to submit all other bloggers to be registered and controlled by them.
I hope that TOC will not join this association so that we can be independent of any of their rules and regulations here.
Another attempt to regulate internet thingies?
AIMS very credible, they chairman is de ex-chief of the bombastic press.
I may be wrong but it’s a little strange to me that no blogger had heard of this “association” until the mainstream media reported it.
For an entity which is supposed to be “for the bloggers”, strange that no blogger had heard of it – until Today reported it.
Hmm…..
There are inherent restrictions listed under the Societies Act that members of the blogger association cannot do. Hence, it is essential that serious bloggers that write on political/social/economic issues and public policies should not sign up.
Entrapment. Plain and simple.
Hmmm like drawing the prey into the NET (excuse the pun) Hahahahha.
Don’t fall for it.
Good Afternoon,
The concern surrounding this development is understandable – however, we would do well to consider seeking to understand a thing – as it is, rather that what we think it is – before passing judgment. Otherwise reasonable people may think we are all stupid.
Let me put it this way; you cannot stop people from organizing themselves into full fledged associations anymore than you can undo the association of trainspotters or weekend warriors who all decide to cycle around wearing common jerseys; that’s their elemental right; people have every right to organize themselves into any shape and form that gives them a sense of identity and raison to give directional focus to what or how they wish to pursue their objects of interest.
The key issue IMHO is does this association of bloggers attempt in anyway to represent the interest of the broader blogging society? Their president has stepped out and clarified their position very clearly – as an emphatic “no.” Does it even attempt to impose a standard of “acceptable” or kosher blogging on those who may not wish to subscribe to it membership – again she has replied “no.” Does it stand in opposition to anonymous blogging – again “no.”
In short, I think she has done a marvelous job of clarifying the key issues here in a timely and accurate manner – we in the brotherhood are very satisfied.
Based on my observations; this association does not appear to harbor any ambitions to overreach its stated ambit as what I just shared with all of you above – it’s to all intents and purposes simply a fraternity of bloggers who wish to represent no one other then those who make up their membership.
I think that’s reasonable and we should not run wild and start accusing them of having all sorts of expansionist designs or even impute on them a character which bears no reference to reality other than what we may imagine about them.
We wish them god speed and the best of luck in the formation of this association; we may even decide to send observers there to seek to understand the long term mission and vision of this association. And if they require any assistance, we will even do our utmost as good neighbors to assist them in any capacity we can.
Thank you
SD (Internet Liaison officer of the brotherhood)
when you talk probably then say. otherwise, go fly kite. goes both ways.
Why everyone got this tone of acting like ‘lao da’ nowadays?!
If the association has given the ‘emphatic’ no to the three areas pointed out by sd, then what does the association hopes to represent? Won’t it be better for the association to pick a name that better represent whatever they are attempting to represent?
I still cannot get an understanding of why it had chosen to register itself, as if to say they are more credible than the rest by doing so.
It is understandable the way we have reacted to such news because of the New Media program that is being tossed around. Is this part of the program and what is its intention? We cannot help but question the reason for such high profile entry, for a group that is practically unknown in blogosphere.
Let me get it right s d / r you saying when you write this.
“we may even decide to send observers there to seek to understand the long term mission and vision of this association.”
R You chaps are thinking of joining abs?
You cannot be serious right? What is there to observe? Ive gone to some of their blogs. Those people are talking about fake eyelashes and mobile phones etc. What is there to observe?
Another thing did you know that the president when she was interviewed in today recently even said that the whole of blogosphere was rude, vulgar and needed changing and so on and so forth, isnt that a design? Is that red flag?
You kidding me rite!
If the association has given the ‘emphatic’ no to the three areas pointed out by sd, then what does the association hopes to represent? Won’t it be better for the association to pick a name that better represent whatever they are attempting to represent? – Gemami (#21)
This actually reminds me of NTUC. NTUC still represents all workers despite that only 15% of eligible workforce actually signed up for membership with NTUC and its affiliated unions. So even if the Association’s President has clarified that they do not represent all bloggers based in Singapore or affiliated to Singapore, the presence of this Association still give the public the perception that they do.
Absolutely right #23) smallvice585, and what happens next is for the MSM to tap on the ‘fake’ and ‘unreal’ sentiments offered by the association and its community of bloggers as representative of the feelings and sentiments of the population in blogoshpere at large.
Now I am beginning to put the pieces together. It is to distort, confuse and mislead the people. This must be its ultimate aim. I get it.
The sudden appearance of ABS does make some splashes. But, I think the “controllers” saw an opportunity to bring in a wedge here. The effects are quite obvious now. Maybe, I read too much into things.
Good afternoon,
The way I figure; an association just represents its members. That’s true of EVERY association. You can go and check it out if you don’t believe me. Our lawyers have already clarified this point inside out. Besides we all know who are the movers and shakers in blogosphere; so I don’t know how they’re even going to warp reality with that sort of Godzilla real in the neighborhood. They might as well go and try make pyramids disappear or something.
Who do they represent? I have no idea, could be a rubber duck on some mountain peak for all I care. Matters little to us; the important thing for you and me is they have do NOT have the legitimacy, locus or even the mandate to even represent the interest of those who may not be their members – that’s a fact. Pls go and check it out. So for instance; they can’t tell you how, what or when to blog; they can certainly suggest; but if you’re not a member; then you can just as well ask them to take a hike.
Are we joining them? Not for the time being. That is why we may ONLY considering sending observers. Will these folk get special treatment from the press corps and businesses? Sure only because there r a lot of dummies out there. Without a doubt, they’ve will probably get invited to product launches & parties where they regularly pass out free key chains, food, tickets, vouchers, mugs and tiger beer – I personally cant think of a better way to cut the pain of this recession in half; why buy when you can freeload? As I said, we will observe ONLY, but joining them in the short term is definitely out of the question; besides where are we going to park our flying saucers?
SD
gemami (#24),
The most interesting thing about NTUC is that it has a Foreign Workers’ Forum despite that FW are not allowed to be unionised. This means 0% NTUC membership among FWs. Apart from organisations such as TWC2 and HOME, I wonder what kind of vested interests are represented at the Forum. No doubt repatriation companies (aka Gangmaster) would make a splash there too.
NTUC has a Foreign Workers’ Forum. Really?!
Then, why aren’t they doing something for the foreign workers?
We should ask those distressed FW to talk to Lim Suay Suay. Man, this chap can UPTURN THE DOWNTURN. No play play, even Obama never say this.
Please join. Maybe it will help to create more jobs. If not, it will keep your mind off the gloom or keep the gloom within the association.
Hehe … gloom within the association?
On the contrary, i think it would be exciting to be within the association, if you like cat fights and dog brawls.
Thanks but no thanks. The group has a very ‘auntie’ feel to it.
There is a good chance ABS will be used as a target for political assassination to spread fear and silent dissent among the blogger community. It is after all a legal entity. MICA/MDA can fine, charge and even dissolve the association without the need to explain its action.
This really bothered me when I heard abt it. But this seems to make sense.
“If the association has given the ‘emphatic’ no to the three areas pointed out by sd, then what does the association hopes to represent? Won’t it be better for the association to pick a name that better represent whatever they are attempting to represent? – Gemami (#21)”
I mean if it was really any threat. Those boys would be the first to raise battle stations. May even be a good idea. blogosphere is starting to look featureless, this will give it much needed landscape.
The only issue I have with the association is its name. It sounds as if it was meant to represent all bloggers, and can indeed be so to an outsider to the blogosphere.
Other than that, I personally have no problems with the association. They have the right to do what they want. Many here are concerned with their registration with the government, and are worried that it will conflict with anti-establishment messages.
But let’s not forget that sociopolitical issues are merely one part of the (public) blogosphere; there are also others that discusses food, places, non-political organisations etc.. And when I first heard of the association, it is these blogs that I think they’re trying to include.
The laison officer is 100% right. I lifted this from ECL
“Wednesday, January 21, 2009 3:46:00 PM SGT
EastCoastLife said…
We do not have the intention of making ourselves the representative of bloggers in Singapore.”
If there was something fishy. They would have been the first to raise the alarm and tell us all. They are always in the front end.
For all you know. They have a plant inside ABS. Otherwise, why would they even support it? I am more concerned abt why they are so cool about it.
Maybe they have a plan thats why they want it to go through. I have never seen them supporting anything bfr. Just my point of view, dont flame me.
[i]Registrar of Societies
Named the Association of Bloggers (Singapore), it officially received the stamp of approval from the Registrar of Societies on 16 January 2009 and was featured in TODAY three days later.
[/i]
ello peeps
do not be FOOLED by the ROC or whatever
this is registered under the
Registrar of Societies (ROS)
which is very very STRICT as governed by the CID
yes CID
you know ahsir type
remember the word secret society?
so if any MEMBER found misbehavin
they must report the member @ ONCED to the CID office in cantonment road
WITHOUT a COURT order
with FULL particulars
according to the rules of the
Registrar of Societies Acts
all members must be i/c documented with a photocopy of their said particulars whenever CID called upon….
see peeps
you all don’t know
you all want to fall under the catch22
catch a rat situation….
i know this LAW very very well
for i am an ^wutee^ with CID inc…
when you all free
try watchin
the hongkies movies
internal affairs 1/2/3 blah blah blah……..
I find it weird for an “Association of Bloggers” to be officially registered. While they aim to promote good blogging…this can be done by publishing articles online, at zero cost. And in terms of credibility, sites such as TOC, Yawning Bread are taken seriously – otherwise most people wouldn’t be here.
Strange, strange.
The way i see it is that just like the many associations which will first allow free membership to ‘friendly’associates… overtime will try to push for recognition by authorities to impose Standards and accreditation stamps of approval for all in the field… excluding those already approved as members, esp those in the committees.
too many control freaks for it to work
Isn’t one of ‘them’ one of yours?…ie extralicious?
“Absolutely right #23) smallvice585, and what happens next is for the MSM to tap on the ‘fake’ and ‘unreal’ sentiments offered by the association and its community of bloggers as representative of the feelings and sentiments of the population in blogoshpere at large.
Now I am beginning to put the pieces together. It is to distort, confuse and mislead the people. This must be its ultimate aim. I get it.”
the Association is lame. I believe gemani is right. get an association, use MSM media to build credibility on it by quoting it often, increase visibility, maybe one day the government can put in new laws saying that all bloggers and blogsites must be part of this Association, once its credibility is built up. because of its credibility, few people will protest. and there you go, legislating bloggers.
i don’t see the need to be represented by anyone, neither do i hope that someone will represent me when i didn’t ask for it. stop being an NTUC.
what is volunteer? why don’t the ministers….volunterr?
This is very very stupid ! Internet is free space ! Perhaps they should try to control youtube as well (SG youtube Association) and see if it works !
“Absolutely right #23) smallvice585, and what happens next is for the MSM to tap on the ‘fake’ and ‘unreal’ sentiments offered by the association and its community of bloggers as representative of the feelings and sentiments of the population in blogoshpere at large.”
How might this be linked to mica? Is this a possibility?
“The key issue IMHO is does this association of bloggers attempt in anyway to represent the interest of the broader blogging society? Their president has stepped out and clarified their position very clearly – as an emphatic “no.” Does it even attempt to impose a standard of “acceptable” or kosher blogging on those who may not wish to subscribe to it membership – again she has replied “no.” Does it stand in opposition to anonymous blogging – again “no.””
Since when have you people taken the word of anyone just like dat? I dont even have a single memory of any of you every doing that even so much as once. Picking up and running on a few scraps of promises. Not that I want to be rude of anything, but why are you people sd supporting this?
What’s the pay out?
“We do not have the intention of making ourselves the representative of bloggers in Singapore.” : ABS.
It does not really matter what the intention is, but by declaring itself to be an ‘Association of Bloggers’, it gives out a clear and loud message that it is the one and only registered ‘association’ that is representative of the blogosphere at large.
By this unspoken intent, and by the selection of such a name, and with the registration of its blog; it is clear that the intention is to be the blogger’s voice in Singapore. Such a move is aimed at giving itself instant credibility by deception. This is further supported by the fact that the ‘association’ has included, in parenthesis, the name ‘Singapore’ in it.
By the inclusion of these calculated details, is it not clear enough that this ‘association’ has intention to rule the world? Perhaps we will see its expansion into other countries e.g. ‘Association of Bloggers (Malaysia), or Association of Bloggers (Indonesia)’ etc etc? Perhaps even Association of Bloggers (International)?.
It must be made clear that this association is not, and can not, be seen as a body that represents the general view of bloggers in Singapore. We will take offence if the govt were to take its views as representative of all other alternative views that can be found in Bloggosphere.
When the hotly debated issue is about credibility of the blogs and bloggers , we have a association whose credibility itself is a being questioned. It should not call itself a association (Singapore) as it has claimed that it no intention of representing the bloggers of Singapore. Its should brand it self as an interest group or more rightly a self-interest group.
The Internet(Cyberspace) must not be invaded, privatized or colonized.
It must remain absolutely free!
patriot
i think it goes beyond trying to unify the group. A “official” representation (assume if they manage to get that far), would be a very strong proposition to advertisers which might in turn get more bloggers.
maybe that $100 get you special invitation to events and launches. that too is attractive to folks trying to earn money from blogging.
So, it is a bunch of monkeys looking for peanuts and hoping that they are bananas?
Man, will it become a virtual puppet/parrot…repeating what the master wants to hear.sickening…but i do hope that’s not the case.
The internet is free and I don’t think it needs to be controlled by associations. trying to gain control can be viewed as trying to control out freedom.
Why is it that something like this does not exist in Malaysia (I mean with paid membership, ROS and all)? When Malaysia has so many more bloggers and some being very influential!
Why in Singapore? Is it because the govt wants to prevent what happened in Malaysia with all the popular political bloggers?
But still, I’d give this group the benefit of doubt. Maybe times are bad and this is a way to make ends meet.