From Melvin Tan’s blog:

A newly formed local bloggers’ organisation is now in place.

Named the Association of Bloggers (Singapore), it officially received the stamp of approval from the Registrar of Societies on 16 January 2009 and was featured in TODAY three days later.

Ever since the publicity, nearly all was quiet within the blogsphere outside the blogs of its founder members promoting the birth of this new entity and where the quarters stirred, the news did not appear to be well-received.

Although too early to conclude, the flak it has drawn this far does not mark a positive start for the fledging group, just when they appear to look forward to harnessing more support from the very fragmented and individualistic blogsphere.

Read the full article on Melvin’s blog here.

Other blog entries on the issue:

Nowhere: Current Affairs: Association of Bloggers Singapore

JiaLat: Sorry, Association of what?

Holly Jean: The Association of Bloggers. What’s in it for ME?

Anonymous X: 5 top reasons for not joining Association of Bloggers (Singapore)

———

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

70 Responses to “The Association of Bloggers – representing who?”

1. iritated 23 January 2009

The audacity to call themselves an association of bloggers trying to unite us.

Look at their bloody white uniforms! Makes me sick.

Obviously trying to ape some high-up clowns that the leader is cosy with.

2. I am sorry Gemami, but you actually sound so incredibly uneducated with all your wild accusations here. Endoh seems to have stated the of the ABS clearly. So have two others who were kind enough to offer their perspective to quel the lack of information. I readily admit this should have been dealt directly by Miss Goh, the Protem president of ABS. Maybe she was busy or this did not reach here. As I was saying in another thread, Jackson and the sgdad. Both seem to have bottled the issues and even given quiet a detailed analysis of the rights along with the pitfalls. Yet for some funny reason gemami not only do you seem to have trouble understanding the basic issues. Who have blown it out of proportion to confuse other readers here.

Have you thought to yourself this. If this was really a gahmen or mica trojan horse, why did sgdad give the green light. Bear in mind, these are the most paranoid people in our net, so dont you think they would have stripped and inspected every nut and bolt to see whether it is clean? if they give it a strong endorsement, dont you think its safe and bonafide? Another good point was what Jackson mentioned. There is more to blogosphere than just social political discourse, you know.

I happen to blog about food and such an association would really be useful for me to touch base with like minded people to further improve my content and presentation. Why are some of you here so afraid of change?

3. The association is created to gain critical mass ..
    so that the bloggers (esp those with position in the association) can gain access to private launch parties and etc etc ..

so maybe they will get invited to Cortina Time Watch Launches ..and be winedd and dined .. then these bloggers will write about their experience (but not paid) ..since the bloggers want to show they are the who whos and got invited to “prestigious” events..haha..

Bloggers a bunch of nobody who can’t make it in real life.. so they can only try to make it in the virtual world.. though I doubt anyone can profit in Singapore, the monetisation is too little.

Though bloggers targetting the US, China, or big population countries will be earning big bucks if they succeed in becoming celebrity bloggers

4. Dear TOC,

Why is my reply to Sue taken off?

5. Hi Sue,

Allow this uneducated chap to reply with a word or two, would you?

… two others who were kind enough to offer their perspective to quel the lack of information.

Does it not support my accusation that here is a group of unknown wannabes who came out with a big bang, so big and noisy that the rest of blogosphere became deaf, and therefore the lack of information. You blaming me for the lack of information?

You are being very offensive for suggesting that commentators here take their cue from me. I believe they are more opiniated and discerning than you have made them out to be.

I readily admit this should have been dealt directly by Miss Goh, the Protem president of ABS.

I do not know about the others here but I do know that the rest (majority) of bloggers do not seem to have a very good impression of her except for this vain group of wannabes, who found it wise to appoint her president. The general perception, to name just one, so as not to offend her too deeply, is that she has personal vendettas to go after, particular with those who do not hold the Singapore passport.

I do agree that Jackson has brought across a valid point but I do not know why you miss my point that although his was a valid point, it also is valid for me to point out that misrepresentation could be the end result if the authorities were to take inputs from this ‘recognise’ blog only. What is wrong with this suggestion?

As for SD, I think his position is not one of giving the green light to ABS, and you are guilty of misleading the rest here; but more so as an observer. You have read his opinion wrongly.

You talked about the basic issues of ABS but you do not seem to understand that we don’t care what there issues are except that we are taking issue with them for misleading netizens into believeing they are our representative into something which we still cannot seem to place. I have already explained this twice.

By your reation and comments, I can see that ABS is indeed trying to attain instant fame by using bloogers who have alrready made their niche in blogosphere.

Sad to say, some of us have seen through the instant noodle attempt of this vain endeavour.

6. ErniesUrn (Ernest) 23 January 2009

53) Sue on January 23rd, 2009 2.53 pm

Maybe they should stress more on cooking course and culinary course ..instead of A chance to engage the Government in discussions on its policies and help shape Singapore

So why did they add this portion under perks? Might as while just stress engage cooks ..

7. theonlinecitizen 23 January 2009

gemami,

Which comment? Your comment was not removed.

8. very stupid…for one thing, yawningbread and mrwang are sure to boycott it, nah they will just consider that it never existed.

Should we start an association of bus commuters?

9. and for that matter, an association of Sinkaporeans, an association of AMK residents etc?

10. Vincent Chong 24 January 2009

For those that talked about starting an association, now really makes me wonder then why don’t you do it in the first place? I am not a fan of any association but to start something like that is unique and daring. Just like that social media breakfast. Everyone hit at the organiser as who the hell he is to run this and not the big boys.

But are the big boys themselves king of everything? Why get them involve if they themselves are not doing anything till date? Does it mean it has to be them to start anything? I praise those that dare to be different.

11. tiredsingaporean 24 January 2009

the ruling party will use just about anything or anyone or any organization to keep them in power, nothing new here, just another one being bought over with taxpayers money to do the job.

12. jefj0901 24 January 2009

Weird. Why do they have to get registered? And it happened so fast and the main stream published it out to announce. I think they must be representing some other organization..Cannot be so oo-liao and go into so much trouble just for this assoc.

13. TOC, I just don’t seem to understand what’s happening over at your end.
    Whatever happened to SZ, Jeffrey and SD’s comments in response to Sue’s post?

By deleting their comments, you are giving the impression that Sue’s comments are more credible than what the other readers think so.

14. TOC, pls ignore my previous post. Wrongly posted. Sorry

15. chaofan 29 January 2009

Next in line Blogger Registration Act?

16. The irony of it – the press coming to TOC for a response on the blog ‘association’. Perhaps you should forward your query to the ‘proper channel’ eh? What a contradiction it would be to have to go through the ‘association’ to get feedback from bloggers with regard to the entity itself…

17. Bacterium 2 February 2009

Eh, Joy Fang; wrong place lah. People here don’t ‘dislike’ it. We don’t give a damn, lah.

18. Joy fang, I dont know whether you are real or not. All I can say is what is the point of even writing an article on abs? The people who can give you a side B view will never speak to ST. If you dont believe me go and ask them. The first question they will ask you is. How much money will I get?

So all you end up writing is the side A pov. Where is the content is king there?

A friend sent me this.

http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/does-aunty-ecl-blend-the-day-we-became-animals-and-ate-our-own/

I hope it helps. They have finally come around and taken a position. Those boys should have done that a long time ago. They waited too long.