Andrew Loh / Opinion

First, let me say that this article is not any in-depth analysis. It is just my personal views on what may happen – and what I hope will happen – in 2009 as far as the political parties are concerned.
As with many Singaporeans, the one most important thing I hope to see is the opposition parties coming together. This has always been difficult to do because of the differences in philosophy, personalities and the inner-workings of each party. However, with Singapore going into a rather serious recession, the time for unity among the political opposition has come.
This is a good time to be united and present Singaporeans with a concerted front to exploit any failings of the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP). And as have been demonstrated in 2008, there were many. Singapore faces not just a threat from the external economic downturn but also the PAP’s hubris and arrogance – also demonstrated in 2008.
But will the opposition parties be able to come together?
I have always been skeptical – even cynical – that the parties could or would come together. The only sign I have seen in recent times was the leaders of the various opposition parties on stage at the inauguration dinner of the Reform Party. Undoubtedly, it was the late Mr JB Jeyaretnam who alone could have managed that. Since that dinner in July last year (2008), there have not been any further development or demonstration of opposition unity.
However, I was pleasantly surprised (and my hopes are thus raised a little) when several well-known personalities from the opposition camp or who are sympathetic to the opposition cause participated at the Singapore Democratic Party’s countdown event at Hong Lim Park on Wednesday. Sebastian Teo and Steve Chia, both from the National Solidarity Party, made speeches. Both criticized the ruling party and hoped for opposition unity. Then there were Tan Kin Lian and Kenneth Jeyaretnam. They spoke on the need for a better Singapore with the involvement of ordinary Singaporeans.
Earlier last year, the SDP held a forum on Election Reform and invited leaders from all the opposition parties. In the end, only Mr Jeyaretnam participated as a panelist. Thus, to see four well-known personalities take to the stage at Hong Lim in another SDP event was heartening.
The call for unity was echoed by the other speakers as well – Ng E Jay, Ho Choon Hiong and Jufrie Mahmood.
Even as this raises hope that the opposition will come together and work closely, I am mindful that the differences among the parties – especially between the Workers’ Party and the SDP – will not be easily overcome. But there is space and opportunities to do so nonetheless.
I would suggest that unofficial contact and communication channels be opened to facilitate this. An instance of this was at the screening of some political films last year at the Post Museum where WP members attended, along with SDP members. The evening was cordial, although one could sense an uneasiness initially.
I hope that more of such meetings and gatherings can be organized.
As for the PAP, I do not think anything much will change. It is in a comfortable position, although the economic landscape presents some challenges to it as a government. Further, in a recession period, the focus of the PAP will not be on opening political space. In fact, it could be the opposite. The PAP would want to keep a tighter rein on things during this time.
At the end of the day, it is not so much what the PAP does, at least for now, that will determine whether the opposition parties make any headway as far as Singaporeans seeing them as important and relevant is concerned.
What needs to happen is for each opposition party to cast aside their suspicions of each other and see the bigger picture. And the bigger picture is this: Singaporeans are facing one of the worst recessions in decades. Couple this with the competition for jobs with foreigners and record inflation, Singaporeans need someone besides the PAP to lead – and to speak for them and do so effectively.
The SDP has tried to do so, to be fair to them. In 2008, the SDP has been the most active among all the opposition parties.
The Workers’ Party, although being the biggest opposition party (in terms of members) and having received the biggest support during the General Elections in 2006, has been an utter disappointment. It really needs to get its engines firing again.
So, for 2009, my wish and hope is that more people like Tan Kin Lian, Kenneth Jeyaretnam and his brother Philip, will step forward and give Singaporeans a genuine alternative. I also hope and wish that the opposition, as a whole, will be able to start putting in place channels which will allow them to work together.
We should also not forget that ordinary Singaporeans have a part to play as well. We should continue to speak up on issues which we are concerned and passionate about. Better still, lend our skills to the various political parties – including the PAP.
For, at the end of the day, power rests with the ordinary people.
And power is also given away by the ordinary people.
In 2009, lets hope that power will not continue to seep away from us Singaporeans – either througha dis-united opposition or an apathetic society.
——–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

i mean if ISP maintained well, less downtime lah.
noone never know anything for sure
so many hackersz aroundz
no way to stop all traffic even all blocked up
better be safe than sorry
~~~~~ stay safe
tip #1: use fake email address abc@xyz.com
tip #2: use anonymous web proxy (google for list)
“Now got economy problems, opposition got suggest anything anot? Got give out scholarship anot? Bo leh.”
Economy problems ? Ask those who are getting magical high pay to suggest / solve it lah. More pay should have more magic lah. When opposition gets majority, they will become the ones to issue scholarships lah. Anyway, it’s taxpayers money lah.
Even if opposition gives good suggestions, will it get highlighted in the MSM ? I do not know leh.
“Only when election then I see opposition people appear and give out flyer outside MRT. Normal days where got see them? ”
Normal days, must get permit or not. Can they market themselves by putting their own banners in estates.
“Ordinary people ang mo no good, don’t want people talk big and talk cock. Got time, talk something got make sense one, no need what big vision, manifestos and other bo liao things.”
You better stay ordinary lah. That is what some people would love to have. See bursary or scholarship distributed out and you will sing song for the whole day.
Dear sad sad reader (#85),
The article is about the opposition parties in 2009. I do not know how the discussion has become about TOC’s requirement for commenters to fill in their email addresses. Thus, your comments were disallowed – along with others – as they do not have anything to do with the article.
But to answer the question of anonymity and the email address issue:
Anonymity is preserved as we do not know who is behind the nicks – unless the owner of the handle tells us himself or herself.
As for the email address requirements, there are times when we need to contact the commenter about things he or she said. We have done this several times over the last two years as we needed to verify certain things with the commenters.
TOC has thus far been more liberal in allowing comments. We do not require registration before commenting and we allow all comments (save those with vulgarities and other content) to be posted before we moderate them.
Rest assured that TOC does not collect or collate the information given through your emails or other sources. We simply do not have time – nor interest – to do that.
Lastly, let me say that we require comments to be related to the issues raised in the article simply for the benefit of everyone. We do not want the discussion to deviate and tangent off to totally unrelated issues. The discussion will then become cumbersome and tedious for those who want to discuss issues raised in the article.
I ask for everyone’s understanding.
Regards,
Andrew Loh
You mean normal Sundays opposition cannot come down to my hawker centre and shake my hand and say hello? Garmen law never say opposition cannot shake hand. Garmen law never say on Sunday opposition cannot go to my area to walkabout what. Use your brain. What talking you? MSM is what sai? Ordinary people education not as high as you clever smart [---deleted by moderator---] who talk so cheemology ang mo. Wa buay hiao tiah. Lim-peh have simple ambitions, like children got education, got money pay bills, got people to listen to my problems. People like you smart [---deleted by moderator---] look down on people like us because we no speak ang mo well. Why? Got study university damn big is it? You know why PAP always win? Because my children got bursary and I no need worry for their school. I no care where money come from. If opposition is serious, then they should start taking action and no need [---deleted by moderator---] to talk talk talk. Understand anot?
Lim peh, pls refrain from using vulgarities, even if they’re spelt differently. Tks.
[i] Because my children got bursary and I no need worry for their school. I no care where money come from[/i]
well said indeed
why should you care?
as long as YOU get it for FREE
right?
so when the mental1
demand your virgin daughter as his warm bed maid
you also give lark…
this 1
you want to poll the audiences?
LINKONG would also sell you
if he known you has protitute YOUSELF
for GREED
in times of wars
YOU would had betrayed your neighbours
over for a cup of riceseeds….
The opposition in 2009 – time to get united.
Thanks to Andrew Loh for his opinion about this topic.
The Alternative Party( SDA, WP, SDP, NSP, RP) must united.
They should focus to avoid three corner fight.
All the constituency will be fill with candidates.
No walk over.
Voters than can vote with their eyes open.
No Mini Bond saga.
No increase in GST from 3% to 5% to 6% to 7% now 8.5%.
No increase in transport MRT, BUSES, SCHOOL BUS, STUDENT FARE.
No increase in ERP.
No increase in INCOME TAX.
Transperancy from Town Council.
Hi Mr Voter
I agree with your list of the people’s unhappiness with the pappies. However, you have unfortunately left out the most unhappy issue of the atrocious Ministerial salaries, plus their (unknown) outlandish bonuses, plus their multi-term pensions even while they are still gainfully employed.
All these moneys paid to the politicians are a very severe drain on the ordinary people, which is something no ministers of another country would dare to implement. One USA minister has jokingly said that he is now applying to be a minister here in order to earn eight times his present salary in America.
Politics should be about passion to help the ordinary people, and not for the purpose of earning atronomical income. If a minister is really interested in making a lot of money he should be a businessman. I have voted PAP previously but for this unbearable and totally unjustified reason alone I have decided not to vote them anymore.
I would consider it a form of CHANGE
IF in the next election,
there is ZERO walkover or just a few walkovers.
Competition is good for all citizens.
Got competition then got emerge good candidates.
chinese saying : ai biah zaht eh ngia
to be honest, I have always found it incomprehensible why for the last several decades the Opposition or alternative parties never formed an alliance to give the giant a run for the money? kind of incomprehensible. I wonder the why.
Its unwise not to work together.
Its almost surely defeat if go alone.
thus, given its so obvious,
I wonder what is the real motives to go alone.
“You mean normal Sundays opposition cannot come down to my hawker centre and shake my hand and say hello? Garmen law never say opposition cannot shake hand. Garmen law never say on Sunday opposition cannot go to my area to walkabout what. Use your brain. What talking you?”
What garmen law lah. You still have not answered me this question. Need permit or not. You know 4-men assembly. Use your brain. What talking you.
Even cycling in big group may get you into trouble if trouble wants to find you.
“Ordinary people education not as high as you clever smart [---deleted by moderator---] who talk so cheemology ang mo. Wa buay hiao tiah. Lim-peh have simple ambitions, like children got education, got money pay bills, got people to listen to my problems.”
Glad that you are admitting that ‘Wa buay hiao tiah’ cheemology as you are behaving like a fool. Good that you keep on having simple ambitions so that your masters can keep their own ambitions high. They need people like you to provide the right balance.
“People like you smart [---deleted by moderator---] look down on people like us because we no speak ang mo well. Why?”
Who is looking down on people like you lah. You need to have your head examined for having all the unnecessary hallucinations.
“Because my children got bursary and I no need worry for their school. I no care where money come from. If opposition is serious, then they should start taking action and no need [---deleted by moderator---] to talk talk talk. Understand anot?”
I am glad your children have earned their bursary. I am afraid to say that you, ahem, have yet to earn your own take.
If oppositions do not talk talk talk (communicate) in order to be heard (gain visibility), you think you have super bionic ears to hear and know it meh. Understand anot? Can oppositions put their own banners ?
For TOC attention. This is my input. As I read through the forum I think some of the veil counter-attacks are unwarranted. It seems to be penned by its own writers and supporters hidden behind “no names” or some longish copied down “names”. No wonder TOC is still classified as immature and unprofessional blog. May be only a step better than Ah Beng & Ah Kow blog. Come on. Be more open. Let it be a forum for all S’poreans to express opinions, frustrations, unhappinese to the present environment, suggestions for improvments and whatever political inclinations. Do not just hide underneath the skirts and write to leverage attacks on other people opinions using “funny names”. Be Brave. Use your true name, the name your father and your grandfather gave it to you or otherwise you may not have a name as though you are a “bastard”. Otherwise get lost and away from this forum if you have no tolerance for other people pt. of views. All views should be welcome as long as they are reasonably and sincerely expressed.
Hey folks! Happy New Year to everybody!
Just got back from vacation and wowee, I must have missed a lot of the action. Gee folks, you don’t even take a break, do you all?
Back to the subject on the state of the opposition right here in good old Singapore. You know, we got no figurehead like what they have in other countries, the kind of person that fires the imagination of the people, savvy enough to know the system inside out and go mano-e-mano with the big guy. The nearest best example is Anwar Ibrahim. Man got his flaws alright, but he sure made life hell for UMNO and threw Abdullah Badawi under the bus. As the Bonnie Tyler song goes, I’m holding out for a hero.
when i go overseas, i still try access TOC via internet easily available.
113) Oscar Choy on January 6th, 2009 8.08 am
Welcome back, nice to see that you are back from the sewer system again spewing another new round of rubbish.
“No wonder TOC is still classified as immature and unprofessional blog. May be only a step better than Ah Beng & Ah Kow blog.”
Like it has been mentioned quite a number of times before, why are mature people like you still here in “this immature and unprofeesional blog.”
Surely, good, cultured and classy people like you would not want to be contaminated by immature and unprofessional comments here.
“Come on. Be more open. Let it be a forum for all S’poreans to express opinions, frustrations, unhappinese to the present environment, suggestions for improvments and whatever political inclinations. Do not just hide underneath the skirts and write to leverage attacks on other people opinions using “funny names”. Be Brave. Use your true name, the name your father and your grandfather gave it to you or otherwise you may not have a name as though you are a “bastard”.”
Now you are beginning to show temper and frustrations. Have you ever thought of the temper and frustrations that other people may have gone through also because of certain rules. Here, TOC rules apply lah. You have “conquered” enough public space already, be kind and generous enough to leave this little TOC space alone. Please please please we need your help. Phewwwwww !!!!!
Hey Raymond, buddy (hope you don’t me calling you that), you mean you still access this site when you’re on vacation?! Man, TOC gotta give you credit for loyalty.
Continuing my earlier point on holding out for a hero, well, the last real heroes died with Cheng San in 1997. Those of you who were at Yio Chu Kang Stadium during that glorious night 10 years ago, you will know that nothing now compares to back then. When the J man spoke, everyone listened. And when the Tang man rose, we rose with him. That was how it was back then. Don’t need no Hong Lim Park, just pure charisma. These were the heroes….