Tuesday, January 13, 2009 13:55

TOC award for best articles/reports by its writers

In Events & Announcements • 885 views • 23 Comments

The Online Citizen is introducing an award for its writers who pen the best articles. This is to recognise the contribution of our pool of volunteer writers and contributors.

There will be two awards – a monthly one and another for the best article/report of the year, which will be given out in December.

For the monthly award, the editors will pick the 10 best entries and visitors to our site will vote for the one which they are most impressed with.

For the Best Article/Report Of The Year, the winner of each month will automatically qualify for this. Visitors and readers will vote for the final winner at the end of the year.

Editors of TOC will not be eligible for these awards.

We would like to ask for your suggestions on what rewards the winners should receive. Please do give us your views here (in the comment section) or email us at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com .

Thank you.

1. TOC welcomes 5 new writers
  2. April 2007 articles on theonlinecitizen
  3. TOC writers’ National Day thoughts
  4. Ho Ching gets May Day award
  5. NSP Departure from SDA– Study the Press reports

23 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

gemami
Jan 13, 2009 14:08

Of course Ca$h is Be$t, lah, in this troubled times.
However, being civic-minded people like us, the cash awards will go to a charitable organisation of our choice.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Jan 13, 2009 14:21

Yes, charitable organisations sounds good. Please write your cheque to

Zefly Foundation For The Purchase Of Weed, Booze and Ciggies.

:P

Jan 13, 2009 14:23

The article on Chua Lee Hoong wins best of Jan!

theonlinecitizen
Jan 13, 2009 14:25

Zefly,

That’s not fair. Jan hasn’t ended yet. :)

Andrew

gemami
Jan 13, 2009 14:29

Never mind, we have already decided that the article on Ms Chua of the Bee Hoong gang has already won, and since Joshua is the first to recommend it, he shall be declared the winner. So, please hand the cheque to him, make out to the charitable organisation of his choice; POWBC.

Congrats! to you Zefly!

Jan 13, 2009 14:32

Yes please do Andrew. I also mental case. You have to watch your back.

babu
Jan 13, 2009 14:35

Hi,
Most writers are great.
But 1 article the impressed me more than any other so far
is KJ’s article : DISGRACE : the life and times of Chua Lee Hoong.
So far, even the article on ah Seng has not yet received more comments & views than his.

Andrew Loh
Jan 13, 2009 14:37

Shall we invite Chua Lee Hoong to give out the award to KJ? :)

Jan 13, 2009 14:43

Ok, onz. Make sure you send invite to her if KJ wins ah

gemami
Jan 13, 2009 14:47

Wait for Seng Han Thong to recover, since his article would probably be voted in a close second behind the Bee Hoon sister. He can give the award and perhaps Joshua can inquire over his injury to share with us here in TOC and possibly win another award.

Kenna Thonged
Jan 13, 2009 18:52

While all the writers so far have been impressive,
KJ deserves an award
to encourage him to continue his good work
for the community.

me
Jan 13, 2009 20:38

i support that. chua lee hoong should give the award to KJ. can someone carry a story on chua mui hoong in january to compete?

ah cheow
Jan 13, 2009 20:55

Actually, my personal favorite is Hernandes. he wrote books for sale also.

agongkia
Jan 14, 2009 8:07

All writer’s contribution should be recognise but whoever you choose,don’t miss out Gilbert Goh.I am ready to vote for him.

gemami
Jan 14, 2009 8:36

If the comparison is article for article, then the Bee Hoon article must win, hands down.

I agree with #14) agongkia that we must recognise all contributions, and Gilbert Goh can be declared the winner in ‘The Best Consultant’ category(?) – well; if there is more than one award, that is, this is where my vote will go to.

Jan 14, 2009 9:21

Andrew publish my article hor. I this month slow business need supplement income.

anonymous
Jan 14, 2009 9:43

I would vote the article:
“Spending thousands for a cooking course – on holiday”
as the best for January.
It aptly depicts the kind of society that we have sadly become as a result of the great divide between the elites and the havenots.
It also shows clearly that such an unequal society has resulted in the new unhealthy hobby for the successful people in our society to boast about their wealth and achievements to the envy and dismay of the lesser folks. Instead of boasting and flaunting their wealth to the lesser people, such successful people should have made it their hobby to partake in any mission to help the lesser members among us.

Peter Sellers
Jan 14, 2009 14:52

Nothing. The recognition itself should be reward enough.

January is not over yet but the Chua Lee Hoong article is good so far.

observer
Jan 14, 2009 16:10

best writer is definitely KJ / Best article, the one abt the Chua sisters / Best runner up Choo / Best guest contributor Balji / Best commentator. Gemami, SD and Zefly.

Money is the best reward. At least 4 figures for the yearly one and 3 figures for the monthly awards

gemami
Jan 15, 2009 9:55

Ehm….. applause please (taking a bow) …. I thank my father, my mother my…..huh? ……what?….. oh, I see …… only nomination ah!…… so malu……so sorry…..(head bowed and walking away).

Thanks, observer, for the vote but I would differ it to SD or Zefly anytime. My comments have mostly been from the heart but SD and Zefly are very much well thought out with lots of humour at times. Humour is something that is sorely lacking in our soceity. For this alone, they deserve it more than I.

And yes; 4 figures for the year’s best and 3 figures for the month’s best.

agongkia
Jan 15, 2009 13:51

Hey Hey Hey…………… I think they contribute not becos of money so money is out.TOC may give winners ticket to the Singapore Flyers for monthly contest or maybe a ticket to Korea for yearly contest to attend a one week cooking course on how to make Kimchi.I think learning how to make Kimchi is much cheaper.

gemami
Jan 15, 2009 13:57

Okay, okay . . . we shall debate on the money issue.

But to take up agongkia’s suggestion further, why not a send the winner for an art course in France and learn how to write perfectly these words:

“Harry Lee, I Love You”.

Gilbert Goh
Jan 15, 2009 20:07

Hi thanks for those who supported me here.

I also love to write and such award certainly spur us to write more.

I hope that more people will come out to write for TOC.

BTW ST forum also invited forum writers for a gala gathering on 17 Feb. Maybe we may have makan and a propaganda talk who knows? Haha.

Anyway thanks again for those who supported me in my writing.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook