However, many of them felt that there are just too many negative reports about the economy in the media, especially the newspapers. The front pages have been carrying news of layoffs and companies going under, day after day.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

It’s the bleeding truth, Mr Lam. What do you expect the media to report – that companies are not laying off staff on the quiet, that huge corporations are not axeing staff worldwide? Sure, the news is bleak but if people don’t like it, they can always turn their attention elsewhere. The choice is theirs.
Did Mr. Lam expect the ST to report more Golden Period? Property blooming? Stocks on the rise? Global economy growth? Employment at all time high? He is still enjoying in his MP of having 13,900 per month of allowance.
Yup, this guy wants to live in his own sweet world.
It is just a bad cop and good cop tactic.
MSM spread the bad news, the A-Team spread the good news (if any).
Always, always, the shirts must remain whiter than white.
Hello, hello to all the bootlickers. Another piece of bad news. Out of the sudden, the compensation of private sector high flying CEOs will be limited to US$400,000 (S$604,140) a year.
“WASHINGTON – THE White House pledged action against ‘irresponsible’ bonuses for executives at bailed-out Wall Street companies as a Democratic senator unveiled legislation to limit their compensation to US$400,000 (S$604,140) a year.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Money/Story/STIStory_332560.html”
Hello, hello to all the bootlickers. Out of the sudden, the compensation of private sector high flying CEOs of those bailed-out Wall Street companies will be limited to US$400,000 (S$604,140) a year.
Maybe you may want to relay this message to our multi-million super stars so that they can apply for these jobs in these companies and hopefully they may also be able to employ their highly talented skills in priming up these sick & distressed companies. Caveat emptor hoh : Compensation will be limited only to US$400,000 (S$604,140) a year hoh.
I thought MM said just late last year Singapore is going through a golden era and out ministers said that we will be able to face-off this storm from a position of strength?
More such false good news to boost morale?
“I thought MM said just late last year Singapore is going through a golden era and out ministers said that we will be able to face-off this storm from a position of strength?”
Comes testing time, more will know that no one possesses accurate crystal-ball vision.
Different times just manage to produce lucky heroes who are able to sell their wares to most, and also manage to produce many unknown behind-the-scene heroes who do not have the luck to be recognised as such. That is life.
But never mind, they always talk long term which in my opinion could mean any timeframe from 5 to 100 years. So this golden-era thingy still stands a chance to be realised.
It is always safe to talk long term, so the window period of proven wrong will have to be waited out much longer. Or it may never be proven as it may outlive the biological window period of your own lifetime.
Mr Lam Pin Min,
if you are reading this.
I hope you learn to be brave and face the HONEST Truth.
Its no use trying to avoid the news of retrenchments and poor economic performance.
In this year of the Cow, I hope you not only get a lot of ang pows
but also grow and mature.
Call a spade a spade.
Or maybe if the honest truth bugs you, why not you write in to ST forum and advice them how to write? hey, the news is already very forgiving already leh. just ask people here. I feel that it has even more room to grow.
Wow, you a P65 article man ah. So solid hor.
Be Brave! Be honest to yourselve. If all you want to see ,read and hear or watch is good news, you are living in DENIAL. Then if that is the sad case, I encourage you to seek help.
Can you handle the Truth? Yes, singapore is in Recession and a lot of retrenchments and more to come. Accept it! Grow in the year of the cow.
less kpkb.
Coming from a PAP back bencher – this guy just shot himself in the leg or unless he is asked to say so…
the bad news and more bad news is there in the press as part of the overall orchestrated mass propaganda….- drum up fear for the breadwinners, cover up the poor performances of the new team of Ministers, complacencies, etc,…and to put in advance mitigation for the ineffectiveness of the recent budget……get it.
so what is next ?
PM will then ” chu tai” to do what he can to try to win votes…….
9) Lim Boh Beng on January 31st, 2009 2.59 pm
I need to edit post #9 to : I hope for less kpkb in this world. This is my hope for the new year for the world. thanks.
Its the press duty to report the facts.
Even death news and bad news have to be reported.
For example, when Mas Selamat escaped, the news should splash front page alerting everyone. Even though this is bad news. Not that it was not done so.
another example, if Mini bons got problem ,the news should report it asap for all investors and would be investors to be on alert. not that is was not done so.
another example, if TC investment in toxic products lose a lot of money, like millions, this should be reported. not that it is not done so.
it is obvious why the MSM is carrying negative reports daily. it is to prime the peasants to accept retrenchments. so that when GLCs retrench the peasants are brainwashed to accept the actions as inevitable.
sick and tired of all these manipulations
“The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) is expecting more retrenchments in the electronics sector after the fifteenth day of the Lunar New Year”. – more of the same negative news in the same vein.
I am very surprised how these immortals can predict the future with such pin-point accuracy – wow after the fifteenth!
Maybe he feels that our MSM is too blunt not sensitive to others who may not like to see bad news or too much of it even if its the blunt truth , the bluntest truth and nothing more blunt than the truth itself?
I see this as complement to MSM that it is a reliable media.
But must give it to him. He writes quite well. I saw his face on p65 and wow, so yen tao wor.
I think he is Doctorate wor. May be too cheem for me to understand his point.
there is an agenda behind why the msm reports all bad news, this P65 dun know abt politics, better go back and practise medicine lah. All P65 are useless MPs. They hide in GRC for too long, can’t even fight a battle, call themselves MP, xyz@@@..xyz@@
Here goes their propaganda and tricks again, never learn their lessons and still think singaporeans are all dumbs. The more they try to manipulate the people, the more they are going to screw up things.
Given the future is bleaker than ever , would more measures and policies be implemented?
To do this, would they feel better with a RENEWED Mandate asap?
i wonder and wonder…..
Actually arh, i think you all read his comment wrong liao. He says that is what the youths are thinking mah. I also youth, i think that ecconomy bad we all also jia lat.
I think his last question is asking whether our MSM reporting is only tip of iceberg or (which is basically making the recession sound not so bad) or maybe its molehill (actually recession not so jialat as we think)
so in the end his comments are only observations lor.
i think our backbenchers very smart not anyhow say things, the backbenchers will be our future Ministars leh.
But i am really impressed with some of them who are very zai and really doing this for the people. You see their parliament speech on the blog can tell liao. But those just my thoughts luh
negative reports are always good; keeps you on your toes.
Who is Lam Pin Min for now ?
Hope he can get into the inner circle perhaps by marriage as the faster route.
aiyoyo
news is news ma. n sgp news sure accurate one ma.
economy not so good is fact ma, so we need ELITEs to help commoners leh
aiyoyo
I’d appreciate truthful bad news rather than twisted news made to look good. It reminds people of reality every day.
Twit!
Er.. so he prefers that lies be told to the people who he is supposed to lead?
kids again ah????? No surprises there.
Our future in these scholarly people wor.
donche like dat lah, you all. he very good wan. highly educated. studied many many.
To Mr Lam Pin Min, if you are reading this:
So, what are you suggesting, Mr Lam Pin Min? Tell the reporters to massage their reports and spin a little bit in order to make the economy looks good for you and your gang of people who feel that there are too many negative reports?
Perhaps, you would like to be the Chief Editor in all the mass media under SPH?
Work harder, some one up there may simply feel you are the right person for the job. Who knows?
Be happy and be positive, then you will look at all the negative reports as positive.
Good luck to you, and also good luck to Singapore if you happened to get what you want!
Happy New Year (Chinese New Year actually lasts for 15 days).
So, what are you suggesting, Mr Lam Pin Min?
Tell the reporters to massage their reports and spin a little bit in order to make the economy looks good for you and your gang of people who feel that there are too many negative reports?
Are you aspiring to be the Chief Editor in one of the mass media under SPH? Work harder, some one up there may simply feel you are the right person for the job. Who knows?
Good luck to you, and also good luck to Singapore if you happened to get what you want!
THINK POSITIVE AND YOU WILL TAKE ALL NEGATIVE REPORTS AS POSITIVE.
You people huh, recently they try to spread good news and got a perm sec to talk about his good experience learning cooking in Paris with his family and then see what happened? Kena rapped for saying the right thing at the wrong time. Now they report bad news and also kena rapped for saying bad news. What are they suppose to say then?
Actually, whether golden period or not depends on each person’s paradigm too. If you are eating a $50K dinner every day, then of course you will say golden period because you are experiencing it. If you are eating out of a dustbin every night, then it is shit period.
Once in Hong Kong, an old lady told me that the Cantonese name of Hong Kong applies to the rich. She said that to the rich it is fragrant harbour, but to the poor, it is smelly harbour.
It is all a matter of perspective. That is why citizens should choose those who represent them to come from situations similar to them otherwise very difficult to have empathy. That is why Obama is our best hope to bridge the differences between the Muslim world and the Americans because he can emphathise with both groups and able to see from their perspectives clearly, by virtue of his experiences, upbringing as well as his hybrid pedigree.
so Mr lam, what do you propose .candy coated news that singapore is enjoying a golden age of prosperity
Why is my comment under moderation? Nothing vulgar, no links, nothing religious or racial, not sacrileges? Can allow or not? I am just highlighting some very good news to counter the allegations by Mr Lam wat.
guys, digress a bit but i know what is MIW but what exactly is msm? local media or what?
Take your pick:
Main Stream Media
Mass State Media
Manipulative Statutory Media
No wat! Mr Lam; I have been hearing a lot of good news wat!
a. Because of tripartism, only 29,000 jobs are going to be lost … hurray! long live Lim Swee Say; for losing only 29,000 jobs.
b. Seng Han Thong designed a greeting card and gave it to NTUC secretary-general Lim Swee Say, with message to ‘Press on in the Year of the Oxen. Do not fear the opposing tides.’ Good news wat! Seng is recovering well and encouraging LSS to press on to upturn the downturn. Fantastic piece of news.
c. Singapore’s minimum basic wage is going to increase by 1.5% this year. This is an excellent piece of news wat. So gloomy the economic climate still can have 1.5% wage increase man! How come Lam can miss this piece of good news?
d. ComfortDelgro taxi drivers are going to get $51 a month for six months, or a total of $306. Comfort expects its road tax savings to come up to $4.6 million. Another piece of good news coming at the wake of the attack on Mr Seng. Perhaps to prevent another human fire incident? Good news also wat!
e. Oh yes, the biggest good news; definitely front page; the $4.9M dip into the reserves. Where have you been Mr Lam? This is not good news meh? Pro-worker, pro-business, pro-PAP, pro-Opposition, pro-pro budget that is so pro everything. This one not good news meh?
f. TENANTS of 18 Capitaland-owned malls will gain from the $41.5 million property tax rebates which the Capitaland group stands to gain from the Government’s 40 per cent property tax rebate. Good news or not? How can anyhow talk, Mr Lam?
g. Hawkers are holding prices and not increasing. NEARLY 190 hawker stalls have not increased their prices over the past six months, despite escalating costs and dropping sales, a survey released yesterday showed.
So many more good news I can contribute here, but I think you, Mr Lam, is not in sync with the rest of us. You better learn to “Hear Only The Good Stuff”. What have you been reading? Shame on you!
Give Up! Bye.