Dheva Rajan
2008 has been a landmark year for Singapore, both economically and politically. As it passes into history, we welcome 2009 with a mix of optimism and caution.
There has been talk that there could be elections called this year so that the PAP can claim a fresh mandate to tackle Singapore’s economic problems. If this turns out to be true, I sincerely plead with Singaporeans to vote wisely.
1. Don’t be bribed with “shares” or “rebates” given in the budget preceding the election. They last only for a short time. Look out for long-term measures.
2. Don’t be threatened by the PAP’s threats to not upgrade your HDB flats. HDB flats are public housing and all HDB dwellers have the right to have their flats upgraded with taxpayers’ money. Besides, you are choosing a government and not a renovation contractor.
3. Don’t believe the PAP when it says that Singapore will be “ruined” by the opposition if they win. You are supposed to decide that for yourselves, not them.
4. Don’t be afraid to express yourself freely on the internet. It is one of Singapore’s only bastions of free speech. If you feel that something is not right, speak out. Just be careful on race and religious matters.
5. Don’t rely on the government-controlled media to make your choice. They only heap praises on the PAP and scorn on the opposition.
6. Do remember the PAP’s last promises in the 2006 elections. If they are still unfulfilled, it is unlikely that the same promises made again will be fulfilled.
7. Do read alternative news sources. Communicate alternative news to those who are not computer savvy, such as the elderly, so that the audience for such news is widened.
8. Do volunteer or donate to opposition parties if you agree with their ideas. They need all the help they can get.
9. Do check out videos of opposition rallies or activities online if you are afraid to be physically present there. Thanks to YouTube, you can still hear the opposition’s ideas and views.
10. Finally, don’t vote based on your “respect” or “admiration” for Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew or Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong. Their time will soon pass. Vote based on the performance of current PM Lee Hsien Loong and his team.
You are not voting to reward past achievements, you are voting for ideas on how to deal with present and future challenges.
Voting is one of Singaporeans’ few democratic rights. Make good use of it.
———–
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

If there is a chance for me to vote, i will do so and definitely wisely. however in the last election, it is a walkover and i guess it will be so again the next time round
Dheva, your article is probably aimed at “closed-minded” Singaporeans , which is not what makes up the online community.
For the online community, I’d throw in one more advice:
“Don’t vote for the opposition for opposition’s sake. Analyse both sides carefully and make a well-thought choice.”
Dhevan, your article is well-thought out, but I have this to add to the list:
DO take a look around us – the sheer number of “so-call foreign talents” gaining easy access to this tiny red dot due to the govt’s screw-up immigration policy! Look around us – many of our uncles and aunties who lost their jobs as a result of this damned policy – are left desperate and humiliated, and without social security net from the PAP’s self-proclaimed Spore is a first world country. We are far from reaching the first world status!
Yes vote wisely. You can have a democracy, but still vote in the wrong party.
Yes vote wisely. You can have a democracy, but still not be able to vote at all.
Vote against those self made millionaires who are responsible for the ever adding up suffering and hardship to the folks of singapore. The folks already suffered long enough and its time to protect and not destroy those childrens of yours and their future. Its about time singaporeans have to stand united and take the neccessary responsibility and action to do what is right and just to the true blue citizens of singapore, our beloved homeland belongs to us which our forefathers had suffered long enough to make singapore what is today, and it is not to be built to the benefit for those foreigners who were given free citizenships to enjoy themselves and take away what is rightfully ours. We and our childrens are the ones who served our country in the national service but these foreigners just came and take away our jobs, our benefits and destroy our entire livelihoods. Yes, money is important however, the lives of each and every singapore born citizens are now at stake. Ask yourself now, do we have the rights to claim back what is ours and do your part as a true blue citizens of singapore.
Yes, I rejoin in the plea for all of us to vote wisely. In casting the vote we must ask ourselves whether the ordinary people, esp. the middle and lower income people, are getting a fair deal compared especially to the foreign talents?
Is the raise of GST with no correlation to social service expenditure justified? Is it true that GST increase is to “help the poor”? Is the raise of GST to finance the huge increase in Ministerial salary justified?
Is the hospital means testing necessary considering the huge increase in GST?
Is it justified to suspend all by-elections so that the only opportunity left for citizens to cast their vote is in a general election once every five years?
Is it wise to vote in some opposition to provide for check and balance? Will it be the last and final breath for any opposition in Singapore if they are so discouraged to ever participate in political elections again? What will it be like if all opposition candidates are so disheartened that they decide to wash their hands completely from political participation.
We all know that elections in Singapore is not fair as the incumbent has set up high barriers of entry to stand for elections. (GRC system, high election deposits, etc.) For those who have never voted at all in their life, they will understand the frustration of not being able to voice out and exercise their democratic rights through the electoral box.
We owe it to ourselves to stop the farce and help build up a strong Opposition for the future of Singapore.
The rot has to stop.
Copy from another TOC article a comment by Edward.
<>
Here is Edward’s comment::
====================
I would like to add a little info about elections in all the countries of the world printed in the November issue of the National Geographic but I am very sure this news will not be published in the S T.
In this issue Singapore is included in the category of countries having COMPROMISED ELECTIONS together with 38 countries such as Iraq, Uganda, Yemen, Iran, Zimbabwe and Congo. Small countries such as New Zealand, Malta, Denmark, East Timor, Ireland and Israel have FREE ELECTIONS.
====================
If the GRC system is meant to CHEAT the voters of their rights to vote for the party they desire, then its sad to say that all those who are affected are infact being cheated by the people who implement this system, and we dare loudly says that singapore is a democratic country?
Walkovers are just cheats to deprive the people of their right to choose.
A politician thinks of the next election; a statesman thinks of the next generation.
- James Freeman Clarke
And please don’t vote for PAP then regret and apologise afterwards like a *certain* other opposition member, because it will be too late by then :)
alky, you’re my man! Election Day for me is just like another day for me because each time its a walkover at my place. Last time they had it, I was in Johor Baru having seafood.
And it looks like its gonna be another walkover in the next one.
Memo to TOC : can you folks upload a picture of a ballot paper so I know how it looks like?
Alright, alright, I know its against the law. , But no harm wishing….
Hey Rite, I know who you referring to. Hehe….What kind of Opposition Sec-Gen is he…
“6. Do remember the PAP’s last promises in the 2006 elections. If they are still unfulfilled, it is unlikely that the same promises made again will be fulfilled.”
Yes, I remember the mean “Means Testing” that is not supposed to be implemented but is done so anyway starting this year (excellent choice of bad timing).
For those who have problems with foreigners around us, remember it is not their fault for trying to earn a better living. It is the PAP policies that allowed them to flood in that is the problem. Direct your anger at the right target.
Btw, I only had 1 chance to vote in the GE so far in my entire life, thanks to moving to a specific location. It is bloody stupid. They expect you to know where to walk and what to do, even though many Singaporeans never had a chance to vote before.
#10 Anonymous on January 6th, 2009 10.42 am
Yup, I am not surprised at all. How can elections be free when the electorial board is not independent but formed under the incumbent’s office?
Mr Hahaha
You quoted:
“Btw, I only had 1 chance to vote in the GE so far in my entire life, thanks to moving to a specific location. It is bloody stupid. They expect you to know where to walk and what to do, even though many Singaporeans never had a chance to vote before.”
Well, if in the next GE no opposition candidate gets elected at all, then I believe that all of them would become so weakened and discouraged that they will completely shed politics forever. Then you would forever have no more chance to ever vote again. When the opposition becomes completely dead, whom can we turn to to ask for help to check the PAP, such as against paying themselves obscene salaries that are twenty times George Bush’s salary?
Is this what you want for the future of your children and your children’s children?
Yes, vote wisely, vote oppositions in
aiyoyo
worry of walkover, then no chance to vote.
if no walkover, sure vote WISELY one.
look at current situation in this country…
aiyoyo
An excellent piece, Dheva, and excellent advices. Kudos to you.
Let’s hope the people take heed, that how they vote would affect their lives.
rgds
Actually it is already too obvious to know which party you will want to vote this coming GE. You just have to remember the past incident of our late president Ong TC, the only 1 president deserving the highest respect and a pure and righteous person who is willing to speak out for the rights of the people of singapore was being destroyed by who we all know. This is uniquely singapore.
Consider that the YOG will be held in 2010, there is a possibility that te elections will be called shortly after that. The euphoria after another ‘successful’ international events might possibly be blinding to young voters.
To #18 anonymous on January 7th, 2009 8.00 am
I am not sure how you jumped from my comment about my single voting experience to your conclusions. My paragraph of comment quoted by you is meant to be read in its entirety. “It is bloody stupid” refers to how poorly organised the election officers were at the election station. Other than the election officer and the auditor checking your polling note at the 1st station, the other officers were just standing there doing nothing. There was no arrow to say, go here first, walk this way to write your vote, drop the vote here and exit in this direction. I was also shocked that the “secure” election returns box was but a paper box, not unlike the boxes used by the fruit sellers!
Anyway, peace. I would want to vote at every election given the current political imbalance. As for my future generations, if the imbalance remains by the next few years, I will give up my “membership” to Singapore Inc.
Yes, let us vote wisely and wait for the military to step in, in the wise words of an old dragon. hehheh.
Why can’t the author just cut the long story short and just say:” Vote in the opposition?”.
After all, that’s what the objective of this whole thing seems.
[i]panter on January 8th, 2009 3.36 pm Why can’t the author just cut the long story short and just say:” Vote in the opposition?”.
After all, that’s what the objective of this whole thing seems.[/i]
why can’t the prime minister just says
let there be an fair democratic elections
just liked
united states
1 man 1 vote
no grc
so simple right?
do you have a problemo
with that?
or do you want me
to write in singlish?
Thought just occured to me : might be a bad idea for an election to be called now because everything is trash. Smart play would be to wait for the economy to recover and proclaim everyone that its their credit, and getting everyone to take them again.
I think we should get real about elections in Singapore.Given the way the GRC system works, the number of opposition candidates fielded each time and the gerrymandering that has been effect for many years, the chances of an opposition party being voted into power are practically zero. So, why all this talk about ‘assessing the opposition’? Make it simple. Let’s just all vote opposition. The PAP will still retain its mandate. But maybe, just maybe, having more than 1 real opposition MP in parliament, elected by the people, will make them sit up and listen to its citizens and feel their pains, instead of just talking about it from their ivory towers while sitting on their fat salary cheques.
29) Fed Up on January 9th, 2009 9.44 am
I agree too here. The only way is to do the reversing act by voting the opp party in regardless of who whey are, never mind if they are even new to you, color, race or whatever. If they are good, so be it and if they sucks, then just let them die a natural death. The point here is at least we get 1 arrogant idiot out of their comfy chair while drawing their big fat salary and doing nothing for the people.
27) moshedyan on January 8th, 2009 11.47 pm
why can’t the prime minister just says let there be an fair democratic elections
just liked united states 1 man 1 vote no grc so simple right?
Mosh, they dare not have the guts to do that simply becos they know that they will lose, not only they will lose, they will lose real . . . . . bad! so much talk of democratic elections! dirty political rubbish . . .
Hi tiredsingaporean
Your suggestion to hold a simple election like in the USA with 1 man 1 vote is taboo because in such a straightforward fight the pappies will definitely lose very badly. This is precisely the same reason why they have suspended all by-elections because a by-election is just this kind of simple fight which they know they will lose. Do you not remember that good old JBJ was first elected in a by-election, not in the general election? The pappies have learnt from that lesson never to hold any more by-election. Do you not know why the late Ong Chit Chung’s parliamentary seat will remain vacant until the next GE? Look what happened when Malaysia held a by-election, and the UMNO ruling party was completely trounched. The Malaysian UMNO never learns from this mistake. I hope UMNO will do better in the coming by-election in Kuala Trengganu soon.
In Malaysia the constitution still requires that a by-election must be held within two months of the seat becoming vacant.
I was told that previously the same constitution also applies in Singapore. What happened to our constitution since then? Was the constitution changed to allow for total suspension of all by-elections?
I kept having this strange feeling that this familees garment may just come out with some lame excuse to abolish or delay further the next GE, if they have enough data and feedbacks that they are beginning to lose ground. Well, just my guess, but it is possible here.
tiredsingaporean
They can’t delay the next GE because the term of government runs out in Feb 2012 (heard this being mentioned, do correct me if I got it wrong) so unless they amend the Constitution, they have to call for GE before this date. And if they do amend the Constitution, there’ll be a almighty riot. You can bet your sweet ass the people is gonna riot.
That is precisely what I am also thinking but again if they can just pass any new law just to keep themselves in power, won’t they do it then? not that they have not pass any new law before. C’mon this is papees and its politics.
tiredsingaporean
Seriously, if you ask me, I don’t believe they will have this doomsday scenario enacted. It’s like turning this place into North Korea. At least Kim Jong Il got his nukes. We got nothing but Newater! Yeah, they got away with murder the past couple of times, but this is one red button they won’t press.
moshedyan dunno what he is talking himself. In US is by the federal system and state/electoral elections which is similar but very different in technicalities to GRC which in turns vote for the president. I guess you guys dunno much about political systems
Hi hack, if you will be so king,maybe you will like to clarify and explain to everyone, so that we can learn more from you.
“26) panter on January 8th, 2009 3.36 pm
Why can’t the author just cut the long story short and just say:” Vote in the opposition?”.
After all, that’s what the objective of this whole thing seems”
It is like telling you “why can’t you just jump down from your own balcony if the finale of one’s life is always death”. Why do you still need to go through the long process of living out the remaining part of your life.
I hope you are not so stupid to do that. In order to show my sincere responsiblity and prevent the possibility that you may really do it, let you tell you clearly that is meant to be an insult & to jerk you out from your drunken state; and please this is not to be acted out in real life.
In the latest issue of Newsweek magazine Jan12, 2009), on page 40, an article headlined The Next Turn Down mentions in the first paragraph that “In October, the Federal Reserve set up an unprecedented $120 billion credit line to Brazil, Mexico, Singapore and Korea.”
In the past decades since independence, most of Singapore’s infrastrucuture has been built with minimal support from the international community (the UN, or IMF or Asia Development Bank). This was because much infrastructure development was financed by CPF contributions.
Yes, the common man in the street helped build this country. I would like to know why we need this multi-billion dollar help now when we are told:
a) we are arrivees in the First World of nations
b) we have one of the largest foreign reserves in the world
c) we have some of the best minds in the world leading our government, and who are therefore worth millions of salary each year
This loan from the Federal Reserve lumps Singapore in with less developed nations – apart from Korea. (Note that the Korean won is in the tank.) In the next election – the PAP will ask you to vote on their track record. As far as I can tell, their track record is one where in one short year, we have gone from first world to banana republic and where our citizens compete with a slew of foreigners for jobs and are being asked to work all hours to pay for a simple HDB flat.
I would love to hear from our leaders about this, and why we need this money. Is Singapore no longer able to support itself? Is the country broke? What happened to the CPF money contributed from the blood sweat and toil of every single working citizen in this country? (Forget the foreign workers, they can take it with them when they leave). Is it still there? Will we ever see it again? Do we now have an explanation why all this talk about raising the retirement age and delaying the collection of CPF funds?
Failing any explanation, I urge Singaporeans to vote on track record, as asked but vote with open eyes – and get rid of this group of so called world class leaders who have spent us back into the third world and asks us to work ourselves into the grave to support their mistakes.
Sorry, I should have added the rest of the quote from the Newsweek article: “In October, the Federal Reserve set up an unprecedented $120 billion credit line to Brazil, Mexico, Singapore and Korea to stave off a liquidity crisis in those countries”.
I wonder why the country with the one of the largest foreign reserves is going through a liquidity crisis?
Voting Singaporeans, use your vote more wisely than your government has used your tax and CPF dollars…
40) Fed Up on January 10th, 2009 1.13 am
I would love to hear from our leaders about this, and why we need this money?
Good question here. Me too, been pondering over and over on exactly how much of our taxpayers money our world class elites have lost in total so far, on all their gambling activities? just to mention 1 case like Merill Lynch alone the lost is already more than 2billions?????? then what could be the total lost by GIC and TH? all the monies including all the trapped cpf savings of the entire nation????
hey, this is a damn bloody serious matter to the entire working citizens of singapore, of which majority of them are depending on their cpf saving to survive through their old age. As for those self made millionaire elites, you people need not have to worry since 1 year of your salary can even feed your entire family for a quite a no. of years. As for the old folks and working class, they will have no other mean except to starve and die is it?
Singaporeans and citizens of singapore, please think if not for yourselves, at least have some plans for your childrens futures. This thing cannot go on anymore.
““6. Do remember the PAP’s last promises in the 2006 elections. If they are still unfulfilled, it is unlikely that the same promises made again will be fulfilled.””
It is very likely that the promise made can be fulfil if PAP phase those promise in a more realistic way !
Now, why can’t the PAP make the promise that can be delivered 100% in their mandate ? At least they definitely be implemented and government can then confidently proclaim their integrity and credibility !
The PAP should mention the 100% mandate items that surely can be implemented:
- ERP gantries increase, and entry price go up
- HDB price only go up but never down even in bad economy
- GST increase by another 40%
- First $20,000 CPF untouchable and usable unless get permission from the emperor.
- Transport fare will go up due to escalating oil price. However it will not go down as it is not directly linked when oil price go down.
- ministar’s PayCut in the form of bonus cut.
- More good years and golden period for the elite gahmen, and more bad years for the poor Singapore layman.
I’m sure that the PAP surely can deliver more mandates that can be fulfilled.
42) Daniel on January 10th, 2009 1.31 am
“They can’t delay the next GE because the term of government runs out in Feb 2012 (heard this being mentioned, do correct me if I got it wrong) so unless they amend the Constitution”
Kangaroo law can even override the constitution of human rights law, what cannot be amended ? Isn’t Singapore the city of possibilities ? I mean kangaroo possibilities !
Yes Daniel, I keep having this bad feeling that they will just come out with some lame excuses again and start changing those new laws just to safeguard and keep them in power over the people. This is politics . . . . .oh I hate to repeat that dirty word!
ask urself one question: is your life getting better or worse?
if you are unsatisfied with any aspect of your life, VOTE FOR THE OPPOSITION.
Sometimes I wonder if our CPF monies are actually Satyam in nature too. If not, why the government keeping postponing our withdrawal date and refuse to let us to use our CPF monies to tide over hard economic times? Unless there is actually no monies there…
I kind of like what they post on HRW web in october.
“Singapore’s leaders should end the practice of using defamation suits to stifle political opposition, Human Rights Watch said today.
“Using defamation laws to silence peaceful political speech makes a mockery of Singapore’s claim to be a model democracy,” said Elaine Pearson, deputy Asia director at Human Rights Watch. “Opposition criticism of the government is an essential ingredient of a democratic political system.”"
“”The history of defamation in Singapore shows a pattern of making people pay dearly for exercising the basic right of peaceful expression,” said Pearson. “Singapore has nothing to fear from a vocal opposition and its people have everything to gain.”"
“Sometimes I wonder if our CPF monies are actually Satyam in nature too. If not, why the government keeping postponing our withdrawal date and refuse to let us to use our CPF monies to tide over hard economic times? Unless there is actually no monies there…”
In Indian language, Satyam means Truth.
In Singaporean language, CPF means for your Retirement.
To #48,
Although Satyam means truth, I used Satyam in reference to the Satyam Computer Services Limited Scandal of which the company head recently admitted that the company has been overstating profits for several years. It is the biggest corporate fraud in Asia and it is regarded as India’s equivalent to the Enron scandal. You can find more information regarding the Satyam Scandal here.
Thank you. Finance and economics are something that I like very very very much.
My juxtaposition of the statements was meant to highlight the irony of the former. Well, let’s hope the integrity of the latter stays preserved to the end of time.
I appreciate your contributions in this site.