PN Balji    

Budget 2009 has been praised by many as a budget fit for the times. And in a highly-calibrated statement, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam offered something for nearly every body and went close to the extreme to save jobs and get banks to start lending a bit more freely again.

And if these were not enough, the historic decision to ask the President to dip into to the past government’s reserves was also made.

Extraordinary moves for extraordinary times indeed.

So is it time to throw the dice and call for an early election this year with another three years left for the government’s term to run out?

I don’t think so.

The one thing this Budget lacks is a feel-good factor. As the Finance Minister said quite pointedly: “We cannot say when this recession will end…If we are fortunate and the US government’s fiscal stimulus spurs new demand, we may come out of the recession in late 2009.

”However, many careful observers believe it is equally likely that the recession will last into 2010, and that the recovery when it comes, will be weak.”

There you have it. A long and uncertain road ahead. And a government staring at the worst recession since independence.

This is just not the time for distractions like an election. The unpredicatability and unchartered waters must mean it is all hands on deck for the government to make sure that Singapore and Singaporeans come out of this storm stronger and better.

The job credits for employers to keep their workers and the measures to coax banks to open their lending facilities to companies that are trying to stay afloat look good on paper. But will the bosses and banks bite? Or will they shrug off their social responsibility and lay off workers and continue to be hard-fisted with loans?

These are areas that need careful watching and slick manoeuvering. The hassle of an election should be the last thing on the government’s mind.

There is another equally, if not more, important reason for not rushing into an election sooner than later. The PM and MM have repeatedly spoken about not having found the right fourth generation team to take Singapore into the 2020s and further. The next PM is likely to come from this team. To rush into an election now with that person and team still not in place will be very uncharacteristic of a responsible government.

Then why were letters sent out to civil servants about a month ago to tell them they had been selected as election officers.

I suspect that is to keep the government’s options open…if there is a need to call a sudden election, at least the machinery is ready to swing into action.

Snap elections have been called for some of these reasons: To get a new vote of confidence for a new leader, tackle a major threat like the 9/11 disaster or take advantage of a sweet ground.

All the three conditions don’t exist today.
——-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

111 Responses to “Why this is not election year”

1. major threat like 9/11? so today’s economic crisis is not a threat to survival but 9/11 is. wow. and i thought 9/11 is in america.

disappointing article. if its anything, the current economic crisis is more a threat than 9/11 given its strong relevance.

but why bother about whether got elections or not. its always a PAP mandate. yawns.

2. /// Snap elections have been called for some of these reasons: To get a new vote of confidence for a new leader, tackle a major threat like the 9/11 disaster or take advantage of a sweet ground.

All the three conditions don’t exist today. ///

Sorry, but I disagree with you Balji.

1) The time is ripe to get a new vote of confidence for this new leader and new team – the global financial crisis is unlike any test since the Great Depression. The previous crises were nothing compared to the current one, and are only dress rehearsals.

2) Tackle a major threat like the 9/11. To be blunt, what has 9/11 got to do with Singapore? It was a 99.99% American affair. Was there any fallout in Singapore? Maybe, maybe not. A few American companies had to step up on their security arrangements in Singapore – that’s all. On the other hand, the billions upon billions of Middle Eastern petroldollars that were previously welcomed in the US, suddenly found that they are no longer welcomed, and instead flowed into Singapore. What major threat was the 9/11? This global financial crisis is the real threat, the real thing.

3) Take advantage of a sweet ground. Well, it is all about relativity. In previous elections, the PAP though the ground was sweet, yet they were unpleasantly surprised. You said there is no feel-good factor in this Budget. I totally disagree – this budget, unlike ALL previous ones, has really something for everyone, both businesses and individuals. The job credit scheme is innovative, and a pleasant surprise and not something to sniff all. On the other hand, in the coming months and maybe years, there WILL definitely be a feel-bad factor.

So, given the choice – some feel-good factor now, or a feel-bad factor later – I think the choice is clear. An early election will be the lesser of two evils.

3. Actually,

Either way its a lose lose situation for PAP now.

In fact I’d personally think they will have a better chance of winning if they hold it this year where the full force of the recession hasn’t been felt yet.

The recession will be long and hard, with so many global layoffs in just the past few days. These guys will be jobless, and consumption demand in U.S will drop further, causing China’s export-led economy to take a further battering.

Which in turns affect the rest of Asia and the world.

Economy’s going to get bad, and as more and more people in Singapore get to feel the full force of not having money in their pockets, they will start to wonder whether our ministers are worth the millions of dollars of salary.

Discontent will rise, and I personally feel that when a election is mandated to happen by 2011, we’ll see some serious discourse towards the ruling party.

4. CNY going to be over soon. I’m sure more layoffs are on the cards.

5. Pang Sy Long 28 January 2009

Of course it will be nice to hold election when everything looks rosey.
    I think its not a Yes / No. but a maybe.
    It may be this year IF recession over.
    It may be next year IF recession over.
    It may be next next year IF recession over.

But can sg get rid of recession by itself?
    I think we have to wait for USA to help itself to help ourselves. Afterall, if USA don’t increase importing our goods, what can be done to get out of recession?
    I think we wait lah.

6. need2change 28 January 2009

DC,
    The incumbent goc probably thinks that the recession will be over pretty soon as they have “expected’, remember LHL said something like he never expected that the recession to be this bad. secondly they probably have this idea they are able to handle the problems that will arise with this poor economy progress. guess their head is getting way too big.

7. Its TIME 28 January 2009

I think its time to renew giving them the mandate for another more good 5 years liao right? whether this year or next year, whats the diff?

Look at our loyal opposition what chances they can have?

8. moshetumy 28 January 2009

you all don’t even know
    how is this draught/dump game gonna played?
    usin my 3rd eye here
    i already know
    what is the next move

come closer
    let me whisper to you into your monitor..
    opps
    LCDs so to speak…..
    if have a new elections
    it no problemo for the ^outgoin^ prime minister
    why?
    by the time the election get started
    the mental1 should either dropped dead or died of overfeedin…
    if the outgoin LOSE or retired
    he just simply
    ^MIGRATE^
    and become a quitter
    so what do he realLEE have to lose afterall?
    if thaksin can forgo his whatever assets in thailand
    our same prince
    cannot do that?
    its PEANUT$…..
    as for you and me?
    lets start a new gohkengswee era onced more…

9. wondering 28 January 2009

“The job credits for employers to keep their workers and the measures to coax banks to open their lending facilities to companies that are trying to stay afloat ….. LOOK GOOD ON PAPER. ”

extraordinary time of crisis requires extraordinary optimism and measures.

what are your fears?what are your concerns? we make sure it will look ….good on paper.

seriously,if we had what it takes to keep things together, would we be the first to enter into recession?

10. Wee Shu Shu 28 January 2009

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=14578

dearest Balji,
    I am your fan. I read your news last time.
    happy CNY to you.
    happy CNY to Andrew Loh.

11. Help me PM Lee, I am on clutches. 28 January 2009

Did anyone see Lee Kuan Yew on the news lately? He looks like he is in bad shape. One good reason to rush into an election this year instead of waiting 3 years. My bet is that the election is on this year.

I think we should all give the government a clearer than 82/84 mandate as the current mandate is obviously not clear enough because bad decisions continue to be made.

12. Hi Balji,

Nice article. I agree with you that the budget lacks a feel-good factor. I think it’s mainly because (1) the minister was blunt in saying it won’t get us out of the current fix, but rather, it’ll lessen the impact. (2) there was less direct measures accorded to the people themselves (esp the jobless) to allow them to feel the huge sense of hope they were anxious to get in this time.

with regards to whether this is an election year, I too feel it’s not the time. The last thing we want now is parties slamming each other’s policies BUT nothing being done. For the majority of the average singaporean who’s more worried about bread and butter issues (and probably not reading articles online and bothering to post comments) I guess elections are not on the priority list either.

I think many of the comments here express a disappointment for the PAP. And they have express a desire for elections to get the PAP out? Yet I think that’ll worsen the situation. Say a new party gain control over the economic policies, but they’re unfamiliar with the civil service system; unfamiliar with ongoing discussions with foreign nations; unfamiliar with the tripartite systems, it’s not going to be very helpful is it. for a immediate plan to be drawn out to deal with the crisis.

13. Job Credits do not help the already unemployed.
    In the next few months, as more get retrenched, how will this Job Credit thingie help them?

Even if Job Credits are paid to employers, they can still retrench at their own will.

So, I see that those about to retrench this month may wait for 3 months, after taking the credits, and then choose to retrench if they want to.

why is budget spent like this? i wonder.

14. 1st, my definition of suitable jobs = degree holder jobs created for degree holder of the same specialisation.

Can suitable jobs be created, that should be the question.
    IF suitable jobs cannot be created, how can they switch line?
    Would employers hire degree holders to be toilet cleaners knowing they are doing it out of no choice and wont be happy working as a john cleaner?

Is it fair to say there are many toilet cleaner jobs why people still not taking up in this extraordinary crisis where white collar workers are being sacked?

IF suitable jobs can be created in the 1st place , there is no problem in the 1st place.

15. commoner 28 January 2009

If we simply look at the budget alone, it definitely does not look appetizing fo have election this year.

However, there is a $29mil set aside for Election Department this year’s budget. And if my memory serves me, I believe it was sufficient to run an election.

The financial crisis, well, the government is definitely NOT CONFIDENT that it will end this year, and to hve this drag out over 18-24 months or even 36 months, more detrimental to the governing party.

16. Gilbert Goh 28 January 2009

I differ from Balji on the plan to hold GE soon.

I believe once the govt annouces some form of benefits for the unemployed, they may take the opportunity toc all for election.

The situation will only get worse from now on till mid next year. Growth may also slow considerably for the next few years.

If the govt calls for election in tear 2011 things may still be in doldrums or just starting to imrpove. Many may have already experience some form of pain during these two years of recession.

I believe the health of MM also is a factor to call for election. PM LSL also looks very haggard lately. IS there sommething wrong with his health?

Election calls sooner can only allow the govt to seize the opportunity to give them the mandate to pull the country out of a hoddible recession.

I think if they call it later things may be uglier for the country.

They may do it after annoucning alot of sweeteners for the jobless. It is not surprising that the govt doesn’t include anything much for them now. They may want to do it before an election to entice people to vote.

17. You got to be joking if you expect the elections to see PAP being vote.

That will not happen any time soon.

Yet, we as ordinary oppressed Singaporeans can win by allowing more opposition members in.

That is doable and good for us as it wakes PAP up. Have you taken a look at time, they look really FAT?

No matter what the opposition members (those that ever gotten in), they have never lost as much money as the town council did. They just came across as clowns (due to be biasness of the media). So, I really see only good if we vote the opposition.

PAP will still rule but with a smaller majority and therefore less arrogence and less pay.

Those who fear that the opposite will take complete control over the parliament is wasting their energies.

That won’t happen in the near term.

What is more important is to fix PAP.

So many cock ups in one year (counting those that surfaced) and if we still let them have a nice win, we’ll be in for more shit in the future: minimum sum of 300K; retirement age at 80, inflation of 9%, bank relation managers running amok, GIC losing more money that ever (more than the 4 banks and SuZou Combined), 1million dollars price tag for a 4 room flat (we are already at 0.6 million for some places), 10 million salary for a minister in a year… the list goes on…

No kidding… who would have thought in 1995 that the minister’s salary could go up to 2 million ++?

Who would have thought that you cannot withdraw your CPF savings after 55?

Who would have thought that the interest rates in special account and medisave account would be reduced to 2.5% (even if you add in the 1% extra, you still get 3.5% max < 4%)?

Who would have thought that we could 600 millions to Lehman Brothers bonds and the Govt didn’t say a single word for more than 3 months?

Between the likes of WP and the current portfolios of PAP ministers, I chose WP.

18. singaporedaddy 28 January 2009

Good Afternoon,

“There you have it. A long and uncertain road ahead. And a government staring at the worst recession since independence.

This is just not the time for distractions like an election.”

Au contraire Balji – once again you have managed to demonstrate to all of us how your mind is able to precede understanding so completely that it has somehow left logic by the wayside; why does this not come as a surprise?

Tell me, have you ever considered the reverse possibility here? This may yet be the BEST time for a snap election?

What do you think really motivates people in such times Balji?

Yes, I know, that may well appear like a strategic question in the context of whether snap elections is in the cards; but it cannot; as will always remain a tactical question ONLY because men are moved by ONLY two levers in such uncertain times: FEAR and SELF-INTEREST – and here what you may have Balji; is the perfect conditions for the biggest landslide victory ever PAP history.

Trust me Balji; nothing gets people to the ballot boxes faster than flight to safety; and when they fear and think only about self interest – who do you think they will vote for?

Would they plumb for the safety of the familiar? Or do you think, they will go with amateur hour experimental team?

Have a nice day

SD (Internet Liaison officer of the brotherhood)

19. joe public 28 January 2009

SD has a good point. One of my passions is cars. Both me and wifey, were thinking of getting a continental this time round since our last Jap bone shaker was approaching the ROD.

I had a VW Golf in mind or maybe a Citreon. But with things being all so up in the air these days.

We decided to go for a PI Toyota Corolla instead. No suprises like heart attack 4 figure repair bills or long waits for spare parts.

Its safe. Very safe, but I admit, the dream still lives on!

Maybe one day when things get better. I will get myself a jaguar.

20. #19) joe public,

If I were you, I would let the car go and take public transport instead. Who knows, you might grow to like it so much that you will pinch yourself silly for not considering this option sooner.

No doubt, people would generally so for the secure path in bad times, but I think it will be good for us to consider, that this might be the best time to try something new. Who knows, we might discover something else that we like.

Question is, what have we got to lose? With the situation it is now, do you think this govt can ride us out for sure? Perhaps a little distraction might do them more good than the perceived harm.

21. Where Bill Clinton said: “It’s the economy, stupid”,
    I’d say: “It’s the demographics, stupid”.

The last Dragon year to qualify for voting eligibility starts on 17 Feb 1988. This baby bumper crop reaches voting age on their birthdays in 2009. If GE is called in early 2009, the PAP would effectively exclude the votes of these young ones who are more aware of their rights and hence less tolerant of PAP’s authoritarian ways.

Just as the young Americans energised their parents to vote for Obama in their “Yes We Can” belief, perhaps the PAP is playing on the “No We Can’t” fears and doubts of older Singaporeans who are more “kia-see”.

22. I think what Joe may be trying to say is when things are not very certain and secure. Most people like SD said will take cover by going for the devil they known even if it means, they are not 100% happy with the choice. At least it is the devil, they know. They will not feel comfortable with gambling on something new. I also agree with that. Recently, in my own company, where I happen to the purchasing officer. My bosses I notice choose to only deal with the vendors he knows or has always dealt with. The fear there is, if he approves a new vendor even one offering better quality and service, what happens if it goes down under? He may even lose his job for having made a bad business decision. I am not saying like SD people will not take risk, I am sure they will still have to. But I believe if they take it. They will do so in such a way whereby they will fail only conventionally and traditionally.

23. It’s plain dumb to have a GE now. Them White folks ain’t gonna start asking people to vote for them when everyone is just plain tired of the status quo. The economy will recover. It’s the natural cycle of boom and bust. Its worth remembering that even when they had the Great Depression, there were still periods of economic growth, just that it didn’t hit the highs before Black Monday. The general history showed that FDR was relected by a landslide in 1936 because the United States economy was indeed benefiting from his policies. In this day and age, it’s going to take much shorter time for the world economy to recover than it was back in the 1930′s. Them Whites will lie low, bide their time, do nothing stupid (like raising GST) and wait for the right moment to call it. After all, they got until Feb 2011, all the time in the world….

24. There is no denying that the majority will go for the known devil especially at a time like this.

We also hear our PM calling on us to be united and ride the storm out as one Big extended family. This is going to be the rallying call for the impending election for sure.

We have to remember the past few years, never forget, that we were never treated as family in good times. These people ran way ahead with our hard-earned money, squadered them, still not admitting it is their fault, blaming the global downturn for the mess and never once admitted that it is partly their own doing that we are now called to give them our continued support.

Worse of all is that they continue to be the deciding body on how we are to live our lives and how much help we are to be rendered, or none at all. This is rubbish! Utter rubbish!

Do you want to continue doing this and make a bigger devil out of them? I don’t think so. I would prefer to start with an unknown devil who might just turn out to be a knight in shining armour. We should consider this seriously because the PAP, in my opinion, has ran out of ideas and are living the laurels of past PAP regimes.

We need change and it cannot come at a better time than now when everything is going under.

25. Correct, if I am wrong, but what I think Dr Blaji is trying to say is now is not a very good time for GE as so much more needs to be delivered, jobs, better economy and all that. So he is saying when things are better then only there will be election.

Then you have people like the Liaison officer and Joe here who say, no. Things dont have to be better. They could just as well be worse to very bad and it will still be enough or as SD said the perfect conditions to win a GE hands down.

So there are two schools of thoughts here on the subject. Some more, I think what if things get worse? Then is it better to have GE before things get worse or pray that things get better then have GE?

Maybe when DR Blaji write this, he should also consider the otherside of the coin as well. This view he gives is the standard one. But elections is not so different from war. You can only win when you do the reverse and unexpected.

That way when you hantam the opposition all of them dont even know what hit them, it will be like pearl harbor, wake up looking foward to Sunday church and lunch then kaboooom!

26. Waz new abt this analysis?

Spin-off from Yawning Bread’s analysis, methinks.

27. Hokkien Platoon 28 January 2009

Tan Jiak is again asked to float a ballon…….

Leow be………..

Leow see kan……..

No minority race pm and no election soon……..from Tan Jiak

Then SM will say something, then PM will say something

Then another ballon will be floated……..

Floating ballons is easy way to tan jiak………when jobs are scarce…..

28. Goh Coke Thong 28 January 2009

I agree with #15 commoner .

If you watched CNA show where balji was host with an MP and a chinese fm person as guests, u would have heard from the lady mp that they have not seen the big retrenchment effect yet judging from the requests for assistance they received so far.

So, I think ‘You Ain’t Seen nothing yet’. The shockwave of the tsunami has yet to hit us big time. But almost certainly, in the near future, it will reach full impact.
    Thus, to me, it is wiser move to hold election asap this year rather than the next where the real impact would have been felt.

29. To A Tan 28 January 2009

26) A Tan on January 28th, 2009 4.26 pm
    “Waz new abt this analysis?

Spin-off from Yawning Bread’s analysis, methinks.”

Nothing new. Just like you have to eat, sleep, work (and sh**) everyday.

But still must rehash. That is life.

30. “That way when you hantam the opposition all of them dont even know what hit them, it will be like pearl harbor, wake up looking foward to Sunday church and lunch then kaboooom!”

And you should also consider another side also.

Perhaps it is not the opposition who got hantam and dont even know what hit them but it is the people themselves who got hantam and dont even know what hit them. They are so used to it and you are so much like what you are trying to describe.

31. either way is possible 28 January 2009

25) xyz on January 28th, 2009 4.03 pm
    Correct, if I am wrong, but what I think Dr Blaji is trying to say is now is not a very good time for GE as so much more needs to be delivered, jobs, better economy and all that. So he is saying when things are better then only there will be election.

Me : No matter who says GE not this year, the fact remains that
    GE may still be this year.

So, what does it mean? Your guess is as good as mine.

I strongly believe it will be this year before or on the june school hols.
    My take is that regardless if GE done now, tomorrow, 3 / 6 months later or next year or in 2011. It does not matter.

What could MATTER, imho, is that if tough policies need to be taken for this crisis, ‘they’, u-kno-who, would want to get a fresh mandaate. and then, ha ha ha…. what could be implemented?

i mean to do good good lor. what were you thinking?

32. Tukaki Waititi 28 January 2009

If election in the near term PAP will be swallowed up.

Very unpopular already.

People will ask you all genius all very high IQ I no stupid why you cannot do something for Singapore economy People starving and you pape do nothing the unemployed are not eating well and you do nothing.

They will vote and yes not for you EEElite pap. For opposition.

Now is good time for opposition.

Balaji no need to give your reasons. NO NEED FOR YOUR MENTAL GYMNASTIC THINKING.

We will vote the other way. -antieeelite.

33. Prego, to Tukaki Waititi 28 January 2009

high IQ goes something like this = in the old days in some faraway country, some people were highly rewarded with high position and title of scholar for bieng able to rememeber & recite (recite lah) long and complex poems, idioms or proverbs.

They just love to equate static information & knowledge with value creation.

34. do you understand we are singaporeans? 28 January 2009

31) Tukaki Waititi on January 28th, 2009 7.43 pm
    If election in the near term PAP will be swallowed up.

Very unpopular already.

………………………………………………………………

Its forgivable that people see so many comments online and they perceive this as a lot of unhappiness. It is quite true that unhappiness on the ground may translate into anti votes, the opposite is also possible. Case in point, the last GE.
    Remember the awesome turnout for WP rallies compared to theirs?
    Most of WP supporters were caught by surprise when they they never even won ANY GRC. Zero, as in zilch, as in nothing.

PERCEPTION, my friend, can be DECEPTION.
    1. what you see online is really those who are not Apathetic.
    2. these form a strong minority out of the 4.5 million population.

Proven times and Again, over and over again.

‘Unpopular’ does not mean majority feel so.
    ‘Unpopular’ does not mean anti vote.

In short, the outcome will remain the same.

35. Brinjor wonderland 28 January 2009

I like to know when, if at all, GST will rise higher than 7% ?

36. Brinjor wonderland 28 January 2009

31) Tukaki Waititi on January 28th, 2009 7.43 pm

Could i check with you, sir, your comments on the effect, if any, of the fact that so many are employed under the big UMBRELLA could have on the outcome even if it is held this year?

Remember there is the Job credit and spur. and looking at the news, i hear there are many cheering and clapping and applauding the budget well done.

37. Does the category singaporeans include PRs also. 28 January 2009

33) do you understand we are singaporeans? on January 28th, 2009 7.57 pm
    “2. these form a strong minority out of the 4.5 million population
    ‘Unpopular’ does not mean majority feel so.
    ‘Unpopular’ does not mean anti vote.”

Yes lah.
    So tell me why so many walkovers.
    So why MSM is so much controlled leh.
    So why cannot have more than 4 people to freely associate so as to galvanish the necessary supporting majority.

“Proven times and Again, over and over again.”

Just like they say. Financial institutions so well known and big, how to collapse leh.

Now a lot of countries will be in Davos trying to crack their heads in how to solve this once in your lifetime major crisis in their respective countries leh.

Just because some guy (or animal) has been breathing steadily (proven times and again, over and over again) since the day he was born does not mean that he will be around the next day, if you know what I mean.

38. Brinjor wonderland 28 January 2009

Allow me : ‘singaporeans’ do not include PRs, in my personal opinion without onions. PRs to me are FTs or dependents here on long term work permit.
    Anyone, feel free to correct or challenge me, if you so desire on the definition.
    I am kinda bored tonight. Single and available. Totally good guy and boy next door. loves animals and cares for the planet. can be outgoing at times and also can be shy at times, esp in front of chio boos.

39. smallvice585 28 January 2009

Snap elections have been called for some of these reasons: To get a new vote of confidence for a new leader, tackle a major threat like the 9/11 disaster or take advantage of a sweet ground. – PN Balji

What does these reasons actually mean?

1. To get a new vote of confidence for a new [PAP] leader
    - Remind Singaporeans that Loyal Opposition is not ready to be a government regardless of what state PAP is in.

2. Tackle a major threat like the 9/11 disaster
    - Remind Singaporeans that no Loyal Opposition has any experience in tackling major threats as a government

3. Take advantage of sweet ground
    - It is already a sweet ground with GRCs deeply rooted in place

40. aiyoyo

just need those ELITEs to really do something helpful + meaningful to

commoners to tide over this financial crisis & ensure daily life not so pressure,

things not so expensive, think can liao…

not sure on commoners’ view on the value add of those ELITEs???

aiyoyo

41. Dear “do you understand we are singaporeans?”

It is possible to have a win-win outcome:

PAP will win the election technically and the opposition have many more MP in the parliament.

Any vote cast against the PAP is a step closer to the above.

Be optimistic.

Mon

42. do you understand we are singaporeans? 29 January 2009

Being jobless for long term has made me feel more negative than ever.
    Nevertheless, not to worry because despite problems I have already made up my mind since 2 elections ago. ;)

This time will not be any different. My decision will never change as it has been carved in stone. Even an atomic bomb can not change my decision.

Cheers!

43. RED-man 29 January 2009

Like I mentioned in the other articles on election, this recession or rather depression will be here to stay. Now, assuming if PAP wait till 2011. I am afraid the situation is going to be worst. Sign of losing ground and cracks in their policies had shown and beginning to take shape.

By the end of this recession, they might have nothing left from their good karma in the past. Look at it this way, if you haven’t notice yet, a lot of so-called PAP solutions are problem stacking on top of each other. By 2011, these problems will be very much harder to be undone and most imporantly more people is going to see their truth strength. Stretching election to 2011 will only give opposition more time to build up their teams. By then, PAP will not only be facing with threat from within buy also the outside factors.

To me, 2011 election will be like digging their own grave.

44. RED-man 29 January 2009

The purposes of this articles I assume is to let lose the guard of the opposition to prepare for one this year. Like LHL said, they are keeping their fingers crossed to see if their budget will be able to give some comfort to the people. If so, as usual, they will be out full force to take the credits. So shall we see the coming of a election.

Let’s see how this budget goes.

Ah but is it “rehashing” for purpose? Red-Man and kingrant may have got it right.

46. SK Chan 29 January 2009

I don’t know if this scare tactic will work now.

I have youngsters in my company who are still partying away.

To them, financial crisis is whether to buy Gucci or Prado.

If elections were to be held early 2009, these people no scared scared.

But, oldies like me will definitely vote PAP out, if I CAN!

47. thinktalk 29 January 2009

The Government has come out with an innovative and creative package to try to solve this thing.The results are not known yet .If this package cannot solve the problem and new ways will take time then it would be a big risk holding it in three years time. If it’s held now at least the the trust that people have for this Government ( there is no credible party yet) to pull us through should enable it to get a new mandate.. I am sure the PAP will triumph again if elections is held now..the current recession is a big Bogeyman…but they must be prepared to lose a few seats..

48. Help me PM Lee, I am on clutches. 29 January 2009

Singapore does not have 5 more years for this government to waste; vote wisely in the coming snap election. Vote to save your country.

49. To A Tan 29 January 2009

“47) A Tan on January 29th, 2009 7.55 am #29

Ah but is it “rehashing” for purpose? Red-Man and kingrant may have got it right.”

Purpose ???? For some people who can find it and for you to find out lah, if you have still not found it.

50. Lightning Strikes Again 29 January 2009

Btw, what is A team? is it the same team with Wong on Mas Selamat, Lee BW on Table tennis boopers, Raymond Lim on ERPs, transport prices and small tweaks in taxi stands, Charles on lesser mortals, Teo on Town Council losses and the team that race us into a recession two quarters ahead of the rest of the world and came out with world class deficits?

It must be difficult to decide which GRC to place those guys. Please do not put them in the same team as our Health Minister (what’s his name) as I like the work he is doing and sure do not want to lose him in this snap election.