Jason Lee
Watch the video of President Nathan’s press conference at the Istana below.
An Elected President can do more to protect our interests – regardless of whether he is an executive or non-executive president.
I became worried when I first heard and read the excerpts of President S R Nathan’s February 17 press conference which was held primarily for him to explain his stand on the Government’s request to dip into past reserves.
“It’s for the Government in power to determine what needs to be done. I’m not an Executive President … it’s for them to find solutions to our nation’s problems and come up with proposals,” the President said.
The confession that he is not an Executive President cannot be faulted by anyone. That was made clear by then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong in August 1999 when he rebutted several points raised by the late President Ong Teng Cheong during his press conference on July 16, 1999.
Yet, would it be deemed unreasonable if we were to expect an elected President – whose annual salary in 2007 is reportedly more than $3 million – to work together with the Government to tackle the nation’s problems, instead of merely giving his nod to the request to draw $4.9 billion from the reserves to meet these challenges?
Giving his approval to draw the past reserves in view of the “urgency” is one thing. It is, however, a separate issue altogether whether the President had given his approval because he genuinely believes that the Government’s initiatives, such as the Jobs Credit Scheme, would indeed help to save a significant number of jobs.
In short, the key question on the President’s mind ought to be: Would such a move to dip into the reserves be a worthy one?
We have no inkling of how the President views such initiatives since he was reported to have reiterated during the press conference that he was “not here to judge whether these schemes would ultimately work” – although he added that he would have rejected “scatter-brained” proposals.
At the same time, it is certainly not comforting to note that the Finance Minister submitted a formal proposal to the President only on January 20 – in view of the fact that Budget Day was two days away. Was the Government highly confident that the President would certainly agree to their request? If so, why is that the case? What if the President needed more time to make his decision? What if the President decided against such a request at this point in time?
Many issues have arisen from the President’s press conference. On the surface, the press conference seemed to have answered critics who had wondered or questioned how the President’s approval was obtained.
Perhaps, our journalists are more than happy with such a story angle (on the events leading to the President’s approval). But should we not probe further – and ask the President how he sees his ‘non-executive’ role, which he has held for the past decade? Should we not ask him more about his understanding of the various schemes, and how supportive he is of these schemes? Not to forget asking how confident he is that these schemes would succeed. After all, why would he grant approval for the spending of public monies on initiatives which he may not believe in – not withstanding the fact that these initiatives came from the ‘Executive’ Government? Hence, did the President suggest measures to finetune some of these initiatives? The word is ‘suggest’ or ‘recommend’ – since he has no executive powers.
Constitutionally, the President is empowered with veto powers over the spending of national reserves and monetary policies as well as over the appointments of key positions in the Civil Service, government companies and statutory boards. Personally, it would be more reassuring if my President acts to provide more ‘value’ for ordinary Singaporeans like myself – by utilizing more of his ‘powers’, however limited these may be.
Almost 10 years ago, the late President Ong Teng Cheong did Singaporeans and the nation a great service with his revelation of a list of problems he had faced during his 6-year term.
Until today, I still hear critics claiming that Mr Ong had raised those issues probably because the Government did not support his re-election bid. What these critics however fail to acknowledge or accept was the fact that Mr Ong had tested several issues during his six-year term. One such instance came in early 1995, when President Ong referred a constitutional question to the Special Tribunal under the new Article 100 – wherein the Tribunal was asked to consider whether the President could veto a bill to amend Article 5 (2A) and Article 22H of the Constitution.
Let us also not forget how Mr Ong had pushed for the publication of the ‘White Paper on the Determination and Safeguarding of the Protection of the reserves of the government’ which was eventually tabled in Parliament in July 1999.
Why did President Ong initiate these actions, even though he was not an ‘executive’ President?
The answer, in my humble opinion, can be found in one of his campaign speeches when he ran for presidency in August 1993. He said: “My loyalty is first and foremost, to the people of Singapore. It has always been so, and will always remain so.”
I was too young to vote in the 1993 Presidential Election, and of course, I had no opportunity to cast my ballot in the 1999 and 2005 elections. I am also pretty confident that I would not have the ‘opportunity’ to cast my ballot for my ‘desired’ president in the 2011 presidential election – which is just 30 months away.
Not because of the high possibility it could be another walkover, but more because of my personal philosophy that unless I am convinced the candidate possesses some of the late Mr Ong’s traits, I would rather cast a void vote.
Simply because I believe an ELECTED President can do more to protect our interests – regardless of whether he is an executive or non-executive president.
And oh, by the way, do any of our journalists even remember the ‘White Paper on the Determination and Safeguarding of the Protection of the Reserves of the Government’ that was tabled 10 years ago? Has it become a White Elephant instead?
Visit also: http://www.ongtengcheong.com/
———
Video of President Nathan’s press conference:
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

in good times…u can smile and carry as many babies as u want…cut thousands of ribbons for all we care…we can still bear with the frivolous air head activities of yours. However, during this difficult period….we finally get to see an ostrich!
a puppet in his 80s. sigh…
19/2/09
This unlocking of our Reserves to combat our most severe recession is honourable and in the interests of our Singapore to turn around. Singapore is not the only nation which is doing this, our neighbours up north is doing likewise but they did not announce publicly and their GLCs performed far worse,billions of the nation’s reserves had gone into very unproductive activites especially since the implementation of their New Economic Policy which has been benefiting a certain elite group and not the whole Malay/Bumi race.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
19/2/09
The late Ong Teng Cheong, was right in saying his loyalty was to the people of Singapore and we as Singaporean must be loyal to Singapore, the nation and must put our Singapore above all things.
The Global Financial Crisis has hit Singapore very hard and the Government has to put its hands to take from the nation’s reserves, besides both Temasek and GLC have suffered huge losses. Let us give the government a break for the benefit of our nation Singapore and see whether they can pull Singapore out of the severe recession and if they fail, come next General Election, let us use our voting rights and vote as many PAP MPs regardsless of they are of high calibre, blue chips and top guns, out and put in as many low calibre, quarter baked or even one eighth baked into Parliament and give them hell if the Singapore Opposition is unable to put candidates who are equal or better than those PAP candidates……fair.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
In times like this, why are we still paying him millions while he could do nothing?!!
can someone pls enlighten me, why the gov need our president approval to unlock 5 bil from our reserve when they are loosing more than 10-20 times that amt in a yr??? where is the logic ..??
when they can loose 40% over a yr, there is a likely chance that they could loose 90% of our money, where is the control??
and lastly, pls define “reserve”? is it our cpf money or past surplus??
where does our cpf money goes to? temasek or gic or the “reserve”??
by keeping our $100k when we reached 55 and multiply it by say just 2mil ppl, they actually has $200 bil available for them to “invest”.. who is having our this amt of money? and who is safe guarding our this money? and how much of it has they lost??
Don’t blame the old man President Nathan. He got no choice but to accept the position and pay. Who wouldn’t if he is offered $4.2M just to cut ribbons? You would too, right?
@ #13 SZ on February 18th, 2009 12.03 pm (and also #15 Siam bee hoon)
“and it may be possible to get it done in such a short period, if the get a huge amount of people to work on it…56 man years is by 1 person done in 56 years…so if they put a very large group of people, and it is really large, then i dun see why not”
Yet the issue is not whether they have 1 person spending 56 years, or 56 person spending one year, or even 112 people spending half a year… The issue is, as pointed out in the following except of an interview of Mr Ong (and covered by AsiaWeek and sites such as CNN):
—
Q) So the government had been stonewalling you, the president, for three years?
A) Yes. What happened actually was, as you know, in accounting, when you talk about reserves, it’s either cash reserves or assets reserves. The cash side is straightforward: investment, how many million dollars here and there, how much comes from the investment boards and so on. That was straightforward — but still we had to ask for it. For the assets, like properties and so on, normally you say it’s worth $30 million or $100 million or whatever. But they said it would take 56-man years to produce a dollar-and-cents value of the immovable assets. So I discussed this with the accountant-general and the auditor-general and we came to a compromise. The government would not need to give me the dollar-and-cents value, just give me a listing of all the properties that the government owns.
Q) They agreed?
A) Well, yes, they agreed, but they said there’s not the time for it. It took them a few months to produce the list. But even when they gave me the list, it was not complete.
—
The point was that when it was Mr Ong, who by then had shown that his allegiance is to the people and not the party, the govt were not cooperative with him, even though it fell within his jurisdiction and powers. As can be observed, following his stepping down, they actually went on to change those powers and rights.
(And I believe every word he says, because if history tells us anything, if he had lied about what happened, he would have had the pants sued off him. Obvious cases aside, hasn’t it been widely known that someone prominent had said that if a remark is untrue, he will to go all out to prove it in a court of law?)
Yet, now that President Nathan is in power, he’s getting all the help he can, getting enough information in just 11 days. This is because what he wants IS in line with the government. If he had asked for the information without the government first wanting it to happen, I pretty much doubt his situation will be any much different from Mr Ong.
It pretty much defeats the whole purpose of having a President as Check and Balance in the first place. THAT, my friend, is the point.
Andrew Chuah (#53),
Why must you compare political leadership associated to the People’s Action Party to worse examples? It is very insulting and heart-cinching to read stuff like yours.
As I watch the video ….I shake my head ….I shake my head ….
that’s gonna another reason for a freak result…since the rubberstamp president is immune, pple will take it out on the underlings like Ah Seng
My goodness, it seems that the president was actually reading out those scripts which were being prepared by who we all know. His action don’t even seems to know what the contents were, just blah blah blah!
Singaporeans be prepared for the worst to come should the pap govt continues to rule the nation, we are finished.
19/2/09
Hi SmallVice585-good to hear from you and this is our real world (look at Malaysia now and I need not have to elaborate in details an d we too can have the same scenario in our Singapore Parliament.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
Frankly we should have a NO FRILLS govt and president, this will allow taxpayers to save money.
I wonder does our President know how much money our reserves have to begin with ?? Does anyone know?
Why is our president not having a board of enquiry to investigate how Singapore INC lost its money and did it lose that money in actual fact ?
Reminds me of the town councils…….SINKING funds……. indeed sinking
#BlindMan
the present president is just a robot, just look at the video how he conduct the conference with the reporters. He is just reading out those pre-written scripts and seems that he is kind of “afraid” or very cautious and uncomfortable expression on his face. Waste no time in asking those questions that HE IS NOT ALLOWED TO GIVE THE ANSWERS less he face the same fate as our late OTC. What the pap govt had done to the nation by now, most of the citizens and folks already woken up with anger but what can they do? to topple the present regime? how? we all with our naive and apathy nature has today brought us into this sad state, all because we choose to trust these bandits, all because we are happy just to receive some freebies thrown to us which is just a tiny fraction compared to those $100billion+++ they’ve lost or whatever??? because we allow them. Not unless there be external intervention, the fate of singaporeans now would just be as good as confirmed modern time slaves, and also stupid ones too!
SZ (#48),
Clarification: I am not Smallvoice585. It is not a typo too.
Smallvoice585 is right to point out that there is no renewal in our political leadership. Renewal is not just about who is taking over, but also a re-evaluation of the values and the strategic direction the political leadership is taking the electorate and the country to.
Andrew Chuah (#64),
The political situation in Singapore leaves citizens with 3 choices:
1. Active citizenry
2. Emigrate before PAP squanders all of Singapore’s fortunes
3. Banish to cheaper countries for retirement when one can no longer contribute to the economy.
It is no longer the case of stayer against quitters but self-preservation.
The Government Gazette has revealed that changes have been made to polling districts. Such changes are part of the steps that need to be taken ahead of a General Election. (Straits Times)
TOO LATE NOW! the papees govt has already made their final arrangement to call for an early snap election in days to come. If the 2 present opp parties cannot get their new members ready in time, maybe Potong Pasir will be gone too, all they have to do is just telling the people there that CST is not going to last much longer and there will be no successor and pap will automatically take over. Call it dirty game, but this is Singapore PAP way of politicing. No choice, before the old man kicks the bucket (which would not be long), he will at all means grab this last straw of opportunity he has, to do whatever he could to keep all the power and money to his family members.
Please go check out LKY’s letter of condolences when OTC passed away, and compare it against what GCT, SRN and the NTUC had written.
Only one word to describe LKY: A DAMN “GRACIOUS” MAN
KOPITIAM TALK…….do we need so many Ministers? Assist PM?
So high pay……..singapore such small place……..need so many??
It’s just like a csmall cake…..cut into so many pieces..then so many BIG fork…poke poke here & poke poke there…..by the time over……what we have??? A empty plate.
Created so many new posts……it’s funny how they spend our money.
70) dweller on February 19th, 2009 11.28 pm
Created so many new posts……it’s funny how they spend our money.
Its not funny at all, its all about serious money business! those billions belonging to the people of singapore.
20/2/09
Hi Smallvice585-Perhaps, come next General Election, we vote in as many Opposition MPs regards whether they are Blue Chips, Top Guns, Morons, Half-Quarter Baked, and Low Calibre and Low Morale like those in Malaysia…….and we sit and watch.
Regards
Andrew Chuah
What ‘s the difference ? Can the opposition or alternative MPs perform worse ?
we already have the biggest moron who is suppose to represent workers’ interest, and a overwhelming majority of stooges who seem incapable of speaking for the people ……no brainer who these MPs are.
and the best part is all these stooges have maintained their silence on the father, son and daughter-in-law screwing up big time with our reserves
that even Hitler has risen from his grave to express outrage.
During dinner yesterday in Nanjing, I was asking about 岳飞 of the later Song period. 北宋末年,深受民族压迫的汉族、契丹族、渤海、奚等各族人民,“仇怨金国,深入骨髓”,纷纷自动组织起来反抗。The Hans were persecuted by the minority tribes and they were deeply sore with hatred. All his life, he was fighting for a single cause 精忠报国 – to serve his country with single-minded dedication and to unify his country. 收复故土,统一祖国的强烈愿望和要求。
He was willing to lay his life down for his country much to the admiration of the latter generations – not what he did then because he defied the emperor’s edict to return from the battleground and insisted on fighting the enemy pushing them near defeat. Many distanced themselves from this apparently recacitrant general and some called for his execution because of his defiant. 诏书下了三次,岳飞都加以拒绝,不受开府仪同三司(一品官衔)的爵赏和三千五百户食邑的封赐。他在辞谢中,痛切地表示反对议和:“今日之事,可危而不可安,可忧而不可贺。”并再次表示收复中原的决心,“愿定谋于全胜,期收地于两河,唾手燕云,终欲复仇而报国。”这无异于给宋高宗当头泼了冷水,从而更使赵构、秦桧怀恨在心。“但岳飞不顾个人得失,坚持抗战到底的立场,率领军队,联络北方义军,卓有成效地从事抗金战争,筹划收复中原、统一祖国,成为全国抗金民族战争中的有力支柱。
President Ong’s words: “My loyalty is first and foremost, to the people of Singapore. It has always been so, and will always remain so.” warms my heart and he’ll be judged on his merits, contributions, dedications and loyalty to Singapore. Many of us, I believe, share my sentiments.
So dipping into our reserve at this juncture all worth it ? I am critical but I like to share my thoughts on this. President Nathan approved it, the Cabinet passed it. I am critical and I think many of us are waiting to see what this $4.5 billion can do.
I admit that the Budget is skewed with a $4.5 billion for Jobs Credit. Before taking time to read Sylvia’s parliamentary delivery, I was contemplating the same job loss insurance pegged on PMETs or those who lost job due to retrenchment. The rules can be transparent pegged on their 3 years average of IRAS submission. The insurance can give x% of their last drawn capped at $y. However, this answer only one part of the left side of the equation. It puts money in the hands of the retrenched;what about the right side of the equation where we need to get a job for the retrenched or discouraging employers to retrench? If it does none of the right side, then the left side can only spur consumption without corresponding job gain,skill up-skilling or discouragement from retrenchment. We know in MPS that those in needs have few requests – mortgage deferment (doable), utility assistance (doable),childrens’ education (doable, limited to 6 months, expendable if necessary), town council conservancy (doable,with discretionary cut). Helps can be focused on these variables. Targeted.
The Job Credits is a front-loaded, supply side initiative for the companies only. Benefits to the rest of Singaporeans are indirect. This must be agreed somehow.
It is about saving jobs because that is the main plank and if that is the case, it is like saying we are trying to save jobs with this Jobs Credit and we should go to any extent where we can afford to save jobs and any jobs- notwithstanding it may cost $90,000 to save 50,000 jobs.
No argument that this $4.5 billion can be seen as a liquidity injection into the economy, point is that can we at least get some of that – targeted help- to individual Singaporeans. There may be a rainfall but it is only in CBD. Rest of Singapore is as dry as ever.
Tharman subsequently closed in on the discussion in Parliament. Tharman has made a point that the reason for Jobs Credit is broad based and easier to managed as it does not need any trigger.
I accept that, the quantum of injection and liquidity injections into the Singapore larger economic system are good. Injection means it can be done at any points and I believe in this case the Jobs Credit scheme will mean the injection is done to benefits all companies in Singapore. We hope the doses and point of injections will not take effect and have the needed multiplier effect to save jobs and at the same time spur consumption. Let’s see.
In times, I think the government may give off-Budget measures more targeted at individual levels.
End day, it must be for the people – across board who are affected by this sharp downturn. I believe more help can be rendered and more can be done. Any policy for must be about loving Singapore and walking the journey as one people.
精忠报国的精神, 以民同行。
73) $ multi million loyalty on February 21st, 2009 10.30 am What ’s the difference ? Can the opposition or alternative MPs perform worse ?
Its not about whether the opp or alternative MPs can perform better, its all about the present bunch of papees MPs are so scared of others who can out performed them, so they will lose their $million salaries. Its all about money and nothing else here in our present govt.
@ 74} David Leong,
I have yet to hear the PM, SM and MM making this pledge together
with all their PAP MPs ……
“My loyalty is first and foremost to the people of Singapore.”
And may I add…. “without fear or favour to any political party.”
His black sour face expression showed he was thinking:
Bloody hell, if I probe the govt with questions, they are not happy.
If I don’t probe, the people get angry with me.
Wah, $3 million salary not easy to earn man! Pai Tan!
So we should support Mr Tan Kin Lian to run for President?
Losing our hard earned reserves.
To ease your frustrations, view: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTDXosoa3jg
Have a good laugh!
“He was willing to lay his life down for his country much to the admiration of the latter generations – not what he did then because he defied the emperor’s edict to return from the battleground and insisted on fighting the enemy pushing them near defeat. Many distanced themselves from this apparently recacitrant general and some called for his execution because of his defiant.”
Unfortunately and until today, they still do not have a right system to protect and progress their culture & people as a whole. While the lesser mortal people are willing, the emperor’s edict is final. It is a multi-generational cycle which keeps on feeding itself. Imagine giving tainted milk to your own kind, your own future.
I love the story about 岳飞 because of his loyalty of the highest degree. However, his loyalty only resulted in his own dismissal. And we have a funny culture of not wanting to call a spade a spade when dealing with emperor or mini-emperor or for any matter anyone related to the emperor.
You may just be a piece of decorative linen trying to cover a basketful of rotten eggs.
we should not badmouth our president!