Based on merit, she is without doubt a talent.

Today, on Ho Ching

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Tags: ,

35 Responses to “A “talent””

1. notalone 7 February 2009

Performance at S.T. or Temasek?
    Probably Chairman Dhanabalan refers to her school days and Defence Science days.

2. Let’s not focus on the one that is leaving…. enough has been said,
    do check out the incoming…

http://gasweek.wordpress.com/2007/10/02/outgoing-bhp-billiton-chief-chip-goodyear-banks-salary-package-worth-a89m-company-profits-at-a15bn/

Singapore Pays….

3. Columbine Concu 7 February 2009

Ya, sure a super talent.
    Just look at her TRACK Record.
    Super!

4. Chu Chu Train 7 February 2009

Err, what sort of talent?

My family says I’m without doubt, a talent at spending on unnecessary things…

5. Based on merit, she is without doubt a talent… on screwing up.

Actually, that is not difficult. It is not screwing up that is difficult.

Her biggest mistake is not messing around with investments, I assure you. Because Tony tan screwed up as well and he didn’t get the boot.

IT is because she started publishing Temask’s investments performance.

So, her failure is exposed publicly.

Else, LKY will sure cover her.

GIC was secretive so, nobody got canned.

Just let you have an idea of the amount of sh*t hiding in our pension fund accounts…

Scary eh?

6. blackfeline 7 February 2009

someone pls pass me e dustbin!

7. The original piece is quite pointless and just sings praises without any actual substance. It is obviously an article for the sake of the article and is, in fact, poorly stringed together and even abrupt.

I laughed at this part though and felt that it might be a flattering way of saying ‘kena condemned’.

On the other hand, Ms Ho may, of course, not have a taste for politics. But her options in the corporate world seem more “limited” by virtue of how far up the ladder she has climbed.

Joining any other company here would be a step-down for her.

In any case, going into politics should never be a ‘career choice’ as the article seems to callously suggest and should be instead a deep and intense calling. What sort of grassroots work has this person done; how many lives (outside of the elite community) has she touched? As usual, the wrong values and characteristics are being considered as a determinant of ‘talent’.

Furthermore, the logic of her 6 years at the helm being a ‘proven track record’ is akin to suggesting that a child who is allowed to hold on to the steering wheel for a few moments whilst on the lap of the driver, deemed to be evidence that the child is a ‘talented driver’.

Honestly, I’m quite embarassed for the Deputy Business Editor who (was forced?) penned this article.

8. notalone 7 February 2009

The word ‘TALENT’ has been misused by many top people in this world, more often than not, you will hear something like “…it is difficult to fulfill your expectations, you know,,it’s not any easy job, we are lack of talents.. “.

My stance is .. they are paid and in the position to resolve the situation, and not throwing the ball back to the people who appointed them. So people, do not waste time on those whom always blame everywhere but themselves.

Sorry, the above may not be related in this HO CHING case. But i must say, my foot… is also a talent in its own.

9. 5) mon on February 7th, 2009 5.18 pm Based on merit, she is without doubt a talent… on screwing up.

Actually, that is not difficult. It is not screwing up that is difficult.

Her biggest mistake is not messing around with investments, I assure you. Because Tony tan screwed up as well and he didn’t get the boot

To mon GIC stop adding Billions when original investment was losing value fast, But Temasek continue to add more Banking Stocks From India to China to UK and the biggest mistake US Banking averaging ML stock adding more investment.
    Now all deep red

Now we how ML CEO spent bailout money. By giving out bonuses 3 days before BoA take charge and renovating his Office with expensive furniture and fittings (Remind me of Singapore’s own – The NKF Saga)

10. I wonder at the selection process. If I were the hiring manager, I would ask Mr Goodyear how his experience at a mining company has qualified him to run a sovereign wealth fund. But not being a government scholar, so I guess that would be the wrong question to ask. I just hope this is not yet another poor decision from the top of Temasek, after a string of poor decisions.

Conspiracy theorists, any theories about this appointment?

11. Goodyear has a Wharton MBA and worked in Wall Street as a banker on M&A. I’m sure he is better qualified than Mr Ho Ching. And after so much screw up by Ho, we badly need a truly talented person.

I looked forward to the day Goodyear starts exposing all the behind-the-screen exclusive on Temasek. I really hope he does but we probably won’t see that until he is near his death bed.

Back to the topic.. “based on merit” eh.. what merit ah? I only know the track record losses she made. This goes to proves the lies about how one family is super duper talent that they are the best and only choice to run Singapore.

Time to boot out the son too; but I think this will come only after old man dies.

Bunch of overpaid ministers.

12. *Dustin prepared*

Talent? I am sure she is talented, i mean you need some sort of talent to make loses right?

*dustbin filled*

13. blackfeline 7 February 2009

WeC is that a typo error “Mr Ho Ching” or a Freudian slip? But u must give it to her …it’s was a herculean task!

14. Tew N S 7 February 2009

Look at Shin Corp, micropolis, ABC investment in Australia, ML CITI and others investment in USA banking, now you know why she bows out and washes hand completely. Talking about talent, you can label it to any one who joins Pap. For oppositions you can label them untalented, and a bunch of fools. That is the reality.

15. More fedup 8 February 2009

Agree. Ho Ching is the one of the greatest talent I ever known. It takes unprecedent talent to screw up big time and still get away with it totally. If this is not talent then I don’t know what it is. But she is not greatest yet. The greatest talent is the one who manipulate every element at play and still get away with it without anyone even casting suspicion on.

Anyway, when I read the comment, I really wonder if Singaporean is really so naive and gullible. Do you think Ho Ching is the one responsible totally or even responsible? Is she the key decision maker ? Think again. Is she really the mastermind behind all the pathetic investment ? Did we forget the ultimate one who still call the shot ? Isn’t there’s one the senior advisor to citigroup ? Who are the one who utimately defend the investment , did anyone recall the YOutube video ? Did you see Ho Ching aggressively defend the investment ? Who get interview and call the Singaporean to shut the fart up over the lousy investment ? Aren’t PM and his wife just look like obedient kids ? Who teach the coffers to sue and sue opp party until their pant drop ?
    All the gahmen and relative fear him, and how can then people not consult the him in serious business ? Aren’t gahmen conservative and risk-averse, kiasi and kiasu except for the one ?

Who is the shrewd and cunning person who manipulate and put the blame on the people who just execute his command ? Didn’t we read enough of the political history of Singapore to know who this great person is ?

Your answer is just as good as mine. Can Singaporean still even able to distinguish between mastermind and scapegoat ?

16. The Final Analysis. 8 February 2009

In the final analysis, Ho Ching, for what she is worth, is still a pawn like anyone of us, in the overall game of the grandmaster of strategy.

Though I may not like her for losing a lot of our money but I still have empathy for her.

17. flyingdagger 8 February 2009

I think there might be a typo in the statement… marriage instead of merit… :D

18. A talent in making huge disasterous losses.

19. To MoreFedup,

I don’t think all Singaporeans are gullible and naive. Some actually believe the bullshit that they’re fed. Some of them believe that LKY is God. That’s why Singapore is uniquely Singapore.

20. Of late, the PAP concept of talent is; the more money you lose, the more talented you are. !st and 2nd generation make money, 3rd generation squander. History does not even speak of a 4th generation.

Seems like HC is being prepared for 4th generation PAP rule. Singaporeans will be stupid to rewrite history. We’ll surely be doomed!

21. theimmortals 8 February 2009

according to comment #15

there is probably only ONE talent among us that matters. lol.

22. Chen Shui Tian 8 February 2009

Such a Talent, such a loss to the country.
    Why not give her a big big post in GIC huh? I am sure she could bring singapore to greater heights if put in GIC? Her Track record is astounding! Shocking! great!
    huh? any better suitable positions for such a rare talent who I suppose sacrificed so much for the country?

23. Chen Shui Tian 8 February 2009

By the by, the one who said the above quote
    is none other than our highly respectable , unbiased and trustworthy news person called

CHRISTIE LOH,
    Deputy Business EDITOR

TODAY must be so credible having talents like this. So many read TODAY.
    There must be good effect.

Kudos to Christie!
    I hope you keep up the good work and get promoted soon.

24. ialsowantobecomemp 8 February 2009

without a doubt
    she do have talent
    who else can pyscoed the mental1 into lossin billion$
    and not get fired?
    capt ryan goh just tried to pyscoed the mental1 for a little bit more salaries
    for his fello colleagues who helped ferried mrs harryLEE into singapore in a flyin ambulance
    and endup gettin FIRED/DEPORTED as well

25. ErniesUrn 8 February 2009

NEPOTISM …is not a long term investment.

26. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HC talented ?????- My foot!!!!!!!!!!!
    If any of us with a reasonably good mind be given the CEO job, we could perform just as well if not better. HC simply knows that it is a matter of time Singaporeans will find out that our kitty is EMPTY!!!!!!!!!!! So better wash her hands now. You aint see nothing yet! We will be in for a bitter surprise to see Temasek and GIC books. The opposition MPs should challenge them to open their books for public scrutiny. It is after all Singaporeans’ hard earned money!!!!!!

27. Wikipedia 8 February 2009

I think the timing of her exit from Temasek in October suggests that the next (snap) GE will be held just after her departure so that she can become first an MP, and then take over as PM from LHL whose health is unfortunately not excellent.

28. Rogers Buffet 8 February 2009

So this “talent” is leaving without any regret.
    Do you know all Singaporean regret that you “entered”?
    What were you thinking—putting 40% of our sweat money into financial services.
    Have you not heard of the most basic tenet of investment—DIVERESIFY.?
    Did you invest with your EYES WIDE OPEN like the MINIBOND investor?
    When BUFFET and ROGERS said that they would not touch crumbling investment banks with a ten foot pole then–did you listen?
    DId being voted top most powerful whatever by a certain mag –make you think that you can stop a crumbling mountain?
    Remember “It is only when the tide goes out , that we know who is swimming naked”–SAGE OF OMAHA
    What is left in the kitty?

29. Haha What a joke!

30. A new investment theory has been conjured by research and reality thank to the Pappy. It is a very important theory that set to become a business rule after more than 40years of observation.

So here’s the rule of international investment:
    Avoid investing in whatever international company that Pappy invests in at all cost because it is cursed and jinxed. Only invest in Singapore GLC company because Pappy will protect it and make it profitable at all cost in the midst of screwing the chicken.

31. Someone said, “Goodyear has a Wharton MBA and worked in Wall Street as a banker on M&A. I’m sure he is better qualified than Mr Ho Ching. And after so much screw up by Ho, we badly need a truly talented person.”

Had the decision already been made for Lee Kuan Yew by the U.S., with the result that the CIA’s boy, Charles Goodyear IV will be in control of Temasek?

Singapore and Lee Kuan Yew may well be “owned” by America, making the city-state something of a 51st state, but without the benefits.

Does anyone wonder why Ho Ching bought the Merrill Lynch shares, just BEFORE Merrill tanked? The entire financial world knew that Merrill was going under. Certainly Ho Ching knew.

Does everyone believe that Ho Ching is totally daft? Or that she is working and thinking on her own with Tamasek’s investments of billions of dollars?

Ho Ching’s bad investments through Temasek, may well have been forced by the U.S., as Singapore’s contribution to the bailout of America – and more bailout money is still needed, Singapore.

Is it “Welcome to Singapore, CIA?”

32. Ah Nepo 8 February 2009

Hello!
    I read through all the 31 comments above and come to a strong conclusion:

This TOC blog is indeed unbiased as both sides of views are posted and allowed.

There is no more doubt, TOC is the most neutral blog in town.

Well Done!

33. Ya i was surprised that Temesak poured in more moeny for Citi, ML and BOA when things are already lloking very adverse on the ground alst year.

It is like pouring money into a black hole and they all sucked it up and later declared themselves bankrupt.

Same for ABC Leaning in Australia as signs are very clear that ABC is expanding too fast and losing money. Top analysts all gave the clear out sign on their recommendation but yet I saw Tamesak pouring in $500 million into ABC at the toppest share price of all time.

Two months later, ABC delcared themselves insolvent and is now under receivership. I am afraid Temasek lost their pants or skirts in thsiscase. Half a billion dollars of our hard earned money all gone down the drain for no reason at all.

I also haerd that HC did not really manage but gave permission to Head of Regional Fund to invest as they saw fit after putting up the normal satts reporting.

With not a good checking system, many simply invested as if there is no tomorrow.

Maybe we have too much money and dont know where to put it. We ended up putting good money into bad money.

34. Gilbert Goh ,
    they make decision in ivory tower that is not based on ground and sentiment. The rationale reason they always quote for investing even though the condition already so bleak good is based on value for money and commerical interest. Which means that it is driven nothing but GREED. Only GREED can make such a stupid and irrational investment that seems more like losing gambling. Just like in gambling, they think of winning more to the point of staking higher and higher with which win and loss.
    Those clowns think that they can beat the market and upturn the downturn, they forget that the world is not Singapore, a playground for the gahmen.

What is even more amazing is that they are gambling without their stake, they are gambling with the taxmoney and reserve and lose big time. No where did I heard that a country investment half of reserve on gambling deliberately and lost big time.

35. smallvice585 10 February 2009

I am surprised the article is written by the Deputy Business Editor and not a senior political correspondent. Isn’t she supposed to be running for Presidency? LOL…