Excerpts from Today, “Chiam’s still standing”:
IF POLITICS could be likened to a game of chess, this grand old man of Opposition politics readily concedes that he is still a novice at disguising his next moves.
Which is why Potong Pasir MP Chiam See Tong, 73, is making extra efforts to conceal the details of what he hopes would be a fitting finale to his eventful political career — even as he declared that he already has a team in place to contest for a Group Representation Constituency (GRC) in the next General Election, due by February 2012.
During a 90-minute chat over coffee at the Botanic Gardens with Weekend Xtra recently, Mr Chiam gave precious little information away, albeit with constant reminders from his wife Lina.
Said Mr Chiam: “I’ve learnt my lesson in the 1979 by-election. I was afraid of a three-cornered fight so I made the announcement that I was going to contest in Potong Pasir. And you know who they put there? Howe Yoon Chong (the late former minister), the strongest candidate they had.”
“I already have a team. We have one doctor, one accountant, two lawyers,” he continued before Mrs Chiam interjected: “We cannot reveal everything.”
Read the full article on Today.
Also:
A politician who hates politics (Today).
Chiam to Loh Chee Kong: Stop publication (SDP)
TODAY wants to know SDP’s response to Chiam’s criticisms (SDP)
———-
———-
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Please come to Bishan-Toa Payoh….
come sembawang, i hate the one who export our old folks.
Ya pls go to Bishan-Toa Payoh and oust two ministers namely Wong kan seng & Ng eng hian because their performance are below expectations. They always blame external economy for the recession, and like this anybody also can become minister, some more pay so high , million dollar, I hope Mr Chiam can win one GRC with the doctor, lawyers and accountant candidates. This is to teach Pap a lesson because Pap is too aggrogant, let them lose 2 GRC and they will wake up.!!
PLEASE PRAY FOR THESE PEOPLE
I am not qualified to comment on the above matter. But I do hope to write again a letter to Dr Chee Soon Juan. Those who care for him should join me to commit him and his family to God and to pray for God’s blessings and guidance for them.
I do this daily for Dr Chee and his loved ones as I do for Dr Lee Wei Ling, MM Lee’s dear daughter. She had disclosed to us in the ST that she was very sick. From her outspokenness, her soft spot for the underdogs; for those struggling in life; and from the issues she involved herself in, and the letters she had written to the ST, we can see that she is a woman with a heart of gold.
So please pray for her good health, happiness, long life and strength to be able to continue helping and encouraging the poor and suffering people who come under her tender care. I will be heartbroken if her life is cut short as she is still so young and able to help others make for us a more caring Singapore.
Yah, in order for the opposition to have a fair chance, they should come up with a credible team/members. Doctors, Accountants and Lawyers will make the mark (ps: as long as they say anything disappointing to discredit themselves). Cheers :)
Rise with the tide, but the tide can only bring one so far.
I think Chiam is still missing the point after the Dr Chee…
An era is an era for the heroes of the era…
Lawyers, accountant, doctor… Chiam have not learned the lesson yet.
The people are already getting tired of useless… lawyers, accountants, doctors, plus the whole slew of corrupted CEOs, dirty managers, immoral jerks… Obama is smart enough to condemn those CEOs, the oppositions must discover the real trend.
But the tide will take them to a certain point, provided the party allows that.
As I have always said… it’s almost always that the incumbent surrenders power, and seldom that the oppositions become too wonderful to take over.
Chiam… he never learns. People do not swarm Hong Lim Park because Tan Kin Lian was what successful CEO. It’s because of their own interests that they need a ‘leader’ who will help. Even if he may already be a retiree.
Anyway… doesn’t matter.
If one doesn’t know how to govern, the coming era will not belongs to him/her. Forget about the traditional norm in politics, because a new world is before us. Which is why a new world, hence the need for reform for PAP and the need to change as a relatively tiny entity as the oppositions.
If so tiny, and yet cannot keep up with change… the oppositions will have no future.
#4) Oh Tham Eng on February 28th, 2009 11.54 am
“PLEASE PRAY FOR THESE PEOPLE”
…………………………………………………………..
I believe we must also pray for SIN. Pray for the future survival of Singapore. Can LKY live for another 100 years to ensure Singapore remains prosperous and corruption-free? Don’t mention about political freedom and human rights.
History has shown that one-party authoritative states could not survive for long and would end up in ruins. Pray hard for SIN.
Pray!
Oh Yes! Pray hard, pray that no more educated rascals will prey on their fellow citizens to enrich themselves. Pray that education inculcate senses of consciences and proprieties into those so-called talents.
Talents have led us to the living hell where we are now and yet there are people hoping for the Greatest Talent to live for another 100 years. No one should ever wishes so unless the deeper end of Hell is the Destiny, do Singaporeans deserve to be there?
Ms Lee Wei Ling is sick, many other Singaporeans are worse than her, many are sick looking at the faces of their leaders and yet others are sick of listening to their preachings.
Sorry to say this, but those who think that educated people make good leaders, think again because clever and cunning man(kind) makes the World a dangerous place. Respectable and honourable men are what we need in leadership and not just professionals with academic qualifications.
Though living maybe tough, Singaporeans remains the luckiest people on Earth, there are no political murders, we are given yearly handouts, our leaders do not splurge; anyone sees any leaders living a material life? I got the impression that our leaders work much harder than the citizens and have little or no time for their families and themselves. It is sacrifices that no ordinary man can volunteer, they deserve to go Heaven. And yes! Please pray that they do!!!
I hope Chiam, before he finally retires, will be more gungho and contribute more to the people especially the alternative minority who support them in principal. I wish to see a more fierce debater debate with the ruling party members of p.
I hope to remember him as a fighter for the minority voice. where the minority is at least 33%, imho given that not all voted in many past e.
Woa, so AP and Tew N . S are from Bishan-TP? well, i will join you in hoping for that too…pray for no-walkover in this GRC
How will Low and Chiam decide who will lead the GRC contest? By playing Low Chiam pass!!!!
# 8
Quote : I got the impression that our leaders work much harder than the citizens and have little or no time for their families and themselves. It is sacrifices that no ordinary man can volunteer, they deserve to go Heaven. And yes! Please pray that they do!!!
Good one there, and yes, I also pray that our lauLee will go to heaven when “his leg straightens” and which I pray soon too. I’m just amassing as much “hell dollars” I can buy in preparation of burning for him..siah..he needs to be rewarded with MILLIONs even if he’s in nether world lah.
Our most revered Mr. Chiam,
I think you have garnered more respect for yourself that LKY would ever dream of. You earned the respect because of your humility and just plain dedication & sincerity in serving the people that you cared so much for, and I salute you for that.
I wish you a good health and staying power as an alternative but surely definitive voice for the people.
Extract from Today :
“….While he does not expect elections to be held this year amid the economic downturn, Mr Chiam said he plans to air the issues of Mas Selamat’s escape, ministerial salaries, the investment losses incurred by town councils and Temasek Holdings, and the plight of the less privileged should the polls be called anytime soon…”
YES, YES ! Pls raise all these issues on behalf of us !
So far, our govt has been turning a deaf ear to the incessant rumblings of netizens on these pertinent issues.
God bless you and your team. Mr. Chiam. Thank you for your hard work. You have done the country proud.
To SPP, why your party does not organise any seminar like the SDP and RP ? SPP must make your presence felt and recruit more members and volunteers to fight the mighty pap, if not next election, you will see the same 2 seats.
Mr Chiam & The Team ‘
Hope you all can send a TEAM to AMK!!!!! of course to many part of S’pore
Dear Mr. Chiam,
Please do send a team to AMK GRC. We need heroes like you to represent us as decades of repression has robbed us of our freedom to express & crippled our ability to discern the truth from fake promises of the incumbent regime.
Wishing you great health as well.
Thanks Mr Chiam. Come Thomson. Maybe Wong Kan Sing here.
I hope the other parties are gearing up for the coming snap election.
mr. chiam, better you come jurong.(DRINK ON ME)
#13, ya, where is mas selamat after all these year?
I hope all the opp parties do get ready and wack all those good-for-nothing peeps out of their confort zones. This time round is going to be their down and out moments and I wish and pray not only the opp parties win but also win big time and expand your boundaries. The best rally speeches to be get these peeps out would be about their accountability to those billions and also those millions from those peeps TCs? how come till now still no answer? those money are being paid by the people monthly SC&C and what happen now? keeping quiet is not a solution OK!
Mr Chiam, thank you for all your past contributions to represent the 33% of Singaporeans even though they are not in your ward. I wish you and your team all the best (of health, luck, election victory) wherever you decide to contest.
You’ve won the respect of many Singaporeans through your sincerity and dedication. That alone beats many PAP candidates, including LKY.
wah lawyer doctor accountant.
left pilot engineer.
assemble them and go ajunied grc.
since last election it get half half supporters.
i guess it might be jurong grc.
high chance.
if singapore pools have odds for that i will bet on it.
i live in jurong grc.
i will have a chance to vote.
i will not tell you who i will vote.
voting is secret.
please come to jurong.
let me have a chance to vote at last.
AMK GRC is also weakening, the last election result was a great blow to the ruling party. Fresh opposition candidates managed to win 33% against our “powerfhouse” PM.
in a contest between two doctors, two lawyers and two accountants… the educational qualification becomes meaningless…
What is needed perhaps are some serious thoughts to help members of the public choose…
something that comes to mind…
A doctor that focuses on dispensing medicine to cure symptoms is surely not the same as a doctor that is dedicated to the healing process
A lawyer whose track record of winning every case is surely different from a lawyer whose track record is one that uncovers injustices
An acountant with an acumen to point out missing $ due to intentional swindling is surely not the same as an accountant that has the acumen to point out missing $ due to ‘unintentional’ wasteful projects that have little to none social impact apart from bragging rights.
Having doctors, lawyers and accountants only show that the candidates have stayed in school longer. However, does length of schooling equally indicative of the commitment to service… and the most important aspect of service as members of parliament is to reresent the voice of the members of the public in parliament… not merely listening to the voices during MPS…
Perhaps it is necessary to ponder on what kind of Members of Parliament do we want… and hopefully, we’ll learn the answer to the kind of Doctors/ Lawyers/ Accounants that we should be electing. Then again… Why restrict to Doctors/ lawyers/ Accountants?
The opposition should think instead of forming a “dream team” to contest a GRC.
Chiam needs to ally himself with Low and Sylvia Lim and bring in Steve Chia. These are all the moderate opposition members who are held in some regard by the people. (They really have to leave out Dr. Chee and the Reform Party from this venture). Then they would be better able to contest a GRC.
Its not whether Chiam is standing or sitting.
Its whether is there any progress made by the alternatives.
Can they or can they not?
Given the circumstances……….
Singaporeans must wake up to vote only those who care and serve the people.
They must distinguish between MPs that first serve their constituency and those that
only serve their political masters. Those that put the people first then those
who put their political masters first. Those that are seen to be making personal
sacrifices than those who only comes into the political arena because of position and high pay.
27) David on March 1st, 2009 1.18 am
AMK GRC is also weakening, the last election result was a great blow to the ruling party. Fresh opposition candidates managed to win 33% against our “powerfhouse” PM.
Maybe, this time PM will change to the sure win zone, cannot lau kui one since last GE at AMK opp party smelly smelly also have 33% liao.
aiyoyo
commoners need to vote…
time are bad, economy bad, commoners need someone willing to serve be voted in.
not sure those ‘by default’ get the seat, whether they do their due diligent or not?
summary, commoners life get better (with less pressure) is an indicator of the success of their LEADERS!
aiyoyo
S’pore needs more of such person like you.
We need changes. Time to change…
Contesting in Bishan-TP is one option Mr. Chiam should consider…
1) it’s a neighbour to Potong Pasir, the people of PP would not miss mr chiam as he would be still be close to them.
2) Bishan-TP is well a developed estate and does not need much upgrading
3) The people of PP with their inspiring and resilient character will be able to boost the confidence of the Bishan-TP voters….if Mr. Chiam succeeds, that PP and Bishan-TP can merge to become a real and solid strong hold of the long suffering Singaporeans…
Why not you spend questioning those bigger foreign investments with bigger $$$ at stake than spend time telling us how certain local political composition / alliance is going to be good or bad.
Why is it only PTPS and HG wards citizens support alternative?
why only these 2 tiny wards?
Why citizens in these 2 wards willing to support them but the rest does not vote for them?
To me, the idea of Alternative works. Citizens do want this.
But so far its only these 2 small wards.
Technically, it should be possible for alternatives to replicate this to other wards.
If only we have more Chiams and Laus and Sylvias. Then, maybe more get to CHOOSE who they want rather than WALKOVERs.
To me personally, as a democrat citizen, I feel that its a shame to have too many walkovers over and over again. It shows the lack of talent AND / OR willingness of talents to STEP FORWARD.
Collectively, the people is responsible for whatever is happening. Good or bad. Up to u.
“why only these 2 tiny wards?”
Ask yourself why the MSM is controlled & who & which party is monopolising the control & dissemination / flow / type of information.
Visibility my friend and the opportunity of getting heard loudly and positively through a medium (MSM) which is able to capture almost every stratum of society with a wider coverage (young, middle aged & also the very old).
MSM is also an important medium where people may also appreciate an equally valid alternative argument / view which may sway their understanding.
And do you know why they are harping about possible moderation of the internet ? Because simply they do not have the edge here. Unfortunately, some people (the not so literate / internet savvy / some old people) are not accessing the internet for this type of consumption.
In the past, subtle & not-so-subtle threats were used (e.g lift upgrading, military being called in if freak election, etc). People begin to fear when they should not. Imagine, a nation where politics is run based on unhealthy fear giving a small group of people control over the rest of a reasonable intelligent and yet political apathetic people.
Ask yourself, do you sincerely think that this is healthy.
However, we must remember, no chaos please as we cannot afford to have chaos. Education, education & education on the need to have effective balance but without any fear.
To #37,
I was not saying anything about opposition groupings being good or bad.
I was merely reflecting on what many Singaporeans have always been thinking- that the best of the Opposition must come together instead of being apart.
If it do happen…..the PAP will come out attacking his age & illness.
Unless Chiam is also having problem with his mind or speach…..he “STILL” can speak for the people.
Then again……our LKY just had a operation done also…right?
It’s so hard to find anyone to oppose the PAP in election…. FEW gd man….harder for ppl to come out & get their 18 generation check.
“I was merely reflecting on what many Singaporeans have always been thinking- that the best of the Opposition must come together instead of being apart.”
Well, you have reflected in such a manner as being very delibrate “to leave out Dr. Chee and the Reform Party from this venture.” Of course, you did not say it in all exacting terms other than the words mentioned and there is where individual interpretation comes in. Another game of divide and rule ?
Do us a favour. Go for the more important issues that are currently facing us and that you can provide a more useful influence over there, if you know what I mean.
No choice but to “to leave out Dr. Chee and the Reform Party from this venture.” They don’t agree the way WP, SPP do things. It is very difficult to get them follow Chiam and Low lead.
“No choice but to “to leave out Dr. Chee and the Reform Party from this venture.””
So be it if it is really the peoples’ choice. peoples’ choice lah. somehow you will seen to know whether it is the peoples’ choice or not. This is singapore you know, the very powerful red dot, if you know what I mean.
Wow.. this election surely will be interesting with so many credible alternatives…
Not like last time ask a fresh out of ITE student to stand for election..
Hope 1 GRC is taken… and at least 4 single seats will be overthrown..
Maybe Tan Kin Lian 1 seat..
Low Thia kian 1 seat
Slyvia Lim 1 seat
Liew Mun Kim 1 seat
and the GRC seat lead by Chiam See Tong..
wow.. that should be enough for this election this year..
coz maybe next year or the year after.. will have by-elections as some of our pap leaders are getting old… some even die of heart attack at early age of 50+ … and you wonder why the annuity drawout is 80yrs old…
As for me.. well.. I will vote for my favourite great leader ..PM LEE.. ! :) Without him, there will be no AMK HUB !
It is good if we have just 2 or 3 main opposition parties to challenge the PAP. As the saying goes: ‘Too many cooks spoil the broth.’ Let Dr Chee confronts the PAP outside parliament while the others can do battles within.
I am afraid talking, suggesting, encouraging and advising the opposition parties alone will not help much to turn the tide against the overwhelming power of the PAP. Citizens and netizens must make a concerted effort to help towards a genuine working democracy in Singapore.
What have you done to help?
#45) isa
“maybe next year or the year after.. will have by-elections as some of our pap leaders are getting old… some even die of heart attack at early age of 50+ …”
==============================
Sorry to disappoint you. PAP never, never hold another by-election after JBJ won the Anson by-election in 1981. PAP changed the rules. Unless 81 of them suddenly become non-MP and Chiam and Low have a majority of 1 in parliament or when a GRC loses the sole minority-race candidate.
If more citizens know about the unfair tactics of the PAP and do something about it and if the opposition parties get more credible professional and successful entrepreneurs, then and only then will genuine democracy stand a chance.
Amusing leh. They say that Chiam is old and you need to replace him, who’s to say anything about age when MM Lee is sitting up there old + healthy as anything?
(Maybe they *cough* can’t afford the same doctors. Or lawyers, to sue. D: )
Opposition or alternative parties should learn to cover more grounds other than concentrating on their own wards alone and let the people knows what’s been happening around the nation, issues which were not being made known or clear to them by the MSM, especially money loss issues concerning the TCs, TH & GIC as those $billions losses are money concerning the future and livelihood of the citizens of singapore. Surprisingly, there are still alot of folks who are still in the dark of whats been happening around them, sad! isn’t it?