Main Stories - Written on Wednesday, February 11, 2009 8:00 - 210 Comments
Nursing homes in Johor Bahru – revisited
The following are three reports from the Straits Times (2009) and from Today (2006) reporting Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan’s remarks about cheaper nursing homes which Singaporeans can go to, in neighbouring countries, and the exchange in Parliament on 10 Feb, 2009, between Mr Khaw and Workers’ Party MPs, Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim.
In 2009:
Straits Times, Feb 10:
SINGAPOREANS could consider living in nursing homes in neighbouring Johor Baru, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested yesterday.
It would be cheaper, yet be near enough to Singapore for family members to visit and for residents to return for medical care if necessary, he said.
He told Parliament yesterday that he recently visited a site in Johor Baru where a Singaporean investor was planning to build a 200-bed nursing home.
He asked the investor about the costs involved, and was stunned at how low they were.
He said: ‘It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).
‘The monthly cost of keeping a resident in a private nursing home in Singapore, you can stretch it easily to pay at least 2-1/2 months of nursing home care in Johor Baru.’
If any medical problems cropped up, the elderly could be taken back to Singapore by ambulance, he said.
For most Singaporeans, visiting a relative in a Johor Baru nursing home would not pose significant difficulties, he said.
The investor, who is a nursing home chief executive, told him that many people visited their relatives weekly, even in nursing homes in Singapore.
Mr Khaw added: ‘Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?’
In 2006
Today, April 22
Dumping parents worst sin, says Khaw
Minister clarifies comments made on creating retirement homes in nearby countries
HIS recent comments on creating retirement villages in neighbouring countries have caused a mini-controversy, but Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan said he was misquoted.
“My comment on retirement was completely incidental. Now it has blown up into a big story and there is so much misunderstanding and accusation (that) Khaw Boon Wan is proposing that we dump our parents
in Batam,” said Mr Khaw after an event on Friday.
He was referring to an interview done with MediaCorp’s Channel 8 this week, in which he was quoted as saying: “My personal view is, our land is expensive. But we have nearby neighbours in Johor, Batam and
Bintan. The elderly want to reach their doctors within half to one hour. So retirement villages in neighbouring countries is possible, barring the cross-border hassle. It is best to find cheap land on
short leases.”
This sparked a mini-debate, with readers cautioning against the “exile” or “banishment” of old folks away from their homeland and the implications of such a move.
Speaking to reporters on Friday, Mr Khaw said his proposal has been misunderstood to mean that Singaporeans “dump” their parents in nearby countries.
“The question (from the reporter) was that there were developers who said that land here is rather expensive,” he clarified. “And that’s why I notice that Minister Mah Bow Tan has now shortened the lease, so hopefully land price (in Singapore) will become cheaper. But then they (the developers) said all right, Batam is even cheaper. So I said well, if Batam is even cheaper, then it’s up to you.”
Hence, the decision to locate retirement villages outside of Singapore is up to the private developers and the market — not the Government, he said.
But no matter where the villages are, Singaporeans should not neglect the old, said Mr Khaw.
“You can have a retirement village in Toa Payoh but if your motive is really to dump your parents, that to me is wrong. Whether it’s in Batam or in Toa Payoh or in Ang Mo Kio, it’s all wrong.
Mr Khaw, a Buddhist who comes from a “absolutely Confucianist” background, said to him, not being filial is the worst sin possible.
“Many other sins you can plead to your God and say, sorry, I repent … But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
————
Response from the Workers’ Party MPs – Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim (Straits Times, Feb 10)
A SUGGESTION by Health Minister that Singaporeans might want to consider staying at a nursing home across the Causeway in Johor where it is much cheaper drew flak from two oppostion MPs in Parliament on Tuesday.
Workers’ Party chairman and Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim said the suggestion was ‘quite a bad indication of affordability of our own health care services here, and also a reflection of our national values’.
Fellow WP member Low Thia Kiang (Hougang) asked: ‘Is the Minister suggesting that Singaporeans who cannot afford medical treatment or step-down care here should now consider such facilities in Johor?’
If so, is the minister ‘outsourcing the Government’s responsibility to provide affordable health care service to Malaysia’, he asked.
This riled Mr Khaw Boon Wan.
‘I’m not saying that if you are poor I will put you in an ambulance, send you across the Causeway to a Johor nursing home. That is not what I said and please don’t twist my words,’ he retorted.
In fact, the Johor option is not for the poor, who are heavily subsidised in Singapore.
‘Everybody can afford health care in Singapore whether acute care or long-term care,’ said Mr Khaw.
The suggestion was aimed at middle-income families who need to pay for the care themselves. It gives them choice.
‘I just wanted to point out to Singaporeans that there are options like this,’ Mr Khaw said.
The cost of nursing home care will always be more expensive in Singapore, as doctors and nurses are paid more, and construction cost is also higher.
Since many people visit the elderly in homes only on weekends, it makes little difference whether the person is housed here or in nearby Johor.
It’s part of globalisation and this is already happening with Singaporeans going to Bangkok for Lasik to treat short sightedness and Americans and Russians coming here for treatment.
It is also not something that should, or can, be prevented, said the minister.
Singaporeans are already crossing the causeway for cheaper petrol and medicine.
‘By allowing the flexibility of consumers walking across the Causeway… they benefit. I don’t think we should constrain them from doing so.’
———–
210 Comments
The last 2 sentences in the above article..
‘Singaporeans are already crossing the causeway for cheaper petrol and medicine.’
‘By allowing the flexibility of consumers walking across the Causeway… they benefit. I don’t think we should constrain them from doing so.’
Either Mr. Khaw doesn’ t drive or he’s still new to Singapore to know about the 3/4 tank rule.
Or he literally means all the consumers should WALK across the causeway in order to benefit the low cost healthcare?!
Nice. When you are old, sick and no longer useful, you are Malaysia’s problem.
Funny that Khaw Boon Wan is always tagged to his belief(Buddhism).
Does that makes him more kind and compassionate?
I just do not detect that in him.
patriot
“Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?”
My god, I can’t believe he actually said that. “Putting them”… “in Johor Baru”? “Putting them”????
Goodness. Perhaps we could also “put” President Nathan in Johor Baru. What’s the difference having him in S’pore and JB? He does nothing anyway.
I can’t believe the tone of his words.
First he said, in 2006:
“Many other sins you can plead to your God and say, sorry, I repent … But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
Then in 2009, he said:
“Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?”
I wonder if he knows what he is saying even as the words are coming out of his mouth.
It is apparent that Mr. Khaw has been championing this issue since 2006 and though I respect his persistence, I disagree with his proposition. By encouraging our senior citizens to stay in nursing homes in JB, and possibly die there, he is giving the impression that after you’ve worked your entire life and ready to reap your rewards here, you are sent packing to another land to live out your golden years. Yes, there is a dire shortage of health care workers here due to our higher std of living, and a much higher land cost due to land scarcity. It is natural to look for a cheaper alternative. But taking care of our nation building generation is not about economics. Instead, we should be spending more on welfare & subsidies to look after our seniors. And who says we cannot build nursing home as high-rise ? Thru ingenious design, these high-rise nursing homes can be planned with lush greenery to compensate for lack of open space. Finally, who would want to die in Msia and not on your own land ?
hey guys, defence of the nation is more important than the health of the population.
that’s why the defence budget GOES UP UP UP UP UP, and your health budget? you can get ready to pack up to go malaysia already.
Mr. KhawPeiCowBu probably thought that he’d justified his million dollars salary with his so called stroke of ingenuity and thinking out of the box proposition which is essentially a callous plan about dumping our senior folks to JB. And please, how can you ask them to live there where crime rates are high and when being old are most vulnerable to attacks. And also, please do not be so easily swayed by the words of an “investor” who’s building the nusing home there, after that nice seafood lunch he blanja you in JB. Haven’t we learnt any lessons from our national mdm-fall-from-grace investor ? They will of course paint you the sunny side of picture. How about the corruption, inefficiency of getting things done, constant jams in causeway causing delay in ambulance dispatch…etc etc. My respect for you have really fallen to the “18th level” as it obvious you do not have a heart to be the person i/c of national health issues.
In the long run, the cost of nursing home in JB will approach the cost of nursing home in Singapore if Singaporeans become a major residential group in such JB nursing home.
don’t complain, u people choose them to lead us , so shut up OR kick them out….don’t do nothing and complain….
Well, guess he is dumping our graying population issue on old good neighbour Malaysia. What a genius you are KBW.
So KBW, when the people who work the ar.e off for this country grow old, you want their family to “put” them in JB? they have contributed to the country and when they are old and unable to contribute, maybe becoming a liability to the elites, dumping them in JB is the easy and convenient way out huh? since you people won’t have to put in any effort and money etc to help those people. TSS is a joker, this KBW is something else.
Land cost, construction etc are expensive here, yes, definitely, but we should thank who for all this? i think the answer is obvious. KBW is suppose to be the health minister, which takes our healthcare in mind. however this guy seems to be trying to take an easy way out of his duty.
Kudos to the 2 Worker’s Party! thanks god for their timely challenge. KBW says “That is not what I said and please don’t twist my words” but that’s the impression he is giving me.
jokers like TSS, i still can tolerate for his joke gives me a good laugh. but KBW is really something else. to think he suggest something like this.
[i]No money, so girl, 6, misses 3 weeks of school
Social worker pays fees out of own pocket so she can be re-admitted
By Genevieve Jiang
February 05, 2009
FOR the first three weeks of this year, a 6-year-old girl did not attend school.
Her mother, Lynn, said it was because the family was too poor to afford her kindergarten fees, despite getting several government subsidies.
The 28-year-old part-time rental agent told The New Paper she had not paid the fees for four months last year, and owed the kindergarten another $115 for books.
Because of the outstanding arrears of about $230, the school – a PAP community foundation kindergarten at Woodlands Drive 16 – told Lynn her daughter need not return to school last month, she alleged.
But a spokesman for the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) said the kindergarten had not given Lynn any ’specific warning that her child would not be allowed to continue her K2 education at the centre’. (See report on facing page.)
Yet it wasn’t until a community worker from a voluntary welfare organisation intervened, and paid the kindergarten out of his own pocket, that the child returned to school on 22 Jan.
Lynn did not want to be identified for this article as she did not want to cause her four children any embarrassment.[/i]
let see
if you are poor
and too youn
you also can get kicked out of PAP kindergardens
when you are ole and useless
you also get kicked out to malaysia?
what happenned to MY compulsory medicsaves/medicshields contributions?
you know the 1
cpf want it to keep to a minimum of $30,000 dollar$ or somethin liked that..
you don’t want the POORs peasants
but you being an pap a s s hole
want their hardearned blood sweat and tears savin$
dr khaw
YOUR parents
where are they?
still livin in penang perhaps?
or you lost their contact addre$$?
I don’t understand why the government simply cannot just set aside land space for the development of these nursing homes on Singapore ground, at LOW costs, demonstrating a sense of compassion at the very least? Aren’t they the ones with the power to call the shots? Or is land space more precious to be used to build more golf courses, condos, and military training grounds? Someone please advise. Thks.
” The suggestion was aimed at middle-income families who need to pay for the care themselves. It gives them choice.
‘I just wanted to point out to Singaporeans that there are options like this,’ Mr Khaw said. ”
This might be a possibility due to globalisation. But is having a minister raising the point in Parliament is akin to stating government POLICY? If so, this policy would apply in many areas of our lives (some examples: health, retirement, education, housing).
We know what happened when the then transport minister Yeow Cheow Tong exhorted how the NE line would give commuters CHOICE. Later he had to justify the “rationalization of resources” by the service providers. :>
think our government need to realise the fact that no one can escape aging and sickness, can accommodate large number of foreign talents, yet there is no place for all singaporeans to age at their own country gracefully, what a sad scene we are going see in future for ourselves. What is the point of having world class medical hospitals contributed by all Singaporean, yet with end result, beyond the affordabiility and not meant for all Singaporeans.
“That is not what I said and please don’t twist my words.”
This is what Mr Low Thia Kiang should have stated in the first week of the Budget 2009 debate when the PAP mps stood up to raise their “point of clarification”. :>
i can no longer believe that our mps are sincere and that they care for the people.
what ever they say is good, think the opposite.. if not i cannot find any rationale in what they propose.
when i get old and sick, the last place i want to be is away from home.
5) Andrew Loh on February 11th, 2009 12.35 am
My god, I can’t believe he actually said that. “Putting them”… “in Johor Baru”? “Putting them”???? Goodness. Perhaps we could also “put” President Nathan in Johor Baru. What’s the difference having him in S’pore and JB? He does nothing anyway. I can’t believe the tone of his words.
Perhaps we can also “put” KBW in a nursing home in Johor Bahru when he is too old to continue as Health Minister in Singapore. We can build a nursing home in JB for our beloved MPs. Any investors?
Great idea, when you stop paying tax and you don’t spend anymore except for health care than we ship you out. Maybe GLC can start investing in nursing home in JB, Batam and far away countries as well because with one child family or no child family no one will drop by to visit even the moon is blue.
11/2/09
This is short of saying, abandoning these Senior Citizens and now I feel very sad as my stand has been “Singapore is our only place we call our only Home and there are real flaws in our Public Policies and Public Institutions which we need to fine tune”
Regards
Andrew Chuah
“Perhaps we can also “put” KBW in a nursing home in Johor Bahru’
KBW will be happy since Malaysia is originally his homeland. Finally Home Sweet Home. With uncountable millions, KBW might even be the next sultan of Johor Bahru.
see how Khaw gets out of this one. He was embarrassed when Lee Wei Ling chastised her own hospital about heart attack treatment . Now this. Wonder if there is something brewing in the air?
Why would he suggest such an explosive emotive issues as PUTTING our elderly outsourced to Malaysia based on $ and cents?
It raises a Pandora’s box on why our own health care system cannot deliver and got to resort to this kind of heart-rending emotive putting them once they are past expiry dates there.
They have really lost touch with the peasants and there is a political price to pay.
Special offer: Nursing Home for Singapore package, limited places.
Best recommendation option:
Folks with 2 or more children: JB Nursing Home Sdn Bhd
Folks with 1 child: P.T.Batam Nursing Home
Folks with 0 child: Africa Nursing Home Pte Ltd
Not forgetting Nursing Home with mean testing too…
Don’t forget that KBW is Penang-born. Asking S’poreans to go to JB would do heaps to help prop M’sia’s economy up!
I cannot imagine any minister in the world who would even dare suggest this to his own citizens and get away with it.
He might as well ‘put’ us to sleep if he finds it so costly and troublesome to look after peasants who are no longer of economic value to the elites. They can lose $58 billion dollars of reserves without even a wink but would rather save that little money by asking us to get out of our of own country and be someone else’s problem.
Our own country is touted as a medical hub to foreigners and yet this elite is trying to ask its own citizens to get out so that his problem can be solved. Is this our own country anymore? How low can they go?
Singaporeans who voted for them, please wake up at the electoral box. How much more bullshit do you want us to take from these elites?
“But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
3 years down, he suggests “putting” your parents in JB nursing homes.
I almost indirectly thought that someone want us to go to the 18th level of hell.
“It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).”
It ISN’T mind-boggling at all. Anyone with common sense would know that costs will be halved of that in Singapore due to the exchange rates. Please think before you talk(or f**t) for that matter.
“If any medical problems cropped up, the elderly could be taken back to Singapore by ambulance”
Ok, just make sure there are no traffic jams on the causeway.
Mr Khaw,
Are you trying to shift the old and useless Singaporeans that had spent most of their time constructing Singapore during their young years to Johor just to save government/tax payer’s money?
Do you understand that people pay tax money is for the government to spend on the poor and elderly people and not for keeping? Do you see our elderly parents as a waste of government money? Has Old Singaporeans that had served Singapore National Service previously being taken for granted?
Do you know what will be the effect of this suggestion? Do you foresee that the probability of children abandoning their parent in Malaysia would be much higher as it takes time to travel?
Do you see that would translate to a terrible jam in the causeway?
Do you understand the word moral? Your suggestion seems lacking in moral values. Bearing in mind that what you will do to the elderly is a reflection to how I or my children will be treated when we get old. You will be assured that before you do that to me, I will do that to you. Please stop all your nonsense. If you think that the elderly is too expensive to maintain in Singapore, I think it is too expensive to maintain you in Singapore.
I think its not a bad ideas, He is just being practical.
Why not just ship them to even cheaper locations (Africa ?).
No need to visit, just set up video conferencing on a weekly basis.
In short, we are supposed to work for third world pay till the day we cannot work anymore. Go to a third world country to die and maybe bring yr ashes back to Pulau Semangka landfill to reclaim the island, possibly for a nuclear plant. Hv FTs to vote for them in coming elections. Brilliant idea. I love our ‘A’ team, long term strategic planning. Nice to observe recent human wave charges into the political minefield by our ‘A’ team.
Khaw was born in Malaysian so maybe a part of him is thinking “I want to draw my last breadth in my homeland.” Balek kampung then. Good riddance.
aiyoyo
ELITEs so smart – import FT, old sgp export!
is JB safe or not huh???
why not ELITEs think of lower the cost here???
aiyoyo (really no eyes see)
I’m truly outraged by his proposition!
Going to Malaysia for petrol & cheaper commodities are completely different from sending the elderly to nursing homes in Johor Baru! I don’t see how this would not be equivalent from treating our elderly as perishable commodities! What values are we promoting here and more importantly the message that we are sending to the younger generation??! Don’t even talk about filial piety cos like some readers said, the last place you want to be when you’re old is to be far away from your family!
And this is as good as “exile” or “banishment”, pure and simple! Don’t he dare say he has been misquoted out of context, the proposition itself is full of contempt!
We should build the parliment, the istana in johor bahru. Then can save money and open up space in cbd area.
“My personal view is, our land is expensive.”
Well, you are saying it yourself. It is expensive because of the slew of rent seeking devices. It is becoming like a playground for rich people like you and more and more common people are facing problem as they are slowly being priced out by both rich local and foreigners who are being welcome with open arms – à la capitalism.
HDB used to be affordable. Now you tell me with all the super bagus pricing & payment method.
aiyoyo
how about everyone stay in JB,
then come back to this country & work?
then need MRT to JB area liao.
still, ELITEs need to confirm JB safety 1st ma, then make logical proposal ma…
aiyoyo
For the old people who had been good singaporeans and taxpayers all their lives, dun they deserve the respect and benefits from our singapore government? Tax the land the nursing homes are built on less, subsidise the poor and needy families….and i tot they said no one will be left behind. Looks like when u are old and not paying taxes animore, u r dispensible/useless to the singapore government. And u have to work to 65-67 to retire. Wth….talk about work/life benefits
Same theory can also apply on the following:-
(1) HDB flat is expensive. It would be cheaper to stay in JB and yet be near enough to Singapore for work everyday
(2) All the necessities is cheap is JB. It would be cheaper to buy from JB and it’s not too far away sg.
Sad
Sigh…..what have we become? Have we become a society that only cares about making money & nothing else? Is it cos the Swiss standard of living is so high that we couldn’t care about other things or people anymore? I am so ashamed to say that I am Singaporean & I, indirectly, allowed some MOH bugger sending our elderly to JB cos the government would rather spend more buying the latest F15s & cant be bothered too much on the sick & elderly!
We all have blood on our hands cos we voted these idiots into Parliament & we put power into all these idiotic Ministers hands to come up with ERP, HDB, CPF & many other money making policies so we can be milked dry. It’s really shocking that anyone sane person could come out with such an insane idea in the 1st place & Khaw even has the cheek to say that in public; he probably thinks that JB is such a great place whenever he goes there with 100 bodyguards & a bullet-proof Mercedes!!! He thinks that he scored big with us peasants; how it backfired onto him! I just hope the next election; we could all stand united & vote some of these clowns out & see if they could survive in the private sector.
BTW, I have never voted in my life, except for Mr Ong as president many years ago!!
NS FOR LOCALS & MEDICAL CARE FOR FTs
aiyoyo
not sure shall commoners migrate/get PR in JB???
aiyoyo
Got money stay in Singapore, No money go to JB?
If we need to go JB everydays for cheaper necessities items; foods and services, then ICA have to align and speed up the custom clearance. So that this will encourgae more sg people to visit JB. And we don’t create unnecessary burden to sg gov. An win- win.
I am willing to accept that different people will come with different paradigms on this.
Let’s see if the arguments from the Minister pass the acceptance test (of the citizens). Have the implementation immediately before the next election.
Has our Dear Mr. Khaw reflects on why the building costs and maintenance of the
nursing home is so expensive? This is the most “cold” suggestion from Khaw. Send the old and age to die on foreign land. Why are we defending this land for..
The difference is bcos you are a minister.
Mr Khaw added: ‘Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?’
No difference lah. But it should not come out from the mouth of a minister as this may lend ministerial weight and support to any advocate or any plan already in the pipeline.
“There is a Chinese saying: Know Person, Know Face, Don’t Know Heart.”
That means, “We may know a person, we may be familiar with his face, but we will never know his true loyalty.”
We must not be lulled into trusting a person completely simply based upon the word “TRUST” as Mr Tharman was talking about in the Parliament just the other day.
We must always remind ourselves that an ex-foreigner infiltrated into our cabinet is a subject that requires very close attention, observation, and thorough scrutiny, if we are not to be taken by surprise. This is just like the Temasek investments. Someone somewhere could have made a serious mistake or blunder in judgment.
So far, what are the health policies and measures that this ex-Malaysian man has implemented that have actually and fully helped or benefited Singaporeans?
Can the common Singaporeans enjoy the health facilities and services without much difficulties and hardship, in monetary and other terms?
Or they have actually created more hardships and unhappiness to most of us, except the rich and powerful?
Please think about it, because those who are unaware will always be unaware of the unaware, unless you make it a point to be alert to the possibilities.
Didn’t our PM referred to Singapore as “A City of Possibilities”?
Can someone send a letter to the Ministry of Health to get further clarification on this.
And i think these old people are also those that fervently support MIW. So i do hope their kids will help them wake up. KBW cannot get away scotch free for this type of remarks.
aiyoyo
is it to say last time guys saf not really matter/counted
when guys/family become old?
then why still continue ict?
aiyoyo
> He said: ‘It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low … <
KBW raises a very relevant point.
He should clarify if he meant that the cost of public health care in Sg includes the opportunity cost of the land that the polyclinic or government hospital is built on.
If that is so, how much of the expensive healthcare fees that we are paying actually pays for the rent to the government. For each dollar we pay for healthcare, how much does cost of land contribute to it?
Is it appropriate for the government to make money from rental of public facilities like government hospitals considering how few there are around?
How many more healthcare facilities can be built in Sg if we reduce or restrict the number of golf courses?
When the recession gets worse, is it an option for the government to reduce or waive the land costs imputed in our healthcare cost?
For those who are ill and need medical healthcare but have run out of money due to the exorbitant medical fees, is it ethical to continue to continue to profit from them by imputing the opportunity cost of land into their medical fees?
When Khaw becomes old and useless, may he be “put away” in a nursing home in JB or Batam, whichever is cheaper for him to die alone, away from friends and relatives and away from Singapore Inc.
It is also not something that should, or can, be prevented, said the minister.
Singaporeans are already crossing the causeway for cheaper petrol and medicine.
Then is the government scraping the 3 quarter tank rule?
Why can’t the government provide land FOC to build nursing homes in Singapore?
Why people need to resort to ship the aging sons and daughters of the land out of the land to some nursing homes in foreign lands?
Why government wants to profit from land sale even when it is means of providing nursing homes for our aging sons and daughters?
aiyoyo
not sure when our neighbours read this news, how they feel/laugh???
how next time to go outside & tell people we live in this country???
no dare say that, bcos we’ve ELITEs that send out these type of news worldwide!
aiyoyo
We should close all the golf courses here and make golfers indulge their game in Malaysia. After all, “our land is expensive” and land is much cheaper in Malaysia. We can always convert the golf courses into parks and use the land on which the parks now sit for housing, commercial facilities, etc.
Or why don’t we jusr recover the 31% that Ho Ching wiped out and lease Batam and Bintan for 99 years?
We should also put our aging politican in JB to provide the old folks with leadership?
Sooner or later, the poor peasant, who cannot afford a HDB flat, will be told to live in JB or even Batam, so that more precious land in Singapore can be reserved for private housing for the elite and FT.
#59) SN on February 11th, 2009 11.28 am
There are already many poor peasants who are staying in JB now. Remember the bankrupt who got arrested at the checkpoint and charged while sending his kid from JB to Singapore for school cos he didn’t inform the OA about it?
And many of our poor sick peasants who are on long term medication are already buying their medicines from JB cause it is so much cheaper there. Why doesn’t our dear elite Health Minister solve this problem first?
His suggestion is really the last straw and totally irks me that we are paying top dollars for such incompetent “talent”. Personally, I am really sick and tired of our govt not stepping up the plate for accountability and coming up with good strategies to combat such hard times. What I would really like from PAP:
1. Mas Selemat escape (WKS admitting the oversight and resigning over the fiasco)
2. Temasek astronomical loss of $58B (HC apologising for the 31% loss in reserve while graciously stepping down)
3. Govt giving cash grant to rank&file and PMETs who are made redundant & jobless due to the economic downturn.
4. Health Minister promising more subsidies and welfare for all senior citizens who have contributed to the success of the now spore. A new “sandwiched” type of nursing home will be built to accommodate them here in spore. These homes can possibly be built on top of our current HDB flats and while allowing their children/grandchildren easy access, they also get to enjoy the roof top garden feeling.
Or am I just wishful thinking here ?
Malaysia News World » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 11 Feb 2009
[...] Khaw wants to ship me to another country when I get old – Feed Me To The Fish: Please Mr Khaw, have a heart – TOC: Nursing homes in Johor Bahru – revisited [...]
aiyoyo
simple question – when there’s problem arise,
what are the effective solutions provided by the respective ELITEs???
it seems ’solutions’ like – oh there’s problem, suggest you (commoners)
pls CONSIDER the neighbour land (since land is cheaper there)………
not sure if these ELITEs read/know about 自我反省 / 回光反照???
aiyoyo
“I think its not a bad idea, He is just being practical.” les #30
importing talented foreigners on the cheap to replace the present bunch of
Ministers is also not a bad idea
We are also being practical.
The question should be it’s cheaper.. but is it safer?
Does KBW have any personal interest in the development of the nursing home in JB?
that he is probably shocked by the number of beds he can provide with his ministerial salary.
I can’t help it thinking KBW and LSS purposely say all this so to give themselves a reason to be fired and retired. They earn enough during the good time , now is it is the bad time with Pay-cut, make-believe world exposed, and last resort is to get out of the mess now while retaining their holy image.
They talk as though they want to resign but cannot, but by talking rubbish, they can be granted their wish.
aiyoyo
ELITEs
取之社会,用于社会。。 (hope the chinese words correct, still learning。。)
aiyoyo
Everything in Singapore is expensive, why?
Who make them expensive?
The Country belongs to our Leaders?
Who then sell it to the People? At exhorbitant price!
Leaders have no duties to the People? Other than enriching themselves??
What do they do with their wealths?
Like to remind Fellow Singaporeans not to swear and curse our money- faces leaders too much, otherwise they will be the people leaving Singapore, citing they are not wanted by Singaporeans.
BUT,
they will not leave empty handed.
And just a reminder,
some of them are not born here and their families are elsewhere(abroad).
patriot
It is shocking to hear that nursing homes for Singaporean old folks are to be considered in our neighbouring country JB just because the cost of running one is low! And just because some Singaporeans like to shop and pump petrol in JB makes this idea a considerable one?
I am curious about who this investor that our Minister spoke to? That made our Health Minister thought this idea was considerable to bring down healthcare costs among the old folks in Singapore?
I would be surprised if the Malaysians or their governments welcome your idea without signing any terms that are far favourable to them than having to house your old folks in their land!
I hope investors go to IDR Malaysia to invest and make that region a success.
This will be benefitial to singaporeans who would be retiring in 10 to 30 years time.
The region is so large, it may be many times the size of singapore? at least close to 1 singapore size, i think.
But IDR must become a success before we can retire there.
If possible, I donch wanna retire in a city as dense (6.5mil) and busy , hectic, dry (plain) and expensive and congested as it is now and in future, which might be even worse.
but this is merely myself crystal balling.
you may see a different future.
enjoy Good Year. More.
If Minister KBH has ever personal taken care of old & sick parents, he will realise how difficult it is, even in Spore, to get them to & fro for medical treatment. If we move them to JB it will be even more difficult given the Causeway jams & hassle.
Locate our factories in JB is ok. Go shopping is ok. Even go to Bangkok to Lasik or go JB to play golf is ok – because these chaps are mostly young and mobile – they can take good care of themselves – and they are making an economic choice. But when it comes to our old & sick it is not as easy as the Minister thinks to bring them in & out for medical treatments. Ask anyone who has cared for old & sick parents or relatives – they will tell you it is not the same as what the Good Minister is trying to compare or justify.
What is wrong with our Highly Qualified Elites ???
I am a Malaysian. I know what your Singapore minister is contemplating.
You want to put your old folks in Johore so that you will have an excuse to invade Johore to protect your own people, like the Israelis are doing, during a time of tension or conflict, isn’t it?
We can see through your long-term strategy very easily.
Don’t ever think that we are fools.
I thought the govt has always discouraged S’poreans from spending abroad? That’s why we have the 3/4 tank rule for cars and several years ago, some MPs even called on S’pore not to shop in JB.
Now, Khaw BW is saying the sick and old should go to jb?
In a Channel NewsAsia report on the rising fuel prices, one motorist asked why they are not allowed to top up petrol in JB:
One motorist said: “At the end of the day, motorists should have a choice. As it is, we are paying very high car prices, very high road tax, COE and ERP. So, why not give us an option to save money?”
Sounds exactly like what Khaw BW is now saying – about nursing homes.
A Abdullah
You can be rest-assured that Singaporeans or their governments would not take you as fools.
They only want an easy solution out to their problems when in terms of $$$. They won’t go there if the price you quote is exorbitant! They don’t want to make losses in their business ventures. Who was this unknown “investor”? or con-artist? Nevermind!!!
This new episode only highlights the following truths about KBW and Singapore (Inc.):-
– harsh and severe bottomline approach
– compassion is not one of the KPIs
– “filial piety”, an economic weapon for Singapore Inc. against the people
– there is no room in Singapore Inc for the old, weak, sick, infirm, handicapped, etc. Hence, little or no help for them
– “filial piety” is only for family and not for Singapore Inc
– utterly shameless that we have to rely on our neighbours to house our own old folks solely on the basis of economics. What is next?
– utterly shameless that we are exporting our aged care and shirking responsibilities for quality and control
– utterly shameless that this is within their long term plans – for the old
– simplistic assumption and short-sightedness – that our neighbours would welcome our old folks with open arms and for the long term. Oh….. our old folks are dispensable….
May God bless his soul.
I thought our esteem leaders have been promoting family values, that we need to take care of our elderly parents. We can also be brought to court for not supporting them.Now we have this silly Cow telling us to send them away to JB. He should be a MInister of Hell instead ! Or else send him to IMH ?
If you read the quote from Thailand’s nation – the billions lost by GIC and Temasek can be used to build free nursing homes for many years!
We are not fools.
#75,
By not giving choice to motorists access to petrol across causeway, the govt is endorsing the petroleum cartel operators here to continue to fix prices and draw on sinfully huge profits. Probably some of their cronies work in these firms.
By giving choice to old folks to live across causeway, the govt is reducing the burden on heath care costs here, thus less pain and worry while drawing on their million dollars salary.
If ERP is to curb traffic,
why not installed at causeway?
so much toxic fumes.
Very soon, due to scarcity of land even to build condo to house our dead ashes, we may have to house our dead in JB cheaply and without cremation. A very attractive choice.
64) john tay on February 11th, 2009 12.07 pm
“I think its not a bad idea, He is just being practical.” les #30
importing talented foreigners on the cheap to replace the present bunch of
Ministers is also not a bad idea
We are also being practical.
Actually , I think its 2 different matters, but i get your joke.
We all know the style of our government and this proposal certainly won’t surprise any one of us here. But we need to think about the detail carefully instead of just knee jerk reaction here,
I have friend who work in nursing home and tell me most children who put their
parents there don’t visit too often anyway – so its make no logistic difference if its in JB.
And the advantage will be it will lessen the financial burden place on their children. Of course some people might think it morally wrong.
In my opinion this is not a new idea.
Many have mentioned to me before.
1. As a citizen I would expect that the land used to build old folks home or step-down care be made at a minimal cost. Afterall this is taking care of our aged (US lah)
2. It ’s unthinkable (morally wong and psycologically punishing to our aged)to ‘put them’ to our neighbour
3. what about the immense inconvenience of clearing the causway. Let’s not even talk about getting an ambulance across in an emergency ! Utter hogwash.
As Andrew Loh mentioned : there is 3/4 tank rule plus TOLL ON BOTH SIDES !
4.It’s an abandonent of the covenant between citizen and state to shrug this responsibility by not providing for aged care of it’s citizens
5. KBW’s ‘choices’ means you get no subsidies cause you are in JB ? hmm with the MIW, ‘choice’ usually means ‘pay more’
From the records of his comments over the past few years, it does seem to come across that he has been mulling this for at least that time. Perhaps he is testing water like he did with means testing….. ?
I really hope those that voted for them for whatever reasons now see what they have done.
My fellow Singaporeans
He will not just say this if its not already in the pipelines. When we are old and useless, we should make space for the economically productive is what this is.
No need to try to sweeten the message. We should see through him for what he is.
dont forget, he was in MOH when the govt hospitals were pricing themselves like private hospitals and prices got out of hand.
He broached Means testing and guess what ? it was implemented shortly thereafter.
more importantly — what does Johor think or say? Can he assume that we will be welcomed? Presumptious isn’t he ?
aiyoyo
maybe 1 suggestion to ELITEs –
let all people withdraw cpf,
and decide where to go to,
instead of spend $$$,
employ these ELITEs (not sure their value-add),
in which commoners $$ can be put to better usage, correct?
anyway commoners use/spend own $, 天敬地义 hor
then also not 劳民伤财 (think chinese correct hor…)
aiyoyo
actually i want to say that boon wan’s idea has its own merits if we look at it objectively. provide the people with another option. but don’t wallop me first ok. i don’t want to give lui tuck yew a chance to say netizens cannot self regulate.
what is the problem with boon wan’s suggestion? filial piety and the thought of putting your parents away, far far away, do not go down well with those who are closed to their parents.
the other problem is that we can have equally cheap alternatives if we want to do it. why is our land expensive? why are hdb flats expensive? because of frills? BULL!!! we all know the answer. don’t wayang.
if we keep trying to deal with our problems using money as the yardstick without using the heart, we will soon become an inanimate society. look at how we solve our water problem? we can if we want to. unfortunately we don’t have a heart to do it.
touch your heart to see if it is still there.
hopefully, this comment will push people to think about migrating earlier. if i’m going to have to retire or live in a nursing home overseas, i might as well go there first, make it my home, then retire there.
at least i’ll contribute to the country that takes care of me in my old age.
#87) aiyoyo on February 11th, 2009 2.03 pm
They can’t cough up the money for our CPF anymore even if we were allowed to withdraw them now. I think half of it has gone up into smoke as ‘paper losses’ now due to the foresight of our great elites.
That’s why the withdrawal age is always being pushed further and further until we have to be forced to buy some LIFE thing now.
WIthout a doubt I think readers and posters here will not buy in his idea. The question is how the rest of hte public (those that are either still apathetic, ignorant and the conservatives “still afraid of changes” to see through this.
Will there be any change in the forth coming future, I seriously do not think so as long as the public out there still believes this government is doing good to them.
What do old folks did to deserve such thought from these “Elected” MPs? Please remember, fellow old folks had done their dues and deserves better care. Is Singapore really so shortage of land to build enough retirement homes? It is a matter of whether they are genuinely interested in taking care of its once young and contributing citizens. No doubt, kids of these old folks must play a part, but I think, if the option is made available, I think it is for the old folks to decide (if ever given the opportunity to do so, particularly those who cannot afford and do not have kids to take care of them. They ae humans too.
For once, if the government or this young group of ELITES can put profitability aside, I think that is when we can genuinely say, they do really care. At moment, I do not see the light at the end fo the tunnel without PAYING A HIGHER PRICE.
/// 54) James Tan on February 11th, 2009 11.08 am
When Khaw becomes old and useless, may he be “put away” in a nursing home in JB or Batam, ///
James, that is a no no. Thou shall not slaughter a sacred khaw….
;)
aiyoyo
so how huh???
alamak left also cannot, right also cannot,
can ELITEs provide real solutions to commoners???
aiyoyo life so tough liao, still need to worry those bright ideas by those ELITEs,
think stay in this place really steam liao…
aiyoyo
/// 74) A Abdullah. on February 11th, 2009 12.37 pm
I am a Malaysian. I know what your Singapore minister is contemplating. ///
Abdullah – a correction here – Mr Khaw (lembu) is a Malaysian, a Penangnite to be precise.
Don’t worry – we Singaporeans don’t want to die in Johore too. You will be doing us a great favour if you make sure this does not succeed. While you are at it, you should also tell all the Singapore investors to get out of Johore.
I got a better idea why not kill all those aged and old and harvest their organs for transplant. It is kill 2 bird with stone since Singapore will have fresh supplies of organs for those immortal to change when they have organ failure then can free up the land to house the young so that we can whip them harder to work for us. Oops. Did I say it too loud? Better watch what I say before I become the next SHT.
I have to be humane since I’m Buddhist so I guess either suggest shipping them to JB or other desert islands (Pulau Hantu or Pulau Jong) of Singapore to house them like those Terrorist in Guantanomo bay. Then we can secretly house their organs. Oops. Suppose to leave tat out.
93) KBW on February 11th, 2009 2.47 pm
You are a bit too late la. They already have this idea in mind. Why do you think they have openly discuss the Euthanasia ‘possible” mandate? So, got to keep track of this issue when it pops up again sometime in the future.
If Mahathir going to read this, he will take this opportunity to blast the ruling party right on the face. The PAPies are really “seah sway” our nation.
Damn Khaw Boon Wan. Should put his own parent, in-law & MPs in Johor nursing home or elsewhere.
What the heart thinks, the mouth speaks.
When the citizens are old, they become an eye-sore to the s’pore govt. They become a burden. The s’pore govt will NOT consider how much labour you put in for the nation or economy. When you are old, its time for you to be scrapped.
Our population is growing & ageing. The govt will be more happier if you can bury there as well since the land over here is scarce. Better to build a condo than a columbarium for you.
If anybody takes KBW advise, later stage the govt will come with a ruling of “No subside”, “No CPF medisave withdraw” or “No Insurance Coverage for patient in nursing home or hospital in foreign countries unless subjected to higher premium due to different policies”.
In Sgp land are being sold to developers at atronomical prices who in turn builds luxurious condominiums and try to sell them at even more atronomical prices. We are building resorts and other facilities to entice visitors and tourists, turning RD into a playground for the rich and well-heeled.
At the same time we have Ministars lamenting that it is too costly to build nurisng homes and should consider looking cheaper neighbouring countries.
What is the country coming to?
The ministars with their fat pay packages will the plight of the poor. With the money they retire with, they can have their own private nursing care, spas and what not.
aiyoyo
friend just pop up a query :
shouldnt own family business run by own family members only?
why let non-family members step-in & stir so many extra issues/problems?
don’t own family got enough problems on hand to solve already?
aiyoyo
Without recommendation ,some Singaporean are smart enough to know where to look for a cheap old folks home .
Are we encouraging Elderly Singaporean to go somewhere and not to be a burden to society?
Sad to say .How often do our singaporean who put their elderly at the nursing home in Singapore visited them?
I am sad that many elderly are oredi neglected by their children and are lucky enough not being landed in old folks home becos of the cost.
Recommending a cheaper solution to put them up further away will only give the children an excuse not to visit them often.
Penang’s LAM HUA EE , Taman Free School vicinity old folks home etc etc are much cheaper.But Pls .I sincerely hope that we can take care of our elders,stay with them and not simply look for cheap nursing homes.
yet again…leaving the mid income to fend for themselves…
yes..low income enjoy first class healthcare in singapore at subsidized prices..so nothing for them to worry.
mid income citizens, if you think too ex in singapore, pls go across the causeway where things are cheaper…second rated docs and medicine. not to mention the long Q on the causeway.
i am sick of all the crap talk on helping the low income and leaving the mid income to fend for themselves. who is the bulk of the people that is paying tax anyway?..
How aptly, does it not eeriely remind you that we are all “Boxers” of the “Animal Farm” that should just quietly accept our fate in the eyes of the Pigs?
Very pathetic for some of us ……..Singa..POOR..eans……..
If I don’t send the aged and old to JB or somewhere ulu, they (old/aged) will be the future threat of us “immortal” since the case of SHT is a good example. In the future whereby the old & aged population out pace the young, our Mt Olympus will be breeding ground for terrorists who will threaten our life when we don’t give them ang bao. It is un-thinkable if that comes to pass. They will fare better as spare-part organs for us then letting them stay.
Minister Khaw I beleive has a good heart and is genuinely caring. But his retort and suggestion is a typical civil service response, one based on money and expediency, in problem solving. Perhaps the scholastic army of civil servants in his ministry let me down as their formulation for a solution does not factor in the human element. People may visit their elders in nursing homes only on weekends. But I am sure the frequency of visits will increase if the need arises for medical reasons or something. With the inconvenience and difficulties in crossing to JB, visits to nursing homes may be even less frequent than weekly. Is that the direction the govt wants family care to head towards.
Why not think laterally. What’s wrong for the govt to donate land or unused state-owned buildings like schools for nursing homes so that the property costs will be lowered and become more affordable? Time the govt put money where its mouth is rather than merely organises (but not fund) and manages the people’s own CPF money for welfare and care purposes.
Under the Parents Maintenance Law, KBW should be hauled to the courts for advising ill-treatment of sick parents.
Here’s a cost-saving sugestion for the govt. Put the President on part-time contract for his reserve-guarding services. His service is called upon only once or twice in 10 years. His compensation for this period is about $40 million. Let’s say his ceremonial role is worth $500k per year, totalling $5 million for the period. Under the contract the govt pays him $2 million per decision which is subject to a penalty clause on bad decisions based on the loudness of outcry in the blogsphere. We then use the savings which can be as much as $30 million during his 2 terms in subsidy scheme to make nursing homes in Singapore more affordable. We shall call the scheme PARiS – The President Aged’s Resilience Scheme
The situation for Singaporeans has sunk to such a state….very sad.
DO YOU ALL KNOW HOW EXPENSIVE IS MEDICAL TREATMENT FOR DEMENTIA OR SENILITY?
It’s $16 per day…that is for some generic drugs not patented drugs…some cannot even afford that money for food. I have a very old relative with dementia and hypertension the medicine cost $500 every month.
How could every Singapore afford that. I wonder how could SHT’s attacker afford that treatment without govt aid? Why do so many sided with him.
I too, am reminded of Boxer from Animal Farm. He’s the horse of the farm who worked his whole life for the rulers (pigs). Then the pigs sold him to a slaughterhouse out of the farm.
I’d LOVE to retire and die in a land outside stinkapore! It’ll be a place i’ll be moving to asap, to live out a life of dignity, knowing that it will take care of me in old age.
Same here…If i am given an opportunity out of here, i will grasp it…
this MIW is making me sick to the core. to think people like he can come out with such idea. this prove that he is an elite and an extraordinary leader
Mr Khaw is an ex-malaysian. We can’t trust him. I repeat. We can’t trust him. Remember in Animal Farm, Boxer, who was the most hard working animal in the farm fell sick one day and the pigs sold him away. Remember, in the story, Boxer, upon realising where he was going to, kicked and kicked at the shut door of the vehicle that was taking him away until he, sick and weak, lost all his strength.
Our elderlies will be sent away, just like Boxer.
Remember animal farm, my dear fellow comrades.
Maybe one day the suggestion will come to use bone ashes as fertilizers
I like that phrase from the previous post–”Slaughtering the sacred khaw”
Here is another one.
Since Parliament only meets about 4 times a year, why not build a new Parliament House in JB. The old one sits on very,very PRIME land.
It can easily be sold for a tidy some –but do not let Temasek touch it.
MPs can easily drive over whenever they feel like listening to ‘cat and mouse’ or is it ‘cock and bull’ stories.
It saddens all Singaporeans that the depth to which the debate,intellect and moral of our obscenely-paid ‘!ST -class talents” has reached khaw-DUNG level.
I would say the quote of dumping the old in a foreign country is totally taken out of context. But tis also show the dangers our country is running into.
Temasek lose 58Bilion and the explaination is “bad economy, compare to other funds we are in a good shape” in street talk this is call WTF. Most interesting the news is only release when the former CEO step down in applases and cheers with hails that she is the person that has bring the company forward.
Here a Minister make a comment about where our old should going. But those it ever occur to him what it sound like?? Yes indeed it do sound like “old ppl are a burden to the country pls dump them in malayisa and make it their problem.” (of course it not as simple as that)
Plus rest of the jokes our country have being commiting the last fews years it show, the whole organisation is sick. The ppl in it is developing a crutch mentality. (E.g of singapore jokes “get off my uncaring elite face” , “Prison Break”, “mee siam with hum”and a cook’s family tour) and is really no idea how to turn everything around
This Health Minister talked like “SOOO EASY” to put S’pore Elders there, without thought How would the Malaysia Government react,,,
How bad can it goes,,only if MP take the lead,,,By putting his old mama,papa -grandma there,,,
I have lost my respect for this Minister. Had some faith in him but with these type of statements, he has joined the rest of MIW. Why? I suppose it is PAP mentality which has now lost direction. Money is all that matters to them. The Heart is almost misplaced now.
116) NORTHGATE2007 on February 11th, 2009 6.41 pm
This Health Minister talked like “SOOO EASY” to put S’pore Elders there, without thought How would the Malaysia Government react,,,
A very good point. What if Malaysia government suddenly revoke the rights given to these Singapore elders to live in Malaysia or deport them?
Singaporeans should think twice about this.
Remember the CLOB saga? Singapore government one-sided idea without consent from Malaysia results in Singaporeans paying the price.
Minister, have you thought of that?
When you are old, stop working and without an income, you are deem as useless by our elites government, as you are not contributing to CPF, income tax, GST, and less likely to spend on neccesity and luxury item.
Sadly, that is how our society functions. If you keep pay and pay, our elites government will somehow at least give you half-baked services and recognition. But if you stop pay and pay, you are told to go out of singapore and die elsewhere.
Isn’t Khaw who try to legalize suicide for old folks in Singapore imply the same things?
Good suggestion, how about sending your elites minister parents to JB nursing home?
what does he mean by coming back to singapore by ambulance for medical service? the queue at causeway is so long that the person could jolly well be dead and re-directed to a crematorium instead – the last sacrificial act of a singaporean in paying GST for funeral services in singapore.
it is very sad to think a minister (a foreigner, no less) can even propose this idea. to think we are discouraged from retiring in our own homeland if we don’t have money (never mind the fact that the SINGAPORE INC is filthy rich). lee’s daughter wrote about how she couldn’t leave singapore becos her heartstrings are tied down here. it seems only ELITES shld have theirs so; ordinary peasants shld not be expected to develop strong affinity to this piece of expensive land.
That’s how it works: when you are young and talented, you’re reminded that Singapore is Your Home, where Your Heart is.
When you’re old and poor, please be “practical” and get out of here.
I think many voters will retrench him with our votes and bring in
foreign talent who are really committed to the interested of true singaporeans
I wonder and hope there will be a public backlash for this…time for him to wake up
It is ironic that when our Malaysia-born Health Minister is suggesting shipping elderly Singaporeans to neighbouring countries, SAF is showing an advertisement that we should defend Singapore because our parents are living here. With our parents in Malaysia, so should we then abolish NS because there is nothing else to defend?
i don’t know why we continue to feed these people, to have them slowly torture us. Is this action “treason”, undermining our nation building effort?
Aiyah! just another papees bootlickers trying to score points for his master on ways they can minimize the citizens from using up their rightful medisave funds, but they can die in Johor instead.
“Mr Khaw added: ‘Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?’”
I can’t believe the above words are from the mouth of our Health Minister. I always knew there is something not quite right after he defended TT Durai. Now it is confirmed. Next, we will build a gas chamber to kill off the old and infirmed. After all, land is so expensive in Singapore, we cannot afford to keep the old and useless. Singapore is only for the talented whom we welcome with open arms. They will replace old citizens who will be kicked out of Singapore to JB or Batam or Timbucktoo.
Check out the cartoon:
So, you people can see now how these elites pad each others shoulders when one of them is in trouble. Do you still want them to be in govt next GE?
Solly hor, everybody, we will scold our son lah… when we see him once a year.
He big shot now, very busy lah.
We tell him JB no good la, weekend causeway too congested liao. We like exercise and nature. I tink better to recycle the old ships for floating nursery home. Like the floating slave hostel idea la.
No need engine. We can exercise, row the boat is very healthy one. Weekday we row out. Weekend, we row back to stinkapore. They say hor “If Mohammad cannot go to the mountain, let the mountain come to Mohammad.”
The air better on the sea.
S’poreans should be mandated to buy annuity from EPF rather than CPF….becasue our govt wants to force old S’poreans to “retire” in Johor!!!!!!!!!!
Is our govt encouraging us to dump our parents in Johor????? Is our govt shirking its responsibility of caring for senior S’poreans who have contributed to this nation??? If so, which foreigner in their right mind will take up S’pore citizenship, knowing that this govt will dump them when the become old!
Soon, KBW will also suggest to MBT to convert the hdb bombshell room to be used as space to store up all the coffins and ashes of our ancestors, so no need to waste expensive state lands, where they can start building condos and resorts to generate more revenues for the coffers. Don’t laugh! it could come true ok!
Excerpt from the Blog Feature on National Service …..
The truth speaks for itself.
We have to either plan to move on while we are able to OR let others decide the fate of your children, your wife, your parents and all those friends dear to you.
There is no sentiments just facts of Singapore
there are certain things which should never be even contemplated – we are supposed to be one big family according to you-know-who. Then why is it that people can even suggest sending our old to nursing homes in an alien environment as a `cheaper’ option?
This advanced medical directive and daily propaganda in the main stream media just makes my blood boil. The pretence at compassion and to reduce suffering – it is all about the cost, dollars and cents isn’t it?
Why is this Khaw promoting this nursing home for this investor in JB?
Why do you still insist mentally ill elderly be let out into the community when they are still unwell? – the psychiatric medicine is so expensive and without employment they default. the consequence we all know. Again it is all $ and cents about treating them in IMH isn’t it?
The message given is once the expiry date is near it is off the shelves and discarded.
The union and govt publicly tell us to work till older – but the stat boards surrepticiously do the opposite – they cut $500 from the 62 yr retiree who has contributed 40 years+ to civil service and then tell him – yours is a one year to year contract and if they need to get rid of people you WILL be the first to get kicked out.!
The words and actions don’t match – compassion and unity but in reality wider divide and stepping on the dignity of the no longer `productive’ elderly with unfilial suggestions!
Has Khaw ever sought the opinion and feelings of the elderly ones who are to be put into nursing homes in JB as another option for the harangued middle class sufferers? Do they want to go or not?
In the sense of …
If you cannot afford anything here, you can go to JB to fullfill that.
e.g. Car, makan, Sex, prostitute, anythings, you name it, we have it.
Welcome all Singaporean !!
Can the both government remove the custom, for free access ??
Ya.. also, MRT can look into that too ? build a stattion in JB ??
Alamak ?? now it’s time to do it.. cheap cost you know !
They just don’t give a shit as they all know that as long as they can come up with just anything to make or save money for the master, they will be rewarded for their job well done. So much talk about caring for the old and aged . . . . .hahaha . . . . singaporeans got screwed once too many time liao but sad . . . . alot of folks still continue working their ass out just hoping to receive their cpf ONE DAY! that day will never come as long as singaporeans allow the present system to continue.
Anyway, the amount of crap that the gahmen is throwing at us is getting worse, seems that the quantity is increasing at a ridiculous rate?
SZ #
be prepared to see more nonsense coming out from these elites, this is not the end yet, its still in the transition period with more things to surface.
140) tiredsingaporean
Absolutely true. more slip of the tongue, honest mistake, “funny” story of cat and mice will surface.
however, one good thing about this incident is the backlash at Khaw. even those who previously have a little bit of respect for him now seem to have lost it. Maybe during the next GE, i hope the Opp will be able to use all this honest mistake against them
personally I don’t mind retiring in JB. It stretches the retirement fund… BUT the causeway situation MUST improve! Relatives is not half an hour away.. but 2-3 hours is more like it. I’d probably die in the jam if I ever need an ambulance back to Singapore.
141) SZ on February 11th, 2009 11.20 pm
So much so the present situations are infact very beneficial to the opp parties which they must pay very special attention and record down all the mistakes done by members from present ruling party. It would be better if the old man kicks the bucket before the next GE as whatever been thrown out of their mouths, they will not be able to justify what they’ve said before, or probably they still think that they will be in power forever.
Ok, We got it. When u are old / sick, Govt dont want u..simple. Go to Jb suffer & die. Dont give us any probem. We only want young/healthy people in singapore. U work so hard for your country but u old get the hell out of here…Wow we are what .. piece of ????@##$23.. that’s what they treat us like..
Oh , Can the Minister please be so kind to be the first one to send his parents there and also book for himself a place…
135) sicktothebones on February 11th, 2009 10.50 pm
we are supposed to be one big family according to you-know-who.
they are referring to as in one big familees and papees, not the rest!
“…however wealthy a nation, it cannot carry health, unemployment and pension benefits without massive taxation and overloading the system, reducing the incentive to work and to save and care for one’s family – when all look to the state for welfare…Social and health welfare are like opium or heroin. People get addicted, and withdrawal of welfare benefits is very painful.” Guess who said it? Is it a fact or just a myth? Check out” http://singaporesocialactivist.blogspot.com/2009/02/myth-of-welfare-state.html
Mr Khaw is a malaysian who finally came to Singapore to chase all Singaporean away from their homeland so that he, himself, can live in comfort in the country Singaporean forefathers build with sweat and blood,. These group of Singapore builders, are now old and no longer useful. Thus Mr Khaw suggested that it is about right time for them to go away since they cannot afford to remain in Singapore be it their homeland or not.
The leaders have to lead by example.
If LKY and his wife were to be put in Johore in old folks home, then I will follow.
If Khaw and his wife were to be the first to be put in old folks home in Johore, then I will follow.
If all our Ministers and MPs were to put their old parents in the old folks home in Johore, then I will follow.
Khaw, if you really can convince all the other Ministers and MPs to lead by example, then go ahead.
My brothers and I were made to do National Service, and to defend Singapore at all costs. You, an ex-Malaysian given the honour and prestige to serve as one of our Singapore Ministers, without having to serve our National Service, want to throw me and my brothers and our wives into Johore to rot and die there at the mercy of the Malaysian authorities and into the hands of the criminals, robbers and corrupted officials as well?
I can’t help but believe that you must be a damned heartless, yes, I repeat, a damned heartless Minister I have ever known, and you got the cheek to talk about the sad state of affairs in Africa?
Is Khaw Boon Wans’ parent staying with him?
Is he taking care of his parents personally?
Anyone knows?
Confirm it in this thread and we will know where he will be heading.
patriot
Actually what you Singaporeans should do is just surrender and join back with Malaysia. Surrender not in the military sense but in that your leaders simply cannot hack it any more. You are really pushing and pricing yourself out of this world, out of your competitive edge that even your own citizens will one day be unable to survive with their low wages.
You come and join us, like a family reunion, and we will provide you with lots of low cost land, not only in Johore but also in East Malaysia. There is a lot of scope there in East Malaysia for development and for building a niche for your people.
The problem between Singapore and Malaysia is really nothing big. It is only a problem of leadership and the style of management and administration. Once your old leaders (and our old leaders too) are all dead, the past animosity would be dissolved. We can then start afresh, a new leaf, a new chapter of life living together harmoniously and amicably like brothers and sisters on the equal basis of multi-racial, multi-religion, multi-culture, etc.
If you were to single out corruption as a problem. There is corruption everywhere, even in the US, a champion of almost everything good. Can you be sure that there is no corruption in Singapore now? Legalised corruption, doing corrupted deeds in front of the wide open eyes of its powerless citizens in the broad daylight is worst than people who commit corruption under the table and behind closed doors; at least they are shameful about it and acknowledge that corruption is a crime that cannot see daylight. And they can be brought to justice if caught. However, legalised corruption cannot be brought to justice whatsoever.
Temporarily halt here. I have to go for an urgent conference.
I agree with the above.
In fact, I have been telling my children to leave Singapore as soon as they can. Malaysia will change for the better.
As more Chinese move across, their economy will improve.
If we are not super rich and connected, what’s the point of staying in Singapore. Now, they want us to die in Malaysia too.
If I run JB, I will legislate that old folks who come to Malaysian retirement homes must denounce their citizenship and Singapore has to pass over their CPF as well.
A Adullah, please pass this to your government. A suggestion from a soon-to-be deported to malaysia retirement resident.
I can definitely contribute brilliant ideas to manage Singapore’s greed and am willing to do so for a country that betrayed me.
too poor to drive. so take public bus to JB to visit elderly parents dumped there, kena robbed at knife point or worse shot dead. is there a fate wrose than this?
aiyoyo
JB so scary one huh…
so how? here ELITEs ask commoners to CONSIDER neighbour land,
while the neighbour land not so safe,
alamak left / right also cannot, how? how? how?
aiyoyo
#76) Singaporespirit on February 11th, 2009 12.51 pm
“They only want an easy solution out to their problems when in terms of $$$. They won’t go there if the price you quote is exorbitant! They don’t want to make losses in their business ventures. Who was this unknown “investor”? or con-artist? Nevermind!!!”
Do you know why our laws regarding foreign ownership of land and property in Johore have been amended? It is to prevent foreigners from owning too much of our land and properties to the extent that it becomes a political tool to fulfill a strategic aim for further expansion into our territory. And do you know why your Sg govt has been so keen to get into the Iskanda Project? Purely for business, purely about price only? No long-term objectives? Come on, don’t be so naive, lah.
=============================================
#94) T on February 11th, 2009 2.38 pm
“Abdullah – a correction here – Mr Khaw (lembu) is a Malaysian, a Penangnite to be precise.”
We know fully well what Khaw Boon Wan was. However, he has betrayed Malaysia by running away to become a Singapore citizen because of his personal selfish motives and the rewards that your Old Man has promised and given him. If he could betray his own homeland Malaysia, who can truly say that he won’t betray Singapore also?
“Don’t worry – we Singaporeans don’t want to die in Johore too. You will be doing us a great favour if you make sure this does not succeed. While you are at it, you should also tell all the Singapore investors to get out of Johore.”
Whether Singaporeans want or don’t want to die in Johore, that is your own perogative to decide, nobody can influence or force you to do otherwise.
If Singaporeans are willing to come and contribute to the economy of Johore, we will welcome them with open arms. We will not attempt to do something that is not wise or against our mutual benefits.
Investors are investors. They have ulterior motives – mainly to gain something from their investments. If they do not foresee that there is something to gain they will not venture. On our side, if people are willing to pour money into our projects, we will certainly welcome them on our terms and conditions. It is strictly business, nothing else.
=========================================
#150) SK Chan on February 12th, 2009 6.26 am
“If I run JB, I will legislate that old folks who come to Malaysian retirement homes must denounce their citizenship and Singapore has to pass over their CPF as well.”
We have a better scheme for foreigners who wish to come and live in Malaysia. There is no need to denounce your citizenship. You only need to put $150,000 ringgits into a Malaysian bank as a fixed deposit for one year. After the first year, you can draw out $90,000 ringgits to pay for your house/property, and you will be issued with a Permanent Resident Visa for 10 years, which is renewable.
No …
Middle class singaporeans are not poor. They have a good amount of their wealth in our CPF account.
Our government is hijacking these monies for their overseas shopping sprees to buy worthless banks.
After selling my HDB flat, I would have about 300 thousand which I will not get to the see the daylights of when I reach 65. I am very sure of its bleak future.
Khaw wants to capitalise on Malaysia’s cheap land to house old folks like us and milk our CPF funds. Their win-win dreaming.
The last I heard, even if I become Malaysian PR … I cannot withdraw my CPF.
Don’t know if that’s true. The thing is, why let PAP throw the old folks in your country and let them keep the CPF? !
As for me … why not become a true blue malaysian if I am going to die there anyway? Malaysia boleh …
A Abdullah,
Yours, I am naive. But if you have read about the losses that TH’s investments incurred the nation in Thailand and Indonesia in recent years, you will think otherwise.
What actions have they taken against these countries about their failed investments? Political conspiracy? None, right?
I am just a simple-minded Singaporean refusing to be blinded by acquisition of wealth at the expense of human dignity and integrity. I am saddend by the many policies that were made and are in the making in Singapore political realm.
I believe you have your own struggles and I have mine in our own countries. We all want to strive for a better home, country and future for our children. We look for leaders who place the citizen’s interests first than theirs, right?
Mistake: Yes to replace Yours in the first line.
Cowboy Caleb – The Nursing Home Debacle
[...] What a novel idea! [...]
With the local government pumping in a lot of money into Singapore’s medical industry, I feel that singapore hospitals are very good now. Top notch service with speedy service time.
A Adullah,
Malaysians don’t need to worry about Singapore invading them.
Our government only wants to exploit our neighbours for monetary gains and progress. They can’t rule anything bigger than a tiny red dot because control would be almost impossible.
It would be sad if singaporeans and malaysians see each other as enemies because we are manipulated by our leaders to think so.
Damn it … my two brothers have malaysian wives and their families have malay relatives as well.
Frankly, I doubt if I will pick up arms to go to war with Malaysia. Only LKY has an old axe to grind becos your kakis kicked him out.
KBW can talk all he likes but I think the malaysian govt is also reading all these comments here, and I think Mahathir maybe laughing now and thinking something like . . .stupid morons we have here in our ministry and they still think they are very smart.
[i]Sg govt has been so keen to get into the Iskanda Project? Purely for business, purely about price only? No long-term objectives? Come on, don’t be so naive, lah[/i]
no the mental1 love malaysia liked a brother who love his sister perhaps?
in singapoor
the same mental1 has been robbin the peasants legaLEE
together with his famiLEE
you think he just want to exchanged sin$ into ringgit?
when he labelled you malaysians
theives and robbers?
/// 153) A Abdullah. on February 12th, 2009 8.49 am
If Singaporeans are willing to come and contribute to the economy of Johore, we will welcome them with open arms. We will not attempt to do something that is not wise or against our mutual benefits. ///
Abdullah, your conspiracy theory and selectivity got the better of you.
Isn’t setting up of retirement homes and nursing homes by Singaporeans in Johore contributing to the economy of Johore? Isn’t this of mutual benefits? Think of the huge contracts for the construction of such homes. Think of the nurses, doctors, health-care personnel from Johore that will be gainfully employed. Think of the supporting industries that will bloom to support these homes – supplies, logistics, food, medicine, transport, etc. etc. etc.
Mr Health Minister, that as you can see – but after it has been pointed out to you – is a hare-brained scheme. Someone once said that if you pay them peanuts you would get monkeys. But by paying them millions of dollars what do we get? More hare-brained schemes or ideas?
Mr Health Minister, can you come up with something better? Like allocating land at low or no cost for the building of nursing homes here in Singapore? It is after all a matter or priority. Whose priority you may ask? If it is a matter of benefit to the people of Singapore then it can be a matter of priority for the people. Why do you think your million dollar salary is a matter of priority, when the majority [perhaps a huge percentage?] of Singaporeans are earning just peanuts?
Much of the land in Singapore is govt-owned; some parts of the land were acquired at minimal cost, some at certain market value and some at no cost – being just “state-land”.
If land is scarce – why do we have land being leased for golf games? Why does the govt think that playing golf is an activity that deserves to be accorded priority?
Why not use such land for more HDB flats or nursing homes?
Imagine having a spacious bedroom, airy windows looking out over a garden, birds singing in the trees, a pond filled with koi, TV in your bedroom, your own bath-tub, your own little study room with laptop and internet link-up …
Imagine eating well-cooked healthy meals — which you can pick from a menu — in a clean cafeteria, served to you by pleasant service staff …
Imagine the joy of being able to go to your own clubhouse, read books and newspapers, play mahjong or card games, sing karaoke with like-minded senior citizens, engage in ballroom dancing with a like-minded partner of the opposite sex …
Imagine being able to exercise in a gym, swim in a swimming pool, have barbecue by the pool, go for your daily massage in a spa …
Imagine being able to go on excursions — to a waterfall, to the beach, to play an occasional game of golf ….
Imagine having your living quarters cleaned by competent, pleasant staff…
Imagine having a nurse or a doctor come and attend to you needs when you fall ill…
WOULDN’T YOU LKE TO LIVE YOUR SUNSET YEARS IN SUCH AN OASIS OF SERENITY, WITH SPACIOUS GARDENS TO STROLL AROUND IN, WITH SERVICE STAFF IN ATTENDANCE…
I AM TALKING ABOUT A HOLIDAY HAVEN FOR SENIORS WHO WANT TO LIVE OUT THE REST OF THEIR LIVES HAPPPILY AND COMOFORTABLY IN THE COMPANY OF EQUALLY HAPPY AND COMFORTABLE COMPATRIOTS.
THINKS ABOUT IT, BROTHERS AND SISTERS, CREATING SUCH A HAVEN IS POSSIBLE.
YOU CAN GET IT BULT AND MANAGED IN ANY ASEAN COUNTRY — AND RETIREES WILL WANT TO LIVE IN SUCH A HAVEN AT AFFORDABLE RATES. IF THERE’S A WILL, THERE’S A WAY.
WHY NOT UBUD, WHY NOT TAGAYTAY/ WHY NOT PHUKET/ WHY NOT JB?
I have been scrutinising how the main stream media is tackling this controversy. They behave like ostriches with their heads buried in the sand – refusing to see or acknowledge the extent and depth of peasants’ feelings towards these words uttered by the immortal.
One lame letter they publish is that it is ok to put elderly parents in JB because the parents may not want to see their children. Have you heard a lamer more ridiculous viewpoint they deliberately print?
This is what is sadly wrong with the MSM – they pretend nothing happens and self-censor all feedback – so afraid fo their masters to the extent of gouging out their own eyes and ears in a desperate bid not to listen to the net buzz.
when you start measuring things like filial piety, elderly Sporeans’ dignity and loyalty – in terms of $ and cents – cheaper option one month here + 2.5 months there, etc.
you have ceased to have a human heart.
addamend
off course the recent bus 160 to johore bahru daylight parang robbery in JOHOR is just an isolated event right?
in a bus full of passengers
which only the bus capitan doin HIS job
instead of YOU the health minister
and the bus capitan get robbed with bodily injuries as well
how much is his monthLEe salary
compared to yours?
dr khaw?
he too is a malaysian
cared to comment
are you plannin to send more singapooriums to be robbed as well?
To be poor is already a sad thing, and now we are asked to die in a foreign
country ! Dr Khaw , I like your idea. Please come with us and live
in JB nursing home.
To #164 GABRIEL – I think you must be either very young or very naive. The crux of the matter is not how nice a HOUSE we can have but the possibilty of building a HOME that can support the institutions of family, community & society.
seems very insensitive for Khaw to suggest this.. might as well, he dont mention about coming back to Singapore for treatment… Malaysia also got hospital what… cheaper too… sooner or later we gonna die anyway… it won’t matter too, if we get buried in Malaysia or Singapore… the soil is same colour what…
Hope in the coming GE his ward do not have much old folks around, less there be another case like SHT, this time not from IMH, its from an old but sane person who just got his rights to die taken away from him.
Put the old man Lee in a Malaysia nursing home.
i’m sure the whole country will appreciate that.
173) Gundorwoh on February 12th, 2009 3.17 pm
We are civilized netizens la. We don’t curse people one. Their day will come naturally. You know the chinese saying: “种其因得其果”.
Hey people, why get so riled up with such a practical final solution?
To work off your outrage and post modernist angst, may I suggest the following:
1. Read George Orwell’s Animal Farm. Pay particular attention to what happens to the work horse called Boxer after he was no longer of productive use to the porky antihuman pigs. To put words in the mouth of a hypothetical Zen Master from the 18th level of Komtar Building, Georgetown: ” Under the Second Law of Temasekdynamics, no matter, energy or money is ever lost, it just gets converted – in this instance into dog food and paper-no-losses glue. ”
2. Study the history of Germany after the collapse of the Weimar Republic and the rise of a world class talent like Hitler and his Nazi colleagues. The handicapped, the mentally challenged, the Gypsies and the Jews were deemed a burden to German society and they were rounded up and railroaded via Keretapi Tanah Gestapo to concentration camps like Auschwitz Bahru.
3. Watch a nice DVD film, “The Island” where the ever-lovely Ms Scarlett and the Brit chap Ewan, live in an underground compound waiting in joyful anticipation for the Big Sweep raffle draw. If they win it, they are told that they will be sent to an island in the sun, the equivalent of paradise although one doubts it is anywhere near Pedra Branca. Steve Buscemi’s performance is worth the price of the DVD. Sit upright with your legs crossed, breathe slowly and meditate on his line : “Just because people want to eat the burger doesn’t mean they want to meet the Cow.”
This is the A-Team of PAP gov have in mind.
What a silly opinion.
I feel sadden even if Khaw has been mis-interpreted as I stongly feel that our Health Ministry should really do some serious “brainstorming” to handle the health care & ageing problem in Singapore.
Personally, I do think that it is the responsibility of the Govt to take care of it’s aged citizen especially when they have contributed much to the growth of our country irregardless whether during their “active working life” ,, they were high income earners or low wage earner.
The Govt can and must find ways to meet the needs of it’s subjects by providing such services even it mean by doing so, it may forgoes much revenves!
Why can’t the Ministry works with URA / SLA tor whichever competent authories to provide REAL special rates for operators who are running services such as nursing home for the elderly and thus impose a “standard affordable” rate to for citizens.
Of course, if one is to use the commerical value of the Land as the basis of calculation, then these is totally unworkable.
This is one Major issue that I feel that the Govt should at all costs address to. Even to the extent that they have to forgoes some “opportunity costs”!!
Any Masterplan for Quality of Life?
Soon, they say population skyrocket to 6.5mil .
Already , its skyrocketed to 4.5mil from 2 mil or so.
If you all go out sometimes, take a look at the level of congestion.
Is this Good? Or because other place like this , it means the way to go?
Even Japan tokyo is packed , they have country side to idle and relax to.
2nly, can the public infrastructure handle 6.5mil during PEAK HOURS at least,
considering the current congestion level (which can mean low congestion level, depending on what u see) you see in MRTs, Shopping Malls, Expos, PC Shows, Suntec, CityLink, etc?
Can someone tell me honestly?
Or
What to do ? Its happened? Will happen? Maybe , maybe not?
The garmen may next think of the unthinkable. How to cut loss and spend less money on the old folks. Use the Nazi’s Final Solution – albeit in an adjusted way. Instead of the death camps, gas chambers and crematoriums, they will have something else. Mysterious deaths. So, the old die and dead men tell no lies. You just never know. They have many yes men and they already have the machinery to carry out all kinds of unspeakable acts.
178) Rurehe
death camps, gas chambers and crematoriums are out of the question. construction cost and land are too expensive here, a free, quick and easy solution is the answer
I am glad we have Sylvia Lim and Low Thia Kiang in Parliament as checks. Mr Khaw says the middle class has a problem … everybody has a problem except the upper middle class and the upper classes … the government subsidizes child care, before and after school care, give out scholarships, budget money to attract tourists to SIngapore … what has it done for our elderly folks who worked hard to make Singapore what it is today? Oh, but who cares? How many elderly homes have been built and maintained by the government, and not run by charitable organisations or by private operators? I am getting on in age myself and know for sure that when my time is up, I have to depend on myself and myself alone to see the end. I’ll probably have to book into an elderly home in India, Bangladesh or in the outskirts of China because I may not even be able to afford Johor Bahru. But oh yes, do let’s spend tax money and revamp the school curriculum and teach values in school … afterall, what would we be without an education system that values the teaching of values in school. And spend money on advertisements that glamourise those who will teach values. Where are our values and priorities? Is that why we are forever reinventing a moral education curriculum? Morals cannot be taught. They must be modelled.
do i see a pattern here about short people, no offense to those here. I am only referring to the elite short type.
And our leaders should really stop talking about us becoming a more gracious society … so much talk, talk, talk and no walk. Ah, again, if they modeled it more as leaders should, perhaps, perhaps, perhaps … Graciousness translates to giving due consideration to all segments of your population, especially the elderly … you know, like supporting them in their last days instead of making them sign on a line to say they don’t want to prolong suffering … save costs … sad Singapore
Do we see a pattern here? When you reach 45, you are too old to work except as cleaners etc as they have younger foreign talent to take your place. When you are too old to work as cleaners, they want to ship you out to Johore, Batam etc. to die. You are not wanted in Singapore unless you are a President’s scholar or an elite. Truly they are telling you, “Get out of my elite uncaring face.”
Next thing you know, some other idiot ministar will suggest towing the whole island and placing it south of Hong Hong. We would then become the new motherland’s southernmost province, do away with NS coz the PLA is big enough, and become true commies, not the pseudo-commies we have been turned into.
When I die I want to die with a smile on my face.
Not in Jb.
In the South Pacific – the last Paradise on earth – the sun, the sand and the crystal clear sea.
I want my friends, the locals do a haka or war dance to lead me to the other world.
Kamate kamate kia or kia ora
tenei tangata puhuru puhuru
Whaka wheti tera.
Not to die in Sing. Too many unhappy memories about pap.
We should take up the minister’s suggestion. Let’s all the young Singaporean (except the PAP and its minister) take up residence in JB or any part of Malaysia or elsewhere.
Don’t wait until you are old and must be ambulanced across the Causeway by the government.
It’s like we singaporeans are second class citizen. Even in this recession are singaporeans getting any help.? No. They are helping PR & foreigners. These PR’s & foreigners they have their own home/land in their own country. Even PR’s who marry singaporeans, they will be rushing off to their country when there is a holiday. Can’t understand why give them privelleges like singaporeans. Example, 4months maternity leave should only be given to singaporeans not PR’s. These PR’s & foreigners come here & make money & go back to their country & live in big house with maid, & cars.. But we are here struggling to pay off our small hdb & and those who can afford a car are paying 5x more to buy a car.( By the way we are helping car manufactures as our law encourage us to buy a new car after 4 to 5 years otherwise scrap no value. Other countries cars are used for more than 10 to 15 years). And now when we are old, they are asking us to get lost…to jb.
To #149 A Adullah. on February 12th, 2009 3.08 am.
Agree with your post. Actually I have friends who are Malaysians or considering quitting Singapore to go to Malaysia. Corruption exists (both legal and under-table type) in Singapore, most people are just conned by our good news propaganda mainstream media that it is otherwise.
Anyway, we got a poor quality minister who quitted from Penang here in Singapore. No heart, despite officially claimed to be a devout Buddhist. Might as well return him to Malaysia. He probably cannot make it there, with the better quality MP candidates in Penang.
187) Freedom on February 14th, 2009 12.35 am
They are helping PR & foreigners. Why?
They are not helping them for no reason. Remember, PR then to given citizenships to help them cast more votes. What do you people think those PR turned citizenships will vote come next GE? These are one of their party stragedy to keep them in power, ever knowing that they are losing more and more popularity since LHL took over office as PM?.
189) tiredsingaporean on February 14th, 2009 1.41 am
They are not helping them for no reason. Remember, PR then to given citizenships to help them cast more votes. What do you people think those PR turned citizenships will vote come next GE? These are one of their party stragedy to keep them in power, ever knowing that they are losing more and more popularity since LHL took over office as PM?.
Especially those from China & Burma. Who want to go back to the communist country or the place rule by the junta? There why S’pore govt influx a large number of China nationals regardless skillful or not.
# 190) simpson
Can’t imagine the amount of messed ups, debts and account depletions would be left behind for the people to clean up should the papees party collapse one day. If not for the global financial melt down, nobody will ever know how much dirty things were being kept away from the people, rather would say its a blessing in disguise for singapore to have found out the truth after almost 50 years of living in the land of lies.
Minister Khaw: “Many other sins you can plead to your God and say, sorry, I repent … But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
Well, Minister Khaw, lack of responsibility as a minister, you will be relegated to the 19th level of hell! Your job is to make health care affordable so that our senior citizen can enjoy affordable and good health care in SINGAPORE! Don’t shift all these poor old folks to Batam.
Maybe out of cost consideration, we should also source for our ministers in JB, Batam etc. They will come cheaper and work harder than the current batch of taking everything, do nothing substantial, shift everything irresponsible bunch.
Look at the smug face of Minister Khaw as he said that!
Seems like everything is reduced to dollar and cents.
OK, we should then sack all the whole cabinet and source for cheaper and better ministers and MPs elsewhere, lah.
What do you expect a betrayal of his own country to do? If he can betray his country once, he can do that again to his adopted country. 18th level in hell is nothing to him la. He can buy the devil off la. He and many others of his colleagues had already sold their souls to the devil, what else is there for them to fear the devil again? I really want to hear those native born Ministers (particularly the older guards, have you all forgotten how you get there?). Go on and do more sensless decision, I encourage you to do it. The more you do , the nearer the day will come. 你们应该知道“逼虎跳墙“会有怎样的后果。
http://luntan.zaobao.com/viewthread.php?tid=129113&extra=page%3D3&page=1
昨天我发了一帖说部长乱说话,会影响来届大选的选票,现在又来一个许文远。
他说:《病人的家属可在周末到新山探访他们。》
周末,长堤常常堵车好几小时。。。。。。
一国的政府,好比一家的父母。如果父母无法照顾好自家的子女,而要由他家来照顾,怎么说得过去?
could not believe my eyes when I read the news report on the Internet about our Minister asking Singaporeans to consider living in nursing homes in neighboring JB.
I am not going to debate the economics of such option. It is simply a national shame when we cannot house our aged sick in their birthplace (mother land), let alone having to rely on so many imported foreign nationals to look after them in Singapore, which in itself is already a sad phenomenon.
Gratitude and filial piety cannot be justified with economics. At all cost, we must be grateful to our aged sick and bear the economic burden to care for them. The State providing care for our aged sick is not “lavish Western Welfarism”, but putting into practice and setting a fine example of the Asian value of filial piety, which unfortunately up to now can only be a nice slogan in Singapore.
I found that many people share the same views regardless they are from they are from the English or Chinese forum. What does that mean? That means KBW’s suggestion is totally wrong! right?
As a Health Minister, he shouldn’t make this silly suggestion.
174) Syed …
“The life you think you had … never happened!” – “The Island”
http://www.apple.com/trailers/dreamworks/the_island/large.html
Let the PAP leaders show us by example. How abt we put the old Mrs LKY in a JB nursing home now?
Totally agree with Northern Exposure on comment #7.
Why do we have the land to build endless shopping malls which essentially has the same old shops, at a time when pple r tightening their belts, but not the land to build affordable old folks home?
Smone shld go round & ask the old folks wat they feel abt being placed in a home outside the country they have lived their whole lives and slogged for; most of them wouldnt want to spend their last moments outside of home.
Our elderly are just mere humans, who suffer from loneliness, aging, sickness, all of which make them feel vulnerable and fragile mentally. Economically it makes sense to ‘put’ them in JB, but where is the compassion? Does it make sense psychologically?
The words of a leader carry alot of weight. Making suggestions and policies based on economics would not strengthen the social fabric of the society. Such statements will just impart wrong values to the next generation and make the society a cold and harsh place to live in.
I conclude by wondering aloud if any govt body is reading and thinking through the 200 comments posted here.
Aren’t the online forums the best feedback unit the govt can get?
Mad Khaw Disease
When we sing “This is my country, this is my home” with gusto
The following line for me will be “Now I’m old and living alone”
Pills patented by “Cow” for your aged parents for effective cost savings.
Guaranteed death in 1 min. approved by health ministry.
“Reduce, reuse and recycle” send your aged parents to the recycle bins and help protect the environment. “Blood and bones are good to be used as fertilisers.
Be part a graceful nation, contribute generously.
I have an old mom in her 90’s. I am not ding well and also 60. Siblings are also not doing well. all are elderly and we could not effort to look after her. Its hard to get a subsidy in singapore. to get a place in a nursing home. Lots of paper work and maybe if lucky one gets about 50% subsidy. yet the waiting list is long. Even with subsidy one may have to cough out about $1000 + every month. Phoooo…how to cope. Sad…that a woman who layed the bricks for this nation building has no place in singapore….The govt should look into this and solve the problem , then to sugest JB. I have no heart to send her away…but at the same time cant cope in singapore…God should save the old.
The government can built quarters for Foreign Workers in Serangoon Gardens but want to send old folks to JB? What does it mean? Old people who had contributed to Singapore when they are young are considered a liability and worse than Foreign Workers now?
Why can’t they built an old folks home in Serangoon Garden instead? There is a huge demand for subsidized nursing homes in Singapore and the government refused to meet this demands.
Sambawang people please take note: If you continue to vote this kind of people into the parliament, more unkind policies will be implemented like euthanasia, and in the end you are the ones that are going to suffer.
[b]Election is coming and it is time for some housekeeping.[/b]
KBW pales significantly as compared to Chee Soon Juan. This scared cow will not be worshiped even in India.
Don’t be jealous. Minister Khaw is pratical just like majority of Singaporeans. Got money stay in Singapore,. No money go to Johore. Completely broke, don’t exist in this world anymore!
199) April
and the opposition should use that as a tactic too, especially if they are fighting in that GRC. remind them that MP was the one who make the suggestion and do they want it to come true
If our old folks are to stay in a nursing home in JB, then build the nursing home next to a cemetry. They won’t last very long anyway.
Instead of sending our old folks to a nursing home, why not bring nurses into our homes?
The govt has lost touch with the people on the ground.
Unfortunately, who to blame but us – we voted them in every single time.
I truly believe that given a choice, no old folk will like to be seperated from their next of kin. They will rather be around their children, grandchildren, etc.
Who will like to spend the entire week yearning for their kins to appear in the doorway?
KBW should realized that we are still an asian society. Before he speaks, perhaps he should instead ask the question : “Why are our young sending the old to “rest” in another country? What is so fundamentally wrong in Singapore, that the people are not able to support their parents in their homeland, in their twlight years?”
Yes, we can afford to lose 58 billion, maybe now 100 billion (yup, we are still doing better than the indexes), yet still not have enough resources to do something so that our folks can remain in a place close to their hearts, called “Home”…
It seems that to our govt, “Home” is defined as a place to be if you have the money. So why then, are we still being inundated with this message of serving our nation and protecting our “Homeland” when according to their definition, our “Home” is a faraway place in JB in our twlight?
It is a very great sin to use our money to lose big time and yet refuse to take care of our old folks, and still has the audacity to tell (to put it nicely, suggest) our people to put their sick old folks in JB?
Never think of the consequences as to what the Malaysian Govt would do later on.
Never think of the danger we will be exposing our old folks to if there is a war between Singapore and Malaysia.
Who can guarantee that there won’t be a war?
Even with a strong SAF, nobody can confidently predict that there won’t be any war between the two countries.
I just wonder, if there is a war, where will Khaw Boon Wan’s loyalty be?
Some Fishy Business « Kaiz’s Footprints
[...] Alternative arrangements. Remember a certain minister who is very excited about the idea of nursing homes in Johor Bahru (JB) because the cost is significantly [...]
stupid places with stupid things. « 【hl’s Selective Amnesia】❤
[...] and although it’s cheaper to stay at JB but what for we give them chance to tax us and earn our money.. dont need to build nursing home in JB lah! make the nursing home in singapore cheaper!! article here [...]
An alternative option to reduce cost of nursing home for the aged is not a bad idea. That option itself brough with it issues that must be discuss in depth. The gahment will have to make arrangement with Malaysia custom to offer speedy custom clearance for ambulance carrying sick patients otherwise, delay in medical attention will cost life. I suppose if the idea get the go ahead, the next step is to build a hospital there specifically to cater for the need of the homes? Doctors and nurses could compute there. Rich Malaysian could use it as well.Win win I suppose.
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

We can import ministers from Penang, they can charge us less.