The following are three reports from the Straits Times (2009) and from Today (2006) reporting Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan’s remarks about cheaper nursing homes which Singaporeans can go to, in neighbouring countries, and the exchange in Parliament on 10 Feb, 2009, between Mr Khaw and Workers’ Party MPs, Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim.
In 2009:
Straits Times, Feb 10:
SINGAPOREANS could consider living in nursing homes in neighbouring Johor Baru, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested yesterday.
It would be cheaper, yet be near enough to Singapore for family members to visit and for residents to return for medical care if necessary, he said.
He told Parliament yesterday that he recently visited a site in Johor Baru where a Singaporean investor was planning to build a 200-bed nursing home.
He asked the investor about the costs involved, and was stunned at how low they were.
He said: ‘It is mind-boggling. The cost of land and construction cost is so low that my cost of putting up just a polyclinic (in Singapore) is probably more than his cost of putting up a 200-bed nursing home (in Johor Baru).
‘The monthly cost of keeping a resident in a private nursing home in Singapore, you can stretch it easily to pay at least 2-1/2 months of nursing home care in Johor Baru.’
If any medical problems cropped up, the elderly could be taken back to Singapore by ambulance, he said.
For most Singaporeans, visiting a relative in a Johor Baru nursing home would not pose significant difficulties, he said.
The investor, who is a nursing home chief executive, told him that many people visited their relatives weekly, even in nursing homes in Singapore.
Mr Khaw added: ‘Of course many visit daily, but quite a significant number visit only during the weekends, so what is the difference in putting them in Johor Baru?’
In 2006
Today, April 22
Dumping parents worst sin, says Khaw
Minister clarifies comments made on creating retirement homes in nearby countries
HIS recent comments on creating retirement villages in neighbouring countries have caused a mini-controversy, but Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan said he was misquoted.
“My comment on retirement was completely incidental. Now it has blown up into a big story and there is so much misunderstanding and accusation (that) Khaw Boon Wan is proposing that we dump our parents
in Batam,” said Mr Khaw after an event on Friday.
He was referring to an interview done with MediaCorp’s Channel 8 this week, in which he was quoted as saying: “My personal view is, our land is expensive. But we have nearby neighbours in Johor, Batam and
Bintan. The elderly want to reach their doctors within half to one hour. So retirement villages in neighbouring countries is possible, barring the cross-border hassle. It is best to find cheap land on
short leases.”
This sparked a mini-debate, with readers cautioning against the “exile” or “banishment” of old folks away from their homeland and the implications of such a move.
Speaking to reporters on Friday, Mr Khaw said his proposal has been misunderstood to mean that Singaporeans “dump” their parents in nearby countries.
“The question (from the reporter) was that there were developers who said that land here is rather expensive,” he clarified. “And that’s why I notice that Minister Mah Bow Tan has now shortened the lease, so hopefully land price (in Singapore) will become cheaper. But then they (the developers) said all right, Batam is even cheaper. So I said well, if Batam is even cheaper, then it’s up to you.”
Hence, the decision to locate retirement villages outside of Singapore is up to the private developers and the market — not the Government, he said.
But no matter where the villages are, Singaporeans should not neglect the old, said Mr Khaw.
“You can have a retirement village in Toa Payoh but if your motive is really to dump your parents, that to me is wrong. Whether it’s in Batam or in Toa Payoh or in Ang Mo Kio, it’s all wrong.
Mr Khaw, a Buddhist who comes from a “absolutely Confucianist” background, said to him, not being filial is the worst sin possible.
“Many other sins you can plead to your God and say, sorry, I repent … But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
————
Response from the Workers’ Party MPs – Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim (Straits Times, Feb 10)
A SUGGESTION by Health Minister that Singaporeans might want to consider staying at a nursing home across the Causeway in Johor where it is much cheaper drew flak from two oppostion MPs in Parliament on Tuesday.
Workers’ Party chairman and Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim said the suggestion was ‘quite a bad indication of affordability of our own health care services here, and also a reflection of our national values’.
Fellow WP member Low Thia Kiang (Hougang) asked: ‘Is the Minister suggesting that Singaporeans who cannot afford medical treatment or step-down care here should now consider such facilities in Johor?’
If so, is the minister ‘outsourcing the Government’s responsibility to provide affordable health care service to Malaysia’, he asked.
This riled Mr Khaw Boon Wan.
‘I’m not saying that if you are poor I will put you in an ambulance, send you across the Causeway to a Johor nursing home. That is not what I said and please don’t twist my words,’ he retorted.
In fact, the Johor option is not for the poor, who are heavily subsidised in Singapore.
‘Everybody can afford health care in Singapore whether acute care or long-term care,’ said Mr Khaw.
The suggestion was aimed at middle-income families who need to pay for the care themselves. It gives them choice.
‘I just wanted to point out to Singaporeans that there are options like this,’ Mr Khaw said.
The cost of nursing home care will always be more expensive in Singapore, as doctors and nurses are paid more, and construction cost is also higher.
Since many people visit the elderly in homes only on weekends, it makes little difference whether the person is housed here or in nearby Johor.
It’s part of globalisation and this is already happening with Singaporeans going to Bangkok for Lasik to treat short sightedness and Americans and Russians coming here for treatment.
It is also not something that should, or can, be prevented, said the minister.
Singaporeans are already crossing the causeway for cheaper petrol and medicine.
‘By allowing the flexibility of consumers walking across the Causeway… they benefit. I don’t think we should constrain them from doing so.’
———–

#76) Singaporespirit on February 11th, 2009 12.51 pm
“They only want an easy solution out to their problems when in terms of $$$. They won’t go there if the price you quote is exorbitant! They don’t want to make losses in their business ventures. Who was this unknown “investor”? or con-artist? Nevermind!!!”
Do you know why our laws regarding foreign ownership of land and property in Johore have been amended? It is to prevent foreigners from owning too much of our land and properties to the extent that it becomes a political tool to fulfill a strategic aim for further expansion into our territory. And do you know why your Sg govt has been so keen to get into the Iskanda Project? Purely for business, purely about price only? No long-term objectives? Come on, don’t be so naive, lah.
=============================================
#94) T on February 11th, 2009 2.38 pm
“Abdullah – a correction here – Mr Khaw (lembu) is a Malaysian, a Penangnite to be precise.”
We know fully well what Khaw Boon Wan was. However, he has betrayed Malaysia by running away to become a Singapore citizen because of his personal selfish motives and the rewards that your Old Man has promised and given him. If he could betray his own homeland Malaysia, who can truly say that he won’t betray Singapore also?
“Don’t worry – we Singaporeans don’t want to die in Johore too. You will be doing us a great favour if you make sure this does not succeed. While you are at it, you should also tell all the Singapore investors to get out of Johore.”
Whether Singaporeans want or don’t want to die in Johore, that is your own perogative to decide, nobody can influence or force you to do otherwise.
If Singaporeans are willing to come and contribute to the economy of Johore, we will welcome them with open arms. We will not attempt to do something that is not wise or against our mutual benefits.
Investors are investors. They have ulterior motives – mainly to gain something from their investments. If they do not foresee that there is something to gain they will not venture. On our side, if people are willing to pour money into our projects, we will certainly welcome them on our terms and conditions. It is strictly business, nothing else.
=========================================
#150) SK Chan on February 12th, 2009 6.26 am
“If I run JB, I will legislate that old folks who come to Malaysian retirement homes must denounce their citizenship and Singapore has to pass over their CPF as well.”
We have a better scheme for foreigners who wish to come and live in Malaysia. There is no need to denounce your citizenship. You only need to put $150,000 ringgits into a Malaysian bank as a fixed deposit for one year. After the first year, you can draw out $90,000 ringgits to pay for your house/property, and you will be issued with a Permanent Resident Visa for 10 years, which is renewable.
No …
Middle class singaporeans are not poor. They have a good amount of their wealth in our CPF account.
Our government is hijacking these monies for their overseas shopping sprees to buy worthless banks.
After selling my HDB flat, I would have about 300 thousand which I will not get to the see the daylights of when I reach 65. I am very sure of its bleak future.
Khaw wants to capitalise on Malaysia’s cheap land to house old folks like us and milk our CPF funds. Their win-win dreaming.
The last I heard, even if I become Malaysian PR … I cannot withdraw my CPF.
Don’t know if that’s true. The thing is, why let PAP throw the old folks in your country and let them keep the CPF? !
As for me … why not become a true blue malaysian if I am going to die there anyway? Malaysia boleh …
A Abdullah,
Yours, I am naive. But if you have read about the losses that TH’s investments incurred the nation in Thailand and Indonesia in recent years, you will think otherwise.
What actions have they taken against these countries about their failed investments? Political conspiracy? None, right?
I am just a simple-minded Singaporean refusing to be blinded by acquisition of wealth at the expense of human dignity and integrity. I am saddend by the many policies that were made and are in the making in Singapore political realm.
I believe you have your own struggles and I have mine in our own countries. We all want to strive for a better home, country and future for our children. We look for leaders who place the citizen’s interests first than theirs, right?
Mistake: Yes to replace Yours in the first line.
With the local government pumping in a lot of money into Singapore’s medical industry, I feel that singapore hospitals are very good now. Top notch service with speedy service time.
A Adullah,
Malaysians don’t need to worry about Singapore invading them.
Our government only wants to exploit our neighbours for monetary gains and progress. They can’t rule anything bigger than a tiny red dot because control would be almost impossible.
It would be sad if singaporeans and malaysians see each other as enemies because we are manipulated by our leaders to think so.
Damn it … my two brothers have malaysian wives and their families have malay relatives as well.
Frankly, I doubt if I will pick up arms to go to war with Malaysia. Only LKY has an old axe to grind becos your kakis kicked him out.
KBW can talk all he likes but I think the malaysian govt is also reading all these comments here, and I think Mahathir maybe laughing now and thinking something like . . .stupid morons we have here in our ministry and they still think they are very smart.
[i]Sg govt has been so keen to get into the Iskanda Project? Purely for business, purely about price only? No long-term objectives? Come on, don’t be so naive, lah[/i]
no the mental1 love malaysia liked a brother who love his sister perhaps?
in singapoor
the same mental1 has been robbin the peasants legaLEE
together with his famiLEE
you think he just want to exchanged sin$ into ringgit?
when he labelled you malaysians
theives and robbers?
/// 153) A Abdullah. on February 12th, 2009 8.49 am
If Singaporeans are willing to come and contribute to the economy of Johore, we will welcome them with open arms. We will not attempt to do something that is not wise or against our mutual benefits. ///
Abdullah, your conspiracy theory and selectivity got the better of you.
Isn’t setting up of retirement homes and nursing homes by Singaporeans in Johore contributing to the economy of Johore? Isn’t this of mutual benefits? Think of the huge contracts for the construction of such homes. Think of the nurses, doctors, health-care personnel from Johore that will be gainfully employed. Think of the supporting industries that will bloom to support these homes – supplies, logistics, food, medicine, transport, etc. etc. etc.
Mr Health Minister, that as you can see – but after it has been pointed out to you – is a hare-brained scheme. Someone once said that if you pay them peanuts you would get monkeys. But by paying them millions of dollars what do we get? More hare-brained schemes or ideas?
Mr Health Minister, can you come up with something better? Like allocating land at low or no cost for the building of nursing homes here in Singapore? It is after all a matter or priority. Whose priority you may ask? If it is a matter of benefit to the people of Singapore then it can be a matter of priority for the people. Why do you think your million dollar salary is a matter of priority, when the majority [perhaps a huge percentage?] of Singaporeans are earning just peanuts?
Much of the land in Singapore is govt-owned; some parts of the land were acquired at minimal cost, some at certain market value and some at no cost – being just “state-land”.
If land is scarce – why do we have land being leased for golf games? Why does the govt think that playing golf is an activity that deserves to be accorded priority?
Why not use such land for more HDB flats or nursing homes?
Imagine having a spacious bedroom, airy windows looking out over a garden, birds singing in the trees, a pond filled with koi, TV in your bedroom, your own bath-tub, your own little study room with laptop and internet link-up …
Imagine eating well-cooked healthy meals — which you can pick from a menu — in a clean cafeteria, served to you by pleasant service staff …
Imagine the joy of being able to go to your own clubhouse, read books and newspapers, play mahjong or card games, sing karaoke with like-minded senior citizens, engage in ballroom dancing with a like-minded partner of the opposite sex …
Imagine being able to exercise in a gym, swim in a swimming pool, have barbecue by the pool, go for your daily massage in a spa …
Imagine being able to go on excursions — to a waterfall, to the beach, to play an occasional game of golf ….
Imagine having your living quarters cleaned by competent, pleasant staff…
Imagine having a nurse or a doctor come and attend to you needs when you fall ill…
WOULDN’T YOU LKE TO LIVE YOUR SUNSET YEARS IN SUCH AN OASIS OF SERENITY, WITH SPACIOUS GARDENS TO STROLL AROUND IN, WITH SERVICE STAFF IN ATTENDANCE…
I AM TALKING ABOUT A HOLIDAY HAVEN FOR SENIORS WHO WANT TO LIVE OUT THE REST OF THEIR LIVES HAPPPILY AND COMOFORTABLY IN THE COMPANY OF EQUALLY HAPPY AND COMFORTABLE COMPATRIOTS.
THINKS ABOUT IT, BROTHERS AND SISTERS, CREATING SUCH A HAVEN IS POSSIBLE.
YOU CAN GET IT BULT AND MANAGED IN ANY ASEAN COUNTRY — AND RETIREES WILL WANT TO LIVE IN SUCH A HAVEN AT AFFORDABLE RATES. IF THERE’S A WILL, THERE’S A WAY.
WHY NOT UBUD, WHY NOT TAGAYTAY/ WHY NOT PHUKET/ WHY NOT JB?
I have been scrutinising how the main stream media is tackling this controversy. They behave like ostriches with their heads buried in the sand – refusing to see or acknowledge the extent and depth of peasants’ feelings towards these words uttered by the immortal.
One lame letter they publish is that it is ok to put elderly parents in JB because the parents may not want to see their children. Have you heard a lamer more ridiculous viewpoint they deliberately print?
This is what is sadly wrong with the MSM – they pretend nothing happens and self-censor all feedback – so afraid fo their masters to the extent of gouging out their own eyes and ears in a desperate bid not to listen to the net buzz.
when you start measuring things like filial piety, elderly Sporeans’ dignity and loyalty – in terms of $ and cents – cheaper option one month here + 2.5 months there, etc.
you have ceased to have a human heart.
addamend
off course the recent bus 160 to johore bahru daylight parang robbery in JOHOR is just an isolated event right?
in a bus full of passengers
which only the bus capitan doin HIS job
instead of YOU the health minister
and the bus capitan get robbed with bodily injuries as well
how much is his monthLEe salary
compared to yours?
dr khaw?
he too is a malaysian
cared to comment
are you plannin to send more singapooriums to be robbed as well?
To be poor is already a sad thing, and now we are asked to die in a foreign
country ! Dr Khaw , I like your idea. Please come with us and live
in JB nursing home.
To #164 GABRIEL – I think you must be either very young or very naive. The crux of the matter is not how nice a HOUSE we can have but the possibilty of building a HOME that can support the institutions of family, community & society.
seems very insensitive for Khaw to suggest this.. might as well, he dont mention about coming back to Singapore for treatment… Malaysia also got hospital what… cheaper too… sooner or later we gonna die anyway… it won’t matter too, if we get buried in Malaysia or Singapore… the soil is same colour what…
Hope in the coming GE his ward do not have much old folks around, less there be another case like SHT, this time not from IMH, its from an old but sane person who just got his rights to die taken away from him.
Put the old man Lee in a Malaysia nursing home.
i’m sure the whole country will appreciate that.
173) Gundorwoh on February 12th, 2009 3.17 pm
We are civilized netizens la. We don’t curse people one. Their day will come naturally. You know the chinese saying: “种其因得其果”.
Hey people, why get so riled up with such a practical final solution?
To work off your outrage and post modernist angst, may I suggest the following:
1. Read George Orwell’s Animal Farm. Pay particular attention to what happens to the work horse called Boxer after he was no longer of productive use to the porky antihuman pigs. To put words in the mouth of a hypothetical Zen Master from the 18th level of Komtar Building, Georgetown: ” Under the Second Law of Temasekdynamics, no matter, energy or money is ever lost, it just gets converted – in this instance into dog food and paper-no-losses glue. ”
2. Study the history of Germany after the collapse of the Weimar Republic and the rise of a world class talent like Hitler and his Nazi colleagues. The handicapped, the mentally challenged, the Gypsies and the Jews were deemed a burden to German society and they were rounded up and railroaded via Keretapi Tanah Gestapo to concentration camps like Auschwitz Bahru.
3. Watch a nice DVD film, “The Island” where the ever-lovely Ms Scarlett and the Brit chap Ewan, live in an underground compound waiting in joyful anticipation for the Big Sweep raffle draw. If they win it, they are told that they will be sent to an island in the sun, the equivalent of paradise although one doubts it is anywhere near Pedra Branca. Steve Buscemi’s performance is worth the price of the DVD. Sit upright with your legs crossed, breathe slowly and meditate on his line : “Just because people want to eat the burger doesn’t mean they want to meet the Cow.”
This is the A-Team of PAP gov have in mind.
What a silly opinion.
I feel sadden even if Khaw has been mis-interpreted as I stongly feel that our Health Ministry should really do some serious “brainstorming” to handle the health care & ageing problem in Singapore.
Personally, I do think that it is the responsibility of the Govt to take care of it’s aged citizen especially when they have contributed much to the growth of our country irregardless whether during their “active working life” ,, they were high income earners or low wage earner.
The Govt can and must find ways to meet the needs of it’s subjects by providing such services even it mean by doing so, it may forgoes much revenves!
Why can’t the Ministry works with URA / SLA tor whichever competent authories to provide REAL special rates for operators who are running services such as nursing home for the elderly and thus impose a “standard affordable” rate to for citizens.
Of course, if one is to use the commerical value of the Land as the basis of calculation, then these is totally unworkable.
This is one Major issue that I feel that the Govt should at all costs address to. Even to the extent that they have to forgoes some “opportunity costs”!!
Soon, they say population skyrocket to 6.5mil .
Already , its skyrocketed to 4.5mil from 2 mil or so.
If you all go out sometimes, take a look at the level of congestion.
Is this Good? Or because other place like this , it means the way to go?
Even Japan tokyo is packed , they have country side to idle and relax to.
2nly, can the public infrastructure handle 6.5mil during PEAK HOURS at least,
considering the current congestion level (which can mean low congestion level, depending on what u see) you see in MRTs, Shopping Malls, Expos, PC Shows, Suntec, CityLink, etc?
Can someone tell me honestly?
Or
What to do ? Its happened? Will happen? Maybe , maybe not?
The garmen may next think of the unthinkable. How to cut loss and spend less money on the old folks. Use the Nazi’s Final Solution – albeit in an adjusted way. Instead of the death camps, gas chambers and crematoriums, they will have something else. Mysterious deaths. So, the old die and dead men tell no lies. You just never know. They have many yes men and they already have the machinery to carry out all kinds of unspeakable acts.
178) Rurehe
death camps, gas chambers and crematoriums are out of the question. construction cost and land are too expensive here, a free, quick and easy solution is the answer
I am glad we have Sylvia Lim and Low Thia Kiang in Parliament as checks. Mr Khaw says the middle class has a problem … everybody has a problem except the upper middle class and the upper classes … the government subsidizes child care, before and after school care, give out scholarships, budget money to attract tourists to SIngapore … what has it done for our elderly folks who worked hard to make Singapore what it is today? Oh, but who cares? How many elderly homes have been built and maintained by the government, and not run by charitable organisations or by private operators? I am getting on in age myself and know for sure that when my time is up, I have to depend on myself and myself alone to see the end. I’ll probably have to book into an elderly home in India, Bangladesh or in the outskirts of China because I may not even be able to afford Johor Bahru. But oh yes, do let’s spend tax money and revamp the school curriculum and teach values in school … afterall, what would we be without an education system that values the teaching of values in school. And spend money on advertisements that glamourise those who will teach values. Where are our values and priorities? Is that why we are forever reinventing a moral education curriculum? Morals cannot be taught. They must be modelled.
do i see a pattern here about short people, no offense to those here. I am only referring to the elite short type.
And our leaders should really stop talking about us becoming a more gracious society … so much talk, talk, talk and no walk. Ah, again, if they modeled it more as leaders should, perhaps, perhaps, perhaps … Graciousness translates to giving due consideration to all segments of your population, especially the elderly … you know, like supporting them in their last days instead of making them sign on a line to say they don’t want to prolong suffering … save costs … sad Singapore
Do we see a pattern here? When you reach 45, you are too old to work except as cleaners etc as they have younger foreign talent to take your place. When you are too old to work as cleaners, they want to ship you out to Johore, Batam etc. to die. You are not wanted in Singapore unless you are a President’s scholar or an elite. Truly they are telling you, “Get out of my elite uncaring face.”
Next thing you know, some other idiot ministar will suggest towing the whole island and placing it south of Hong Hong. We would then become the new motherland’s southernmost province, do away with NS coz the PLA is big enough, and become true commies, not the pseudo-commies we have been turned into.
When I die I want to die with a smile on my face.
Not in Jb.
In the South Pacific – the last Paradise on earth – the sun, the sand and the crystal clear sea.
I want my friends, the locals do a haka or war dance to lead me to the other world.
Kamate kamate kia or kia ora
tenei tangata puhuru puhuru
Whaka wheti tera.
Not to die in Sing. Too many unhappy memories about pap.
We should take up the minister’s suggestion. Let’s all the young Singaporean (except the PAP and its minister) take up residence in JB or any part of Malaysia or elsewhere.
Don’t wait until you are old and must be ambulanced across the Causeway by the government.
It’s like we singaporeans are second class citizen. Even in this recession are singaporeans getting any help.? No. They are helping PR & foreigners. These PR’s & foreigners they have their own home/land in their own country. Even PR’s who marry singaporeans, they will be rushing off to their country when there is a holiday. Can’t understand why give them privelleges like singaporeans. Example, 4months maternity leave should only be given to singaporeans not PR’s. These PR’s & foreigners come here & make money & go back to their country & live in big house with maid, & cars.. But we are here struggling to pay off our small hdb & and those who can afford a car are paying 5x more to buy a car.( By the way we are helping car manufactures as our law encourage us to buy a new car after 4 to 5 years otherwise scrap no value. Other countries cars are used for more than 10 to 15 years). And now when we are old, they are asking us to get lost…to jb.
To #149 A Adullah. on February 12th, 2009 3.08 am.
Agree with your post. Actually I have friends who are Malaysians or considering quitting Singapore to go to Malaysia. Corruption exists (both legal and under-table type) in Singapore, most people are just conned by our good news propaganda mainstream media that it is otherwise.
Anyway, we got a poor quality minister who quitted from Penang here in Singapore. No heart, despite officially claimed to be a devout Buddhist. Might as well return him to Malaysia. He probably cannot make it there, with the better quality MP candidates in Penang.
187) Freedom on February 14th, 2009 12.35 am
They are helping PR & foreigners. Why?
They are not helping them for no reason. Remember, PR then to given citizenships to help them cast more votes. What do you people think those PR turned citizenships will vote come next GE? These are one of their party stragedy to keep them in power, ever knowing that they are losing more and more popularity since LHL took over office as PM?.
189) tiredsingaporean on February 14th, 2009 1.41 am
They are not helping them for no reason. Remember, PR then to given citizenships to help them cast more votes. What do you people think those PR turned citizenships will vote come next GE? These are one of their party stragedy to keep them in power, ever knowing that they are losing more and more popularity since LHL took over office as PM?.
Especially those from China & Burma. Who want to go back to the communist country or the place rule by the junta? There why S’pore govt influx a large number of China nationals regardless skillful or not.
# 190) simpson
Can’t imagine the amount of messed ups, debts and account depletions would be left behind for the people to clean up should the papees party collapse one day. If not for the global financial melt down, nobody will ever know how much dirty things were being kept away from the people, rather would say its a blessing in disguise for singapore to have found out the truth after almost 50 years of living in the land of lies.
Minister Khaw: “Many other sins you can plead to your God and say, sorry, I repent … But lack of filial piety, dumping your parents is inexcusable. Straight down to the 18th level of hell!”
Well, Minister Khaw, lack of responsibility as a minister, you will be relegated to the 19th level of hell! Your job is to make health care affordable so that our senior citizen can enjoy affordable and good health care in SINGAPORE! Don’t shift all these poor old folks to Batam.
Maybe out of cost consideration, we should also source for our ministers in JB, Batam etc. They will come cheaper and work harder than the current batch of taking everything, do nothing substantial, shift everything irresponsible bunch.
Look at the smug face of Minister Khaw as he said that!
Seems like everything is reduced to dollar and cents.
OK, we should then sack all the whole cabinet and source for cheaper and better ministers and MPs elsewhere, lah.
What do you expect a betrayal of his own country to do? If he can betray his country once, he can do that again to his adopted country. 18th level in hell is nothing to him la. He can buy the devil off la. He and many others of his colleagues had already sold their souls to the devil, what else is there for them to fear the devil again? I really want to hear those native born Ministers (particularly the older guards, have you all forgotten how you get there?). Go on and do more sensless decision, I encourage you to do it. The more you do , the nearer the day will come. 你们应该知道“逼虎跳墙“会有怎样的后果。
http://luntan.zaobao.com/viewthread.php?tid=129113&extra=page%3D3&page=1
昨天我发了一帖说部长乱说话,会影响来届大选的选票,现在又来一个许文远。
他说:《病人的家属可在周末到新山探访他们。》
周末,长堤常常堵车好几小时。。。。。。
一国的政府,好比一家的父母。如果父母无法照顾好自家的子女,而要由他家来照顾,怎么说得过去?
could not believe my eyes when I read the news report on the Internet about our Minister asking Singaporeans to consider living in nursing homes in neighboring JB.
I am not going to debate the economics of such option. It is simply a national shame when we cannot house our aged sick in their birthplace (mother land), let alone having to rely on so many imported foreign nationals to look after them in Singapore, which in itself is already a sad phenomenon.
Gratitude and filial piety cannot be justified with economics. At all cost, we must be grateful to our aged sick and bear the economic burden to care for them. The State providing care for our aged sick is not “lavish Western Welfarism”, but putting into practice and setting a fine example of the Asian value of filial piety, which unfortunately up to now can only be a nice slogan in Singapore.
I found that many people share the same views regardless they are from they are from the English or Chinese forum. What does that mean? That means KBW’s suggestion is totally wrong! right?
As a Health Minister, he shouldn’t make this silly suggestion.
174) Syed …
“The life you think you had … never happened!” – “The Island”
http://www.apple.com/trailers/dreamworks/the_island/large.html
Let the PAP leaders show us by example. How abt we put the old Mrs LKY in a JB nursing home now?
Totally agree with Northern Exposure on comment #7.
Why do we have the land to build endless shopping malls which essentially has the same old shops, at a time when pple r tightening their belts, but not the land to build affordable old folks home?
Smone shld go round & ask the old folks wat they feel abt being placed in a home outside the country they have lived their whole lives and slogged for; most of them wouldnt want to spend their last moments outside of home.
Our elderly are just mere humans, who suffer from loneliness, aging, sickness, all of which make them feel vulnerable and fragile mentally. Economically it makes sense to ‘put’ them in JB, but where is the compassion? Does it make sense psychologically?
The words of a leader carry alot of weight. Making suggestions and policies based on economics would not strengthen the social fabric of the society. Such statements will just impart wrong values to the next generation and make the society a cold and harsh place to live in.
I conclude by wondering aloud if any govt body is reading and thinking through the 200 comments posted here.
Aren’t the online forums the best feedback unit the govt can get?
Mad Khaw Disease
When we sing “This is my country, this is my home” with gusto
The following line for me will be “Now I’m old and living alone”
Pills patented by “Cow” for your aged parents for effective cost savings.
Guaranteed death in 1 min. approved by health ministry.
“Reduce, reuse and recycle” send your aged parents to the recycle bins and help protect the environment. “Blood and bones are good to be used as fertilisers.
Be part a graceful nation, contribute generously.
I have an old mom in her 90′s. I am not ding well and also 60. Siblings are also not doing well. all are elderly and we could not effort to look after her. Its hard to get a subsidy in singapore. to get a place in a nursing home. Lots of paper work and maybe if lucky one gets about 50% subsidy. yet the waiting list is long. Even with subsidy one may have to cough out about $1000 + every month. Phoooo…how to cope. Sad…that a woman who layed the bricks for this nation building has no place in singapore….The govt should look into this and solve the problem , then to sugest JB. I have no heart to send her away…but at the same time cant cope in singapore…God should save the old.
The government can built quarters for Foreign Workers in Serangoon Gardens but want to send old folks to JB? What does it mean? Old people who had contributed to Singapore when they are young are considered a liability and worse than Foreign Workers now?
Why can’t they built an old folks home in Serangoon Garden instead? There is a huge demand for subsidized nursing homes in Singapore and the government refused to meet this demands.
Sambawang people please take note: If you continue to vote this kind of people into the parliament, more unkind policies will be implemented like euthanasia, and in the end you are the ones that are going to suffer.
[b]Election is coming and it is time for some housekeeping.[/b]
KBW pales significantly as compared to Chee Soon Juan. This scared cow will not be worshiped even in India.