President Nathan says that “the process of seeking and securing my in-principle approval took approximately 11 days from the time the matter was first broached. Calling the process a “rigorous one”, he said his approval was given on 21 January, just one day before the Budget was presented to Parliament on 22 January.

This following is an excerpt  from Channel newsAsia’s report:

Mr Nathan, who is the first Singapore elected president to use the second key to unlock past reserves accumulated by the Singapore government, emphasised that the Constitution does not prescribe the process for dealing with a request for using past reserves. 

All it spells out is the need for the president to consult the Council of Presidential Advisers and to publish his view when he approves a draw on past reserves. 

“It is not easy to ‘yes’ in so far as the withdrawal of the reserves. There must be compelling reasons why we have to resort to withdrawing from past reserves,” the president said. 

Read the full report on Channel NewsAsia.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

60 Responses to “President breaks silence on unlocking reserves”

1. ‘it is not easy to say yes ‘ but we know that the answer is ‘YES’

2. Money Politics. 19 February 2009

Malaysia, Taiwan, Philippines, Thailand, and even Indonesia have money politics in its raw form. Singapore has money politics in its subtle form.

3. why it needs our mr president 11 days to unlock 5bil from our reserve when our gov actually loss muliti bil in a year without much questioning.. and in worst case, they could loss more than 40%, maybe 90%, of our money in gic and temasek.. where is the control???? where is the logic???

4. From his Q & A, we are not convinced he has exercised independent judgement
    when he approved the drawn on the reserves. More likely, he approves and
    signs whatever the Govt tenders to him.
    No wonder they disqualified all candidates to allow him walkovers in both
    Prez elections.

5. notalone 20 February 2009

should be 11 days to prepare a script for a press conference lah..

6. notalone 20 February 2009

” Calling the process a “rigorous one”, he said his approval was given on 21 January, just one day before the Budget was presented to Parliament on 22 January…

’1 day before presented to Parliament’ means our Finance Minister already got all the Budget statements ready 1 day before, waiting for his approval.

Also means, there is NO contigency plans for Budget statements in case our dear President denied the use of Reserves.

So, got ANY CHOICE for our PRESIDENT or not?

7. In the end it is the gahmen that push it through, using a $3M plus per year rubber stamp.

8. woshiempire 20 February 2009

you can try play this game….
    http://www.erepublik.com

u can try to be in govt can rule real citizen.See how it does?
    it is a political game play by all others nation.
    you can elected as a president and lead a nation,which has real players listen to.

It is very similar to real life, if u done badly, the citizen will complain…sam.e
    if u cannot lead in a vitual world of a few thousand citizen in a country, how can you expect it is easily to make dicision on rl….

think about about it, and try the game. any maybe u will be in their shoes ??who know

9. #45) tiredsingaporean
    ‘ And how much money do we still have in our nation’s reserve, Mr President? care to let the people know? $1 ? or kosong liao?’
    …………………………………………………..

I remember reading the ST many years ago, a Mr Wong who was managing director of the MAS, being criticised by the govt for being too conservative with the nation’s reserve. He believed that the reserve should be used solely to back the Singapore currency and not to be used for investment.s. He was kicked out from his post. 100 billion dollars gone. Now, he has the last laugh at the government.

10. tiredsingaporean 21 February 2009

#60 Edward

If you are one that follows and observed all those things that were being mentioned by these morons and the actual things that takes place after that, they just don’t match at all. Whether they cannot remember what they’ve mentioned or just that everytime they speak out are actually reading from those pre-written scripts which they just throw away after reading them aloud to the people.