The following is a press release from the organizers of the campaign for fairer transport fares for tertiary students.
Press Statement
Re: 4.6% Reduction in Bus & Train Fares From 1 April 2009
We refer to the joint press release by the Public Transport Council (PTC), SBS Transit, SMRT Corp. and the Ministry of Transport (MOT) on 19 February 2009.
This student campaign welcomes the latest announcement by the Public Transport Operators (PTOs) to reduce the concession fares of tertiary students by $2 and $4 for monthly bus and train concession passes and hybrid concession passes respectively. We are heartened to know that the PTC, PTOs, and MOT have taken the perspectives and recommendations of this campaign into consideration during this fare revision exercise.
However, we wish to highlight that the fundamental issue of unfairness in concession fares between a JC/ITE student and a tertiary student continues to remain unresolved.
Nevertheless, this latest fare reduction is a positive step towards future reforms in the concession fare structure for tertiary students. As such, we would like to take this opportunityto urge the PTC, PTOs, and MOT to initiate the implementation of a concession fare mechanism for tertiary students.
This can take the form of setting up a differentiated category for Polytechnic and University students and a fare formula which will translate into greater transparency and accountability in the decision-making process in future fare revision exercises. In light of the implementation of a distance-based through fare structure in June 2010, a reform of the concession fare structure would be especially essential.
We would like to highlight that this inherent unfairness within the concession fare structure is becoming a source of disappointment and disillusionment amongst the student community. We recommend a decisive gesture on by the PTC and PTOs to resolve this inherent conflict. In the same spirit of engagement initiated by the PTC and PTOs on 5 February 2009 with this student campaign, we would like to encourage further discussion and engagement with the various student groups and the respective policymakers.
This student campaign is more than willing to participate in the reform process and work out a new and fair concession fare mechanism with the relevant stakeholders.
Thank you.
Bernard Chen
Organiser(s) of National Petition for Fairer Transportation Fares for Polytechnic/ Tertiary
Students
petition4fairtransport@gmail.com
21st February 2009
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

as expected. fail. sadly. nevertheless, this will teach this generation of singapore what singapore is really about. something really different from their social studies textbooks.
Well done Bernard! You have proven that youths can generate positive effects!
I recall being approached by you along bugis junction a few months ago last year. After speaking with you, I found you to be a sincere and hardworking young man , with a heart for your fellow poly students and you are brave doing this petition campaign. Most singaporeans dare not do what you are doing.
I hope your petition campaign has not stopped despite the incredible 2 cents reduction ;) .
I am saddened by the news reports that i scanned through that did not mention your campaign nor your team. Maybe i missed something? maybe.
I am much older than you, but you belong to a new breed of youths much needed in this country. The environment and culture i was brought up is a bit different than today’s youth’s.
I really hope you and your team can continue to inspire more youths to become activists. The future lies in hands of our youths.
I wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.
You and your team have already achieved some success!
Hi Kee Moon,
Thank you for your generous comments. I must point out again that this campaign would not have come so far and be taken seriously by the relevant stakeholders and partners if not for its responsible and constructive platform. This campaign has shown youths and Singaporeans in general that we should stand up and be counted and take ownership of the issues affecting us. Talk is simple, but action demands commitment, enthusiasm and a strong sense of making Singapore a better place than the one they inherit from their parents. Civil activism can be conducted in an enjoyable and effective manner.
I have to give credit to the pioneers, Pang Khin Wee & Liang Yu Qing who championed this issue 4 years back and the many students who have tried to push forward this issue over the years. My team and I had the advantage of hindsight in approaching this issue and formulating the strategy for our campaign. I am pleased to let you know that Khin Wee and I are in contact and have agreed in principle to work together to further this cause.
I also like to applaud the support this campaign has received from all quarters over the last 4 months; from students, parents, lecturers and ordinary Singaporeans. Thank you. They made the difference. We merely serve as facilitators.
The campaign on its part is into its consolidation stage and after our examinations, we will be continuing with this campaign. We are in the midst of sorting out the details but stay tuned as this campaign will seeks to a be a voice for young Singaporeans. We will like to work with them to shape a Singapore that we can truly called home.
& I like to bring your attention to the many media reports of our campaign over the months with the most recent being this short article on ChannelNewsAsia just yesterday – http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/410643/1/.html. I would also like to highlight that the mainstream and alternative media has been kind on us and I am grateful for that. For more information on the coverage of our campaign, do feel free to visit our website @ http://www.petition4fairtransport.org/media-coverage/
At the end of the day, we are just ordinary students.
Haha, anyone who fully believes in whats taught in social studies, is “epic fail”.
It is time we stop them from profiteering off us, the citizens, via inflated HDB prices, inflated transport prices, and now leeching off our CPF!
Student fares already reasonable. Look at the adult fares, cut 2 cents only. So stingy & insincere!!! So more wait until April. Why not start in March 2009?
Well done my young Singaporeans! Speak up more.
However, we wish to highlight that the fundamental issue of unfairness in concession fares between a JC/ITE student and a tertiary student continues to remain unresolved.
====
Fair or unfair is certainly a value judgement and is thus not something an appeal to reason and facts can necessarily solve.
It seems the crux of the issue here is the age coincidence. Since JC kids and poly kids are the same age, “it is only fair” that they should enjoy the same subsidy for transport.
The question you people must still ask yourselves is “What does a tertiary education” means to you? Why are the university students not arguing for a similar subsidy? Is it just because they are older?
To be the devil’s advocate, suppose JC students are petitioning that all poly students wear uniform and report at 7:30am for flag raising everyday just like them since everyone is “of the same age”, how would poly students respond to that?
What if that condition must be met before poly students are able to get the same discount in bus fares? Are they willing to accept that?
Again, back to the main question, what does a tertiary education means to you?
7) Kelvin Tan on February 24th, 2009 9.49 am
And do u know what tertiary mean 1st before you post this question?
Colleges, universities, institutes of technology and polytechnics are the main institutions that provide tertiary education (sometimes known collectively as tertiary institutions).
They all below to the same category, so why cant polyechnics student ask for the same fair…..
There nothing to do with whether you wearing uniform or perform daily flag rising they are all different matter…..
I think Kelvin Tan makes a very valid point in his argument and i certainly would like to hear beyond just this fair/unfair rhetoric. Because as far as i can see, this is just an age coincidence issue having not heard any case contrary to that.
And “Duh”, you obviously have missed everything that Mr Tan has to say above. By college, i think you are referring to JCs? well, a JC is most definitely not a tertiary institution, so do check up on your facts before baselessly post things online (:
Kelvin is right.
As a JC student, one abides by strict school rules. Shirts tucked in, 730 morning assembly, compulsory detention and extra lessons if given.
As compared to a university and poly student, there is much more freedom.
I have gone through both stages. There is no absolute fairness in this world. Perceived fairness is what I think Bernard is really to achieve. In this way, JC students can petition for poly students to wear uniforms and report at 730?
I dun think the argument should include wearing school uniform or not.
One should look more in depth into the cause and effect of having student to pay more.
The main issue of why students should receive a real discounted fare simply becoz’
they are not working. That’s as simple as that.
However, look at all the poly and uni now, I dun see the food selling in poly and uni are really that cheap.
All these really adds up as a huge finanical burden.
ARe you aware that many poly students and even uni students are taking part-time just to earn their allowance?
Some do badly for their exams because they use up their time to earn the extra cash.
It is the move that must be made. Not because of wearing uniform or not.
We should look more in depth that having them to pay unnecessary higher fare for the benefit of higher profit does lead to added stress.
Students nowsdays have enough stress. IT is no doubt that finiancial burden is one big factor.
I believed the no.of students who commit sucide has risen and many not reported. I of course won’t say they all commit sucide because of $$ issues. But as an educator myself, I do hope students enjoy their school life without these added stress.