Excerpted from the US State Dept website. Released on the 25th of Feb 2009.
Singapore is a parliamentary republic in which the People’s Action Party (PAP), in power since 1959, overwhelmingly dominates politics. The population was approximately 4.6 million, with foreign workers accounting for nearly one fifth of the total. Opposition parties exist, and the May 2006 parliamentary elections were generally fair and free of tampering; however, the PAP placed formidable obstacles in the path of political opponents. Civilian authorities generally maintained effective control of the security forces.
The government has broad powers to limit citizens’ rights and to handicap political opposition, which it used. Caning is an allowable punishment for numerous offenses. The following human rights problems also were reported: preventive detention, executive influence over the judiciary, infringement of citizens’ privacy rights, restriction of speech and press freedom and the practice of self-censorship by journalists, restriction of freedoms of assembly and association, limited restriction of freedom of religion, and some trafficking in persons.
Read the full report here.

I think they’re talking about Burma la. They must’ve gotten it wrong.
can someone comfom if our leader ok with USA statements?
IBA issue settled already not?
“Internet Freedom
Although residents generally have unrestricted access to the Internet, the government subjected all Internet content to the same rules and standards as traditional media. Internet service providers (ISPs) are required to ensure that content complies with the MDA’s Internet code of practice. The MDA also regulates Internet material by licensing the ISPs through which local users are required to route their Internet connections. The law permits government monitoring of Internet use, and the government closely monitored Internet activities such as blogs and podcasts. The MDA was empowered to direct service providers to block access to Web sites that, in the government’s view, undermined public security, national defense, racial and religious harmony, or public morals. Political and religious Web sites must register with the MDA. Although the MDA ordered ISPs to block 100 specific Web sites that the government considered pornographic, in general the government focused on blocking only a small number of sites. The Internet was widely available.”
——————–
seems that the report did not mention who are managing the ISPs.
Zefly (#1),
Politically, Singapore is a 3rd world country.
Internet monitoring is also done under the FISA and Patriot Act in the States.
I look forward to an updated version by the US State Dept after President Obama
has a better grasp of the ground situation in S’pore.
I believe in Obama’s honesty and it is with this honesty, one can see the third world mentality of our politicians.
Each day, the new media is making the pretense harder and harder for our
politicians who fear the truth.
To 1) Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) on February 27th, 2009 12.49 am I think they’re talking about Burma
NO !!!!!! Dummy !!!!!! It’s about Singapore. HAHAHA What a Blow
Typical of USA can screw you when they like, they still think they are the almighty NO 1.
I love It. The Truth Really Hurts!
As much as I see their statement as being truthful, there are also a long list of stuff where the human rights of SIngapore’s citizens are taken care of. In Singapore, no human being lives their lives in real fear. Almost every human rights declaration are honoured except the freedom of speech which in a way might jeopardise the other declarations. I do not want Singapore heading the US way where freedom of speech is protected even for those drumming hatred against religious and ethnic minorities. We are in this unique position in this part of the world where we can do without freedom of speech. Where political freedom are concerned, can’t everyone see we are so free to criticize our government. The only thing we want is the mainstream media which knows how to differentiate political issues against racial and religious issues.
Smallvice585, AS Lim,
Note dry sarcasm in my tone of voice (ref comment #1). :P
US is probably the first country that monitors internet communications. Understand they develop a box called Carnivore that could be attached to an ISP computer to monitor ISP’s customers. The objective is tocatch internet criminals of course. Now they have better devices than Carnivore i think.
“some trafficking in persons.”
what does that mean?
13) manKhan on February 27th, 2009 10.48 am
It means that some elements of our foreign labor policy and enforcement have crossed over into the realms of human trafficking when the profit generated is not from the work done by the foreign labor, but by the mere process of getting them to pay exhorbitant fees just to come here and which the agents and ‘employers’ benefit without having the responsibility to ensure that their side of the bargain is kept, namely, providing them with regular work.
Well, this is already a very good year for Singapore from a US state Government report. Read previous years, especially year 1998. But then – a nation of con men and greedy Americans will not now make any body head turn nowadays – unless an ang mo walk with his Singaporean girlfriend down Holland Road.
Singapore has made good attempts since the new millenum to re-image itself globally to the world , but frankly who cares about comments on Singapore’s judiciary, and toe the line journalists – all of us citizens need to earn a living and yearly there are a few hundred dollars handouts to citizens to placate – something better than nothing.
What is not mentioned nowadays is the ISD and this is very good for Singapore. Remember the so called “Green Paper” , Devan Nair wanted to publish, but was somehow muted out. Work at the ISD is pretty rewarding it seems – an ex ISD staff is now the president of Singapore for almost 2 terms already. well done Singapore.
Our rights to control over CPF withdrawal is also denied. This is one of the worst rights taken away when it concerned Singaporeans money.
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
I can Definitely tell from your comment…comparing SGP to the junta…nice
5) CelluloidReality on February 27th, 2009 2.37 am
Its the extent. Like everything else in the world,
there is no 100%.
Its the extent.
Hope you have been enlightened by me.
;)
Why are we giviing credibility to this report from US..they are ones who took away rights from the Red Indians and took the blacks from Africa and enslaved them? Dont your remember? And now how much of human rights have been taken away and eroded by this financial tsunami that started from the US??
Right, we should also not give credibility to this:
S’pore tops global innovation rankings
Study shows US losing its edge and suggests future belongs to Asia
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/World/Story/STIStory_343134.html
“19) mrthinktalk on February 27th, 2009 3.56 pm
Why are we giviing credibility to this report from US..”
Because “we cannot cure the problem because fundamentally, the sickness is not our sickness. It is a global sickness and you have to wait until the US picks up,”
So now do you still think we should not give credibility to this report from US. Powerful right. You talk a lot but think little lah.
quoted from the article
–
Section 1 (e) Denial of Fair Public Trial
Government leaders historically have used court proceedings, in particular defamation suits, against political opponents and critics. Both this practice and consistent awards in favor of government plaintiffs raised questions about the relationship between the government and the judiciary and led to a perception that the judiciary reflected the views of the ruling party in politically sensitive cases.
… …
Section 2 (a) Freedom of Speech and Press
On November 25, the High Court found Dow Jones, publisher of Wall Street Journal Asia, in contempt of court for publishing three items, including a letter to the editor, questioning the independence of the courts from the PAP government.
—
now what? are they going to take the US State Department to court?
@ 19,
Since you mentioned red indians and black africans,
are you actually aware who is the current President of USA ?
Any idea whether the Americans and their new President have created history ?
The Americans are aware they have screwed up and more importantly,
they own up to it. Notice our so called leaders are God’s gift to mankind ! Never made mistakes. Do you really believe in them ?
Just imagine if US was a dictatorship, collaborating with other dictatorships,
no human rights to question the President and his administration,
the world would have been very different.
You and I would probably be speaking either Japanese, reading thoughts of Mao,
or even speaking Vietnamese.
PS : MM and Nathan would most likely still be colleagues but serving as Japanese interpreters only.
..Oh yes the Almighty US..it took them maybe more than 300 years. Here is a quote from another might antion.
“We urge the US to examine its own human rights problems and not use human rights as an excuse or publish human rights reports in order to interfere with others’ internal affairs,” Foreign Ministry spokesman Ma Zhaoxu told a regular briefing.
Thanks to th US financial mavericks and wizards the world has the following rights eroded:
]1. Right to have comfortable homes
2. Right to have jobs
3. Right to have loans from banks to do business etc..
4. Rights to free trade…
and more.
Can someone forward the link to our dear Prime Minister Office?
#25,
” The law permits government monitoring of Internet use, and the government CLOSELY MONITORED Internet activities such as BLOGS and podcasts. ”
hope this helps. ;)
This big brother syndrome of the US is highly deplorable.
The US track record of human rights is grossly tainted with inhuman abuses.
The US is well-advised to reflect on its own deficits before pointing out the deficits of others.
#19 mrthinktalk
“Why are we giviing credibility to this report from US..they are ones who took away rights from the Red Indians and took the blacks from Africa and enslaved them? Dont your remember? And now how much of human rights have been taken away and eroded by this financial tsunami that started from the US??”
Why is Chia Thy Poh being detained FOR DECADES ??? !!!!
19) mrthinktalk on February 27th, 2009 3.56 pm Why are we giviing credibility to this report from US..they are ones who took away rights from the Red Indians and took the blacks from Africa and enslaved them? Dont your remember? And now how much of human rights have been taken away and eroded by this financial tsunami that started from the US??
Why is it in Singapore, for example SO MANY POLICEMEN AND WOMEN watching a couple of peaceful, unarmed protestors going to a toilet in Hong Lim park? There are also similar incidents if you open your eyes wide (put on binoculars if necessary) to see.
Can you see, or are you aware of similar harmless events happenning in US??
24) mrthinktalk on February 27th, 2009 7.07 pm
About the country that this Ma person comes from, what do you think of the level of dirt that they may have for you to really determine whether their action really correspond to his preaching,
Hey just to highlight a few. You know about the recent milk thing given to babies. Mine explosions. Internet baning for certain stuff. You think US will do this. US may do it to other people but they are unlikely to do this to themselves. They screw others. This is the difference. They have the mechanism to ensure this difference.
Kindly speak to those purely original made-in-china Chinese in our midst that our own dear country is having more and more each day. Yeah, we have plenty to learn from them also.
And please again, you talk a lot but think little lah.
re:30
No need to insult lah. Both of us are thinking before posting. Are we not? The US didnt do this?? but I am sure they are causing all these miseries in the world right now by their finaniancial might, economic and … might. So much “fraud” accumulated over the years. Their brand of democracy and laizzer fairz is causing plenty trouble. Time to review and rethink such noble things as independence of executive, legislative etc. Time to look at Europe and Asia as alternatives…..
#19, that’s the past. Move on. Japanese soldiers were mostly honorable during WWI, but some of them turned into rapists & sadists during WWII. No present or future is fixed in place by past events. Besides, Singaporeans are happily eating sushi & sashimi now.
On the other hand, the gov set a new law that it’s legal to monitor our internet usage? Or has the law always been like this?
No need to insult lah. Both of us are thinking before posting. Are we not?
Hahaha, classic Pot Calling the Kettle Black. Good one.
A very cleverly double-headed . . .fill it up yourself.
Anyway, I believe most of us acknowledge and agree your postings are well thought la friend all knows. It makes a good platform for brain gym.
Hey you havent answer my question leh, why Chia Thye Poh was imprisoned for decades ? Why are policemen and women in Singappore needed to watch innocent people going toilet ?
I wonder, if this report came from a citizen, what would happen?
I mean, any diff?
reason?
5) CelluloidReality on February 27th, 2009 2.37 am
Internet monitoring is also done under the FISA and Patriot Act in the States.
==================
its the extent that matters, get it?
no sweeping statements. that is lame.
“why Chye Thai Po was imprisoned for decades”
Bloody hell, you want an answer and I shall give it to you.
Chye Thai Po was actually a name of a special breed of dangerous lion given to us by some country at the northern part of the world as a national gift with instruction that it must always be kept safe in a cage for a minimum of a long-term horizon of 30 years.
Wrong ? Another try. Chye Thai Po is a name of some chinese herbal pills to be taken 5 pills at one go if you experience some stomach discomfort and have serious diarrhea for at least 3 times an hour.
Wrong again ? One more try. Chye Thai Po is a the name of some specially homemade noodles originated in some remote mountain where monks live in some difficult assessible part of the country Bhutan.
How can it be wrong again. One last try. Chye Thai Po is a name of some new form of martial art just recently invented by someone trying to make a quick buck and practised by only teenage boys using their overnight-used undergarment as practise weapon to strangle one another. Warning to bloggers at this site. Do not try this sport alone without proper training and parental guidance.
Wrong again. I give up. Anyone who knows the correct answer.
Now that the US State Department and i should add the United Nations as well, know the Human Rights Record of Singapore, wat can they do and or will do to better the Rights of Singaporeans ?
Do they have their Rights to interfere with the internal affairs of SIN ?
The United States of America was and is also known as paper tiger to some people all over the world. And wat’s is it’s own Human Rights Record like ? Taking human live with bombs at others’ territories ? Is tat rite ?
Why should anybody care what the US thinks. They has BS for so long, is now proven broke and will be broke for next 8-10 years. We should care what we Singaporean think. Forum like this has enable Singaporean to voice and share their true views and bottled-up frustration. 3 cheers for onlinecitizen
i read comment no 10 in amazement.
“We are in this unique position in this part of the world where we can do without freedom of speech”
what’s this supposed to mean. by what criteria do you assess the notion that we can do without freedom of speech? and we honour human rights declarations? how abt the thousands of foreign workers here who are mistreated and are not even protected by proper laws? how abt women who are denied recourse because marital rape is not recognised in the court of law? how abt men who are backmailed becaused section 377a hasn’t been repealed? how abt people who are detained without trial in the name of “national security”?
and the list goes on my dear. im not saying that sg is a human rights hellhole, but what’s wrong with improving ourselves instead of comparing ourselves with others and saying “oh they’re doing it too” or “they’re doing worse things, what right do they have to tell us what to do”. regardless, i think this report is worth reflecting on.
36) Who is Chye Thai Po ? on February 28th, 2009 6.12 pm
If this is not demeaning then can someone kindly point out, thank you.
This shows an utter disregard for a fellow human. Old fox is cruel enough to imprisoned this innocent person for donkey years who did no harm to Singapore who commit no crime except as far as many knows, and only old fox knows, that Chia Thye Poh is a make-believe threat.
And you, hiding behind walls, have the guts and ill-manners to make fun of Mr Chia’s character, and worst belittle him by mis-spelling it.
36) Who is Chye Thai Po ? on February 28th, 2009 6.12 pm
This is disgusting. You hide behind walls, displaying ill manners to make fun and debased Mr Chia who did no wrong to harm Singapore, who did not commit any crime, except that many knows old fox lee see him as a personal threat.
Its utterly despicable to mis-spell another persons name and describing him in your chosen whims and fancies when even Mr Chia do not know you and have done nothing untoward against you.
My G…#$%^
If you don’t believe the extract or have any other doubts remaining, just read the whole report available through the US Department of State websites!!!!!
Follow the link:
http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/hrrpt/2008/eap/119056.htm
Report is true and in describes SG correctly (Zefly – no, the report is not on Burma but this country). Many interesting facts are listed there – US gov did a very good, well-rounded check before publishing the report.
Recommended to read!
What HUMAN rights????
Read during wkend about asian meeting….”Human rights in ASIA”???
My toes are laughing………
As for USA…..they do have some human rights…..but they abused it also.
At least they can be sued….here….”U wait long long”
41) Individual basic rights on March 1st, 2009 1.14 am
Wrong. It was the very respect that was duly accorded to the real Chia Thye Poh that the new name Chye Thai Po was deliberately used. If disrespect was really intended, the real name would have been maintained and used. Clarified ?
I have read thoroughly the whole report…what i can say is that it’s up to whichever country to judge singapore by their point of views..
I have agreed some but disagree some of the resports too..
nO COUNTRY Cn be perfect…and the US is not a perfect country too..
Theirs is only based on Human rights but are they really exercising it
and are we fully here??
I think i no need to specified them
Yeah, some can be ungrateful too, with the billions of hard-earned monies going going.
What a subtle way,too !
Otherwise, with the billions of cash many of the unemployed would have been employed. We could also be building our own sands castles?
Next debacle on the way ?
But need to glorify the CEO? Same tactic like one stirs interest in the financial markets ? Yeah, who can do it , God?
More billions for the Dream ?
Thanks for contributions ?
What a rhetoric ?
There is nothing wrong with the political situation in sg. Yes it may not be a liberal democracy but each country to its own.
Tell the West or the US to look into their own backyard before poking their nose on others (read: Guantanamo Bay)