Latest: The Government Gazette has revealed that changes have been made to polling districts. Such changes are part of the steps that need to be taken ahead of a General Election. (Straits Times)

Andrew Loh

This is your money. You have a right to know where it’s going and how it’s being spent. Learn what steps we’re taking to ensure you can track our progress every step of the way.

Unfortunately, that isn’t something you will hear from the Singapore government. The above statement is, in fact, from the website of the United States Government. Called recovery.gov, the site provides information on the government’s American Recovery and Reinvestment Act which it describes as  an unprecedented effort to jumpstart our economy, create or save millions of jobs, and put a down payment on addressing long-neglected challenges so our country can thrive in the 21st century.

In an even bolder promise, it says, “This website, recovery.gov, will be the main vehicle to provide each and every citizen with the ability to monitor the progress of the recovery. 

President Barack Obama has not missed a step since occupying the Oval Office in getting his feet wet in trying to turn the economy around and is seen as leading from the front. Indeed, just today (18 Feb), Mr Obama put his signature to the $1.2 trillion stimulus package to lift the US economy out of the doldrums.

What about our own leader? As we asked during the Mas Selamat Kastari’s escape saga and the PAP Town Councils’ investments fiasco , now we ask the same with regards to the recent Budget debate on the reserves : Has anyone seen Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong?

The only other mention of the prime minister, funnily enough, happened after the Budget debate – by President Nathan at a press conference when he was explaining how the PM had approached him to give him a heads-up about drawing on the reserves.

Has the Prime Minister gone missing – again and again?

Given such a a momentous and historical event as dipping into the reserves for the first time in our history, one would expect the Prime Minister to be at the forefront of proceedings, or at least to be standing shoulder-to-shoulder with his Finance Minister. Yet, even amid the uproar and clamour for transparency when the losses of Temasek Holdings and the Government Investment Corporation (GIC) were revealed, the PM seems to be ironically transparent so much so that he has disappeared into thin air and his ministers made to face the firing line alone.

The resignation of his wife, Mdm Ho Ching, from Temasek was left to the chairman of the company to explain, and perhaps rightly so. The losses of Temasek and the GIC were left to the Senior Minister of State for Finance, Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, to explain to Parliament. It wasn’t the Prime Minister, nor was it the Finance Minister or even the Second Finance Minister, Lim Hng Kiang. It was left to the Senior Minister of State.

Make it low key. Downplay.  Keep the alarm bells away.

Notice also how the Minister Mentor too was completely silent during the Budget debate. I mean, even Mr Chiam See Tong, who is visibly not as physically fit as he was before, made several cuts during the debate. MM was well… mostly missing. No pun intended. And what about SM Goh?

There’s an important difference between the US and Singapore governments in the way each treats its citizens.  The US government, under President Barack Obama, sees its people as shareholders with a stake in how the government spends its money. The Singapore government, on the other hand, sees any query about the way it spends its money as troublesome. This is demonstrated most succinctly by the recent Budget debate where questions on Temasek, GIC, reserves, etc. were unanswered or answered with non-answers. President Nathan himself held a press conference only after the Budget debate ended and after much uproar among Singaporeans calling for him to explain his reasons for approving the government’s request to use the reserves.

Cultivating active citizenry is one of the Government’s aims. It has said so several times in the past. Yet, it seems that when it matters most, and when presented with an unprecendented opportunity in this unparalleled economic crisis, the Government instead has chosen to stick its head in the sand.

It has gone the other way and refused any meaningful disclosures or explanations of its actions.

President Obama, on the other hand, perhaps coming from a civil activism background, understands empowerment. My friend, Grace Toh, explained it thus:

“To empower people, you provide information unilaterally and voluntarily, rather than make people question and suspect. Questioning is good but it breeds cynicism. Voluntarily giving information sends out a strong message – that they have nothing to hide – and inviting people to take part is even better,” she said of Obama’s initiative with recovery.org.  This is what active citizenry is about - government being transparent so that people know how bad or good the situation is.”

“Active citizenry in Singapore, on the other hand, is defined as doing something in ADDITION to what the government is doing,” she adds. “Doing something to help you and your community in this way takes more effort and is less empowering because people get fed up. Life in Singapore, making a living is already so hard. Why do more to make things better? So people don’t get involved.”

The government still has time to correct its actions and be more upfront and transparent in its dealings – especially when more than $100 billion, the estimated total losses incurred by both Temasek and the GIC, is involved.

With the world economy still in a tailspin, these losses may be even higher in the coming months.

If the leadership board in our Government does not think or feel that transparency and accountability are important, then more than just an opportunity to encourage active citizenry will be wasted. There will be a political price to pay, both for the PAP government and for Singapore as a whole.

In the end, no one gains, and we would have lost more than just some money.

———-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

75 Responses to “Your money at work and the curious disappearing acts of the prime minister”

1. Bling Bling 18 February 2009

Wow, such a large country, such a man of such responsibilities on his 1 man shoulders and he can be so transparent.

give this man a raise. just kidding. donch flame flame. he already well renumerated right? yes right?

2. “What about our leader? As we asked during the Mas Selamat Kastari’s escape saga and the PAP Town Councils’ investments fiasco , now we ask the same with regards to the recent Budget debate on the reserves : Has anyone seen Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong?”

“Taking five weeks leave from work is not as difficult as one thinks. Most times when you are at the top, you think you are indispensable. But if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible” (LOL)

3. What I make of this is that it is the typical kind of Asian leadership style, let the subordinates take the heat, the leadership is always ‘perfect’, ‘incorruptible’ and most importantly ‘above all’.

I would say they usage of the Senior Minister of State to announce the losses is to keep expectations and concern low. Downplay the issue as said in the article, a common political move used when a running candidate goes up against a much more experienced one, lower expectations of performance, and the public opinion might even swing in your favor.

Recently an article in the Straits Times interviewed a minister who said that something to the effect of “Singapore’s SWFs made long term investments which are fundamentally strong and still trust that there will be good returns on their investments.” Really?

“The fundamentals of the United States economy are strong.”
    - Senator John McCain, Republican Presidential Nominee. 15th September 2008

Xy

4. tiredsingaporean 18 February 2009

The government still has time to correct its actions and be more upfront and transparent in its dealings – especially when more than $100 billion is involved – the estimated total losses incurred by both Temasek and the GIC.

We are all really now in deep shit and they just disappeared like that. What happened now? busy preparing and getting ready to disappear PERMANENTLY? what a shameful leaders we have here, leaving the people to face the music alone.

5. Bling Bling 19 February 2009

There is a lesson to be learnt from USA .
    Their new generation will have to pay and pay and pay for whatever debt incurred like how many hundred billions used to bail out large companies whose execs still go on luxury lifestylo.

6. smallvoice585 19 February 2009

What President Obama has done with recovery.org is truly remarkable, unlikely to be replicated anywhere else – least of all here in Singapore. We cannot judge our leaders against the high standards set by President Obama.

We must try to make do with what we have.

7. I remember seeing the PM during the National Day Rally.

He said we’ll all forget about the rocketing inflation soon, and inspired us to we all just go make babies.

He also demonstrated recording his own speech with a high-tech webcam, a la Steve Jobs or Bill Gates.

Year before was Longetivity Plan at 85 and Punggol 21+.

Unforgettable!

8. PM LHL simply can’t ‘make the grade.’ That’s why he has his father,MM and SM to prod him and the 2 DPMs to land support to him. With 2 on top and 2 below, he is so well assisted ; which reminds me he is like the little emperor Puyi in China.

9. Shoo-shoo 19 February 2009

how to make do with what we have??? we’re paying him XXX-rated times more than what Americans are paying Obama.

10. Just Whistling. 19 February 2009

There is likely to be a quickie FLASH General Election anytime now. They are already in their Phase 2, and Phase 3 is about to begin within days. Read at:

http://amortal.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/flash-general-election/

11. If the election turn out to be true, then we have the greatest con-men on earth. To have lost unprecedented billions which unaccounted for. and get away with it, and still playing prank to stay in power and screwing the citizen ? To deceive the citizen by saying that there is no forthcoming election but to spend money and effort on election preparation now and catch opp party by surprise ? This is not politics, this is treason. Betraying the country’s trust and siphoning state’s cash and asset that go nowhere ?
    Can’t even stand scrutiny and the gov still want moral authority to govern ? What right do they have now ?

12. Please Makes Sense 19 February 2009

Election coming!

Can we vote Obama? He is cheaper.

13. ErniesUrn (Ernie) 19 February 2009

MM Lee said: ONE freak election result is all it will take to wipe out Singapore’s success in building up the city state, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew warned last night.

Dear Sir, it only took 8 months to wipe out S$ 58,000,000,000.

I think ONE freak election is enough to wipe out NEPOTISM and GREED.

14. Right from the “Mee Siam” incident, I think he has lost the plot., it was worse with the limping terroist fiasco. There seems complete slience on urgent matters, even when it is considered troubled times now. Where’s the direction? Soldiers who are lost would natural look to the person in charge to lead.

15. sarek_home 19 February 2009

FYI

Key steps to GE

1997 GE
    # Changes to polling districts: May 3, 1996
    # Electoral Boundaries Report: Nov 21, 1996
    # Election: Jan 2, 1997

2001 GE
    # Changes to polling districts: Sept 28
    # Electoral Boundaries Report: Oct 17
    # Election: Nov 3

2006 GE
    # Changes to polling districts: Jan 10
    # Electoral Boundaries Report: March 3
    # Election: May 6

16. Old wise man 19 February 2009

As a singaporean, I’m really shameful to hv such leaders leading our country. In terms of intelligent, performance and graciousness they are peanuts as compare to the American leader such as President Barack Obama and yet they are drawing salary 4 to 5 times more than the American leader who has larger responsibilties to shoulder. Now as we know the election is coming soon, so the ruling party start planning to redraw the voting boundaries to their advantage….a kia soo strategy. Hope we singaporean must wake up and vote wisely not to be conned again by this grp of highly paid conmen.

17. HeardOnly 19 February 2009

Why he’s MIA: The mother is very, very sick. He’s the eldest son and has one very big decision and arrangements thereafter to make.

18. Alex the peasant boy 19 February 2009

As a Singaporean & facing the global crisis together with all of you, I am really scared! Yes, I am rather scared that I might lose my job & what job I could do to support my family. But now, I am REALLY bloody scared what will happen to our beloved country in the next 10 months or so. Recent events have me thinking about how bad our leaders are when they encountered crisis; since the days of good old Mas Selemat till the most recent news on the loss of our hard-earned Reserves, I have never seen PM Lee making any effort to clam us peasants down. I mean, he’s the captain of this ship, right? And also, he’s the leader of a 1st World country enjoying its Golden Years & it’s bloody frightening not to hear any words from his mouth. That just make me feel that all of us peasants are sinking to the bottom of the ocean, without any life jackets & guess what, the captain & his family are on a life boat a few miles from portside!!

Please correct me if I got this wrong cos I am just a simple guy trying to make ends meet & I am sure there are many of us out there that might missed out on some fine prints; besides drawing millions & suing CSJ till his pants drop, I think one of PM Lee’s main role is to lead Singapore & make sure nobody is left behind (Boy, am I seeing many of the elders or above 40s are being left behind to fend for themselves!!). I always thought leaders are supposed to inspire us during our darkest hour & he should be holding a lamp leading us to daylight? If he can’t or unwilling to do that, then why is he occupying that seat for so long? Maybe it’s better for someone else to take the job & try out new ideas & not go AWOL whenever there’s shit hitting the fan!! Why can’t PM Lee stand up & be counted, at least, for once? I don’t need to see him everyday, but now it’s the time he is most needed & he’s just nowhere to be seen. Every time, I see PM Lee on TV, I just feel that he doesn’t have any fight or fire in his belly at all; in another word, he’s just a lamp duck being placed there by you-know-how to do a job which he’s totally clueless.

Damn, I hope he is not in Paris taking up some cooking lessons for the next 5 weeks. You know, his disappearing act just prove one thing to me; in Singapore, important seats are reserved for a selected few, even though they might not have the capabilities nor stomach to make it work, while the passionate one are thrown into jail or in exile!!

19. He is doing what a good husband should do. Consoling wife on the loss of her job and multi-million dollar salary; fall from being one of world’s most powerful women.

He is putting family before career.

20. tiredsingaporean 19 February 2009

13) ErniesUrn (Ernie) on February 19th, 2009 10.06 am MM Lee said: ONE freak election result is all it will take to wipe out Singapore’s success in building up the city state, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew warned last night.

Dear Sir, it only took 8 months to wipe out S$ 58,000,000,000.
    I think ONE freak election is enough to wipe out NEPOTISM and GREED.

I would suggest all men in uniform to take note that the present govt has indeed screwed up all our hard earned money, whether its genuine lost or whatever, a huge sum of our nations reserve of more than $120billions are gone, those money belonging to you and me, those money belonging to our parents and folks are all gone. Now, the question is: Do your job with your hands touching your heart and don’t just take instruction blindly.

21. Used to be. 19 February 2009

Used to be that we felt the pride in our miniters. Lee Kuan Yew, Hon Sui Sen, Rajaratnam. We all did NS and did our best to make Singapore work.

Now after all the salary review of Ministers, some how we have lost that social connectedness, that feel good factor with the ministers.

They are in it for the money. And they will do what is necessary to maintain status quo so that the money keeps flowing in.

The disconnect started a couple of years back.

Now I look at our esteemed LKY, I feel sad he has led the A star team to such a low point for our minister. I hope they will review the minister pay and pay them adequately.

Then my respect for them will probably grow again.

22. indeed there is no sense of morality I see in this current govt

23. Observer (SG-HK) 19 February 2009

Are people willing to let all the skeletons out of a closet? When there are so much “suspicious” hidden dirty linens, it is not surprising that transparency and accountability (if there is) be kept as vague as possible. Only when there is something to fear that this sort of behavioral pattern exists. If one pledge to be sparkling clean and incorruptible, it baffles our mind why we cannot get to see or hear the full details of the picture given the fact that the losses (whether it is paper or realized) comes from our reserves that each one of us had contributed through the last few decades. 真金何惧烈火。人如问心无愧,没做对不起良心的事,何惧半夜鬼敲门呢?只要人不知除非己莫为。Only the key holders knew and if they felt no guilt even as to keep the public in suspense (or worse, the implied who are you to know the details self centered thinking, not even the late OTC can), there is nothing any one of us can do about it until a change order is in place. Oddly enough, there are a majority of us who had allowed this form of practice to take place and we seemed unperturbed and contented with little petty gifts handed down now and then as a token of appreciation for the support. Little do people know that this little petty gifts handed out will somehow be returned in kind by other measures deployed without the people having any rights or say. It is like saying; do as I please, do not if I feel like having mercy over the little guys. How pathetic can we get? And we are asking them to be like the newly sworn President of the United States of America? I think the chances of striking the super jackpot have a higher possibility.

There are reasons for many of us to feel uneasy and scare. There are so many uncertainties with this once in a century financial tsunami. The last thing we wanted to hear is we don’t know where we are heading and that every little creeping proposition that had surfaced implied that even our supposed retirement nest-egg will once again being rehash that on surface it seemed all dandy but a further careful review, will find that it had set back the possible withdrawal by another mile beyond reached (unless you belong to the upper middle class or above). Let alone now we heard little or nothing at all from the leader. I bet they are busy strategizing how to make another clean sweep and demolish the alternatives.

Hypothetically, what if we returned to the poor fishing village that we once were? Actually, I kind of missed that way of life. In retrospect, it is more environmental friendly then and people are more compassionate towards their kind. A majority of us live in atap or zinc roof top houses in villages. There are lesser electrical appliances available and air conditioners to cool off from the sweltering heat. The roads are dimmer of course and some without street light. Lesser automobile combustion and ignition that now proven to be harmful to environment. Nightfall comes early but you have a clear view of the shinning little stars above, a view that is rare today. Yes, once in a while, there are inconveniences due to natural flooding and so on. So what? We may be poor then but do remember we all live with conscience and it is not hard to find help when you needed them most. Neighbors or far away resident citizenry will bind together when the need arises. The infrastructure today had changed, we can never return to the facet of the once fishing village. But I think it does not hurt to allow every one of us to start from ground zero if it ever happened. At least we all know we are all in equal footing and perhaps that will even bring back our once lost conscience and bind us even closer as a nation. At least, we can all feel human again.

24. USA is USA lah and Singapore is Singapore leh. U can not compare. Singapore no resources, it is a more difficult country to manage mah. So it is a bigger job than USA President.

25. 25: Is that you Joe?

26. Well, dear #17 Heardonly, I’d like to point out that Obama’s grandmother (who is basically like a mother to him because she was the one who took care of him etc, due to his missing mother.) passed away during the election. LHL’s mother might be sick, but being Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore means he owes the people some answers. *Note Republic of Singapore, not Dictatorship of Singapore.

We the people are supposed to be number 1 among his priorities, especially given the dire circumstances. Let his old man take care of his mother, but if they want to draw huge pay checks and use the time to take care of their personal affairs while in office, then I don’t think he is the right man for the job. That’s my opinion.

Dear #25, Plumber, I hope your comments are sarcastic, because I took them to be so. But if they’re not then perhaps you need to get out more often, expose yourself to the world.

27. Our glorious leader maybe busy getting ready for the (upcoming) election mah.

Consider all of sudden, we get rebate and cuts from our first class PTO(public transport operator), pubic utilities rebate and GST Credit (my mother-in-law so happy government give ang bao and profess to vote for PAP). Sure got alot of naive singaporeans fall for this and vote blindly.

In the end next year, you see this goes up that goes up. Then, all this naive singaporeans will then kpkb vote wrong person as usual.

28. Ben Button 19 February 2009

http://www.intelligentsingaporean.com/utwt/2009/02/19/this-is-not-a-recession-this-is-a-depression/

I came across this. Its a very insightful look at this whole meltdown. I just hope the author is wrong.

29. Spirit-centred 19 February 2009

If they are going to hold a flash election, they are up to their trick again. They want to buy more time to hide all those things that are in trouble in their closet for another five more years, hopefully things get better by then. If the people vote them in again, they can indemnify themselves from all the losses because the people vote them in again that proves that they have done no wrong as the people agree to such losses.
    The people of Singapore must make your stand in this flash election that you do not approve the huge losses made by our multi-million ministers and we do not want a bunch of ministers who always blame US economy when our economy goes into recession every ten years and always claimed credit on their sound and unpopular policy when the economy rebound.
    To all Singaporeans, the current recession is not an ordinary one, even our current government put all the sound and popular or unpopular measures in place its not going to bring it back in 3 to 5 yrs time. All traditions demands that are not eco-friendly are going shrinked day by day. Only demands created from eco-friendly and green products and technologies are going to get us out of this recession. A total change of mindset regarding our wants and needs that fits to the protection of our environment will be allowed to grow. Only this environmental friendly new demands will prop up our new economy of the future, this policy is not the main focus in our budget 2009. So don’t believe them that only them can steer the economy for the upturn. Believe in more alternative voices in parliament so that all of us can work together to come up with measures for the new economy that will definitely steer us into an upturn and not the half-baked nonsensical job credits that are going to bring us there.

30. Hi Ben.

I hope i am wrong too.

=)

cheers

31. smallvice585 19 February 2009

We cannot judge our leaders against the high standards set by President Obama. – smallvoice585 (#6)

Yes, we should only judge our leaders against standards set by despots such as Robert Mugabe in Zimbawe, Saddam Hussein in Iraq, Surhato in Indonesia, Khmer Rogue in Cambodia, etc. We should not insult President Obama by putting the likes of LKY, LHL, GCT, TCH, KBW and other high profile PAP members in the same league. If I am American, I will be utterly insulted.

32. aiyoyo

looking at obama, really have a deep thought about those ELITEs in this country,

can they be compared? (at least in transparency…)

aiyoyo

33. sarek_home 19 February 2009

29) Ben Button on February 19th, 2009 4.03 pm

I believe governments all over the world are hoping for the best (i.e. recession) and preparing for the worst (i.e. depression). They don’t want to discourage the public from trying by announcing it is a depression now.

Like you, I just hope the author is wrong, for sake of everyone.

34. smallvoice585 19 February 2009

Dear #32 smallvice585,

For once, I do agree with you.

I’m actually pleasantly surprised that President Obama did not mince his words. It seems like he is trying his best to carry out all his campaign promises. This is extraordinary in the world of politics. He is truly a sincere politician, a rare breed.

This quotation ““This is your money. You have a right to know where it’s going and how it’s being spent. Learn what steps we’re taking to ensure you can track our progress every step of the way” from recovery.gov almost brought tears to my eyes. It’s even better than JFK’s “Ask not what your country can do for you …..”, because his is transparency at its best, whereas JFK’s quote is mere rhetoric.

Thank you, President Obama. You have cured my cynicism for politicians. But sadly, it is still too much to ask of mere Asian politicians to do the same.

35. Well, i do hope that the author is wrong too, but based on all the outlook and news, the worst may be happening.

however what the current gahmen has been doing can’t be forgiven nor forgotten. and Mr LKY usualy scare tactic may not be so effective this time round as more people have open their eyes.

1 point that i am wondering about is…will those that get retrench and didn’t receive much help still vote for them?

36. smallvice585 19 February 2009

smallvoice585 (#35),

I still remain uncomfortable to see Singapore’s fortune being squandered by the current generation of PAP leaders and the top echelons serving senior positions in the civil service, statutory boards and the GLCs. I would like to see the likes of Dr Tony Tan to return back to government and play a key role in overseeing Singapore’s medium and long term development.

37. NORTHGATE2007 19 February 2009

I thought ” LAO LEE” will be saying something,,,,,,Till now.,..NOTHING>??!

38. kaomangai 19 February 2009

I must say that on the onset that I have posted this story online before and it is not original, but this story is so true in the light of political leadership in Singapore that it bears repeating: -

POST TURTLE

While suturing a cut on the hand of a 75 year old rancher, whose hand was caught in the gate while working cattle, the doctor struck up a conversation with the old man. Eventually the topic got around to one of the political candidates.

The old rancher said, “Well, ya know, that candidate is a ‘Post Turtle’”.

Not being familiar with the term, the doctor asked him what a ‘Post Turtle’ was.

The old rancher said, “When you’re driving down a country road you come across a fence post with a turtle balanced on top, that’s a ‘Post Turtle’”.

The old rancher saw the puzzled look on the doctor’s face so he continued to explain.

“You know he didn’t get up there by himself, he doesn’t belong up there, and he doesn’t know what to do while he’s up there, and you just wonder what kind of dummy put him up there to begin with”.

39. Andrew Loh
    ‘The government still has time to correct its actions and be more upfront and transparent in its dealings – especially when more than $100 billion, the estimated total losses incurred by both Temasek and the GIC, is involved.’

#13) ErniesUrn (Ernie)
    MM Lee said: ONE freak election result is all it will take to wipe out Singapore’s success in building up the city state, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew warned last night.
    …………………………………………………………..

MM Lee is wrong. With the PAP-controlled President holding the second key to the reserves and having the power to approve key appointments, the newly elected government will be almost powerless, especially when the country is in serious economic and social troubles. The PAP will still control the reserves, GIC, Temasek, the army and police and GLCs including the press.

Except for a few, nobody including the Elected President knows how much we have in the GIC. If we lose another 100 billions nobody will know. Look at Zimbabwe now. A bankrupt country but he is still holding onto power. Absolute power to Robert Mugabe for many years without an effective opposition brought about the corrupted government with a million % inflation.

This may happen to Singapore in future when MM Lee is no longer around.
    I am afraid by that time it will be impossible for him to rise up from the dead.

40. Haha, that post Turtle is quite true…

41. Mr President Obama, can you tell us how much GIC and Temasek have lost through their investments in the U.S banks?

Our elites here are not telling us because here in Singapore they think we are lesser mortals. In short what it means is here in Singapore, we the locals are considers as idiots and foreigners that come to work here are the talent.

42. Talk so much for what, do whats right in the coming GE is more important.

VOTE PAP OUT !

The money bloody sucker party ! We need some truly passionate people to lead us, not some crappy politician who only know to talk cock and screw up our life.

43. tiredsingaporean 19 February 2009

Be prepared for the worst to come when the pap party managed to succeed in manipulating the coming snap election to stay in power. Be prepared to see unbelievable no. of total walkover GRCs with new ones too and all kinds of forced voting regulations, so whether you like it or not, you have no other choice. Unless . . . . . . . . . up to you unhappy citizens to play your part now.

44. Singapore has paid high price for a compalcent govt. Too generous with words and reluctant in actions.

If I happened to see a minister walking in the street, he is just an ordinary citizen in oblivion but with pockets full of peasants monies. I can’t help thinking why we need such ungracious people in our life and still want us to be grateful to them.

45. KEEN Observer 19 February 2009

The MAN MIA?
    Spore win right to Host Youth Olympics–Whole cabinet live on TV in about 35 micro seconds.–The MAN RIGHt in front.
    China imports win table tennis Olympic medals—Splashed across TV and MSM faces of the MAN.
    ON top of that parachuted LUNAR LEE BH from same GRC to president of TABLE-TENNIS ASS.—-TO reflect glory onto himself.–THE MOON IS A REFLECTED OF LIGHT.
    MAS SELAMAT MISSING—NOT a word from the MAN for many weeks.
    $100 BILLION lost—Let underlings take the flak
    PM now assisted by MM, SM,2 DPMs, 2 millionsters in the PM office.etc etc
    WE ONLY NEED ONE OBAMA—one that shows LEADERSHIP IN BAD TIMES—not glory seeking millionsters that cannot lead.

46. #43) khaw
    Talk so much for what, do whats right in the coming GE is more important.

VOTE PAP OUT !
    ………………………………………………………

Even if every TOC reader were to vote for opposition party candidates, it will not increase from 33% of total votes to 51% because the readers here only constitute less than 1% of the voters.

We should all put in concerted efforts to spread the message. On my part, I have publicized TOC to my friends and colleagues. I will be lending the book ‘ A Nation Cheated’ written by CSJ to others. This book cost $14.55 is available at Kinokuniya.

There are many other ways citizens who believe in genuine democracy can help to prevent our country from reverting to THIRD WORLD status.

Vote in more opposition party candidates to insure the future survival of our country or else we may become like so many failed states in Africa where there are many one-party countries.

47. tiredsingaporean 19 February 2009

The Government Gazette has revealed that changes have been made to polling districts. Such changes are part of the steps that need to be taken ahead of a General Election. (Straits Times)

TOO LATE NOW! the papees govt has already made their final arrangement to call for an early snap election in days to come. If the 2 present opp parties cannot get their new members ready in time, maybe Potong Pasir will be gone too, all they have to do is just telling the people there that CST is not going to last much longer and there will be no successor and pap will automatically take over. Call it dirty game, but this is Singapore PAP way of politicing. No choice, before the old man kick the bucket (which would not be long), he will at all means grab this last straw of opportunity he has, to do whatever he could to keep all the power and money to his family members.

48. Mee Siam 19 February 2009

(47) Edward
    “Even if every TOC reader were to vote for opposition party candidates, it will not increase from 33% of total votes to 51% because the readers here only constitute less than 1% of the voters. ”

Finally, someone concurs with my analysis which I have been preaching for so long. 10,000 ‘s life savings gone. 1K turned up only. After lots of calling, tv reports, paper reports etc.

I recognised this problem as a very deep seated problem that would take at least 1 generation to eradicate. HK people suffered the same, their response was 180 different.

Litmus test for anyone of your colleagues : ask them what do you feel about TC investment fiascos and any other fiascos. use a camera and take a candid camera shot of their facial expression. Ask them impromtu, sudden, surprise them with your question. most will ignore your question or brush it aside or say some nonesense or say they no comments or not aware or no idea or not interested or would begin to distance from you or would , like what my friend said “due to nature of my job…..no comments”

this is nothing new. just that its hard for us to admit this thingie.

are we unique?

why donch the rest tell us? ‘the rest’ being the apatheticos. non apathetic ones read this blog, as the name implies. challenge me.

49. Annuity Package 19 February 2009

Thanks for posting the Ong Teng Cheong articles. I have no doubt that his loyalty is to the people. Looking at what he did and said all I can say is that the people have been betrayed or better still cheated. Despite all that has happened the only think that is certain is that they have enriched themselves. Can they stand up to scrutiny by clean by opening up everything. Will they

50. What’s the point of voting out PAP?

They are still the chairman, directors, management of Temasek and GIC, where our money is parked. THEY hold the key, not some president, elected or not.