Excerpt from Today (9 March 2009):
At the time of the mishap, a picnic mat had been hung to air over the gap in the railing. Siti had been playing nearby. “I think she was crawling behind it, and then suddenly we saw the mat move and then we realised she had fallen,” said Mr Muhammad Azman, 24, a family friend.
Mr Muhammad and Siti’s uncle Muhammad Syukri had been sitting nearby at the landing, playing the guitar. “She knows not to play there,” said Mr Muhammad Syukri, 20, currently unemployed. “We always warn her not to run around too close.”
It was he who reportedly called the town council three months ago about the broken railing. He claimed he was told someone would be sent to check on it. “I didn’t hear from them, I don’t know if they came or not.”
——
Her family said the gap was reported in December to the Bukit Merah Town Council. But the latter last night said it could find no record of the call.
Read the full report here.
—-
Bukit Merah Town Council is under Tangor Pagar GRC Constituency.
—-
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

why is tc paying for the bill of the young girl if it wasnt their fault?
if the report was really taken then why is the record not in tc?
So who is right here? some coverup again. sigh
A young life has lost. TC should be blamed. Their staff not doing the work, the MP not making the rounds, where is the maintenance people ? their job is to go round and check defects and maintenance ? where are they??
I am dumbstruck at the caring attitude displayed by the authorities. This is certainly not the typical modus operandi of our world-class-but-heartless officials and begs the question ‘why’ – and the first thing that comes to mind is damage control to limit negative PR in light of an upcoming election.
The response of the Town Council is way too slick and helpful here…
To Tew,
The little girl is still alive.
Tew N.S.
Don’t get frighten by the headlines,The girl is injured and is in hospital now.
Hi,
IT’s standard practice for me to ask for the name of the staff when he or she handles my calls, just in case the query is ignored, I have some proof on my part that I have called indeed. This is also caused by some bad experience when they deny I ever called, so I’ve become smarter.
This is especially important when I call certain government bodies. It also gives the person the “motivation” to get the query resolved soon, cos I know his or her name and may be able to lodge a complaint to his/her boss.
Sue them! It’s an act of negligence.
This is what happens when we allow the ruling PAP an absolute majority…..the people holding responsible positions and supposed to carry out their tasks with due responsibility act in ‘Complacency’
When is it going to be, laughingly, called an act of complacency?
When are we going to have enough to get up and act! It is time we stopped blaming the authorities for these lapses; get up and kill their majority and have them responsible.
To be fair, my TC is VERY prompt in addressing even relatively minor defects. My estate is a poor one, not those 5-room or executive flats.
Thus, for a safety issue, it is totally unacceptable. Even if the report had not been made, it should have been rectified much earlier. Someone’s head deserves to roll to show that they are serious about accountability.
Then again, they may learn from a certain minister. “Honest mistake”?
I believe TC officers are supposed to make regular rounds to check. Complacency in Bukit Merah, I suppose? At Bukit Batok where I stay, when a corridor light fails, it’s usually replaced within a few days, sometimes, the very next day. This is the kind of standard I expect.
To be fair, I think the TC is handling the aftermath pretty well. Although they should (and could) have prevented this from happening if they repair it quickly. Let’s hope they investigate into this and make the person responsible for the lapse answer for it. And hope such thing will not happen again.
“What to do, it’s happened”
Prevention is always better the cure, whether TC handled well in the aftermath is another matter. Fortunately the victim is still alive and I wonder how TC will handle the case if the fall was fatal causing death or permanent injury to the victim and his family? Money is not everything and not an antidote to all problems like how our country used to solve hers. Since residents are forced to pay monthly conservancy fees, we expect certain high standard of care and responsibility from the people in TC and not counting how much they have collected to splurge on risky products.
my friends stays in HG area and he says he has been bugged by many mossies over the last 3 months. recently, a few blocks away, there are reports of residents who kenna dengue and sent to hospital. my friend was bitten too. he is worried one day he will get dengue which is a life threatening virus.
i remember the news recently reported the denuge cases have dropped. its a different perception over at some place in hg.
dengue dont lie.
Town council even station a staff at the hospital to assist the injured family as reported in the news. I hope this is sincere and not another damaged control mechanism to prevent concerned person such as TOC who wants to interview the affected family or interested lawyers who wants to help the family to take up a case to sue the MP and town councils for negligence and ask for compensation that may amount to millions of dollars in the USA.
Lightning had struck the Merlion, so many of such weird incidents are happening now.
Yet another “It’s an honest mistake, let’s move on”!!!
It is absolutely shocking that the Town Council said it can bear the medical bill if the family has difficulties paying!!! Shouldn’t the Town Council foot the bill regardless????
The parents never take care of the girl well & instead accused the town council. Please don’t give lame excuses like this. We all know how well Malay parents bring up their kids.
Loop , you’re a a moron. What happened if the girl is chinese? Then it is Town council fault?. Idiot people cannot see without stereotype glass. Stupid……
15) loop on March 9th, 2009 5.29 pm The parents never take care of the girl well & instead accused the town council. Please don’t give lame excuses like this. We all know how well Malay parents bring up their kids
Regardless how a family bring up their kids ! It’s Another Cover up!
The girl Fell from 4 story high and TC said they have no record of the call in december.
According to the Newspaper Report, a resident was quoted as saying the whole railing was found to be shaky. The fall victim seemed to have fell through a gap in the railing, if I am not wrong.
Many HDB Buildings all over the Island have metal railings as common corridor barriers(low walls), many of the older blocks use non-stainless steels which rust quite easily in our tropical weathers. Most of these metal barriers are painted regularly and more often than not the rusts are covered by the coats of paint hiding the damages of the metals that had rusted. This makes the railings more dangerous than they appear(safe).
It is imperative that HDB, with the happening of this mishap, provides regular inspections on all their buildings with such railings
Post#12 & #15 are plainly uncalled for and should have been deleted.
9) Shawn on March 9th, 2009 1.22 pm
I believe TC officers are supposed to make regular rounds to check
December to March. That’s 4 months and no one from the TC spotted the missing rail. Unbelievable !! That is unacceptable !! How does a TC operates on day to day issues?
“Yet another “It’s an honest mistake, let’s move on”!!!
It is absolutely shocking that the Town Council said it can bear the medical bill if the family has difficulties paying!!! Shouldn’t the Town Council foot the bill regardless????”
Yup, absolutely shocking…under common law, if i remember correctly, they can sue TC for public injury caused due to negligence and that will cover up her current plus future medical fee, cost of pain and suffering and possible lost of future income due to some PI and that could amount to a big lump sum if it really goes through. Plus this is a very young child, so the age factor is quite significant
The way i see it, TC people are running like scared rabbits, offering to help in medical bill, so much care and concern and so many of them visiting the girl at the hosiptal, even station one TC employee there.
Without TC admission of liability, we already know it that due the TC negligence by not fixing it since december 2008, regardless of whether it was reported or not, it is the responsibility of the TC to upkeep the estate.
Well, in this circumstance I do believe it is an act of negligence if the precarious railing was reported. If im not worng, the lift landing is a common space that is under the ownership of the TC (much as corridors are), and under tort law, the owner owes to the users a duty of reasonable care. I believe the TCs CAN be sued under this circumstance. They cannot be sued, however, if they diligently performed maintenance services and the accident happened outside reasonable maintenance efforts. The shaky rail has been there for 3 months!!! I wouldn’t call that reasonable maintenance…
#15… Whether or not it is the victim’s carelessness, every owner owes to their patron a duty of reasonable care, which is this case seemed to be breach… it’s not like they even bothered to put up a disclaimer and warning signs…
Any RE lawyers care to clarify?
pardon the grammatical error… “which IN this case SEEMS to be BREACHED…”
Hi guys, better be safe than sorry – and in SIngapore, be very very safe, very very kiasu and kiasi.
I tell you serious no exaggeration, and in all honesty (of course its up to some to doubt), I make it a point to in my own record book all my complaints, feedbacks etc to each and every organisation, and worst especially stat boards and govt depts.
In fact , for example when i make a traffic report of certain events, I make it a point to ask the recipients name, and specifically asked its our conversation recorded or not, the answer which I will also jot down.
In times of dispute, YOU ALL SHOULD KNOW, WHO IS ALWAYS THE WINNER.
Call Bukit Merah Town Council Ha! Ha! Ha! how many times we call are
useless. I try until I am mad. Olny you are a big shot or VIP baby.
To get attention, first vote out PAP from your constituency. Then, the PAP will promise you many improvements for your constituency to win back from opposition.
After a few rounds of election your constituency will have the best facilities and amenities.
Hope to exercise my vote in Tanjong Pagar for the next election!
Singaporeans is time we grow up!
Lol #27 is very true indeed. Look who’s the complacent one.
That being said, do note that having a mat covering the hole is very dangerous too.
“The medical bills, he said, could be billed directly to the town council if the family has difficulty paying, ….”
I strongly feel that MP Sam Tan has lost his mandate to lead.
After knowing the full details of what exactly and actually happened, he still has the cheek to say such things.
How can he say something like that?
I really cannot imagine such an expression coming out from his mouth.
It is so unbecoming for a leader to talk in this manner.
The people look up to you for guidance, for leadership and to take care of them.
Moreover, this whole episode started with the inaction of the town council that caused this very unfortunate incident.
It is only right that the town council picks up the tab.
Do not attempt to downplay the seriousness of this mistake and failure of the town council and turn the whole story into a kindness act by the town council.
One more thing, don’t you ever again run down on the dignity of the very same people who voted for you.
Mr MP Sir, please step down.
I think you do not deserve to be an MP.
This has nothing to do with your qualification, your capability or whatever.
It has something to do with your heart.
Sad to say, you just don’t have that.
Instead of apologising to the little one and her family and the people of your ward, your are still trying to play politics.
You have failed as an MP and you have failed miserably.
Oh! Your town council has also failed in its mission statement.
http://www.tptc.org.sg/mission.html
I am truly ashame of you.
BTW, where did you learn to talk like that?
Lastly I would just want to say that there’s no such thing as Bukit Merah Town Council.
It is actually Tanjong Pagar Town Council (Radin Mas Division).
http://www.tptc.org.sg/town.html
Really wonder how TODAY could allow such unedited article to go online.
What the TC said was that it would accept the hospital bills if its insurance policies actually included such coverage, and not that the TC should accept the hospital bill because of its criminal negligence to public safety.
2 families have said they called in to tc and both phonecalls had gone missing. Now we know where our “TC fees has went” to investments!
Let me add 1 more:
Someone did mention in other posts about Singapore Parliament’s Hansard records incomplete or updated. Well should this be true – then what more can you expect of feedback/complaints records to these type of institutions.
Think about it fellas.
I am surprised that its was mentioned in the news that all complaints on estate amenities defects are handled by third party . I thought the maintenance manager and his assistants should be doing the jobs or they just collect their monthly salaries and leave everything to third party contractors who are less likely to be very conscientous in taking every calls seriously. Example: My sister complained about lightings not working infront of her and neighbours shops while a few units to her left and right are working. First call, nobody come down, probably no record of calls by third party contractor. Second call, your block is handled by two town councils, I shall relay your concern to another town council. Unbelievable, double attention, two town councils handling the affairs of same block 201B Tampines St 21.
I just hope that this culture of management/governance do not run through from Ministers to Ministry to Civil Department than to third party contractors, any hiccups its third pary contractors fault and the person direct responsible wash his hand clean.
Yes for this incident, the MP should sincerely apologise and take responsibility for this TC negligence and step-down to sent strong signals to all MPs and TC to be on the ball to prevent such unwanted mishaps.
Singaporeans have short memories. Singaporeeans dont trust the gahmen enough.
All these managers, leaders are top-talent selected after undergone rigorous screening processes.
They have all claimed to give back to society, they have claimed that they have benefited from the system, and being loyal citizens, they are giving back.
Dont begrudge their talents and salaries, its peanuts considering managing the economy worht billions.
Lets move on, do not harp on their honest mistakes.
Sorry, it should not have happened, but it did.
Looks like this is how our system is running, if they cannot even count how many MP is present in Parliament, you think the TC are that efficient.
The problem is that we have too many fat cats in Parliament, TC and Goverment Organisations, they just collect salary and do very little.
Stationed a TC staff at the hospital to assist the victim and family?At the expense of normal routine estate inspections and rectification work. Obviously, the TC management got their priority all wrong. Expect another incident soon.
When someone is late for a meeting and the explaination is “i did not receive that email invitation”. You know it is a lie because he turned up at the meeting but he is late.
TC here said they did not received that call, if so why have they repaired the railing in such lighting speed? Usually many town facility defects need to report and only after a few days then the repair work will get done.
#30;
Very well said !
There are simply too much failures due to shameless irresponsibilties !
Singaporeans must be the worst suffering citizens in the World now because they are running out of responsible and capable leaders !
I do wonder for the monthly fee that’s paid to them, do we the citizens deserve such SPEED in handling issues? Too Slow…Too much regret.
But I think TC is still pretty busy with licking their wounded investment from the crisis. After all, the investment is much more important.
I have a lighting problem in my block for months. I don’t see anyone taking a walk to check on things. As TC, they should have a standard check for all areas and things. They would know in which year Block A B or C was built in and by when maintenance needed to be done. Planning dudes!
Thats why the chinese saying: Bu Jian Guan Cai Bu Lui Lei. English translation: You only know tears when you see the coffin.
Chey.
Many questions here. Was a call made or not made? Would the TC have offered such quick ready assistance if the accident was not public. Luckily there was no fatality. What compensation can the TC offer to the family as goodwill?
This is a man-made negligence, was a tragedy should not happen, if the parties have listened a little, a little bit more sense of crisis so that the tragedy would not have happened.
Leaders responsible for the area ministers and parliamentarians, they are difficult to blame their own duties and leadership.
Many things are opt out for cheapest labor, they just sit there to collect the monthly
pay of the resident. How care what happen to the resident,
THEY only interested whether they are in power only,
LIKE MAS selar can escape from toilet, they are something they always do
COVER UP,,,,,, COVER UP
Some heavy contraption of a neighbourhood exercise station made of heavy timber located near two schools in Tampines had been in less than sturdy condition due to wear and tear and abuse from vandalism.
I had highlighted it to my MP through the letter writers of his more than a year ago, reminding them that it was in Tampines that a boy was killed by a falling lamppost in a basketball court which was reported in the newspapers.
To date I had not seen any action taken to repair the equipment. Perhaps does not allow for it as the Town Council had lost money in failed investments?
It can be recalled that the town council defended itself that it had checked the lampost two weeks prior to the tragedy. Small comfort indeed it was to the bereaved parents.
I had taken videos of the exercise contraption’s flimsy state as evidence in case there is a tragic repetition.
Clearly it is the town council fault to not pay proper attention to the resident’s complaints. Else you think they are so good to offer medical assistance to the family and even paid them personal visit in the hospital?
Damn to this PAP government and their lackey. Why can’t they just ADMIT that it is their fault forget to repair the damaged structure. Why can’t they just issue an apology in ST so that we public know that town council still exists and is in our service? Each day I keep reading news that our PAP government and its stat board, organ of state, ministry, and public service, seem to always act cool and ignorance to the numerous complaints and if suay suay something happen, they’ll just find an excuse to cover it up. So damn lame character they have. Should look at Japan where people take proud to own up their mistake and ask for apology.
Hey loop
GROW up. What do u mean MALAY family, on the way they bring up their kids, how about chinese or indian, ARE U being racism. i dont think u should say that, you’re definitely from CHINA or some WEIRD country, or maybe an alien. We’re one nation, malay/chinese/indian suppose to be human too rite?. its just the colour and name people created. but above all we have heart. MOSTLy heart for the little Siti. Who is suffering right now.
LOOP. u are a total moron and some alien.
I personally create this for u. GROW UP. STOP blaming races or other, build our country strong by stop being an A*$#@^#^ and BE one citizen, we’re one. regardless malay chinese or indian, we’re born here, SINGAPORE. Be proud and support each other not critisize on one another.
The lil’ gerl life is at stake. just pray her well and soon recovery.
Old news:
http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/93074
http://www.corrosionclinic.com/corrosion_news.htm
“On Feb 28 last year (2003), secondary school student Tay Wei Yi, 13, was playing volleyball at a Tampines basketball court when the lamp post fell and hit him on the head. A senior property officer with Tampines Town Council’s managing agent had visually checked the lamp post three weeks before the incident but had not noticed any defects. ”
Town councils never assign their property officers to check on every block and every floor. Not once every year, not even once every two years. They would give the excuse that the area under their charge is too big to be covered by their staff so their staff just sti in the office and wait for people to lodge complaint. And now, in this case, even the record of the complaint was not there.
The TCs should make their property officer to go out there to check on every floor of every block and keep proper record of such inspection. But then, if they just go through the motion, it is also useless as in the case of Tampines boy.
Folks, it’s CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE of the Town Council; just like that the death of the teenage boy who was killed when a badly corroded lamp post fell down on him in National Development Minister Mah’s Tampines Town Council.
As someone has pointed out steel takes time – years in this case & at the Tampines basketball court – so it is just proper procedure to subject the metal part to routine checking.
But, as most pointed out, the so called committee would be just another white wash. (For the Tampines basketball court death, the Coroner just ruled that it was NOBODY’s fault – just bad luck lah)
So live with the kind of treatment we, the LESSER MORTALS, are subject us to by the ELITES who get to keep the millions dollars pay.
correction:
steel takes years to RUST and eventually fail
A someone posted – TC is negligent, very very negligent, period.
Let me tell you what I concluded and had done – since recent years, I couldnt be bothered in giving feedback, telling the authorities down there something wrong, down here not working, to check on this check on that, can you look into this look into that, please get your people to clear this mosquito breeding here, look at where and where there were traffic lights malfunction etc etc etc.
Why, why shall I be the eyes and feelers for those LAZY and IRRESPONSIBLE people whose job that I need not suppose to help, to tell them this tell them that. Hey come on, everytime without fail after troubles happened, they always say we have this we have that in place etc, etc we have this system that system – what man go FLY BIG BIG KITE and play with FEMALE SPIDERS !!
I am not paid, neither do they share their bonusses with me, EXCPET THAT EVERY ELECTION they FRIGHTEN ME AND MY CHILDREN, FORCE ME, PERSUADE ME TO VOTE FOR THEM, tns.
Sorry la, some people might say if anything befall me if I dont do this do that, to tell the authorities and my turn to get into bad luck, then folks so be it. I m not being insenstive, lack civic conscious or self- fish, ITS just that these lazy irresponsible people TAKE OUR VOTES FOR GRANTED, drawing big fat pay, need to wake up and realise that they dont need our feedback and information (In fact feedback was already given precisely these kind of accidents STILL happened !!!!)
So fellow citizens, let enough of these accidents befall ALL OVER SINGAPORE – mosquitoes breeding, traffic lights malfunction etc etc.) then more and more citizens will decide, enough is enough for all these denials, half-truths, cover-ups. ITS TIME TO VOTE THEM OUT