From the Malaysianinsider:

KUALA LUMPUR, March 28 — Despite saying that he would not come to the Umno General Assembly because of rampant money politics in the party elections, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today surprised Umno delegates by making an appearance and announcing that he would be rejoining the party.

“I came because Muhyiddin convinced me that there will be changes,” he said. Dr Mahathir also said he came to congratulate new party president Datuk Seri Najib Razak on his excellent speech.

When asked when he would be rejoining the party, he responded: “Later, have to fill in the forms. Lambat lagi. I will rejoin Umno. I will tell you later.”

Dr Mahathir also denied that he would be given an advisory role in Najib’ s new administration and told reporters that he was unhappy with party’s new line-up.

“It is not very satisfying because too much money has been spent,” he said.

Yesterday Dr. Mahathir wrote in his blog accusing Umno Youth of being corrupted in choosing Khairy as their leader.

When his son Datuk Mukriz was later asked about the father’s return to Umno, he replied: “Once Najib takes over, he will fill in the application form.”

Meanwhile, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will seek an audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to submit his resignation as Prime Minister on April 2.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

15 Responses to “Mahathir to rejoin UMNO after Badawi steps down”

1. Malaysia has Lotus Exige 28 March 2009

The news flashed that Abdullah gonna tender resignation in April.

that aside, I digress a lil. I like to voice my opinion that Sg does not have a Malaysiakini. It cannot have as there is no such foreign talent.

jus my 2 cents. dun flame me.

Its all in your imagination like magic is an illusion but it actually appears real.

2. Yeah, some would clinged on, but others would let go and reflect.

Presume the world not coming to an end after all ?

3. To understand Abdullah, you have to know his background.

He is steep in religion. Somehow, from my years of observing leaders of the world, I have formed the opinion that a deeply religious man, like Abdullah, cannot be a strong leader in the present world.

Abdullah will not destroy his political enemies. He is very forgiving to those who did him wrong.

In his own words, he said that there is a Higher authority to whom he is answerable. Some people misinterpret this trait to be a sign of weakness.

This brings me to an incident about durian buying. A non-Malay colleague once told me that if I wanted to buy durians in Malaysia, not to buy from the Chinese. They would cheat me. Buy from the Malays, because they were too stupid to cheat.

A Malay-Muslim colleague who overheard it then explained:
    Cheating is `haram’ in Islam ( haram = not permissable ). If the Malay cheated you then used the ill-gotten gains to buy anything, including food, then that would be haram too. If the food became part of his body, then that part would be haram too………something he would be answerable to God.

It is NOT stupidity. Obviously, these days there are many Malays who cheated and lied………………….because of the new religion: $$$$$$$$, NOT because they are now smarter.

4. monday 30 March 2009

Yep, an a new post “akan datang” – “MM Mahathir”.

When will these old fools ever know when to quit and retire graciously ?

5. 30/3/09

Dr M created a big mess during his 22 years of administration and today corruption in Malaysia is not only in the government but also in the private sector and costs of doing business is very high and huge, and when Abdullah took over, it was almost impossible for him to clean up as his ministers were part of Dr M’s cabinet and he did try best but did not succeed much.

Come next week, Malaysia will have a new Prime Minister named Najib and he is sure to appoint Dr M as a Senior Adviser equivalent to our Senior Minister here, and we shall see a bigger mess to be created by Dr M who beleived Malaysia cannot do without him and now he is back, Malaysia can achieve amazing growth and achievements and living up to the slogan “Malaysia Boleh” and he is going to bring back the Dark Ages ie curtailing all forms of freedom in Malaysia (honestly this is not possible as once you have opened up and people are free and they value their freedom and will fight at all costs to preserve their freedom, mind you UMNO-BN does not have two third majority in Parliament and in West Malaytsia, the middle class Malays are no longer supporting UMNO and about 40% rural Malays are no longer with UMNO).

Let us as Singaporens sit and watch and be thankful that we are an independent nation and need not have to kowtow to UMNO’s Ketuanan Melayu like our Malaysian Chinese and Indians.

Regards
    Andrew Chuah

6. Nice show awaiting 30 March 2009

A new MM to be created for Malaysia, there will be hard time for our Leeregime govt. The replication of Chairman Mao and President Chiang saga.

7. Ah Choi 30 March 2009

Frankly speaking, without Abdullah, do you think Anwar can be released so soon? Without Abdullah, do you think Oppositions can win 5 states ?
    We should thank Abdullah instead.

8. >Andrew Chua said:
    >Let us as Singaporens sit and watch and be thankful that we are an >independent nation and need not have to kowtow to UMNO’s Ketuanan Melayu >like our Malaysian Chinese and Indians.

There are many more Chinese milionaires in Malaysia than in Singapore
    The races of millionaries are No.1 Chinese, No.2 Indians, No.3 Malays
    What do you think is the ratio? You’ll be surprised.
    What about percentage based on race? You’ll be even more surprised!

Malaysia is perhaps the only country, where the majority race, which is also the son of the soil, is the poores, eventhough the race runs the country politically, and has an overwhelming power in the armed forces.
    Ask yourself why? What could happen in another country like that?
    Why do Indonesians of Chinese descent keep their money abroad? Why not in Malaysia where the Chinese and Indians hold the major shares in businesses and banks?

Then perhaps you can understand why UMNO has to have that rhetoric of Ketuanan Melayu. It is directed more to the Malays, to pacify them, so as `not to upset the apple-cart,’ in Tengku’s own words.

In a political upheaveal caused my the Malay dissatisfaction, everyone will lose, but the Chinese will have much more to lose…………… simply because the poor have nothing to lose.

9. Comment # 3.

Well, I am surprised at Sobri contributions on ‘durian buying’..

Some says a little or no knowledge is dangerous, and not to be misled by religious fanatics rhetoric.

So, ever heard of the word “KARMA” ?

Nope ? Can also google search, lah.

In the past, I too lack religious knowledge, but now we have the internet to supplement our ignorance.

It was only of late that I realised that the Christian and Islam religion came from one source. And the meaning in the google search was even most enlightening too.

Archangel (means “chief messenger of god” in Koine Greek), GABRIEL !

Need some intellectual reading, friend.

10. Comment # 8.

I read the subject on millionaires interesting.

Did they just strike lottery, Empat Ekor, big sweep, corruptions, etc ?

However, I think we should comment with a perspective instead.

Ever heard of the word ‘HARD-WORKING’ ?

Yeah, most read and see the success stories with envy.

But what about the effort plough to have the trees bear fruits ?

There are failures too, like bankrupcies, you ever heard ?

When I went for holidays in Asean countries, some are working 12 to 16 hours per day !

Who would like to work this way ?

11. Chained 2 April 2009

Mahathir is a cunning man who would stoop low to accomplish an objective. Anyone who follows Anwar’s sodomy case closely would know that he is being maligned. That is why he is released by Abdullah. Abdullah knows that he has been dealt with a great injustice.

12. smallvice585 2 April 2009

Minister Mentor Mahatir?

13. Sobri 2 April 2009

>9) Imagine on March 31st, 2009 10.57 am Comment # 3.
    >It was only of late that I realised that the Christian and Islam religion came from >one source. And the meaning in the google search was even most enlightening >too.
    >Archangel (means “chief messenger of god” in Koine Greek), GABRIEL !

The 3 great semitic relgions are Judaism, Christianity and Islam, in that order.
    In fact there are a lot of similarities. Muslims believe in the miracle birth of Jesus.
    All the prophets, Abaraham, Solomon, David, Jesus, of Judaism and Christianity are also sacred to Muslims.

If you know Hinduism, you’ll be surprised too. Contarary to the beliefs of many people, Hindus believe in ONE God.

The more one learns of the religions of others, the more one develops understanding,and not mere tolerance. Fanatics an bigots can only see everything from their own narrow viewpoints.

14. malaysia has many problems and mahathir coming back into politics is DEFINITELY not going to be pleasant.

However if you think singapore is an independant country you are delusional! your mr.lee is the singaporean vs of mahathir!
    Both are responsible for the collapse of the independant judiciary in both countries and both have perpetuated their power too far and wide (authoratarian regimes)

mahathir is a powerful and cunning man and him staying away from politics is the best thing for malaysia. i hope he does not come back in. he has a narrow point of view and fails to understand many things, such as the importance of the independant judiciary for example. mr lee also holds the same views as mahathir in this respect.

essentially the problems stem from a too powerful executive head who also controls the other two head of powers: legislative and judiciary.
    the other two heads of powers should be ideally independant in order to maintain a balance of power. In malaysia there seems to be a move towards seperating the 3 head of powers (as with the gov losing 2/3 maj and thus cannot ammend the constitution at will, and with a commission set up moving towards independant appointment of judiciary)
    singapore on the other hand is still purely authoratarian. at the moment the overwhelming control the gov has over any press, information controls, as well as the standard of good living which ultimately surpases malaysia keeps the population at bay and out of dwelling into politics (due to attitudes of complacency)

nevertheless, the problems are still there and singaporeans who think otherwise.. should really open up their eyes

15. An intelligent point of view, well epexrsesd! Thanks!