Monday, March 30, 2009 9:52

MM Lee on marriage and his daughter, Dr Lee Wei Ling

In Main Stories • 11,265 views • 64 Comments

From littlespeck.com:

After saying that one-third of men and women in Singapore were single “and quite comfortable with their lives”, the Minister Mentor said: “My daughter is one of them. What can I do?”

Then in an unusually emotional mood, Lee told the young audience: “When she was in her early 30s, I told her, never mind all this.

“My wife and I used to tell her, what you want is a “Mrs” (to her name). She didn’t think it was funny. Now, she is 50-plus.

“I’m getting old. I’ve got a pacemaker. We’ve got this big house, everything is looked after now, but what happens when we are no longer there?

“Who’s going to run this place? Who’s going to make sure that the maids are doing the right thing and so on and so forth? That’s the price she (Dr Lee) will have to pay.

“She says, I’ll look after myself, but she has not been looking after herself all these years.

“She went abroad for her studies. And her cooking was just to take the salmon and put it in the microwave and heat it up. You can do it and then go to the canteen, but when you do that day after day …

“It’s a choice she has made and a choice that 35% of our women are making.”

Read the rest of the article here.

—–

Join TOC Facebook here.

—–

1. Strengthening the marriage bond
  2. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi – my inspiration to be my father’s daughter

64 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

David
Mar 30, 2009 10:33

All he cares about is his own aged children., their well beings and make sure they have no lack in lives and the lesser mortals ( his maid) know who they are serving and better do a proper job. Frankly, that is parental loves he showed only to his familEE.

As a Singapore leader, is he equally concerned about the poverty faced by many Singaporean and some young childrens could be living on instant noodles everyday. The exorbitant medical costs and other living expenses are forced into our stomach and he skillfully brushed them away on the pretext that it has nothing to do with his govt but global influence. His specialty in sueing others is quite telling too and who knows, our hard earned CPF may not even get to see the daylight because it was made legally so by him.

Gigi
Mar 30, 2009 10:55

“quite comfortable with their lives….My daughter is one of them. What can I do?”

Answer : Simple. Dont do anything and screw up her life…..

JC
Mar 30, 2009 11:36

Having lots of $ will definitely help if one choose to remain single. With $, at least all daily issues will be taken care of; cuisine, fully paid houses, medical costs (private doctors & nurses) , cuisine etc.

However, there is one thing that $ cannot buy! The love & care your loved one showered on you when you are old & sick. That is something that most affluence single don’t seem to understand.

unfortunately , the only time they probably will realise this is when they are too old and sick.

MM Lee is just experiencing what most parents’ worries. Nothing special in my point of view

Spinistem
Mar 30, 2009 11:39

no woly lah. ladies in their 80’s also can still get married leh.
correct or not?

insider65
Mar 30, 2009 12:01

The oracle speaks and he expects us to listen.He knows that Singapore is a failing state and he cannot accept that more Singaporeans are migrating, not having kids, not getting married and not buying his public housing.This is called ‘wising up’.

So he brings in ‘2nd Tier Foreign Talent’ to shore up the economy but even these people will ‘wise up’ after 5 years and will not let their children become full fledged citizens.How many of these ‘2nd Tier Foreign Talent’ use us as a ‘Stepping Stone’ to get to the ‘First World Countries’

With ‘2nd Tier Foreign Talents’ we will become a ‘Second World’ .Would he and his party the PAP be around to see Singapore become a ‘Third World’?

He would have to revise his books now as they should be called From Third World to First to Second’, The 2009 Edition.

His social engineering probably works in the short term (3 years) artificially boosting his favorite economic indices but has detrimental effects in the long term.

I wish the TOC concentrate on articles looking at solutions.Singapore needs new leadership.New mavericks.And a New Vibrant Party.The PAP has outlived its usefulness.It is a relic and weed that needs to be expunged.

laworder
Mar 30, 2009 12:27

let’s put it this way. She will get married. but he may not be around to see it.

Sad lady
Mar 30, 2009 12:57

I think there was an obstacle or else she got married long time ago, only she knows best.

luckybaby
Mar 30, 2009 13:00

I am pretty clueless with LWL, never really seen how she looks like then
my friend shot a pic of her using his hp when she wrote in zaobao and ST and her picture is printed there.

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/9431/2e5ldet.jpg

I hope she gets married soon, all the best to her. ;)

mjuse
Mar 30, 2009 13:04

Sad lady “I think there was an obstacle or else she got married long time ago…”

No kidding.

If LKY finds his daughter’s singlehood perturbing, he should realize something first. He might be part of the problem, and not part of the solution.

mike
Mar 30, 2009 13:15

hey insider 65,

u seem to write my thoughts and views too. keep it up bro! be a member here often if can maybe on board the toc or wp. we need guys like u.

thanks.

politics_nerd
Mar 30, 2009 13:18

Jia Jia you ben nan niang de jing (evry family has its own problem). Apparently the infallible Lee family is not spared. :-)

aiyoyo
Mar 30, 2009 13:21

aiyoyo

very luan leh

last time commoners have more babies, put a FINE on commoners

now ask commoners to have more babies

and now talk about marriage

simply – very luan; dont understand the logic…

not sure what’s next topic?

aiyoyo

lalalala
Mar 30, 2009 13:49

why care about him?

world_phenomena
Mar 30, 2009 13:51

There’s really nothing much that LKY or our govt can do. It’s a typical problem that all 1st world countries experience, i.e. high single & low birth rates and an ageing society.

Welcome to the captalist world, where the ability to generate more wealth thrives over family values. Thus, LKY shoudn’t be bemoaning the 35% group and worst, pick on his daughter as an exemplication of this so called ill syndrome.

IMO, other than her frequent philosphical rantings on papers, LWL should leverage on her status and be an activist for the voice of the women singletons.

lego
Mar 30, 2009 13:56

With lots of money, living in a big house and lots of maids….it is little wonder that his daughter can talk about life in the national newspaper. What does she know about life. Strip her of all she currently enjoys (or take granted), she would be cursing life!!

Singaporedaddy
Mar 30, 2009 14:13

I understand where the old man is coming from – yes, it is perfectly understandable as Salmon should be grilled rather than microwaved. I agree. And this was even written extensively on:

http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2009/03/29/why-lky-should-play-simcity-to-find-out-about-our-baby-blues/

fong ding
Mar 30, 2009 14:17

oh ya, i saw her daughter wrote in MSM about how is it good to have laws based on her experience in usa when she talked to by enforcement. something like that.

itigoti
Mar 30, 2009 15:53

The part about his daughter is a sidetrack. The message MM is trying to get across to that Singapore as a nation may no longer be viable. We are too samll and have no natural resources. We are wholly dependant upon others.

Citizens are not reproducing and replacing.
Immigration policies in not working. As he said we just end up getting 2nd tier FT’s. The good ones are only using Sgp as a stepping stone.
We are loosing our edge as financial centre, logisatic hub, etc. to China and India. Our neighbours are emerging in strength and will also one day bettter us.

We may just have to tutup and become another SAR of China.

Lesser Mortal
Mar 30, 2009 16:19

It is natural to be concern about our children. However as all of us have a limited time on this earth, there is a time to let go.

Future Predicationalization
Mar 30, 2009 16:28

would sg or has sg become a ‘hotel’ for international transient workers as people follow the world trend of less birth if not no birth?

how strong can such a country be in future?
I would say very super strong. what else u expect I would say?

Ganga
Mar 30, 2009 16:37

“big house” = our country?
“the maids” = the people
“everything is looked after” = being in power?

Can’t help but analsye the comments for a deeper meaning. Perhaps he is talking about the fact that there are not enough family members from which the next generation of leaders can be cultivated?

kea
Mar 30, 2009 16:53

I guess LKY knows that he is not God. We cannot control everything but there is One who does. That is a level of faith that a traditional Confucianist will find it difficult to understand. Losing control is the most difficult thing for someone like Mr. Lee. When we come to the end of everything, may Mr. Lee discovers that there is still a God who loves him immensely but will require him to humble himself.

blackfeline
Mar 30, 2009 17:52

well…get your house in order before u preach to us on th virtue of marriage…in addition…is she going to starve to death being single in old age? u reap what u sow…so learn to live with it !

Ah Hock
Mar 30, 2009 19:07

[ Apart from his daughter, Lee had earlier said that Li Hongyi, his grandson (the son of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong) had succumbed to the emigration trend. He has said he may remain in the United States after graduation. ]

Planning to break his SAF Overseas Merit Scholarship bond? This the one who went to S’pore American School, which is closed to other red dotters (except Khoo Teck Puat’s grandchilden)?

Not_Nice
Mar 30, 2009 20:33

24) cat

“Has anyone take a look at his daughter? I thought it was a guy.”

That’s not a nice thing to say about LWL or anyone for that matter.

She definitely has got substance inside and that’s what matter most, not transient external features that will deteriorate with time.

Ark
Mar 30, 2009 21:18

two reasons:

1) with such a father, who dare to touch her?

2) she got 2 millionaire brothers to rely on, won’t need to collect $330

ronin
Mar 30, 2009 22:31

“…She definitely has got substance inside…”
=====================

Her only “substance” is she is the daughter of LKY, nothing else.

A&E (Appalled And Embarrassed)
Mar 30, 2009 23:29

I don’t understand. Aren’t the baby bonus and extended maternity leave schemes and jazz like that supposed to deal with women like that? Why are these fine schemes failing so close to the centre of power?????? This is seriously disturbing. If she is not, to borrow an ugly word, “incentivised” to marry and have children, could there be something wrong with the very idea of “incentivising marriage and child-birth”?

Cmon, just lay down the rule that she will not have a roof over her head unless she marries. Do not allow her to buy any property unless she does so as a Mrs. Many married women are in much more dire need of shelter for the fruits of their productive wombs. Take away her Women’s Charter rights, on the logic that she is not fulfilling the full responsibilities of being a woman. Let’s see if these measures will not get her to come round to the idea of marital bliss.

Alex
Mar 30, 2009 23:35

jia lat, this means that mm is telling us to accept a lot of foreigners.

like father, like daughter. « Everyday’s Life in a Snapshot- for lesser mortals only
Mar 31, 2009 0:03

[...] a good read about Lee Kuan Yew here, and his worry about his un-married daughter. To be honest, I wouldn’t care less about him [...]

Hahaha
Mar 31, 2009 0:26

To #25 Ah Hock on March 30th, 2009 7.07 pm:

I read some weeks ago of an email by LWL that chided Singaporeans for upgrading their “wants” to “needs” instead of helping the poor, citing her family as an example of a simple lifestyle.

I ROFL! Wrong family lor! Her papa refused to bow gracefully out of politics, her frequently missing-in-action brother whose leadership demands 5 times above USA president’s pay, her sister-in-law willing to blow $58 billion wooing foreign banks but not spare some billions for improving healthcare and social welfare.

Her nephew took the scholarship not for the money (given his family’s background), but for the prestige that comes with the money. Do the Lee’s consider this “prestige, a need”? Is that “need” so great that it warrens depriving another eligible Singapore citizen, who otherwise would not be able to afford a university education, of this same opportunity? Come on, let’s call a spade-a-spade, if LWL’s nephew (LHL’s son) is that good, he could compete with the world’s best students and apply for international scholarships (often without bonds) from the prestigious universities overseas. Others have made it.

An old adage: People living in glass houses should not throw stones.

WILL for daughter
Mar 31, 2009 1:09

To me, so what if Dr. Lee W L is still not married at 50 ++ !
MM should worry more about daughter-in-law, $58B loss is not small change.
MM should stop meddling in people’s lives, has he forgotten he was responsible for the stop at 2 policy ?
I am pretty sure combined wealth of MM and wife exceeds $100M.
Just put it in a ‘will’ for Dr. Lee W L and she can have one nursing home all to herself. So actually MM worrying about daughter is misplaced. He has totally lost touch because there are plenty of needy folks out there neglected by his govt.

just my view
Mar 31, 2009 2:01

think look is one of the factors most guy go for beside characters and others, think grooming by wearing dress or others are important too for all ladies.

and no worries for food too, as singapore is a food and shopping paradise with restaurants, eateries and hawkers centres around the island.

cat
Mar 31, 2009 2:32

To Not_Nice:

But it is a fact.

I also don’t think she has the substance.

Have you read her commentaries?

Superficial and pretentious.

A Tan
Mar 31, 2009 8:13

And MM still wants to lecture the US on what to do?

Agree with #33 on most of her stuff.

Repressed
Mar 31, 2009 8:18

Maid(s) and Salmon

Well it pays to rule..

lego
Mar 31, 2009 10:14

LWL should stop writing in the Straits Times about life and the newspaper should stop giving her special treatment.

What does she know about life in S’pore. She has been sheltered from the harsh life here since birth. She lives in a good class bungalow, has many madis waiting on her, has tonnes of money, has a good job, enjoys special privileges becos of his father and brother, etc.

luckybabe
Mar 31, 2009 11:38

To ha ha ha and mr lego,
I read wat u both wrote, and u know what, when one’s stomach is full, one will often wonder why the others are still hungry and they are not tolerable towards hunger like her.

I would love to live a simple lifestyle LWL way and live in her shambles in oxley rise not in chin swee road or chinatown shambles. ha ha

JackT
Mar 31, 2009 14:25

Wow. I can’t believe would talk about their own daughter that way in the newspaper.

oracle
Mar 31, 2009 15:53

I forsee that in 50 yr’s time, the ruling cabal will collapse with the rise of an eminent opposition party taking over the govt.

Those officials who claimed superpower and rewarded themselves milliion dollar salaries will be charged with nepotism and corruption, thus leading to bankruptcies and jail terms not unlike the political saga we see in taiwan or thailand.

Thus LWL will loose her bungalow along with her entourage of maids, her high flying job and probably escape to the states to avoid interrogation on family connections on mountain of debts.

Humpty Dumpty in the house
Mar 31, 2009 18:22

I wonder high and
I wonder low.
I wonder :
Who will be the next LKY after the passsss……..
‘the next’ means double digit growths and huge transformations.

Let me see…… among the great talent pool of highest….., I see that …..maybe…… many can fit the shoe.

our future and your children future will be ……so nice.

I realise at this point, I am too tired for the day. So, I am turning on my radio to hear only the good stuff from that fm station that u also know.

luckybabe
Mar 31, 2009 23:13

dont be silly oracle, she lives in a shamble with a simple lifestyle according to her articles from ST or zaobao.

MC Harding
Apr 1, 2009 13:27

I thought MM Lee’s daughter- Dr Lee Wei Ling is GAY??? ie – a lesbian.

socool
Apr 1, 2009 20:38

I think its the Hsien Yang’s ex-SingTel CEO son who is at Brown University in USA who wants to settle permanently in USA not the one on scholarship PM’s son.

MM has now 2 grandsons in USA, scholar one in MIT, the other one at Brown.

ginger
Apr 1, 2009 23:53

Why does most of the comments sounds so offensive/emotional/confrontational and anti-lee?

I am a infrequent viewer of the online citizen, and i do think that their articles are fine and well written, but the direction of the comments from the audience appear to be slightly skewed.

or is it just a general angst that i feel exist within the online community?

just my two cents worth .

fvdv
Apr 2, 2009 0:35

can money and power buy: love, joy, peace and health?

maybe.

maybe not.

this life if you have just 1 out the 4 is very lucky already.

but if you only have 1 out of the 2 and that’s all then better luck next life.

Chained
Apr 2, 2009 0:45

MM Lee should probably respect her daughter’s wish to remain single. as there are many in Singapore who also want to do so. Given that LWL is an educated thinking person, does it not mean that singlehood is not an inferior choice? The government should give the same rights and benefits to singles as they are given to the marrieds.

just my view
Apr 2, 2009 1:45

parents should guide their children to be able to take good care of themselves when they are young instead of over reliance on maids, so that they do not worry over them when they have grown up or age, be single or married. I believe that many singles in singapore can take good care of themselves, provided they know what kind of singlehood they want for themselves,

Singaporean
Apr 2, 2009 3:18

LKY sounds so incoherent and unlucid. Why is he worrying about his 50+ daughter with a PHD? There are so many 60+ women without an education lugging cardboard boxes in the heartlands and he is not worried about them. How can a 50+ PHD doctor be unable to take care of herself when her dad is gone? How can she take care of her patients if she is not able to take care of her meals? Or has LKY gone cuckoo?

fvdv
Apr 2, 2009 9:21

There are so many 60+ women without an education lugging cardboard boxes in the heartlands.

good observation

zook
Apr 2, 2009 11:32

Is this KARMA ?

For all the sufferings LKY has brought to us singaporean over the last 40 years, we started to see the results of it – people is losing their very instinctive nature – to reproduce – a results of profit-driven policy and stressful workplace, and it has hit his own dear daughter. Even his son and granson emigrated and abadoned Singapore. His wife is half dead. His PM son is probably sick. And LKY himself is old, fragile, and live on borrowed time.

Koh Chong Mock
Apr 2, 2009 16:29

To No. 22 – kea dated 30th March, 2009

When MR. LEE KUAN YEW was once asked by a report whether he believed in GOD.
His answer was : -

I am an agnostic.
I believe in Darwinism that evolution is how humans came about.

Please check the Dictionery for the meaning of “agnostic”, “Darwinism” and “evolution”

Oh Tham Eng
Apr 6, 2009 18:46

Which son are you talking about, “zook”? BG Lee Hsien Yang and his son have emigrated? If true, that’s sad news.

{“zook” wrote on April 2nd, 2009 11.32 am: Is this KARMA ? For all the sufferings LKY has brought to us Singaporean over the last 40 years, we started to see the results of it – people is losing their very instinctive nature – to reproduce – a results of profit-driven policy and stressful workplace, and it has hit his own dear daughter. Even his son and grandson emigrated and abandoned Singapore. His wife is half dead. His PM son is probably sick. And LKY himself is old, fragile, and live on borrowed time.}

love singapore
Apr 14, 2009 9:58

After reading all the comment, I have this to say to my fellow citizens.

I may not be happy with the many systems that are set today, we have to be forgiving and let your voice be heard if you are not happy. But, I don’t agree with those who said bad things to LKY and family. This is a family matter and is private, leave them alone. After all, LKY has done so much for us Singaporean so that we can live a good life for many years, be thankful. Certain of the decisions he made at that moment maybe what he believed was best for the nation. If whatever impact it that caused us to suffer, he or his children may also had experient it too. Remember that we are ‘one big family’, just contribute your part like NMP Siew Kum Hong who made his voice heard. He is now speaking on behalf of the nation, though I don’t know what he opposes are all for the nation’s good. So far, I read a few issues which is of my interest and it is very disturbing. I think I must have been living in the comfort zone for too long and not realizing that our society has deterioted so much. I, too have to do my little part as a nation to contribute my comment so that hopefully our government will listen it right and move towards the right direction.

alex
Apr 30, 2009 9:03

please don’t write nasty comments about DR.lee.
she is never a self-fish lady, she has contributed many to spore.
pls appreciate. as a single she is enjoying life, that’s what counts most.

i always admire her honesty.

thanks

Ambrose Khaw
May 17, 2009 18:50

Lilies that fester smell far worse than weeds — Shakespeare’s Sonnet 94
May 18 2009 — Shades of Memento Mori !! And she is only 54. Ever since Dr Lee Wei Ling started to wear a second hat as amanuensis to the Director of the National Neuroscience Institute, I have read most of what one has labelled “her philosophical rantings.” That was the unkindest cut of all. She has given us the occasional rare glimpse of what goes on in the private life of the self-declared agnostic and self-styled MInister Mentor and perhaps soon to be acclaimed as “beloved father of the nation” (following in the footsteps of Kim Jong Il). Dr Lee let on how devoted LKY is to his ailing mate, whose management of Lee & Lee laid the foundations of the family fortune.

slammer
May 19, 2009 8:12

HOW TRUE IS THIS?

*karma wont befall on u, but it will befall on yr descendants.*

love singapore
May 25, 2009 10:53

correction on my comment on 14 April

My initial thought of NMP Siew Kum Hong is that he was willing to give his time to do good for our next generation. In this one and a half month of reading his blog, what happened in Singapore with his involvement, I realised that he is not for our next generation but his main agenda is sending wrong message to our young. Sorry to say this to you, Mr Siew, I don’t wish you to be the NMP.

j
Sep 4, 2009 1:38

Hi all, before commenting please remember that we owe it to our forefathers and government that we can post our comments under a stable, peaceful and harmonious society. We still have food on the table, even if simple, clothes to wear, even if not branded, flats to live in, even if it’s single-storey, trains to take even if no limousine, schools to go to, streets to window shop without fear of shooting bullets in a place full of unrest & fear… Putting all these aside, just talking about basic moral values-respect others the way we wish for similar treatment due onto us…

alex
Sep 4, 2009 10:38

every parents want’s to see their children married.
as for miss. lee, we must respect her decision to be single.

and further more she is never self-fish, and her contribution
to the medical line has been countless.

i admire her intelligence and honesty.

my very best to miss. lee and regards

George
Oct 2, 2009 19:04

Many singaporean had migrated to greener pastures including myself. We put off early marriage because we are aware of the responsibilty and cost that come with it. Japan had tried many solutions to encourage its population to produce more babies. We could benefit from some of their experience. However, one must be aware thirty year ago LKY was singing a very difference tune about having more babies. People were punished financially for having more then two children. This is what short sighted policy do to our country- short term gain with short solution and long term problem. Time for change is ever more urgent now then ever before.Enough damage had been done to the country by the ruling regime. We can’t be worst off to have a new gahment runing the country. PAP regime could do with a well deserved rest. Better still, LKY could retire permanently from our political landscape together with his beloved famiLee.

charm
Dec 2, 2009 23:47

I always enjoy reading Dr LWL’s articles in Sunday Times as she invokes thought-provoking issues and morals. Prior to that, she is articulate and expressive and always grateful for what she has. Even she is the daughter of a public figure, she never display any arrogance and full of humility. Despite being a doctor, she often put the interests of her patients above her own and often hope to achieve more for them. Her unrelentless and selfless nature really put most of those famous, rich and with prestige to shame. Her contributions to the medical field is udoubtlessly frutiful and her burning passion to serve the patients is ceaseless. Please dont comment LWL contributes nothing as she is definitely a woman of substance.

surprised
Dec 14, 2009 23:21

I thought she married some Indian guy who was disapprooved by her father long time ago.!!!

Obamaosamataksama
Dec 15, 2009 17:14

Yah Lah ! I remember sometime back like thirty years ago, there was talk everywhere that LWL was going steady with an Indian guy and the parents objected. Personally, I thought the people who spread this gossip were Anti-LKY and were out to shame the Lee Family. Now….all is quiet and gone ? Ha !
Ha! Gila Lah !

Obamataksama

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook