From AFP:

SINGAPORE (AFP) — Singapore’s inflation rate climbed to its highest level in 28 years in 2008, with the poor being the hardest hit, the statistics department said Monday.

The 6.5 percent rise in the consumer price index last year was more than triple the 2.1 percent increase in 2007, it said in a report.

It was the highest since inflation hit 8.2 percent in 1981, according to data from the statistics department’s website.

Singapore’s lowest 20-percent income group experienced a higher inflation rate of 7.4 percent last year compared with higher wage earners because of dearer food, housing and electricity costs, the department said.

Economists said inflation is likely to ease this year as Singapore faces what could be its worst recession since independence because of the global economic downturn.

——-

Read the Department of Statistics press release here.

Read also: 

Inflation hits poorest most (Straits Times).

Inflation eases in Feb (Straits Times)

Singapore 2008 inflation rate highest in 28 years, up 6.5% (Channel NewsAsia)

——-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

24 Responses to “Singapore inflation rate highest in 28 years”

1. ah kor 23 March 2009

Oh, its from the dep of stats. ….. ;)

CPI fell? Not for food right? just under $500 SGD for a few good prawns le ….kekekeke

Also, the food court food prices I no see got drop. If you still employed and buy lunch , let me know how is the food prices over there. Has it really dropped? For myself, the food courts I go to still sell at high price. like 1 plate of fried rice costs $5 to $8 at city area foodcourts. In residential area foodcourts, 1 plate can cost between $3 to $5.

maybe the drop is in big ticket items? Even car prices are still higher than I expected. If car companies are ‘cannot-making-it’ liao, the prices should tumble much further. Better than they sell no cars right? ke kekekekeke.

no one owes you a living. ;)

2. 23/3/09

Spend and buy less, and if possible, avoid buying and let the shops suffer and close shop. Things are going get worse-worse is to come as the Global Financial Crisis has hit every nation and evey human on earth.

Regards
    Andrew Chuah

3. I will bet my last dollar that Straits Times (ST) will present the fact that “lowest 20-percent income group experienced a higher inflation rate of 7.4 percent last year” in a totally different light.

I predict ST will report that there are many govt “help” schemes for the poor or something along that line.

4. Are u sure no sweeping statement Chuah? 23 March 2009

2) Andrew Chuah on March 23rd, 2009 4.16 pm 23/3/09

“Spend and buy less, and if possible, avoid buying and let the shops suffer and close shop. Things are going get worse-worse is to come as the Global Financial Crisis has hit every nation and evey human on earth.”

the crisis hits EVERY human on earth?
    Not true. not everyone is hit.
    Some actually prospered more.
    Pls correct your statement.

5. Ronin,

What else can you expect from our gahmen mouth piece? Truth of the matter is, prices are all going north whereas our earnings are going south and the gahmen paints a different picture…I am not sure who here can say without a doubt that life has been better for them now than say 2 years ago?

Of course, telling us how much the gahmen and try to help us cope will undoubtedly help them score political mileage ..will definitely will aid in the elections…

6. reader 23 March 2009

and remember that govt could have helped but did not.
    what did capita land, singtel, ntuc etc etc do during this period? nothing. infact increase price.
    u gave them the mandate, hand over ur freedom, ur local enterprises and this is what u get in return.
    singaporeans, pse wake up.

7. karangooni 23 March 2009

5) Wynnx on March 23rd, 2009 5.32 pm

The way i look at it over and over and over again,
    is to wait till the koo koo bird sings. ;)

big bang 2.0 ! a new universe will come to life.

8. orifice of the teckoh 23 March 2009

I have a question that came to mind when i read this article.
    What is the way to verify the stats ?
    Who verifies the stats?

normally, i just close my eyes and believe what i read. really.

9. stillvotePAP 23 March 2009

But PAP will still get 50 % walkovers, 66 % mandate and 98 % seats at every election, no matter what. Right or not?

10. orifice of the teckoh 23 March 2009

10) stillvotePAP on March 23rd, 2009 7.01 pm

Yes, you are right that they win a ‘landslide’ majority from those who actually voted.

The fact remains that those who did not get to vote for a long time
    still does nothing about it.
    By their silence, it shows acceptance.

No one should complain not able to vote.
    They themselves did not do anything about it. like request for some change such that when there is No Contest in a ward, MERE this with the adjacent ward or GRC that has contest.

No petition. No nothing.
    By this, I would conclude the majority of those who never voted before or had not been voting for at least 1 election or those whose ward or GRC is kenna walkover before, are not concerned about their chance to vote that they do nothing about it? Is this a fair statement?

Even if vote for PAP, I feel that voters should like the chance to vote for PAP and not walkover.

What you guys think ya? pardon my singlish. I form 7 only.

11. orifice of the teckoh 23 March 2009

ERRATA : ‘MERE’ should be ‘MERGE’
    my bad :(

12. CM Liew 23 March 2009

This is the once in a life time opportunity to tekang the business, shops, hawkers that very unreasonable during the good time. boycott them !!!

Don’t spend a single cents buy from them.

BOYCOTT THEM !! EAT MAGGIE MEE !!!

13. It is not surprising as we all want to be Swiss standard but Indonesian pay!

Kopi was $70 before i left for China two years ago and now i have to pay $0.90 for it.

Businesses all claimed that rental is high and workers’ salary is also sky high but they forget that our pay is alal so static. Foreigner workers’ salaries have also gone down as they were all paid a lower salary as compared to lcoal workers.

I foresee that Singaporeans will continue to struggle especially in thsi downturn.

Many will look abroad either for work or permanent residence.

Many I know also work PT either as tutor or other jobs to supplement their income. These people are all professionals themselves!

We are indeed going backward generally in terms of spending power.

Stagnation may come as recession deepens for the next few months.

People will all boycott restaurants and eat at cheap hawker centres.

I was at Swesen Tampines last weekend and was shcoked at the small crowd.

Those who ate there were shockingly mostly foreigners!!

What has become of our beloved country?/

14. notalone 23 March 2009

This problem isn’t new, is it?

Why hasn’t this been addressed satisfactory?

PAP not working hard enough.

15. what word has 2 mouths? 24 March 2009

14) Gilbert Goh on March 23rd, 2009 8.32 pm

i know of kopi that is $1.20 and the cup has grown smaller.
    CPI down?

16. ACACIA 24 March 2009

The fact is the PAP has done a very bad job of running this country and ruining our lives. Who increase the cost of living over the last few years, this government and their agencies. Have we become better off, not by a thread!
    I really dread the months ahead, how many Singaporean will loose their jobs?
    And how many more will turn to the help groups?

17. pugdragon 24 March 2009

The government didn’t seem to be budging at all. It stays perched up there happily absorbing its exorbitant monthly income at the expense of citizens. Don’t you wish for a change in government with a real heart?

18. The way I see it, It’s the best time to go back to school now. By increasing your net self worth, you will find yourself in much more demand when the times turn around.

19. Righteous 24 March 2009

Ever since the GST increase, everything starts going up and up. Our bowl of noodles, foodcourt prices, essentials like bread, rice, etc.
    Childcare fees, Taxi fares, Bus and MRT fares just went up like nobody business.
    How are we to cope with all the rising costs with company freezing head counts,
    salary cuts, and with no welfare or jobless claims.
    When you flip through the chinese newspaper every week, you read about people, young and old jumping down from high rise flats to end the stressful lives here.

20. Hopeless 24 March 2009

someone jumped at clementi Mrt today. This country is over.

21. Righteous 24 March 2009

So sad, to read the news on the internet just now. Everytime such thing
    happens, the only and usual thing we is a publication of help lines. But if these helplines are truly useful and can give real help, people won’t have given up and taking their own lives. Yet society and social agency would just accept it and
    not acknowledge that something urgently needs to be done.

The government needs to tackle these social problems with a heart,
    the use of law and enforcement to discourage people from taking their own lives is not going to work. People have problems, most of it comes from the rising costs of living, financial problems, job loss, depression and anxiety. This is one of the high social costs attached to not giving welfare and adequate help to people in need or distress.

Families are getting smaller with lesser kids, divorces are rising,
    more people are falling into distress due to job losses, etc.
    what is our society becoming? Will training and getting more
    social workers solve the problems?
    No, we need to find out the root cause of the problem and solve it.

The government has to seriously think through and address these social problems. If citizens are not leading a happy and fulfilling life, how could they contribute to a truly vibrant city the country aims to be?

Our government is very practical and economy focused,
    it tends to neglect the social aspects which is important
    if Singapore is to be a truly successful country which
    citizens are proud to call their own.

We want to take pride as a Singaporean and to be able to look up
    to our leaders, otherwise, it loses the whole purpose.

We want our voting rights as citizens, all single wards please.
    We have enough of GRCs. Please don’t be so kiasu.

Be gracious and you will win!

22. No cure 24 March 2009

There is no cure for the malaise plagueing SIN

The Sinners will ensure its’ downfall.

The only solution open to Singaporeans

is to leave this sick place for good.

23. Jackson 25 March 2009

I think Singapore media is lying to everyone about falling inflation rate. The truth is inflation is still there and very high. My cup of coffee still costs expensive.