Wednesday, March 25, 2009 20:45
Singapore more attractive than Hong Kong, says expat
In Main Stories, Top Story • 3,823 views • 71 Comments
The following is a letter to the editor of the South China Morning Post. It is written by an “European expat” who claims that he is living in Singapore currently. TOC thanks our reader Tony for alerting us to the letter.
I refer to the article “Singapore beats HK in survey of Asian expats”, March 12.
That “Singapore appears to have finally achieved its dream of being better than Hong Kong” was a highly laughable comment. Singapore has achieved the same status at the top for the past 10 years.
I am a European expat who stayed (or, more rightly, suffered) in Hong Kong for close to five years but chose to move to Singapore and obtained permanent resident status there (though I need to adjust my highly lucrative Hong Kong expat package in exchange).
My family and I are now enjoying the comforts, stability, safety and cleaner air of Singapore (plus the many more nice places and resorts that we can travel to in less than two hours, and the much more advanced and lively dining and entertainment options). This contrasts with the dirty and mundane, yet much more expensive Hong Kong.
But most important is the ease and efficiency of getting things done in a language I am more comfortable with, English. In fact, Singapore is so much more attractive than Hong Kong that I have the in-principle approval from our global headquarters to shut our office in Hong Kong and move it to Singapore, while maintaining a stronger presence in Shanghai.
Singapore beats Hong Kong in so many areas. Many friends are now making plans to move to Singapore after realising their misconceptions about the city.
Singaporeans may not be upfront with their thoughts and appear to be reserved, but I have made more local friends than I did in Hong Kong. At least, they are not like most arrogant but ignorant Hongkongers who think they know it all, and criticise and comment on almost everything and anything.
I can’t help but find most Hongkongers just a bunch of empty vessels, and definitely NATO (no action, talk only idiots – that’s how Singaporeans would describe Hongkongers).
Simon Morliere, Singapore
———
Join TOC’s Facebook group here.
———
71 Comments
2bad2betrue
Small Time Businessman
Singapore might be a good place for expats (who are usually paid well), but is it a good place for ordinary Singaporean folks?
Anyway, I seldom hear of Singaporeans migrating to Hong Kong…
Mr E
But thats the thrill of Hong Kong. Its a beast of a city; meaner, leaner, dirt and all. But most importantly, the city itself feels alive. I don’t get this feeling when I’m in Singapore. I personally think that you can’t compare Hong Kong and Singapore as directly as places to live. What you look for in these 2 cities are totally different imo.
David
We should ask Simon what are the 10 reasons of him not taking up Singapore citizenship? The truth will be out and our guys here will know if he is sincere about what he has said.
cheesestick
Of course He preferred Singapore to HK…whites are literally worshiped here with SPG falling onto their feet…while in HK they are considered “FILTH” which is “Failure in London,Try Hongkong”…a term which coined by hongkongers.
The only people that can clique with the HK locals are those that can speak cantonese including angmohs.
smallvice585
small time businessman (#2),
Of course you seldom hear about Singaporans migrating to HK. MSM MEDIA BLACKOUT! Such news would only put PAP in a bad light.
Zheng Xi
I was born in HK and still go back regularly. It’s easy to make generalizations about both cities, because there’re so many characteristics that stand out and almost caricature them.
However, I don’t think it’d be a generalization to say that you’d find some expats with this arrogant ‘price setter’ mentality in either city.
winston cheng
Singapore and Hong Kong are very similar in that both were British Colonies, very tiny and had little natural resources. Both are strategically positioned making them great trading posts.
While Singapore indulges in constant boastings and chest-beating fiascos like MediaCorp Best Artistes Awards and big news reporting on some sportsmen’s small achievements, Hong Kong had/have:-
Lee Lai Shan (Olympic Gold Medallist in Boardsailing)
Bruce Lee
Jackie Chan
Li Ka Shin
Stephen Chow….just to name a few
Hong Kongers migrate to Singapore because the properties here are cheaper and Singaporeans, on the other hand, find it too expensive to do vice versa. In other words, Hongkongers in general, have more money than we do.
Hong Kong had MTR long before us.
Yeah, every now and then, feature some `ang mohs’ saying how much they love Singapore and we will feel SO..oooo proud. Yeah right, we ain’t that ignorant no more.
Daniel
While hong kong has great actors and actresses, Singapore has great comedians of the highest order and salary which act as directors and clowns to entertain the world.
TonyXiao
Interestingly enough, my Singaporean friends living in Hong Kong don’t agree with this ang-mo’s opinion at all.
Harry
There is no doubt whatsoever that Singapore is heaven to those with piles of $ or a good paying and secure job. A top expatriate is highly valued by the pap government and in some areas they are accorded special treatments. The pap government even sought the advise of these people.
However to the ordinary Singaporean it is a completely different story. First they don’t seem to have enough $ no matter how hard they study or work. Second their opinions are irrelevant as any Singaporean worth his salt will be absorbed into the pap elites. Now u know why they are so arrogant and treated Singaporeans like dirt. Now u know why u feel like a second class citizen in your own country.
SZ
This is like a pat on the back for our dear old SGP, and i will take what is been said with a huge grain of salt…equal to the salt content of dead sea
Steve Lim
sometimes i really feel that I’m better off being a citizen of some other country and coming to work in singapore…at least I will be treated better..
Whats the pt of being a local singaporean when you have to kss 2 yrs of your life away…sianz…
Curious
Hi, I’m just curious and do find the comments here all very intriguing! Why is it that here there’s someone who heap praise on Singapore, and yet readers here all are so cynical and skeptical?
Does this means that readers here had totally given up hope on the fact that there is nothing good about Singapore?
Just to clarify, I’m not Singaporean but do travel frequently for business to both Singapore and Hong Kong, and find both equally interesting!
‘My family and I are now enjoying the comforts, stability, safety and cleaner air of Singapore ……………………’
If this European Expat is satisfied with just these aspects of living then he is ignorant of what Singaporeans have been missing all these years.
1 A vibrant music & film industry
2 Entrepreneurs not stifled by the government
3 Home-grown Olypmic Gold Medalist
4 Greater political freedom
5 Higher wages
6 Exciting social & entertainment scene.
7 A lifestyle not overly controlled by the governmment
Can the reader prove his real identity?
what is there to hide since singing praise is not a crime?
Can the reader prove his real identity?
I mean can that ‘expat’ prove his real identity? or prove he is expat?
mars
Simon is comparing living as an expat in Hong Kong and Singapore.
I am a Singaporean who has worked in HK for 3 years.
I tend to agree with Simon that Singapore is a more liveable place.
1. Homes in Singapore are more spacious.
2. Singapore is less crowded in public spaces
3. For English speaking expat, Singapore is a easier place for communication for English is spoken almost everywhere while most Hongkongers would not be able or reluctant to converse in English.
4. For expats with cash, Singapore is a more centrally located place to travel to other countries but HongKong, Kowloon & New Territories have more interesting places to visit.
5. Singaporeans loved food and Singapore is a food paradise while there is much less choice from HongKong’s cha chan tank”. For fine dining, Singapore and Hongkong are comparable.
6. HongKong has a better developed public transport in buses, taxis and trains.
7. HongKong has a yum cha culture which is quite interesting.
In conclusion, I think that expats would find Singapore a better place to work/live.
Confused
What is SPG ? Is it an incentive created for ang mos to come to this city of Singapore ?
Weijia
“I can’t help but find most Hongkongers just a bunch of empty vessels, and definitely NATO (no action, talk only idiots – that’s how Singaporeans would describe Hongkongers).”
I have not met a single Singaporean who describes Hong Kongers as NATO idiots. Mr Moliere should not presume to speak for Singaporeans when he is not even one himself… especially when he is insulting other people.
Mr E
@ 13:
Singapore’s a great place so as long as you yourself am not a singaporean.
TQ Mr E
Reminds one of DBS and with the likes of Simon liking Singapore, the FT policy is doing well and attracting foreign investments.
thursday
Well it really depends on where this “FT” is from. If he’s from texas or australia then of coz he will find Spore a more suitable place to live & work as our pace here is much slower than HK.
But for a foreigner from NY or other big cities, then HK & Tokyo will entice him more due to the energetic & vibrant 24/7 city life there.
Zheng Xi
To #13 curious:
I actually agree with what the writer said, but don’t like the way he said it. Very smug and insulting. I think there’s a way to talk up Singapore without having to put another country down.
unemployed sgp
angmohs making sweeping remarks like that are usually ignorant hillbillies. their century is officially kaput, why should we listen to broken chatter boxes?
Well He Is An Ang Mo
So he can run down HK with another Asian city like Singapore; and of course cover up the asian hands that feed him not unlike HSBC trying its hand in advertising style that demeans HK
Bruised Ego
Maybe the Hongkongers never give face to Simon as a foreigner, and Simon’s ego got bruised, hence, tah-boleh tahan and came over to Singapore, then find Singaporeans say “Yes” to everything he says, and worship him like “god” , so he wrote the letter to the paper loh…
One day if Singaporeans bruised his ego, and he decide to stay somewhere else, he will probably write another letter insulting Singaporeans as well.
Never Trust AngMos
Just to share the article that Simon is referring to in South China Morning Post…
It is written by another angmo or “kwai-lo” (as they are known in HK) named Nick Gentle, who had written the article in quite a mischievous way, especially the way he mislead readers that this was the first time that Singapore beats HK in the same survey in previous year, the truth was, Singapore had been at the top in the same survey for many years (past 10 years I think…).
The lesson learned from these 2 ang-mos is that we can never trust what they say and what they write.
Singapore Beats HK In Survey Of Asian Expats
Mar 12th, 2009
by Nick Gentle – Updated on Mar 12, 2009 – SCMP
Singapore appears to have finally achieved its dream of being better than Hong Kong at something. The Lion City was yesterday named the most desirable destination for expatriates from Asia.
Hong Kong would have been in contention for first place were it not for its appalling air pollution, according to ECA International, which organised the survey. Instead, the city wheezed its way to 11th on the list. That ranking puts Hong Kong not only behind Sydney, Vancouver, Copenhagen and Wellington, but also behind Canberra, Australia’s capital and, some say, the world’s most boring city.
And according to Lee Quane, regional director for ECA – which, incidentally, has its Asian office in Sheung Wan, not Singapore – being boring might be the secret to at least a couple of the top 10’s successes.
“I think to be honest, that’s what helped get Canberra over the line,” Mr Quane said.
Mr Quane said that while it shares 11th position with Antwerp, Bern, Brussels and Dublin, Hong Kong had actually moved up in the rankings since the last survey, in 2007.
“Basically, that rise is down to improved perception of health care services in the city. There were less concerns about health risks also,” he said, referring to fears about bird flu.
The survey, which ranked 254 cities according to a number of criteria including health care, air quality and crime, is designed to be used by firms to determine whether they need to pay so-called hardship allowances to expatriate workers. Hong Kong was not considered a place where salaries needed to be augmented in that way. “If you’re coming from anywhere in Asia, then Hong Kong is not a hardship posting,” Mr Quane said.
A government spokeswoman defended the city. “Hong Kong’s positioning as `Asia’s world city’ is founded on the basis that Hong Kong is where opportunity, creativity and entrepreneurship converge, and are further underpinned by the rule of law,” she said.
:
dr feel good
another well written article that sings praise. touching and feel good to read. keep it up.
Accidental HKer
Having worked in HK before, I am quite in agreement with # 18 Mars. HK people are quick to react and sometimes may passed off as abrupt; also they mind their own business and are parochial in their mothertongue cantonese.
Years ago while studying in UK in the 1970s, I have house mates who are Malaysian Chinese, HKers and Taiwanese ( no mainland chinese then) and the interesting cultural differences can be sum up by their association with a ricepot :
(1)The HKer treat his ricepot as apart of himself and moving around UK for further studies – it is “have ricepot will travel”
(2) The Malaysian Chinese try to borrow a ricepot
(3) The Taiwanese try to sell his ricepot at first opportunity ( moving on…)
(4) The Singaporean seldom clean his ricepot.
Sorry for the tongue in cheek but back then it was interesting observation and I stand to be corrected ………
The ang mos are interesting people too and if you are a slavs you will be looked downed by the anglo saxons, if you are french you are so self indulgent to the point of missing the insults of the Britts ( french are frogs croaking- so say the British) and the Americans – you can hear them from miles away….. By and by the ang mos are good people then …
They start to be tricky when they come to Asia and start to eye the easier ways to wealth and the relative ease of getting pretty local girls and girls…ang mos in Asia and especially advertising executives are reputed to be “over sex” so to speak…
And now some of them are writing in” smug & Insulting” style………. perhaps it is their poor english ……remember asians learn english ang mos may not.
Finally on HK, lest it be forgotten – the greatest critic of Singapore and to this day is still Chris Patton…. so what do you expect from a simon and a nick despite their namesake….
Take care guys
pugdragon
I seriously do not believe a professional European expat would write the last sentence. I have a good mind to believe this is not truly written by a European expat, but rather, perhaps a Singapore government bootlicker who is trying to do his part in creating the illusion that Singapore looks good on the outside for the sake of government’s economic greed.
please convert to citizenship
Dear Simon
Please convert your carefree status into our citizenship. else you are also quite a bit of a NATO. our dear country is definitely a better place to be for people like you who need a hotel to stay – there are some people down here who are literally drooling over foreign confetti to decorate our own dull landscape and they are not too shy of highlight it in our MSM.
In HK, they have a way screw people that they don’t like, even at their very own elites let alone foreign expats. In your own country, I think your fellow countrymen would do the same.
However, specially in our dear country, only certain people are previleged to sing songs loudly with compliment from our MSM.
AkoLoh
I am a Singapore born Chinese, speaks excellent Cantonese and have lived in HongKong for five years in early 90s and been there frequently. I think both places have its attractive features. But right now (and the last few years) Singapore is better. The future, no one knows.
The last few years, the air in HK is so bad that I can’t take long walks which I liked. Its no good to be cramped in small apartments in HK and unable to go out because of the bad air. Unless you are super rich, SG would be better.
You may not believe me, but SG has a better night life, HK has only one dance place, Lan Kwai Fong. But of course, you can see lots of nice looking people wearing expensive clothings, in a way its very superficial.
Some people are just plain stupid, the say HK is better just because HK has more movie stars, certainly life is more than some movie stars that lead shallow lives and be dictated by their companies all the time.
Of course, HK has other attractive features, but overall, I like SG for now.
Alternate Distractor Facade Smuty
30) Accidental HKer on March 26th, 2009 9.23 am
” the greatest critic of Singapore and to this day is still Chris Patton…. ”
and by this you mean this video???
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2YvzIW88WQ <— 2minute mark ;)
I wonder what happened to him?
Ace
To be fair, there is no such thing a best place to live…..it is highly dependent on which stage of life you are in and what is the most important thing/s you value over the next 3-5 years.
If you are single, HK is a fun place, high energy, dynamic, almost free form…..you get the best and worst of society and have choices.
As you get older with kids, then a place like Singapore may be more comfortable, with relatively little crime, infrastructure that works and processes that are clear.
When your kids leave the house, then maybe Australia or Malaysia is the place to be dependent on your cash flow position…..
Ultimately, there is never 1 place where you can be happy with all your life and fulfil all your needs.
The underlying tone I am getting from all the comments is that Singapore should not be a good place to live as we are getting squeezed by the establishment. That is absolutely true. In any country in this world, if you have no money, you are gonna be unhappy. Not just Singapore.
What I find difficult to reconcile is the fact that there is some much interpretation of a simple letter. Some Ang Moh guy likes it here, so what!! He is comfortable here because he is well paid….Yes….he would probably be comfortable any where in the world.
I find it strange to think about this letter in this manner.
The bigger issue on hand is the underlying establishment and it’s way of doing things….not who stays where and why or why not…..
Vote wisely….do not again be tempted by short term gains…then we can start a proper conversation…..
Observer (SG-HK)
I am speaking in the capacity of a native Singaporean who had lived and worked in Hong Kong for over a decade and still going strong.
This article or feedback by Simon has completely missed out on one very important element when such generalization is used let alone that there are no shortages of flaws in its own account. Comparing Singaporeans over Hong Kong people; a wide general public most notably with submissive behavioral patterns (the former) versus one that are more vociferous due to the difference in interpretation of Rights , in itself is already questionable. Culturally and Socially, Hong Kong people are more matured and will not hesitate to counter arguments on social or political issues with their honest opinion. Largely because Hong Kong advocates freedom of expression and speech with no strings attached. Language may be the biggest obstacle for any non-Asian ethnic people, but as the expressions goes: “When in Rome, do what the Romans do”. Even in China these days, successful non-Asia ethnic people will take their trouble to ensure they have the basic understanding of the language spoken by the majority to ensure they fit in. I could give you a long list of things that Hong Kong excel in that would have counter the claim of this article or feedback, but then again, it is just pitching an individual’s perception over another individual which I find could be demeaning and do not serve any purpose. For the Author to simply conclude Singapore is a better living place over Hong Kong with such a short period of stay in the former state put its credibility in question. The credibility is even more questionable given the fact that the Author is neither native (or naturalized citizen) of both adopted country/state/city. I will find it more credible and interesting to note if the comparison is made with his native country, which prompted me to ask; why didn’t he give up his citizenship? To make such a sweeping statement in an adopted country is simply an individual expressed opinion. That’s about it and is not worth for further public discourse. I reckon the Author is just a sore loser, one that cannot adapt to its working environment or incapable of adapting even after living in it for 5 years. Perhaps the “ang-mor” egotistic behavior is better tolerated in Singapore because of the submissive nature of Singaporeans in general? There are also many other hidden reasons that only known to none other than the Author.
Environmentally (within the city of Hong Kong), I would have concurred with the Author without a reasonable doubt on this point but as for the rest of the reasons stated, I can only conclude It is at best an individual’s opinion and have no credible bearings over which city is better. For those who commented that pollution indices is bad in the city area that you find it hard to do a decent walk, yes indeed I totally agreed on this, but I believe you have also missed out or never venture into those islands or sub-urban areas which are easily accessible by no longer than a 30 minute ferries ride or by public transport. Hong Kong is more than just a concrete jungle and movie celebrities. Speaking of public transportation and accessibility in all aspects, I think the verdict is out (even for errant travelers).
aygee
I’m Singaporean, now working/living in HK for quite a while, and had the opportunity to work in Sg for a few months, as an “expat”.
Yes, i completely agree that Singapore is perfect if you live as an expat – when you have money to travel, enjoy the outdoor life etc etc.
Hk is so full of energy and life, in-yer-face personality, truly a city that doesnt sleep.
Singapore has more of a laid-back, warm embrace that only good friends give you.
Arrogant, NATO people – i’m sorry but i’ve also met many in Singapore.
Everything is smooth, and efficient in Singapore – yes, but sorry, we have some of the most narrow-minded, “follow orders, dont make any decision on your own” folks that the system breaks down when something extraordinary happens.
Anyway – i dont take this survey, nor this letter writer opinion seriously. He certianly didnt seem to get out and mingle with more people – probably just hung out with his other expat friends here in HK.
anony
Oh god so shocked with this writer’s comments that Sporeans describe HKers as NATO. Never heard that remark in my life, it must be his own coinage. I bet this ang moh chap is an Englishman with a British colonial hangover attitude. Probably most Sporeans posturing to him more than HKers who now know that China is more powerful economically than his downtrodden homeland England.
I am ashamed of Sporeans who posture to these ang mohs who think they still rule Spore. You will only make them more patronizing towards you.
William H
I like to comment that HK people are generally more business minded and can think outside the box. Most of them would migrate to Canada.
Admiration for HKers
NATO -not at all, HKers are actually the opposite. HKers are action oriented, very resilent and do not like to depend on others. They are survivals and certainly no Singaporeans would address HKers the way simon does!
Thank you simon for relocating here. Wish you have pleasant stay and who knows – you may end up a citizen here and be more respectful of your fellow human being. Asia can make you a better man.
Heong-Gong.
I suspect there is a HUGH AXE to grind by running down H Kong. Its a rather unusual way of comparison – to put down something in a very bad light in order to justify an alternative.
For an ang moh adult, Its amazingly embarassing and shameful to compare so 2 nations in such a childish manner, pui !!
I guess HKong is happy that they had rid this chap off their shores, who knows !!
neversaydie
yeah, the expats definitely like Singapore more.
Cos, we give them all the perks at no cost:
1. high pay and low tax
2. girls who want to please them
3. guys who want to please them
4. Govt who want to please them
5. English loving as we don’t have a culture to be proud of
6. we are much poorer than them compare to the hkers.
So, they get to live like a king without the price.
Hope did we manage to support a high cost public service without charging these people?
The general public subsidies them…
cat
What do you mean by a high cost public service without charging these people?
slev
Simon, you are but an expat. You know nothing about Singapore and Hong Kong really. And keep those cynical comments to yourself. You are nothing but an ignorant fool. Singaporeans can speak up for themselves and your input is absolutely redundant and uncalled for. If I were a Hongkonger, I would be absolutely delighted that you have left for Singapore.
caught in a hail of bullets
wait till you see the debris beneath the carpet, my friend.
Lesser Mortal
Having worked in Hong Kong on and off for the last twenty years, I agree Singapore is a better place to live in than Hong Kong. I disagree with the writer that Hongkongers are NATO, I find them very driven.
Heong-Gong
46) Lesser Mortal on March 27th, 2009 10.52 am Having worked in Hong Kong on and off for the last twenty years, I agree Singapore is a better place to live in than Hong Kong. I disagree with the writer that Hongkongers are NATO, I find them very driven.
Not to dispute what you said here – cant expect you to write your verdict more comprehensively than this couple of sentences of yours. But any way your verdict is still your verdict.
However I need to probe a little more with this question – your 20 years span of on off working H Kong does not really mean that you experience every aspects of living in the real sense (as you said you were there working, which of course also means living) – going to school, particpating in their social lives (yum cha, playing majongs eg.), official functions and events etc etc countless, right.
So I wouldnt accept your verdict as conclusive or 100% unbiased, pardon me.
Who Cares!
#47 Heong-Gong Lesser Mortal is entitled to his views and perspectives based on his personal experiences, he is not seeking your acceptance nor it matters whether you accept or not! Who cares!
Heong-Gong, are you just saying it for kick
“47) Heong-Gong on March 27th, 2009 12.21 pm
So I wouldnt accept your verdict as conclusive or 100% unbiased, pardon me.”
You have got the hang of it. Hard to be unbiased simply bcos our views are coloured by what we have experienced. at the end of the day, if it is good for you, you will most likely to support it. likewise, if it is bad for you, you won’t support it.
100% unbiased will only happen if you are not affected by it at all. If someone pinches you, I can be unbaised but not you who will feel the pain. now come back to the million-dollar question, can you yourself be 100% unbiased.
“your 20 years span of on off working H Kong does not really mean that you experience every aspects of living in the real sense.”
same goes for everyone including you wherever you may live. but deep inside you will know whether you are saying it just for kick.
Alternatives
Wow, PAP should invite Simon for a session of “coffee talk” and maybe, nominate him as a candidate for the next elections (that is, if Simon is willing to become a citizen)…he is the best showpiece for PAP if they want to claim glory for the way they rule and givern Singapore.
Simon, where are you, come serve the Singaporeans whom you love so much! Where are you…HELLO?
Seng Yi
“If you haven’t experienced living abroad, then there is no need for you to start complaining about your life here either.”
Going by your logics, no one can complain if he does not go through some degree of experience living in some countries and so it must be pretty good here.
Tell that to those people who may be prevented from leaving their countries easily and are living in some authoritarian or dictatorial regimes or worst places. North Kor** is one example.
X
I agree on some of the comments made here. Especially the one about Singaporeans practically placing foreigners on a pedestal.
Both Singapore and Hong Kong being one of the Four Asian Tigers, Hong Kong has certainly shown much more economic capabilities. I won’t pretend to be much of an economist, but on a superficial level, it doesn’t take someone well-versed in economics to see how Hong Kong has a simply striving market.
Politically, Singapore, due to the relatively less liberal government body, has people who’re generally more reserved, constructing arguments in thoughts rather than words. However, in Hong Kong, this is not the case, clearly illustrated by the recent DBS saga. While Singaporeans are (pathetically) voicing out their opinions in their stupid little haven called the ‘Speakers Corner’, their counterparts are taking it up to the streets with banners and whatnot.
Singapore constantly fares behind HK. This is obvious seeing as Hong Kong does not possess a state media (in which tales are spun and dissent oppressed). The more liberal environment may be a cause to Hong Kongers being more straightforward and upfront in conversation or exchanging in ideas. It may also be the submissive nature of Singaporeans that the expat likes Singapore (which is nothing for Singaporeans to be proud of).
TonyXiao
#51, wonder whether you have made some research before making those comments in your article. Allow me to elaborate:
“Politically, Singapore, due to the relatively less liberal government body, has people who’re generally more reserved, constructing arguments in thoughts rather than words. However, in Hong Kong, this is not the case, clearly illustrated by the recent DBS saga. While Singaporeans are (pathetically) voicing out their opinions in their stupid little haven called the ‘Speakers Corner’, their counterparts are taking it up to the streets with banners and whatnot.”
Really, but Singapore government intervention in terms of the Lehmans Brothers was quoted by the HK investors as the right approach, and had used it as a reference to seek similar settlement approach from the HK banks.
“Singapore constantly fares behind HK. This is obvious seeing as Hong Kong does not possess a state media (in which tales are spun and dissent oppressed). The more liberal environment may be a cause to Hong Kongers being more straightforward and upfront in conversation or exchanging in ideas.”
Again, in accordance to official records, Singapore had been well ahead of HK in many areas (see some of the listed no. 1 for Singapore):
1) The most significant achievement is that Singapore had surpassed HK at the world’s 3rd most important financial centre (after New York and Londaon) since Sep 08.
2) Singapore had overtook HK as the world’s busiest port since 2006.
3) Singapore rank no. 1 in Asia for global competitiveness according to World Economic Forum.
4) Singapore is the most (no. 1) business friendly economy in the world according to latest New Economist survey.
4) Singapore is the best city to live in for Asian expatriates for the past 10 years.
5) Singapore is no. 1 in the world in terms of INNOVATION (from a economy development approach), well ahead of USA and throwing HK far behind, according to Bostom Consulting Group.
6) Singapore’s Changi Airport had consistently outbeat HK in having being voted as No. I by more global travel-related organizations.
7) Singapore is best Asian Nation for Business, ahead of HK in accordance to EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit).
If you want more information on other areas, please click the following link:
http://www.edb.gov.sg/edb/sg/en_uk/index/why_singapore/singapore_rankings.html
While I think there’re indeed still many areas that Singapore have to pursue more vigorously and learn from HK, and in particular, in terms of freedom of expressions and true democracy, which HK iswell ahead, I think we should also know what we had achieved and should be proud of ourselves and the efforts we had put in.
It is precisely because Singapore citizens have put in our efforts, and had achieved so much that PAP government should no longer take us for granted, and they have to accord us more respects, more involvement and more space to take in our views and opinions on how the country should be run and govern for the next lap. We want more say now not just in terms of economic terms, but also in terms of how we would like to lead a wholesome and meaningful life as Singaporeans.
BUT, please do not run down or look down on Singapore’s achievements just because we disagreed with the PAP government!
TonyXiao
sorry, I am referring to #52 “X”. Apologies for the mistake!
smallvice585
TonyXiao (#53)
All the yardsticks you used is only applicable for an expat who wants to compare life in Singapore and life in HK, not for a potential Singaporean emigrant who wants to leave this God-forsaken place called Singapore.
singaporeanfirst111
if these yardsticks are impressive, the bread and butter issues are even more important. domestic issues are what counts in the measure of a good and effective govt., not guinness type of international achievements. for sure, charity begins at home, not the other way. personally, these trophies are meaningless and i not sure if alot of people really give shit abt them either.
TalkCockLikeSingSong
and how would the government take care of bread and butter issues without first making Singapore a good place for investment, which in turn creates job and feed the mouth of the citizens.
some people just don’t think with their brains (or do they have one?)
thank god we do not have too many of such people in our cabinet, else we will all go hungry!
JustBlurOn
assuming you are retrenched, sick,old and find the social welfare system limiting to your needs, these international achievements are the last things you wud have cared abt. (…got that?) if you have a cosy job, dun need to worry abt competing with foreigners, living up the good life as high flyer, goes to cooking classes or operas, and the reality on the other side is just blur to you, perhaps then these awards have different meaningz to you… boost your ego wat.
now, where do i get the idea that this is tsimply oo chim for you my boy?
Hopeless
singapore is a good place to live in if you are very rich, or you are not a singaporean.
sacrificed
If you are a singaporean,
you have to spend 2 years + of your life in the jungles to do things which doesnt add value to your career.
However, if you are not a singaporean,
you have the benefit of 2 years headstart in your life to advance in your career,
with the option to become a singaporean when you feel like it.
dream
Being a rather “reserved” Singaporean, I usually don’t comment but I feel I should voice out some views this time on behalf of my fellow Singaporeans, especially since I’m an educator.
While I agree with the writer’s views that SIngapore is safe etc. and understand that some other points are merely his opinions, I want to point out that the writer’s statement “I can’t help but find most Hongkongers just a bunch of empty vessels, and definitely NATO (no action, talk only idiots – that’s how Singaporeans would describe Hongkongers).” is totally untrue. This is the first time I heard of such a term “NATO”, let alone the untrue information that Singaporeans use this term to describe Hong Kongers. I seriously hope the writer gets his facts right before accusing Singaporeans of doing things they did not do or generalising the entire Singaporean community based on comments from his friends who might only make up a minority group or might not even be Singaporeans. Such a comment should not be taken lightly as it would adversely affect the harmonious relationship between two parties – Hong Kongers and SIngaporeans.
I do not associate any negative terms with Hong Kongers and I am sure many of my fellow Singaporeans would agree with me. My friends and I enjoy watching Hong Kong drama serials and we admire the Hong Kongers for their creativity in this aspect. I also had the pleasure of bringing a group of Hong Kongers around Singapore and I enjoyed interacting with them and learning about their culture. I certainly hope no one judges a community based on some black sheep which make up only a minority.
Preference of one country over another really depends on an individual’s preference due to his interest, age, profession etc. As a Singaporean who enjoys travelling to other countries, I have to admit that when I’m overseas, one of the things that I really miss is the wide array of food in Singapore that is a result of our multiracial culture and identity. This links to the point that I’m about to make and which I think is a uniquely important feature of Singapore. Singaporeans appear to be passive at times because we think twice before we speak so as not to offend anyone, especially since we live in a multi-cultural and multi-religious society. Hence, I think the passivity of Singaporeans should sometimes be viewed from a positive light and efforts to maintain racial and religious tolerance and preserve our heritage and identity as one Singaporean nation should be applauded for.
Whether you, the reader, is Hong Konger, Singaporean, or of other nationalities and whether you prefer Hong Kong over Singapore or vice versa, just remember to be mindful of what you say to avoid unnecessary misunderstandings or insults while sharing your interesting insights across the globe.
coolstorm
TonyXiao:
“1) The most significant achievement is that Singapore had surpassed HK at the world’s 3rd most important financial centre (after New York and Londaon) since Sep 08.
2) Singapore had overtook HK as the world’s busiest port since 2006.
3) Singapore rank no. 1 in Asia for global competitiveness according to World Economic Forum.
4) Singapore is the most (no. 1) business friendly economy in the world according to latest New Economist survey.
4) Singapore is the best city to live in for Asian expatriates for the past 10 years.
5) Singapore is no. 1 in the world in terms of INNOVATION (from a economy development approach), well ahead of USA and throwing HK far behind, according to Bostom Consulting Group.
6) Singapore’s Changi Airport had consistently outbeat HK in having being voted as No. I by more global travel-related organizations.
7) Singapore is best Asian Nation for Business, ahead of HK in accordance to EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit).”
I can find just as many ranking as which HK is listed as number one. PLUS, some of your info is outdated.
For example, HK is the world’s second largest financial market for IPO listing after London. (ahead of NYC and well ahead of Singapore).
Singapore being the third most important market??? Considered by whom? Market Cap? (Not even close). IPOs (London is 1st, HK is 2nd, NY is 3rd).
Hong Kong is ranked the freest economy in the world for 12 consecutive year.
Singapore Airport WAS ranked the best airport in the world, but it is NO LONGER the case. HK’s airport has overtaken the top spot.
Shanghai has overtaken HK AND Singapore as the world’s busiest port. Singpoare is 2nd and HK is 3rd.
The average IQ of HK is 107, ranked 1st in the world vs the average IQ of 102 of Singapore according to British Research “IQ and Wealth of Nations”.
Most importantly, there are 98,000 families in HK with a net worth of over 5.8 million US Dollars excluding their primary residence.
There are more than 50 billionairs in HK in a population of 7 millions. (The highest concentration of billionairs in the world.)
There are more millionairs (USD term) in % of population in HK than anywhere else in the world.
Get your facts straight and updated. I am native to HK, and we are not so used to government progaganda like you are and am therefore rather updated with my info.
Plus, you can brag about all your rankings, and I, on the other hand, will follow the BUCKS. The truth is we have more billionairs and millionairs in HK than in Singapore. For example, the top 50 richest people of HK are consisted entirely of billionairs (USD) according to Forbes.
One last thing, the myth of HK people not being able to speak English isn’t even true. I speak better English than most Singaporeans. Singapore is NOT considered as an English speaking country, and most Singaporeans do not even speak standard English.
loler
Now, now, lets all not quarrel over whether HK or SG is better just because some frickin ang moh wrote this article. In my opinion, both HK and SG are fantastic. I really love the life and vibracy of HK, the whole buzz and activity makes the whole place really exciting. But SG is good too in that its a really clean, stable and safe place.
But his ang moh’s comments are rather one-sided. I totally don’t believe that what he said about HK is true. And I have never heard any singaporean ( being singaporean myself ) say that HKers are NATO. Absolutely rubbish. In fact, most people I know like HK. They think HKers are creative, business minded and very hardworking people.
Theres no country that can be absolutely perfect. Accept it. It’s bound to have some plus points and some other stuff that just make you wanna scream. This Ang moh’s view is NOT a reflection of the general singaporean population. Besides, I don’t even think he can give a really accurate description of singapore since he isnt native.
Concerned
I am an expat who has lived all over the world. I am currently trying to decide whether to move from Singapore back to Hong Kong and have been reading through the comments above to get an idea of others comparisons of the two cities.
No one appears to be mentioning the threat of dengue in Singapore vs the air pollution of Hong Kong. Singapore is always described as safe, stable etc but is it? 30,000 people a year get dengue but half are not reported as many are not hospitalised. If a person is bitten a second time with dengue there is a strong risk of developing hemorragic dengue that can be life threatening.
You can get Hepatitis and Japanese Encephalitis in HK but what are the statisitics, what are the real statisitics for Dengue in Singapore? Malaria has recently been found in Jurong (Singapore), but the public never hears about it. Dengue is so common in Singapore that there is realitively no point wearing Deet, long sleeves or avoiding the East Coast etc. It is considered an “embarrassment” and that maybe the answer as to why we are given so little information about it. Don’t we have a right to know what risk we are putting ourselves and our families at by living in Singapore?
jason
move to america or cananda.
Maex
Hi everyone,
I’m from Austria and I’m living and working in Hong Kong for almost 2 years. Today the head quater of my company made me the offer to move over to Singapore to face a new challange, so you can imagine that the above conversation was highly interesting for me.
I enjoy staying in Hong Kong a lot and I can’t share the experience of the author about the Hong Kong people. To me most of the people were friendly, in fact I made quite a cirlce of friends here in Hong Kong. What I’ve got to admit, is that the polution is also quite a burden for me, especially because I’m a kid out of the Austrian mountains where the air is incredible fresh and clean. ;-)
As much as I enjoyed reading the above statements as much I would appreciate some more information out of the hands of singapore experts.
* what about the daily living expenses comparing to Hong Kong (food, MTR, taxis, laundry, accomodation – resp. monthly apartment rates (90sq.meters) electric and water expenses, ….
* taxes? What is the percentage which should be calculated
* is a car usually required, what are the cost (taxes, insurance, parking space,….)
* how easy is it to get a working permit
* what languages should be known (… is english enough?)
* what else is crucial to know about singapore
thanks for your help,
cheers
Maex
Maex
forgot to click to notify me of follow-up comments on this post via e-mail ;-)
Boid
Dear Concerned:
I’m an American living in San Francisco, on the cusp of moving to Asia, and find your comments to be insightful. I have an opportunity to move to Singapore or Hong Kong – I did some quick research on Dengue and found that:
1) The government of Singapore does not hide statistics – in fact it publishes them and makes copious suggestions on risk mitigation.
2) The prevalence of Dengue and severity of adverse health impact is a material issue I was not aware on over a dozen previous trips to the city. It is a disconcerting reality of life in a tropical climate.
Hong Kong certainly exudes an energy that is alluring and reminds me of my time in New York and London, but I agree with others who have posted here – depending on the stage of life you’re at, the things you value, Singapore may indeed be more appealing to those of us who are thinking about raising families rather than partying the night away in LKF and other classier parts of town.
I find that much of East Asia now compares favorably on a tax basis with my home country. Even though I will be subject to an outrageous tax on income living abroad as long as I maintain my citizenship, as a matter of principle I will do whatever it takes to avoid subjecting more than half of my income to taxes (combined federal, state, FICA, etc. burden – prior to property taxes – for high earners in the US). Tax issues are a material determinant of where talent will migrate – Hong Kong is slightly better than Singapore, but both are paradises compares to other great cities of the West, including NYC, SF, and London.
Bottom line – you have it good in both places… both are world class cities, well positioned with proximity to the countries that will drive world GDP growth for decades to come.
Singlisher
This expat is still laughably naive about Singapore, so I wish him good dreams still in his Singapore honeymoon. Before long, he’ll soon realize his worst nightmare that yes, Singapore is also a NATO country, and worse, one which uses its housing market as a gambling casino. I doubt he’ll have much in his expat packages to cover his expenses here. Have a good dreams in Singapore!
fluid137
am singaporean, and lived in hk for the past year,but before that in tokyo for 8.5 years.. singapore is definitely more liveable than hong kong.. i stay in hk mid-levels but rather stay in singapore hdb flats – more of a relaxed feeling….hk is definitely more polluted/dirty and it makes it depressing.. also although new territories / kowloon looks like there is more to do, its not really that different… of course singapore vs tokyo, i miss tokyo a lot..
PG
Don’t compare Singapore to other Asian countries , it keeps comparing itself to western countries . I will tell you from a few years of experience here , Singapore is not the clean proper place government publicity or naive expats say it is . Everything from air pollution to noise and rubbish is worse than a lot of countries I have lived in , and the laws governing certain types of pollution are inexistant , basically because it might affect GDP .
Singapore may have been good up to about 5 or years ago , today its gets worse. One example is diesel engines , they allow very old diesel engine technology to be used and sold in SIngapore , and that creates a lot of polution . Apart from noise pollution which is basically not monitored , pollution is also how much waste you generate , and from that point of view , Singapore is very high on the list of polluters , not only from consummer products , but the building industry .
Basically no Singaporean will contest the governments figures , why , because they have to think only work and money , and no it appears until you die , as you will never be allowed to retire .

well,i I am glad for u mr xpat, at the expense of the local people who do not have any suburban area to go too. Thank you so much for having so many people here.
welcome and enjoy all our resources b4 going back to ur homeland. wow lucky chap.