Choo Zheng Xi / Editor-in-Chief
In an article in Monday’s Straits Times entitled, “Report Card on Class of 2006”, journalist Li Xueying previewed the newest batch of PAP MPs. One particular quote regarding the grassroots work of Member of Parliament in Marine Parade GRC, Dr Fatimah Lateef, (right) has been given undue national prominence, by none other than Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong himself.
In her article, Xueying wrote about the observation of an anonymous People’s Action Party (PAP) cadre:
“At the grassroots level, though, a party cadre observes that she (Dr Fatimah) has had some trouble connecting with the Chinese temples in her ward over issues such as the granting of permits for the holding of events like gods’ birthday celebrations.
‘This could be to the detriment of her standing with residents who are Buddhists or Taoists,’ he says.”
In comments to Channelnewsasia (CNA) on 26 March, SM Goh said:
“I do not like the inaccuracy because it suggested that a minority community MP, a Malay MP, could not reach out to the Chinese temple people, (and) the hint that maybe, she, as a Muslim, did not want to reach out to these people. That is the implication.”
He further went on to criticize the fact that the quote was anonymous:
“He said when someone is quoted on such a statement, the name must be given, because while the person may be giving his or her impression on the matter, there was also the likelihood that it was a mischievous observation.” (From CNA report)
Bullying the press
Source confidentiality is not inaccuracy. It is one tool journalists use to obtain information that may be of public interest: otherwise, the source in question might not speak at all. An inaccuracy would mean that the source in question was misquoted, or quoted grossly out of context.
It is understandable that Xueying would grant the source confidentiality at this source’s request: a party cadre is no ordinary grassroots member of the PAP. Cadres hold the right to vote for the Party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC). Source confidentiality does not mean a complete lack of journalistic accountability: Xueying has to account for the source’s identity and the quote’s veracity to her editor, and can be ordered to reveal the source in the event of a court case.
SM Goh’s use of the word “inaccuracy” unjustifiably puts the journalist’s professional credibility in question.
Contrary to criticism, such journalism needs to be encouraged. It is seldom that the public is privy to such frank comments about the PAP, and it is all the more impressive if the quote is obtained from no less than a PAP cadre. Reporters should not be bullied into shying away from obtaining sensitive quotes like these, and forced to write rosy reports about the PAP.
Scratching an open wound
SM Goh’s ire would be more constructively directed at the backbiting occurring in his grassroots organizations. The mischief he is imputing to the comment is no fault of the reporter: it was a quote sourced from a party cadre in his grassroots organization.
If this whole fracas is blown out of proportion, SM Goh would be firmly responsible for the fallout. What might have been an honest assessment of Dr Fatimah’s shortcomings has been given sinister undertones by SM Goh in his attempt to bully the press.
These dark imputations will now come home to roost where they belong: in his grassroots organization, not on the press.
————-
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Wah…now Online Citizen has to defend the MSM against the PAP….now how’s that for a 1st?!
What SM Goh is basically saying no PAP MP should be portrayed in a way that may lead to some (not necessary all) people perceiven he/she in a bad light. This reeks even authoratarianism. Moreover, Dr Fatimah ought to be defending her own position herself and not hide behind SM Goh’s back. Clutch mentality reciprocated?
whistle blower must be brought to court.
just like the one who leaked the CDC 8 month bonus.
And for the so call leak by Lim Hwee Hwa on the GIC performance in cabinet, prior to LKY pronouncement – apparently she got scot free.
This is a unique Singapore.
I hope that Singaporeans can be educated to have an open mind. This is just one person’s opinion. There is no need to over-react to this observation, as if one person’s opinion will influence the other people.
It will be better for other people to give other observations that give a more balanced picture. Or, for a survey to be carried out to get the views of a larger number of people.
For many decades, the Singapore public has been given only an one-sided view from the authority. This is not healthy. We need to help Singaporeans to become more mature in their thinking by exposing them to more diverse views, so that they can learn to make the judgement for themselves.
Even if Dr Fatimah had difficulty interacting with the people in the Chinese temples, it should be accepted and respected. This is not crucial. Some ways can be found to overcome it.
I respect Barack Obama for his honest approach towards his own family background. He is willing to let the public know about his African father, his Muslim step-father and the members of his diverse family. He does not hide this fact, and does not try to “manage” the mainstream public opinion. Honesty is the best way to handle such matters.
GCT is behaving like the proverbial ostrich with head in the sand. Why not take it as good feedback instead of casting aspersions on the messenger? Such is the arrogance of our leaders! They could do no wrong!
aiyoyo
so luan one (on top of economy luan)
think stop all these luan & get back to biz & resolve commoners worries la
ELITES…
aiyoyo
[i]Even if Dr Fatimah had difficulty interacting with the people in the Chinese temples, it should be accepted and respected. This is not crucial. Some ways can be found to overcome it. [/i]
is this the best defence you have for the government
when the government itself demands a grc tagged team for better ^managment^?
wants to be president
also cannot used excuses liked that
you want to represent the people
do YOUR homeworks FIRST!
PAP is very kiasu now. Any tiny drop of news or info that seemingly put the Pappies in the slightest of bad light will be pounced on and defended vigourously.
Such, I think, is GCT reaction.
Wasn’t it a PAP MP who also said:
“The identity is not important. It is the message that is important.”
– Mr. Baey Yam Keng (PAP-Tanjong Pagar)
To coward on March 27th, 2009 9.46 am
“The identity is not important. It is the message that is important.”
I also got confuse, dun know who is right. Anyway I cannot believe any words they said now.
The PAPee (ruling party) ever mentioned that when come to religion issues, one must tolerate, respect and forgiving, so must follow…ok
The SM has said: ”I don’t like it”
Who does he think he is?The godfather?
Besides, there was no mention of her not being able to connect just because she is a Muslim. The SM is just fanning the racial undertones.He is using race as en excuse to stop criticism of the PAP.
Now lets see if ST will issue an apology.
The reporter needs to dig to get info. A fair job except without reference she should have gone to the temple people and their promotors to get first hand feedback and give a balanced story.
The article will hurt the lady MP, but GCT’s reaction in like vein as Mayor Teo’s previously in CDC matters sounded under stress – at this point of evaluation both GCT and Mayor Teo are afraid that their iron ricebowls may be taken away. Hence even for simple issues raised that are under their charge, they will attack to defend themselves and with such strong reactions……..hence some misdirecting is necessary.
The incident would evenyually strengthen the position of lady MP Dr Fatimah as she is seen to be doing things for all races; perhaps she should be seen soon together with the temple people to clear the air.
Certainty hope that rumours and the stupid ST should not derail her efforts or take away the hard work of other MPs and their aides.
To #7whybother2havegrc
I am expressing my opinion. My view is that GCT should have not over-reacted to the media report. He should have accepted it the unnamed person quoted by the journalist is just expressing an opinion. I am not defending GCT or the government.
It is rude of you to engage in a personal attack on me – using a sarcastic remark. There is no need for you to behave in this manner, while remaining under an assumed name.
Even if Dr Fatimah had difficulty interacting with the people in the Chinese temples, it should be accepted and respected. This is not crucial. Some ways can be found to overcome it. – Tan Kin Lian #4
I support Tan Kin Lian on that statement. After all, PAP MPs are just as human as us. Unless SM Goh is actually suggesting that PAP MPs are above humans and beyond, perhaps God-like…
On the bright side, the fact that Mr Goh had to come out and criticise Lee Xueying’s article like that suggests that the control of the PAP over the ST is not as great as some of us have feared. If the PAP were the puppet master behind ST journalists (esp. the political journalists), the article would not even have been approved.
Nonetheless, Mr Goh’s comments are extremely worrying. He said, “I do not like the inaccuracy because it suggested that a minority community MP, a Malay MP, could not reach out to the Chinese temple people…” This implies that the comment is inaccurate simply because it made an adverse suggestion regarding a minority PAP MP. Does this mean that the PAP can do no wrong and any criticism of it is prima facie “inaccurate”? This complacency by the ruling party does not serve Singapore well.
Finally, I would like to note the idiocy of this incessant need to rebut any criticism. This is reflected both in Mr Goh’s remarks, and in the numerous defamation suits and contempt of court charges meant to protect the reputation of the executive and judiciary. The PAP is still living in an imaginary world where it thinks that everyone takes its word as gospel truth, so that if it comes out to rebut something, people will treat the allegations as false. Has it heard of the phrase “thou doth protest too much?” The more the Government tries to rebut these criticisms, the more media attention it gives to the allegations and the more suspicion it raises.
“Source confidentiality is not inaccuracy. …… Contrary to criticism, such journalism needs to be encouraged.”
Remy – is this an approval of wayangparty.com then? If he were to run a story about you and he claims the facts comr from unamed source, you therefore cannot say it is inaccurate?
GCT is reacting so strongly bec this has happened before.
Maybe Dr Fatimah can suggest application & granting of permits for the holding of events like gods’ birthday celebrations via AXS…problem solved – LET’S CLOSE RANK AND MOVE ON :)
NParks: .”The use of AXS to book BBQ pits has proven very popular and we believe that .. would find this system equally accessible and easy to use.”
I am just worried that because of this ST will react by no longer quoting from anonymous sources. Or suddenly another agenda setting, where over the next two weeks or so, the question of source anonymity will come to light etc etc… then they will try to implement in legislature that ALL SOURCES have to be named… and that will scare potential whistle blowers or anyone who has a different opinion. That will be quite a blow to the state of journalism and already dismal freedom of expression here.
/// 11) Damien on March 27th, 2009 10.10 am
The SM has said: ”I don’t like it”
Who does he think he is?The godfather? ///
Errrr, Damien, you want me to make you an offer you cannot refuse?
BTW, SM stands for Sicilian Mafia. ;)
Yours truly
Don Corleone
Mr Tan Kin Lian’s comments are appropriate and objective in also suggesting good solutions. It is based like all of us at this juncture on reading the news as they were published.
Mr Tan’s initiative and willingness to move to the frontline is a quality one does not find easily in the establishment directly involved with all its constraints.
It is a breath of fresh air coming after the CDC’s episodes….
Dealing with people must be the first on the mind of leaders, and Mr Tan Kin Lian’s openness, sincerity, opinated nature and care belies great qualities for publc service should he decides to do so in the future.
There is nothing wrong if Fatimah can’t handle the issues at grassroots levels. No body is perfect, she can be a good doctor, but a bad politican. Only GCT thinks every Pap MP is perfect. That is a poor mentality
This is scary.
Why is it that only PAP ministers can raise the race card, to his own whims and fancy.
GCT should look at his own GRC and ask his GRC members to buck up, and remove any doubts of the people / cadres.
He should Not silence the dissenting views. He is promoting a very negative form of journalism. No whistleblowing, unless it is aimed at opposition parties?
We all know the peanut comment and now this coming out of GCT is no surprise…
GCT is a nice person, but a bad politician…too bad he reacted to quick …and nice article by TOC…clarifying what INACCURACY means….
It would have been better if he had said that he’ll look into it and get it sortted out, instead of charging at the journalist…and making the situation worst……
4) Tan Kin Lian,
Yes, I agree with Mr. Tan’s views.
IMO, GCT and PAP are just simply over-reacting to the comment from the cadre, and it reeks of intolerence from the ruling regime for open views. The issue of contempt is trivial to even warrant its mention on national papers.
The space on ST could have been put to better use such as reporting on inspirational stories about how ppl are coping with the downturn.
When the citizens get interview and misquote by the press, the PAP keeps quiet and pretend nothing happen, but when members of PAP get misquote deem to “inaccuracy”, suddenly PAP start to complain and whine about bad press.
How is it that goverment love to say Singaporean citizens love to complain when the government themselves are doing the same. When citizen criticize, it is taken as complain, but when gov criticize, it is taken as constructive ?
“Some out-of-touch being are just higher than lesser mortals”
I agree with SM Goh on the race thing. It does seem to suggest as if the MP is racist or against Chinese religions, and I don’t think that’s what was implied.
However, I agree with the writer’s part in source anonymity that “Source confidentiality is not inaccuracy…..An inaccuracy would mean that the source in question was misquoted, or quoted grossly out of context.”
Then again, isn’t SPH controlled by them in the first place? Haha!
清者自清,不必过于敏感。From purely a human perspective, it is not surprising that there will be differences of view. She is of a different ethnic group and it is common that there will be 代沟。Even people of the same ethnic group may not share the same values. It is not a matter of taking side, it is more of a matter of building rapport with the same human kind that communicated in different language (I am assuming she only speaks English and Malay and the group of people she came in contact with in the temple speak none of the languages she knew). No big deal. Frankly, GCT is over-reacting in this instance. Why blow up a small matter? She indeed need to clear the air and come out of the open if she thinks justification is needed. If proven that the writer is reporting the truth, then she ought to offer an apology to this group of people and find ways to work towards mending ties with different ethnic group in the consitunency under her care.
GCT is turning this into a race issue when there was none to begin with. It’s very troubling.
I believed cracks is starting to open up in the party as can be seen in recent cabinet reshuffle. GCT men are losing the battle, grassroots leaders and the media are not on his side anymore. Normally, this kind of negative complaints are swept under the carpet and not make public. GCT is just fighting back to challenge the journalist.
I am happy that the mindset of their grassroot leaders are evolving for the common good of the people and not afraid to speak up cos I understand from one of their ex-grassroot is that their every move were tracked both in and when they are out of the party just like a mafia ring.
gct, is learning from our lky. he did it on author lim, he did it on dr chee, he did it on xueying……. the question we have to ask : is it too expensive to keep him in the cabinet to be papa’s bouncer?
I like the way the criticism from the SM begins with a mention of ‘inaccuracy’ and then suddenly jumps to ‘implications of racism’. The ‘Report Card’ article by the reporter was about how the new PAP MPs/Ministers fared over the last 2 years. It was perfectly logical to point out that this MP seemed to have difficulties carrying out her duties when it came to a group of people she was not familiar with.
The issue of the racial differences involved were brought up explicitly and implictly by the SM and not in any way through the report. The issue is with the competence (or lack thereof) of the MP concerned and not about any ‘bias’. If he is so peeved, the SM should be correcting the inaccuracy that he alleges instead of ranting vaguely about a loosely-connected issue.
Saying that this is a misdirected attack is, in fact, an understatement…
GCT is simply defending and looking out for himself – it’s his GRC.
A mature politician which I feel the MP involved isn’t, would take it in her stride and admit if there is any truth in it. But she will risk being sacked/sidelined later because the PAP is NEVER wrong. Anything that suggest anything but a perfectly-tune PAP MP is heretical.
If GCT is confident of himself and his team members he should have let her handle it herself, coming to her aid betrays a lack of confidence in her ability which of course lends credence to the report and remarks of the cadre.
GCT’s anxiety-provoked reaction in fact confirmed for me what was reported.
I think Mr Goh Chok Tong is just stating his views. Politicians in US do that when interviewed by the media as well.
The Straits Times should remain calm and react as it would to any feedback from an ordinary citizen. The test for journalistic freedom would be if Mr Goh Chok Tong takes any other action against the Straits Times; I would be disappointed if he does.
woody is no longer needed as a buffer.
With Jaya also holding his same position, ever thought that woody cant wait to get out?
Hence, the attempt to stir controversy and score some own goals.
Perhaps it might be his way way of manoeuvring the hatchet man to allow him retire peacefully.
Remember Seet Ai Me?
MIW elite are beyond reproach and are whiter than whiter. They are all saints in a short queue to become Gods!
That MIW cadre will be fingered out by ST and deep fried by MIW.
SM is expressing his view that the report is not accurate. If it is not accurate then ST has to put it right. If it is, i think not serious, no big deal….it is part of a learning process for new MPs.
Woody may become president bcos 2 SM in cabinet not so good. Hokkien says, ” Cho Bo Lan”
MM & SM need to stop having a controlling arm in everything PAP do, this saga being one of the examples. Younger MPs will be in a state of arrested development if they are always under the shadow.
Dr Fatimah Lateef should clarify this mis-understanding, if indeed there’s one, herself instead of having these senior & should be retired by now politicians answering on her behalf.
If she’s not even capable of dealing with such small matter, how can we rely on her to work on bigger national issues.
34) George
I agree with George. GCT should have let Dr Fatimah Lateef defend herself and pick her own battles.
Actions are ever louder than words.
wow, such a nice article by toc.
is it not nice that it shows the press has reporters/writers who dare to diss… erm, i mean write something interesting?
so, the press is very unbiased lor? well done, once again.
Well ST, seems that the ball is in your court.
Let us see to-morrow’s ST for more news.
As for GCK, not sure if he wants to be in or out ? Is he suprised by the announcement of the 2nd SM position?
- from his previous activities starting with a call for him to win back the opposition seats, to his frantic travels to the Middle East and Russia – and then giving them all up to concentrate on China – in Tianjin Eco-city and now Guangzhou Knowledge City , guys you can draw your own conclusion.
is this last burst of fire ? – courtesy of national service days..
Exciting days ahead!
GCT shot his own foot, actually not many readers knew about Fatimah issues of having difficulty interacting with the people from the Chinese temples.
Now we really know what type of people we have in GRC’s
I’n guessing she would like to… but you know, the party comes first…
Who is Fatimah? Never heard of.
Wow lau…not fair leh-how come no heavy-weight person come out to “defend” MP Denise Phua’s character when she kena “attack” by lesser mortal rag-and-bone man????….only 1 wrote to express relief that Pappy CAUGHT her instead of the opposition
I think, may be, Ho Ching could move in as a new MP for the Marine Parade GRC in order to help GCT and Dr Fatimah to strengthen that GRC.
She can then take over from GCT if he so wishes to retire at a later date.
Just a suggestion for the PAP to consider – food for thought may be?
another desperate senile old man having nothing better to do! Ya sure…Madame Ho can do no wrong even as a tiger tamer for a circus….give us a break!
Why didn’t his wife tell him it was peanut or use his favourite statement of “honest mistake” and let’s move on?