Tuesday, March 24, 2009 0:55
WP: Political films “an expression of diverse opinion in a healthy democracy”
In Uncategorized • 1,524 views • 39 Comments
The following is the Parliamentary speech by NCMP and Workers’ Party Chairman, Ms Sylvia Lim, on changes to the Films Act.
Sir, it is 10 years since the Films Act was amended to ban political films. The 1998 amendment, carrying heavy penalties, was termed by some MPs then as harsh, vague, and detrimental to our goal of becoming a First World country.
Last year, the Advisory Council on the Impact of New Media on Society (or AIMS) recommended that we should work towards eventual repeal of S 33 of the Films Act altogether. As an interim measure, it recommended that step 1 be to prohibit only those political films which were intentionally misleading.
To be fair, the Bill has its merits, but is far from what the AIMS committee had proposed.
The current amendment will still leave many film-makers, civic-minded citizens and political parties confused and bewildered over the many strange limitations imposed on permissible political films. The Bill suggests that the government is still somewhat paranoid when it comes to opening up the political landscape.
For instance, in the amendment to Section 2(2)(a) and (b), the issue on whether a political film is biased or partisan is now clearly dependant only on the opinion of the Board of Film Censors. By contrast, the AIMS committee had recommended that the Board should not exercise the function which should be passed to a group of independent adjudicators comprising of citizens of high standing with public respect. Instead, Section 4A allows the Government to appoint ‘Advisory Committees’ (the PFCC) to advise the Board on such matters; however, the section makes it clear that the Board can override the views of the Advisory Committee.
To begin with, most films, political or not, carry the values of the maker or author, which may not be shared by others. Miss Tan Pin Pin, an award winning director, wrote on behalf of 10 other film-makers to the Straits Times in 2005 questioning what constitutes ‘bias’ in making films on political issues. She said, ‘all works of art are the expression of the artiste’s opinion, which may favour a particular viewpoint or argument over another’. (2)
This means that the ambit of what is permissible will be ambiguous and uncertain. If we are sincere about promoting diversity of opinion, why have the restriction? There is no need to treat Singaporeans like children. They can assess for themselves whether the views or messages in a film are reasonable or not.
However, if the ban on biased and partisan films remains, film-makers and the public should have a clear understanding of how the Board and Advisory Committees evaluate films. To add transparency to this assessment process, can it be mandated that for each film that is banned, the opinions of both the Advisory Committee and the Board be made public?
Clause 2(c) expands the list of permissible films, which is a small step forward. However, the unnecessary limitation placed on some of these films is a giant step backwards for political engagement, artistic freedom, and active citizenry.
For instance, the proposed subsection 3(c) allows only the recording of events that are held in accordance with the law. Therefore, any unrelated bystander caught filming a protest could be prosecuted. To me, this does not make sense. Citizen journalism is a useful counterpoint to the official mass media. Singaporeans should be informed of what is going on within our borders, whether legal or not. The Government has stated that it wants to seriously engage the online community. If that is so, it must allow the recording of events, whether held in accordance with the law or not, because such recordings are essential to the growth of the blogging community and independent news portals. Furthermore, these are mostly recordings of events that the mainstream media is not interested to cover.
Next, the ban on the use of animation and dramatic elements is another strange restriction imposed on political films that should be discarded.
First, animation aids story telling. Second, dramatization is the essence of story telling for any serious and creative film-maker.
It is somewhat ironic that the theme for the 2007/08 Media Development Authority’s Annual Report was ‘The Digital Way Forward: An Animation Special’. The MDA report identified animation as a key growth area for development. So what kind of catastrophic harm can a promising technology inflict on the public when applied to a political film?
Is animated text permissible? Are special effects allowed? If nothing can be animated in a political production, why call it a film?
Besides, how can we celebrate the use of dramatization in some films and at the same time censure the use of it in others? If the government is worried about viewers being carried away, the government can simply require all films to carry a mandatory disclaimer urging viewers of political films or documentaries to draw their own conclusions.
I urge the Minister to seriously consider removing this incomprehensible restriction on the use of animation and dramatic elements on political films completely.
The 1998 Amendment fixed the penalty for those who make or exhibit political films at a maximum of $100,000 fine or 2 years jail or both. These are heavy penalties. With the easing of the ban on political films, and the uncertain boundaries mentioned, shouldn’t the penalties for political films be lowered?
The Senior Minister of State mentioned during his second reading speech that the Election Advertising Regulations would be changed to allow films. He also said there would be no ‘blackout’ period i.e. political parties and activists can produce new films during the campaign. Due to the tight time lines of the campaign, will the requirement for submission of films to the PFCC be done away with during the campaign, since the delay caused by the submission (and approval) may make the film ineffective?
A final point to note. We have allowed controversial political documentaries like Fahrenheit 911 to air here. Fahrenheit 911 was made by American Michael Moore, heavily critical of the then incumbent Present George W Bush and the 2003 invasion of Iraq. By allowing the film in cinemas here, can we then infer that the Government will allow something similar with local content to be produced and aired here as well? If not, is this Government saying that it is alright to laugh at other leaders in the world but not at our own?
In my view, the ability to take criticism and laugh at one self is a sign of society’s maturity, humility and magnanimity. I urge this Government to cultivate such qualities and accept political films as nothing more than an expression of diverse opinion in a healthy democracy.
Singapore has a high literacy rate and high Internet connectivity. Singaporeans have many channels to obtain official and unofficial information. There are also many other laws in place such as the defamation laws, Penal Code and Sedition Act to catch content which is objectionable. Our society should be ready for and work toward a removal of the ban on political films altogether, ie repealing S33 of the Act.
———–
- Govt appoints 7 gatekeepers to vet political films
- Changes to Films Act allow political debate to be “serious and robust”, says Minister
- Party political films please, we’re the PAP!
- New restrictions to Films Act introduced in the guise of liberalisation
- Blog Feature: Films Act – a class act to follow
39 Comments
SZ
David
I have never failed to enjoy reading Sylvia Lim speeches. I strongly believed that her analytical views, during her NCMP terms, have caught many people (including PAP) attention.
She is capable of pointing out the double-standard practices of this government, their contradicting views and ideology during different timing, how messy these people are in creating policies and the shallowness of their thinking.
I have no doubt that, soon, all the remaining PAP newbies will stand up with simple speeches to hail Liu’s proposals without giving much thoughts of the issue because they were mostly overstretched in their job as stated in recent news.
The conclusion:- the law will be passed to “liberalised” pappy for their own political agenda and not to liberalise new media as we all have hoped.
Watanaporn
It is a great disappointment indeed that after consultations and gathering feedback,the Govt did not managed to implement what the general public hope to see.
However,if section 33 is really removed,will the WP start producing political films?
mon
It is sad that Ms. Lim was not elected.
We need opposition like her.
Whatever rules the PAP introduce is to help themselves.
May she should have asked more embarrassing questions to the PAP leaders?
At least we get to laugh at them on the net.
mon
honestly, I don’t think things will be better political in the near future in Singapore as long as the old man lives or in charge.
Long live TOC.
sgcynic
“The proposed subsection 3(c) allows only the recording of events that are held in accordance with the law.” Does that mean many of the postings in STOMP will be illegal then? Great (I mean it).
CC
To improve enforceability, I recommend the government outlaw the sale of mobiles with video recording features.
*snicker*
Self righteousness
“There is no need to treat Singaporeans like children. ”
The problem with those self-appointed righteousness policemen is that they just refuse to understand that they are going against the natural / evolutionary developmental understanding of a more increasing discerning and educated workforce.
leslie
Should this then be deemed going against the “no animation” rule?
ronin
Instead of changeing the penal code to make physical assault a seizable offense for Lesser Mortals like us, MIW is far moe interested in tinkering the political film laws to ensure that they remain in power forever!!
richard
Control is to government advantages. Go other countries and film it.
Why like that
Tthey keep blowing their trumpet to the effect that they are the best capitalizing on the msm (the most important platform) while denying others of whatever improvised platform the latter have to make-do and creatively come out with.
TW has daily political video coverage
Take a good look at TW media.
Every day , YES, EVERY single day even on holidays 365 days a year ,
24 hours a day, you can get TV coverage on political issues .
Case in point, Ah Bian case being broadcast ‘live’ every day. TW knows that if it is the truth, it is only healthy to inform the public what is going on. Even when things are being investigated. If people slander, they also get charged.
Its a fair game. The system works. So, there is regulation. They allow opposite sites to voice up. The people gets to hear everything any party wants to say. Their people are used to all these. TW is the USA of Asia, in my opinion.
while some facts may not sound nice, TW society choose to hear them. The good news and the bad news. Their leaders are held ACCOUNTABLE.
seebeng
“To be fair, the Bill has its merits,…..”
Can the NCMP tell us what are these “merits” that she has found in this piece of draconian and feudalistic trash that the autocratic regime has bulldozed through its rubber stamp parliament?
Stand Up, Stand Up....Get Up for your Right!
“Doing nothing against the acts of suppression often allows the state of being suppressed (and associated existing errors and fallacies) to continue.”
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suppression_of_dissent
“Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our mind.” – Bob Marley
Kaka
Ms Sylvia Lim is a national treasure, refined and rare.
Sadly, she’s also a prime target to be “fixed”.
May Singapore protect underdogs like her.
Dane
I’d very much like to watch a film on Wong Kan Seng’s failure to capture and recapture Mas Selamat.
definite blockbuster in Asia…
“Alcatraz – Little Red Dot”
“Nowhere to be Found”
“The Fugitive”
“Toilet Flush”
“Dead or Alive”
“The Escapist”
“Man-hunt in the Lion City”
“Whitley”
ErniesUrn (Ernie)
I’m waiting for PAPs political film to touch on …handling politicals dissendents and the ISA …and touch abit on Lim Chin Siong. And how PAP came into power, show some of MM Lees public assembly speeches and how he spoke against the communist. A person who was a champion of free speech with no police clamping down on him.
Please don’t show us a bunch of people in white waving flags in the air, while airplanes fly pass, hdb up grading or show riots in other countries …i’ve seen enough of that kind of propaganda countless times, especially on every 9th Aug.
Can show us something historical and factual? Convince me to give you the vote.
tew ah siow
Vote in more oppositions like Syvia, so our views are heard in parliament. We can’t trust Pap MPs because they are like mouse.
JC
to #14, please do not expect an answer to ur question. It puzzled me y you even ask because whoever answer you may be doing a “balancing act” on a tight rope. The OB marker thingy.
There is definitely a reason why things are done the way it is done, the only issue here is whether is it done with a specific reason. Most importantly; is the reason(s) justifable?
seebeng
Nominated Member of Parliament Siew Kum Hong voted against the amendments to the Films Act. But NCMP Sylvia Lim supported the bill which is a severe blow to citizen journalism.
Is it justifiable to you then ?
“There is definitely a reason why things are done the way it is done, the only issue here is whether is it done with a specific reason. Most importantly; is the reason(s) justifable?”
Oh yeah ??? So what do you think. are the reson(s) (who knows what they are) justifiable ??? Of course, it is justifiable to them whowever they are to come out with it. But is it justifiable to you as far as you as a blogger is concerned especially when you have some comments to make – which may not be too flattering on those that you may wish to comment on.
teo soh lung
If #21 is accurate that NCMP Sylvia Lim supported the amendment bill, what is there to say. Better expect more changes for the worse. Singaporeans are best to be the 3 monkeys – see not, hear not, speak not.
What do Singaporeans expect?
Correction:
So why did NOT Workers’ Party MP, Mr Low Thia Khiang and NCMP Sylvia Lim vote against the enactment of this law?
If I’m correct Sylvia Lim voted FOR, as mentioned by #21
sylvia dun make me sad
21) seebeng on March 24th, 2009 4.41 pm
I hope what you say is not true.
i am a supporter of sylvia. if its true, i would be very traumatised by her decision and her thinking. she is one of the few hopes i have.
skilled migration is last resort.
democracy asian values asia miracle
I searched chris pattern and our very own mentor on youtube and found a terrible film about an interview with chris where he commented about mentor.
youtube @2 minute mark.
is this considered a political film?
so my question is clear. WHAT Exactly constitutes as a political film?
Who decides if any video is or is not political film? just by mentioning a politician’s name is political film?
Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2YvzIW88WQ
this the chris patten interview you talking abt?
JD
Bear in mind that if Sylvia/SiewKH don’t vote for the changes then the status quo STAYS which is political videos is TOTALLY BANNED. Both choices suck but it’s easier to bend the laws without a total ban.
SSC Aerotico
Erm, I have a few tough questions. not sure any of u can answer.
There is a process to pass this bill by way of voting in the parl is that correct?
Let me know if i sala.
assuming so, i like to know, what is the effect of the alternative parties on this aspect alone?
So what happens if these 3 vote AGAINST?
So what happens if these 3 vote FOR?
what happens when the next bill comes along? what will happen? I wonder very hard. i wonder like the lemon tree.
see my point? ??? huh ????
tomolo going u kno?
Spirit-centred
If bystanders filming of a demonstration, criminal arrest etc is not allowed, then instances of police abuse and excessive use of force to exercise arrest may go unnoticed and unreported in the mainstream or internet media, the public will never know these things are happening and the culprits will never face the law.
KAM
Good speech and well thought out.
Bravo Ms Lim.
kingfisher
” If not, is this Government saying that it is alright to laugh at other leaders in the world but not at our own?”
I think if we can show that we’ll cry for them, perhaps they’ll let us make the films.
karma hoo
what is the use all our ramblings here? what is the use? what is the use?
what little use does it serve? how many reading only?
maybe this negative voice should be deleted?
seebeng
Speaking in parliament, Ms Sylvia Lim said: “To be fair, the Bill has its merits,…”
When the bill was finally put to vote Nominated Member of Parliament Siew Kum Hong voted against the amendments to the Films Act. But NCMP Sylvia Lim supported the bill, according to TODAY newspaper of 24 Mar, 2009.
its really the supporters
Sylvia, she last time inspector wor. Very impress leh.
Wow, if she really supported the bill, i wonder how many not impress wor.
For me, I always say i impress wor. i very good wan. ;)
teo soh lung
To #29 let me attempt a reply. A bill goes in for 3 readings. The first reading is placing it before parliament. The second reading is where you can debate on the bill but really, not very much if you have so many members in one party. You can also refer the bill to a special committee (which also does not make much difference). The third reading is a mere formality. Parliament can either pass the bill or disallow the passage of the bill usu by a simple majority of votes. If you have 3 votes out of 84 for the bill at the third reading, the bill goes into the dustbin. There is no such thing as passing one quarter of the bill as suggested by someone!
Mind you, lots of paper is used to pass bills. Think of the trees. I think we don’t need a parliament in Singapore. Save money.
alternate distractor illusion facade de smuto
Hi teo soh lung,
“If you have 3 votes out of 84 for the bill at the third reading, the bill goes into the dustbin. There is no such thing as passing one quarter of the bill as suggested by someone!”
Soly, i no very the good in english. Do you mean when there is 3 votes against, the bill goes into rubbish bin?
like this waste paper is that what you mean?
I think you mean if only 3 votes against, bill passed as proposed? Does this then mean majority = >=51% or majority = any number of ‘FOR’ votes where ‘Abstain’ votes are not counted?
Either case, please share with us, as long as the status quo, 3 alternative voice,
what happens with each new bill proposed? Can it ever be veto’d? To make it simpler, has any BILL from the ruling party ever been veto’d in history? I can assume there is but I wonder out of all the bills, how many , if any, was veto’d?
unabel
Hi Friends
The PAP has a morbid fear that a “scuffle in the National Stadium will lead to rioting” as testified by the strict crowd control during the Malaysia Cup football
heydays where except for the shouting of “Refree kayu”, no drums and banners were allowed into the stadium.
LKY’s motto is “always nip them in the bud” A Confucian leader is intolerant of
poking fun at your betters/elders – “Boh tuah, boh suay”.
Up to the 80s, the Chinese Sporean father, particularly the less English educated, becomes restraint in his feelings “don’t give face” as soon as his children reached their mid-teens.
Culturally, the Chinese still remain a “unforgiving father” and this rigid attitude estranged hundreds of Chinese Sporean families. Dozens of fathers have disowned their children and adamantly refused to relent even when his children repent and seek forgiveness.
Our Asean neighbours continual top-turviness do frighten the PAP whom do not acknowledge that constructive chaos can be instructive. Their continual refrain is “You will frighten foreign investors away. Tourists will shun our Lion City. Your property and the Sing dollar will fall in value. That will be the end of Spore” which were swallowed wholesale by mostly Chinese Sporeans cause had Spore’s population been at least half non-Chinese, the PAP’s talking-cock will be rubbished off.
My take is most Chinese Sporeans above their mid40s have been emasculated by the PAP.
teo soh lung
To #37 If 3 out of 84 MPs want to have the Films Act amended and 81 opposed it being amended, then the bill goes into the bin i.e. not passed. This will not happen because PAP have excessive majority in parliament. Any bill introduced by the PAP will go through, whether debated or not.
The role of the opposition is tough but when the opposition speak against the bill, then they must live up to their speech i.e. vote against the bill or at the very least, Abstain. They cannot say one thing and do another. Hope this is clear.

” is this Government saying that it is alright to laugh at other leaders in the world but not at our own?” Something I like…and it rings true…
how bad will singapore be on the press freedom ranking this year? i see a downward slide again