THE unemployment rate for Singaporeans and permanent residents hit a five-year high of 4.8 per cent last month.

Manpower Ministry

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

6 Responses to “4.8 per cent jobless but worse is yet to come”

1. Can't be helped 30 April 2009

4.8% jobless? That means 95.2 % still employed. Not too bad lah, still over 90%, hor.

Anyway you only need 66% vote to get 98% seats in Parliament, so it’s OK. Of course must assume again 50% walkover lah, which is again very possible.

2. Dr Frankenstein 30 April 2009

Will MOM ever give the break up of how many Singapore unemployed and how many fast tracked PRs unemployed are there?

3. Is it true that those undergoing re-training are not considered as un-employed?

4. Dumboqueen 30 April 2009

“Let’s wait for the US economy to recover, it may recover next year or a few years time but don’t worry we have the JCS and SPUR…oh ya our reserves still have lots of money…mumble (expect more jobs losses)….did I mention that our reserves still have lots of money and SPUR?”

5. Now, why suddenly MOM split things so clearly?

Singaporeans and permanent residents.

I thought that they liked to to lump these two into one classification in the past.

6. TrueBlood Singaporean 1 May 2009

Can the Retraining Spur – made Chartered Greater than TSMC
    made Creative Greater than Apple
    Stop SIA from downturn.
    Stop DBS, NOL from Retrenchment

What is the fundamental of retraining, admit those NUS, NTU degrees are useless!