Saturday, April 4, 2009 0:22

By the next general elections…

In Quotes • 773 views • 32 Comments

By the next election, we should have even more people in place to form the fourth generation leadership.

DPM Teo Chee Hean

1. Cabinet changes – what does it mean for next General Elections?
  2. Blog Feature: A word on the PAP and general elections
  3. ‘Opposition’ versus ‘ruling’ party on 2nd May and a simulation for the next General Elections
  4. Breaking News: Malaysia PM calls for general elections
  5. PAP on New Media coverage of General Election 2010

32 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

dexter
Apr 4, 2009 4:46

I hope by then, I would have migrate to somewhere else..Singapore is on the fast track to become a empty shell of a nation. Its no longer a nation state..instead its a city state where people will move on .

well done PAP..we started as a city state and into the nation state in the 80’s now we’ll back to square one…

CJ
Apr 4, 2009 4:54

I like to see HOW LONG can they turn a blind eye to what is REALLY happening to Singapore, and how long can they keep in SELF-DENIAL over the fact that bright young locals are LEAVING and soon as well, the many Foreigners here who are finding living costs, too high.

Keep up the Blind Work…

smallvice585
Apr 4, 2009 5:59

LKY said “I will be alive by next GE…”

doctorwho
Apr 4, 2009 6:43

They still live in their past glory and are truely aggrogant, iggnorant, whatever. Get this straight up their old 8088 brain! …. Singaporeans can live without you, but you cannot live without us.

It is better for the party to break into 2, introduce competition, lower the cost (i meant their salary $$$ ^^).

more money, more politicians
Apr 4, 2009 6:43

At this rate, Teo can be proud of S’pore having the top 100 highest paid politicians in the world but not top 100 in terms of ability.
And should this happen, it is time for me not to hang around.

Iamemigrating
Apr 4, 2009 10:05

So is the arrogance of the PAP. The always assume they will win.
Can they really tell what will happen tomorrow?
They couldn’t even predict the financial meltdown when all indicators
all there for them of see. If they had, would GIC and Temasek lost so much?

jazzyjohn
Apr 4, 2009 11:42

the third generation is doing such a ‘great’ job, i am super excited to see how the fourth generation is going to perform…

worldcrass
Apr 4, 2009 11:56

yes, as we consolidate the 4th generation of leadership, they will still have to listen to our 1st generation leader. this ‘renewal’ is uniquely singapore ok.

SZ
Apr 4, 2009 12:20

They are just like the Generation lost of VHS tape, the more they try to duplicate the original, the lousier the quality. I really cannot imagine what the 4G will be like since the 3G is …

Retiree
Apr 4, 2009 12:41

Well, Teo has a job to do and all pap people will sound arrogant as always…..as they go about doing what they are assigned including and at such times even gambling is ok with the IR assignment.

The control established years ago is all encompassing and very early those who want to have high salaries in the shortest time possible have already concluded that if you cannot even touch them, then join them….they are the exclusive club.

The press, tv, news, etc, are all so well orchestrated that this is a make believe world…jobs galore……black out on discussion of president & ministers’ salaries…and the NKF saga during last election.

So it is really a waste of time with independent opinions, inclusive society, and all the nice talks.. when the play is over, the curtain falls and all have to go home – the common folk to HDB and the chosen few to their mansions and ivory towers..
well at least one can see the play…..so count your blessings.

So it is each man for himself and try to do a quick getaway – look at the bad culture that has been spawned starting with NKF with the classic playing the system for own selfish gains …….and beating the MOH, Charities, etc.. that was the way to go to outfox the government with the first all important step in getting Mrs GCT to be the patron..

So if you have morals, do not waste your time further – think of something else good to do or somewhere else to go – just do it even if you are 60 years old.

Goodbye guys.

Larry
Apr 4, 2009 13:27

Seems to be fashionable that a whole bandwagon of so called journalists (from the Singapore press) follows the VIPs overseas then ask about domestic matters

It resembles the kampung days where one is asked a question when the elders are not around the vicnity….

And again, DPM was speaking in English in the mainland when he gave a speech…… what is this… (I am speechless).

nextGE
Apr 4, 2009 14:42

By the next election, you will be crushed and defeated.

You and your cronies will be crying coz you all have to give up your MILLION dollar salaries and all the superperks !

whattf
Apr 4, 2009 14:44

“And again, DPM was speaking in English in the mainland when he gave a speech…… what is this… (I am speechless).”

Can’t even speak chinese and still wana be DPM ? I thought the old man already gave the ultimatum to speak chinese at home ?

Elfred
Apr 5, 2009 1:52

Highly unlikely… It won’t be until the election after the coming one when the forth gen of leaders would be about forming. It’d also be a time of pretty tough fight… Hehehehe~

It’d be at the turning point of Singapore fortune at that election… which is, if those leaders can’t make it… that’s it lah~

angry_one
Apr 5, 2009 2:45

The PAP will always be in control my friends. Don’t be so naive as to think that they will fight a fair election and walk away if they lose. LKY has said that if the PAP loses he’ll call in the army. The people are powerless. Those who can leave for a better life, have done so.

cat
Apr 5, 2009 8:54

Well, the MIWS are not sure of winning… that’s why they panick.

babyckh
Apr 5, 2009 9:33

to #15

Call in the army? What can they do?

They are not going to mow everyone down with their machine guns and tanks isn’t it?

Scare tactic la…

Lister Storm
Apr 5, 2009 9:53

So, why is it that singapore is not able to produce 1 single alternative leader to form a strong opposition party?

I do not feel that WP is a strong opposition party in terms of the number of seats, the membership and the politicians they have.

Can singapore produce just 1 such talent in future? Is it able?

SZ
Apr 5, 2009 10:13

Call in the army? where does the basis or junior officer comes from? do you think they will want to do anything against their own people?

and if they do call in the army, i am sure the foreign press will love it, and soon we will be hit with embargo to teach them a little lesson.

Elfred
Apr 5, 2009 10:23

@Angry_One: Politically speaking, if MM or the then PM calls the army, the first thing would be an impact of foreign tourists here in Singapore, and second thing would be the respective embassies of states MM is highly sensitive of in foreign intervention, that the third thing is… by the time you need the army, we’d have plenty of political assassinations.

You must understand how certain things said must be analysed conveniently.

Besides, when PAP does lose, they can only call in the army before before the next cabinet is formed… … And you’d need a world legitimate election for PAP to form the next cabinet, hence be granted power to direct the army or even to declare war on other states.

@Lister Storm: The issue about political leadership and especially leaders with high calibre is not about ‘able’ or not to be produced. If you understand histories, they are mostly the products of situation or the acts of god. And every civilisation is usally blessed by very few, if any.

The oppositions’ biggest political capital is the rising tide. You don’t need much of a fight hence you don’t need talents that much to fight for power. Just look at how easily Thaksin was ousted. He was the PM of Thailand somemore! And no one peasants took out a gun to resist the military. This is obviously because nobody really need Thaksin, and the tide against him is high. Tell me who really thought there are such leaders in the Yellow Armies? How many peasants really know them?

But if there are high calibre leaders in the oppositions, most of them are likely to be hiding and on the sideline when Mr Lee Senior is still around. The best of the best always do what is best in politics. See?

So you are asking a pretty redundant question.

Singapore Short Stories
Apr 5, 2009 10:26

I hope the 4th generation of leaders would be someone who knows what Singaporeans, especially the youths want. They must be able to communicate and understand the commoners in the street and not to have another scholar again….

Aki
Apr 5, 2009 19:06

TCH – load of craps! Just a crony – period!

Edward
Apr 5, 2009 23:12

If the PAP loses the next GE, especially a ‘freak’ result, I don’t think LKY would hand over power peacefully. He and his son would fix them oppositon members before they could form the new government. LKY is very ingenious. Just look how Thailand’s elites removed Thaksin and his successors without much bloodshed. The economy may suffer temporary but will recover under the PAP again. LKY had said that if the opposition were to run the country the economy will be totally ruined within 5 years. He had also mentioned Chen S B’s poor performance in Taiwan.

Even if the opposition can form the new government, it will be at the mercy of the PAP-controlled President who would deny them access to the reserves and who also control the appointment of senior civil servants who would most likely worked against the new leaders without fear of dismissal.

sweettalk
May 8, 2009 15:00

i do hope the 4th GE faces some changes. and SHOW to those arrogant PAP that they will not always win for sure. then they will cry and kiss their fat pig million cheque away. they seems like only know how to talk nicely infront of people but do different things.

Modernist
May 8, 2009 15:25

I wonder if many of the commentators here have lived abroad and experienced for themselves what life is like as an asian in another country, try autralia or the UK or the US. We see so many people wish to migrate. It is also quite de riguer to villify and condem the leadership, but i really wonder what constructive alternative solutions do people have if they were in the shoes of the leaders (putting aside the issue of the minister’s pay – which seems to rile a lot of people.) on issues of employment, the economy etc etc.

gemami
May 8, 2009 15:27

To all of you who have been bashing Josie and Co., now is the time to get her on your bandwagon. She is an expert at making sounds disappear. Oppositions, you hear?

Lifeobzervr
May 8, 2009 15:34

I hope the fourth generation ‘leaders’ wouldn’t come in the form of spastic dancers, tone deaf band musicians and croaking singers… worse… walkabout baby kissers (when there are photographers around) from amongst the scholar class. If that happens, we might as well revert back to the early days of self governance where we have blue collar workers who are more serious to represent the people than ‘win’ that sms ‘vote’ ala Singapore Idol.

Daniel
May 8, 2009 15:41

I’m sure that Zimbabwe (Mugabe), Burma (Thein Sein) and North Korea (Kim Yong Nam) will be there to ensure that there is no freak election. Look like there is going to be another orchid naming for Orchid Mugabe and Orchid YongNam prior to election.

Is the “MOre people” refers to offspring of these dictators since there is longer distinction between foreigners and citizens ?

Modernist
May 8, 2009 15:53

Lifeobservr: The business of governance is so complex and I dont even dare to try. What more a blue collar worker lah? Have you seen our blue collar workers now? Times have changed lah.

Daniel
May 8, 2009 15:53

Please Teo, call a spade a spade,
you are in fact looking for 4th generation LEEDERSHIP. Don’t give the word Leadership a bad name. You are generally looking for like-mind that share PAP’s ideology.

LEEDERSHIP = claim credit in good times, blame others in bad times, disappear in time of self-made crisis and absolve themselves of accountability and responsibility when their honest mistake and foolishness blow out of proportion. Need ridiculous salary to match corruption. Capable of talking nonsense and bullshit amidst graduating from top university. Give these top universities a bad name. When shit happens, no one is responsible and little people take the rap. Rule by “Shut up”

Leadership = Lead from the front, hand-on and die from the front, not from the back. Respect by the people.

I will not be surprised that book will be written on Leedership after the old man’s demise.

Singaporean
May 8, 2009 15:57

By the time of the next general election, the welcome foreigner to become citizens may probably reach the critical mass mark. At the rate of Singaporeans are migrating and replaced by new citizens, all will be well and rosy for the incumbent govt. You see, MM Lee is very ingenious in social engineering. Not a drop of blood is shed in this renewal and new citizens go home regularly from the various C.Cs, with a goodie bag and a pink IC. By the way, I just saw from news report that Mas Selamat was actually born in Indonesia, I wonder who gave this terrorist his Singapore IC!

Daniel
May 8, 2009 16:26

” constructive alternative solutions do people have if they were in the shoes of the leaders (putting aside the issue of the minister’s pay – which seems to rile a lot of people.) on issues of employment, the economy etc etc.”

That is the point of linking of minister’s pay to their own policy. If they are paid extremely well, they will just take simple way out and absolve them of any responsibility that jeopardise their pay. If their KPI depends on profitability and GDP then they will optimize their decision and policies for it in their area of responsibility. Have you not seen people who are motivated purely by money and are paid so well that they will try to protect their position and pay at all cost that they push responsibility and mistake to avoid been blame and enter black list book ?

That is why the main important reason to link on minister’s pay because it create the impetus for them to develop policies and law that safe-guard their regime’s interest and Singapore Inc for which they are in fact the major shareholders not the citizen. Don’t you think that there is something wrong where ministers telling you that Temask and GIC using taxmoney is none of the citizen’s business and that secrecy is good for them amidst unaccountable loss ?

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook