Breaking News: World Health Organisation raises flu alert to phase 5 out of 6., signaling that a pandemic was “imminent” following the swine flu outbreak.
From Channelnewsasia:
Presenting the May Day Awards to 55 individuals and companies was labour chief Lim Swee Say.
Temasek Holding’s outgoing CEO, Ho Ching was awarded the Medal of Commendation – Gold for her contributions to the labour movement and promoting harmonious labour-management relations.
Receiving the same award was Wing Tai’s Senior Advisor, James Lee – who is a strong supporter of NTUC’s social enterprises and served on the Council of the Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF) for many years.
Two companies GlaxoSmithKline and Shimano Singapore received the Plaque of Commendation – Gold.
Also present at the dinner was Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Cabinet ministers, MPs and tripartite partners. – CNA /ls

oh, i really “like” her husband may day message…
their undoings completely shattered my faith in them, come this election 2011, things will change for the better
She is brilliant in school and in uni and got very high marks in electrical engineering in a Ivy League US uni.
That is no guarantee she would be brilliant in equity.
The stock market is a beast.
She was bullish and forever bullish.
She was caught up with her euphoria.
The PAP knew that brillaince is no guarantee to beating the stock market and it was too late. By then she lost over 50 billion dollars of our sing land peoples’ money.
Now, they have an ang moh professional.
Can he recoup all our losses.
Pray.
Karma.
In the first, should have found a real pro.
Wah. Too arrogant. All must be in the ELeee family -run country like it is ‘my’ house.
All heartlanders suffer.
Od man and old ladies and more of the forced to scrounge for card boxes.
FT and more of the to fight with heartlanders for jobs.
I quit five years ago.
Live overseas now.
I – very old. 69 years old.
Can do what in Sing.
Scrounge and fight with other oldies for card box turf and fight to death to defend turf.
Foreign workers and FTs laugh at oldies like me.
Sing gahme – must be stupid.
Bring in more FTs.
what a joke this award is. we should not waste public money like that!
This is both shocking and scaring.
There is also a lack of accountability here.
For losing so much money in the top seat, she still can get a Gold May Day Award?
There will be alot of ridicule from the ground and abroad.
I have nothing much to say here except to shake my head many times today upon hearing the shocker (worse than the swine flu news).
What has become of our country?/
Singapore should be on RED ALERT, not from the swine flu, but the golden award given to Ho JIN and this RED ALERT should not be taken off until there is full accountability and transparency in this country.
Anyway, this year Labour Day is too meaningless now while all other Singapore Labourers are not yet recognised for their hard work by our leaders except to force us to struggle with the downturn while the elites enjoy partying and celebrating the awards.during this time of the year.
There is a need to broadcast on tv, a formal apology from the team responsible for the S$100 Billion foreign investment losses as well as their due prosecutions so as to appease the public. This is after all not their money and their irresponsibility is no different from embezzlement of state fund.
corruption at its finest
She will receive more and better award than “Medal of Commendation – Gold” for she can still contribute further, not just to the labour movement, not just to Singapore, but to the region, but to the World.
Hands Up for Ms Ho Ching as S’pore’s 3rd Prime Minister!! #$%*
The superpowers can manipulate all things that are earthly but they are powerless against the Asian Tsunami, Hurricane Katrina, Sichuan Earthquake and now, the Swine Flu.
God is watching us from a distance.
May day! May day! The economy is tanking!!!
We give this prize to Ho Ching for her cuntributions.
All the workers in the GLCs who have to work harder because of all the other shit in the Temasek portfolio thank you for your time.
If She is Pro-worker, she will stop DBS, NOL, Chartered from Retrenchment first since Temesak is the majority shareholder.
Why GLC start the ball of retrenchments first since end of last year and so the private sector folllows. Heard of UOB, OCBC retrench 1st? NO!
To use internet parlance, we are all getting trolled by the ruling government. Surely they must have found this self-coronation and the peasants’ emasculated reaction humourous.
Maybe the ruling party is trying to see what will get Singaporeans PO’ed enough to make a noise or maybe they just want a closer election?
Who recommended the award?
In the words of Zheng Guo Cheng , the taiwanese compere who was giving out awards in the Star Awards.. I quote..
“Singapore don’t have talents?” How come always see the same star receiving the awards…
Remember 12 years ago
MICROPOLIS harddisk loss over USD450 million belly-up in Nov 1997
You are the best !
The award is for her to move on, hope she doesn’t come to your workplace!
it is not eazy to lose so much money again and again, i say, give her a medal of courage!
The Award is of no value anymore.
Looking at a photo taken during the ceremony, Ho Ching was wearing the same “auntie” outfit which she had worn during the Temasek CEO handover. For someone running a multi-billion dollar outfit, can’t she dress more professionally ? It gives the impression that she is “homely” and “motherly”.
you all har
ungratefool peasants
you know mdm hoching or not?
daughterinlaw of the founding father prime minister
wife of the present prince highness the prime minister
if you all don’t bowl and prayed
she will proclaimed herself
the empress dowarger
and chopped off all your heads
you think you all 1/2 bald boxers mey?
p.s.
my great great grandafther was a real manchu boxer
i still have his head as a souveneir
The guy who nominated Ho Ching will soon enjoy a triple promotion!!
all these comments and complaints on line and yet give them “strong mandate” in elections. We, Singaporeans, have really no self respect, just like Jackie Chan said.
We should give an award each time you lose $500 million taxpayer money – award for being daring to try.
SME canwait long long time.. SME just not good enough..
Lessons for Singaporeans!
Do not over-claim taxi fares even f it is less than $2, you’ll be called a cheat and a liar and have your name smeared to no end.
Do not under-declare you taxable income even if you are earning a yearly million-dollar salary because you will end up a fugutive.
What you can do is to squander as much as $50 billion dollars of other people’s money. The top labour day award is exclusively yours for keeps.
This is how it works in unique Singapore where Nepotism rock n rule!
Oh yes, forgot to add. Lee Wei Ling was gunning for this award whole year round with her numerous letters to the MSM self-proclaiming all the righteuos deeds she had been doing. Mind you, every letter she wrote to the press is properly laminated, framed and put up in her Neuroscience Institute. Even the lifts there are not spared.
Another catfight in the making? hmm….
http://ephraim.blogspot.com/2009/04/new-model-of-political-governance-ho.html
Ho Ching , do the right and honourable thing . Decline the May Day award .
Why not Dr. Thio Su Mien instead? She has done more than Ho Ching. Lee Wei Ling might get it next year. Or even Zoe Tay?
Before admin deletes this post based on the nickname,
let me say my view.
Why aren’t people talking about it in public about this kinds of opinions if it is true about the losses by that talent?
Why are people not voicing up in public or at hong lim or anywhere if this is true about the investments that got blown away?
I assume that when people do not voice up in public, that is a form of acceptance that the performance is acceptable. I mean this is a free society right? singaporeans especially the educated and young ones are very 1st world right? well travelled and talented right? So, there is your hong lim . So, why no speakers to speak on this performance thingy? Silence is acceptance, at times, in some ways, to some people. I take it that the people accept . The people who do not accept her performance are those who only talk behind the guise of nickname. I am not suspecting her performance. So, my nickname is not important. Are the bad performance, eg. the ABC learning $1 thingy, the Truth, the whole Truth and nothing but the tooth ? Is it beyond reasonable doubt? Is it true there is no doubt that the ABC became $1 ?
Until this is answered, the rest of the People may be wondering how credible are comments here. So, here is the chance to prove to them.
Feel free to object my views.
My name is Kang Ah Blue of Pork and Pork
This award is to restore her credibility before she’s cheperoned to DBS to take over the CEO job. She’s so SHAMELESS to even contemplate of accpeting this award of which she is so undeserving ! And to even be part of the 55 team for the photo session, that’s despicable.
Anyway, ppl will remember and she’s putting her kids at great risk of being ridiculed for the rest of their lives for the monumental damage she’s created.
She should have just silently fade into the realm of unimportance without having further spotlight cast upon her. It just rile the public’s discontent to a greater height.
@ 124 and 125
Applause :-)
Silence is indeed acceptance.
Bad things happen when good people do nothing.
Exercise your votes!
There is very much an indication on the feedback here that there is a level of discontent that Singaporeans are feeling. It is not hard to see that people’s hearts are in the right place and that they feel that there is a great injustice that has been committed to the integrity and value of Singaporean citizens; and possibly contributed to Singapore’s reputation overseas as well.
I don’t understand the counterproductivity this would create for the Govt.?
They are making it harder to be taken seriously and diminishing their own “world-class” goals.
It is very obvious from these posts that this episode is at the heart of the way Singapore operates and the criticism does not need justification. It is a free society afterall.
Furthermore, if the ruling Govt. were worth their pay packets……….why are they not taking on board some of these comments ?
Are they afraid it will cause discontent and instability?
Surely they would be able to see that by giving this award is the SOURCE of great discontent and frustration to the people of Singapore and would step in to make the award null and void.
@112 Are you refering to when HC tried to pull a China with Seagate regarding Hard-disk manufacture?
Are any of you on FaceBook?
To 124) Are comments here credible? on May 1st, 2009 2.24 pm
Article from: The Australian
FAILED childcare centres reliant on taxpayer funding have been sold to a charity for $1 each.
Mission Australia paid a token $1 each for several of the 29 ABC Learning centres it bought from the collapsed childcare chain’s receiver, PPB, industry sources told The Australian yesterday.
==================================
What are you saying its all true, are you a retard ? It’s call censorship
Which planet are you from?
Oh..if she’s going to take over DBS as CEO..
then…hmm…. mixed feelings for me..
on one hand, i want to invest in DBS as sure cannot die.. DBS die..singapore die..
but now..if she becomes CEO… based on her track records managing other companies.. uh… Damn… Now I am really in a dilemma…
TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY…
Please.. Your honourable madam ho ching.. I think you have done enough for the people of singapore and your husband needs a woman to support him .. please do your best as his advisor instead.. don’t come and manage DBS ok? :)
[#118 Dr Frankenstein]
“all these comments and complaints on line and yet give them “strong mandate” in elections. We, Singaporeans, have really no self respect, just like Jackie Chan said.”
Hold your horses there, Frankenstein. You are obviously looking from a narrow perspective. Have you counted the number of people here who have spoken out against the PAP govt? Can you be sure they have not voted against the PAP in past elections? What do you think – on a ball park estimate – of the ratio of people who have posted here against the total number of people eligible to vote, say in the last election or the next general elections?
Assuming that all of us here who are against the PAP will vote against the PAP in the next elections, that may still not be enough to achieve the result of our choice. Can you or anyone else, then, say we have no self-respect?
Please look at the broad picture.
This coming Elections will be different from the past.
This recession had shown our Gov not equal to GOD and can solved all problems!
She gets my vote! Who else is worthy of such AWARD?
What does this award speaks of the recipient?
Anyway, I still believe they should spend more money to help the needy than to spend millions on silly awards to themselves and burning good $ into the sky during NDP.
Spare a thoughts for the unemployed and elderly Singaporeans.
Wow, so much opinions don’t know where to added.
#34: “Have any of you expertise in investments to criticize her actions? Most of you cant even feed yourselves, least to say for others.”
Yea, no expertise man! Only buy/sell when aunties, uncles, etc. do. Sure in light of the Lehmann Bro case, many “no expertise” people got burned. Very, very sad. I lost about 2/3 gains when realised aunties/uncles started DUMPING shares; this is about time Temasek started BUYING into troubled banks. So, no expertise got me only 1/3 earning + preserved principle $. Think this is difference between prudent with one’s hard earned $$ & being flamboyance with resources handed on a silver platter. Ater all, not everyone fortunate to have high breed expertise training, etc…
Sun Tzu say why is a general called a general. If have good troops & lost a battle, cannot ask troops, “Hey, you think you can do better?!” PVTs, PFCs, LCPs, CPLs, SGTs, no expertise, lah. Many, manlee, stars on head and shoulders & very big pay say who is general. Also, no need expertise/Ph.D to put bars on window to prevent top bomber with walking problem on one leg from running.
#129:
If you radar-man testing waters, then know that of 1 customer that complains, 9 others just walk away. Maybe why need to hold expensive Singapore Day’s in Melbourne, NY, etc.. Still waters run deep. Sure, not many write in, fewer standing as cannon folder in elections but at least 2000+ reading , x5-10 gossiping. If want broad perspective, then;
1) stop tinkering constitution boundaries every election.
2) if (1) not possible due to “demographic shifts”, then lump-sum all Lehmann Bro victims in one constitute & see if you get an opposition GRC.
3) If opposition no balls in election, then give everyone a choice like Taiwan(?) — people in non-contesting constitutes should have a vote for (a) ruling party or (b) vote of no confidence. Then you have true mandate.
But I no expertise in election matters, man. Served NS since before I could vote, reservist till 40 (no disruptions on my part), opening letterbox each day to see if nation shows appreciation by give me a letter of release. Voted only 1-2x so far. This is 2nd class citizen. Friends say I’m lucky to have voted at all; guess there are 3rd class citizens out there.
i summed it up like this….the lesser mortal sweat their shits out and the elites got the credits.
just last nite…i saw a lady of about 40s and looks normal just like any other auntie. she dig into side rubbish bin and picks what she can for the aluminum cans and hopefully to cash for money when sold to traders.
is that what we are to going end up with like her at the end of our hard working and building nation with sweat and blood esp with such wide gap between lesser mortal and elites here?????
Forgot to add on issue of 2nd/3rd class citizens. Friend’s eye taken out by grenade during NS days. No report in newspaper ‘cos no highbreed. Not good enough for local U. Studied overseas, maybe Aussie PR now. 3rd class citizen, man.
At least 50% FT’s in my intake of local U, some fluked out – wonder how they qualify over locals. Maybe like stabbing case in NTI or FT scholar who push GF into MRT track. Sure, our boundaries are very open even to psychos !
A woman who squanders billions of taxpayers money in investment
is given an awards. The greatest fiasco in the our times. It makes a mockery of
any other awards.
we need hero leader to lead us the coward s’porean to revolt
Additions to my earlier post (134)
Bad things happen when good people do nothing………….
This goes for Politicians as well. There are good people trying to manage Singapore’s pathway too. I just hope that whatever actions and policies they take is for the good of the country and not at the expense of the spirit of the people.
Even though I am overseas now, being born and spending my first 10 yrs in Singapore is something that has undeniably forged a fierce patriotism for Singapore.
I love the country, my emotional ties to the sense of place are very strong and I don’t want to see it mired in a stagnant stupor of unsustainable, outdated growth models. Singaporeans are VERY creative, inventive and durable. The source of Singapore’s future growth are ideas that can be nurtured and originated from Singaporeans. Government, please remember that the people are what gives a country its soul. Do what is in the best interests of the people, address their concerns, listen to their gripes, take criticisms constructively, provide them the dignity and respect they deserve and economic challenges will get addressed because of the resilience and character of the Singaporean people.
I hope it is apparent to the Government that the fact the people ‘complain’ like we do is because this indicates that the people really the country. After all, people only air concerns so honestly and passionately because they really care about this Little Red Dot. By criticizing constructively, does this not show that people really care and isn’t this a hallmark of Democracy?
In norway they just sacked the entire investment team for less than satisfactory performance of their SWF.
There is a bundle to find out about this. You made nice points also.