From the Straits Times:
SINGAPOREANS have no self respect, action movie star Jackie Chan told an audience of businessmen.
He said this in the same speech at the annual Boao Forum in Hainan last Saturday, at which he said Chinese people need to be ‘controlled’.
In that address, he reportedly said of Singapore: ‘A lot of people are not like those in USA and Japan who voluntarily have self-respect. When you don’t have self-respect, the government will have to control you.
‘In Singapore, you have to abide by Singapore’s regulations. In China,you can litter, In Singapore, try littering and you will be jailed immediately.’ Shin Min Daily news had earlier this week published a transcript of his ‘freedom speech’ which touched on the issued of liberty in China.
The 55-year-old sparked an uproar after he told a business forum last Saturday that ‘we Chinese need to be controlled’, lamenting that freedom had made Hong Kong and Taiwan societies chaotic. ‘I’m not sure if it’s good to have freedom or not,’ said Chan, who added: ‘If we’re not being controlled, we’ll just do what we want.’
Read the rest of the report here.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

I have never ever watched a single of his junk movies…and I dont like him at all! But you know what? In a sense, he’s spot on! We have no self respect for our basic rights and that’s the reason we are caged creatures!
Singapore welcomes our new minister mentor…Ministry of Stunts and brain damage…Jackie Chan.
Well, I read through that entire transcript. (Translated one) In the entire speech, the only reference he made to Singapore was the one with littering.
I believe his context was made on China, on needing littering laws for China, using singapore as a reference for littering laws.
Where’s this “Singapore no self-respect” line?
I don’t agree with his comments on Singapore, Taiwan or Hong Kong.
In Singapore’s case, you can’t simply blame us for having no self-respect. The Government didn’t even give us a chance to earn the self-respect and learn to have it. They simply banned everything which they deemed undesirable with an iron fist. For efficiency and economic pursuits, they simply banned everything from the start.
How can we learn to have self-respect if we have no control over what we do and suffer the reprecussions of what we did wrongly.
Its simply Jackie blaming the wrong party in this case.
He should have known better than to say what he said.
Is there a rumor somewhere that for every female actress that was in his movies, he has to bed them first.
Curious to know why he made the reported comments with references to China, HK, Singapore & Taiwan.
Perhaps TOC can interview Jackie.
Well, actors aren’t exactly known for their nuanced and thoughtful political insights. His remarks deserve as much attention as a madman’s ravings.
‘we Chinese need to be controlled’, lamenting that freedom had made Hong Kong and Taiwan societies chaotic. ‘I’m not sure if it’s good to have freedom or not,’ said Chan, who added: ‘If we’re not being controlled, we’ll just do what we want.’
I think he is speaking for Chinese Government. Feel sorry for him, if it true.
Yeah, Jackie really kissing Chinese Government A** all the way!
I can see what he was trying to say but I lament that he took the easy way out and suggested such a heavy handed solution to the issue. Instead, I believe the society around us should foster a sense of dignity and moral awareness so that we can choose not to do not do such things petty things like littering among others even though we can. I’ve traveled widely in china and lived with some mainlanders in Australia before and they’ve always brought their bad habits where ever they go with thought or regard of their surroundings. I just think that the chinese have lost their pride and grace amongst the world and much like singapore, its all just about me, me and me. I’d just like to point out that not all are like that but those are unfortunately an exception.
I think the title of this article (by the Straits Times) is rather twisted. I don’t think Jackie Chan is referring to Singapore at all; I think he just mentioned Singapore as an example of a place of strict rules.
In fact, I read in passing on one of the news websites (probably BBC or CNN) that this comment of his raised the ire of many Chinese people. According to the his spokesman, it has been taken out of context: he was merely commenting about the entertainment industry and not the society in general.
But bottomline is, it is the Chinese people Jackie Chan is targetting, not Singaporeans. But I suppose, stretching it far enough, you can make it sound like an attack on Singaporeans, and that will definitely invite some readership.
wow, now singaporeans famous in the world liao.
Chen Long news will go to the whole world.
But to be fair, he is a man of great wisdom and wealth and credibility and is well respected and loved. I am sure his views may be logical in some ways.
Contradictorily, he said needs control and then says singaporeans allow to be controlled becos they no respect themselves. Of course, what he means is ‘in general’ and definitely not saying that ALL singaporeans are like that. That is a figure of speech.
So, does singaporeans deserve to have strong opposition to serve them given they denied its growth for almost half a century straight? I think the 33% would say they deserve.
what kind of attitude is this? not good thing for toc, trust me.
M: “The Government didn’t even give us a chance to earn the self-respect and learn to have it.”
In a way, this is also a display of the lack of self-respect. I mean, seriously, you need someone to give you the chance to earn self-respect? And if your argument is that the government is too restrictive, then don’t you think it’s a show of self-respect to stand up and do things (in appropriate manners) to change the country?
Blackfeline: Agreed. (Though Shinjiku Incident was a good movie, but he sucked so bad in it hur)
Jackie Chan got it wrong when he said that “When you don’t have self-respect, the government will have to control you.”
He got it back to front !
IMO, it is when the govt controls every facet of your lives is when you lose your self respect ! That is why, as Ho Kwon Ping said rightly, it is the civil society that buffers us against the govt. Without civil society we will all lose our self respect!
Aiya, no need Jacky Chan or whoever to tell what we are lah.
We ourselves know better. But then to quote Lee Hsien Loong (although slightly out of context) “What to do…….”
#4m
i might be wrong, but you could please advise if your comments point to
1) Surrendering to fate?
2) expression of frustration about the government?
If i’ve been neglected and frustrated, and i use recreational drugs to relieve my agaony. Is it the fault of circumstance, or my fault in succumbing to weakness?
Don’t lose heart, lets open our eyes, use our votes wisely and build Singapore to be a more open society, it might not be for this decade, but at least the next generation might benefit.
Ps* Our Law Minister has gone for another round of blame pushing on Straits Times today regarding MAS.
He has to accept the fact that there are all kinds of people in the world, does it mean that the USA people are 100% great???
And just because he can’t chew gum in S’pore, he blame us not having self-respect???
Ridiculous. He should study more, read more….
Really, Thank you Jackie for bring us back into spotlight
ok la you donate many gifts to singapore.
i am a bit angry only.
You can’t expect an action hero to become social critic, besides, this guy always had little education to start with
what is it, Singapore is a littering place nowaday.
well, if his father long time ago does not the decision of leaving China, he wont be here today, let alone being a super star. he should thankful to his dad. so, see who’s talking yea??
Moving on order is one that show no respect for the individual Singaporean.Suka suka ask u to leave.
Since Jackie Chan said that Singaporeans have no self respect I strongly suggest that he surrender his PR status back to Singapore. Singapore can do without such PRs who rundown Singaporeans. No loyalty to our country.
Maybe Horizon Towers En-Bloc Sales did not go through and who knows what he is fed up about perhaps the result or verdict?
Frankly speaking, I have no respect for his violent, stupid funnyman movies at all!
Very artificial as though he is what the westerners term WOG (Western Orientated Gentleman)
Utterance from an empty skulled who eats chewing gum rather then chews them – just ignore him as one talking only to non existent audience.
I detest watching his unrealistic shows – forever potraying himself as the hero ; well ! tats only in reel life hor……..By the way, Singaporeans have admirable self – respect which you cannot see.
gum litter problem not only in s’pore but worldwide also have this but not really concern their people. just bcos gahment here very kiasu, ban gum, CL think we are animal who cant self control. truth is gum litter like murderers or rapists are just a small group of petty criminals. obviously CL is not a through thinker hence, shoot at any small thing that cross his mind. the heck, most actors are drop outs or just high school. if really want to open mouth, he can talk about our NS & FT here we will honor him more..
good , he remind us again…
gum litter problem not only in s’pore but worldwide also have this but not really concern their people. just bcos gahment here very kiasu, ban gum, CL think we are animal who cant self control. truth is gum litter like murderers or rapists are just a small group of petty criminals. obviously CL is not a through thinker hence, shoot at any small thing that cross his mind. wth, most actors are drop outs or just high school. if really want to open mouth, he can talk about our NS & FT here we will honor him more..
there is much truth in Jackie Chan’s words.
where is our self respect ? when this govt controls every aspect of our lives, treats citizens with contempt, implements policies and laws without public consultation or debate and yet we continue to vote them into power.
the first step to regaining self respect is to vote in a govt that serves its citizens !
yes, singaporean is indeed very ugly….(ask those in service ind.)
21) Ark on April 25th, 2009 3.10 pm
So, do you think you are wiser and smarter than this millionaire who is a genius in movie making and kingfu and showmanship and business even with your more education?
Ooops, 1 finger points back to u?
what is is that u so not happy with him? did his words hit you where it hurts? Ouch!
25) A Senior Singaporean on April 25th, 2009 4.07 pm
So are you saying he is completely wrong?
Or are you against his views simply because it does not sound good on singaporeans? So, if he sings songs you ok?
I agree we have no self respect and also no respect for others as well. Look at what happened recently. Ming Yi, Aware scandal, ministers calling the people names like “lesser mortals”, ill-treating our maids, NKF…
#4, M,
Are you stupid or what..
That’s precisely why Jackie says singaporeans have no self-respect.. obviously with reference to you..
What do you mean the govt never give you the chance to earn and learn self-respect..
Your statement already reflects that you have no self-respect.
And in case you still have not realised, you do not need anyone to give you a chance to learn to have self-respect. It is from WITHIN you..
Stupid ass.
Is he acting or what? If acting can be forgiven lah. If not acting why is he talking?
What kind of self-respect can come from a man from Hongkong and go all the way to the West and act as a funny Red Indian? He is better- off and known for monkeying around in a movie..so ignore him.
I was charged recently for an incident , I consider a joke…
To live in a country like Singapore… &
being accused in such a blatant manner….By the protectig force…
It must be a joke….
While I was walking past a van..I glanced & saw people sitting inside a van..my mind tried to register fast between the influence of a few beers and my inquisitive self…WHY….
and before it could all register…a VOICE calls out…WHAT ARE U SEEING…DON”T SEE….
my natural self stopped me from my strides and forced me to turn…a guy pop’s out from the van…my mind tries to rationalise the tone of the voice and concludes…
it must belong to AUTHORITY…it came with such force…it must be a cop….
without recognition or question..I responded….
I was just seeing..& seeing I cannot help for I am not BLIND..
that glance has landed me to events ..
AND I say this…MY COUNTRY where my father and grandfather has put in enough effort within their means to build & even got decent recognition.
Has lost it’s pride & self respect from the very people who are supposed to uphold her dearest to their hearts…
I ASK ….if looking around you while walking was a charge….then charge me
To stop, when you were spoken to was a crime ….then charge me
To comply to the demand to provide my identity without question.. charge me
To ask & question the reason for my arrest, and gettng a NON REPLY. charge me
To freely give myself to be cuffed..charge me…
While being cuffed and seated….and gettig punched …charge me…
Protectors of the law….you call yourself……you unholy prideless people….
You will forever live in disgrace….my questions will huant you….if not for your conscience……that is if you have one….
You disgrace my country….
Comments like
“Utterance from an empty skulled who eats chewing gum rather then chews them – just ignore him as one talking only to non existent audience. I detest watching his unrealistic shows – forever potraying himself as the hero ; well ! tats only in reel life hor……..By the way, Singaporeans have admirable self – respect which you cannot see.”
“Since Jackie Chan said that Singaporeans have no self respect I strongly suggest that he surrender his PR status back to Singapore. Singapore can do without such PRs who rundown Singaporeans. No loyalty to our country.”
“Well, actors aren’t exactly known for their nuanced and thoughtful political insights. His remarks deserve as much attention as a madman’s ravings.”
are not constructive and may reflect the fact that Singapore do have not self-respect. The highest form of self-respect is the respect of others. If you do not know how to respect others, how do you expect others to respect you? If you do not have the respect of others, what is self-respect?
Touch your heart. How often have you seen a someone standing on the right side of the escalator blocking the rest behind? How often have you seen someone flick a cigarette butt out of a car or throw it on the floor? How about the litter strewed all over the lift lobby of a HDB block? And how about driving like they own the road? Not queuing for lift, anyone? Tissue to book the tables? The list goes on… Some maybe wondering what’s this got to do with self-respect? Well, if you are not considerate to others, it’s the same as not respecting them. Singaporeans tend to let a little personal success get to their head and think they own the world. We place too much importance and emphasis on financial success.
Singapore is a lovely place. I am a Singaporean. I am very proud of Singapore’s achievement thus far but really, we are terribly lacking in culture, grace and chivalry. Until we teach ourselves and our children to respect others, we will not be able make Singapore an utopia like some of the Nordic countries. Though small, our forefathers have worked hard to put us on the map as a financial power. Now, it’s time for us to take over the baton and focus on another aspect of creating our utopia by making Singapore gracious.
Watch him when he talks, he lack control & composure of himself. He just simply rattles like a brainless train. He think he is smart but you can see his american movie, it is a joke and i cannot understand why ppl will watch such pulp fiction.
What more do you expect from a movie producer.. He generates rubbish to earn your monies and so dont give him anymore further credence beyond.
Singapore was also stupid to ask him to donate one of his many historical old Chinese buildings. Maybe he was angry in being asked to donate his priced collection and call government “no self-respect” instead. In a way this is true, how can a self-repecting government ask for donations. Cant SIN afford to buy their own treasures and not have to stoop so low to ask for donations. Some civil service simply never do business and expect everything to be low priced or for charity. Chose it and pay for it, he have cost to his treasures too. Get Liew Mum Leong monies to pay for it. Afterall Liew Mum Leong monies is not his.
When we stop asking for free giveaway, we will have alittle self-respect.
Well, Jackie Chan is, after all, just an actor and not a professional philosopher or one learned in relevant fields. So we ought to just take his views with a smile as a parent might towards an arrogant child.
What the people, however, would have to ask is, if singaporeans don’t have self-respect BECAUSE of the control exerted by the government. A ‘Just do as i say’ approach does little to incite critical intelligence or collective empathy. It will, instead, lead one to focus on immediate and self-centred needs.Co-incidence not mean Causation.
We must also be cognizant of the fact that collective self-respect, where it entails collective compassion and empathy, has not historically been a feature of Chinese culture since 221b.c as the people failed to successfully oppose the authoritarian tendencies of the Qin dynasty and those thereafter. When opposition is not successful, collective self-respect will most certainly be compromised and people will begin to focus on their own interests.
Additionally, authoritarianism thus indeed garner self-centredness and opportunism as these become advantages in a state where empathy and compassion basically results in detention-without-trial, or, as in China in the past, the slaughter of entire clans, castration, etc. Just picture a family where the parents are authoritarian and constantly seek to exploit their children. What kind of adults are they going to mature to. It’s the same thing within the larger national milieu.
But, just being an actor, Jackie wouldn’t know these things. But he does give us an opportunity to discuss this to its fundamentals. For that, i’d thank him.
ed
aiyoyo
not sure how the elites react to his comments?
another sad story
aiyoyo
Where in the world does self respect even come into the picture? What does self respect have to do with everything he has said?
what he says is true!
This chap is just seeking attention. He thought he has ‘arrived’. He must blabber something to match his status as an international actor. His must have thought he commands a huge following in the west since he is an international actor without realising that he plays second fiddle in their plot.
I used to ignore his remarks as garbage on anything. His articulates very artificially and merely scrape on superficial matters when it comes to important events e.g. the Sichuan earthquake disaster. Even his shampoo advertisement sound so fake… yes, maybe it is true, he doesn’t use his brain, he uses physical muscle to think.
Forget about him, he is not worthy of our attention. Someone said he is arrogant, I can only agree in part. He is indeed ignorant and pathetic. Lets just ignore him and not watch movies from cinemas under his flagship.
Without any doubt, he has proven that empty vessel made the most noise. That’s him.
but he’s a big star. successful and capable. maybe he was misquoted.
lets say he is misquoted, it is also such a coincidence that he was misquoted in taiwan and hong kong, his brainless remarks caused such a storm there. maybe he is suffering from verbal diarrhea, it is a very serious illness.
you missed out a word, he is a big mouth star.
chan just need to remember his skin color & dont look down on his people
Actor, he is. But politician he is definitely not. How on earth did he come to equate self respect with controlling someone. Its a bloody contradictions if ever there is one. How the hell can one have self respect if his every thought and actions are dictated by someone. Amazing such concept can still be expressed in this day and age. Like to see someone tell him what he should or should not do. Then again he would probably have too much self respect to be told.