The following is the Reform Party’s latest press release on the resignation of its chairman, Mr Ng Teck Siong.

Press Release 

The Reform Party can confirm that Mr. Ng Teck Siong, former Chairman of the Reform Party, submitted his resignation to the party’s Secretary General on Monday 26th April.

The senior officers and council of the CEC were saddened by the news but are fully supportive of Mr Ng’s decision that, “in the interest of party renewal, this is an appropriate juncture to step aside,”

Mr Ng is a veteran of opposition politics having being involved with different opposition parties for almost thirty years.  His political career first began in 1980 when he joined the Singapore Democratic Party under the then SG Mr Chiam See Tong. In the last few years he has become well known as a trusted assistant to the late J.B. Jeyaretnam.  Mr Ng Teck Siong was invited onto the Pro-Tem committee by JBJ during the early stages of The Reform Party’s inauguration and took over the helm of leadership following the death of JBJ in October 2008.

Mr Edmund Ng Chair of the reform Party denied rumours of any personal rift quoting an interview from MediaCorp’s ‘938 live’ yesterday where Mr K Jeyaretnam said, “Teck Siong has given many years of loyal service to my father and has done a good job of steering the party. It shouldn’t be taken as a reflection of anything bad on him. Just that the majority of the CEC felt it’s time for new blood.”  The Chair went on to stress that the party is governed by CEC decisions not by any one individual.

Mr Jeyaretnam paid tribute to Mr Ng Teck Siong, praising him for stepping up and taking over at the helm at a very difficult time. “The door is always open to him”, he added. 

The CEC, and the whole of the Reform Party, wishes Mr Ng continued good health and happiness and wishes him all the best in his future endeavours. 

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

13 Responses to ““The door is always open to him,” says Reform Party of chairman”

1. Sigh

Why issue this after passing motion of no confidence in guy?

2. Mr Ng Teck Siong submitted his resignation to the new Secretary General, and had also given a personal statement to the mainstream press (Straits Times, CNA, TODAY newspaper) on Monday morning.

The full statement is as follows (a copy also appears on my blog):

Dear media friends,

I will be submitting my resignation as Chairman of Reform Party on Monday morning.

I have been in opposition politics for close to 3 decades. For the past year, I have worked to build up the Reform Party, and feel that in the interest of party renewal, this is an appropriate time for me to step aside for fresh blood to take over the helms of leadership.

I wish the Reform Party all the best.

Ng Teck Siong

3. porsche 28 April 2009

all is not lost.. heard Teck Siong is calling a press conference to annouce the formation of a new party which IMO is not necessary a good thing. the opposition is weak enough and i don’t there is enough good people to front them..

4. I Know Ng E-Jay 28 April 2009

Ng E-Jay,

How nice of you to even help Ng Teck Siong draft his final press release. Thank you for posting the press release here.

5. Everybody,

Straits Times (ST) has started to discredit Reform Party even before the General Election. ST’s tactics in supporting PAP and discrediting alternative parties have become very subtle. ST tries to project JBJ’s son as someone who is unscrupulous and cunning in assuming power at his father’s political party.

Take whatever ST says with a lot of salt!!

6. SaraFreder 29 April 2009

Change is happening. As NTS has helped to built TRP, its wise he make way for younger members. The mistake he made was that he should not have rushed in to resign instead stayed in as advisor unless he himself is getting advise from some1 else or bloggers. Viewed his youtube video on the forum, his points somehow are confusing.

It was widely rumoured that NTS with a group of friends starting a new Party. Democratic Reform P or Democratic Action P..

Congrats to KAJ and his new team.

7. Boleh Tahan 29 April 2009

Vote of No Confidence shows he lacks support within his party. NTS should have secured a majority. Well this is about politics, you keep your cards too close, it may send wrong signal to others.

Seen many times alone or with same group at the Speakers Corner, where are the rest. Perhaps they are the ones that did not support NTS.

Instead of forming a New party he should join the SDP as their New Chairman. NTS can get some votes being in Politics for so long.

8. Bang Kee Mong 29 April 2009

What i respect about Ng is his loyalty to his party and his dedicated effort for his party. I thank him for his service and his stepping forward to speakup for people like me. We must admit and recognise the effort required to voice up against the u know who in this politico climate and environment and culture. It takes guts and sacrifice. Some people are selfish and self preservatory. They may be even more qualified or decorated with certificates and ivy league exam-pass certificate, but did any of these step forward to balance the situation to represent the 33 % ? Yes, its also good to have younger talents to take over for the good of the party as a whole.

By the way, I am non-partisan. Middle voter. Not the finger type lah.

9. Everyone is different - its the heart that counts 29 April 2009

7) Boleh Tahan on April 29th, 2009 11.40 am

Lets not discredit NTS. Afterall , he is a nice and decent man based on my observations. He may not be India’s Gandhi or USA Reagan but he TRIED and DID HIS BEST. How many of us can even compare with NTS in terms of guts and spirit and sacrifice he made? we kpkb and like to talk bad of others who are down or failed . But we also need to remind ourselves what have we done that is as honorable as what NTS have done?

Every man is built differently. With different strengths and weaknesses. Its the heart that counts. Its the common goal that is most important. Maybe to NTS , having a younger new capable leader to replace him is good for the future and this may be a common goal they share. So, i see a Win-Win and someone who is selfless or knows when to step down for possibility of his party to advance.

Not all people can Let Go, if you know what the …. i mean. ;)

10. SwineFlu 30 April 2009

Heard from TOC members that NTS is giving a Press conference at Speakers Corner today at 6.30. Are all political parties invited other than the press.

NTS has the courage to step down gracefully. What’s has he got say for aspiring Politicians ?

………………… Lets meet at hOngLim tonight….

11. SwineFlu 30 April 2009

Just wondering if NTS & NEJ are really Father & Son team ?

12. pancake 1 May 2009

To TOC: I’ve a suggestion – it may be a good idea to start a thread to solicit posts on past election promises that were not fulfilled.

13. JOHOR BAHRU (JB) 29 April 2010

…What a hypocrite statement made by RP towards Mr. NTS. Long before the battle has began … fighting among fellow warriors has commenced ..a great waste of energy and resources… not counting of RP’S GOOD NAME AND STANDING.