The hawkers posing with Makan Sutra host at Singapore Day in London.

Donaldson Tan / Head, TOC International / London

LONDON – 12,000 Overseas Singaporeans came together to relive the Singapore experience on Saturday at the 3rd Singapore Day held at Hampton Court Palace, the former residence of King Henry VIII, in London. The previous Singapore Days were held at Melbourne and New York City. The Guest-of-Honour was Mr Wong Kan Seng, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs. Highlights of the event include free authentic hawker fare from Singapore and a variety show by Singaporean comedians such as Mr Brown, Jack Neo, Mark Lee, Hossan Leong, the Dim Sum Dollies and Sebastian Tan.

This event marked a steady deviation from the Stayer-Quitter Rhetoric first floated by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong during the 2002 National Day Rally. According to the Singapore Day Press Officer Adeline Kwok, the event aims to engage overseas Singaporeans emotionally.

Familiar Singapore icons such as the ERP Gantry and Lau Pa Sat were re-constructed under the creative direction of Filmmaker Eric Khoo. “I want to create a happy fun-filled environment that Overseas Singaporeans could connect to – local icons re-fashioned in a pop at sort of way,” he said. DPM Wong Kang Seng also expressed his desire for overseas Singaporeans to find a deeper and more passionate connection with Singapore and their fellow overseas Singaporeans.

300 Singaporeans signed up as volunteers for Singapore Day. The volunteers consist of mostly students and a good number of professionals. One of the volunteers remarked, “I work in Coventry and there are hardly any Singaporeans there. Through volunteering, I have made a lot of friends among the Singaporean community in the UK.” Another volunteer, medical student Wong Yisheng, felt it was his patriotic duty to make overseas Singaporeans feel at home, noting the satisfaction he gets from public service. “There is also something special about the food here that bonds us Singaporeans together,” he said.

The authentic local delights, which include chicken rice, kway chap and satay by hawkers specially chosen by Makan Sutra, added to the air of nostalgia and camaraderie at the event, while overseas Singaporeans young and old shared the familiar delights of home. “As always in the Singaporeans’ heart, it is the food that binds us together,” said Norhakim Shah, Vice-President (Midlands & Scotland) of the UK Singapore Student Secretariat. It is hard to please everyone. Some Singaporeans expressed their disappointment to The Online Citizen that the local favourites Indian rojak and nonya rice dumpling were not available. 

The general response from Singaporeans was that the event was well organised. However, some overseas Singaporeans were shocked that Singapore Day cost S$6M and felt that sum of money should be set aside to help underprivileged Singaporeans who are more severely affected by the global economic crisis. “We don’t need charity from the Singapore Government although we appreciate this opportunity to meet other Singaporeans in the UK,” one lady said. “The money could have been used to further supplement S&CC and rental rebates for the poor.”

ERP Gantry at the Singapore Day Entrance. It even beeps upon entry.

Singaporeans queuing up for free hawker food.

Mr Brown and gang performing “live”.

Thousands of Singaporeans enjoying the festivities.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

49 Responses to “TOCI Special Report: Singapore Day 2009 in London”

1. humour Ah Seng 26 April 2009

Looks like good food and good fun, especially with so many of S’pore’s famous
    comedians in attendance !

By the way, did our comedians do something outrageous to humour WKS ?
    Like doing a sketch on Mas Selamat’s escape
    or at least distributing / wearing Mas Selamat T-shirts and masks ? lol

And did WKS mention anything about footing the bill from his pocket ?

2. Sadman 26 April 2009

Are they spending all our tax payers’ money?

3. SG DAY 09 WAS AWESOME! THANKS SG! just love the hawker fare!

4. pugdragon 26 April 2009

Free local foodfare given to woo rich Singaporeans based overseas back here where nothing is free. Poor people here still has to pay for GST despite having trouble paying for food.

The ERP gantry is a disgusting commodity to use as a national icon, as they have been popping up at alarming rates in the island, sucking in revenue for the top. It’s ironic to have the “I love Sg” logos on the ERP gantry commodity, as ERP gantries are reasons to hate Sg or whoever is sucking the money in.

They are spending just part of it.

Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

7. teosohlung 26 April 2009

You folks are very sharp. Yes, why do we need to make Singaporeans abroad so happy? To entice them back of course! And then what will happen to our foreign talents already in Singapore? Or are they considered foreign talents too?

8. I was present at the event at melbourne during 2008 and the event was manned by mostly army people. WKS was there too.

9. iliveinuk 26 April 2009

There was iindian rokak! haha. It was indeed a fantastic opportunity for overseas Singaporeans to be kept reminded of home. Definitely touched my heart. I also am encouraged that despite the downturn, the gahment cares for us overseas Singaporeans still!

10. Daniel 26 April 2009

The government is buying oversea supporter’s vote but wait til these supporters return home to be fixed and discover the real brutal truth themselves. They will be fixed with appalling home mortage, forever high cost of living, and even better, a new GST hike is waiting to welcome them too… Yes, more good years and golden period are awaiting these patriotic souls, please come back to be fixed or to fix Singapore. The emperor and his dynasty bless you !

11. Daniel 26 April 2009

“WKS was there too.”
    So is WKS expecting Mas Selamat there ? Isn’t Mas Selamat a foreign talent then ? Mas Selamat’s great escape is even better than Houdini’s escape ! People can explain and scrutinize Houdini’s trick but none in the world can even explain how Mas Selamat escape from great fortress of Singapore, and for this alone, our gahmen are worth billions. Such trick obviously cannot be revealed to the public.

12. singapore gal in london 26 April 2009

I really enjoyed Singapore Day but I do agree that the $6 million seems exhorbitant in the face of the economic situation. I would have been happy to pay for athentic hawker fare and was actually expecting to do so.

As a Singaporean who has been living in London for the past 7 years, I am fortunate enough to have the opportunity to call both London and Singapore home. Far from being rich, many Singaporeans overseas work very had for the opportunity to live and work in a foreign country. I do think that as Singaporeans we often fail to appreciate the beauty and stability of our country. Our taxes are much lower than most of the world, we have a better standard of living and a better quality of life not to mention political and economic stability and the biggest plus of all – the ability to feel safe on our streets.

Taxes in London are consdiderably higher – I know, as my tax accounts for abt 45% of my salary and add to that I still pay council tax for our property. GST or vat as it is called here is at 15%.

Every country has it’s pros and cons and while Singapore may not be perfect, we can count ourselves lucky in so many ways. My plan is to return home to our sunny island home and continue to appreciate it’s stability and security.

13. Daniel 26 April 2009

“Every country has it’s pros and cons and while Singapore may not be perfect, we can count ourselves lucky in so many ways. My plan is to return home to our sunny island home and continue to appreciate it’s stability and security.”

Stability and security is one thing but to be treated like a educated idiot and money-spinner are another, and this come at the cost of many hidden costs. Are you glad to know that the special account has increased from $20,000 to $30,000 next month, and God knows what so special about this account as it cannot be touched by anyone other than our Godfather and his mercenaries. As usual, no debate, nothing. Same old wayang. There is obviously no free lunch in Singapore.

14. Regarding the money spent, I agree that they could be use to help some people back home. How about a community chest or other charity fund raising in the next Singapore day wherever it is going to be.

Singapore gal, regarding taxes, I beg to differ. If we compare what the western governments do for their citizens with the tax money, we need to add the CPF to the Singapore taxes to make it more apple to apple. Then you will realise that Singapore taxes are not low.

ERP is cruel. Sick. If these guys come back and start to work and live here they will undrstand how we feel about this thing.

15. Jiekai 27 April 2009

I was there at Singapore Day too! ( Feel kind of bad to be spending $500 worth of government benefits, really =P )

16. Was there. Can’t believe everything was free! I guess if you have to pay for the food, there wouldn’t be long queues at every food stall. Yeah, feel bad that instead of paying higher interest rates for my cpf savings, the government are spending on Singapore Days…

17. singapore gal in London 27 April 2009

Daniel, I agree that our govt does not take too kindly to debate or discussion on any policies. But interestingly it is the same in the UK. And I strongly feel that the Singapore govt needs to start listening to its people, no denying that.

1 cent – I don’t really see a cent of the taxes that I pay in this country. Sure I do get free medical treatment via the NHS which is a real privilege. But it does have some real costs. In some cases, you wait for months for surgery. Your GP may also not refer you for specialist care as this is something that comes out of their bottom line. You often have to beg, or make a fuss to receive it or in my case rely on private healthcare which I have to pay for myself. There is also a postcode lottery system in some counties in the UK so you may not get the medication you need because that particular county thinks it’s too expensive.

With your CPF, a certain portion of your money comes back to you when you retire and you can also invest some of it. With my taxes, I see nothing. You do get a state pension when you retire but it is incredibly difficult to survive on it as the cost of living is way too high. Some senior citizens here live in appalling conditions – even living without heat during winter. If like me you also have private pension which you have to pay for, you then worry if you will be able to recover this money when you do retire. With the credit crunch lots of people have seen their pensions disappear.

I still have family and friends in Singapore and keep in touch with all the news at home. My pet peeve is the ERP, believe me but we have the congestion charge here in London .

Western govts may appear to do more for their citizens but it you dig deeper you will find that we are all not so different after all.

And I really like your idea about looking at a charity connection for the next Singapore Day. I think as overseas Singaporeans we also need to keep the interests of Singapore and Singaporeans at heart.

18. socool 27 April 2009

Why spend $6 million to host an event for overseas Sporeans where the majority of no further intentions of returning to Spore. They are simply waiting for foreign citizenships to fall into their hands & renounce their Spore citizenship.

The $6 million would have been better spent on providing food vouchers for needy families, stationery material & bus fares for students from low income families, work assistance programs for homemakers who wish to enter into the labor force & many others.

Know a Spore tai tai who specifically flew in from another European country to London to attend this event. She is married to a top notch European man sitting on the Board of Directors in a prestigious European company who is attending the event just for the fun of eating. She does not have the intention of returning to Spore ever since her kids have their father’s European citizenship & she herself has already renounced her Spore citizenship.

19. tiredsingaporean 27 April 2009

17) singapore gal in London on April 27th, 2009 4.04 am
    “With your CPF, a certain portion of your money comes back to you when you retire and you can also invest some of it.”

CPF? RETIRE? something new? since when they reverse the policy back that you can take back your money when you retire? you cannot afford to retire my friend when you are living here in singapore. You people are very lucky to be out of here while the weak ones are still trapped and still struggling to make ends meet and stop believing what you read on smoke screen news on ST and CNA. If you want to know the truth of whats been happening around this tiny red dot, come here to TOC daily and you will understand why.

20. teosohlung 27 April 2009

Didn’t know they spend $6 million for the fun abroad. Does this include the minister’s holiday abroad? He didn’t work in Singapore so he should have a pay cut.

21. gemami 27 April 2009

#19) tiredsingaporean,

Have you forgotten already? There are many other ways you can supplement your income apart from the monthly withdrawals from your CPF account.
    1. moonlight as a cardboard and drink-can collector uncle/aunty.
    2. participate in the lease buy back scheme for your hdb flat.
    3. while drawing on the payout from you CPF and the lease buy back scheme, you retire to JB nursing home to stretch the dollar, to be on holiday until you die.

22. fruitchick 27 April 2009

I attended Singapore Day and enjoyed it very much. It is nice to know the government is making an effort to keep in touch with Singaporeans overseas. I do however disagree with the S$6 million spent for the event. It was enjoyable but I’m sure the same amount of enjoyment could have been attained for less money spent. I live in Cheltenham in the UK and do not know any Singaporeans. It was nice to be for a day in one place that was just like Singapore in the UK.

I agree with Singapore Gal in London. UK is not what its cracked up to be and Singaporeans who have never been abroad do not realise how lucky we are. The Singapore government actually takes care of the citizens in so many more ways that we realise. Having lived in the UK for close to 10 years, if given the opportunity, I would definitely return to Singapore again. The CPF system, low crime rate, comfortable lifestyle, good education system, are very strong points Singapore has. Singaporeans complain all the time about everything but do not realise tht the grass is certainly not greener on the other side.

23. I see that a lot of people have differing views. Attended Singapore Day and thought it was brilliant. Have to agree as well that $6 million is a ridiculous amount to spend, given current economic conditions.

Contrary to what some of you may say, not everyone who lives abroad have no intention to return. I would love to return back to Singapore to start a family. However, since i am still fairly young, I am maximising my experiences abroad as much as possible before I start a family.

Many of you should note that not everyone living overseas are rich either. Like ‘Singapore gal living in London’, a big proportion of my income goes to tax at 45%. That really doesn’t leave much and the only part that I might eventually see is the state pension. Though some of it goes to NHS for medical care, the standard of care you get is pretty appalling that you would still have to pay for private medical.

With the CPF, at least you use part of it to pay for your home. In the UK, the money which goes into our pensions are locked till the age of 55 – 60. Even then, you can only withdraw a small portion (25%) of it. Btw, if you are very lucky, the state pension you get eventually will only amount to £80 per week!

As some people will say, the grass will be greener on the other side. I would always choose to go back and live in Singapore eventually as you cannot find such efficiency and safety anywhere else in the world.

For those that think the Singapore Govt is not doing enough or that things are not as smooth or efficient as you want it to be – I urge you to live aboard (not as a student) for at least a year. You will then have the pleasure of experience high taxes (VAT in UK is at 15%!), paying through your nose for a mortgage and getting very frustrated with ‘jobsworths’ over the telephone. Perhaps then you might not be so quick to judge our govt and even appreciate what you have!

24. Donaldson Tan 27 April 2009

Also, the S$6M is the only reported direct expenditure by the government. There were unverified speculations that our GLCs contributed up to S$9M, making it a grand total of S$15M. Even if the GLCs’ contribution / donation / sponsorship were discounted, S$6M is still a lot of money for a one-day event.

25. Donaldson Tan 27 April 2009

On a positive note, Singapore Day’s event manager is Singapore-based Pico Event Management Pte Ltd. At least the Government did not contract a foreign company to do this job. It would have defeat the spirit of Singapore Day itself.

There was a Singapore Day Regalia Dinner that was held at Hampton Court Palace after the main Singapore Day event. From the presence of secret-service-like security detail, i guess there must be VIPs and Ambassadors among the guests. I am not sure if the $6M covers the dinner, but a handful of public servants (eg. teachers, military officers) were flown from Singapore to London to man Job Booths.

26. Donaldson Tan 27 April 2009

There was a Singapore Day Regalia Dinner that was held at Hampton Court Palace after the main Singapore Day event. From the presence of secret-service-like security detail, i guess there must be VIPs and Ambassadors among the guests. I am not sure if the $6M covers the dinner, but a handful of public servants (eg. teachers, military officers) were flown from Singapore to London to man Job Booths.

27. Singaporean overseas 28 April 2009

here, here.. I agree with fruitchick and Singapore gal in London. Until you lived, work and raised a family abroad, you will not appreciate what our Singapore government has done for us and the status of our once tiny swamp island. I have lived more then 17 years abroad. Never had the intentions to leave Singapore but it was frustrating to deal with the immigration office for our child ( non Singpaorean ). Hard decision but best thing then, was to leave.

I agree, it is a lot of money to spend for this event and many if not all of us would have gladly pay for it. Perhaps, the VIP dinner is where our government had planned to recuperate by reeling in investors, job opportunities, etc for us. At the least I like to believed there’s some purpose for this event. If it was solely for all Singaporeans overseas to attend, eat for free and feel nostalgic, then we, the overseas Singaporeans can return that courtesy by perhaps, going home to Singapore for the holidays and spend our hard earn money back to our island and help our economy. I have organized events almost all my working life, and I have volunteered for many years for Singapore Club oversea and in all those years I have always find ways to promote our island and send guests and friends to our shore to contribute to our economy. It is a small gesture of appreciation for seeing how far our little island has come through all these years.

Of course there are many things we do not agree but until we are personally put to that challenged of bringing up, maintainiing, nuturing, educating, protecting, housing a whole nation, it is quite easy to think that the grass is always greener on the other side. It is not an easy task for our government to maintained us without any natural resources like many other countries have for their people and yet we are up there in a pretty darn good level.
    And many overseas Sporeans will go home one day to live and they will experienced what our family and friends are unhappy about with our government’s decisions / rules or policies, then it will be their /our turn to make some more noise or perhaps we will matured enough to know and understand better…

Singaporean oversea..

28. ‘The grass is greener on the other side.’
    UK Singaporeans feel SG is better and vice versa.

With regards to the 6 mil spent, nobody knows the breakdown of it so we can all continue to make wild guesses. eg. 5 star hotels for the artistes and co.

But overall it was a wonderful experience to see so many Singaporeans and to sit in the field eating hawker fare. Chinese food in UK will never taste similar to that.

Friends, good food and great entertainment. What a wonderful way to spend a Saturday in Hampton Court Palace.

29. london_boy 28 April 2009

I am glad there are overseas Singaporeans who come here on this platform to debunk the myth that they are all rich and do not care about what happens in Singapore. Not needing charity is not an indicator of wealth, but rather a good measure of decent economic independence. Btw Chinese food in the UK sucks big time. It is a lot oilier than Singaporean chinese cuisine.

30. wow they are proud of ERP.....our future..... 28 April 2009

I am amazed. Really amazed…… our future pillars…..

31. i know that mr brown and gang all travelled on business class. not sure if this was sponsored by Singapore Airlines, or if the money came out from the $6 million.

32. It seemed that you guys in London did not realise that with the CPF we can purchase property and make investments but at the end of the day when we are old we are only to withdraw a tiny portion every month. Just like Brit pension. Most worrying, is by the time when I am old, the rules might changed again, judging from how much money they had lost in the recent months. After all they have total control of the parliment

33. Donaldson Tan 30 April 2009

Gilbert Goh wrote a letter to Straits Times on why Singaporeans stay put abroad..

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_369326.html

34. usherer 30 April 2009

Arguing whose opinion is more valid (“I lived in London and SIngapore so…”, “I’ve been in Singapore all my life so…”) doesn’t help bring us anywhere. Comparing London and Singapore is like many other arguments where it expands into a huge territory of no return. We can go on and on about fiscal policies and viability and not reach an agreement about which is better.

We need to focus what’s on hand: Was Singapore Day worth the $6 million (or more) in light of the current economic situation? What could that $6 million be used on?

We need accountability.
    - How much money was spent?
    - Could the money have been better spent? In what ways/
    - Who made the decision to allocate such a budget? And under what circumstances?
    The ERP gantry was totally uncalled for. It’s bright daylight – why would you need a gantry that has LED lights and beeps?

I was there and EVERYONE – Singaporeans or not – were shocked by the lavish goodie bags. This is unheard of in London where people muck around in the mud and spend their own money to buy food.

The goodie bags contained things ranging from satay sauce to caps (deemed ugly by many people). Do people, who could afford to travel to London, need these? Could these have been distributed to poor people in Singapore?

I have other concerns like Mr Brown singing love songs at an event sponsored by the government but I think we should not go into rhetoric and theories but focus on practical issues.

35. Rurehe 2 May 2009

pap so stingy and mean and so why spend $6 million.

Must be an ulterior motive behind it.

pap want you to come back with your talents and work in Singapore.

They are afraid of losing so many talented sing people.

Afraid all smart sing overseas and not so smart all in sing.

If many smart sing people come back from a place like London and so where will the FTs in sing go to. Go home? No. They stay and lower their wages and work like mad to beat the locals who had been to London, Aussie etc. The Third World ft in Singapore can work 20 hours a day. Try and beat them. Might as well stay put in London.

36. X.X!!! 3 May 2009

@ #11. ” -daniel..

ahaha.. yeap, maybe mas selamat was hiding in his car boot!!

Obvious scheme to “BUY” support!

37. gundo! 4 May 2009

Who need these money more? Why are $$ being wasted instead? How many children will benefit?

The Straits Times School Pocket Money Fund was initiated on Children’s Day (October 1) in the year 2000 by The Straits Times, to heighten public awareness of the plight of children from low-income families who were attending school without proper breakfast, or pocket money to sustain their day in school.
    The aim is to alleviate the financial burden faced by parents in providing for their children’s education. At the same time the funds will help children who are already facing difficulties in remaining in school to stay on.

In the past few years, members of the public, schools and corporations responded generously after reading stories highlighting children especially those from single parent families who were most affected.
    The public’s generosity…
    In its first year, 2000, The Straits times managed to raise $1.3m that went on to help 3,175 kids on the fund. Over the next few years, the number of beneficiaries increased significantly.

Year Recipients Money Raised

2000/2001 3,173 $1.3m
    2001/2002 7,177 $2.5m
    2002/2003 9,500 $3.4m
    2003/2004 11,000 $3.5m
    2004/2005 10,000 $3.1m
    2005/2006 10,000 $3.2m
    2006/2007 9,000 $3.6m

Since donations to the fund are collected prior to the year it is disbursed, donations received in a given year goes on to help the people who apply to the fund the following year. An estimate on the amount that needs to be raised is based on the projection provided by the National Council of Social Service.
    In 2002 , we received $3.5m from the corporations and members of public to support the 11,200 beneficiaries.

The School Pocket Money Fund has received immense support from the public, especially individuals. In fact, donations from individuals make up almost 80% of the collections whereas corporations make up the other 20% of the donations.

The School Pocket Money Fund receives donations all year round, so if you would like to make a contribution, please click here. We thank you for your support.

38. lefleche 5 May 2009

to those who claim that Singapore is better than London, why dont you just come back instead of telling us not to complain and that you are ‘suffering’ there? all my relatives and childhood friends who have migrated tell me that despite the pblms e.g. high tax mostly. (not all agree that Singapore is necessarily safer. A friend tells me that suburban Kansas is just as safe as singapore.) they face in UK, Aust or USa, they will never come back to Singapore. More are leaving. a scholar friend of mine just quit civil service and left in Feb to aussieland.

Dont forget that in Singapore u have many indirect taxes. when i bought a car 4 yrs ago, the COE i paid was worth a lifetime of income tax based on my salary then. and i am still paying income tax, erp, gst and whatever. and i probably wont see my CPF.

not to mention HDB flats that cost $300-400k….one of my best friends (migrated to melb after NS) asked me this question, ‘do u think that at age 25, a singaporean guy can afford to get married, own 2 family cars and a house with a salary of 4k a month? he been there more than 10 yrs now. he worked in UK for 2 yrs and told me UK is even better than Australia and Australia is better than Singapore.

39. Zhiping 5 May 2009

It’s not so much the fact that $6million was spent. It was more the fact that this is DOUBLE the budget of last year’s Singapore Day, held in Australia. Can someone please tell me WHY is the budget of this event DOUBLED in these economic climes? Doesn’t make an ounce of sense. Not a smidgeon of logic.
    For the record, I enjoyed SingaporeDay very much.

40. usherer 6 May 2009

TOC, is it possible that you can run a feature and ask those who should be held accountable, to justify the costs in such times?

The media does set the agenda in Singapore and with the recent AWARE saga, I now have confidence that if people are made aware of issues, and that authorities are required to step forward, Singaporeans would be inspired to make informed decisions.

To add on to the accountability question, I think it’s necessary to ask about the areas where the poor in Singapore doing badly and to what extent have they received due benefits.

Also, it seems that the government flies several portfolios to London EVERY month to recruit people for their departments. What’s the viability of that? How much per diem does one person receive, where do they stay and how many local talents have they got?

[On another note (mild digression here), has anyone noticed that the mishandling of large amounts of money (even in crisis!) by the government, charity organisations and non-profit groups are not investigated to a great detail? Strange, cosnidering that we're surrounded by bankers and auditors. Are we too rich to give a damn about using money properly? Even in UK, the land of pounds, evey penny is questioned./ What more about the poor Sing dollar?]

41. usherer 6 May 2009

ok I can’t help but chip in some rhetoric at this point!

Mr Brown was hailed as one of the admirable alternative voices for us in the blogosphere. Yet he agreed to attend Singapore Day, which was fully funded for by the government and GLCs. Who does he endorse now? It is easy to say “aiyah! why you think so much? He like Singapore lor.” But such a picture does illustrate that his endorsement of such activities. Wasn’t he, as the alternative bvlogger, trying to be a watchdog of sorts?

Also, I was immensely disturbed by the graphics of ‘Singapore is a FINE city’ splattered all over the place. It seems that the government can laugh at itself – and we laugh along with it – while still retaining oppressive and discriminatory laws. Doesn’t this show we are ALL endorsing it? Again, who was the creative director? Eric Khoo, who is known for his films portraying the heartlanders. Spending 6 million in a climate like this.

Not to mention our Dim Sum Dollies, Hossan etc, who had all along calmed our nerves with their pointed, witty observations of the Singaporean and his government.

in short.. who do we have now as a watchdog if everyone can be bought over?

42. So whats the view of Singaporeans abroad (some of you who have commented above) on the country’s social political situation and space?

43. red_chillipadi 7 May 2009

@ 38) efleche

I cannot speak for all other Singaporeans here in the UK. But many of my friends and I have moved here to seek a different life – not a better one. Whilst I disagree on the inefficient use of tax money here by the government (I have never appreciated Singapore public transport and CPF system so much before!), there are other things that I love here like the work-life balance and even the change of seasons is still a magical experience for me!

I don’t think that life is more difficult in either place. As with all countries, there are pros and cons of each. I am proud of my country but not blind to its faults. And when I say my country, I both mean the one in which I grew up in and still have deep roots (passport too!) as well as my adopted country where I choose to live now.

I was there at Singapore Day and I thoroughly enjoyed it and appreciate the effort that our government has taken to reach out to citizens like myself. I agree that there can always be a more worthwhile use to any amount of funds but I can also understand all the intangible rewards this event will provide. I think that I speak for most of the attendees of the Singapore Day that we would have been honoured to be allowed to make a contribution to attend the event and have that contribution donated to charity.

44. Angelina_Jo 7 May 2009

To some, tax by any other name is NOT tax! Best eg, maid levy (about $400? per mth). FYI, correction of posters above, food & survival items in UK are not levied (zero GST).

As for education, its better not to go to school in Spore! The route to be ‘robotised’ has no return.

It seems those that praise Spore have yet to raise a family in Spore. Where do you have time to do baking with your children, take them to the parks, go fishing, teach them skills etc?

45. li biao chi 26 November 2011

HI ((* ANY DEMOCRACY FEARLESS EXPRESSION IN SINGAPORE *)) , AS A NOBODY LI BIAO CHI ((** LIVING AT TAMPINES STREET 34 BLK 365 #06-155 SPORE 520365 **)BEFORE INDEED AT LEAST UPRIGHT COMMENT BEFORE … FROM TOC . BUT SOME WERE NOT IT SEEMED FOR EG LET PEOPLE IN SINGAPORE OR WORLD KNOW FOR EG ONLY , THANKS . BECAUSE GOOD OR BAD OWN DOING, HOW CAN DISCRIMINATE FOR EG ONLY ..???. LIKE DATED 12/ NOV / 2011 … SECRET SOCIETY GROUPS CANVASSED FOF …. , OR DATED 5 / NOV 2011 IN REMEMBRANCE OF JBJ .., THE REST PLEASE CONTACT TOC FOR MORE UPRIGHT COMMENT BY LI BIAO CHI BEFORE BECAUSE THE MAIN IMPORTANT UPRIGHT FEARLESS POINT THE PUBLIC , WORLD CAN DISCUSS , SO GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST ETC WILL NOT HAVE ANY EXCUSE TO BREAK COUNTRY , PEOPLE , SOCIETY , WORLD ETC INTO PIECES . NOT WIN OR LOSE , NOT INSULT , NOT CLEVER OR PIG (( MEAN STUPID )) ETC . BUT IF IMPORTANT UPRIGHT THING CAN LET UPRIGHT world KNOW BETTER …. , BECAUSE GOOD OR BAD OWN DOING . ((** DATED 25 / NOV /2011 THE STRAIT TIME SINGAPORE (( TITLE NAJIB MOVES TO LIFE EMERGENCY LAWS …. FROM IT … BUT CRITICS SAY IT HAS BECOME A LAZY WAY OUT FOR THE POLICE WHEN THEY HAVE INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE AGAINST SUSPECTS … PLEASE REFER TO THE STRAIT TIME )) . WHAT WAS UPRIGHT IMPORTANT , LI BIAO CHI BOUGHT WITH OWN MONEY , TRANSACTION TAKEN PLACE , LI BIAO CHI CAN UPRIGHT IN GOOD FAITH PASS IT TO ANY ONE TO READ IT , NO WRONG AT ALL BECAUSE SINGAPORE (( PAP COMMUNITY CENTRE ALSO LET MANY PEOPLE READ IT IN SINGAPORE . ((** DO CLEARLY TAKE NOTICE , THE COURT , UPRIGHT JUDGE ETC , THANKS . FEARLESS MORAL CONSCIENCE UPRIGHT COMMENT NO WRONG AT ALL EVEN IN INTERNET .**)) << SO GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST ETC WILL NOT DO MORE EVIL AT ALL to world , people , country , society etc at all . DATED 25 / NOV / 2011 TITLE HIGH COURT STRIKES OUT CLAIM BY LAWYER …. FROM IT (( NEWSPAPER )) JUDGE QUENTIN LOH IN JUDGMENT GROUNDS …. MAKE CLEAR THAT THE COURT SHOUld not be too quick to strike out claims , except in plain and obvious cases. and … the court had to protect a party from being harassed and put through the expense of preparing for a trial where the case was hopeless vexatious or frivolous from judge saying . ((** QUESTIONABLE THE SO-CALLED PRESIDENT LAW EXPOSED UPRIGHT SINGAPORE LAW MINISTER / BEFORE HOME MINISTER TRUE COLIOUR . **)) ))** CAN DIABETES (( NOT WELL PEOPLE , NOTE CAN BE ANY PEOPLE , RACE , RELIGION , EVEN FOREIGNER ETC )) EAT HUGE SUGAR **((. ((**THEY HAD TO CHECK THE FOOD INGREDIENT FOR SURE .. THEN MUSLIM HAD TO CHECK THE FOOD INGRDIENT TOO . **)) HOW COULD PM LEE HSIEMN LOONG HAD SEEMED FOR EG ONLY DISCRIMINATE , ILL-TREAT ETC TOWARD RACE IN SINGAPORE . ((** IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE THE PRESIDENT HAD TO SPEAK OUT DIFFERENTLY FOR SURE , AND NO NEED ANY ONE CONSENT TO UPRIGHT SPEAK OUT **)) BECAUSE THE GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST WILL NOT AT ALL CRIMINAL THING TO WORLD , PEOPLE ETC FOR SURE . THE POLICE CANNOT ARREST ANY UPRIGHT , PRESIDENT ETC IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE OR DETAIN ANY UPRIGHT OR PRESIDENT IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE . HOW CAN THE LAW MINISTER BE UPRIGHT JUSTICE FAIR , HONEST ETC FOR EG ONLY . IN JUDGE LOH OBECTIVE EVIDENCE FACT WHAT DO IT MEAN ???.FOR EG ONLY BEFORE PM LEE USED COURT TO SUE PEOPLE FOR HUGE MONEY BEFORE . VEGETARIAN HAD TO CHECK FOOD INGRIDENT BECAUSE NO MEAT AT ALL . SO DO INDIAN NO COW AT ALL . HOW COULD MUSLIM BE TROUBLESOME …???. IF SINGAPORE POLICE WANT TO INVESTIGATE SDP , OR PEOPLE SAID PIG REMARK , PLEASE BY FAIR JUSTICE , THE POLICE SHOULD BY LAW GO AFTER PM LEE AND LAW MINISTER OF SINGAPORE TOO , IT SEEMED THEY WERE COMMITTING CRIMINAL CRIME TOO FOR EG ONLY . ONLY THE COURT , JUDGE HAD THE JUSTICATION FINAL SAY WHEN INJUSTICE TAKE PLACE , THINK OF IT . SHOULD 100 % GET RID OF DETAIN WITHOUR TRIAL FOR SURE . WAKE UP . THAT'S ALL , UNDERSTAND ENGLISH NOT GOOD , ONLY CAN RELATE SIMPLE ENGLISH THANK YOU SIR / MADAM WORLD .

46. li biao chi 26 November 2011

HI ((* ANY DEMOCRACY FEARLESS EXPRESSION IN SINGAPORE *)) , AS A NOBODY LI BIAO CHI ((** LIVING AT TAMPINES STREET 34 BLK 365 #06-155 SPORE 520365 **)BEFORE INDEED AT LEAST UPRIGHT COMMENT BEFORE … FROM TOC . BUT SOME WERE NOT IT SEEMED FOR EG LET PEOPLE IN SINGAPORE OR WORLD KNOW FOR EG ONLY , THANKS . BECAUSE GOOD OR BAD OWN DOING, HOW CAN DISCRIMINATE FOR EG ONLY ..???. LIKE DATED 12/ NOV / 2011 … SECRET SOCIETY GROUPS CANVASSED FOF …. , OR DATED 5 / NOV 2011 IN REMEMBRANCE OF JBJ .., THE REST PLEASE CONTACT TOC FOR MORE UPRIGHT COMMENT BY LI BIAO CHI BEFORE BECAUSE THE MAIN IMPORTANT UPRIGHT FEARLESS POINT THE PUBLIC , WORLD CAN DISCUSS , SO GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST ETC WILL NOT HAVE ANY EXCUSE TO BREAK COUNTRY , PEOPLE , SOCIETY , WORLD ETC INTO PIECES . NOT WIN OR LOSE , NOT INSULT , NOT CLEVER OR PIG (( MEAN STUPID )) ETC . BUT IF IMPORTANT UPRIGHT THING CAN LET UPRIGHT world KNOW BETTER …. , BECAUSE GOOD OR BAD OWN DOING . ((** DATED 25 / NOV /2011 THE STRAIT TIME SINGAPORE (( TITLE NAJIB MOVES TO LIFE EMERGENCY LAWS …. FROM IT … BUT CRITICS SAY IT HAS BECOME A LAZY WAY OUT FOR THE POLICE WHEN THEY HAVE INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE AGAINST SUSPECTS … PLEASE REFER TO THE STRAIT TIME )) . WHAT WAS UPRIGHT IMPORTANT , LI BIAO CHI BOUGHT WITH OWN MONEY , TRANSACTION TAKEN PLACE , LI BIAO CHI CAN UPRIGHT IN GOOD FAITH PASS IT TO ANY ONE TO READ IT , NO WRONG AT ALL BECAUSE SINGAPORE (( PAP COMMUNITY CENTRE ALSO LET MANY PEOPLE READ IT IN SINGAPORE . ((** DO CLEARLY TAKE NOTICE , THE COURT , UPRIGHT JUDGE ETC , THANKS . FEARLESS MORAL CONSCIENCE UPRIGHT COMMENT NO WRONG AT ALL EVEN IN INTERNET .**)) << SO GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST ETC WILL NOT DO MORE EVIL AT ALL to world , people , country , society etc at all . DATED 25 / NOV / 2011 TITLE HIGH COURT STRIKES OUT CLAIM BY LAWYER …. FROM IT (( NEWSPAPER )) JUDGE QUENTIN LOH IN JUDGMENT GROUNDS …. MAKE CLEAR THAT THE COURT SHOUld not be too quick to strike out claims , except in plain and obvious cases. and … the court had to protect a party from being harassed and put through the expense of preparing for a trial where the case was hopeless vexatious or frivolous from judge saying . ((** QUESTIONABLE THE SO-CALLED PRESIDENT LAW EXPOSED UPRIGHT SINGAPORE LAW MINISTER / BEFORE HOME MINISTER TRUE COLIOUR (( MEAN COLOUR )) . **)) ))** CAN DIABETES (( NOT WELL PEOPLE , NOTE CAN BE ANY PEOPLE , RACE , RELIGION , EVEN FOREIGNER ETC )) EAT HUGE SUGAR **((. ((**THEY HAD TO CHECK THE FOOD INGREDIENT FOR SURE .. THEN MUSLIM HAD TO CHECK THE FOOD INGRDIENT TOO . **)) HOW COULD PM LEE HSIEMN LOONG HAD SEEMED FOR EG ONLY DISCRIMINATE , ILL-TREAT ETC TOWARD RACE IN SINGAPORE . ((** IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE THE PRESIDENT HAD TO SPEAK OUT DIFFERENTLY FOR SURE , AND NO NEED ANY ONE CONSENT TO UPRIGHT SPEAK OUT **)) BECAUSE THE GUILTY , CRIMINAL , TERRORIST WILL NOT AT ALL CRIMINAL THING TO WORLD , PEOPLE ETC FOR SURE . THE POLICE CANNOT ARREST ANY UPRIGHT , PRESIDENT ETC IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE OR DETAIN ANY UPRIGHT OR PRESIDENT IN THIS CIRCUMSTANCE . HOW CAN THE LAW MINISTER BE UPRIGHT JUSTICE FAIR , HONEST ETC FOR EG ONLY . IN JUDGE LOH OBECTIVE EVIDENCE FACT WHAT DO IT MEAN ???.FOR EG ONLY BEFORE PM LEE USED COURT TO SUE PEOPLE FOR HUGE MONEY BEFORE . VEGETARIAN HAD TO CHECK FOOD INGRIDENT BECAUSE NO MEAT AT ALL . SO DO INDIAN NO COW AT ALL . HOW COULD MUSLIM BE TROUBLESOME …???. IF SINGAPORE POLICE WANT TO INVESTIGATE SDP , OR PEOPLE SAID PIG REMARK , PLEASE BY FAIR JUSTICE , THE POLICE SHOULD BY LAW GO AFTER PM LEE AND LAW MINISTER OF SINGAPORE TOO , IT SEEMED THEY WERE COMMITTING CRIMINAL CRIME TOO FOR EG ONLY . ONLY THE COURT , JUDGE HAD THE JUSTICATION FINAL SAY WHEN INJUSTICE TAKE PLACE , THINK OF IT . SHOULD 100 % GET RID OF DETAIN WITHOUR (( MEAN WITHOUT )) TRIAL FOR SURE . WAKE UP . THAT'S ALL , UNDERSTAND ENGLISH NOT GOOD , ONLY CAN RELATE SIMPLE ENGLISH THANK YOU SIR / MADAM WORLD .